(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

ice_queen
I am going to get some skirts with elastic bands this weekend. cannot tahan already. Now very xin ku, tummy bloated up again, (just pulled my zipper down a bit, then feel better, lucky my blouse a bit long, so can cover up)

i am from the march thread. Just want to share some tips on the maternity wear. U can get those maternity pants which are fitted below the belly. they come with adjustable elastic bands and when u wear it, no one can tell it is maternity wear. but because it is below ur belly u will feel more comfortable. So go ahead and start wearing them even now then later when u are bigger, u can adjust the elastic band looser...hope it helps

hi peg,
u do not have any skirts which is elastic?
well, i plan to wear it around 3rd or 4th month when i cannot hide it anymore..

belle
Thanks. will go and look around this weekend.

Bridget
I only have one of that, so got to buy a few more.

Hi belle, Any recommendation where to get the maternity pants? Any maternity skirts that works the same manner? I am actually not used to wearing pants.

hi icy queen,

i bought only maternity pants because with a loose top and a skirt, looks kind of weird. Pants u can get from 9mois at paragon top floor. But quite ex like $90 plus wor. BUt i like their cutting, slim fit.

hi taro,

thanks for sharing the link abt cats. coz i am feeding stray cats hence worried. nowadays, i leave the food and walk away...so trying my best not to come into very close contact. hope it will be ok?

how abt dogs? i have a dog with me... he sleeps in our room and normally i will carry him to sleep on the bed as well...

Hi ladies, i will need to shift my office desk on monday.... sigh... i wonder will it be ok?

can i ask also, when did the MS set in?

lovedogs,
Not sure about dogs though. Try to avoid the stray cats for the time being if you can. See if your colleague can help you with the shifting. You just leave and come back when it's done.

lovedogs,
better get your colleague to help u. not good for us to use a lot of strength nowadays.

i think depends on individual, some earlier or some even dun have at all.

icy queen
there is a perfect mum near my office, yesterday evening kpo go n see. i tried on some of their pants and skirts, very compfortable, pants at abt $80 plus and skirts at abt $50 plus. all the pants and skirts come with the adjustable elastic bands and allow u to wear till u are 9 mths. in the end i bought one skirt and a top that dun really looks like a maternity top.

do u gals have problem sleeping at night. it will take me so long just to fall asleep, then once asleep also keep waking up. woke up before 7 then cannot sleep liao. But afternoons can sleep very well.

same for me, peg_gal. Woke up so frequently and going back to different dreams every night. Hard to fall asleep plus hungry at night. But have to bear loh cause does not want to eat in the middle of the night mah.

taro
just woke up from a short nap....

yah, i also keep having funny dreams at nite, sometimes, dreamt abt eating then once woke up very hungry. dun know if this will go away after the 1st trimester?

I do have funny dreams every alt night as well. Can't imagine having this entire 9 months. aii

Yesterday night started some form of morning sickness, felt nausea and then vomitted entire dinner out. sob sob ~~
Anyone experiencing morning sickness before? Is the feeling like feeling too full or it is some strange smell that trigger the morning sickness for you?

hi taro and peg_gal,

i can't tell my colleagues that i am preggie yet leh... so dunno what is the reason to ask them to shift for me? sigh... i guess i will just have to do it slowly by myself.

i carried quite heavy stuff today.... my notebook and 2 boxes of mooncakes and today's papers...now tummy abit pain...wonder am i over sensitive. hb reservist so bo pian

hi gal,

aiyoh, so poor thing... try taking some sweets? i take sweets to sleep last few days coz i felt my mouth very bland..

as for hungry at bedtime, i drink a glass of milk...perhaps u ladies can try drinking some milk or milo if u feel hungry at nite?

gal
aiyoh, sayang sayang.

lovedogs,
get the guys to do it for u, say u lady, no strength lor. But if really have to do it yourself, then u must go very slowly ok, if tired or feel anything different pls call for help ok.

This happens for one night so far and I am praying it will be happen again...

These days do you all try to stay at home as much as possible during weekends or still go out shopping? I was asked to stay at home as much as possible during weekends to 'rest' but very bored leh.

hi gal...
this time i'm hoping for a girl, then can 'close' factory liao... *LOL*

hi Tami,
Yaloh, my hubby most happy lah... cos he needs to buy 1 cake only, and can celebrate me and my son birthday together...

hi lovedogs,
my hubby also reservist wor... he from 11 sep ~ 29sep, your hubby?

hehe, i yesterday finally go get a clearblue to test... and the +ve appears almost immediately!
Have made appt with gynae, will go see him next sat... hopefully can see the sac and hear heartbeat... :p

gal,
for my 1st pregnancy, my ms will start everyday after 9pm! the timing is always the same.. after 9pm, all dinner which i've took, will be vomited out!

Hi Karen,
Do you just have ms from a few weeks?
Can I ask the feeling of ms? Do you vomit because of a particular smell or because you are feeling very full and want to have everything out? I am thinking here if mine is ms?

hello peg_gal,

think i will place my barang barang on my chair, then roll over to the new seat.

hello Karen.

congrats to you
so ideal to have 1 boy 1 gal hor
but i guess boy, gal does not matter..most impt must be healthy..

hb reservist from 8 Sept till 21 Sept...

your hb's reservist also very long period hor...

hi gal,

hope u wont kenna ms again... try taking sweets? will it help?
erm, did ur gynae told u to stay at home? mine din say anything...in fact, he told us, if the pregnancy is stable, go bungy jump also wont suffer miscarriage...hiaz...off course i wont listen to him to go for extreme sports! but i still do things as per normal...and simple housework too.... walk my dog, feed the stray cats etc...

if u need to stay at home, how abt read something or watch DVDs?

Its been a terrible week for me

I've been feeling sick since the moment I open my eyes every morning right up to night time. The nauseuos feeling just won't go away. I feel like vomiting but couldn't vomit at all! That's the worst part. I'm only 7 weeks...still hv so many weeks to endure. Really don't know how I can pull thru...

I hv no appetite at all...I tried to take sour plums and ginger but nothing seems to help. I really feel terrible...

Hi loverdogs,
I don't know if 1st trimester should stay at home. Usually I hear old people telling those pregnant people to stay home as much as possible during 1st trimester then will be stable. Any clue how you know if your pregnancy is stable or not?
So, I thought of asking you all what do you all do in your 1st trimester? Now, every weekend for me is stay home and watch DVD - one another another.

Hi Tami,
Do you feel hungry? If you do, this will make you feel nausea, so eat as much as you are. I have no appetite as well like you these days so I ate congee everyday.

Hi Tami,
I understand fully what you mean....I was like you for the past 2 weeks too. It was really terrible. I just slept through the whole weekend for the past few weeks. Every waking moments was a torture. Hang on there.....am sure we will past this stage soon.

Tami, why don;t you take anti-ms pills from your gynae is you feel so terrible the whole day?

alternatively, you can go with ur instinct of what you like to eat and drink, it will ease ur nausea. when u first wake up, eat some dry biscuit but don drink water. always drink liquid in between meals and not during. Take small snacks of biscuits instead of a full meal.

also try to do other things to distract ur attention away from ur nausea.

hope u will get well soon. Some people nausea go away pretty early. So take heart.

How is everyone feeling today?

I am beginning to have mild ms. I will feel nauseous in the morning but my appetite is still normal. I also feel tired easily and no mood to do anything. I have some cramps like menses too but luckily it only lasted for a while. To my surprise, my tummy is getting rounder. I had some difficulty fitting into my work clothes this morning.

Hi Ezann,
I have mild ms every morning for almost 3 days. I am thinking if this is the start of the MS nightmare. Feeling slight dizzness entire morning. Doesn't sound too good huh.

This is the very very beginning of the pregnancy only and seems a long long way to go. How can one survive all the way.

gal,
I feel the same too but this time round I am more prepared so I don't feel so miserable about it. Usually ms will disappear during the 2nd trimester which is the honeymoon period during the pregnancy. Tell yourself: If others can do it, so can you!

Ezann,
Thanks for the encourgement. I am thinking it is in the 'heart' don't think about it and i will be alright. Hope this method works for me as long as possible.

Hi gal,

i had terrible ms but now i just cross 15th week and the ms just subsided quite a bit.
Digestion is also better and appetite is slightly better

Keep my fingers crossed that it is over.

gal,
Yes, I also heard that as long as we don't think about it, we will be fine. It is good if there are things to keep your mind busy at work.

belle,
Do you know the sex of your baby already?
Which hospital will you be delivering?

Hi Belle,
Seems like a long journey. So 2nd trimester everything will be alright. Hoepfully for most of the ladies in here as well.

Did you go for test for bb down syndrome?I was told that you can have the gender determine there as well. Is that true?

ezann, during the scan for down syndrome, it shows a 60% chance of being a gal. I will deliver in TMC. Since it is only 12th week, it is not close to certainty. only during the detailed fetal scan in 20th week will it be more certain.

gal, ya 15 weeks like very long. during 14th week i was still vomitting and i really felt that there is no end to it and i didnt believe i will get better and thought i may be the unlucky few to suffer all throughout the 9 months. But things just got better all of a sudden. Strange. Some people onyl suffer nausea for 2 weeks. so whatever the case, meanwhile u have to try methods to ease the suffering. Maybe change in food, change in timing, quantity, etc. And meantime wish that time will just fly and u reach 2nd tri soon

belle,
can u tell me more about the scan for down syndrome? what is the difference between that and the usual ultrasound scan? is this in addition to the blood test for down syndrome?

ezann, the scan for the down syndrome is done at a fetal assessment centre and not by the gynae. The specialist's equipment is supposed to be better and can measure the thickness of the neural tube to see if it is within the normal range. Together with the bloos test, they will compute the statistics to give a figure like say 1 in 10000 chance of a down syndrome child.

This test is done at week 12 and cost around $100 plus and the blood test is another $100. Sometimes they will make u pay for the detailed fetal scan in week 20 in advance too perhaps got discount that's why. That is another $100 plus.

9 mois or swell got nice clothes. I got my capri from Cloud 9 at suntec.

lately i have been experiencing occasional slight pains at the lower abdominal then it will disappear again... do you all have such encounter?

ezann,

yup i will take one bedder as i want someone to accompany in the room when i sleep. don like being in hospital alone.

Hi Jesmine,
I bought the cream and started applying already but I am not too sure when is the RIGHT moment to apply. I see my bloated stomach and bigger hips so I quickly apply.

When are you planning to start applying cream?

I do have mild cramp on and off as well. This is because utreus is stretching.

Hi bridget,
Do you still measure BBT when preggie? what does temp drop means?

bridget,
what is the purpose of measuring temperature? maybe today weather is cold, so ur temperature drop?

gal,
i heard that it is never too early to start applying cream. in fact, it would be even better if you have the habit of applying cream on your tummy in the past. but then hor, it may not necessarily help in preventing stretchmarks. some say that whether u have stretchmarks depends on ur genes. meaning if ur mom has it, likely that u may have it too.

Hi Ezann,
What did you use for the #1 pregnancy? Do you have any left over stretch mark from that?

gal,
i don't know...that's why i am worry. i have the habit of measuring temperature since 3 months ago...are u looking for strechmark cream? i think clarins has a good one.

ezann,
hmm... hopefully. will it be insufficient hormone? dr. didn't measure my hormone in the 1st visit.

Hi Bridget,
I bought the clarins body oil. Heard lots of rave about it for preggie.

Can BBT determine HCG level? How many weeks preggie are you?

gal,
i used mothercare. i tried other brands but most are too creamy for me. i heard olive oil or baby oil is good too. i have some stretchmarks but not visible now. tummy still rather saggy but it doesn't matter now.

bridget,
i'm not sure whether it's insufficient hormone. i only know that my tummy tends to be very warm but not the other parts of my body.