(2007/11) November MTBs

Hi ASHM,

Jermaine refused to go school since last week and complained to my mum that her teacher "scold her in a loud manner". She also said her teacher "scold her because she asked many questions". She was very unhappy and had high fever followed by 2 days MC.

When I checked with her teachers, they denied everything and said Jermaine is very clever and quiet in school.

When she saw my cousin, she wanted to stay with them knowing she would not need to go school if she goes to stay with my cousin. When my cousin wanted to send her back after 2 days of stay, my gal was very moody and told my cousin she doesn't want to go school and she is scare of the teacher.

I feel very sad and hurt that my gal used to be very chatty and livly but ever since she went to school, she is seen moody and refused to talk. I thought of withdrawing her from school since she is so unhappy.

Any advice here? I need help...

ASHM,
Garreth will sometimes throw tantrums and tell us he doesn't want to go to school too. So usually we will coax him by telling him that there're exciting activities in school today, like waterplay, playground, music class, etc...and he will usually give in. Same for today, he said he doesn't want to go to school, so I told him there's a party (end of term party) and he will get to eat his favourite pandan cake, so he said ok, will go to school. Hahaha...hope this trick will be of help to you.

Hi Jen,

Seems like Jermaine is not keen in her school. But since they are having their term break soon, maybe is good to hang on there to see how is she when she goes back in the new term? And also if you can stay for half a session to quietly observe how she behaves during class.

Poissons - Ashton's teacher gave him a big sticker yesterday and I told him she will give another one today if he doesnt cry in school. He was ok when the maid was changing him into his school uniform. He was slightly teary when on the way to sch, but when daddy brought him up to his class, he was ok. So fingers crossed, hopefully this drama will not start in the new term. We are leaving for KL and Cameron Highlands tomorrow morning, therefore today will be his official last day in school....

ASHM,
good to hear that Ashton is ok now
now my only prob is to deal with Garreth's jealousy, I wonder when it will last...sigh...he has been so so naughty.

Oh..have a good trip to KL and Cameron Highlands! Road trip? Do note that the roads to Cameron is super winding, the last time we went, I nearly go bonkers in the car..haha. The Boh tea plantation is closed on Monday hor.

jennifer~for me i would consider withdrawing cos like my friend's case....the teachers claims that her son has austism which to me i dun see any different of behaviour of him from other boys his age.n the school actually ask her to withdraw him from them....she did n was worried but settled him at another school where he has no problems settlign himself as well as no comaplints etc form school as well.

think we will know our children better n others may nt hv the same patience as us n may nt tell the truth of what they did as well.

maybe monitor ur girl's behavious for few more weeks n decide later.if she's really unhappy....withdraw

weishy: you can call me at +86 1370 1811 350.

Here's a link to Hanting Express http://htinns.com/

Else use www.ctrip.com to search. Let me know when u coming. I might be in the midst of moving apt from Puxi to Pudong, as my office is shifting to Pudong. Now busy with settling the lease for new apt and new school for matt. Sigh...

Dear ASHM and weishy,

Last night, my hubby commented something which made me think twice. He said what happen if Jermaine were to cry again? Does that mean we have to take her out again? Also, he mentioned that in P1 classes, teachers tend to talk loudly and even shout. He asked me, "What happens by then?"

True in a certain way.. coz I cannot keep changing school too.... Just becoz the teachers scold or shout at Jermaine...

Faintz...

jadefeet: Congrats! =)

ASHM, Jennifer: I read somewhere that even though a child accepts going to school for a period of time, they may suddenly have "school refusal" out of the blue. This may be becos they are still feeling unwell after a bout of illness or they had a bad experience in school which was inconsequential but they decide to fixate upon it or they have been away from school for awhile due to illness. Whatever it is, I agree that we should continue to focus on the positives and let them slowly get back into the rhymthm of going to school.

Poissons: I know what you mean. Ethan started to act up at home and in school and throwing tantrums and saying mean things like asking me to give Evan away. But after I set aside his own time for him and take care of him myself and let someone else take care of the baby, he has improved alot. I guess all they need is some reassurance that we still love them.

Michviv,
Garreth gets super jealous when I BF meimei, he will demand me to put meimei back to the bed and carry him instead, or he tells me he also wants to drink milk (from my breast!). Once a while he will come near to meimei and give her a nudge or poke her eyes. Really driving us crazy with his naughty acts. So now I trying to establish a routine of letting meimei sleep first so that I can read stories to him and put him to sleep (he rejects Daddy). There was once Gilda cried for milk and he cried and wants me to pat him to sleep at the same, I nearly went bonkers!

Poissons: I rationalize it to Ethan that he has had his meal but didi only has milk from mummmy so must give chance ok or else he will be hungry and cry. Oh, I know what you mean when both cry at the same time. Thank god for my maid...

We have trained Ethan not to be pat to sleep and he just needs me to be next to him so I can still feed Evan and let him sleep with me next to him. Sometimes he kao pei that didi is too noisy...haha...I told him "Too bad! Or else I go outside." then he diam diam...=P

ASHM, Poissons, Jen,
C also has the same 'pattern' bah. She will say she wants to go MARKET even before she get out of bed to change, etc. But same thing too, I'll tell her she'll be able to see/play with her friends, do coloring, sit on the rocking horse (she loves that), etc and usually she will listen lor. this usually happens in the early week, after 2 days break, she prefers to stay home and play ALL day liao. :D

this coming long weekend, i think same thing will happen next Monday... maybe tods nowadays are already experiencing Monday Blues?! :D

Michviv,
Haha..Gilda is very noisy too, she snorts, she stretches..aiyo, so unlady-like..haha. Actually when I see Garreth behaves this way, I feel very heartpain, we just have to continue to give him assurance and more love, so that he won't feel left out. Jiayou together!

poissons/michviv,
hahaha... wat you experience is just the tip of the iceberg leh.

anyway, i realized its best to train the elder one to be a bit more independant when #2 is still small. i din do a good job back then, so now end up my priority goes back to #1 while #2 ends up with the maid. and C is super sticky and demanding whenever didi is around, she will whine n whine n whine; asking hb/maid/mil to carry didi away from him n only SHE alone can HAVE me, sitting on my lap and lying on my body and using her legs at both side to GUARD didi from coming nearer. can pengz lah...

Hi ladies, been awhile..
Anyways I'm also carrying my No.2, now at 26 weeks. We're expecting a boy!

Tell me abt all your experiences coping wif 2 kids. I'm now experiencing Hazel crying for attention even when no.2 not out yet!? eeks helps! She suddenly only wants mummy esp when she wakes up.

Congrats Poochi,
I am waiting to pop anytime fr now... counting n counting...

My gal during my early pregnancy suddenly likes to roll near to my tummy before she sleep at nite.. think they can sense the hormones/changes in us.

Thanks ladies... Tinkabel: I'm actually very excited, cos seems like the unknown is very interesting. One friend told me that not only will I survive, I'll become stronger and my kids, more independent, cos no helper... my mum will be with me for a couple of months though.
Haha... My #1 also super sticky at times, and I finally whacked him... cos he purposely shouted into didi's ears repeatedly in a single day. Think it was the 5th time then i snapped. hahaha... he jing jiu bu chi chi fa jiu.

We r hoping it'll be beyobnd a year too.. but it's ok, just take what's given. Have to learn to be contented.

On kid's refusal to go to school, it will always happen. Even up to primary school... even we have these moments at times. They also know what they have to do to get our hearts.
As for the shouting, I had an episode of that formerly.... but my hubby says Javier has to learn that not everyone's gonna be the same for him. And he's a boy, gotta learn that society's harsh. What a logic! but i figured it really makes sense!

I wanna buy a second hand ERGO carrier, cos my hubby refuse to let me buy a new piece cos I have really decided to close factory, regardkess of any situation. so, ladies, anyone wanna let go of your piece??

Ueno,
congrats! So many tiggers this yr

Smilemum,
it ain't easy handling 2 at foreign land, but definitely will be memorable when u look back. So when r u setting off?

hi smilemum, hope u will enjoy the time in finland! which city will u be in?

when r u moving over? hope u are making the move during the "warmer" months.... think it will be easier to adapt if so ;)

i am living in the netherlands now for the last 2 years. email me anytime if u need to "talk". our timezones will be the same

I will be moving in AUgust, but will be going for a week in July to settle housing and school.

My hubby's work is in Helsinki but he says we should stay in Espoo. August is warmer i think... There is much getting used to i guess. How do u like ur stay there?

Thanks k@ye, grace, lazykat, ueno, poissons and dreamer!

Ueno congrats too! Hope u are feeling fine.

Lazykat hope u have a smooth delivery!

Din log in for a week and there's so many new tiggers. Congrats to Jadefeet, Poochi & Ueno!

Lazykat: Jia you jia you. Hope u have a fast & smooth delivery!

Congrats to all mummies having #2

Its been a while i come in here.. Its really busy handling 2 kids without any helper..
no time for myself and nw my hair is dropping like no business.. sobsob

Back fr wk39+ gynae review... hopefully juz like wat he said, see him in labour ward next wk! Gosh can it be this wk instead? And I actually put on 1kg within a wk...

tinkabel~will hv to put SHA till later cos seems like the ppl r nt behaving well....so probs in sept hehehheh.tks for the link ya
will go chk chk

mambobbn possions~hummm ya very difficult....tough job esp without help.add oil ladies....

comgrats to 2nd babies mommies

Poissons - There is a new road to go up to Cameron Highlands which is wider and more comfortable when we drove up. We hired a mini bus with the driver so the whole road trip was good. Isabella and Ashton slept most of the time when we were on the road. We went to KL, Cameron Highlands, Ipoh and Malacca

Going to School - Ashton was crying buckets when i brought him to JG yesterday! He kept saying "mummy i dont want, mummy i dont want!". As if I was going to abandon him over there....hopefully today will be ok. When I picked him up after the lesson, he was completely fine and even gave the teacher a hug! Haiz....just dont know what is wrong with him. Like what Michviv said, they will somehow go through this phase....

Weishy - People are not behaving well in SH? We are going up in Sept....

Congrats to Poochi, Jadefeet and Ueno

Ueno & Poochi:Congrats mummies!!! Looks like the Tiger year is a year for BOYS! haha. With the exception of Gilda of course. =P

lazykat: Jiayou! Looking forward to your good news and pictures!!!=)

Grace: The countdown begins for you!

Mambobb: Kudos to you...I really don't know what I would do without my helper right now. My hair is starting to drop too...hopefully it will stabilise soon or else I may need to cut my hair again.

smilemum: So excited for you...enjoy the opportunity to live abroad. I'm sure your kids will benefit from the exposure to other cultures.

ASHM: Great to hear the road trip was a blast!
Ask you ah, so you drove up to KL yourselves and hired a driver to take you to Cameron Highlahds? How about Ipoh, is it really far? Where did you break journey? We are bringing the boys to Malacca in July and am planning a trip for KL next year but I've always wanted to go to Cameron. I've never been there before would you believe it? What's in Ipoh?

Meet up: Hey, want to meet up one of these days? Its been so long and I want to enjoy my last month of freedom before I return to work. Let me know k?

ASHM,
Welcome back, did you have fun? Don't think we can go on a roadtrip anymore, have to wait for little Gilda to turn at least one, else very ma fan.

Michviv,
I want to meet up! It's been imprisonment for me eversince confinement is over. Garreth is having school holidays so daytime he will be at my in law's place, I'm left alone with Gilda and the helper at home

michviv - We hired a 14 seater minibus with a driver and he will follow us where ever we go. We have to provide him food and accommodation on top of the daily rental of S$750 (min 4 days). Our journey was Day One Sin to KL, Day 2 KL to Cameron Highlands (approx 2.5hrs), Day 3 Cameron to Ipoh (approx 1.5hrs), Day 4 Ipoh to Malacca (approx 5 hours) follow by Malacca back to SG (apprx 2.5hrs).

I must say it is worth it to hire the minibus if you have a relatively big group because you dont need to drive which means it will be lesser stressful throughtout the trip. Just leave it to the driver.

michviv / poissons - yes yes, lets meet up! Wanna do lunch this fri? Ashton's class is at 2.30pm so can meet up before that....

michviv - Ipoh is a small and old town. The Oldtown Coffee place in Big Splash here is orignated from Ipoh. We have relatives in Ipoh, so thats why we went there to visit them. You should bring the boys to Cameron, they will enjoy the cool weather and can visit strawberry park, butterfly farm and BOH tea plantation.

Poissons - It is indeed quite ma fan to bring little baby along. We brought so many Isabella's barang barangs! But luckily she was ok throughout the whole trip.

ASHM,
I think next fri will be better, cos' my mum will be free to help jaga bayi (look after baby..haha..I'm learning Malay!) for a while, don't feel good leaving the baby alone with the helper, she's still new afterall

Butterfly farm: is there one in cameron? Aiya..we missed it! We went to the one in Penang and Garreth loved it whereas my other fren's kids were screaming cos' the butterflies were flying around in the farm..haha..

poissons - ok lets meet next fri

yes they have a few butterfly farms in cameron...so cute your friends' kids were screaming away..they must be thrilled to see flying stuff...

jadefeet, poochi and ueno,
congrats to y'all!

lazykat,
June baby is also good bah - jia you and let us know when you pop!

Meet-up: Aiya, if the meet up is on this Friday afternoon then i can join in coz i'll be on leave to bring my MIL for check up in the morning.

ASHM: Yr road trip sounds fun and most importantly the kids were well behaved.

Poissons: U've been staying home to jaga bayi (haha...)ah? My sis totally bochap aft giving birth to 2nd one and went shopping with the bb at least thrice per week.

Weishy: Hw's the kids coping in HK? Managed to get a new maid?

MissA,
how do u find the ergo?? Selling it 2nd hand price?
What's the design u have?

On road trip, i brought e to malacca when he was 6 mth. I think it was good cos he still young. Just sit in car sear. Older more difficult to settle them

Cactusnah,
Yah, confinement over but it's the start of "imprisonment"..haha. I also want to venture out soon, but dread the thot of lugging the bb and helper along leh..can't seem to shop in peace :p

morning mummies.. I have been struggling with C recently. May I know do u having this too?

1. She doesn't want to go to school now.
2. She doesn't listen to me AT ALL!!!
3. She will throw temper by hitting herself on her leg.. this has been happening quite a while but recently even more due to not behaving.

Is it due to the holiday I brought her last week or HORRIBLE 3 stage coming??