2007 Buangkok Mom??

dun worry slimz.. my ayden hor.. bump here n there.. i think he gt used to it liao.. he will "sayang" his head while crying.. some distraction usually can stop his cries...

he rolled off his bed twice so far.. last time was when he abt 6mths old...
no prob de ok.. jus put mattress below lor...

mummies, thanks for the comforting =D
she's ok so far.. jux called home and can hear her singing at the bkground .. ..
made dr appt tis evening to bring her to dr in case 'choy choy choy'

wah... choy choy! dun worry.. whenever my cousin's bb, 11mths old fall, i always tell my her tat babies and kids learn thru falls and bruises..

Hi Slimz,

U must have had a great fright! Doc say everything ok?
When my baby was hospitalised, i met a mum who brought her 7mo baby gal to c PD after her fall & then x-rayed & stayed overnight for observation, just in case.

Most imp is to keep baby awake for 2-3hrs after a fall, to observe them & to prevent them from losing conscious in their sleep w/o our knowledge.

My elder fallen fr bed 4 times. So we are v careful w the baby. Other than that time, think he giddy from his viral infection & fell flat onto his face after taking 1 step. That's after i put him down after sayang him when he blur blur go knocked onto my bedroom doorframe.
That's when i realised he was v sick to b so giddy.

hi mummies... i din bring my girl to the dr in the end..
coz she was ok all the way .. my mum says no need to bring .. ..
haiz.. now veri wary liaoz.. dun dare let her lie on bed .. urgh.. stoopid mummy..

dun be too harsh on yourself. being a mummy is not easy. I'm sure our mummies also went through that phase. we all learn along the way as our bb grow up day by day

Hi vagima,

Me oso SAHM i staying at 277A quite a distance from u. Intent to get a maid but still find it strange to let a stranger sleep here. u send ur elder one to childcare? my son went to childcare got virus cough n fever for a few days.. Caught broncholities then pass it to my bb gal...luckily now both r gettin better.. damn tired..

Hi mummies, So interesting to read about yr encounters at the kopitiams. I'm a WAHM staying at 268D with a 1yr old baby gal. Hve been goin over to kopitiam there to da bao ever since it open, and u r damn right. The zhi char at the new kopitiam - not nice (near goalpost). But we do not know abt the other zhi char which charges 'gst'. Hmmm.. can go try. Btw, if they display a GST reg. cert. at their stall, then they can charge gst. Otherwise, go SUE them.. Heehee!

didn't know that there is a buangkok thread here until i kapo kapo.. haha

i haven't moved in yet coz my house is in the final stage of reno.. gonna buy furniture tmr and should be moving in by end july if all goes well..

i'm staying at blk 273C.. and my girl was born in dec 07.. first child.. me is PTWM..

hi slimz!

u never told me got this thread leh.. haha.. i'm so slow.. now then know.. u're staying at ur new place already??

A warm welcome to Charmmama & Petrina!!

Charmmama,
I tot ur side got coffeeshop near the LRT station?
I'd explored all the way there by foot w my kids b4.
hehehe... :b

Hi Adeline,

Yes, my elder son used to b in childcare 2.5yrs since he turned 2yo & i finally gave up on maids then.
In fact, i had nitemares b4 hiring a maid during my 2nd pregnancy. Fortunately, she turns out ok & i have been tempting her to renew her contract w us when it expires in March next yr.
Too lazy to train new maid & my luck might run out.
hahahaa...

My son was always sick when he was in childcare & v bad eczema bcos of warm weather (no aircon). He is partly the reason y i become a SAHM, as he didn't like his teachers when he was in N2. Now i m v happy to c him going to kindergarden happily everyday.

However, i drilled into him to wash hands & feet + change clothes upon reaching home b4 touching anything, as i have to protect the baby.
Usually they will play together only after gor gor has lunched, bathed & done his homework.
Cleaner this way.

welcome petrina!

another food recommendation - fried spring chicken from western food stall at non-a/c kopitiam

ade! u r near to me n may =D
we'r @ 277b..

pet!heee...me been here 4 quite sometime le .. haa..
i haven move leh.. my reno abt 90% done le but we haven got furniture andm y HB gg ICT nxt wk. dun tink we will b able to move in b4 the chinese ghost month (aka 1aug)

welcome charmmama
prob mid sept bah =D

hi vamiga and wan..

thanks for the warm welcome!

hmm.. maybe we should have a table here and indicate which blks we're staying at hor.. then i dun have to ask one by one which blk u all are at... haha

slimz..

ic ic.. actually hubby and me also aiming to move in by 1st aug.. but doesn't look possible too.. got to see how first.. today went to ikea to get some book shelves and tmr going to get the dining table and tv console..

dunno if u mummies feel it but the flat's dining area are so small and tiny! so hard looking for a suitable table.. haiz.. headache..

Petrina,

in case u didn't read my self-intro many threads back, I stay anchorvale but leave my children at buangkok IL's place while at work. so I spend more time at buangkok than home. same blk as may & slimz.

agree the dining area abit cramp. if u don't need big sofa, u can squeeze dining table at the living room. the area outside kitchen can be freed up for children play area. otherwise, get those extendable table. only when whole family eat together then put out table. hope it helps...

hi mummies....
maybe we should mit up some days for a gathering?? so we can add faces to the names and nicks ya?
simz.. wan... stay so near and yet i dun knw who r u lor.. maybe we walked past few times and 0didnt knw hor?

Hi Vamiga, Wan and all mummies, actually, i should be the one welcoming U all, since I lived here for the past 3yrs liao. Heehee! Just that this buangkok area is new, even newer to me than to u all, since u all stay ard there. Heehee!

There is a coffeeshop at my area near Ranggung LRT, called 'Varinice', but the food sucks, except for the fishball soup. Love it! That's y been dabao-ing frm kopitiam after it opens. Did try the fried spring chicken like Wan recommended, still acceptable, quite nice!
But I tried the horfun frm Master crab, found it a little too salty. BTW, I've checked, they can charge GST, cos they did registered for it. ;( Will try the crab another time though, as my hubby just had a tooth plucked out today, nobody to share with me liao. ;P

Aiya, nowadays all the new flats from HDB are so small, imagine only 90msq for 4 room flat, how to 'encourage' us to have more children? Space so small, so must keep family small too, right.. Heehee! Worse, they dunno employ those designers, the way they design the layout, really make it so difficult to position the things, dun u all agree? Sigh!
But soon, I'll hve to say 'Goodbye' to u mummies here liao, I've just bought a resale in Serangoon North, leaving this dear 'buangkok' in 2 months time.. Argh! Now with all these new developments, so much more convenient than when we first move here, than now, have to move away liao. So sad.. Gonna miss this place, really..

BTW, Petrina, are you the one who did the BP for the Sleeping bags? Got a question, my gal has been using it so 'peacefully' for the past few months, until recently, she starts 'tearing' at it liao, whenever i button her up for sleep. It is also getting harder and harder to make her sleep liao, sigh.. Any mummies hve this problem with your lovelies? Every nite must 'battle' with her until 12plus 1am, then can Zzz...

May,

yah lo. sometimes I meet some mummies with babies in the lift or kopitiam, also wondering if we did meet b4

CharmMama,

I agree Varinice is NOT nice. We also tried almost all the coffeeshops over these few years now. Buangkok is our new hangout.

Actually I like my anchorvale flat layout, esp my bomb shelter is in the kitchen. I don't have to dress it up and can use it for storing canned food, maggi mee etc (in case of war??) the only thing i dun like is the blk to blk distance is too close (like buangkok) can see opposite neighbour diggin nose (arghhh)

Talking about sleeping bags, my babies never like being swaddled in any form. Never tried using any sleeping bag...

wan!! digging nose! haaaaaaaaa ...

i oni noe how pet looks like =P

may, saturday i was at my place .. to welcome my TV and washing machine ..
and went bk yday to put my free home theater sys.. heard some chinese ritual at the floor below mine.. wat was it abt?

charmmamma, dey really did reg gst wor... gosh.. so dey r considered as a resturant separate from the kopitiam le lor?

anyone dined at the halal restuarant? everytime i go there, looks like more staff dan customers.. like so poor ting.. wonder wen will we c the first casualty i.e. close down..

yeah!! i agree tat its too near! i can see wat show my opp neighbour watching lor....
ehh.. i dun knw leh.. apparently, we discovered big yellow flags and red banners at our lift lobby.. my hubby said its the neighbour frm the other side of the floor..anyway, its removed liao.. hmmm...
slimz.. which halal restaurant?

Hi CharmMama,
U so fast moving away liao?!
Rem to come back to this thread for "reunion" hor
hehehehee...

Hi May,
Meeting up sounds fun!
I'm ok to meet w or w/o kids, so just let me know which is ur preference.

Hi Slimz,
Where is the halal restaurant?
Saw another bakery going to open soon.
Aiyo~ so many bakeries 4 what?

charm mama,

yupz.. i'm the one bringing in the dream bag..

actually hor.. i'm not too sure also.. maybe its a passing phase that ur girl is going through?

got 1 period of time also my girl refused to be in the bag.. then now i will put her to bed first then zip her up in the bag..

slimz,

yah.. i also only know u.. haha..

mey and vamiga,

the halal restaurant is next to the aircon kopitiam.. really no one there one.. very quiet..

Hi Vamiga, definitely will surely come back here.. I always laugh when I read the posts here.. Heehee! Makes an awful day seems much better.

Hi Petrina, I also only put her in the bag after she fall asleep nowadays. but she very smart, once she wake up and 'realised' she's been 'bundled', she'll put hard and tear it away again. Then wriggle out of it. Really buay tahan ah.. Some time back, I still thot of getting another one when she was settling in nicely. But now!!! Arrgghhhh!!

Any mummies here got trouble getting yr lovelies to go sleep? Practically every nite 'torture' for us. She just REFUSES to go Zzz even though she's so tired and yawning, tripping over whenever she tried to get up.. But still DUN Zzz... Argh!

Today tried the yong tau foo frm the non-aircon kopitiam, really sucks! So many flies some more, thank God I didn't get any diarrhoe. So X too!

Slimz, no choice gotta pay GST lor, if wanna eat. But my hubby and I were also guessing who's gonna be the 1st casulty.. Heehee!

Ha! I FINALLY found the Sakura last evening. Dint realise the hoarding at the side of Kopitiam had already been removed & there is a ramp on that end. At least nearer for my stroller to access the lift at MRT station, as i prefer to cross the road via MRT station 1st than to let my older boy cycles along the narrow & squeezy path besides Blk 272.

The buns in Bread of Life look tempting & the service is v v good. Going to have donuts too but i dint c any last nite. Hope it will b yummy!
Going to try the $2 homemade kaya I bot later for breakfast.
hehehee... Actually i usually make my own kaya, but just can't resist buying fr them since they r so nice pple.

Din't realise the PCF is under Blk 277B till i was checking out the classes! Blur me was still wondering where most of u r staying.
hahahaa...v near 4 me lah
Will usually pop by at least 1-2 times a week in a.m. or evenings.

Quite like the small class size of PCF but older son is not interested to switch even tho i entice him abt cycling to sch etc.

Hi CharmMama,
When r ur bb's bed & nap times?
Mayb u wld like to bring bedtime forward by half hour & c how?
Seems like she might b over-tired so more difficult to settle to zz.
Anyway, here's some articles to share:
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/sleep/

U can choose the appropriate age-group on establishing good sleeping habits or search for any topic.

Do sign up for its weekly newsleter. As a 2nd time mom, i still find them useful reminders.
heheehe...

ya.. that's the halal restaurant .. the sakura one.. alwys c staff more than customers..
oso duno y got one more bakery... was asking my sister to take one unit to sell MR bean.. i will buy from her every morning =P

banazz,

non a/c kopitiam has a Maxwell Prata stall. always long queue. worth a try

vamiga,

my son has been confirmed a place at next year PCF N2 class.

Sakura at compasspoint quite crowded. dunno y buangkok branch not happening? must be master crab blocking the fengshui

i tried the sakura leh.. i think its not bad worh but also wondering why no ppl de lor...

slimz.. tell ur sis tat she will hav a lot of mummies in buangkok buying from her if she really opens one.. keke

I think Sakura at a dead end lah
Need a big big signage to point at it.
I only c it bcos of the ramp.
hahahaa...
Tried the Bread of Life kaya.
Quite fragrant but too sweet 4 me.
Still prefer my own.

I think the seating also affect their biz. actually master crab took the whole shop unit as their kitchen. the whole tentage for seatings cover sakura's shopfront. if u r there in the evening, it can be quite glaring w evening sun. after sun set, the seating area is very dark, unless u r under the tentage. they really have to do something abt it to improve biz

yeah.. agree.. they really gt to do something.. open 24hrs leh.. no biz v cham leh...
vamiga.. u knw how to make kaya ahhh... wah seh..
btw, i tried the lunch tingkat liao.. already for a few days.. not bad worh! at first hubby dun agree to it.. now also eat it liao lor.. lucky i order for 2 pax..

isit wan?? got prata ah? dunno y i nv c it e last time round. very excited now. somemore u say got long q. hopefully long q = yummy prata : )

Hi May,
Kaya v easy & fun to make 1.
Which caterer did u order ur tingkat?
My mum thinking of tingkat again.
Ur hubby working fr home?

Hi Banazz,
At least the prata will guaranteed piping hot.

long time not in this thread. I stay 265B. Also have 2 boys (year born in 07 and 05). Hi Wan, how much is the PCF school fee?

I also wanted to send him to that PCF but cannot trust maid to bring him to school as she don't even know how to cross the road!!!

shannon, sch fees per month is around $125. can't rem exact. call 6556-3209 to check with their registration cos the mass registration is over.

vamiga.. next time u teach us mummies how to do? conduct class..haha
oh.. i order from "house of catering"
i think its not bad
my hubby works shift lor.. tats y sometimes at home

Hi Buangkok mummies,
any good recommendation on neighbourhood enrichment classes for 3 yrs old? Saw many mummies at the NTUC playground, dunno if they were you.....

I am usually wearing a MIM dark blue sling with a bb gal and a 3 yr old boy who likes to take the motorcycle at the playground. say hi when u see me!

haaaaaaa.. wan .. tat's a fun way to describe urself..
wen i move in i shall keep a look out for u ..
tdy wen to bread of life.. the selection is not wide de..

Hi Shannon,

What sort of enrichment class r u looking for?

My 5yo son is w Yamaha at SK community club since begining of this yr & it has classes for younger kids.
I saw the Learning Habitat across the road fr NTUC has art classes etc but my son is not interested.
Will be enrolling him into Wushu class near my place in Sept as he loves to watch them practice since he was a toddler.
We will only send him for non-academic enrichment as a matter of principles.

Hi Wan,

What time r u there?
We were there at e 2 playgrounds & ntuc on Sat 8.30-10am. will be there tomo ard 9am too.

Bot the Bake Inc bread as Bread of Life wasn't ready yet. Wow! The Ham w salty Yam is v v nice!
Tried DS' apple, quite nice too.
But the otah+chix floss abit hard.

jux realised Bake Inc has another outlet at Hougang POint leh .. din noe dey were such an established player in the market.. tot oni one shop ..

Hi Shannon,
Yup, i m a SAHM.

Hi Slimz,
Ya, it has a chain of bakeries. Think used to have 1 at outside NTUC at rivervale mall but closed down bcos of poor biz.

Shannon,
me FTWM of 2

Vamiga,
we had dinner at kopitiam on sat. my son was playing with the 20c pingpong machine outside the toy shop & won the stickers and balloons.

slimz,
the hairdresser also has another branch at rivervale. that day went to trim me & my bb's hair. kpo ask ask