(2007/01) Jan

re food - afternoon is porridge, mee or noodle (waton mee type, no yellow color wax noodle), 1 normal rice bowl
dinner is rice - 1 rice bowl with soup + meat + vegi (5plus or 6plus)

then when we there at 7plus, she will want to join us n eat plain rice or some fish, chicken or vegi (depend on her mood)

seems like a lot??

thanks for all the response. I think maybe I should be like you all, feed her for 30 mins max and if she eats so slowly, then let her go hungry, she got to learn lor.

zenn - hope estelle gets well soon and if it's really allergy, hope you find out soon what it is and it's not too serious an allergy.

lawpei,

dun worry too much, kids are very smart de, they won't go hungry for long, heehee. but if you are really worried then can do qhat Aqua does, which is supplement with a bottle of milk.

Sherl, thanks. Ya, that's what I tend to do too but think maybe I need to let her go hungry and she will learn...heheh...

anyway, her weight and height still ok, so I won't worry too much, just stress she never grows out of eating nuah nuah stuff and dun adapt to our kind of food.

lawpei, sherl & hui, ya the hives started the fri b4 cny. initially we suspect its seafood cos she took noodle cooked prawn (she didnt ate the prawn) and porridge with dried scollop but some days she developed hive w/o taking seafood too and this is not the 1st time having. we do give her bread wif peanut butter but not recently tho. really got no idea what is she allergy to
i heard its quite painful to do the allergy test leh

hui, she not ah mo leh. nowadays she dun like egg & pototo n no creamy stuff too

zenn,

What exactly does the allergy test entail? Poor Estelle... Or is it a certain food cooked with a certain ingredient? Sounds very weird but I have that kind of food allergy (I'm allergic to a particular kind of fish cooked with oyster sauce, but I'm not allergic to the fish or oyster sauce on their own). Or recently got anything new in her environment?

lawpei,
Think by and by she will adapt bah, but maybe take some time?

sherl, i heard they will poke fm the skin n test diff types of allergy. she got it few days after we r back fm bkk. i also clueless now. ur allergy also v interesting. hopefully estelle one not like u, if not i will ve hard time finding out kekekekek

zenn,

Wakakakkakakaka, for my allergy we only discovered it the second time I had a hives attack. And my attack was quite horrible both times because my entire body including face swell up.

Poor Estelle... if not necessry maybe hold back on the allergy test and try to figure out the allergy on your own? Sounds very painful leh.. and she can be allergic to virtually anything!

*walks around..... sniff sniff*

*use walking stick poke poke Aqua's hole to look for Aqua*

AQUA WU DI BO????

*catch da lu xia mian and throw at Icy for her to eat*

Icy this morning say she like xia mian right? Wakakakkakakkakak

thanks lawpei! seems like its a v painful process
will see what the doc say this fri

sherl, i also hope to find out on my own but... today she got abit of rashes again. now i start to wonder if its due to material -_-

good morning all

mummies! when are we meeting for lunch??

i m going crazy le. miss you gals so much.

esp ppl like sugarbean, babymilk, msn queen, firstbaby & snow.

long time boh see you gals le.

aqua & sherl how how how??

Hi Icy

MOnday is the last day of CNY, got lunch invitation from vendor. Can change to other days?

I miss you much too. Got so many things to catch up.

good morning all

can we fix a date to meet up for lunch.

very jialat leh... always have difficulty to meet up.

17 feb 2009

1. icylemon

hi, anymum let ur baby sleep on 1 side? my bb can sleep whole nite with 1 side. he will light sleep if he sleep lie on his back. but i face 1 problem, he will leak his urine on the side his sleep after 2 hr. Did any mum face it?

Happened to bump into this thread.

My gal also a Jan 07 bb.

I m in a dilemma now. I have quite a number of people telling me that my gal's progress is rather ahead for a 2yr old. I know different kids develop differently, some acheive milestones faster some slower....so I m not sure how "advanced" is my gal or is it just "normal"?

When I go for trial playgroup sessions, I felt her quite out of place as she already knows the topic...but when I wanted to enrol her into a session for older children (3-4yr), the centre doesn't agree to that. Anyone can give me advice on what I should do? (Sorry, I admit I m a v. blurr mother)

how's everyone?

Icy,
Don't think I can make it for lunch leh. My schedule nowadays darn packed.

Karen,
I don't remember bothering much about Claire's sleeping position when she was younger. I agree with what hui said, perhaps the diaper cutting doesn't suit your son or the diaper too big. Play around and see which diaper most suits your son. I've always let Claire wear Nepia, which hardly ever leaks for her, but I know some other mommies here have had bad leaking experiences with Nepia.

msworri,
What do you mean by your gal is more advanced leh? Can give more details?

I hope you don't mind me asking, but why do you want to send her for more advanced classes actually? I feel that 2 year olds are best suited in a playgroup environment, coz the most important thing they should be picking up now is social interaction, and not on actual academic knowledge. I don't know the details of the centre you are referring to, but it is possible they are not letting you enrol her in a class for older children because the teaching methods they use in classes for older children may not be suitable for 2-year-olds? If you want a place where children can learn at their own pace and are not restricted by age, you can try out montessori classes, where there is usually no class clusters like 'n1/2' and 'k1/2'.

Hope the above helps.

hui/sherl,

i tried pampers, petpet, fitti, huggie ultra, mammy pokko. all fail. haiz... maybe i need to continue try and error.

sherl,

What I meant is that she achieves milestones that typical for an older kid .....e.g. speaking well, counting, etc.

I thought if I put her into classes for age3, she could still experience social interaction, and at the same time able to learn more new stuff/knowledge. Is my thinking wrong?

I'm just afraid I might overlook her potential in any aspects. That's why I need to hear comments/advice from other parents.....

I've tried enquiring about montessori, but all of those are weekday classes, which I have difficulties finding someone to fetch her to/fro from class.

Aqua,

Now Claire can wear Huggies dry comfort le at last, heeheehee. But nighttime I still gotta use pampers or nepia. Daytime use huggies dry comfort. Save money leh... lol. So happy that she no longer has "golden backside".

morning mummies

aqua:
is pet pet any good? i'm still using mamy poko for kienan. and it's exp! does pet pet have velcro fasteners?

sherl:
is huggies dry comfort any good? like i said above, i'm thinking of trying out cheaper brands.
good to hear that claire no longer has 'golden backside'! this way, you can save more $$! haha

kienan is now only wearing diapers when he sleeps at nite and during long naps.. i'm toilet training him for other times of the day.

good morning!

sherl, thx for ur msg in my blog. i m ok but heartpain n frustrated when the hives keep coming back.

charm, so kienan is not wearin diaper the rest of the day? will he say when he wanna go urine. estelle still wear cloth diaper (think oni her n claire still wearin? kekkeke) when at home in the day n nepia at night. if out, she will wear dryer or fiti.

sherl,

Rachel oso using Huggies Dry Comfort, Size L in school. but at nite i still let her use Mamy Poko, Size L. then sometimes I will still let her use Huggies Pull Up Pants.

btw, Jurong West St 51 is selling Huggies Dry Comfort $16 per pack.

msworri,
Hmmm, I'm no expert myself, but rather I just share my thoughts with you. But hor, my disclaimer is that my daughter is considered "normal" 2-year-old, or maybe even a bit slow, haha.

I think it depends on the kind of classes you want to put your daughter in. Are you looking for academic emphasis, or otherwise? By saying that you want to put her in a more advanced class, are you saying you want to enrol her in N1/2 as opposed to playgroup, which is where kids their age should be? Or that you want to place her in accompanied weekend classes with older kids (that might be more possible)?

I feel that when it comes to learning, especially for young children, the correct environment is the most important. The children have to feel safe, secure and happy, before they can learn to their fullest potential. I don't know if your daughter might be overly stressed if you place her in a class with kids so much older than yours (even though it may be only half or 1 year difference, such a difference at their age can mean a lot), as these kids might be emotionally and socially more mature. In a formal school setting (without parents around), your daughter might end up getting bullied by the others... that's just a thought la.

icy/zenn,

huggies dry comfort not bad hor?

But I hope soon she dun have to wear anymore... but very unlikely leh, until now she still informs me of her toilet needs only after everything has happened.

hello,
karen,
did you try to loosen the diaper i.e. pressing the centre long part inwards so its more 'into shape' before putting his diaper on? JK uses petpet, no problem. think he's the only one still wearing M size... 1 hand help us saves $$, 1 hand can tell how small size he still is.

charmaine,
petpet no velcro fastening. its sticker plastic. but huggies dry comfort has velcro. i've tried, also not bad.

msworri,
i agree with sherl.. in fact, its good to let your kid socialise with same age kids. i used to work in a school. have learnt that the more u anxious and put her in a higher level group, 2 possible consequence: 1st, she might have difficulty catching up, hence killing her interest in schooling; 2nd, if she's able to cope well, once she'd learnt everything, the faster the pace she goes, she might lose interest faster too.

i strongly believe that young kids need play! too much scheduled work/longer hours in bigger groups might not be too good. if she's much more advanced in her PG, perhaps she also can be a big sister to other kids and teach them like teacher's assistant. she can also learn through mentoring and re-capped her knowledge.

unless u think she's a genius, then u want to develop her potential, then u should seek a professional instead.

thats what i feel.

mswori,

juz to share with u. my girl borned in 30 dec 06.

2 mths back i put her into child care. MMI. i talked to the principal & wanted my girl to be in playgroup rather than in N1. for her year 2006 should be in N1. ok. coz i feel tat she was born much later than the rest of her peers, so i tot by putting her in the playgroup will be easier for her. but i was wrong.

she is doing so well now in N1. she can cope well too.

i feel tat u dun need to put ur gal in any advanced stage of anything. remain. u mite think tat she is advanced. but she mite not. u see... maybe she is only a fast learner. dun give her extra stress. she is only 2 yrs old.

let the kid enjoy her childhood.

<font color="ff0000">sherl,
yes indeed! i think once i finish using this last pack of mamy poko. i will swich totally to huggies dry comfort.

u need me to grab cheaper huggies dry comfort for you? $17 per pack. i can deliver to ur place lah. we stay so near.</font>

<font color="0000ff">charmine,
another brand u can try is fitti. but fitti is almost the same price as mamy poko.

so far i still prefer huggies dry comfort. but the best is still mamy poko. hehehe.....

hui is right. huggies dry comfort is velco de. worth the $ man.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">karen,
you can log into website or call for diapers sample mah.

u want to try huggies dry comfort? i can send u 2 pieces.

recently i ask huggies for samples. huggies ultra size L for my baby to try. they sent me 4 pieces.</font>

zenn:
oh dear... estelle's hives still not totally cleared yet? poor girl. hope she gets well soon..

yes, toilet training kienan now. he knows how to tell us when he needs to pee... but at night, i'm still letting him wear diapers.

icy:
huggies dry any good? i've let kienan try huggies pull-up pants, but i feel that it's a bit too tight for him.. not enough breathing room for him 'down there'...

juz to share.

Rachel is doing so well now in child care.

Started only this week.

She no longer cry when I leave her at the CC.

When I pick her up every evening, she will hide one corner &amp; scare me. Always giving me a big smile.

Even her form teacher &amp; other teachers oso told me tat she has show great improvement.

I am so happy for her.

But nowdays, at night.... she will still cry. I dun know whether is she crying for the sake of crying or she played too much in the day until got nightmares in the night. But her cries is so different from the past 2 mths. Those cries tat she had in the past was so horrible. I shared my experience with mymelody &amp; zenn via msn. Scary!! Like kena possessed.

Btw, Rachel is on this medicine called Appeline. To improve her appetite. Now she eats 1 1/2 big bowls of rice. Milk intake I still remain as 7 Oz. Tea time she will take 2 slices of bread at 3.30pm. Then at 5pm she will have another 6 Oz of milk before I pick her up from the Centre. Then dinner time at 7.30pm 1 bowl of rice. 10pm drink milk again.

So far I m happy to see her improvements. Hope tat she can put on more weight before her operation.

Icy,

Thanks, but is ok la, me still finishing up diapers, no place to put at the moment, wakakkakakakkakaka. Actually what is the normal price of huggies dry comfort? Coz now claire is using a half-pack given by her cousin who's just toilet-trained, so I dunno the price.

Icy,

Glad to hear that Rach is doing well!
Jiayou Rachel!

Wow her appetite is very good leh. What is she taking for breakfast?

charmine,

huggies dry is the cheapest range. i cant say is good or not good. but the cutting for dry is smaller compare to dry comfort. and the material is rougher.

price different not much. i will advise u to get dry comfort.

fyi, huggies dry &amp; huggies dry comfort all are velco de.

char,

Sounds like Kienan is making very good progress with his toilet training!

For pull up pants, Nepia's cutting is very comfy, very big. Have you tried?
I have switched from that to huggies pull-ups because I found the cutting too big le, prefer huggie's snug fit.