2007 Buangkok Mom??

wan, the hairdresser charges high? .. tinking of gg for hair cut there in future.. haa... nice anot?

paid $7 for bb haircut. my hair short, cut & wash ard $20. not say cheapest. reasonable lo

U&me hairdresser at anchorvale (my place) cheaper

Hi Wan,

So you have a maid to look after your kids?
I also have one but not so good. Intend to send 2 of my kids to childcare but headache on house work and night time kids'dinner

Hi Shannon,
How long has ur maid been w u?
So she is alone w ur 2 kids when u r working?

I used to do housework till midnight after work when older son was in childcare & hubby not in town. So tiring!
Even tho i had part-time help on Sat to do the heavier chores, but still all the washing up & laundry almost every nite was no joke.
Always eat out also not good for kids, so i tried to cook simple dishes 1-2 times during weekdays but my older son's wt almost stagnant during that 2 yrs.
Now w home cooked food & proper care, he is finally putting on some wt for the past yr.
So do consider carefully the pros & cons.

shannon,

MIL looks after 2 kids for me. she dun want to employ maid, say lose privacy etc. so far managing well. meimei is going to be 1 yr old soon...

vamiga,

come to think of it, my son also didn't put on much wt ard 2 yrs old. he was 10kg for almost a yr. now at 14-15kg

Hi Wan,

Ur boy only 3yo & already this wt.
My 5yo boy is only 16.5kg & the last 2 kg was gained past 1 yr.
So u can imagine how cham he used to be.
Sigh~

Vamiga,

my son used to be chubby2 as a bb. now quite lanky except for his tummy. he doesn't like meat that much

Hi wan,
Mine ate alot,esp food he likes but so difficult to gain wt too.
Was so tempted to buy those syrup to deworm him but hubby against the idea lor.
hehehehee...

Btw, the new swimming pool next to anchorvale cc is opened!
Any1 been there yet?
Thinking of going for a swim in the a.m.

Hi Wan,
u are lucky to have a good MIL to look after ur 2 kids. My MIL at first say will look after and move in with me but 4 days a week out to majong and leave my maid alone with my 1yr son. So I put a camera at home and send my elder to childcare.
The maid is very sotong and lazy however still patient with my kids and did not sneak out.
I still tahan her waiting my younger one to go childcare and hestitating to get maid or not cos' of dinner and housework.
My boy gain his weigh at childcare and my younger son still stagnant since 6mth till now 1yr at 8kg.I suspect the maid not feeding him well as I always have to call and ask her to rememeber to feed him.
Hi Vamiga,
Also envy you that you can be SAHM as my hubby did not allow me to do so cos of $$$ not enough

NEW SWIMMING POOL! vamiga wen u gg? so good u SAHM can go during off peak hrs... hmm.. but now is the chinese ghost mth .. tink i'll get nagging frm elders if i bring bb there.. guess hafta wait till end of the mth liaozz

shannon.. ur maid so sotong will forget to feed ur boy? guess my girl's lucky.. coz my mum's the one looking after her .. and she's already 8kg at .. hee.. 7mths .. she sounds like she's overwt hor =P

btw mummies whose bb dun go childcare.playsch etc.. got take the pneumoccal jab? me tinking whether to send her for the jab ..

Vaminga,
PD prescribed some vitamin for my boy when we say we are worried abt his wt gain. u might want to ask his PD too

slimz,
my boy did not take pneumococcal, but I think will send my bb after 1 yr old cos bro will be going to nursery and she will have close contact with him

swimming pool is near my house. has been there several times b4 opening. the 'tunnel' looks scary, worst than big splash in our days...

ohhh... new swimming pool? guess i'll bring my boy there after the 7th mth then!! wan.. there gt hot water for them to bath ant ah?

i intend to let my boy tak the pnuemococcal jab too.. i tink wif all those viruses ard.. better take ba.. cant afford to let him get sick.. xim tia leh.. keke..

Aiyoh, we modern generation, still worry abt 7th mth huh? What the elders wont know, wont hurt lah.
hehehee... :b

In fact, i mms a video clip of the new pool to my parents b4 my dip this a.m.
hahahaa...

Wow! I LOVE the indoor pool!!
No need to worry abt getting more freckles & chao4 da1 liao. Also can swim at my convenience instead of looking at Mr Sun's.
It has a jacuzzi too. So shiok to feel the strong jets of water on my back & legs after my swim.
The pools v empty during weekdays, i count <20 pax ard. I can even swim backstroke throughout the entire length of indoor pool w/o bumping into any1. hahahaa...

Going to bring both boys 4 a swim when hubby is on leave next thurs. See if i dare to play the adult slides then. Today i m alone, so didn't dare to try it. Been a long while since i was on 1. Hmmmm... think it was at the defuncted Fantasy Island?
hahaahaa....

I wish it has more mirrors in its 2 changing areas tho. Might not have enough seats when it is crowded too. So do bring ur own vanity mirror &amp; beach chair during weekends!
kekekeke... :b

My friend's blog has some good pix:
http://www.post1.net/biow/entry/sengkang_swimming_complex_or_sengkang_sports_and_recreation_centre

Hi Slimz,
If below 2yo, take pneumococcal jabs, need 3 jabs leh. After 2yo, just 2 jabs. Both my boys didn't take. Brought them to take 2 jabs of flu vaccines each recently tho, since we r going HK for a mth soon. So difficult to find stock!

Hi May,
No hot water for shower at the pool. Think Bedok has. Used to need 20cts but the jets quite painful 4 my elder son when he was 2yo.

Sengkang pool has nursing room w an iron bench &amp; a nappy changing station. Now everything new &amp; no pple, so look quite good but think if crowded sure v wet &amp; dirty liao.
Got kids bathing facilities too.
Usually when swimming at public pools,we will just rinse the boys at the outdoor shower &amp; bring them home 4 proper bath. Short drive mah.

vamiga,

problem is I dep on elders to look after my kids. so must listen le.

but those who are not pan tan, this is the mth to go as less people at the pool.

me not good swimmer. so can only bring children to baby pool. hahaha

very near my hse. can walk there. parking also free now. can go there for shower to save water!! (joking la)

Hi Wan,

True lor.
Last evening, my estate full of dying bees. This a.m. some were still struggling at the lift lobby at my floor (quite high leh). Heard neighbour say some1 at the next block found a whole swarm near their door yesterday so call town council. Just now when i go to carpark, can still c the cleaners trying to clear the bodies off. Some still struggling to move. Eeek!

Hi Slimz,
my son have completed the 3 pneu jabs as he is prone to flu and elder son also in childcare - alot virus

Hi Vamiga,
It could be the weather causing the bee or some cleaning up at your area that make the bee dies..
My area have alot of black worms crawling on the floor too . Maybe the construction cause it

Just a reminder that next thursday is lunar 14 of july. I think the swimming will be empty.Are u sure to go?

AHH!indoor pool =D heeeeeeeeee good good
read the blog.. charges is $2 for adult, children $1..

no hot water for bathing huh.. hmmm.. den guess will ve to rinse bb and rush home le..
we bo car de leh ...

any idea wat buses go there??

hmm... tink i shld schedule my girl for the pneu jab b4 gg swim huh... ... hmm.. ok.. shall call the clinic now..

slimz,

there is no direct bus from buangkok to anchorvale. 372 is the only bus service available at our ulu resort. can also take MRT change LRT

Hi Shannon,
What's the belief abt lunar 14th July? I dont know this sort of thing 1. Was just thinking usually Fri pm will b more crowded as no sch the next day.
hehehehee...

Hubby only on leave those 2 days &amp; we will b flying off on Sun liao.

just receive ad on swim @ sengkang course. playgroup for 3-5 yrs old, Fri 5-5.45pm. Next time can enrol my children for Beginners course after 5yrs old too. this is for mummies like me who can't swim...vamiga can teach urs boys urself hor

Hi Wan,
U c me too up liao! :b
hahahaa... i not v good swimmer, just that i enjoy swimming bcos it's the only exercise that won't make me feel sweaty.
kekekeke...

Think my boys will still need proper lessons when the times come. Just that i'm not in a particular hurry for them to learn, as my elder son is still too scared to put his head/face into water. It's only when he was playing in the water w us &amp; his brother for awhile then he will not cling to me/hubby like a koala bear.
I prefer them to enjoy the sensation of being in the water for now. Wait till he is older, more confindent w water, &amp; can co-ordinate better.

The baby really quite opposite of gor gor. He is v eager to go into the water &amp; quite carefree after the initial cold shock. i rem he cried alot during his 1st swim tho.
hahahaa....

I will like to teach my children skills that I know. only swimming can't teach. I enjoy the bonding time with them while passing on knowledge to them. kill 2 birds w 1 stone

both kids not been to pool yet. my son can't even use the shower until few mths bk!

Hi Wan,

I really admire u, as I really dont have the patience to teach. Helping my elder son w his homework already can make me vomit blood sometimes.
hahahaa....

huh.. so ulu .. ... hmmm mmmm ... how to bring my bb there ..
anyway, got lessons for babies anot =D

Hi Slimz,

I had brought my elder boy, Jx to Aquaduck for a free trial at Suntec when he was a baby. Mayb u wanna try?
http://www.aquaducks.com.sg/locations.htm

But he scared of water &amp; strangers then, so it's quite a disaster.
hehehee...
So we prefer just to bring him swimming on our own.

Closer to home, there is a "training centre" for babies at Punggol Plaza.
I peeped into the place but think it's just a lot of hype lah.
Just use a bath tub at home can liao.
heheeheee...
Anyway, Jb prefers to bathe standing on the bathmat &amp; we scoop water from pail to pour all over him. He is much more daring than Jx lor.

oh. hwa xia. everytime I pass by the shop, I see screaming babies with their mummies standing, watching. just wonder why must force bb to do things like that.

I'm that kind go by the pace of my children. my son walked at 18mth, toilet train and shower at 2+ yrs old. Once he can communicate, I ask him for his opinion. I look forward to 'friend-like' relationship with my children when they are older rather than dictating what they should do...

patience, I have lots!

I'm new in Buangkok, moved in 2 weeks ago.
My son is 20mths. We are staying at Blk 277A.

Currently is SAHM, but for a while only.
Have you ladies check out the NTUC downtown east "Explorer kid", indoor playground? I brought my son there this week.

Welcome Celline.

Hope you are enjoying ur short break b4 becoming FTWM (again?)

Have been to Downtown East on May Day and took the ferris wheel ride. But didn't go to 'Explorer Kid' yet. Heard it is quite fun

Hi Celline,
Welcome!!

Are there much facilities at Explorer Kids now suitable for a 20mo?

I brought my older boy there when he was 4yo+ &amp; he enjoyed the maze alot but we have not been there since the renovation.

Who is going to take care of ur son when u return to workforce?

Happy National Day!

what are mummies up to? anyone going for the parade or fireworks?

I'm going buangkok to watch parade on tv later. lazy sat morning...

Hi Wan,
Happy National Day to u too!!

We didnt manage to get the tix.
Also good lah, dint know hubby wont b in town when we apply for the tix.
Wil ltry again next yr.
hehehee... :b

Going to watch the parade on tv &amp; the firework from my living room windows.
Last Sat's wasn't v high &amp; abit hazy, so not v nice. Hopefully tonight's will b better.

Caught's the Olympics' firework on tv last nite, so spectacular!! Our NDP's sure not much kick liao.
hehehee...
:b

I'm also hoping NDP can be as spectacular as olympics. Can't compare in terms of budget le.

u mean from buangkok can see fireworks? MIL told me, I didn't believe. marina is facing which side? towards punggol road direction?

HUH! our place can c fireworks wor????
i was there tis morning.. if i knew.. would go over there tonite le..
but its raining le... duno wat's gg happen to the parade..

hwaxia swimming.. my mum told me b4.. frens too.. but tink its ex and abit bo liao =P
tink i will let my girl complete her PD jabs den bring her to public pool to play water bah...

Hi Slimz,

If ur flat is facing the right direction &amp; don't have much blockage, then yes u can c firework v often.

It's usually near the S'pore flyer, so if u can c part of the S'pore flyer, then most likely u can c the firework.

Seems like every year NDP will rain &amp; then stop just b4 the event supposed to start.

Hi Wan,

If ur MIL saw it b4, then she shld b correct lah.
That's 1 plus pt of our flats here.
Marina is towards direction of Hougang mall.
I was so glad that ur blocks of flat is not directly opposite mine, else my view will definitely will b totally blocked.
Just like my mum's flat in pasir ris, we can c totally unblocked fireworks fr the kitchen windows since she moved there years ago, until recently when the old condo in front of her went for enblock sale &amp; taller condo was built. Then no more liao. So sad!

can't see fireworks le. only the aeroplane fly pass (going back to seletar airbase). when children are older, can book a hotel room to watch fireworks next time

may may.. so how u managed to catch a glimpse of the fireworks?
vamiga.. me sty 277b leh .. not ur area.. mine not facing hougang mall leh.. looks like i prob wont get to c them..

Vamiga,
My son belongs to the more adventurous type.
So the Explorer kid is fun to him, though i think parents guidance is a must. Some area are abit too dangerous for him. I follow him up and down the maze. But I think he enjoyed the ball pool the most.

I've a maid and my mum stays with us. So my son will be taken care by the maid, while my mum will be around to see him before she goes to work.

You can see fireworks at your place. That's so cool. I cant see anything from my area

Hi Wan &amp; Slimz,
Most likely not facing the direction or kena blocked lah.
Last nite's firework was better than preview's.
We also saw the 5 lines when the Black Knights performed the stunt.

Jx was pretty excited as per usual.
Finally wont have too many planes flying past so often liao. I always worried they will wake the kids from their naps.

Hi May,
Near near c firework, the feeling is different 1.

Can hear the loud boom boom boom that makes the heart beat faster &amp; even smell the smoke if close enough. Our fav place is the steps at Marina Sq leading to Esplanade. The fireworks will b v v close.
Can also c quite clearly fr my DH's office at Raffles City. Think his office organising a party for the F1 nite racing.

Hi Celline,
Wow! U followed ur son up &amp; down the maze!!
Amazing! I dont think i dare or got the energy. V siong leh.
hehehee.... :b

Once Jx was stuck at the top of the slide of a high outdoor bouncing castle &amp; i had to get the operator to fetch him down while he wailed up there bcos the slides was burning him.
hahahaa... :D

Have ur maid been w u for awhile? Filipino or Indonesian? Mine is an Indonesian &amp; has been w us for almost 1.5yrs. Not sure if she wants to renew her contract tho.

so envious can see fireworks in the comfort of own living room. my colleagues can even comment that the heart shape black knights made were better at the NDP preview compared with actual day

May, can invite us to F1 party? FOC? my bb turn 1 when F1 start race. vrooommmm!

Hi Wan,

If it's up to me to invite u to the F1 party, of cos all of u r welcome!

But not even sure if the party is opened to staff &amp; their families or just their biz associates.
hahahaa...:b

U can get a Farrari formula cake for ur baby's 1yo bday to commerate the coincidence of these 2 special events!

My sons shared a Lightning McQueen bday cake recently. E-creative was able to duplicate the chosen image v well onto the cake by hand.
We were deeply impressed.