(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Hi bluelily, Mt A charged me 1 night for 4-bedder and 2 nights for 2-bedder. I only stayed 1 night in the 4-bedder ward.

Hi vicki,

12 Nov would be week 7 for my bb ? What abt yours? We are supposed to have the injection on the 6th week right?

Did they mentioned anything else when you made the booking? Was thinking of bringing her to do a routine check when she's 1mth old as we would like to see whether she is growing well or not? Did you bb did any check after the new born routine checked by Dr Chan on the 1st week?

Hi Totoro_bb,

The PIC mentioned that its supposed to be 2 wks after 25 Oct (my bb born on 25 Sep). So, the date i ended up with was 8 Nov (Deepavali). She say abit earlier and later also can... so i book 12Nov 9am.

I am considerd new case cos Dr Chan didnt do any check on my bb during 1st week. (Mine was KK bb so the relevant checks were done by the doctors there.) The PIC mentioned that if i want, i can also bring bb down for checkup on 1st mth (although not necessary), if not, the check will be done during the 1st injection date itself (which is also ok).

San

I have already given pacifier to my girl liao...since few days ago...i also dun want to make it a habit to let her suckle my breast to let her sleep...somemore i have sore nipples...

Sometimes, i think i quite bad la....give pacifier and refuse to let her suckle my breast coz of the pain. Gave up latching...give FM...sigh...maybe others will think that i'm a self-centred mum.

Kris,
U r not alone. For me, it's my MIL who keep on saying that I'm passing the gas to my bb which makes me frustrated.

This is what I found out from the web:
Breastmilk is made from what passes into mom's blood, not what is in her stomach or digestive track
If mom is gassy, can that make baby gassy? No. Gas in mom's body cannot pass into breastmilk.

Jeddie,
I'm also on the verge of giving up.. just told hubby this afternoon.. he had been very encouraging loh.. he wants me to continue.. he said although not enough for her just supplement with FM loh.. as long as she is drinking enough..

I also had sore nipples.. went to TMC see their lactation consultant then realise my latching is wrong thats why pain loh.. now i try my best to BF during the day.. then night time I just wake up to pump when my breasts are painful.. My girl only a wk old thought its too early to give pacifier loh..

<font color="ff6000">hi hippo18 & gingerleaf,
thanks for your reply! Hey, me staying Jurong west too! just opposite Sheng Shong supermarket, street 24.</font>

re: pacifier

my mil wants to give my boy pacifier too cos he seems to be always searching for food even though he was fed an hour ago. sighs...still saying no pacifier at the moment. dunno when i will cave in though...

Jeddie,

You are not alone. I'm giving up BF next week liao (when CL goes off).

Cannot cope with myself and bb with EBM (have been giving bb EBM since birth - decided not to put myself thru the stress of BM - this is my 2nd bb and so kindof know the stress of the whle process liao (not enuff milk/ sore nipples that bled/ pain etc).

Haha! Come to think of it.... i also went through the "Oh no, im not a good mother" mode before liao... then woke up one day and decided that if i was depressed becos of BM, wont it affect bb more??

So for this time around, went in with a target (EBM + FM for a month and subsequenly FM) and decided to stick to it.

i think sanity for myself is a better way to enjoy motherhood.

Had a fren whose wife went for injection straight after birth for her 2nd kid (to get rid of the BM and engorgment plain process) cos she figured she didnt want to go through the whole BM process which would depress her rather than let her enjoy her motherhood!!

Thanks Joyce and totoro for the info and assurance. CL has already been applying ru yi oil on baby after each bath, twice a day. Maybe will try gripe water if still no improvement loh.

My baby also always want to bite on something, but my mom and hubby insist on not giving her the pacifier. My mum says that suck too much on the pacifier will give baby crooked teeth in future. So now we just give her water to drink whenever she start rooting and crying.

Hi Jeddie, don't think this way lah. No BF doesn't mean we are bad mommies. Why stress ourselves unnecessary leh? Got milk supply then feed.. no milk supply give FM lah! kekke.. :p I don't think I can survive long with BF too.. cos I simply too lazy liao.

I'd always think that FM kids are also healthy and fit jus like my boys. Hehhe

I also agreed wat vicki had said.

Just got discharged from hospital few hours ago.. had a tired day already. Have been trying to BF baby with the help of lactation consultations but half the time we send the baby back to nursery to supplement with cupfeed cos' baby still seems hungry.

Oh yah, Nans.. did you send a fruit basket from Noel to the LC at KKH yesterday? The blur guy from Noel sent it by mistake to my room when they were supposed to deliver the baby shower gift from my company. Sigh, luckily they returned in time!

I agree the staff and LCs in KKH are friendly and helpful.. had a pleasant stay during the past 2 days.

lol...sugar_nut, yup i did....cos they really gave me a lot of help during the 3 times i went down...encouraged me and tried ways to help me to bf my bb....but my nipples too short so cant latch bb on....but i had engorgement and blocked ducts...they helped me to clear my blocked ducts by squeezing my breasts (each time 1.5 hours! their hands really suan sia!)....really painful but blocked ducts all cleared...but still could not pump out milk cos i think my breasts are too big...so in the end gave up bf as well....when i pump milk, my hubby had to wake up to help me squeeze my breasts and pump at the same time...if he not home....i die...

felt terrible when i had to give up bf...think i was not a good mummy really....then friends encouraged me...at least i think to myself my bb had a week of bf from me....colostrum shd be there liao rite?

I am on the verge of giving up EBM. Baby doesn't latch on and parents don't allow me to keep my milk in the fridge... I'm like a 24 hour standby milk producer.

Nans,
Heehee, I'll drop you an sms soon. :)

vicki

Thsi is also my second bb....I managed to TBF my first bb for 2 whole weeks before i introduce FM and finally partially bf him for 8 weeks in total. This time round, I tot I could do better, but in fact, seems much worse. Guess I had more determination for the first time.

I also dislike the fact that BF makes the breasts very sensitive...touch also pain..and feeling of engorgement..and blocked ducts...

When i gave up BF for my son, I went thru a tough time..I guess this time round, I was hoping to also be fair and give my girl some BM at least till 8 weeks. I also know that i do not have the determination to express BM at work...thus sooner or later, will have to give up.

Just wondering how come some pple can tahan the pain...its like knives cutting thru the bones when the bb suckles on sore and cracked nipples.

Now am considering whether to buy a second hand ameda pump to try...since my medela mini electric doesnt work on me.

Jeddie,
dun think that way la, I oso had sore n cracked bleeding nipples during teh 1st week at home. Then I express instead of latching on, and nipple healed, but still abit sensitive la.
During those time, I pump what I can, and supplement with FM.
Now my gal's bm intake increase till 100ml per feed, and she drinks every 2-3 hr. Sometimes find my supply in fridge running low, so will get CL to feed FM at nite. I still latch on once in a while.

Looks like I'm not the only one thinking of giving up on giving BM... hee.. well I dun have the intention to BM long also.. will stop before I goes back to work.. Workplace dun have a room for expressing so very inconvenient.. will not stress myself further.. if supply not enough will get my mum to give her FM instead.. had been doing so..

ssmummy

my mum also doesnt allow me to put my express milk in the fridge. Imagine I had to throw away 30 ml of BM when my bb doesnt wake up in time to drink it. Not a lot but its watever I have though...

garden_dreamz gave birth to a cute baby boy at 3pm today via natural epi, assisted. He is 2.74kg and 48cm long.
Welcome to motherhood!

well, i guess the toughest part about motherhood is all about breastfeeding..with the society being more focused on TBF these days...sigh...makes us feel so guilty.

Congrats garden_dreamz!!

BTW, does anyone knows if its ok to give FM every hour if the bb demands for it? My girl takes like 30/40 ml every hour sometimes. Wondering if its too much? If she dun take her milk, she cannot sleep.

ssmummy, jeddie,
i m from the Nov mummy thread, jus curious, why ur parents (mum) forbid u to store the EBM in the fridge?

Dun give up BF so early if u can...i suffered alot too for my 1st born....didnt manage to TBF, but supplement and EBM for 6mths...but this round really determined to do it and TBF.......

S@L

My mum says not fresh..somemore put in the fridge...u know old pple...its like leftover food left in the fridge is not good etc. Maybe she scared got wind?

Did mummies bath their bbs 2 times a day?
My CL only bath my gal once in the morning.
I was wondering can bath 2 times a day or not.
She is 2 weeks + now.

so sayang to throw away your EBM. i think i will cry. my EBM is like liquid gold, cos i have very little BM. wondering if i'll ever produce enough for my little girl?

hey garden_dreamz, CONGRATS!!! yippie!

jeddie, hv u tried other ways to coax her to sleep? is her tummy cold to the touch? u might wana try ruyi oil.. or what i do is burp her in e middle of a feed if she stops sucking, then try to feed her again. ur bb might not have enuf during her 1st feed, datz y she's demaning to be fed evry hour?

haiz.. on bfeeding: itz so funny dat e world world is being educated on how good BM is and yet when we wana do it, we meet with so many problems. wat to do? sianz

steph, gingerleaf and myself are on opp ends on st 65! haha! tin we can form a mini j.west club liao lor..

gingerleaf, my mum bathes my bb twice a day.. =)

Gingerleaf - My CL has bathe my baby once a day. Evening abt 7plus, she will use cloth to wipe and change my baby. She was telling me that after full month then can bathe twice a day. Now still too young.

Btw Chris, where can I source for a lactation consultant? Any recommendation?

gingerleaf... my CL currently bathes my bb twice a day (once around 10am and the 2nd time at about 5pm). Will prob continue her schedule when she's gone.

jeddie, think my bb hvg growth spurt now. he's drinking about 60-80 ml every hour!! so we give 1hr EBM and 1hr FM (when EBM finish for the day liao, then its FM every hour!) Not sure if overfeeding him liao!!!

and i also agree with you that society's expectation of motherhood n bf is very high now... always wonder if that's the reason for the higher number of post-natal depression/stress that we hear nowadays as compared to our parent's era!!

Actually, with science so advanced now (i mean they can even create clones!!), i always wonder how come no milk company has created a formula that is per breastmilk composition!!

Haha! If they have that, it will be so much easier!!!

Hi vicki,

Mine ard the same time as yours is drinking ard 100ml - 120ml every 2.5hrs - 3hrs.

I did a calculation and so far the highest amt she drink on a day was ard 850ml!!

She will get cranky whenever she is not full after the feed or if she doze off and then wake up again, she will remember that she still needs to eat !! Hiaz, so I'm using a lot of milk bottles and this comes with a lot of wastage on FM or EBM as well.

re: fm feeding

i was so silly...i tot giving my bb 3 oz ( approx 80ml) is a lot! he cries every 2 hours and i still refuse to give him the feed until 2.5 hours later....then today i checked the internet and realised i was wrong! at 2 weeks + he should be drinking 4-5 oz (approx 110ml to 130ml?). i felt so bad! i have been stopping my bb from growing! aiyoh....my CL did tell me that 2 weeks + babies drink more...but when i insisted on 3 oz she aso did not insist to feed my bb more...now feel so bad...

today gave him 4 oz of fm and he finished it all every 3 hourly somemore!! gosh! i am still stunned by his small stomach which can contain so much milk! lol

hmm i think my bb is drinking lesser liao hmm

he takes abt 100-120ml abt 3-6hrs depends on the hours of sleep he need for the day sometimes i even need to force feed him ... in the day time he can even sleep in his bath hmm or even i use a cold towel to clean his face he will still sleep hmm if that is the case he will drink abt 80ml only hmm already thinking of when going back to work liao so fast ... but i am going to have lots of changes too

AM changing a new maid in 1or 2 weeks time ... am moving hse in 1 mths time ... and also need to go back to office soon aiyo sobsob

Hi S@L (blueangel30),

According to my parents, they feel that there's "han" qi when we store in the fridge. When I had my first one, I was happily storing up my EBM in the freezer only to have the whole supply dumped into the bin! Aiyo, there's so many then. Imagine the whole freezer filled with Medela Bags!! Was so depressed for a while

This time round, for my girl, I only pump before feeding time. Always have to dump away the balance as baby only takes about 130ml every 3 hourly.

When FM was given sometime, close to 180ml of BM will go down the drain. :-(

ssmummy...oh dear...nt trying to sow discord..but if its my mum who did it..i think till today i wont be talking to her....

hiaz...pretty sad tt the older generations are so 'ignorant' of the benefits of BF and come up with a whole load of their own 'myths' and 'beliefs'.

My mum was TBF by my grandma till 4yrs old! and she had very good immune system (which she always boast abt whenever family members fell sick!) before i had a bb i nvr believed her boasting....then slowly i see the benfits of BF when i had my 1st bb. Guess what...i had a bad struggle with BF, and besides my MIL (as usual
) my mum wasnt encouraging as well....until i pointed out to her that she was given the liquid gold and benefitted from it yet she is trying to discourage me. Later she began to 'accept' or rather respect my wish to BF, although i nvr managed to TBF....at least i see that she realised my effort yo express BM and she helped me to feed bb with it. Hence this time my 2nd preg, she is more or less encouraging...as for my MIL, i cannt be bothered cos hb also very supportive.

What worries me now is my own determination and BM supply

Hope u persevere on...and try to convince ur elders cos BF journey is REALLY, not jus abt urself....family and support ard u will make BF journey a lot easier.

S@L (blueangel30),
The dumping not by her alone lah.. haha, actually I'm over it already. Depressed was at the intial stage cos like what some mummies mentioned, the collection became more like a hobby. I'll look at the fridge couple of times everyday.

But this time round, she's very supportive of me giving my girl BM snd she'll help to feed BM to my girl during the day. My dad will always joking say that my BM is lousy milk cos it look so diluted.

Come to think of it, I believe in the "han qi" issue lah cos my son got Bronchitis. Not sure if it's the intial 2 months of "Freezed" BM given when he was just borned.

:) :)

toking about freezing breast milk...

can i check... my fren told me that her whole collection of breast milk kindof became chao sng becos her mil deposited quite alot of unfrozen meat stuff into her freezer (her mil lived upstairs and her fridge broke down).

somehow, the smell of the unfrozen meat went into the milk and when she gave her bb one pack of frozen EBM unknowingly, her son lao sai!!

later when she unfroze another pack, it smelt weird so she dump the whole lot!!

Do you gals who freeze BM have this prob when it comes to depositing huge quantity of meat into the freezer?

hihi mummies,

im back!!!

congrats to all mummies who had popped! i shall share wi u all my birth story next time... it's a long long story... hee :p

so busy wi my little boy... my mum doing confinement for me, but hubby and me taking care of baby at night, coz my mum doesn't sleep well, dun wan to disturb her rest also... very happy to see that he's healthy & well... but my breast milk supply still cant meet wi his big appetite, only managed to express ard 70-80ml every 3 hours interval... he usually take this same amount every 2 to 2.5hours... so i gonna work hard and be a "productive cow"!

hi gingerleaf!!!

i have prob latching on baby... during my stay @ TMC, we consulted mrs wong and she visited me twice to teach me for proper latching... but she commented my nipples are flat, so it takes longer time stimulate and stabilise the milkflow... and she said my baby is very demanding wi powerful lung as well, so when he suckle a few times and din manage to get what he wants, he will shout and cry loudly, mrs wong was shocked by his cry and even joked that he's a big eater and wana grow up tall tall like daddy :p so im feeding him express BM now... hopefully can latch him on again very soon...
how u coping wi ur bb?

dodo,
am having easy peasy time, coz got CL. Im just like a milk factory, times up, i express. Times up I eat. Most of the time sleep. During the 1st week at home, I was very gung-ho, everything also wanna do myself, then I think over exerted myself, and incision tore alittle & became infected, end up see GP, and was given oral n cream antibiotics, n dressing to be changed everyday. SO this few days Im taking things very easy, every thing I oso dunwan to do. =p Now I only latch on once in a while, coz I find lyn's mouth always dun open wide enuff for my nipple. Then wanna stick in more aerola seems to be pretty difficult now. The only easy time to latch her on is when she is screaming n crying her lungs out. That's when her mouth is the widest. I plan to see Mrs Wong too. Have yet to make an appt tho.

Just to fill you in, incase you have been missing out, all of our course kaki popped!

dodo, cute baby anderson! =D he looks so happy there...

ssmummy...nice tokking to ya...=D must share share more mummy secrets in future...

I think lyn got everything of me including the temper! I think its really karma!
The only thing she got from daddy is hair, hairline and blood grp!
Lucky blood grp same, else daddy might think not his, coz everything look like me. whahahaha.

Nans,
Heehee... sorry the word POP frighten you!! Heehee... to me, POP means passing out parade... no more restrictions. Will find time to chat on the phone again.

Dodo,
Cute baby. :)

Think i'm quite lucky to be able to TBF. BTW, I read somewhere the feeding interval count from the start time of 1st feed to the start time of 2nd feed. (e.g.: 3pm start to feed, finish at 3.30pm, then 4.30pm start feed again is conidered feeding interval of 1 and half hour) so it's common to feel that you are constantly feeding.

Personally, I'm not stressed by how much baby is feeding as I just go with his demand. Normally I'm not bothered how much he takes cos he'll un-latch when he had enough. Only recently then I undertand EBM mummies' worries as I need to EBM cos going back to work soon.

TBF mummies, do remember,
1) Baby will un-latch him/herself when they had enough for that feed.
2) Baby will 'request' for milk when they are hungry.
3) Just before growth spurt, baby will tend to requet to feed more to stimulate your breast to produce more milk in anticipation for his/her growth spurts.

<font color="aa00aa">Caelen sometime drinks less than 10 mins, but his feeding interval is about 2 hours during the day and close to 3 hours during the night. (i.e: 1am, 4am, 7am, 9am, 11am, 1pm, 3pm, 5pm, 7.30pm, 10pm)

He was born at 35wks @ 2.675kg, on the 50th day after birth, he is weighting 4.8kg (got double chin somemore)</font>

I'm lucky my mum is supportive of me TBF. She is learning how to feed EBM too as she is going take care of baby when I go back to work. Even go and ask her friend who had experience. Furthermore, her place got 2 refrigerator, so I can use the one in the balcony to put my freezer, she already told my niece and nephew who normally put ice-creams, fruit etc in the fridge that the top layer of both chiller and freezer is reserved for me.