(2007/11) November MTBs

Congrats Poissons,
only 37 wks but heavier n taller than ZY who was born full term! Well done.

I still hv 6 more wks if not lesser.. Grace, jia you bah!

poissons,

congrats, gorgeous baby, i just love chubby baby :)

Berries,
hanns will make a fuss when goin to berries and kindergarten but after a while, he enjoys it, so far he can recognised more than 100 over chinese characters using berries flashcards and now for everything, he will ask me mummy 这是什么?sometimes, I also duno how to say in chinese so I just anyhow say. for me it is more enjoyable to see him giving me the output after attending berries than shichida cos in shichida class, they just stimulate and somehow he just refused or dun understand the instruction for the activities therefore will not do it and plus the fact that it is much more expensive than berries. so decided to withdraw him from shichida after this term. and When he is older and able to write 0 to 9, will let him try CMA.

second child:

I am guilty of short changing my kokomi who is now 8 months plus, no enrichment class for her and seldom outing too as hanns alone is already a handful for me, I am so tired each day that I did not do anything reading or stimulation to her at all. she is just crawling around by herself, standing up by herself and now her favourite past time is to let go of support when standing up and then she will be so happy and clap her hands. To me, she is fantastic, all these time, she is being left alone, learning things by herself and she is doing so well, much better than hanns who only stand at 10 mths. Today I saw her looking at her own hands, opening and closing, then she took her own pacifier and let it go by herself by opening her palm, then pick it up again and let go again, she was concentrating on this task for several times, I remembered that I still have to teach hanns how to take and give when he is younger or learn it during one of the enrichment class for baby, but kokomi is learning this by herself. Wondering if all the money spent on the enrichment classes for hanns when he is less than a year old is really necessary......???

when hanns was a baby, everything also cannot, everything must be spotless clean but with kokomi, I simply dun care and she is still growing very well leh..... poor thing as a second child.so sorry to her.

Is your second child the same fate as kokomi???

Dear happy,

I am feeling the same way as you do.... my 2nd child (Jovia) has the same fate as kokomi....

Sometimes, I really wish I could do more for her but there is really little I could do...

hi happy and jennifer

i have the same feeling as u too. my boy also 8mths plus. Not much time for 2 kiddos at home, especially my elder girl super active. sometimes i wish i can SPLIT into 2.... one mummy for each.
Being more qing cai with #2... he can eat anything... not so much restriction liked #1. so he is much bigger size as compared to jie jie at his age.
I didnt bring him out often too... as its indeed very mafan to bring 2 kiddos out. As a result, he is more afraid of strangers. i do feel very guilty at times... really dun have time for all.

Is ur #2 more clingy to u?

brought L to the doc n he's certified to be able to go back to school on mon. There r no more marks on his body too. Thank God he recovered so fast!

HAppy, dun feel so bad lah... I guess its normal, i dun hv a 2nd child yet but i can see the difference from the way my Mum treats me vs my 2 younger siblings.

She told me that being the 1st child, she is very gan cheong thus more time & effort are being spent on me. On the 2nd & 3rd child, more experienced plus no extra energy... so more bo chap. But the love for her 3 children are more the same.

kokomi is super sticky to me, every time I pass by her, she will be very happy to see me and comes crawling but once she knows I am heading elsewhere or doing something else instead of attending to her, she will scream and cry :)

the only time she gets my full attention is when she sleeps at night cos she is sleeping beside me :)

possions~congrats

kittybride~Happy belated birthday to G too
tmes really flies :p

cactusnah~where u going ar

ueno~scary le.....but at least nt so serious.....luckily took the vaccine .

ASHM~woman wanna celebrate together ???? hayley will be here ma
but birthday parties at disney will be around 8k hkd.....n frineds told me nothign special just the mickey cake....

poissons, Baby G is so adorable!

ueno, hope L has recovered by now.

michviv, what time is the music class on 8 May? Hubby is treating Mother's day Lunch so not sure if timing will crash.

btw what is berries?

missA,
thanks! Leroy has recovered, doc said he can go back to school on mon but im keeping him at home now cos he's still coughing.

weishy - we are planning to bring ashton to hk on Nov 13-17...not confirm yet...and yes will love to celebrate their birthdays together with hayley when we are there

When are you coming back? Do join Ueno and me for breakfast ok...

Ueno - The weather nowadays is simply no good, kids are down with cough, running nose or viral fever....sigh...

We are going up to KL and Cameron Highlands end of next month....hopefully the weather is good during that time...

Weishy, how much is the HK Disneyland annual pass?

ASHM, ya... Weather is really crappy these days.. even my Mum & hubby also fell sick.

Now it's Zee Yann's playgroup with 1 reported case of HFMD - somemore she had fever for no reason last fri.. Now ok, praying won't get it fr her classmate! So will hv to keep her fr school next wk to play safe!

Re: toilet training
I hv not been too persistent on this, but the past 2 days she show much more enthusiasm - cos I am using reward system which she finally gets to earn it. I wonder how long her enthusiasm will last and it's hard to go diaperless since I am worried abt accidents during nap n when we r going out.. Shld be alrite if I still use pull up diaper??

Been out for a long time man. Have been really busy for the last 1 month plus on a US IPO project. Bankers are mad, pushing the deadlines. Prob scared the mkt going to crash again. It turned summer in Shanghai with one week during the 1st week of May. Immediately, we keep our winter stuff and transit into summer. Shannon's been doing great for the last few weeks as the weather warmed up. Finally no more runny nose and she is really active. Starting to crawl soon at 8.5 months. Matt's doing great at school too. Can name all of his classmates. Sing many songs. Now even has a good linkage of thought process. That day we brought him to the Science Center in SH and ignorant daddy brought him to experience earthquake and he was scared. Then when back home,he actually told me he is scared of earthquake, so don't want to go out. The only problem we have is he is still not potty trained. Sigh... Hubby's got a biz trip to Paris in mid June. Hopefully I can be done with my deadline and go with him, will have to come by Singapore to drop off Mum and the kids. hahaha...

Weishy: U back in HK? I might be in HK next week to be at the printers for the IPO project. See if got time to catch up for dinner or somethg after the filing.

Something wrong with the thread since last week?I've not been able to log in. Finally able to log in now.

Cindy: My friend's 4 year old gal who has attended many enrichement classes (shicida, mindchamps, ballet, etc) also cried buckets and begged her mum to drop her off the Berries classes. Her mum commented it's so unlike her. Perhaps an incident, teacher or one of her friends that causes it, the gal refused to tell her mum. So, she has drop off from Berries and she is now a happy girl with Tian Xia.

Ueno/ASHM: Wow, so u mummies are having weekly Friday breakfast. Hw nice.

Ueno: Glad L is ok nw. U take care too:)

Dreamer: Went to yr blog and saw yr photos. U've been making an effort to go for frequent trips to different town all the time. K is one lucky girl.

Weishy: I went to Taiwan. Btw, hw's the kiddos coping in HK?

Finally!!! Can't log in at all for the whole of last week.

Mummies: can you all advise especially those who put your child in full-day childcare...what is the frequency of falling sick? Sorry, I am being ignorant here. Thanks!

Hello Nov Mommies,

It's been a long time I came to this thread. Busy with work and home, so hardly track this thread until now. Looks like everyone making good progress.

I am still still actively trying for no. 2 but to no avail.
Nothing seems to work, partly coz of that, I am rather sad. Contemplating to move on to IVF soon. But still, no guarantees also.

Happy, I thought of sending my girl to Berries also, u hv any idea which branch has good reviews?

Gelyn, depends on the size of the CC and how strong your child's immunity is. For my girl, I put her in full day CC for 6months already, she fell sick only 2x. I also gave her multi vits and fish oil, so I am not sure if that helps with her immunity too.

Aiyo...paiseh to all mummies who tried to contact me. I've tried to locate this thread for so long but only managed to find it today.

Poissons: Congrats! Baby Gilda is really very chubby and cute. =)

Ueno: So glad to hear that L is all better. I was particularly worried cos we had a scare when I was pregnant and Chicken pox pose a risk to the unborn fetus, hence my anxiety. =)

Poochi, missA: The music class for 2-3 year olds is from 9.30-10.30am on Saturday. E really enjoyed the class and I find their methods of using technology quite innovative. But the timing is really difficult for me as my hubby works on Saturday mornings and I don't have the car. So I've asked if they can open a class on Sunday afternoon and they told me they will waitlist me should they open one. Aw well...

Happy: Which Berries branch does Hanns go to?

Gelyn: E fell sick TWICE a month in the first 2 months since he went into full time childcare. Since the beginning of March till now, he has fallen sick once. I'm topping his formula milk with my breastmilk and I think it has helped boost his immunity.

Allo ladies!

RE: Falling Sick in Childcare Centre
Normal to fall sick in the beginning. Claire was down at least once for the first 2 months and now the time to fall sick period has begun again. Today, her class is down to 50% attendance and her teachers told me tat alot of them are having running nose! Unfortunately, Claire kena it too!

Weishy, quite good deal for HK Disneyland... Mabbe bring Claire there the next time i visit HK lah! :p

Tinkabel, great to hear that Shannon is okie now! And time really flies 8.5 months liao!! Pray that u can go to Paris with ur hubby! It will be fun!

hi ladies/mommies,

finally can log in to this thread!!

happy - hi-5 lah; with 2 kids, sure will have same problem. gaby is in the same situation; we end up 'dumping' him with the maid most of the time. and no special/enrichment classes for him either; just too tired to do all these with chloe being super cranky most of the time!

and i just feel so guilty as he also sleeps with her every nite; except fri, sat when i have 'energy'; will bring him over to sleep with me. sigh... hopefully he will still feel the LOVE of mommy lor. but let's all just jia you and do our best.

weishy - thanks. soon your chuberic lucas will turn one too!
gaby's at the separation anxiety stage, so will cry a lot if he sees me/hub walk away, even a few steps away from him will bring tears/cries. *slap head*

ueno - glad L is ok. few days back i also found lots of red dots/small patches on chloe's chest & back and CP came to my mind immediately! but after checking with her PD, it was just rash n was asked to observe, today is 5 day and the patches/dots have slight reduced. i really can't imagine if it's really CP; she will surely scratch n wail/whine till the cows come home! hahahaaa...

gelyn - long time no 'see'. ya, normal for newbies to fall sick; need to get used to the environment (aka germs, etc) but should stabalized after few months. just be prepared for constant runny nose n cough lor. jia you!!

RE: BERRIES
yes, any1 can advise which center has good reviews? i called up last week, the 2 centers nearest to me (Bt Batok & West Coast) are fully booked for 07 toddlers. M on waitlist...

michviv, do we hv to join in the music class? seems fun maybe I'll chk it out soon. Hopefully it's not too tiring for A to attend music class and swimming in one morning.

RE: Berries
I heard the West Coast branch is good, Hanns shd be attending this branch. I'm also on waitlist. I've sign up for the trial at Palais Renassiance this Sunday.

ah, the thread is finally back!
me also lost it..

i wonder if lazykat has given birth.. since baby gilda is going to 1 month soon and we are all 1 month apart!!

sounds like alot of mummies are sending their kiddos to chinese class. i would like that too. my little monster is a angmoh kia.. she understands chinese but replies in english..faints!

tinkabel, hope u get to go to Paris!!

kaye, have u found a job?

catusnah, how was the Taiwan trip? Fun eating at all the night markets? i totally miss that..yumz!

hi mummies [wave wave}

Berries - Ashton is attending the Palai branch, so far so good, can see the teachers there are very engaging and lively...so will continue the lessons there till at least end of this year

Tinkabel - Paris in June, perfect timing for the summer sales! We are planning to go to SH in September, you can let me know what things you need from here and I can bring over...

Grace - Another 2 months to go? Jia You ah...

Michviv / Poissons - How are you babes? How's the little ones?

Art Boot Camp - Ashton had his first lesson last Sat and he seems to enjoy it... The teacher told me he was kind of lost on that day but he followed the instructions well. Did not look for me (i just left him there), only thing is his fine motor skills, have to practise more. She told me even some of the 3 years old children there are not good with their fine motor skills too...so i guess practise makes perfect!

Gelyn,
ZY has been sick at least twice since started CC in Mar, and now is still away fr school due to HFMD cases in her class - so need to hv a backup when they fall sick.

Grace,
still counting down, just going into wk 37, think the little one is still comfy inside me, think will be in there till end May or even early Jun! How've u been doing??

Mine is no better, tho she will reply me back in Mandarin, but she sounded ang-moh-ish too. But i guess just hv to practice and make a conscious effort to speak more lor.

Qn on Avent electric breastpump purchased fr US
Did anyone got Avent breastpump fr US? Cos wanna know if the international warranty is indeed valid, the reply i got fr Avent SG not too convincing.. so hesitate if i shld get it there or here//

Grace: Taiwan trip was ok, super tiring coz i only had abt 4hrs of sleep everyday throughout my trip. E was ok throughout the trip except he din eat much for his meals and that really affected my mood. He only wanted milk and i almost ran out of milk powder though i was v.KS to bring alot there. I think he doesnt really like the food in TW coz he cld finish his in flight food. With kid in tow, i think places like Hualien will be a better option. It's slower pace and u dun have many places to rush to visit unlike in Taipei. So, Aussie will be my next target destination

Hw are u coping? U've employed a new maid right? Hw is she? Washed all the bb clothes? Is A excited abt mtg her new bb bro?

Tinkabel: Gd to hear that Shannon is doing well. Hope u can make it to Paris with yr HB. That'll be a v nice break.

E can speak fluent mandarin but he caught me by surprise when he asked me a 18 words question in mandarin few weeks ago. He also speaks short sentences in malay with my MIL and helper. My MIL will ask him a question in malay and he can reply bk in the same language. Sometimes, when E tells me something and i dun get him, i'll think that he is pronouncing the words wrongly. Ask him to repeat again and he'll tell me in english, only then that i realised that he was describing it in malay and translating it bk to english for me:p

I read from somewhere that they absorb different languages fastest before the age of 3.

Michviv, K@ye, Kittybride & Lazykat: Thanks for the info. I think I will put him in half day childcare first. :)

Yeah, I heard about Berries from my colleague and it seem interesting. ASHM, does Ashton speak to you in Mandarin after attending the lesson there?

Cautusnah: E can speak so fluent?! envy too! Mine still really speak in sentences yet.

ashm,
i think abt 6 more weeks to week 38 for me... =)

lazykat,
hahah, still got time..which week did ZY come out? Ashlyn came out week 37. which hosp have u chosen? hahahah me horrible, still thinking mount a or glen e. i think i give up on myself? have u thought of yr boy's name? i still thinking also..hahahha..this time i am so indecisive.

catusnah,
didnt realise e went with u to taiwan. when a went that time, she is way younger so we dont have a lot of problem with food, its mostly milk and i bought alot. this time with kota kinabalu trip, she didnt even finish what i bought, she is so happy with the HOTEL food..hiaz. i thought yr 4 hrs of sleep was due to SHOPPING>.. guess you are stressed!! yes, Aussie next destination but i think should be in 1 year's time or more...hahah

yes new maid came on Wed.. so I am at home today also. finally got chance to login to catch up. as for maid, its still early but so far so good. quite auto.

Grace: Ya, i was lack of sleep partly coz we went out for night shopping till abt 1-2am most of the nights (but i brght E & MIL home first)and also coz i stayed at my friend's place so we were busy catching up with each other.

Gd for you that yr maid is good. Now u can shake leg and no need to do chores liao.

Sigh...i'm not so lucky this time. I'll be sending my 6 months old maid bk to agency in abt 3 weeks time aft my new maid comes. My present maid is very gd in all aspect, clean, obedient and all BUT my MIL has been complaining that she lost her $ since she came to our hse. My MIL is someone who is very careful with $, so with new maid, she naturally counts all her penny to make sure that things are ok for the first 6 months before she decides if the maid is trust worthy. She did the same with my 1st maid by testing if she is honest and if the $ in her wallet goes missing, it was perfectly ok. But this maid different lor. The most recent episode which happened this week, is the 4th time liao. Though the amt is not much each time ($20-$50), i cannot tolerate. I confronted her on two occassions and warned her that if it happens again again, i'll not ask her anything but get her to pack her bag and go. Each time she'll tell me she din take and she is innocent. We still couldnt find where she hide the $ and so i've no solid proof of accusing her of stealing but i trust that my MIL will not be so blur to make mistake since this is the 4th time. My MIl is equally sad and disappointed coz like the 1st maid, 2 of them get very well and my MIL kept asking me to tell the agency not to scold her. I dunno whether it's her habit or what but the episode always happen 2 months apart. Hopefully, the next one will be better.

Allo!

Grace, considered found a job but they need to conduct a background check on me... Once its satisfactory... then i will be starting work either end of this month or June!

Cactus, its very normal for E to behave this way while overseas. Same case for Claire... Whenever we go out to eat in HK, she will be extremely selective of the food. Basically, she wants our food (those deep fried, oily greasy one) n she wont want those that we put inside her bowl. So its really a battle to eat outside... Usually, we will feed her first before we go out! :p

catusnah, shiok right can shop so late. that time we only max 11pm only cos ash no better to look after. so good, stay at fren's house.

oh, if lost money then i think cannot be helped already. hope the new maid is better. but as u know cos m house no one at home so i got installed cctv. so she knows got cctv so i think she dare not try anything funny. hopefully....

kaye, hahah u wont fail background check on lah. what location is the new work place? near bedok or near yr house?

Hi cactusnah,

Have u thought of putting a CCTV at home? Before I employ my current (and also the 1st) maid, I did check with my agency and ask what happen if she (maid) has money. The lady from the agency told me that I would have to either give them a call or it should be a police case because maid should not have any cash at all.

Do get back to the agency and inform them abt this maid of yours... Hope it helps....

My maid is rather lazy and being the 1st time employer, my hubby n I really do not know what to do... She would sit or stand watching TV.. If we did not tell her to do things, she would not move... *sigh.... Had to call her agency and the lady scolded her.... she changed for the better but returned back to the lazt self after a day.... until I really cannot stand it...So one fine night, my hubby n I told her to stop doing all jobs and told her off.... after which she promised to change... this is the 3rd day.. I am crossing my fingers.. and if she is really too lazy. I will have to change her...

To all mummies here,

How do u discipline your maid if they are too lazy???

tinkabel~woman me going to SHA in end of june,any chance of accomodating me n hubby :p wanna go see the expo la.let me know ya if nt i can go book hotel
tks ya

k@ye~disney promo only till may le......

cactusnah~i love taiwan heheheh good food n shopping.wanna go "peng hu" saw from pixs very beautiful!!!!

grace~oooh new maid....me too headache cos new maid in hkg as well

berries~too bad nt in sin if nt sure send hayley there...her mandarin sucks lol

Grace, its at Tg Pagar... nearer to my home!! Hahah!

Weishy, its okie lah... I doubt i will be going to HK so soon! HK also got Mandarin classes rite? Dun worry too much abt language lah... Claire can speak a mixture of English, Mandarin & Cantonese (being her strongest)....

Grace,
chances r will be Wk40 lor
since ZY is 5 days past her EDD.. wwas telling gynae yesterday will be happy if he decides to come out 5 days earlier.. still taking TMC. MAH or Glen are ok also ah.. but i rem the confinement food at TMC quite nice - also my gynae practices there most of the time, so more convenient for him for review.

Actually i prefer a May than June baby tho will be Gemini for sure! As for name, its easy, since first 2 chinese words are fixed.. so we r done with that too. Dun procrastinate too long, else u list the names, we vote for u!

We r considering hiring a maid too, but think i will wanna try w/o one and see how it goes. Cant used to hving someone else in the house...

Cactus,
better to change the maid - tho its tiring to start all training all over.

I always go to Taipei cos mostly for work previously.. will wanna explore the South and the more rural areas the next time. Wonder when with 2 in tow now..

weishy,
what happen to yati(was that her name?) sorry if rem wrongly.. why need new maid?

k@ye, wah more shiok ah.
my office should be moving next year, dont know which quarter, to MBFC..sianz...raffles place kind of crowd again, will have to snatch seats for lunch and put tissue paper. also wont be so convenient for me or hubby if want to fetch me cos got CDB..

lazykat, haha week 40 ah. never mind lah, bb grow bigger and stronger inside! May bb only left 2 more weeks..jiayou bah. maybe u tell bb that u prefer May!

as for maid, well, if not for my hubb working shifts, i will most prob not. otherwise wait night shift, if 2 of them want attention together i will die. but since you SAHM, a maid should be ok bah, help u with household chores...think abt it.