(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Hi agnes & coco, saw Dr Tan today. confirm no scans given from now on cos she said bb too big already. anyway today she only scan my bb's leg and torso.

steffi
yeah squatting and also on fours will help right to quicken delivery....

miorei
but think in hospital most people wear PJ walking around one le haha i went to attend the infant bathing class also all n PJ one le...haha never mind one la all same same

Bluelily,
We are in same situation leh, I hired a CL just so I can hve pc of mind (hopefully) and my hse also stay near my parents hehehe.. my MIL is the type who always tinks she's right and wants to poke her nose into other ppl's biz.. haiz.. but my hubby cannot always be ard when she visits leh, he still needs to work. Now already got pre-natal blues ah hahaha...

Miorei,
Me too, i got my own way of taking care of baby so definitely will hve conflicts with my MIL but i try not to tink so much now.. when it happens, i hope i will strong enough to say NO to her and not end up crying :p

hi coco/miorie/bluelily
don't get stressed up... i know it sounds easier said than done. i got to face up to my own mum. my MIL is ok one. with the CL i certainly hope things are better & i won't get stressed up too! so we all got to be strong and persistent should we need to get things the 'senseful' way

Jeelomeelo,
Okie dokie, we must all be strong hehehe

Mama_ash,
Me also interested in the product, am looking at the catalogue now. Btw where is the product made from?

Steffi, that's precisely what I'm worried of!

cocoangel, dun think abt it already. I think n think also will get pre-natal blues 1st. Just take it as it comes ba. HB says if MIL wanna come, weekends go drive her over loh. Then HB sure at home. :p maybe u can do the same?

jeelomeelo, let's hope our confinement will all pass peacefully! :p

miorei, shall take note of yr order...

bluelily, my 1st preg i not working, so lost touch with the outside world, tat time was trying to find such products, but can't find off the shelve. i got the link online from other forum, the mummies say is good, so tot to try this time round. And normally 1 bottle is sufficient cos dun think i'll wash hair daily, alternate bet the dry shampoo & washing of hair lor. I dun remember the gynae give me any wash for the bottom, the nurse juz ask me to use plain water to wash bottom after visiting the loo, so tot to try out this wash tis time round...

cocoangel, am not sure where is the product made from, if u wanna know, i can email them to find out lor... :D

seems like they give free delivery for orders about $150!! :D

mummies, i guess we got no choice when our MILs wanna visit us... i worst, my MIL got my house keys, can't say no when she comes up, she can even open the door herself... haiz... and somemore, my hb's side got lots of aunties, if they all come up, my house will have party liao... so sian...

steffi, my MIL same as yrs leh, she'll juz sit next to me when i breastfeed my gal on my bed & talk non-stop there. but i juz keep quiet lor... then she'll walk away... lucky she dun comment on wat i wear... but i also ignore her type lah... hahaha... maybe 1st one is a gal, so she also abit bo-chap... but now #2 is a boy.. hope she still bo-chap lor... but this time i got a CL liao... so won't need to see her daily in my house!

mama_ash, just notice that the shampoo n body wash got essential oils. Then bath liao will be oily anot? U saw any comments on this?

Bluelily,
Me not so lucky as you cos my MIL will just pop by as and when she like one.. i know cos now she's already doing tat though hubby and i are currently staying at my parents cos our hse not reno yet mah.. twice, she has came over w/o informing us beforehand! i find it very rude cos its 9pm+ on weekdays and everyone has to drop wat we are doing just to keep her company. and coming to my parents hse, she still dare to 'lecture' my mum abt me not wanting to follow the 'rules of confinement' leh... haiz the stories just go on and i find it so tiresome to say over and over
anyway will just keep my fingers crossed!

Mama_ash,
I hope my hse will be ready by the time i deliver and i swear tat i am NOT going to give my keys to my MIL haha... and i'm also going to tell my hubby tat no one is allowed to sit beside me when i breastfeed (only my close frens) cos i dun wan my MIL to be staring at mine loh
U know hor, not only does my MIL wans to comment wat i eat, whether i shit and wat i can or cannot do, she also commented on my maternity clothes!! really pei fu her to find something to tell me off everything i see her ah.. she said how come i dun wear maternity clothes and always wear tight clothing.. hello, just bcos i dun wear loose maternity dress doesn't mean i am wearing suffocating clothes mah...

cocoangel, haha! My MIL not as bad.. but hor.. think my MIL and urs can become gd frens leh! She also commented that my top too tight once. Then from then onwards, I'll always wear v loose top when I go over to eat. :p

coco,
hhhmmm.. i was thinking of even shutting myself in the room and no one to come in & out when i'm doing serious biz with baby hehehee. coz i'd think i'd probably need some quiet time with the bb to ensure breastfeeding schedule is establish and that i can just concentrate on breastfeeding

i guess most of us have prob with MIL. im one of them too. im currently staying with IL. During confinement i will be staying with my mum. A lot of things cannot do...and basically MIL is like controlling my life. feel suffocated sometimes. she staying with us...but never even offer to look after me after give birth. But better also lah..if not sure end up quarrelling.

2nd time mummies,
ahem, speaking of washing OUR bottoms... use plain water rite? no need to use the boiled chinese herbal thingie rite? I think it's more hygienic using plain water to wash...
so to those of u who are following the 'law' (i.e. cannot touch water), wear disposable gloves so as to wash our bottoms with water ar?

jeelomeelo
i will wash with warm salt water at least once a day,will help the wound to heal faster...also i dun follow law strictly....can just touch the water. even help to wash and sterilise milk bottles

hi mummies, this thread is moving fast .. My backache is gone out of the sudden .. But after backache, migrain came .. Gosh it has been days and i can feel my head going to burst anytime .. I seldom get headache since young let alone migrain .. Is it due to pregnancy ? Anyone experiencing that ?

Talking about in laws, actually alot of people here is very fortunate already .. My case is worse and thinking of it now will give me pre natal depression or maybe worse than that ..

I'm staying with my PIL, SIL, BIL .. Until now thinking of them will make me boil .. Throughout my pregnancy seriously no one bothers .. Even my MIL .. I guess most of the in laws will be very kan chiong but they are different .. My SIL is worse .. Since me and my hb got married, she is occupying the master bedroom and i'm fine with it .. But sometimes i need to go to the toilet urgently but is always occupied .. The toilet in her room is her OWN toilet .. So sometimes i even got to go to the coffeeshop downstairs to pee!! As i'm a light sleeper and during pregnancy i can wake up by slightest sound and not getting back to sleep( i guess alot of mtbs ere will understand)My MIL,SIL and BIL is not working and they can happily chit chat till 6am in the morning and recently hb's uncle came over and sleep .. Seems like he have 'move' over and the noise level is getting worse .. Tv volume is disturbing me .. SIL is yelling at her mum whenever she is not happy and for goodness sake is 3 or 4am .. The time when i'm able to sleep well is 6am after they fall asleep but when my hb wakes up for work at 7am, baby starts to kick non stop and make me so awake .. By the time i get back to sleep is 9am .. The whole family will start their partying at 1pm .. Imagine the time i can sleep .. I am so upset that why can't they understand that i need rest or even understand that my hb need rest after a hard day at work .. Luckily my hb is unable to hear what is going on after he sleep if not he is going to blow off his top .. Right now i can tolerate and i'll surely going mad if this continues after baby arrives .. Now our room is so cramp and hardly put a baby cot .. Worse thing is that my SIL is not considerate enough to give us the room but having it at her own comfort ..

Sorry for the rant haha .. But is things is getting on my nerves as time goes by and every other day i will end up crying whenever i think of all this .. Sigh ..

Bluelily,
Be frens huh? Better not, later they become even more formidable ahaha...

Jeelomeelo,
Shut in our room during breastfeeding huh.. good idea hor but i must lock the door or 'someone' will barge in ;p but in hospital quite difficult leh, must ask my hubby to stand guard at the curtain liao kekeke...

Tks ankh for checking...

hazel and eve,
mom stands for wat?? confirmed natal essentials is catering for lunch only for all bedok areas except bedok reservoir (cater both lunch and dinner)...

btw, is it necessary to use
1) Warming Body Wash for Confinement
2) Warming Shampoo for Confinement
3) Healing Bottom Spray?

cant bathe with water and normal body foam or shampoo like dove???

aso for disposable panties...can i jus buy normal types instead of maternity ones?

crystal,
u bought ur karmy brand pj at OG recently?? gg bugis later on, so tot of dropping by at OG to see....

Mel,
Oh you so ke lian leh.. staying with so many inconsiderate in-laws!! How old is your SIL and BIL, i reckon they are young since they are not working? How come your PIL or hubby did not talk to your SIL into letting her room to you guys? Baby will arriving soon and will need more space. Have you thot of moving out and stay on your own?
Maybe you can tell your hubby abt their lack of consideration and have him talk to them in the mean time?

Actually one of my gf in same plight as you, she also got a spoilt SIL, but after staying with them for abt 2 yrs (her boy also 2 yrs liao), she has finally got her hse and is moving out in few mths time. It was such a relief for her!

agnes
i bathe with normal dove shower foam and organic shampoo le eveyr alternate day during my confinement hee
its up to individual and how much u want to follow the confinement rules lor...

disposable undies if u din put on much weight maybe can bah not sure le i use maternity ones...hee

jee
haha use normal water can le la..dun need to use herb la...hee...i hor bathe with the herb then ah after finished i use normal warm water wash my V area le...then some use salt water but i dun dare...haha use glove ah me never la wash face ah wash bottles all just wash la..i dun really strict on confinement rules also.

agnes,

yeah i bought it at OG (Orchard). Don't know OG at bugis have anot... but think should have since the building is so big. haha

Re the Karmy brand PJ. I was at John Little just now during lunch (JL Faber House - former OG). They are having a sale. Some designs are selling at $9.90, other designs are selling at $14.90. Not sure what's the difference between the 2...coz material for both pricing feels the same to me. I guess some designs will appeal to some pple etc...probably "last season's designs" kinda thing. heehee...

Tks etelle and cystal...

aso, can i ask if i buy normal disposable panties, can i buy the size i usualli wear (b4 pregnancy) or must buy 1 size bigger...

same for pj, can i buy the size i usualli wear or must upgrade to 1 size bigger?

i saw there are 2 types of nursing bras..one w paddsing...one without padding...shd i buy the ones w padding or no padding?

ankh,
jus find it weird...y other gynaes scan for most mummies but not our Dr Tan....
so did she say if wan, the onli scan wud b the 3D or 4D scan (which isnt manadatory) and need to do groth scan b4 can do 3D or 4D scan?

Hi MTBs,

So sad... today went for my check-up... baby now week 33 and still breech, think I might need to go for c-sect...

agnes
disposable undies- better to put bigger cuz definitely pregnant and pre pregnant size diff. For me i bought maternity one..

nursing bra- i buy non padded one from triump ugly le but no choice cuz have to put breast pad le..

karmy brand PJ- all only free size .

HTH

hi mel,
just came bk from ICA.. went to collect Entry visa pass for a employee's wife from pakistan. My tummy so big.. got to carry and walk ard...

so sad to hear tt from u... got any consideration of moving out? under marriage semainar, it is good to live on our own first.. else will have problem.

u still can take it.. for mi.. guess prob i will die first.. before anything can happen..

did u tok to ur hubby on this case? It doesn't sound pretty heathly if things persist like tis..
Endure and Jia you okie?? Stay positive.. else bb also not happy too..

hi florence,

wad is breech? Stay positive...

Rest of the mummies, after listening to all ur stories on MIL. Pray tt next time we wont b like them.. glad my MIL dun like to travel.. we dun stay near to them too. We will visit them once a week if possible... After my big hoo har with my hubby's family as some of u rem... on my marriage and wedding dinner etc. i haven been really toking to them. Just those normal Hi & bye kind lo.. Felt tt like tt things get better though... Spend some times toking to ur hubby and prob get them to tok to his parents instead. My MIL knows i have my own idea / thinkings, she better not step in..

Better to see once a week than see everyday.. seeing each other every day will caused big fight and fires easily... To those who had, jia you!!!!

Florence,
Dun be upset, tink still got chance for baby to turn rite? Cos my SIL said my nephew only turned at week 39 leh...

florence

dun worry maybe baby will turn later. My colleage she is due early Nov, last mth check up baby also in breech position and Gynae also told her might need to go for C-sect. But ytd after check up, she told me that baby has turned already most likely can normal birth if baby dun turn back to breech again (tats wat her gynae told her)

agnes
my gynae also dun do any more scaning after the Detail Scan. Will only do another final scan at 36weeks..

amy
how come no more scanning le thought eveyr visit sure will scan and give u a pc of the scan...if not scan then go gynae do what?

amy,
at least u have one final scan...we dun even have....

csi_fan, etelle,
tks...didnt know...:p sua ku me hor...kekeke

etelle,
wat u say make sense...sure gt tummy after delivery...so must buy 1 size bigger but wud it b too loose tat the pad will drop off....i scared if loose, the pad will be like not firm..so will drop anytime....
issit if i have the maternity pads, i can buy nursing bras without paddings?

went for the first lesson with Mrs Wong on sat... and boy must i say it was fun.. heeee

now the topic on mils ah? actually i think i'm quite fortunate that i see my mil only twice a week.. sometimes her traditional thinking can really make me annoyed..

my fren bought a pair of cute shoes for my bb girl.. then my mil say cannot wear shoes until she is 6 months old and above.. does anyone know about this logic? luckily my fren bought the soft type and its for up to 9 months for bb.. otherwise so wasted..

clothes also dun like me to wear tight tees.. but she was nice enough to buy 2 maternity blouses for me though.. luckily its not those orbiang type..

agnes,
no lah, not sua ku lah. I also didn't know abt the PJ sizes till I went to see mah. hehs...

erm, disposable undies...I think the maternity ones are free size too? Not sure. At least the ones I've come across are free size lah. heehee...dun think the pad will drop off lah. Just pull up the undies all the way...hahaha...

erm, maternity pads no need padded nursing bras? Did you mean nursing pads? Different from maternity pads leh...

hi agnes, regarding scanning, my gynae oso dun scan every time i visit him. i was so pissed cos i hardly get to see my baby. usually he will just listen to the bb's heartbeat and measure my belly, after that ask me go back home...so sian...this friday i am having my 29th week scan, it has been nearly 6 weeks since i last see my bb...so missed her u know...hope can see her this friday...

Agnes
u mean if u have breast pads dun need to buy padded nursing bras...think shd be no need le..unless u find boobs too small need some support then buy padded nursing bras and pu breast pads on lor...

yeah wun drop one la...haha that time when i ahd my #1 all the way use maternity disaposable panties hold maternity pads okie le...hee
but hor if u use normal disaposable may not be big enought tohold maternity pads cuz if natural delivery normally put 2 pads one for cushion one to absorb one le

Anyone tried out the confinement catering food from New Baby before? Natal Essentials doesn't cater to my area...so sianz...

petrina
for me what i know is cannot wear shoes until after 1st birthday but the reason is cuz below 12 mth feet still growing so dun want shoes to affect the way their feet grow

haa..csi_fan...
sorri..i didnt make myself clear....i bought those nursing pads so when milk leak, wont kena the blouse...so i duno if i shd buy nursing bras with paddings or no paddings..
wat u think?
did u get maternity disposable panties or the normal disposable? did u upgrade 1 size if u gt the normal disposable?

hi pretty,

how come onli measure ur belly? I nv measure my belly before by my gyane? how did he listen to ur bb's heartbeat?? my gynae been doing the normal scanning to see the bb.. like tt lo.. nv do anything else.. is it normal? anyone else's gynae doing other things?

Anyone similar experience like pretty?

etelle
ya no scaning for these few months till 36 weeks.Each visit will do urine test, check blood pressure & weight, listen to baby heart beat & collect supplements. Gynae will also feel my tummy and roughly tell me how big is my baby and his position.
Understand that most gynae will scan every mth, but mine does not. My #1 already practise like tis.

etelle,
I never really understood the bit on having to use 2 maternity pads. Need until 2 ah? heehee...can't imagine how leh. kekekeke...

agnes,
I bought maternity ones. heehee... I must say, it does look big. haha. That's why I said, just pull up the undies all the way. hahaha. haven't tried them, so really dunno how loose (if at all) it will be. heehee...

Petrina,
I thnk ur MIL is concerned abt the way the shoes may affect ur bb's feet growth. Regardless of how traditional our MILs may be, they are not that way 100% of the time lah. Sometimes, they do have logic and scientific reasonings too...