(2007/01) Jan

JJM,

When I ask Claire questions, sometimes I have to ask her 2 or 3 times before she answers, and half the time she only answers when she feels like it.

And tell you something funny, I'm now in the habit of asking her what she did in the day, when I get back from work. Sometimes when she's in a good mood she can tell me things like she went to neighbour 1's place to play, then neighbour 2 came our place to play, then neighbour 2 cry at our place, etc. etc. Then after that when I ask my mum my mum will say, "huh? where got?" So hor, what they say soemtimes is not reliable one, but I just thought it's good to just get into the habit and give her a chance to practise her language skills.

About the falling down part, Janelle may be too shocked by the fall to be able to respond immediately. When Claire hurts herself sometimes I have to calm her down first before she can answer me on where it hurts.

I don't think it is a very big problem either.
Sometimes we tend to forget that our children are actually at a very stressful period in their life - imagine, they are still learning about the world we live in, then they have to learn how to communicate with people, and they meet different people, see new things and encounter new experiences everyday... they constantly have to process and comprehend new information, so it is not surprising that sometimes they are too overwhelmed to react.
At least, that is what I try to tell myself so that I will avoid worrying too much.

zenn,

I have to really salute the moms like msworri and karen who toilet-trained their kiddos lor; it can be a very long and tiresome process. but I think latest before Claire goes to school next year if she still hasn't self-potty-trained yet I'd have to start on it for her.

Btw, one of my friends' girl also self-potty-trained after she went to cc and saw other children already not using diaper, so she told her mom "No more diapers." Gives lazy mommies like me hope la. Wakakakkakakakakkakakakkakka

hi zenn,
youtube features those class lessons on zoophonics. in fact, u can find almost anything there. i always show jk nursery rhymes while i surf net. each of us share half a screen. heehee..

tmr going for detailed scan, hopefully will be able to see gender.

sherl,
haha, i think being lazy, i also sub-consciously telling myself, one day jk will go to toilet automatically to relieve himself.

Yo babes...

on potty training...Deszi's nanny told me that during day time, Deszi is not on diapers...but at home with me I still let her wear though when she good mood she will tell me she want to ng-ng and I will let her sit on her potty and she will either pass urine or poo poo in her potty.

Thanks Mummies!

Very concerned about the part that she does not know how to tell us where she hurt herself as afraid that she was hurted at part of body not visible to our eyes. Also very concerned if she hurted her forehead, as she did quite often, sigh! as by the time I saw the redness, putting ice/egg is a bit too late...though we still do that later

sherl, haha claire so cute. she self imagined? very creative leh kekekeke

hui, thanks! will check it out!

aqu, oh good hor. think des is ready liao!

i tried estelle w/o diaper fm 11.30pm till now n ve changed 3pants -lol- she will urine abit dan tell us

Zenn

Trisha doesn't want to eat vege and meat except salmon. She only ate rice. Think it's my fault for not showing the original form of the food she is eating all along and blending it into her porridge that now, I want to let her eat the vege, she always say no, no, no though it's not that she never eat before. Super stressed. =(

as for the toilet training, I also hope that she can self train or when in future send her to cc when I'm back in SG, let the cc train her...hehhe...then I don't have to clean up! =p

JJM,

all kids develop at different rate. dun worry too much!

Zenn- forgot to ask, how's estelle's hives problem?

hui - hope you get your wish of having a girl!

I think the "self-train" is actually a sign that the child is ready to be toliet trained.

zenn,
is ok one...my gal initially also urine then tell me...then I always "lecture" her, and eventually she understands...tell yourself ...must persevere!!

aquarius,
keep it up....sounds like Deszi is getting the hang of it! Don't let her wear diapers when at home... cannot be lz liao...if not all your nanny's efforts gone to waste!

JJM,
as long as your gal can express herself (be it in speech or actions), i think it should be alright. Unless you really see no reaction/response most of d time..then need to check with doc bah...

lawpei,
ya, **keeping my fingers crossed**

msworri,
this thread supposedly all Jan 07 babies, but think abt 30% babies, like my jk, popped earlier in dec 06... got abt 50% boys.. 50% girls... quite a number of mummies n 2 daddies like MIA for long time...

sherl,
claire really got strong imagination! one thing jk similar to claire, he choose to answer me when he got mood. i can repeat my questions again n again n he can 当耳边风. nowadays he also throw tantrums alot, few occasions i am so angry i shouted at him, he'd cry n roll on the floor, then i just ignore him till he slept on the floor. I'm becoming a tyrant mummy nowadays....

zenn,

I m hoping to find a weekend class that lets the child learn through group activities, play, music and movement, and of cos, positive way of teaching...plus affordable. Sounds like I m asking for the sky... :p

zenn/lawpei,

I dunnoe leh. Sometimes I think maybe she is just thinking of stuff to say to me? LOL. Just to clarify, she doesn't say these things out of the blue, I will ask her, and she will correct my version to her version. like e.g. "So did you go to neighbour 1's house to play today?" Answer:"No, neighbour 1 come our house." Maybe she is dreaming??!!!

sherl,
your neighbours v good hor...can go over play one..still got neighbour1, neighbour2...kekekeke

At least your gal still give you an answer...my gal can only answer what she is currently doing BUT if I ask her what she had been doing for that afternoon, she just stare at me with mouth wide, then followed by a cheeky smile. don't know whether she don't understand or she don't remember...pengz.

lawpei, thx for concern. she is better but still ve abit of red spots on n off in the morn. again it does off by afternoon. urine result also shows neg. tried rice wine but dun work on her.

think will take awhile to get use to solid food. dun stress urself. so when r u back for good?

sherl, hahaha mayb she tryin to tell u ur neighbour kid wanna go ur hse? or perhaps she is hoping the neighbour go ur hse kekekekkee

msworri, where do u stay? u can consider GUG or julie gabriel. think the one sherl went also quite good.

hui, think its terrible 2 lah. quite a few of us experience it. estelle was driving me crazy end last yr.

zenn,

will be back for good in Jul/Aug 09. Finally confirmed more or less. I'm very happy! =)

If Trisha doesn't eat well by then, hopefully when I put her in childcare, she will follow what the others eat and learn.

zenn

yep, just confirmed with my boss will go back to work in Oct, so he starting to look out for positions to slot me back into the rat race....hehhe

I just hope that by going back in Jul/Aug, I can get Trisha settle into full day cc before I start work. But then afraid I can't find one suitable and have vacancies when I go back. Have started asking around but I can't confirm it till I see the premises and the environment of the cc.

So if I go back in Jul/Aug, will still be SAHM for a few mths time....heheh...let's meet up and let the kids play together! =) Very happy thinking about that! =)

sherl, for a long time egan will tell me things that never happen at all. Now when I ask her what she wants to eat, she will reply: egg and fishball...then just this morning she woke up and the first thing she said was: I want eat bread. wkakakaka

msworri, kekeke ya must make an effort.

Zenn, I talked to u in pungol thread... Remember me?

Can I cfm again... St Anne is taking in 2007 Jan babies like our tots for year 2010.... & how's the fees???

zenn,
i stay ard tiong bahru. ya, i'll be going for the trial at GUG.

sherl,
can share with me which centre did your gal went to that zenn say is quite good? how's the programme there?

aqua,

muahaha... same here. Rachel is ready but I m not ready.

She keeps telling me she want to "she she".. & I keep telling her, "she" lor.. is ok. You are wearing pampers. She got very angry & keeps yelling "she she"!!

good morning!

lawpei, ya must meet up wif u when back
ur co v good hor, still keep a place for u.

lynn, hi! ya for 2007 bb, can oni enroll next yr for 2010. can't remember the fee tho. will u consider dayspring?

msworri, which branch u gg? now they havin promo for suntec branch right? if u signin up, put refer by me leh. think got some perks for referring hahahahha

zenn,
i m gg for the suntec branch. Got promo meh? What promo is that? Trial still hv to pay ard 26 leh. what perks they have for referring? Ur gal still at suntect GUG? Which class?

Zenn, I went to enquire liao... they dun have N1 class available. So our gals can only join them earliest is Jan 2011....

Where's Dayspring? What's yr plan? My gal now in Talentplus SK.. dun think wan to let her continue next yr cos they dun have nursery class...

msworri/zenn,

My mom's floor got 3 girls in total, all born within 4,5 months of each other. Neighbour 1 is Nov/Dec 06 baby, neighbour 2 is Apr 07 baby, so now that they can walk they go 'visiting' each other.

This morning when I called back Claire was in a super good mood, without prompting she told me she went to look for neighbour 1 to play, but neighbour 1 was sleeping. LOL

msworri,
Claire is attending Kidsloft. Waiting for school to reopen. We like the school because we find that the teacher/owner (she's a one-man op for now) is very caring. Academic-wise I don't think she learns very much, but she picks up social and other skills.
The website is at http://kidsloft.wordpress.com

ms worri,

Claire's class schedule last time ran roughly like this:

Free play with toys/puzzles (manipulative play) - about 15 min
Welcome songs - about 10-15 min
Story-telling - about 15-20 min
Art & Craft - about 15-20min
Snack time - about 15 min
Zoophonics - about 10-15min
Music and movement - about 20-30min

In total the class lasts 1.5 hours. But not sure if the curriculum may change somewhat as the school has just moved to a new and bigger location.

Every term there will be a theme and the activities and stories for the term will be related to the theme - e.g. for the 1st term Claire was there the theme was "creepy crawlies", so she read books like The Very hungry Caterpillar, and made spiders and bugs for crafts.

Aqua,

Wakakakkakakkakaka... So maybe they really just testing their tongues?

Icy,
Wakakakkakaka... sometimes I will also do this. We all very bad. LOL

msworri,

Turf Club Road is at Bukit Timah area. Only thing about this location is that you need a car in, otherwise very far in.

sherl,
how come playschool (for older kids) more expensive than little steps (for younger kids)?? i thot usu is the other way round...

my hubby ever commented that turf club is v far...that's y i had this impression...kekekeke

msworri,

I think playschool is a 3-hr programme, while firststeps is a 1.5hr programme, hence the difference in pricing.

sherl, Yvonnne, I can't wait to be back too and meet up with you girls too. =)

Zenn - ya, my co quite good lah. I'm also lucky lor. there's female staff who took 2-3 yrs unpaid leave when their hubby posted overseas too so I'm not the first and they can't say there's no precedent and dun approve lor. =p

anyway, better go back to work soon. now times are bad. need $$$. and who knows if I dun go back soon, dun know whether they still willing to hold a place for me or not! =p

good morning...

msworri, estelle is attending GUG United Sq branch. $26 is consider promo rate! The usual is $50 for trial! No doubt we enjoy GUG but I ve to admit not all teachers are as good. guess its the same in every sch.

sherl, gd hor! my floor got 6 units - 3 each side fm lift n we oni know the other 2 next to us. no doubt they are friendly n ve kids (one of them ard apr 07) but unlike old estates, the kids seldom got the chances to play together.

lawpei, lucky u!

morning babes!!

sherl & aqua,
you gals oso same the same thing ah. hehehe... jialat.. we are bad mummies. kekeke...

pei pei,
yeah! we will meet up ok. maybe we can have another round of steamboat. kekeke...

zenn,

Mine is because the 3 grandmas looking after the 3 girls get along well bah? heeheehee. And during the day all 3 will be at home.

For new estates most of the time the children will be out of their homes during the day mah.

my detailed scan results out ytd. Good news is: bb #2 everything's okay, normal. Great relief for me. jk's gonna have a bb brother to play with. i subconciously drop a few tears when on the chair seeing the scan...but think not because of disappointment, but its more of seeing his developing limbs and organs growing fine that makes me teared.... he's me n hubby's own flesh n blood afterall. that leaves an open option now whether to just close shop or have #3??

hui,

congrats! Lucky jk, going to be big brother soon.
Glad to hear bb2 is growing well, that is the most important!

hui,
Congrats (Though I don't know what has happened before this)! It's definitely every parent's relief that bb/child is growing well!