(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

sgn,
you're still working right? how can you cope with BF and work at the same time? wah, really pei fu.
I went for prenatal massage yesterday and masseuse managed to squeeze out some milk! think my factory is ready...

Jeanyard
wow factory ready huh. me one already headache, me no choice ley, tried to pump less then got block duct, bb at night still wakes up n i can only latch cos i need to sleep lazy to give FM.
my factory is small production but longer hrs, for u is large production for certain period n rest hee hee.

wah u all started potty train bb already..i haven't done anything yet..me a lazy mummy..

sgn
my colleague oso told me to give water to bb at nite..but i find like quite poor thing..hungry then got nothing to eat..

jeanyard
so fast ur milk factory is ready ah?

naqia, thanks! I share the same sentiments as sgn and zhuzhu, so poor thing to let bb goes hungry. But again, if we are so emotional then just have to endure till they wean off on their own. I have a colleague whose girl is already 3yo and still needs to latch on at night...

sgn, thanks for the link. i will keep a look out. hope they will have a promo soon coz i want to bring BBJan for her 1-yo shot before May. May i know, from mummies who have taken their shots @ foto-U, which photographer is better?

Taro, may i know if you have the link to Snapz's invitation? Is it still on?

sgn & MummyYoko

That's what my PD suggested but i've not tried giving water even once at night. I don't see it much as Ill-treating my baby lah although my MIL & own mom would think so. I just see it as more convenient to latch on. and of course, if not breasts will be heavy the next morning. So might as well just latch. Never have i gotte up to pump in the middle of the night... except 1 occasion where I needed milk in the morning

Mummyyoko,
No link to Snapz. It's through phone invite. I did ask if I can invite my sister's family. They say no no

Serene,
I've tried giving YX wolfberries before around 7 months and the next day, his poo poo is BLACK! so scary! I've not given him any more since then.

hi naqia, yup, i think latching on at night is more convenient too. :p Lazy mummies... too used to BF then FM. hehhee...

sgn, thanks! i am watching that thread closely for their next promo. hope could be in time for Jan's first bday.

Taro
hi good day to u!

jj79
u r welcome.

kris
me booking location either BIL's company banglow or Arandar chalet (not sure the spelling), for the celebration.

Mummyyoko
ben says they will only starts and other promotion when they clear this patch of promotion which i see some ppl bk till april!

sgn,
location is a headache oso, me completely clueless, cant seems to find a plc dat i like. sianz.

serene,
long time no hear frm u liao ah, hws life?

kris
for me as long as it big n NOT my place can already ha ha ha, my bil's banglow need to ballot n it's around exam period so should be ok but still not confirm until 3months b4 the date n it's cheap= $70 for week end. as for the chalet will be more ex $300-400 bah n need to book early.

hi serene,
i m not too sure abt wolfberry, u can check w d chinese med hall. tink i did put it in soup af ash turned 1 yr old. af 1, i was more 'adventurous' in letting him try new food.

sanrio
i signed up as member and haven bring bb for class yet ley they says can join the daily class or just play the gym for $8 for the afternoon if no class. i feel like going to vivo's cos there got nursing room n hapybaby says it's new n big.

hi kris,

u got my sms the other day? wanna ask u how to pass u the avent sprouts.

hi yoyo,

can ask u any good titles from TVB recently? thanks

Do you give your babies yogurt or fromage frais? Does anyone know if Baby Yoplait range of fromage frais is safe now?

Lovedogs
Wow! Tessa can understand when you call “wait!”…so clever gal…hmm. not sure if my silly boy can get it or not. :p

Sanrio
Actually I am not sure if my baby’s poo is firm or not now lei..coz when I change his shitty diaper, the poo looks pasty & gooey….not sure if it’s flattened or it’s really soft stools…and the poo is all over his bums….think if I bend him over my lap to clean, will surely get the “IT” on my hands. :p

Last evening brought my boy to attend his 1st wedding dinner…total disaster…he started crying when the relative come over to ‘see’ him…then when in the ballroom, super bad wailing when MC starts to talk…came out and when for him settle down.. went back into the ballroom, MC talking, he started loud wails…feed him porridge he merlioned together with earlier milk feed…so it’s like for half a day yesterday, he hasn’t eaten anything at all and even this morning, he also refused milk when he woke up…hope he’s Ok…

mummyyoko
i have given bb a few spoons of plain swiss yogurt. she didn't like it cuz it was quite sour. i can't find plain bb yogurt from baby yogplait. heard can make own yogurt. my indian collegue has done it for her 7mth old. but i'm not so adventurous. :p

kris
planning first b-day already? me just decided on theme. thinking of having it at a restaurant.

for brown rice, do i get the long or short grain one? and do you grind it before boiling or after? have been using rice cereal so far, so no experience in cooking grains.

anyone know how to cook lentils?

serene
i dun think should give wolfberry so soon. maybe check with pd?

mummyyoko,

is the yoghurt very sour? I also want to increase calcium intake for my bb. But if sour, I dont think she will like.

Lynn,
You are not adventurous to try, whereas I am adventurous, but my bb is not. I added extra things in my bb porridge and she didnt want to eat. I added broccoli and cauliflower, bb didnt eat. She only likes the old usual way all the time, fish, carrot and potato....ai ya...

springdance,
do u brg jonas out often to 'crowded' places? perhaps d new loud/bright environment n so many new faces n pple mus b too overwhelming for him.

lynn,
cher only takes long grain. she dun like short grain. short grain has a more 'chewy' texture n d 'husk' is thicker, thou gd in fibre. as a start, perhaps u nid to grind as brown rice wld not becum totally 'fine n kuo kuo' even how long u cook unlike white rice grains tat can totally break. i try not to grind (lazy n ley chay) now so i use slow cooker n cook for at least 4hrs. i soak d grains overnite n use hot water to put into slow cooker.
cher still prefer cereal than porridge. i try grinding, make no difference, she still prefer her HT cereal.
lentils: soak overnite, cook w brown rice porridge.

sanrio,
cher also prefers cereal to porridge ah? my bb too...i feeding her heinz plain rice cereal and also HT barley cereal.

but cereal so not interesting lei...heinz still has other range, but HT doesnt right?

do you add any other thing in the rice cereal?

Sanrio
Only got bring Jonas to shopping centres or restaurants during weekends...for wedding dinners, it's a first time. Guess the environment is really different ba coz there's much more space in shopping ctrs as compared to the ballroom packed with dinners..also with the speakers in the enclosed room, it's probably more "sound threatening" for baby?

Well, juz that didn't expect his reaction to be SO BAD! signzz...

janet,
yup. i tasted d porridge, so much nicer n sweeter than cereal but she jus love cereal. she like ht mixed grain cereal. i add bm/water, banana or avocado or steam pumpkin or sweet potato. carrot, she dun like.
she hates fish porridge, i boiled fish stock, af 1 mouthful, she gave me d yucky look n refuse to open her mouth for next spoonful.
recently i use lean pork n cook stock w potato, carrot, corn etc. somtx i steam n mash spinach or brocolli to add into it. she eats but can c not as keen compared to cereal.

springdance,
yup shd b like wat u said. too threatening for him n probably 'frightened' him. ash hates crowd n strangers n new places wen bb. we can nvr step into frd's hse, once go in, cry until we walk out. shopping ctr ok. but cher is more friendly n adaptable. guess a sibling at hm made a big difference n oso i alwy brg her go kaikai..

sanrio,
yah loh...how? our bbs seems to be quite picky...maybe next time we can share recipes...both girls may have same taste preference...hee hee

My porridge also so much nicer. In the end, I gather that bb may not like strong taste food...
I try to add small amount of other ingredients, eg.banana, in the rice cereal...only like 1 tsp. bb still ok, so at least, this way she get to eat a little fruit as well..did you add a lot of the other ingredients in the rice cereal, maybe if you try lesser, she may like.

springdance,
I have never try to bring bb out for wedding dinner before. dont dare to try, for fear of what my bb will do...i have only try wedding lunch.

maybe your bb wants to sleep. does he sleep early?

Janet/Sanrio
could it be baby like the milk taste of the cereal? afterall they have been drinking milk since birth...prob still prefer the milky taste of the cereal.

serene
i add wolfberries to javen's porridge once. just for taste...didnt let him eat. he's ok. will add it more often when he starts to venture out for more taste.

Springdance
poor Jonas....he's ok now? can imagine the mess....prob he's just affected by the loud voice of the MC cos mike ma...can imagine when they "yam sheng"...jonas got cry? theres always a first time. who knows next time he ok liao.

janet,
yup i oso tink tat my girl is more choosy compared to my elder boy. i remb wen my boy was a bb, he ate evytg/anytg i prepared. i can cook rojak (nutritious porridge) n he can eat 1 big bowl (mayb 3tx wat my girl can eat).
agree my girl probably dun like too strong taste. so if i add food to cereal, cannot add too much.
sure we can share receipe. tdy i put a piece of lean meat n few cubes of sweet potato into her brown rice porridge (in slow cooker), she seems quite ok w it.
even for d brown rice, she seems to like tis thai jasmine organic long grain brown rice beta (recommended by d organic shop lady boss), previously i tried US brand, she dun like. faintz....

cheezel,
cher is 'addicted' to bm :p

Springdance
i think bbJonas must had been frighten by the loud speaker. poor thing.

sanrio
i prefer to give bb porridge ley cos i find cereal too plain.

Springdance,
I brot bbJ to a wedding dinner few weeks back also. he was ok .. a little ngek ngek occasionally but overall he was alright. Sat him on a bb chair beside us. Did manage to eat my dnr. Abt 10.45pm gave him his nite feed than he k.o le. Was telling the groom bbJ is the first one to 'drunk' in his wedding . hehe. U know, in the car me was telling bbJ must behave har, if not no more weding dnrs for u :p

Good Morning Everyone!

I sneaked in again...

<font color="0000ff">CoolD</font>
One of my fren told me she always "talk" to her little boy (2 days older than mine only) before going out; asks him to behave himself when outside, cannot bawl and shout... and then hoh, he really didnt bawl and shout, no ngek ngek also.. Then I tried... somehow it worked also.. Hee... maybe you can try. :p So hows work? Seems to quieten down abit hoh...

<font color="0000ff">Sanrio</font>
Hows Cher feeding now? I plan to start brown rice this week or next. Now Ray's feeding on cereal and baby bite (mix with milk) well. I tot maybe can start brown rice le.. What ingredient would you recommend to put in brown rice? Wat do u add to cereal ah? I only feed plain cereal eh, think of putting some "colour" to his food.

<font color="0000ff">Lovedogs</font>
Hee... me not on any series eh. Haz, basically no time now.. But hoh, me now playing games in the nite when Ray sleeps... Wahahahaa.... then my mil also never pass me the HK Series le, maybe she thinks I dun hv time to watch bah. I think gonna have one major title coming up soon, heard my fren said. The other day, I read that ing Feng had his nose "done" (plastic surgery)... then when Ling Feng was interviewed, he said he just took some med for nose allergy..
Haz.

<font color="0000ff">Springdance</font>
Haz. I asked Ray to wait hoh, he will wait, but if I take too long, he will scream. So nowadays even if Im changing in the toilet (his cot near to my bathroom), I will have to "show" my face to him, so that he dun scream...
Even make milk, I put him on the floor and he will look at me making milk, then he wont shout... **faint**

<font color="0000ff">Cheezel</font>
Are you still on leave? Hows yr feeding le? Did you add spinach to the porridge? I plan to add those mini dry scallops, but my fren told me its one of the seafoods, so asked me to try wen Ray's older...
I tot these dry mini scallops make the porridge sweet and nice..

lynn,
i give kelly the short grain brown rice coz it looks more cute to me

i had stop grindin kelly porridge, she juz eat as per cooked, but the carrot, veg r still grind.

lynn, janet,

the yogurt can be quite sour but mix them well with fruits and babies will love them. i have tried different flavours for BbJan and she loves them. Anything with yogurt she will like. As Yoplaits has recalled their Baby's range of yogurt due to some metal contaimination last Nov, I have explored making my own. I have tried peach/blueberries/strawberries/mango etc.

If any adventurous mommies, like me, want more information, I could provide.

yy,
cereal: i add banana or avocado (mashed) or steam sweet potato or pumpkin
fruit puree: apple, banana, pear, i give as snack somtx
long grain organic brown rice porridge: i add lean pork, carrot (or sweet potato or pumpkin), spinach or brocolli
somtx i cook pork, potato n carrot soup n use as stock.
i use slow cooker, n longer grind. jus cook until nua nua.

instead of mini scallops (which u can try wen Ray is older, can use lean pork: low risk of allergy. then fish or chicken). i plan to let cher try beef soon. fish she hates.
as she gets older n can eat well, i wld b more adventurous w her food :p

oh, i oso add millet to her porridge, wld soon add quoina n lentils.

yoyo
Ray so cute must see ur face but at least can do something.

kris
all the while i never grind the porridge ley need to do so? i'm a blur ma ma.

sanrio
ya first food also says not to give seafood n shelled food to bb, but nanny went to use dried scallops to cook porridge when bb was 6 months, trial n error lor ha ha ha, lucky no allergy. cos my hb got history of seafood allergy.

hi i am from dec 2007 mums...
can anyone pls advise how frequent does your bb drink now? is it abt 4-6 times? so does that mean we only need to pump every 5-6hrly (ie 4-5 times a day) as compare to every 2-3 hrly when they r newborn?

Pls advise. kind of cant stand d sleepless nights of pumping... feel like giving up bf already. anyone here alrwady stop bf and can share w me when n how u stop?

million thks!!!

springdance,
poor thing. maybe he's overstimulated. i learnt not to bring bb to wedding so that I can enjoy my abalone and sharks fin!

keki,
pls don't give up your breastmilk!! bb is really much stronger and more immune to common virus like cold if you breastfeed. Afterall, you're on maternity leave right? so just pump and sleep lots. I used to pump every 3hrs even though at night. I just watch channel U or surf the net or read books to keep myself awake.
breast milk is priceless.

keki,

i agree with Jeanyard, breastmilk is priceless and you will have a very strong bonding with your bb and afterall, you will find all sleepless nite worth it.
Why not latch on when your bb need a feeding and pump out the balance that bb cant take so you can keep up to the supply of breastmilk.

yoyo
hehe..bbR is ike bbC. must see us at all times. PD said bbC is ok. lungs clear n no wheezing. but he gv cough/flu med juz in case. bbC still coughing. hope it will go off soon by it's own without med. how's bbR?

started feeding bbC chicken porridge. she seems to like it. i also added in caixin and xiao pai cai. today she ate 3/4 bowl instead of her usual 1/2 bowl and ended up vomiting twice

sanrio
what's quoina?