(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Junnie,
we using the same massage lady.. today just had my 2nd session.. now some part of my body pain pain.. she really have strength man.. she said she have to use strength if not no use..

hehe...junnie...i think she mentioned she will leave about 6 leh....macham like office hours already....haha..but yah..hope she can do afternoon duty..then at least nite time got my parents and husband to help also...

wah...gingerleaf...ur CL really worth the price...hehe...but hor..will baby be so used to rocking that next time hard to put down like kris' baby? talking about hygenie level...hhhmm....better than the china ones lah...haha..ive seen the china ones..can pengsan i tell u...

btw...i think baby coming either tonight or tom...im starting to have more tightening and dark brown stains and mucus discharge liaoz...going for a nice dinner then see how...hahaha....

perlicia
I also can't relatch my kid liao after giving him the EBM. Think babies r smart... they outsmart the mummies. :p I didn't do direct latching cos got very short nipples so very difficult to get him to latch on n everytime his nose or face would be kena 'crush' by the breasts. So decided to EBM...so far I've been pumping rather regularly... the only disavantage is when going out, so many bottles of milk to bring out...
the supply wise have been good so far. Managed to pump abt 200ml each time.. so far my kid drinks 80ml per feed.

san,

ya, so "qiao"! which floor u stayed? i stayed at 6th floor...

junnie,

hee.. coz both hubby and me look like japanese, so baby got the "japanese" look as well

ya! the 1st moment when doc placed him on my chest, his eyes like half-open and blowed bubbles of saliva to me... so cute!

bbunny,

wish u a smooth delivery! jia you jia you!

jia you bbunny... wish you have a smooth delivery...

I just had a checkup ytd, looks like i'm going to be one of those overdue moms. My hopes of the baby having same horoscope/birthday is gone.. =(

YL,

jia you! I admitted to KK on 19/10 7am. So dunno if you're in the same ward as me! hehe...

I've finally joined the graduate list! Gave birth on 19/10 via natural w/ epi. BB is 3.27kg and 50cm in length. Will share my birth story later!
now still in KK...

Jovial, please help update! Thanks!

<font face="comic sans ms">dodo,
I stayed at the 3rd floor.. keke.. 2bedders.. actually I opted for 4bedders and got free upgrade to 2bedders.. hee..

I remembered labour ward 10 was still empty when I was pushed into labour ward 9.. then in the late afternoon hubby went out to get some warm water for me.. then told me my next door got ppl liao.. keke..

bbunny,

yah... the price you pay for CL is quite expensive - but yah lah... that's the rate for sporean CL.

agree with gingerleaf that you may be tired during the 1st 2 weeks after birth to jaga bb. also, dont forget, when CL does the cooking etc, you will also have to jaga bb cos you wont want her to run out to carry bb when she's half way cooking.

btw, does she also do housework? if not, who's gonna do sweepin/moping of floor for you?

Have you tried finding any agency to see if can get any last minute CL?

my CL is from agency also. Her last day with me is 25 Oct. She's quite ok. If you can wait till then, maybe i can ask her if she is interested to do your case.

lavender,
Ur milk supply is so good for just pumping, I only get the most 300ml per day ..... hiaz
BTW, I have the same problem with bb being impatient and hence refused to stay on since day 1 so have been using EBM. However, I still try to latch her maybe once per day, sometimes will really have to use a bit of force to ensure her head stay there... sounds a bit cruel but that's what the nurse did when I'm in the hospital so think it shld be ok lah.. but if she really refused after a few try, I would give up and make FM for her if I don't have supply for EBM!!

bbunny - have a smooth delivery!

Massage - My doc also don't recommend for me to do the massage due to c-section. But looking at my stomach .. really a bit sad loh ... BTW, I still feel a bit of pain at my womb sometimes ... think it really takes time to recover bah.....

Mummies who have just pop congrates!

bbunny wish u have a smooth delivery!

Any of ur babies still having high level jaundice? Baby jerric jaundice is going up and down like roller coaster..But doc says it's not high enough to go for phototheray.. Sigh.. still at 200+.. doc worried that it could be something else so took his blood for some other tests.. really heart pain when CL told me it's alot of blood and he crys like hell..Lucky i not there if not i sure cry one.. Blood test came out neg. and doc suspests it's BM jaundice cause he is on FBM..got a referral letter from him to bring him go KK hospital check up on 29th oct..Cannot help but worry now he is only 3weeks old..

totoro,
u are right abt the part that u have to force baby to stay latching at ur breast.. baby will get use to latching eventually.. dun give up!

bbunny,
Ya, I oso voice out that concern to my CL, but she told me that if dun rock or sayang the bb, bb will cry alot and will swallow alot of air, and thus get colicky later.

gingerleaf,
my CL says it's good to let baby cry once in a while to expand the lungs... duno true anot la.. i "sim tia" whenever he crys.. what ur CL says abt getting colicky is true also.. cannot let baby cry too long..

joshmummy & gingerleaf,
my CL says it is their only exercise. lol. but no need to let them cry for too long aso. she usually doesnt let my boy cry, a little louder of whimper she carry him liao. i aso scared it will be a habit. sighs. will try to wean him off later lo.

Hi mummies, thanks for your well wishes...only managed to sit down and relax after coming home for 2 days liao...

being a mum is not easy...sleepless nights due to prolonged frequent feeding zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.......

now backside stitches oso pain, sit oso cannot, stand oso cannot...heehee

Heres baby Sean photo....
1030758.jpg

My encounter at TMC was very good...

Admitted into hospital at 1130pm, 16 Oct.
Hubby did registration etc while i had to get ready in the obervation ward.

Went up 2nd floor, told nurse there i was afraid tt Observation ward is stuffy as there are so many mummies to be waiting inside too..so she gave me the delivery ward immediately....
I changed and waited for gynae to come...

12am, gynae came, broke my waterbag...
i was put on drip to hasten contraction ...
i was 2cm dilated at this time.

1am, hubby just finished registration. joined me in delivery ward..
contraction came frequently...pain still bearable..

230am, dilated 3cm...pain getting worse...backache starts to get unbearable as I used to have back problems..shifting by a little on the bed oso got prob..
decided on epidural as doc administering the injection is not in-house...if i ever require epidural later on, may need wait awhile for him to come.

330am, epidural administered. No sweat....no pain..only side effects is feeling COLD..

445am, dilated to 10cm already...Gynae came...asked me to push...ow i know where to push??no feeling at all, push oso push wrongly...i ended up nearly vomited cos i pushed into my face!!!

500am, gynae mentioned baby heartbeat reducing...so have to use forceps... he happily cut me up more an used forceps to pull baby Sean head out at 5.09am...

throughout 3 days stay at TMC, service was great...Confinement food was delicious!!!!
nurses attend to my requests quite promptly...
very helpful bunch of nurses..

oh, just for info, i was staying at level 6...so not sure if some of u with bad experiences, maybe different floor from mine?

Oh, forgot to add on, umbilical cord was 2 times around baby Sean`s neck...so dangerous..
Thank God went to deliver early...worry if drag on, may no be a good sign afterall..

also met Garden_dreamz at TMC...went to visit her in her ward ;)
hope to hear her story n see her baby pict soon

thanks mummies for your well wishes

nans, my mom actually has problems pronoucing Matthias hahaahaa...but heck it's my kid...i get to decide!! Benedict is a nice name!

last night something weird happened when i was expressing--there was blood in the milk!! is it normal?? I don't know if it from my sore and cracked nipples, or from inside. so freaky.

here's a pic of my baby:

1031038.jpg

karrie, grins...matthias is not easy to pronounce i know. i love the name cos it is unique and yet means blessed by god at the same time. anyway, benedict also means blessed by god. just dat is is more common than matthias. =D

cute babe u have there. =D so sleepy!

S@L, chose 4 bedded, then had 2 bedded on 1st night..... after tt request for 1 bedded on 2nd night..

my edd pushed forward from 3nov to 28oct...

Hi mummies, my dear prince, Jaron Lim arrived on 16th Oct at 11.12pm. He's 3.44kg and 51cm. natural with epi. bb was 2 weeks early.

Here's my birth story:
16th Oct-
11am: went for 38 week checkup. gynae did VE and found that I was 2cm dilated. water level also a bit low. was asked to admit to hospital in the afternoon. meanwhile, gynae induced with tablet.

12pm-4pm: did final packing, long good shower, nice lunch, and drank one bottle of chicken essence.

5.30pm: reached GEH. admited into labour ward. hubby said that I was the only one in labour at that time cos all the LW were empty. extra attention given by the nurses

6pm: was asked whether want to take epi. nurse checked, still 2cm dilated. as my pain threshold was low, asked for epi straight away.

6.30pm: epi given...ouch!

7.30pm: gynae came to burst water bag. 4cm dilated.

8.30pm: 6cm dilated. making good progress...

9.30pm: 9cm dilated. making very good progress...

10.30pm: 10cm dilated, nurses paged for gynae and asked me to prepare for the final leg...the pushing!!!

11.12pm: After dunno how many push (maybe 10?), baby Jaron was finally out!!! He let out a victorious cry of rejoicing!

I stayed in hospital till sat, 20th. baby Jaron was down with Jaundice on 19th and was sent for phototherapy. glad that he is ok the next day for home coming.

yesterday (20th) was quite hectic, so many things on my mind once bb reached hm. was having a bit of post natal blues, mainly caused by breastfeeding. was having engorgement that felt stone-hard. I am feeling better now cos bb has been latching quite often, like every 2-3hrs. wonder how it will be tonite...

That's all for my story. All the best to all mummies!!!

gratz to u qoobee! post pic? =D quite a fast delivery process u have there..=D

have fun! do enjoy your motherhood now...

Sorry to interrupt but just dropping a word of congratulation to Unice! Glad that you had a safe delivery and that Baby Sean is ok!

Hope to see u all soon, Pand Pand, Hon Hon, GiGi, Snoopy and Chloe all inclded!

Scampy!

San, thanks for sharing what you're doing.
junnie, thanks for your encouragement.

I find that my baby sucks in too much air using the bottles. She also sometimes chokes coz she takes in too much milk too quickly. I'm already using Pigeon, NUK and Bibi teats for newborns but they don't seem good enough. Do any mummies have good teats to recommend? My poor baby vomitted 3 times in the last 24 hours already - it's really heartbreaking for me.

halo all mummies,

i'm now quite confuse. My bb always want people to carry him to sleep and he refuses cot. So in the end CL encourages us to use sarong. He is now sleeping quite well in sarong...but when my mil and mum know abt it...we gonna scolded.

Reasons being his bone is too soft and not good for his spine...and also if he puke....he might choke on his milk...

any mum has similar experience, care to share?

Valerie, sorry to intrude, but a fren of mine, her bb suffers from reflux, then she switched to Bfree btls, it seems he can take milk in better now. give it a try?

Jessica, dun start using sarong for sleepin, cos always hear bb who sleeps in sarong very difficult to care for e.g.when outside or other ppl's hse, no sarong cannot sleep. And what ur parents said is true, bad for the backbone cos no support.

most bb needs to cradle a bit before sleeping, its a stage all parents have to go thru. instead of sarong, i used a automated swing when i m really too tired to cradle him....once he falls asleep i put him back in his cot.

I cant help but think tt ur CL jus wants an easy way out. Imagine aft ur confinement, CL not ard anymore, u are left with the 'consequences'. Jus my 2cents worth.

jessica, i carry my baby to sleep also. usually, he lies by himself in the cot until he wants to sleep. then he will make noise. then have to carry him for about 10-15 minutes b4 he will fall asleep. of cos this is on a good day. on a bad day, we may have to carry him to sleep and continue carrying him until his next feed (could be an hour later cos he wakes up 5 minutes later after putting him down. he is hungry but we dun wan to feed him yet cos too near the previous feed so have to carry him lo).

valerie, my baby using avent bottles and teats. =D

jojer, heard from the polyclinic doc that jaundice can rebound, hence the "roller coaster syndrome". just give your baby plenty of milk. more frequent than b4. let him pee more and poo more. then the bilibrium(?) will be passed out more and then the jaundice level will drop faster. else u can try the traditional method of sunning him in the morning sun?

My baby is still having the jaundice after doctor visit yesterday.

We are bringing him to sun bath every morning.
But lately it has been raining, so we tried to catch any sun possible.

Is it true that during breastfeeding, we cannot give him any water ? Will the water help to bring his jaundice down ?

Unice, good to hear that your stay in TMc is wonderful.Maybe I am unlucky at that time.

S@L, any idea where to get the Bfree bottles? My bb also has same pbm, although she seems a bit better with the latex nuk teats...

Valerie, I've resorted to burping bb more frequently during her feeds (after every 20-30ml). It's more time consuming, but seems to help.

zhen zhen, I saw Bfree btls at Kiddy palace before.
Another brand u can try is Dr. Browns (Aprica) btls.

Same as Nans, my son also used Avent btls as teats and nvr had colic or reflux. Sometimes besides the btl it could be becos of the milk. Are u feeding BM or FM?

Helen, not tat u cannot give water to bb if BF. but becos BM already contain a high amt of water, hence PD usually will say no need to feed water. But i still did if the weather gets too hot and if jaundice level still high, u should give more fluids/ BM to flush out.

Oh finally can login n read the posts!!

Thank u all mummies for your well wishes !
My bb boy was delivered on 18 oct via c-sect at GEH. He's name is Javier Tan, weighing 2.92kg, 50cm.

Hey Qoobee, din know u're at GEH on 16 oct else I can go visit u. Where were u? I was on 5th floor 1 bedded.

Was wondering shd I share my birth story as I was having c-sect...seems like nothing much to share. Nevertheless shall share a bit so c-sect mummies know wat to expect.

17 Oct
1. One lst check up done at gynae to ensure everything is ok. Baby still high up, water level is good. Was told to check in GEH 18 Oct at 9am and c-sect at 3pm.

2. Did pre-admission n hv a syringe of my blood drawn to keep a sample of my blood group in case any emergency.

3. Went home to do final checking on hospital bag.

18 Oct
6.30am: Woke up to take breakfast at McDonald. No food no drink from 7am onwards.

8.00am: On the way to GEH

9.00am: check in GEH

9.15am - 2.30pm: Nurses came in to shave me (embarrassed but bo bian
), changed to hospital gown, pumped to clear bowel(heehee...din know it's so fast
), gynae came to see me, anesthetic doc came to inform me of the side effects of anesthetic (very old n fierce doc - scold nurse right in front of me

2.30pm: Nurse came in to wheel me to operation room. Nurse asked hb to wait outside, who knows hb stupidly left the room n went to wait outside delivery suite but in actual fact, I was going to operation room which is on another storey. Thus, I was wheeled to operation room without hb by myside.

2.50pm: While waiting for doc to enter operation room, I asked nurse to look for my hb n asked him to wait outside operation room for me.

2.55pm: Inside operation room. Anesthetic doc n nurses did all the necessary things - injections, drips, draw blood n etc, gynae came n ensured me everything would be fine....nurses starting to give me gas n asked me to breathe hard...knocked out !!

3.12pm: bb Javier is born. (Of course I'm still unconscious)

5.00pm: So noisy...starting to hear pple calling my name. Tried to open my eyes but couldn't. I was in great pain. Nurses n doctors kept calling me. I tried to speak but too weak..could only let out a faint sound. They knew I was awake then gynae started to tell me bb is fine, details of bb n operation is smooth...

5.10pm: Wheeled out of the operation room. Along the way, I squinted my eyes n saw my hb waiting outside. He quickly came to me (dun remember if he had said anything to me)n the min I saw him, I was in tears.

6pm: Finally gain full consciousness n alert. Saw bb for the 1st time. Oh so tiny n fragile but...heehee...can't help smiling, so CUTE !!

p/s will post bb photo later...

sorry, pls bear with me..my birth story ends up too detailed n long winded.

Feeding both BM and FM. But she has good and bad days. Sometimes no problem, sometimes will throw up. That's why I cannot pinpoint what's the matter. Perhaps it's just that she sometimes drinks too fast?

Helen,
I also giving bb water to drink if it is still not her next feeding time.. also to let her get use to drinking water.. don't want her to be like my elder one don't like to drink water.. want her to drink water is like feeding her poison.. but recently I realised bb also don't like water.. once she tasted, she will spit out.. sigh..

zhen zhen,
I using avent bottles and teats.. for me when I bottle feed I will feed her half then burp her then feed again.. sometimes if she drinking too fast, I will pull out the bottle and let her rest or burp her then give again.. maybe u try burping her in between see got help a not.. could be the gas causing her to throw up.. cos sometimes when my bb burps some milk does flow out loh but not alot loh..

Helen,
It's up to you whether you want to feed water. Personally I did not feed Caelen water. PD do not encourage feeding water too. He says our breastmilk contains 75% water, if we still water, baby' tummy will be filled with water thus take in less milk.

Meryl,
red dots on the face most likely are milk rash. Just make sure you wipe baby's face with boiled water at room temp after every feed. If you wish do go see a doc where they most prob they will prescribe a type of cream to you to apply.

san...izzit?? how many session u took? mdm sadiah told me 5x is enuff?? so i jus took 5x. ya, agreed bodyache/painful (for me is leg) after massage, cos she said got 'wind' & no pain no gain?? haha... btw, do u mummies hv prblm feeding when bb fall asleep?? mine always fall asleep after 10-20ml of FM, then v hard to wake him up, end up will tk 30-45mins to finish feeding.. v 'cake sim'....hiaz...

bbunny, bbwow, unice, qoobee, sanbebe & cheval.. congrats.. hv a good confinement..

S@L, i feeding baby with similac. used to express but got prob with dat.

zhen zhen, my CL says all bb will regurgitate milk. mine too, on a good day he wont regurgitate. on a bad day, he seems to regurgitate small mouthfuls at intervals. so far when he sleeps, he wont regurgitate milk. (cross fingers and toes!)

i also give baby water when it is not feeding time but he seems to be searching for food. my mil insists on giving water in between feeds cos she says fm is 'heaty' but my bb stools are not hard. anyone heard that fm is 'heaty' now?

also, can i ask how many of you are using nappies? i used nappies in the beginning. my bb couldnt care less about being wet or not just sleeps through to the next feed. but now at 3 weeks plus, he makes noise and wakes up everytime he pees. resorted to using diapers and he sleeps right through to next feed.

junnie, my bb when eyes closed still suck after resting to breathe every now and then. takes about 30 minutes to finish his 140ml of milk. cos burp him in between takes a bit of time...=D

it's been a while since I logged in. Almost suffered from post natal blues because bb was crying every hour and my breasts were so engorged.

On the 1st day after we brought him home, he was crying non-stop, thought he had caught stomach flu immediately send him to a&e.

After reading the probs other mommies faced, realized that it's really SLEEPLESS nights for us. Wonder how long it's gonna take to stablize.

Re FM, any mummies got recommendations? My bb is taking Similac at the moment but he poos alot. And cries 30 mins after every feed. My CL says could be due to poor digestion.

Re red dots, any mummies know that is it normal to have red dots all over the body and hands? The doc says it's normal cause of the vaccine. is it true?

Sorry for so many questions. And congrats to all moms again! Hope we can all go thru this smoothly!

Hi sanbebe, congrats!!!

I was also staying on the 5th floor. I wanted a 1 bedded but they ran out of rooms, so I was given a 2 bedded converted into a 1 bedded. My hubby was allowed to sleep on the other bed
. The room was spacious and we enjoyed it very much. My room number was 519. maybe our babies have met each other in the nursery already!!!

hi nans...my bb hv similar sleeping pattern as yours, always need to carry on/off in btw..hiaz...if go nanny house sure 'cham' cos nanny not free to carry one... ya, my sis/SIL/MIL/nanny said FM is heaty, so ask me to gv water in btw (of cos not too much). if bb grow bigger nxt time, gv barley water occasionally.. but according to PD water is not necessary for NB cos if we feed too much, bb will feel full & dun take milk, but i still gv cos weather v hot & i believe it helps to reduce heatiness & jaundice. so i tink if bb didnt throw out milk every feed, shud b normal & not reflux ba?? wow... your bb drinking 140ml @3wks+? mine coming to 1mth tis 25/10, drink 120ml also sometime cant finish...

re sarong..is quite true if bb get 'addicted' & go plcs w/o sarong, will hv prblm. but again, old ppl believe sarong is gd for bb like being carried (my mum/MIL like sarong v v much, always ask me to let bb sleep in, but i trying not to unless bb super cranky at nite, then will carry him back to bed)..

dodo, san, sanbebe & qoobee... is so nice u gals deliver @ same hospital on/about same timing

bbwow...my PD said is ok for NB to poo daily almost every meal, it will take few weeks to get to normal, initally is black/dark-green then slowing change to yellow colour...as long the faeces not watery is ok. may b your bb got colic izzit? try apply ru yi oil & let the air passed out...
bbwow & mui...mine hv red dots on face not body, CL said is 'tai du'?? is normal will subside... see doctor if yours alot...

junnie,
today is my 3rd session.. ya the places she said got wind is the most painful de.. she said for me 6x is enough already.. so will stop at 6 loh which is this fri.. did u buy tummy binder to bind your tummy after u finished the package with her?

nans,

I have done what u mention to reduce his jaundice..Seen doc yesterday and his juandice level has drop..so it's quite confirm is breastmilk jaundice..so everyday jerric will be on him half BM half FM.. been throwing away 300+ of breastmilk everyday..CL says so "sayang" to throw away..
Hopefully next week go KKH check up his jaundice level will drop again..

Karrie,
The blood could be from the cracks and sore nipples that u have..u might wanna apply nipple cream or ur own breast milk and pump out the milk instead of latching on baby..Any milk that u pump out which contains blood u should throw away.. Let ur nipples rest for a day or so before latching baby on