(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

hello taro,

many thanks for your explanation

Hello Ice Queen,

me too, was charged $220 during first visit and scan. But i find his package (4th month onwards) of $770 very reasonable. this includes scanning too... what do you gals think? can kindly share your gynae package?

hello ladies,

is spotting common?

hello cheezel,

can i ask by which week will the tummy starts to grow? what's the normal weight to gain?

peg_gal, thanks for the warm welcome. yes, this is not my first pregnancy. i'm not sure how many weeks i'm in because my menses are irregular. i tested positive last week when i was day 34. my period is usually around 35-40 days. i decided to test because i felt some cramps that i usually don't get before menses.

lovedogs, i don't know how common is spotting but it is definitely something that you should take seriously.

extracted from baby center, spotting during early pregnancy could be due to:
Implantation bleeding
You may have very scant "implantation bleeding," possibly around 11 or 12 days after fertilization (close to the time you might notice a missed period). It may be caused by the fertilized egg burrowing into the wall of your uterus — a process that starts just six days after fertilization — but no one knows for sure. The bleeding is very light, lasting only a day or two, and only a minority of pregnant women have this kind of spotting at all.

Miscarriage or ectopic pregnancy
Spotting can be an early sign of miscarriage or an ectopic pregnancy, especially if accompanied by abdominal pain or cramping. About a quarter of pregnant women have some spotting or bleeding in early pregnancy, and about half of these women miscarry. But if you have an ultrasound that shows a heartbeat between 7 and 11 weeks, your chances of continuing the pregnancy are greater than 90 percent.

hello ezann,

many thanks for sharing....

btw, this is my 1st time hence i am very ignorant.

i read on the thread abt "clomid" what's that?

also that some MTB here are given other med to eat in addition to folic acid.

my gynae told me juz eat folic acid will do... is there something else i shd eat?

lovedogs, i also don't know a lot. i rely a lot on pregnancy books/magazines and internet for information. actually, each pregnancy is a different experience. i also want to learn from people.

as far as i know, clomid is taken to help in ovulation and improve the quality of eggs. it is usually prescribed by gynae to patients who are not ovulating.

folic acid is one of the most impt nutrient that baby needs in the initial part of pregnancy. mtb are usually advised to take folic acid because it may be difficult to obtain adequate amts in our diet. deficiency in folic acid may cause serious birth defects such as neural tube defects that can result in malformation of the spine, skull and brain. sounds serious but my gynae ever told me that the likelihood of such defect is higher for ang moh babies.

i think as long as your gynae has advised that folic acid will do, you shouldn't worry too much.

Hi cheezel
I heard that it is good to eat cranberries cause it can help with Urinary Tract Infections(which is very common among preggies ladies). Crabnerries has antioxidants that appear to be able to decrease bacterial.

When did your big appetite increase? I envious of you lah. I can't eat as well. Everytime it is like forcing my food to go down but me really do not feel like eating or drinking anything.

Hi peg,
Going back to work today. Remember, take it slow and rest whenever time permits.

Hi Ezann,
You planning to go gynae scan and find out how many weeks?

hi gal,
i only managed to book my gynae appt for next week. so i still have to wait for another week. if i am not wrong, i should be 5 weeks now. by the time i go for scan, hopefully can see the sac and heartbeat.

Morning Ezann,

How are you feeling today?

Yeah the later is the better cause you get to see/hear things and this will make you less worry.

hi gal,
i am feeling fine. how are u feeling today?

true lor. i remember i super ks during my first pregnancy. in the end, cannot see anything and have to keep going back for appt every week. made me worried for nothing and burnt a hole in my pocket.

Morning ladies. Hope everyone feels better today. Last nite, hubby told me to be positive so that my bb will be a happy one. Hi lovedogs, ya, me in my 7weeks now and gng to see the gynae tom again. Hope the charges wont be so high this time round. Any ladies here taking yoga lesson for pregnant women? I am thinking of taking up the class too. Heard that it will help with the tiredness and nauseaness.

Hi Ezann,
I am feeling ok. Very mild cramp too.
Just had a few mouths of yogurt and then don't feel too good. TOO creamy I guess. Yogurt not for me I guess. Thought it would be good calcium.

Hi Ice,
You feeling good?
Yoga for 1st trimester? I thought it is good for second and third but not 1st cause too much stretching can cause spotting?

morning ladies,
back to office now...

My bb very heavy and painful, aiyoh. then i discovered that "spider veins" are coming out on my face....

Morning Peg,
"Spider veins" on face? I read that it is normal to have spider veins around the breasts.

I have painful and heavy ones for almost 1 weeks already and i think it will just be bigger and bigger and heavier and heavier. Endure ~~

i remember the heavy and painful boobs during my first pregnancy. strangely, i feel lesser pain this time. maybe they are already over-stretched.

Gd morning mummies,

Today Im feeling well today. I don't feel any breast pain, but slight swollen. Is this normal for a lady who is trying to conceive for a bb?

gal,
i have cramps on and off. in fact, i had it since the day after my suspected o day. did u ask ur gynae abt ur cramps?

Hi Ezann,
I asked and she told me it is normal cause utreus stretching. But I am curious if others get it?
What sort of cramp you have? AF type?

Hi Peg,
Yeah... I think it is still early. You just need to schedule another session with dr.

Hi lovedogs,
I think spotting is not something uncommon. But once you have it, make sure you visit the dr.BTW, clomid is for those who plan to get pregnant, but the risk might involve multi eggs, and also thinner lining.

Hi Ice Queen,
Normally, people will choose to yoga from 2nd trimester onwards.. it is a good exercise though.

sometimes, i have minor cramp here and there, especially in the bottom part. scary... and no breast pain. Don't know whether it is normal or not. i feel very hungry nowadays, can swallow lots of stuffs.

Hi Ezann,
Pulling for me in 4th week and this week is like AF in the center.

Hi Glynnis,
It is still early to test cause low level of HCG won't be detected. Best to try next week when you miss your mense. How many months did you TTC?

hi hi..
i tested again this morning. :p
the line is as dark as the test line...

but, i dont have sore boobs, no symptom, not hungry, no ms(touch wood), its no different btw pg and not pg.... should i be concern?

glynnis,
i agree with gal. i think it is too early for u to test. the earliest u shld test is on the day u missed ur period.

karen,
i also the same leh. maybe too early to have symptom ba. u also 2nd pregnancy?

Hi gal,
I also feeling "pulling" kind of cramps on and off but no more AF cramp. My breasts are also very painful.

Hi Cheezel,
Wah..u can really eat a lot! Eny leh! Nowadays I can't eat much, eat a bit only will feel sick. Always hving a hard time deciding wat to eat cos no food appeals to me now

My waist is also expanding, my jeans and pants all don't fit anymore...I din expect the changes to be so fast leh...its only 6 weeks and my tummy is already bulging out...is tt normal?

Hi Glynnis,
Be patient, since u are expecting AF nxt wk, then test nxt week if ur AF does not report, otherwise u may get false negative results and make u more stressed up...just try to relax and don think abt it.

karen,
wah, 40 mths. let me count..3 years old+. so qiao he born the same day as u.
if #2 also same day then u can celebrate together.

halo...ya, I know the yoga should start 2nd trimester. I am just thinking of surveying ard for some good courses. Dunnoee if I will be hearing bb's heartbeat tom. When did you all start hearing bb's heartbeat? Week 7 or 8?
Hi Tami, I also had the pulling feeling last 2 weeks. Was a bad period for me cos as long as I am awake I can feel the pull. Hopefully no more such feeling for me anymore.

ezann,
yaloh.. the day before he was born, i was still thinking that no hope for him to born on my birthday, cos no symptom at all, suddenly, next day, 7am, contraction starts! :p

morning ladies.....just wake up.....on leave today....i slept more than 12 hrs. wake up in the middle of night to eat something then go back sleep again. but still tired le

lovedogs
i also not too sure when tummy will bulge out.....i think depends on indiv ba....i have a colleague who is 5 months that tiime but still cant see much of her tummy and only pop out big at ard 6 months.....then another one at 10 weeks, can see her tummy liao.

normally, 1st trimester if no appetite cos of MS, then most of the mommy to be will lose wt and its still ok as what taro mention, the bb now get nutrients fr yolk sac n not much fr what we eat now....normal wt gain ard 10 to 16 kg for the whole 9 month?? me also 1st time...some of these info i read fr internet....

gal,
not that i wanna eat so much... its cos if i no eat, i will feel sick and uncomfortable and get nausea all over again......force myself to snack in between even when i really no appetite...n it get worse if i am tired.

Glynnis,
the best time to test is after u missed ur mens. dun get stress over it...sometime stress et delay mens too. let me know if u still want the strips.

going my mom's place over the weekends...no more internet....hehe...u gals enjoy chatting!!!

glynnis,
i can feel ur anxiety. i would be the same if i were u too. i also have friends who are trying and i know the suspence can be a torture. *hug* try to take ur mind off and relax.

karen,
ur boy can read ur mind so decided to come out.

Hi Karen,
Congrats,Some people just don't have any symptoms throughout the 1st trimester. It would be an enjoyable journey then.

#2 will be another May baby. How nice to have 3 all in May?
What is the character of a MAY taurus baby? I am curious

Hi Tami,
Is your cramps still on the sides or the center?

Hi Cheezel,
What do you like to eat the most now? Did you put on any weight?

hi gal,
for my boy, he's a rascal! *LOL*
he's one who demand the things he wans immediately! If u delay in getting the things he wan, he will throw temper!
And he's most capable of sitting down and cry if u dont buy the toys he wans, right infront of a huge crowd in dept store! i always named him as a terrible rascal!

Hi Karen,
HAHAHAAH, he knows everyone 'sayang' him a lot and so when he cry he will get his things?

Do you hope for a boy or girl this time?

Hi Karen,
Wah....May will be a time for celebration for ur family then...very gd leh.. can just throw w big party and celebrate at one go..

Hi gal,
my cramps are mostly on the sides, sometime left, sometime right.

Hi cheezel,
I'm not quite used to my big tummy yet leh... i feel so bloated

gal,
i have read that they can appear on the face also, but did not expect to get so early....aiyoh...

U still having cramps? My cramps are not so frequent now, mostly in the centre.

How's everyone today? I dun feel very good, quite of lightheaded, like want to faint like that, so dare not stand for long.

have u all started talking to your bb yet? I heard that it is good to start early.

My skirts are getting tight, but i think it is still too early to invest in maternity skirts right? how to solve the problem? very uncomfortable leh...

Glynnis
Dun get too stressed. test again next week and in the meantime, distract yourself from thinking abt it.

Hi Peg,
Yes. I talk to my bb everyday and everynight. EVEN my DH also say good morning and good luck to the bb. Do you?

U mentioned you heard it is good to start early? Why? any clue?

gal,
started doing that yesterday. even introduced bb to both my cats...

start the bonding early lor, some say is "Tai jiao"

Hi Peg,
Not too late, I started in week 4 too. I read this : try talking to bb (your happiness, your stress and your anger). They will understand and develop a unique bonding with you)

Hi peg gal, I have the same problem as you too....my skirt getting tight. But I have not start announcing my pregnancy to my office yet. So was thinking cannot wear maternity wear now. Also its seems weird to start wearing maternity wear now also mah. Not even 2 months yet.