2007 sahm n bf mom

fiona, i will not give marmite/vegemite to 6 months old bb... it is so salty... the only seasoning i ever add into baby below 1 yr old is a little bit of unsalted butter, that one i only add when bb is 9 months old...

yl, i think you can ask the bobbi brown sales people to recommend to you. they can tell you if you need the stick foundation or the liquid type... it is depends on your skin...

Happy Valentines' Day!

I'm now starting to put Zac on a routine. Trying to stretch his feeding time to 3.5hrly instead of 3 hourly and also skipping the nite feed. Apparently he has no problem adjusting the past 2 days as I'm always the one needing him to relieve my full breasts. My boobs were huge and rock hard in the morning after 6 hours of not releasing. It's so uncomfortable I thought I kenna engorgement! So scary.. God please let me have less milk!!! I'm so envious to hear of mummies with low supply!

Bena, dun 'envious' le...later u kena 'boxed' by fellow mummies who hv low ss! I used to have very low ss when i had my 1st bb and always 'envy' mummies who suffer from engorgement and blocked ducts! hahha....

this time i really know what is blocked ducts! 1st night of CNY i had very bad block ducts with high fever. cos my gal recently lessen her BM intake...suckle a while want to play and then fall asleep...and i also didnt express much cos always engorged. ended up with the fever and my ss dropped super low...aft tt quickyly popped lotsa fenugreek and now bk to normal. but my gal at 3 mths still drinking very little although her 3rd mth jab dr. said she is slightly overweight!

So is the Lecithin good? how does it work to clear blocked ducts? meaning it reduces the BM ss?

hi bena

have u tried to latch your bb on diff position to clear the blocked ducts? i have blocked ducts during confinement and some nurses have been massaging 'hard' for me but i still could not clear the ducts using the hospital pump.

then one nurse ask me to frequently change position which i did, n immediately all blocked ducts cleared!

i used to cradle hold my baby to latch on. so i tried lying down.. which clear a little. then all cleared after using the football hold

Bena/ S@L
u gals very funnie ley, when i was doing my confinement ss low wish to have more. now ss more than demand i wish i can have less then dun need to express (wash time) so much.
when i gets block duct, i will use my avent pump to express very hard, press n massage my breast very hard to clear the duct.

Why i ask abt marmite cos i came across a mom asking the same quest in other thread....n i juz wonder why would she wan to do dat...
im oso wondering why she need to use dried oyster n scallop to cook bb's porridge..sigh..
my gal's turnin 11mth,her food are all natural,i havent even intro egg..my galfren n i quite kiasu abt our kids's food..

YL,i use Mac's two way cake...good coverage n light..I dun wear makeup often so if its too heavy i feel itchy n 'breathless'..
I wish i can go watch a movie too..i like dat actress,she's funny in Grey's anatomy n ive seen her in other Hallmark movies..

Definitely no marmite for a 6 mth old, too much salt. We now boil his fruits/ veg with soup stock that hasn't been salted and will soon make his porridge with the same stock.

Fiona: aiyah, my son treats my husband and my mum like gold and treats me like grass... I can leave him with either of of them to go out and he won't look for me. In fact, sometimes he doesn't even look for me for milk when he's hungry (once I'm back) if he's been with my mum who has given him ebm while I was away.
Your girl get constipated on too much banana? hehe thought banana helps with constipation!

Bena: You might want to reconsider about putting your son on a schedule if you easily get engorged/ blocked ducts. You should let him nurse as often as he wants to let him regulate/ clear your supply. So far, I just let my son nurse as and when he wants to and for how long each time (he can sometimes nurse for 45mins - 1 hour per session up till today) and have never had severe blocked ducts. Previously my blocked ducts occur if I didn't nurse him for a long time (12-24 hours) and just pump during that time.

Once I had very early onset of blocked duct, I let my son nurse on that side and I could feel it being 'pushed out' when let-down occurred, think after the 2nd feed on that side, the blockage was cleared. Heng ah.

Fiona
I just went to get the stick foundation. they applied the foundation n loose powder on my whole face. very natural looking. i like

Sleek..
I'm desperately trying to reduce my supply by not letting him latch on demand. Too much stimulation from him caused me to have over supply of milk so much so that previously, just 2 hours of not clearing my breasts they will be almost engorged. I managed to stretch it to 3 hourly and now trying 3.5 hourly. Eventually, I hope to do 4 hourly for some feeds so that I can at least have a life. I'm also trying to sleep through the nite myself without having to wake up to clear my breasts as tiredness is another reason why I keep having blocked ducts. I haven't been sleeping for any time longer than 2.5 hours in a stretch (even at nite) since I moved Zac to his own room cuz can't latch and sleep and it's really taking a toil on my body. Hopefully with a reduced supply and enough rest, I can avoid blocked ducts.. Wa 12-24 hours not nursing is such a long time. As of now, I cannot imagine not nursing for more than 6 hours. I think my breasts would explode..

S@L,
I also had low supply in the early weeks of breastfeeding. Comparing high and low supply, I'll rather have low supply.. it's very painful to have blocked ducts. Imagine self operating using needle to poke nipple and then syringe to suck out the block. Not to mention the massage. Lecithin, according to Kelly Mom, thins the milk so that it's not so easily blocked. Mummies with low supply will not understand the pain mummies of over supply mums face. Even my son suffers cuz he spit up alot as the takes in a lot of foremilk, causing him to be gassy.

Tam,
Trust me, I've tried all ways to clear my blocked ducts. Changing nursing positions too. I've gone all fours and nursed baby with him below me. I've even hovered over him with his chin pointing to mine..yes it was quite a sight and my hubby was wondering what's going on. Nope, doesn't help. My blocked ducts somehow are more severe than others.. Each time I get them I have so much fear I stopped functioning and can't eat can't sleep the whole day. Sadly I can't care for my son when I have blocked ducts, cuz it just overwhelms me. When I have blocked ducts, I always tell my friends I hate my breasts and wish I could cut them off.

S@L, now cabbage leaves are permanently on my breasts. I heard they can reduce supply.. try it if you wanna reduce your supply

fiona, some people will make porridge using scallop and all... i think usually it is suggested by their mom or mil... they just feed anything to baby... actually you can intro egg yolk to baby leh... when they turn 8 months... the super baby food book said that egg yolk is super baby food... it has high in nutrients... :)

Bena: Haha, I pumped during those 12-24 hours le, at that time if I don't my breasts will also explode like yours now lo.
Really hope you will stop having blocked ducts and get more sleep asap.

Bought 2 sets of Avent spare parts from their showroom in Toa payoh. 1 set of 1 Massage Cushion, 1 diaphragm and 2 valves is $20!!!!

My husband said I don't need to express anymore, I'll just have to carry baby everywhere with me!

Hello gals

this mornin all overslept!!Son miss sch bus for 1st time,hub has to send him to sch hehe.
We went to HV for mexican food last nite n the whole place was sooo crowded..so many ppl in HV.
Luckily we were there early so by the time we finish,ppl were comin for dinner.The food was nice as usual,ive been eating there since i was 15yrs old..

db,i knw most of the intro of scallop etc are the old folks but they are not educated,the moms are n its their own bb!!!Shouldnt they knw better??My mil oso say put dry scallop but i educated her,she didnt even realize dat givin honey b4 1 is dangerous..My sis oso educated by me n her dil.When my son was younger,she secretly giv him soft boil egg,within few hrs, my son's whole body has hives!!I not only hav to go doc,kana scolding by doc too..dan went hm to scold my sis!!Her granddaughter's 2yr n dun take salt in her hm food.She use to be those dat say "my kids oso eat wat i cook osostill alive"
person but now she's so particular.I think if we educate the old folks im sure they will not wan to harm their grandkids..
btw,is yr son syper sticky to you?Is he ok wif yr mil etc?

Bena,aiyo you soooo poor thing(hug hug kiss kiss)
i shudder whenever i feel like wan to kana block again..i recall once i felt chill n ache n saw my breast has a red patch,im like not again!!!
I put a wet towel into microwave to make hot,put over breast n rub super hard.Like rubbing stubborn dirt out dan manuel express.I repeat the cycle afew times..n ono eat panadol lah else sure faint fr pain.

Sleek,tell hub its still cheaper dan buying fm!!! Bb finish a tin of fm very fast...i always tell hub im helping him save money,the other day his fren was complainin abt fm so ex n bb drinks so fast.Hub was like "huh issit,i dun hav dat prob"(roll eyeball)

fiona, sometimes the old folk hard to educate them, some are ok and some are stubborn, they will say that last time i feed you all this and that, you all ok what and still alive... so it really depends lah... until something bad happen then they will listen to you... sometimes these moms require the help of the mum/mil to take care of their child because they are working so sometimes, they really hv no say to what is being fed to their kids... ayo, how can give soft boiled egg!!! it contains salmonella leh... ayo so dangerous... actually huh, for the first year i am very particular of what they eat... after 15 months old, i will just let them taste our food here and there but i still cook specially for them... cannot be too strict after they are 2 yrs old... i got a fren, her daughter food has no salt/sugar etc till 2 years plus, now only tried to feed some adult food to the child, the child now cannot take it, after eating adult food, she keep on vomitting... poor thing... so it is best not to be extreme on doing things... the only thing i dun give my gal now is chocolate/sweets/ice cream...

my son sticky with me... other people can carry but not for long... he will whine and wants me to carry... with mil, he dun recognize alr because now she is busy taking care her daughter's son, so no time to come see my boy... so when she carries my boy, he will just stare at her and look like he is wondering who is this... so farnie... but i am enjoying the stickiness... hehehehehe

db,eh you knw thru this cny my gal has a new nickname ie 'mimosa'.....see no touch!!Nobody can carry her,u cant even touch her until she warms up to you..She'll play wif u after awhile but only if mommy carries.If anyone tries to 'hijack' her,wah she'll wail n stick even more.Mil always makes it as if its my fault..dan say my gal very unhealthy,say i muz 'train' her..
Why let her cry so bad right?
I do let my son eat outside food..we eat out on weekends,so long as its not fried food all the time im quite flexi..like you i let my son try all sorts of food but i practise commonsense.He luvs sushi,pizza,pasta,beef burritos n tapas etc. Hub n i make sure we expose him to different kind of food else scared when travel got prob..hav a fren,has to bring slowcooker to perth cos 2yr gal still eats very soft porridge n dun like western food..lost alot of weight when they came back.My son hamtam everythin we eat in perth,fresh sausages beef steak, cheese,jap fried rice..i will be more flexi wif my gal after 1..ask you ah,wat age issit safe to intro cheese?eg mozerella,parmesan etc

ayo how can ur mil said like tt... i think she jealous bah.... ahahhahahha....

my gal also eats anything we eat... i think it is better like that... if not they cannot adapt well if go other countries... my auntie is a control freak when it comes to her kids food, said bad for their brain and all... she even ta pao home cooked food for her sec 4 son leh... i think it is too much... anyway, kids that age can always lie and eat outside food... too old to control liao...

tt time when my gal was ard 18 months, i already give her rice, and my mil said cannot leh... wait cannot digest... wah, tt time my gal alr hv almost full set of teeth, can chew mah... cannot keep on giving porridge what... but i just ignore her lah... i am always the defiant dil... hahahaha. ayo ur fren gal still eating soft porridge at 2 yr... wah troublesome to travel like that...

tt time i tried giving cottage cheese to my boy but he got allergy to it, got some rashes ard his mouth so I stop... i think to be safe, better give after 1 yr old...

db
you knw lah,always is the dil's fault but not theirs..told hub as if i poison my gal's mind dat all human beings other dan korkor n us are bad(roll eyeballs).They dun make effort to come n bond wif my kids i oso cant do much..wif hub travellin every other wk,cant possibly brings kids there to play by myself..anyway i always ask them to come over if they miss them but they dun wan to come eventho only need to take 15min feeder bus ride..Hub say their lost not ours..
Fren..cottage cheese abit strong for 1st time right??!!!
I still thot try mozzerella first as not so salty
Last night my son had cheese quesadillas ( tortilla flour wif cheese filling)i let gal try 1 nibble of the cheese n she likes it dan after dat she went back to her plain teethin rusk..
Huh giv rice cannot digest???Oh oh...my gals been eating my rice!!!!She eats porridge at 5pm so when we eat at 7pm,she oso wan abit,so i juz give her 1tbsp of plain rice..nothing leh..

fiona, dunno leh, i read a baby food book, they said the first cheese should be cottage cheese, so i tried lah... but he cannot take it.... so i will only give cheese after 1 yr old lah...

aya mil sometimes talk w/o thinking... i always, hear one ear and come out the other... kekekeke...

haha, hb was just joking la, he's very supportive of and proud that I bfeed our son.

I'm really curious as to how much people spend on milk powder in 1 mth from 0-6mth. Cos during that time I have to buy alot of breast pads and milk bags also, so wonder how much did I really 'save'.

db
hehe i oso sometime act blur pretend didnt hear

i hav a kids cookbook oso for bb,they start wif cheddar cheese..neimind i go ask my kid's ped

Sleek,
i oso same,when i started bf my gal,i kana infected block duct 4times n oso engorgement treatment at TMC n see breast surgeon at Mt E few times,i wonder if i save money at all..but i gain on bonding
n of cos getting hub to feed me food while i was bf my gal hehe

Sleek, Fiona,
I did a mental calculation of all the money I spent on breastfeeding and I think I incurred monetary loss leh. Breast pump already is S$700. Breast surgeon plus TMC consultant already abt S$500. Not to mention the nursing wear I bought. Probably S$1500-S$2000 liao. Baby is only 5 months old.. hahaha.

Bena
plus water n electric bills for washing n sterilize the pump n bottles, i also asking myself the same question! plus i used lots of breast pad hee hee.

HI all mummies,
I am a mummy to one 3 1/2 and 1 5 mths old princess. currently, SAHM too.
have been a cow ever since my 1st gal, and proud of it! BF is the best! For the baby, for mummy and for the bonding! ^^

Bena, i totally understand your "painful" exp, cos i had engorged breast as well during the 1st 3 months actually. cos my baby was a good sleeper, sometimes sleep for 4-5 hours strech. so what i did is to pump out just abit, enough to relieve the engorgement, Very SLOWLY but SURELY our breast will adapt to the demand. so hang in there! it's a good problem, better than not milk for your baby rite? anyway, if your breast too engorged for the pump, like mine, you can try using hands to massage and express out, cos that's wat i did. it'll be a bit messy in the start, thus best done while having a shower but you'll get better at it. I rem at the start i had up to 7 showers a day! the shower helps to relax you as well. kekeke... remember key is express just enough to relieve the engorgement to train our body to adjust. took quite a while for my engorgement problem to settle down too. phew!

hope you are better and all be good soon. ^^

Fiona, I love baking too! but haven't been able to do that ever since my 1st gal arrive. used to have a baking and chill session at my gf place but ever since have darling princess, sort of drifted apart with her. cos she no kid and still single and i am always with my kids... -_-"

Do you mummies have any gatherings so far?

welcome coolmama!

hehe looks like most of us end up spending alot on bfeeding when we're supposed to be saving $. Luckily that's not the main reason we give ourselves for nursing our precious darlings.

Took my boy for a kindermusik trial class yest and he fell asleep 15 mins before class ended... looks like I won't be signing up for the whole semester for him yet as he was very apprehensive before he fell asleep.

Hi babes

last night 'tok' my hub at Jumbo seafood rest hehe..I had almost a whole crab to myself...so sinful..really must diet after cny over
Juz heard fr hub dat co. might send him to munich 1st wk of mar,he suggested we come along since co.pay for lodging n his airfare..keepmy fingers n toes cross it'll happen dan yipee Germany here i come!!!

Hi coolmama
welcome to our thread
wah wat are you doing at 3am?!!We havent had any gathering yet..all now bz wif cny n plus not all fr same area n..i might plan 1 soon i hope..I hav a 3yr2mth son n 10mth gal
Yes i luv baking,im always very happy when my son has a party in sch whereby sch ask for food dan i'll bake cupcakes or muffins.. this yr i bake my own cny cookies

Yah,since being a mom my social circle has changed tremendously,frenz dats still single are still partying or those no kids are still travellin or chking out restaurants n bars.
We all hav to be hm by 8pm on weeknites since son has sch..The most happenin social life i hav is here..we chitchat here everyday

Hey ladies,
Hub juz bought alot of designer n branded clothes for kids n my kids's cupboard are bursting.B4 i post on yahoo or WTS thread i thot ask you guys first..I'll post pic in wts thread maybe tmrw,let you preview first..i hav:
BOYS
Plain brown Mothercare roundneck tshirt(3-4yr)$8
" Blue " " " " $8
" Turquise blue " " (4-5yr)$10
Stripe Zara Tshirt (2-3yr)$12
Light green Zara (4-5yr)$15
Dk blue stripe Cherokee 3-4yr)$8
Gr/bl/yel stripe Cherokee (3-4yr)$8
All Genuine wif label still intact..
got for gals too if keen..

Bena,
wow nursing on all fours? tat is new to me....actually i have stopped pumping aft every feed like i used to ...and aft the severe blocked ducts, my ss has dropped....so now still manageable..if i put cabbage i thnk wil diminish soon.

i jus dread the pumping sessions but no choice cos sometimes i do put my gal with my mum. so i somehow have to get used to the pump otherwise when i really need to start expressing for good i m afraid my body dun react to the pump.i have heard of such cases.

ya i agree with the $$ spent on nursing/BF. whoever said tt BF is free...i think only the BM is free...but not forgetting the 'accessories' needed to go along to make BF more stylish, comfortable and easier...

i also agree the bonding is indeed priceless....actually all in all stll cheaper than buying FM cos pumps and all can stll sell aft we are done with BF.....

I m thinkng of weaning my gal when she turns 6mths..i might nt hang on till 1 yr old cos i really wan my life bk...i dun wan to worry abt pumping when i m out meeting clients or when i m shopping...but on the other hand i know by then i cant bear to stop like what a fren told me. she couldn stop and it went on till 2yrs when she finally stopped BF but was due to her pregnancy.....otheriwse i think she prob would have continued.

I think actually breastfeeding is cheap if you direct latch on, no pumps, wear normal clothes (not nursing clothes) and of course cross finger not to see any lactation consultant, definitely will be cheaper... i heard from mummies that feed fm to thier baby, one tin can last for 2 weeks, and it cost abt $30 plus per tin... so one month already $60. As baby grow, they will drink more so, one tin will finish even faster...Not forgetting, the bottles, sterilizers, different size tits... so i guess it depends bah... if breastfeeding mum who needs to pump, store their milk, i think tt will cost even more...

S@L,
actually after yr bb settle to solid well,yr supply will drop aaaalot.My 10mth gal's taking her fish porridge very well n i pump only in the mornin when i feed her.I can oso dun pump if im rushin like on sun when we hav to leave hm by 815 for church..i dun pump,juz let her latch on whenever i need to feed..I can only pump out 70ml now(sobsob) in the mornin..so maybe you might hav to give up so fast

My son wean himself off at 9mth,woke up one mornin n simply juz refuse breast.He didnt take bottle at all so when he wean himself off,he suddenly take to bottle,strange i knw..

Bena,
you still hangin on?Btw hav you got yrself a small slowcooker to cook zac's porridge?I saw one at the ntuc in Festival Mall,they hav the very snall one for$28 i think..i wanted to buy dan my mom gav me instead.I find it useful for 7mth onwards after they got use to rice cereal texture n the porridge's very soft

Hi moms

havin mental..duno wat to cook..

db,hav u started givin yr son cheerios?I found this cheerios by nestle Toasted Oat,its plain n quite cheap..I use to giv my son another brand which cost $10+ per box,nestle's half the price..
My gal luvs it
it helps to keep her mouth ocupied while we are eatin out..rather than give Gerber's fruit puff which is same price but so little..She's oso crazy about bread,plain white or multi grain,she'll attack all! Issit my gal's juz greedy or all bbs like this?She can eat lunch dan cheerios etc for 1hr+ non stop!!

I am so happy. With the past few days of cabbage treatment, my supply dropped tremendously. Now I don't have to hand express after latching son, and can go 6 hours at nite without releasing!! Hooray!! Finally I get 6 hours of sleep!

Fiona,
Ya I'm still hanging on. Like S@L's friend, I can't bear to wean Zac off.. the bonding is just beyond words.

Wow..You are really a very happening mother with all the branded kids clothes and opportunity to travel to very far countries.. so envious!

Hey I know your girl's taking of solids probably didn't happen overnite but is a gradual process.. but I always wonder how mummies cope with the reduced intake of milk. Won't your breasts feel uncomfortable? I'm so prone to blocked ducts not emptying my breasts will cause it.. so kinda scared now cuz will be feeding Zac solids in 3 week's time when he turns 6 months.

Hey thanks for the info on slowcooker. Think I'll get it!
I'm actually quite excited abt introducing semi solids to Zac cuz he's been drooling and eyeing on our food these days

Hey do you know how to bake brownies? We've been trying to bake brownies from Hershey's ready made mix but somehow it's always either too hard or too soft. I still have a pack at home and thought if you know, I'll go over your place and we bake it together? We can invite mummies on this thread to come eat it

db,
ya lor.. actually breastfeeding is cheap for our grandmothers' generation. They dun spend on pumps, bottles, sterilisers, nursing pillow /wear or lactation consultants. Everything is DIY. If they have a blocked duct they will probably just endure with the pain and massage it away. I think they seldom have blocked ducts cuz many of them are tandem feeding and they also nurse on demand rather than do scheduled feeding, so they move their breastmilk very frequently. And they use hankies rather than nursing pads! I think I will do it differently for my second kid.

S@L,
I can totally understand it when you mentioned that you want your life back.. me too! But my biggest problem is that Zac doesn't take the bottle.. and I really dun have the heart to give him the cold turkey treatment in order to force him to take the bottle. Why dun you try partial breastfeeding like wat Fiona suggested? Just reduce your supply till you only need to latch on once or twice a day? Then at least you won't lose the bonding and you can still have a life?

hi mummies, so long never post here..has been following sept mummies thread instead. bena, u r here too! hehe..

sleek, u r teaching swimming? I'm intending to send my 4 yr old girl for swimming to build up her lungs..can advice me on your charges and where is the lesson? there's swimming lesson in her school, MMI sengkang, but i think those are like just 'playing with water'..not serious at all. my elder one is at kindermusik since 9 mths old. now signing up younger one and on waiting list. hopefully she can start attending when she's 9 mths old too.

Hiiii bena,
so nice to hear yr cheerful 'voice'
im so happy dat u r back to yrself..n most importantly still hasnt give up on bf
now u knw why mother's day is celebrated in such big scale(winkwink)..Yah my gal very tamjia,she'll snatch my son's snack if he's not payin attention.I dan hav to snatch it back as its not suitable 4 her.Once we were holdin a banana n pretend not to see her,our fren conveniently lean over a take a bite!Yesterday hub came hm 4 lunch a happily giv her bread,she juz eat n eat til i hav to stop her else later she cant drink milk..dan i look at the clock n realize she ate non stop for 1hr+.
Aiyo better be careful else next time become fat gal.She luvs starch eg rice,potato,bread..like me
so far she's not chubby,look nomal to me..
I can feel yr excitment on intro solid to zac,im gettin excited too!!
You can buy the Heinz Rice Cereal to try first..
I use dat for charlotte,juz 1tsp n mix wif warm bm dan feed
1 week later i started to add puree carrot or pumkin or banana..sometimes i buy the jar ones to add to reduce wastage..when zac get use to takin solid,dan u can intro porridge.I started at 7mth after i see dat her swollowin reflexes's better..They hav 2 small size slowcooker at tne ntuc,maybe u wab to buy the 2nd smaller sz instead of smallest so at least still can use for family.
Dun envy me lah,i work hard for it u knw..no maid or mil to help.Kids wif me 24/7..plus hub travels every other wk.Im still keepin fingers cross on munich as nothin is confirm yet..Hub only promise me take airplane n no malaysia

serkali he bring us to Bangladesh dan i faint liao!!
I think baking at my hsr sounds good!!
Shall we put next Tue mornin?My son has speech/ drama in sch so wont be hm til 1pm
Who wants to come let me knw ok?

YL i think you can walk over hor hehe

Bena,the problem is my hb/ MIL cannot feed my gal...they have no patience and no technic to make sure she finishes her feed! only my mum can make her drink from btl! when it comes to me, she only wan to latch and will cry the sky down if i ever attempt to feed her thru btl!

so i can only have my peace when i send her to my mum plc when i need to do my work or jus have some 'me' time.

My gal only 3mths old...still a while more before she starts solid, so not tt possible for me to reduce latching to 1-2x a day
also i enjoy the bonding and the convenience of latching. the best thing abt TBF is when i go out, no need to lug alot of things...sometimes i jus grab a diaper and a hanky and leave the house for a short while. so i actually dun wish to give up latching so soon...once she take to the btl more, she might nt wan to latch.

another problem i have recently is my gal will wail at my breasts sometimes. i dunno if its becos she is sleepy and wan to suckle, but dun wan milk! she will suck and cause letdown then she will cry out loud and unlatch..then latch again....then cry...aiyo! its like a battle...cos she wan to suck but dun wan the milk le...how? i cant possibly control the milk from coming out ! and she dun take pacifier....hiaz...sometimes i feel like going mad!

Fiona, ya i tot when they start solid, i guess the ss sure dip!...actually i hope to BF for a yr...anyway see how by then...if really too tough to keep the supply going then will forget it.

Any mummies really slimmed down due to BF? i m back to my pre preg weight...slightly lighter by 1-2kg...but still 'flabby' and weight seems to stagnant le....cos my ideal wt is actually 2-3kg lesser....seems like not acheivable. i still east normally...and i m afraid aft i stop BF wt will go haywire...cos i have some frens who TBF but not slim at all...

S@L,
Zac has the same pattern as your girl! Wants to suckle but don't want milk, and will also unlatch himself at a letdown. What I do is I'll carry and pat him if he cries and then keep coaxing him back to the breast. I also express out some milk before offering him the breast again so that the milk is not that forceful. I think this is a phase that will pass.

Hahaha.. I think the "breastfeeding will slim you down" claim is a myth. I lost all my weight thru exercise and diet. Didn't lose an ounce just by breastfeeding.

Fiona,
Wow your hubby really travels alot. Not easy for you.. I think I would have protested if it's me. Next Tues is ok for me.. What time? I'll bring my Zac over. But he's very naughty and can be quite cranky when tired so you gotta bear with us

S@L,hmmm weight loss..sensitive topic..to me..hehe.As you can see,ive been out feastin last 2wks..valentine's day mexican food,b'day Jumbo seafd n sun nite my next dr neighbour bought dinner at Buckaroo(american food)n we had lohei at their hse..so i still got 2kg to go if i havent put on any last few days

My prob is we hav dinner early so by 830,hub start snackin n get me involve
n i find it hard to resist argh!!!

Bena,great!! We'll do playdate on tue,but dat day my partime cleaner will be here,hope u dun mind.I'll get her to clean the hall first so at least kids can play
Lets do 10am but must kick you guys hm by 130 so i can feed son lunch n prepare them for nap

BTW the playdate is open to all moms in our thread
My corner neighbour may join us,her kids 2+gal n 5mth+ boy..We are all parents so can understand when bbs r upset so dun need paiseh

Fiona, I haven intro any cheerios before to my kids... where to get it huh? me so sotong leh...

Bena, you mean you feed your bb based on schedule huh? I did not do that leh... i just feed on demand... actually breastfeeding really slims me down, i am back to my original weight within 6 months. i always envy those who is determine to exercise, I always tell myself to exercise but hor until now nvr do it... sigh...

My supply so far is alright, haven dip yet *touchwood*, every morning and afternoon I will pump out on one breast for my gal and to add into my boy's food... I thought of breastfeeding for as long as I can... but really need a baby to latch on, if not pump is really not as good as baby suckling.

Fiona,
Sounds good! So I'll see you next Tues at 10am. But I'll probably need to feed Zac the moment I reach your place cuz that's his feed time
I'll leave by 1pm cuz 1.30pm is his feed time
Can you pm me your address?

Db,
Actually I didn't start schedule feeding till last week. All the while was demand feeding - not baby's demand, but mine hahaha.. cuz need him to clear my engorgement very often.

Actually I still got a few kgs to lose to reach prepregnancy weight. I'm always envious of mummies who doesn't need to do anything yet can slim down. Will you be joining us next Tues?

db, me same as u...i feed on demand actually...no fixed schedule. only my mum will 'follow' the clock when i pass my gal to her...quite impossible to feed on schedule cos i dunno how much she drank.

me too think tt TBF helped me to get bk to my wt very fast..jus tt its been stagnant since 2mths....hope it foes down further or stays there rather than increase! hahhaa..
Fiona, me also jialat...with the new yr goodies..hahhaa tats why maybe wt stays there...

bena/fiona, dun think i can join you all on tuesday lah... morning till 12 pm is a busy time for me by the time i reach ur place, i will be kick out by you alr... kekekekeke....

bena, oh i see... ur supply so much, no choice huh...

s@l, yup same same... now my weight just stay that way, cannot go down alr... lucky i am not a fan of new yr goodies, if not sure put on weight liao... but i cannot resist donuts, fried stuffs and ice cream... kekekeke... always need to control myself...

db,its by Nestle n call Toasted Oat..only comes in big box n only can be found in ntuc..i find alot of place n cant get..i usually put afew at a time on highchair table n my gal will self-feed Cant put whole bowl as she will hoot all..
good to train self-feed n healthy..my son sometimes eat them like snack..Hehe i oso like icecream,my favourite is Gelare's choc overload, super yummy!!!Were u one of those dat buy those donuts fr munchy donuts etc??Very sinful hor??

S@L,hub say we muz buy digital scale at hm so we cant cheat ourself hehe,when put on we say scale spoil haha!!

Any moms dat comin for playdate on tue pls confirm by mon ok so i can hav an idea hw many kids n moms in case i need to prepare snack

fiona, oh i see... will check it out... I love Andersens Ice Cream leh... yummy yummy... yes I am those that queue up to buy munchy donuts and donut factory... hahahahah.... once a week will sure buy a box of 6. horrible huh... but sometimes really craving for it... hahahahah... i think they going to open another donut shop called yummy donut at causeway pt... still under renovation... i guess once open, i will be there to queue... hahahahah