(2007/11) November MTBs

Grace,
luckily hubby dun hv to travel as much now, so think can still manage guah.. at most ask if my PT helper can come 2 times per wk to help me with washing? Taking each step as it comes now.. I am telling bb to come anytime fr 26 May onwards

Berries:
aiya, A cried buckets and insisted i accompanied her. I quite like it and hv signed up for the term. Yesterday, they learned Mien Pao and Niu Nai so there's free sampling of bread and milk. The teachers even prepared 2 animal shaped sandwiches for the kids to take home. A was quite good in class, can say the 2 words. However after the class, I pointed to the sandwiches and asked her what are those & she replied "toast bread"
She'll need lots of practice la, hiaz.

kitty brides,
hanns in tue 4:30pm class, i prefer that teacher cos nephew same teacher as she is quite animated and can handled hanns lor, the rest not too sure. sorry.

missA,

you do and talk and teach A exactly like the berries teacher and very fast, they will pick up, that's what i do to hanns and he loves it, he will say loudly like what he did in class.

RE: Berries,
missA,
can sit in for the whole session meh? i was told max only 15mins n parent must exit liao. anyway, m going to bring C this wkend. hopefully she wun cry buckets as well but very hard lor, coz she has extreme separation anxiety syndrome! hahahaha...

happy, i wish i hv time to do that with A. Been trying to practice with her. Hopefully can keep up

kittybride, there's ano mother sitting in the entire class together with her older daughter. The Orchard branch is ok with that. My friend also send her kids there and she said she got to sit with her K2 son for a few lessons. I am trying not to do that as I don't want A to have expectation that I'll be in the class all the time so this weekend I am just going to leave her thr to cry her heart out.

Hi mummies, I have a very sua ku qns to ask....
Those Thermos Shuttle Chef... Can cook porridge one or not ar? Thinking of getting one small one to bring along for our upcoming trip to Perth...

gloomybear~yes can but u need to boil it over fire first.maybe u can get those nstant ones from pigeon?or prepacked congee from those korean supermarts

missA,

no need to take much time, just take out the 2 orange flashcards and the little booklet that berries gave and flash that 2 words again and ask her in teacher tone, (what's this) (in mandarin of cos) and then praise loudly (very good, in mandarin again) if can, take out the milk and bread and put the flashcard infront of the item and just revised it lor, less than 5 mins :) before i go to berries, I will take out the previous lesson 2 words and refresh his memory, that's all. each week 2 words and I very happy already, (easily contented hor)

kittybride,
they said 15 mins but they dun take a stop watch and time you so you just pretend and stay a while longer to see what's happening in the class lor, it's okay, better to stay longer for 1st lesson as we wanna find out what's being conducted in the class and how's our kids response to the lesson too. no hurry to come out soon, take advantage of 1st lesson cos later, you cannot go in with them again.

Hi mummies, long time no post. How time flies, we have just celebrated Gilda's first mth last sunday. 3 more months to go before I head back to work...arhh...

Garreth is down with fever and sore throat since Monday. Been so grouchy and manja, only wants me and refuses the daddy, so I've been so stressed juggling to take care of the 2 kids, esp when I need to bf Gilda, Garreth will cry and ask me to put mei mei back to the bed and carry him instead, if I don't he will wail even louder. He's really testing my patience, but I keep telling myself to cool down and not get pissed cos' he's probably really feeling very terrible being sick and needs lots of TLC. Now I'm just hoping that he will not pass the virus to mei mei, we have "banished" him to my in law's place during the day these few days, only back in the evenings.

Chinese classes,
My niece attends Tien Xia and so far so good. Garreth speaks fluent mandarin so I don't think I will put him in chinese class yet. Just had the parent-teacher session last week and his teachers were telling us that they were impressed with Garreth being billingual
I want to put him in other enrichment classes, but just can't decide which leh.

poissons - hello hello.... Ashton is attending the one in Turf City. Wow time flies, Gilda is now one month old! Isabella is turning 7 months next Tue.... G is so good, can speak fluent mandarin! Ashton still speak only english and when we asked him what he learnt in Berries, he just answer me in english, urghh... Still trying to remember to speak to him in mandarin as much as we can....

Gloomybear,
bring the small slow cooker along la. that's what i did when I travelled with G. I cooked stock, freeze them and put in cooler bag..brought along rice grains to cook.

ASHM,
Thanks! what's the name of the school? We haven't had the chance to see pics of Isabella leh! G can speak fluent mandarin cos' we force speak mandarin to him, else I think he will be a kangtang now...haha.

Poissons: So fast? Gilda is one month old already? And u're officially free from confinement. Saw yr gal's photo shoot, very nice!

Weishy: So Warti has left? Bet u must very sad coz she is a gd helper. Hope the new one will be as good.

Gloomybear: Why dun u consider the traveller size electric cooker? I used that to cook instant noodle and boil water when i was in Japan.

Poissons: Wah! Time flies huh? Congrats on Gilda's 1st month. =) Evan is 2.5 months now and he weighed 6.3kg at 2 months check up. haha. He has more than doubled his birth weight of 2.93kg. Jia you for Gilda! I remember G and Ethan were the heaviest around during their time. haha

ASHM: hi babe! Dun worry, Ethan is also no where speaking fluent mandarin. But at least he is more interested in knowing what things are called in Chinese. Sometimes, even me and his dad don't know. So we tell him "Erm, get back to you later on that one ok son?" =P

missA: I'm surprised that A cried during class cos she was always so independent. I'm sure she will adapt in no time. But don't you find her chinese has improved alot with MC? E's chinese has improved so much that he can sing songs correctly now and knows the context on when to sing each song.

Weishy: Hope your new maid is ok. I'm lucky to get a very good maid this time round. Even better than first (who went crazy on me). She is very good with Ethan and Evan.

lazykat: I dunno leh. Me and hubby have always lived with Maids since we're young. Cannot do without them now.

michviv, A's class teacher is the Chinese teacher, she did mention that A has started to speak mandarin to her nowadays. Last time A will just reply in Mandarin. A likes to sing Chinese songs but her pronunciation is way off, end up we cant catch what she is singing. However I was quite impressed on Sunday when she recognise guo (Apple) & pointed to me when she saw Berries (Bai Li Guo). Even the teacher at Berries was quite impress with her. I was so embassessed in class as she behaved like a dragon. She has 3 helpings of the sandwich cubes when some kids are so shy they did not dare go for the sampling. Then when teachers gave them story books to read, she use her feet to step 2 books and slide ard the class while the rest just flip their books.

Michviv,
Thanks! Actually Gilda turns 1 month only tmr, we celebrated her full mth early over the wkend. She's 4.6kg now, this time I total BF her, so am satisfied with her weight gain..not sure if I can still continue with the BF journey, very shiong leh..any tips to boost more milk? I hope to yield more to stock up, current stock running out soon...haha..

MissA,
Your description of A is so funny (dragon)..she's one cute gal

poissons: Matt's like that sometimes. I guess they are at the age whereby they get jealous. At times he loves her to death. At other times, he purposely disturb her and fight with her for toys. Shannon doesnt give in either even though she is only 9 months. We always try to be patient with him, cos the more u get frustrated with him, the more he might take it out on the sister next time. So just have to watch it. Happy 1 month for Gilda. A good weight of 4.6kg for 1 month. Shannon's prob only 7 -8 kg at 9 months. Hahaa...

poissons, I like Gilda's studio photos too, very nice. You intend to take again when she's older?

michviv, yesterday I had parent-teacher session, get to lug back the A's profile to view. Come June, we will get to keep the art work she did in class. You had the session yet?

Tinkabel,
Thanks! This morning Garreth juz hit meimei on the legs while I bf her, sigh. Like what you said, he can be loving to her for one sec and then hit her on another sec...must consistently educate him to love the sister.

MissA,
The pics were taken at the comfort of our home cos' she's too young to go to the studio
Yes, Grace and I bought packages from another studio at a fair and we will take again when they are like 6-7 mths old...together with their older sibling..hehe..

poissons - the school is called Art Boot Camp, Tel : 64695525. I dont know how to download Isabella's picture leh....she is now 9kg as of last week...

cactus - where did you buy the travel size electric cooker from? TIA!

Michviv - Good to know your new maid is so good with your two children...

ASHM: I din buy it, my friend brght it along during the trip and it's really useful. I've seen it in major stores like Best Denki, CK Tang, Takashimaya, etc.

missA: Its good that A is not so inhibited. E is like a girl la...everything also scared. =P Eh? I haven't been informed of the parent-teacher session yet though. Aiyo, where to keep all that artwork huh? E brought back a guitar and piano which he made the other day. Had to keep them cos he wanted to play with them.

Poissons:4.6kg is a good weight! Evan was 4kg at 1 month. I'm also total BF. Same for Ethan as well. It is rather shiong and Evan sucks even harder so I kena sore nips twice liao! Had to pump during day and latch only at night. I'm quite lucky cos supply is quite good so I have about 3 litres frozen in the fridge liao and I'm mixing about 50mls into Ethan's milk as well.

Think the trick is to pump out any excess after you feed baby. That way, can trick the body to produce more. I can't believe that I only have 1.5 months of my maternity leave to go. Didn't really go out much leh but I must say its easier for me compared to Ethan.

Hallo!

Seeing u ladies with no 2, makes me wanna get pregnant n have no 2 also... But hubby said this to me, "U settle ur job problem first lah!"

I was like,
Haiz, my job really like got problem! I m scheduled to start work next Wed but my background check got problem. My recent ex-co HR sat on their request n refused to provide any details... One of my ex companies even better, dun hv any of my employment record!

Man, if i dun clear this background.. it means i hv to start finding a job again... Sound so demoralising!

K@ye,
true to a certain extent, cos some of my Jun mommies got terminated due to pregnancy.. but do join in the #2 club soon!

Yr ex-HR got serious problems.. never offend these people!! All the best, maybe can offer some other forms of "verification" that yr new co need?

Rachel,
Katie just turned 1 too? How time flies..

Kat, serious termination due to pregnancy. MOM takes a very serious stand on this. The co has to pay them 4mths maternity leave even though they are being terminated.

My current ex co HR is famous for PR one....Things that re supposed to be done by them, they dun do.... So i m not surprised that they sat on the request on my background check lor....

Ya, HR is one of the function that can't be offended... a bit like at their mercy if they re really bad!

Heng, i got records of letter of employment n stuff to back it up.. if not i think the process is going to be even more longer!

Ok set. I will bring the Thermos shuttle chef (1.5L) and travel size hotplate, and her 5grains for the trip
Tried cooking it last night and it worked! Am worried I'll break the mini slow cooker if I bring it along for the trip.
Bought the Thermos during CK Tang pte sale yesterday ($122 - 20% - 12% rebate and YES! I know OG selling it for $79 from today onwards!!! ARGH)
My priority is to have Arielle continue eating her 5grains as her carbs... She has been having that since she starts eating porridge. (Have not used white grains before, as I aim for low GI carbs for her whenever I can). For protein and leafs, she can steal from my meals

Poissons, will frozen stock in cooler bag survive 12hours? We intend to drive to Albany straight from Perth Airport... Thus won't be able to have access to any freezer before then...

Hi mummies, need some travel advice. Would Hong Kong or Taipei be too cold in November? Am thinking of a place to bring the whole family in November. Any suggestions are welcome!

k@ye: Aiyo, heng you got evidence to back you up. Gosh, these HR nowadays ah. Too much!

ASHM: Guess we got lucky this time round. This time round we have an indonesian maid who has finished 3 previous contracts. Speaks good english. Recall you mentioned you changed maids not too long ago right? Hope everything is ok at home.

kaye,

Beside employment letter You can also provide them with your ex co. payslip or CPF statement , that will proved that you have worked in that company plus length of service, as for background check, can't you go thru your department head or your direct report instead of HR dept? suggested by my hubby who is from HR
actually HR also poor thing, all the shitty stuff that bosses never dare or wanted to do, they ask them to be the "bad" guy and when HR suggested more benefits for staff, management said no budget. My hb always love to implement or upgrade the staff benefits because that will include himself too mah and I always tell him that can't your staff medical benefit be extended to immediate family or child too etc... or now very competitive leh, got to increase no. of annual days ( cos I want him to take more leave :) HR dept is always cost center so actually no matter what they do, they cannot bring in profit for company, therefore alot of times, management prefer to use the budget for other purposes :-(

gloomybear,
12 hours too long la..even if u use dry ice for the cooler bag also can't last that long. My road trip was abt 7hrs and it kinda melted on the way (when reached Penang).

Michviv, it can get quite cold in HK during nov. But e weather is quite erratic these days, so it might be warm n cold at the same time. HK is ok but just be cautious coz e envt is more polluted than Sg! Even though, Claire been there for many times but she still got her eczema outbreaks, LS n stuff. So going there to makan, must wipe hands or wash their hands. Best to bring ur own kids cutlery.

Happy, I will be happy if my ex co HR got fight for us extra annual leave. I tell u, I was forced to clear all my ML coz e HR wants easy administration n got colleagues who told me tt their bal ML was forfeited. Tat s y we called them PR!

hi ladies, I MIA for so long. Cos always so tired after work, then 2 kiddos. ANd now, I'm gg to FInland for a year. AAny tips for survival? No helper, justr ne abd the kids and hubby's working there...

smilemum: Congrats on the good news! Saw your announcement on facebook as well. =) It definitely sounds exciting. All the best to you and your family!

I have friends who moved abroad as expats and she bought loads of diapers, milk powder and mama lemon cos she sweared its cheaper and more effective than the usual dishwashing liquids. Bring any medicines that you usually use cos medical care may be more costly and not what you kids are used to. Hope this helps. Oh, and of course, lots of warm clothing! =)

michiv: yes, i'm very excited cos I dunno what's in store. sometimes, i feel fearful too. But I trust that if plans are for us to be there, we'll survive.

We r covered for medical but I'll still ship tons there. Cos I dunno whether the kids will find the meds there suitable.
Yes, diapers and milk powder... hahaha... and i am thinking what I should bring to keep my sanity with 2 boys.

smilemum,

i brought mop and pail there, and ironing board when posted in japan cos i cannot survive hand mop and iron sitting down so check whether the country has stick mop and pail for stick mop, sound very funny but my back really ache after bending down to mop and lots of can food, local type and maggi mee, curry favour type, longan and lychee cans. when move as expat, can bring all these barang there cos shipping is free, like me, thought everything there also have and in the end when come back for holiday, bring 90kg worth of local stuff there, things like sesame oil, local soya sauce, dark soya sauce, five spice powder, chilli sauce, and all kind of rubbish. :)

smilemum: You will survive. In fact, I find living overseas exciting. Me and my hubby have been talking about returning to Singapore since Matt was born. Now Matt's coming to 3 soon and we are still here. Sigh, we count each year as it passes. But somehow, everytime, I think I will leave SH eventually, there is this tinge of "she bu de". don't know why.

Bring your herbs to cook soup. We bring a lot of that. we are quite ridiculous. My hubby passes by Spore every mth, we even bring fish back in ice box, cos hard to find child friendly fish here. All fish here have lots of bones. haha

Weishy: My sis will be here end June so may not have space though. but do check out budget hotels like hanting, motel 126, can be relatively cheap and it's decent. Call me when u are here. Can bring u around.

Tinkabel,

I am going SH again next week for 2 weeks.
Do you need anything?

Poissons,
your DD is very cute leh....

Just to share with all, I am preg now at 20 weeks, think its going to be a boy again.. been very very very sick with MS hence disappear from forum for quite a long time...

Jadefeet - CONGRATULATIONS!!

Mummies - I have a situation - Ashton has been refusing to go to school since last Thu. He did not go to sch last Mon to Wed because he was down with running nose and cough. When my hubby fetched him to sch last thu, he was crying frantically and he had never behave like this before. Cried until very bad and cling onto my hubby very tight till the daddy said ok let's go home. The same thing happened on Fri but I just let the teacher carried him and I drove off. He was crying lying down on the floor. This drama carry on till today. For those who had been in classes with Ashton, you guys know he is a bo-chap boy and can blend into the crowd so easily.

I really wonder what had happened in school that had scared him off.... The teachers told me he is ok in class, did not get into fights or got bullied by the other classmates...Sigh...... Any one has the same experience as what I am going through now? TIA!

michviv - thanks, everything is ok so far at home. One maid is good, the other one is not so intelligent but her altitude is good..So got to close one eye at times.... It's really luck when come to getting helpers : )

tinkabel~sure
can fb me ur sha contacts? hum u hv the web link for those motels?

electric travel cooker~its a great cooker!!!!! i use it for all my long flts hehheheh.

gloomybear~ ithink bring this is better cos its small n enought o make porridge,i do that too in e hotel rms lol :p

ASHM~airport also sells

voltage wise......as long as u hv the correct adaptor oki liao so far no problems for me.

maid~yup yup....hope the new one will be good la.dun ill treat them oki liao...