(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

Hi Dora
isn't good to be off work finally? catch up with some window shopping and go and do your hair or facial or manicure! i'm sure you'll love it! I'll call you when i'm on leave!

Bobianah
sigh! can you believe that i haven't taken any pics for Tim in the meantime? hee hee... how are you? should catch up with you sometime!

mbb
aiyo, dun worry too much abt weight la. eat healthily will do. but if your back is an issue, then do some swimming. it should help.

afcai,
i'm sorry to hear that your midwife did not clean out your placenta properly the first time, causing you to bleed. it's probably a bad scare for your hb, him already so tired. i hope you rest as much as you can and i sincerely hope you will feel strong enough to become a mother and stop being a patient soon.

i was initially resolved not to post about this topic again. i even surpressed my urge to post after your very offensive post abt depression, as if depression is a joke.

but i think i ought to speak up for kermit. i didn't think fr all her posts that she wished you will be hospitalised. in fact, i think she, and all the other mummies posting here, wish that you would get healthy as fast as possible so that you can be there for your boy when he undergoes surgery.

who doesn't love her flesh and blood? there are plenty of examples out there of parents who love themselves more than their kids. there r even parents who abuse kids. i am not saying you are one of them, i'm merely pointing out that ur assumption is baseless.

sick relatives don't stay in icu for long? i hv relatives who had to. u don't. u are a lucky woman.

btw, visiting in nicu is not just abt bonding. it's abt helping your boy thrive.

if a mother is willing to give up her life for her child, then she is willing to give up her life for her child. not every mother would. what has a father got to do with it? if a father also wants to give up his life for his child, that's his decision. it means he's a loving father. a child cannot hv both father n mother who r loving? only 1 person can be loving? is parenthood abt equal misery?

i think the question is, b4 u went for d&c, did you rest because you knew your placenta wasn't cleaned out? or did you already decide to rest b4 you delivered?

i wish u a very quick n speedy recovery. n i hope for nothing but the best of outcomes for your boy when he has surgery.

<font color="119911">och</font>,
not sure what's wrong with the womb. not mid-wife clean up, it is the doc on duty. thks for the wishes. yes, it is indeed a big scare for my CL and hubby when they saw so much blood on the floor with big lump of blood clot.

fr what Kermit posted, she kept on highlighting that I shd visit my bb regularly (not wrong for her to do that but I knew my health not so gd), that's why I kept on highlighting that hubby also mentioned that not to worry and asked me to nurse my health bck b4 bb come bck.that's why I cut down myself fr visiting my bb cos I knew my system cannot ta han for long (but increase the visit then) bec we knew that KKH has the best equipment and specialise in children and woman (tell me if I am wrong and even kermit highlighted what profession care, dun she dun trust profession care??) that's the impt part. then kana 'blame' for being selfish...does that mean I selfish and not taking care of myself and in the end, now landed in hosptial.

right now, nurse updated that my boy is doing very well. by next week (in fact, this wkend), his weight shd hit 2kg liao. the only thing is to wait for his hernia surgery whether can bring fwd these few days only. so for me, I must get well soon before bb come bck. hope all mummies understand why I kept on highlighing I needed to get healthy as fast as possabile so that I can be there for my bb. really appreciated.

after I delivered, once I get hm, already rest liao. I did not encounter any massive bleeding during the first 3 wks. everything is ok. only first 2 days heavy bleeding after that normal and little bleeding. but one thing is I dun feel any cramp when I pumped milk (unlike last time, every pump, will feel tummy cramp). this non-stop urine like bleeding with blood clot happened on on last fri and again next day when I was in hospital. so doc even used her 2 fingers dig out lot of blood clot. scan dun even shows clearly. so since I was bleeding non-stop, I got to go E-D&amp;C liao. if D&amp;C not successfully (meaning still bleed so got to monitor), next step was to cut out tummy and investigate. the last resort was to remove womb cos life was more impt in order to stop bleeding.

I knew a mummy who had the same experience as me. few days after birth went d n c to clean up. but then abt 6 wks later when she went for checkup, she bleed lot of it. she did the secn d n c. hope I dun have this encounter.

thks for the wishes.

Serene,
Bao Yin Dan no ned prescription. But kids with G6PD can't take it.

mbb,
on and off oso hv to eat fd u crave. if not will depress leh.
I remb u did yoga for ur 1st preggy. Mayb this will help for the backache?

thank you very much for your concern

rest assure tat i am not going to go on a typical diet to watch my weight.
i have to make sure tat Alysia is growing well and be able to absorb as much nutrient as possible.

i am just going to change my eating habit a little.
not too much carbo, instead will have more fruits, veg n white meat especially fish (which i dun fancy). and cut down on sweet stuffs if possible BUT if my weight is still shooting up, then too bad la.

it's impossible to stay hungry when one is preggy. i mg end up killing my hubby
. ooooooppppps.

Bloom,
i share Bobianah's thoughts.
i hardly feel lonely when i was young.
my folks often plan activities and plan playdates for me (which you have been actively doing for Kath).
never once in my childhood i ask for a sibling.

i believe it is hard for you to understand coz you came from a rather big family.

a person can feel lonely even if sorrounded by siblings.
coz alot of factor contribute to loneliness.

the only disadvantage of being an only child for me is i do feel tat i am a little "spoilt" and as my parents age, i worry alone abt them.
yet, there are soooooo many cases i witness amongst my frens tat their sibling do not want to be involved with the caring of their old parents.

my grandmom's case is the best example.
she had 7 children. majority of the 6 kid dun wanna have her living with them.
either due to financial difficulty, spouse cant get along with her, no space at home etc

she ended up living with us till she (my granny) decided she prefer to live in the nursing home due to her illness.

Roo,
i have been doing excercise to strenghten my back.
heee.....juz not swimming. you know why

Morning Mummies

Afcai

Sorry to hear abt your bleeding. I remember that time you also had bleeding after you had TX right? Did the doc say what's the cause? Hopefully your boy can come home soon so that you dun have to go and visit him. Take care.

Bobianah/MBB
I dun come fr a big family. I only have 1 elder bro, but fr young it has always been me taking care of him instead of him taking care of me. I am also not very close to him, cos I remember when I was in primary sch, my mum showed so much favouritism towards him, I hated him so much. Of cos after growing up, I was ok, but I was never very very close to him, but he is close to me cos he always expects me to bail him out of the troubles that he creates. But I am very close to my parents. When my mum was having terminal cancer, he only knew how to panic and I was still the only one who shuttles between hospital and work, and waking up at night to take care of my mum. The only thing he knew how to do was to object me hiring a maid to take care of my mum cos he doesn't like a stranger in my house. At that time I was so exasperated, cos he couldn't help me at all, only added to my burden. So to me, I dun mind JT just being a single child. My worry is also if we grow old and fall sick, she'll be so lonely to take care of us. Most prob she'll only have 1 cousin cos my bro intending to stop at 1, and my hubby's sister doesn't look like she's going to get married.
My health, it won't get better one lor... I have to be on medication for life, now on and off if I am too stressed I will have a mini relapse. And because I have auto-immune illness, there's a high chance of my 2nd one having allergies as well. Actually if hubby dun fly so often, I am still confident of having a 2nd one if I dun work and JT is in CC. But if hubby always fly, I dun know if I can handle both of not. MIL's health is no good and my mum passed away already. If I dun work and JT still goes to the very ex CC, and I have a 2nd one and get a maid, finances would be tight. So now still thinking only lah.... Wah if I wait till JT is 5 years old, I'll be double high risk preggie liao...

dora, beginning is like this..i rem vanessa last time also say the same thing.. i think after a while, u will pick up the momentum and come up with a daily schedule for both u and JT... i thot i am the only one that canot get over the only child issue? actually if its pregnancy that u r concerned abt..how abt adoption..i really feel like going tat route.. but i know hb and his family are very old fashion and thinks its other pp's child (and of course hb balk at the amt spent in adoption..)

linette, great idea..i should upload those pics on my facebook when i am at home too

afcai, take care....

bobianah/mbb, maybe like what mbb said.. i cannot imagine being only child bcos i come from such a big family ... though we are not close sometimes when growing up,..and money is definitely scarce then...but look at us now..talk rubbish when we are together.. my sis went for hair treatment together.. meet regularly at my mom's pl and share alot of food (u cant finish one whole melon/chicken when there is only u and ur parents)..we had huge gatherings for bbq/pub hols (those who read kate's blog will know...) ... and when my father 'retired' last yr.. we all chipped in for the financial upkeep of my parents' pl... frens are there..but even frens wil be busy with their families .... and i too am an independent person... just cant get over the fact that kate will be an only child... (yes, i am very long winded and keep revisiting this topic...)

och, seems taht its not 'rare' for things like that to happen, i rem reading another article in new paper last time and it was kkh too..not sure if its 'tree big got rotten branch' or what... but scarly.. esp when i was thinking (dreaming is more like it) that i will go kkh c class if i ever get pregnant again cos of the huge medical bills that i will most likely incurred...

mbb..ahahha. i totally understand what u mean, my hb also complain that i get very bad tempered when i have not enuf to eat :p

mbb,
any excersie is good for health.

dora, bloom,
I think generally guys are like that. A few of my frens are like dora's case. Some no time and dun wan to take care parents, money also dun wan to give.

My youngest brother never cares about what is happening when my parents had problems. Its always my sis and me to be there to help. When my sis got married, the finacial and care-taking part all fall on me. I was really stressed up in my 20s. We are happy he improved when he becomes a father.

Roo
My bro cares a lot for my mum, but he is useless one lor... only know how to panic and keep asking me how? how? what to do? I still remember I was very busy at work that time cos starting up a plant. It was his turn to keep my mum company in hospital. He did go lah, but when my mum is in pain, he actually called me and asked me what to do??! Duh! call the nurse lah! He just stand there and panic, up to a point my mum says ask him dun go visit her cos he stresses her up! But also because of my mum falling sick, I know how stressful and tiring it is to handle it alone. Fortunately, my dad was still very healthy then, so he and I took turns to take leave to take care of my mum.

Bloom
It's not only the pregnancy. My health is also not good. If I get too stressed up, I may end up bed ridden for a few days, then who will take care of the kids. Adoption is out of the question for hubby. I also dun like the idea, I'll rather JT be a single child, cos the main problem I have is who will take care of the child. I think the 9mth pregnancy I can still hang on...
Yah 1st born son... haiz... Mummy's boy...

linette,
ya, thx 4 organising the gathering. it's kinda liberating for me to able to attend it w my 2 kids. thank gdness both of them were good tt day. annette is really little miss sunshine!

n yeah, i love going out on weekdays. pace is much slower.

doggiebb, bloom,
thx 4 helping out with my kids that day. n bloom, for helping me out with e stroller a few times. rem tt's how it's gonna be like when u haf 2. hahaha. just tink of the MRT scene.

sylk, mbb, lil,
good to meet up w u but din get much chance to chat huh? lil ar, ur boy was shy ard so many gers isit? hehehe

alabone,
always see u n always tok to u lah hor. heheheh

hope to attend more o such gatherings. fun!

hee....first n last born boy all are mummy's boy.
but my hubby is sandwich in the middle wor, he's still very mummy's boy.

tonite, i go knock knock his head. keee keee keee.

dora,
at least ur brother still accompany ur mum and he try to spend time with her.
1 of my fren, her elder brother really bo chup. When her parents need help to visit doctor, always no time, no money. My fren is always the 1 to bring her dad to doc visit. Recently, her dad had to undergo ops, he told my fren can use his medisave then she pay him cash cos he was in some finacial prob. Wah liao we as her frens, hear liao oso feel like boxing the brother.

I feel its the traditional thinking of our parents era 'yang er fan lau' that spolit all the men!

Kimi,
Yah, that quiet afternoon was fun hor? You very good leh, calm and steady when handling the kiddos. Really like a cool mummy! Annette went home and talked about "Baby Barry" and always smiled when I asked her about Mandy. Must be that silent communication of theirs! Dunno what they were nodding about! Let's organise more of such weekday outings in future! Can relax more...

Dora,
Wah! Now that you are SAHM, you can take this chance to spend more time with JT and more importantly, time for yourself!

Mbb,
I really dun understand why the doc said you are overweight...you looked really compact and pretty slim that day leh! Eating fish is good for the BB and yourself la.

Bloom,
Dun worry about Kate being an only child. In this day and age, there are many families with 1 child. Look at the whole of China! To help our kids, we just need to eat healthy and exercise to grow old gracefully. Like what MBB said, I have relatives with many siblings, but ended up with the elderly grandparents in nursing home, and lots of conflicts about caregiving for the elderly amongst the siblings! Really headache.

Afcai,
Rest well and take care.

<font color="119911">roo13</font>,
how do one know kid got G6PD (what's that??)

<font color="119911">Dora</font>,
that time during tx's time, only bleed once (just a small gust out) during wk 5 or wk 6. then stay in hospital for 3D2N for observation and it's ok liao. after that, everything smooth all the way.....but during the stay, ultrascan show only water bag but no foetus. luckily, I was asked to come bck in 2 week time and then scanning show heart beat liao....so first preggie is very smooth but not this time....

the doc only mentioned early preggie so cannot detect anything. it might be the implanation issue....

y'day evening got a call fr SCN, of cos, scare me lah. the staff nurse only wanted to cfm if we wanted to bring fwd the Hernia surgery to wed instead of fri (ai-yo, already repeat twice last week to the nurse but .....dunno why msg never get pass or.....). so just now, received call again and asked to come down to sign the consent form. I would like to go down but I scare history (cos just discharged 2 days ago after stay in hospital for 3D 2N. even a mummy shared that she did a D&amp;C few week after birth and she ok until when she went for post natal checkup. the history repeat again. so she did another round of D&amp;C. I really very scan wor.. anyway, dunno why had been 'Lao sai' (watery stool) every 3hr dunno is it due to antibiotic or after D&amp;C like that) will repeat again. so ask hubby to eave early fr work (half an hr) so that he can reach b4 6pm.

will be gg down tml morning as bb is scheduled for hernia surgery at 1045am. hope, everything is smooth and well. cos also received call fr anesthesiologist (think so call) that she will adminstrate the anesthesic before the surgery and also another pain killer (forgot what's the name) near to the spine. she mentioned until quite scary that after surgery, bb might not know how to breath normally so we might not be able to bring bck over the weekend. cos now preemiers usually breathe thru their brain etc....

<font color="119911">Bloom\Linette</font>,
thks for the wishes.

Kimi

*wave* Want to go auntie shopping again?

Roo
Haiz... sometimes these parents really spoil their child... the more spoilt they are, they tend to be less caring compared to the other children that are not so spoilt.

Linette
I think I have forgotten how to do things for myself liao... my auntie just got cancer and was just operated on. Her daughter cannot cook at all, so I have been cooking soup for her and bringing down to the hospital for her... then rushing back to cook for JT etc... hmmm... think I should go enjoy myself :p

Afcai
G6PD = glucose 6 phosphate dehydrogenase deficiency. I am not sure if KKH tests for it, but JT was tested for this at birth in Mt A. People with G6PD are missing one enzyme and therefore cannot process certain chemicals. cannot take certain types of food, eg broad beans and cannot go near moth balls that contain napthalene. Infant's with G6PD might also suffer from jaundice for a prolonged period of time. Check TX and your boy's health booklet to see if the hospital has performed the test.

I was referring to you bleeding after delivering TX? I thought I remembered you said you needed blood transfusion after delivering TX. Did the doc say why you tend to bleed after delivery? I read in your blog you had hormone jabs and antibiotics, and you are still expressing milk. Did you check with the doc if its still safe for your boy to drink the milk with all these medication?
all the best for your boy's surgery tomorrow. Take care...

photos are up in my facebook..but i have problem with tagging.. after i tag a pax once in that album..canot tag again... #@)#(@#@ ..not idiot proof leh. :p

Dora,
How life being a SAHM? Getting used to it liao?
Thanks for the explaination! Fish oil har.. maybe gotta try the childlife one liao. Coz sophia was happily taking plain scotts emulsion for abt a month and one day suddenly decided that she hates it.

And yeah, Sophia started CC end of last year. Hmm.. let me share her unusual cc experience.

As expected my gal didnt adapt well, every morning she will think of new tricks to avoid gg to school. For eg first day...doesnt wanna change into her school uniform, and next day doesnt wanna change into 'going out" clothing and then to normal home clothing and by the end of the week she was gg in her pajamas! And then she disallowed my mum to change into her going out clothing. Other antics : She will run and lie on the bed snuggle up at the cornermost saying she wanna sleep, or that she wanna poo poo and sit on the potty (and insist on watching tv) for ages, doesnt wanna go up the bus (though she used to love bus ride), don't allow them to carry her schoolbag, take her schoolbag n dump it inside the rubbish bin and when forced to go she will say things like , "Let me go home", "Let's go kaikai, don't want to go to school", and the most drama and heartwrenching ones "Ah Mah loves sophia rite?, Let me stay at home", "Gong gong help me!!"

This cont for abt 2~3 weeks, and my parents cannot tahan her vehement protest and pitiful cries, esp my mum. She was totally heartbroken. But according to the cc, the first week she cried on and off, but after the 2nd week she will cry about 5~10mins after my mum left, and then will start to enjoy herself. And everytime my mum picked her up after school, can see my gal happily playing with her friends etc. And when ask if she likes school, she says yes. But yet this drama will repeat every morning. And each day she goes later and later.

So I was really in a turmoil then, the principal told me its normal and the child will take time to adapt, and that some child might take a bit longer. One of my colleague said her son cried for 1 year! But after thinking thru, we finally decided to pull her out of CC, but yet we couldnt do it immediately as my parents were gg on tour and I cant take leave for the whole duration, and so she still got to attend for the next 3 weeks. And since my parents cant bear her cries while sending her to school, I decided that hubby n myself will send her instead. Only thing is that it will be super early at abt 7am.

The first four days she cried the usual "I dont want to go to school" but not as badly. Maybe coz she is not fully awake and maybe coz by car its just a couple of minutes so no chance to build up the crying momentum. Then Friday morning as usual when I was changing her diaper, she cried "I want to go to school". errr? did i hear it wrong or did she say it wrong?? and so i play my old recording.. "why dont want to go to school? school is fun blah blah.." and she replied in a crying tone "I want to go to school nahh" I was totally taken aback. And for once, she didnt cry on the way there... and since that moment, she stop crying about gg to school liao. In fact the next morning, she cried that she wanna go to school... but too bad it was Sat! Now, she doesnt cry when gg to school, even after long break (Christmas or CNY). We decided to cont this arrangement lor.. since she is ok with gg to school liao. Let her mingle around. Just last Sat, we got her up early coz we needed to go in JB, and we told her we going kaikai.. she cried saying that she dont wanna go kaikai, she wanna go to school!??? haha... strange hor. But her fav sentence is still "today no school!", she can repeat that gleefully like 10times in a day even though she is just on the way home from school!

My mum picks her up at noon. But recently we let her take her nap in school, coz my mum have a hard time persuading her to take her afternoon nap. Usually by the time she zzz is already 4pm. My mum got very pekchek, so after awhile i decided to let Sophia take her nap in school. My mum was quite reluctant coz i guess she miss spending the time with her.. i joke w hubby that my mum got a love &amp; hate r/s with sophia.. heheh... So, now my mum picks her up at 3pm instead.

This arrangement works well for everyone lor esp so since my hubby need not work shift anymore. We can afford to reach there at 7.10am. (There was once when hubby working shift, we reached so early that the CC was still close!) My parents got almost the whole day to themselves. They started gg for their morning walk. My mum picked up reading books again. If they need to go JB or help out my bro's kids, they could do so. So all in all, things are good.

Diana,
Thanks for the address of the TCM!

Afcai,
Hope your boy recuperate fast and well after the hernia surgery.

dora..i see... so i guess better stick to one only... poor u..still have to take care of ur aunt... her daughter... duno how to cook can learn what!

kimi..hahha..u dont have to worry abt me..since i am going to be one child mommy liao..but that stroller of urs is definitely heavy! so funi that we took up like almost one whole row of the seats :p

mbb, tell me if knockknock works in making them less of a mommy's boy :p

roo..wah..ur fren's bro really one kind... i hope that now that we spoil our gals they wont be so cruel to us in the future!

linette..ahhaha.. the whole of china... all i rem is the little emperors and empresses (how spoilt they are).

starluster, good tat sophia is enjoying her school!!!!!
so which school is she at now? is her health ok since joining cc?

Starluster

Hahahaha... good to know that sophia is adapting well in CC. I think maybe she knows if grandma sends, she has an option not to go. If you and your hubby send, she has no choice. And I think she enjoys it also lah.... Now JT also everyday tell me want to go sch. In the morning, she will quickly drink her most hated isomil if I tell her "If you dun finish your milk, no sch for you". THat's how I get her to drink her milk on her own in the car in the morning :S

I dun really feel like a SAHM these 3 days except for going breakfast with CF Chang this morning :p Was rushing around different places to run errands, like busier than working :p Still don't have time to go perm my hair yet.... And JT is having running nose so keeping her at home tomorrow.

Bloom
Have to see how it goes lor... Taking 1 step at a time. Aiya, that cousin of mine, so reliant on her mother/mil lor. I just found out she doesn't even have a rice cooker at home!!! *Faintz* Granted she just got married last year, now no kids, but still!!! That's why we must never ever spoil our kids!!!

hi starluster
still rem me, last year we chat abt cc.
glad to know yur gal enjoying sch and everyting work well now.
my elder girl till now still cry if my pil drop her in cc. she ahd attended for almost 2 yr plus. Every day we send her drop and go no problem. 3 week ago we are outstation, PIl drop her, heard she cry everyday refuse to go.
guess the kids are smart , they knew we are working so they have to go, for grandparent they have alternative choice.
tink my PIl also have the hate and love for my gals hahaha.... when they cry ,make noise they cant wait to sent them off. at time they keep askign for them haah headache

bloom,
sorry ah.. forgot to reply abt the health portion in my sms ystday. She did fall sick a couple of times after going to cc, but *touchwood* nothing serious. Thats why i was bz trying out the colustrum and stuff :p

dora,
ya lor.. very happy that she is enjoying cc now, since she is those type that takes a looonnnng time to warm up. but after cc, she is much better liao. but still... some things she is still wary/terrified of.

seek your opinion again... if allergy type of block/running nose, issit contagious?? i send sophia back to school though her block/running nose isnt fully cleared up yet. dunno am i spreading it around anot. :X

so nice can slowly enjoy your bf outside. how is CF Chang? when is her due date? akan datang liao rite?

wendypooh,
are you the one whose pil staying near tampines?? got a vague memory of your nick.. sorry ah, me v absend minded one. :X hehe.. ya lor. i think they know grandparents easier to bully bah. my gal always run to ah mah and ask me to go away when i try to discipline her.

oh yah, anyone knows where to buy nice and comfy blanket for our tots? Not too ex and not those fleece type. So far i found those 30" X 30" type only. Want something slightly bigger. If got any recommendation, pls share. Thanks!

<font color="119911">Dora</font>,
thks for the explanation of G6PD. learn something new wor...

so far, never heard of this before so think KKH did not test for that. I also checked thru tx's health booklet, dun have record on that. only hearing test, weigh/height,jab and jaundice level only. for my boy, have not received any booklet, will take note of it.

re:bleeding after delivery tx.
normally, lochia last for 2mth. consistantly. first few days heavy but then dark maroon color ->light pink-> yellow -> light brown then. no any other issue. when I pumped milk, I can also felt tummy cramp (a bit). yup, I needed blood transfusion after delivering tx cos BP super low as I lost lot of blood. the MO 'accidentally' burst my 2 veins and only take some times to find out what's wrong with it. so by the time, already lost lot of blood as mid-wife cannot stopped bleeding. think that's different case blar....

yup, I am very concern the medicine given to me. any medicine given to me and jab, I will ask and ask (even ask different ppls who attend to me) the nurse and doc. they said it is ok. only the morpine part, bb will tend to be affected but not much. all jab and medicine given to me are safe for bf. that's the most impt part which worried me. even after I discharged, I still very loh soh, will ask again the same qns.

thks for the wishes. anyway, he can be hm tml but we will bring him bck on sat. before that, medicial staff talked until very scary that after surgery he might not breath etc ....so worried. but anyway, it 's over, great, he is ok.

<font color="119911">starluster</font>,
fr what u mentioned abt yr gar 'unusal cc experience', maybe she got some separation anxiety or some child will supressed their emotion or whatever call and will be normal after that. maybe yr gar needed some times to adapt to the new environment. gd now, yr gar is coping wll at sch.

thks for the wishes. he is adapting well and super hungry after surgery y'day. but can't help, doc said can only give him 20ml but he is not satisfied. then nurse gave him fake 'tutu' and then he doze off (without sucking cos they block the tutu with cloth but I took it out when I left).

hi starlucter,
no my pil stay at bedok too.
maybe they knew our pil not working so that have choice.
my younger gal 06 dec too will join her sis in April 09. cross my finger tink she will be ok cos every morning she say wan to go sch when her sis change uniform.

afcai
my gal at kkh had run test for G6PD

Jen, added

Dora, why u wan to perm ur hair? alot of straighties always regret it after they perm their hair :p wah.. ur cousin either must be so busy she always eat in office, or always eat out no matter (or maybe everyday go back to ur auntie's pl and eat everyday!). btw, after u settle down on ur SAHM place, do let u know if u r going to ur cousin's pl and she is ok with doing some pro bono work ok? thanks alot!

starluster, good that sophia's health is still quite good! my gal sick again liao.. < 1 week after she fini her antibotics and the 4th/5th time this yr!!! sigh!

linette, after i posted in ur blog.. i tell my hb that u went macritchie for trekking..and he start groaning and moaning again... sky ah!!!!! did u manage to get annette to walk thruout the whole trek (i assume its the shortest 1 hour one... )?

Mommies, any advice if ur tods is rejecting solids at this age? My gal last time take solids can last 2 hours..now for these 2 weeks.. only eat abit.. can only last 1 hour..also reject outside solid food (even if they are tastier etc).. sighhh...

Star

If the running nose is due to allergy/senstivity (e.g. food, dust or temp), it should stop after a few hours after the allergen is removed, or in the case for food, fully digested. If it goes on for days, then either it is not due to allergy, or the allergy has caused secondary infection, in which case you should seek medical advice.

Bloom
I permed my hair 2x before already. Just that now its in an extreme state of neglect, I just tie them up . Hubby prefers me with permed hair :p
Am working these 3 days, got lobang at another poly... so a bit busy. Will ask my cousin abt it, she should be ok.
Is Kate teething? JT was also eating very well until abt 4 days ago, started to take 1 hour to eat 2 spoonful of rice. At least she could point and tell me pain pain, and then I realised she is having her last molar. so I didn't force her also. Gave her whatever she was willing to eat - Pau, apples (strange rt? apple so hard and she can eat??!) So I have been throwing out food for the last few days again. But just now dinner, she started to eat abt 75% of her usual capacity, so hopefully she's done with the teething.
Do you want to assess the environment of the school? 4/5th time in 2 months is quite a lot, esp when Kate has been there for abt 6 months already. And I also realised JT prefers tastier food (like she insisted on eating my chicken rice instead of her ABC pasta soup, which is supposedly softer and easier for her to chew!) Outside food may not have the right texture for them. Like JT's rice must have soup/gravy.

hi bloom,
forget to answer ur question. Jav can't drink milk when having coughing coz he will vomit the milk out. So he will eat normal food like us. Normally he will need to drink milk when he zzz. but bcoz he was on medication, he would be drowsy therefore he can zzz wifout milk.

afcai,
So glad that ur boi is alright now. He is now discharged already right? U also take care of urself : )

dora,
i will be on leave on 30th March. cc close on tat day. wanna go kai kai?? dee wont be able to join us tis time. Her edd is mid march. or mayb if she ok, we go visit her. keke.. lets see the situation 1st.

Bloom,
Nope, Annette did not walk through the entire trail because initially she was frightened at the density of the forest. But she got over that fear soon enough and started trekking with a little stick she picked up, I let her walk here and there, but sometimes, her pace was so slow that we decided to carry her! So, 70% of the time, we were carrying her...roster between hubby and me. We took about 1.5 hour to walk...

<font color="119911">wendypooh</font>,
finally, saw the G6PD status on her healthbook liao when the nurse pointed out at where they recorded.

<font color="119911">Serene</font>,
yup. he is discharged on 28/2 (the day when he is full mth). he still got few medicial appt to follow up at KKH and only can take his 2nd dose of Hep B at end of the mth. thks for the wishes and me have been consuming lot of 'pu' as much as I can. before, my CL left (still got 1.5wk), I need to rest as much as I can. hopefully, next wk, when I go for my post partum haemorrhage checkup, everything is fine.

afterall, at least, I can see him daily. now, he luv ppls to carry him man....

Afcai,
tats really good news!

after your CL leave, you can still "pu" by drinking double boiled pure chicken essence.
very simple and affordable for long term.

get a whole kampung chix from the wet mkt (ard $10). ask them to debone n remove all skin.
after tat you can double boiled the chicken fillet n drink the essence.
you can juz have it plain or add gingseng, dom etc.

i drank tis daily during confinement n after tat every 2 weeks till now.
it's really good n i dun feel tired (i am those tat need loads of slp!).

the chicken fillet can use to make chicken floss if you have the time

very worth!

<font color="119911">mbb2</font>,
yup, after cl left, I intended to double-boiled ginsheng with chicken or pao sheng with dong chong cao(still got leftover). true, these 1 wk, I had been consuming it daily at night. quite jinsheng thru out the day. only need to take nap in the morning. cl also double-boil the 8 treasures soup(so bitter).

hmm chicken fillet can make chicken floss meh...how?

wet market got sell kampung chicken? my mareket here dun think got kampung chicken or frozen or not frozen chicken loh.so far,CL brought kampong chicken and the hong shao jiu fr my.

Afcai,
i saw my mum using the work n fried the fillet into chicken floss.
she added some seasoning n it was yummy!
we had homemade chicken floss for 2007 CNY

but if you do not double boiled the chicken everyday, i doubt you will hv enuff meat for floss.

nowadys, i juz throw the fillet away coz i only drink the essence every other week.

all wet mkt sell kampung chicken. they dun display it. hafta ask them or you can pre order from the chicken stall.
an average size kampung chicken is ard $10 to $12. tats the mkt rate.
it's not the frozen type. frozen chicken are not fresh and would have lost most of the nutrient

any good books to read?
Meg started sch n i have picked up reading for leisure again.
juz finito The Piano Teacher, pretty good.

enuff of parenting books for now.....

Serene

30th Mar tentatively ok for now, cos making some plans for my new career now. We'll confirm again nearer the date. Yes, dee will definitely have delivered by then, we shall see if its convenient to visit her.

mbb2

wah! so envious! can read books at home! try "A Thousand Splendid Suns" by Khaled Hosseini. that's the last non-parenting book i read. it was introduced by Linette and i thoroughly enjoyed it! it's about women in afghanistan. beautifully written.

Hope everyone is well...

Afcai...

Good to hear tat yr bb is doin well

Mbb...

Waaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh...hv time to read bks leh!!!...
...gd gd gd...take some time to yrself b4 Alysia arrives...

dora..wah..not bad..got lobang so fast....
the most recent fever was caught during the weekend so it has nothing to with the school (should not be)..now very funi... daytime she is OK but at night she got fever... sighh

serene...wow...100% on solid food..not bad !

linette... 1.5 hours!!! arghh..then i better give up the idea..cos i am thinking of going with kate one day when hb is working on a weekend cos he does not like nature walks... but carrying kate for > 1 hr on my own will be killer! :p :p :p

mbb, how much essence can be derived from 1 chix? does ntuc sells kampung chix? :p the doubbel boiler can be used to boil soup etc right (or make more sense to use slow cooker)? where did u get ur double boiler last time? just went sheng shiong and i saw is slow cooker ahhaha ... wow..u reading to meg??? wow..nice bonding sessions.... the only time when i can read anythign is on the mrt...

Doggie,
tkz! i was abt to ask Linette the title

i recalled tat she mentioned abt it in her blog.

Fizz,
ya lo. i am so happy tat i get some free time for myself before Alysia's arrival.
my mum is going for singing competition too.
now, everyone is happy

Bloom,
cannot use slow cooker.
you either buy those clay double boiler or juz use your wok n do it the old fashion way.
i got my pot from m'sia. it's specially designed for making chicken essence. i used it to boil birdnest too.
i real good investment tho it's very bulky.

even if NTUC have kampung chix, it's frozen type.
not the best choice.
one kampung chicken can give you half a chinese bowl of essence.

i read to Meg alot. she loves reading and have started to read on her own too

last mth, i got her a book shelve to display all her books in order for her to grab n read whenever she wan.
i read tat tis is one way to built a good reading habit.

i compiled a list of book titles for her library.
if you are interested, i can email you the list.

Mbb
May I ask why u debone the chicken used to make the chicken essence. Thought the bone marrow is full of goodness. My mum removes the chicken skin nia. She will use the chopper to smash the bones and then steam the meat with the bones on.

Bloom
Dun hv to buy claypot. Just do what my mum does...she places a small ceramic rice bowl upside down inside a large metal bowl. Place the chicken pieces ard the overturned rice bowl. Close the top of the metal bowl with aluminium foil. Place the whole thing in a large stock/soup pot and steam. Remember not to add any water to the meat. After steaming for 2 hrs, remove the chicken meat b4 u lift n turn over the rice bowl (this is v important cos the bowl keeps the meat and the essence separate). If the meat drops into the essence, it will absorb the liquid, wasted liao. One chicken will give u abt 1 rice bowl of pure chicken essence.

NTUC does sell those fresh kampung chicken but quality prob not as good as the wet market ones. If u buy frm NTUC the u must choose carefully, u shd only use the female chicken.

Mbb/Mummies
Good idea to share our kids reading list - haven't had time to bookshop browse through n look for the good ones lately so wld be good if can just pick off ur brains. My boy loves all kinds of books but I shall list only those that I dun mind reading again n again to E. These are in no particular order.

1) Sasha sees the world series by Shamini Flint. Very informative and beutiful illustrations - best thing is they come in soft covers so they are v affordable. E absolutely adores these.

2)Some of the Berenstain Bears stories are quite good. There are so many of them and not all are good. E makes me read The Berenstain Bears and the big road race again n again, prob cos he is really into cars.

3) The classic Dr Seuss books. E loves Mr. Brown can Moo, Can U?, Green Eggs and Ham, Hop on Pop and the ABC book. The last two which I find quite silly, really cracks him up!

4) The little engine that could by Watty Piper. V good.

5) Prince bear n Pauper bear by Emily Lim.

6) Panda packs her bags - Shamini Flint

7) Harold and the purple crayon

8) How does a dinosaur say good night - Jane Yolen

9) How do dinosaurs clean their rooms - Jane Yolen

10)Curious George books - H. A. Rey.

11) Don Freeman's books on Corduroy esp the lift flap ones.

12) Baby einstein's range of books

13) No David by David Shannon

14) Harry the Dirty Dog

OK...enough for now. Need a recharge so am off to take a nap. BTW, most of the above books can be borrowed frm the NLB

MBB
BTW...how's Meg coping in school. She's probably fine right cos she is quite used to being separated from u. My boy has been crying his head off as soon as I leave. Cries for over half n hr, calling out for me, then on and off through out. So difficult to walk away seeing him crying so pitifully and his little voice calling mama mama ringing in my ears. But by the time I go n pick him up he doesn't seem to be showing any effects frm the separation. But I always feel quite apprehensive b4 picking him up, wondering if he will be upset with me for leaving him etc. Then throughout the few hrs of without him, I keep wondering how he is doing. Think it's more emotionally draining for me than him. Hai...hopefully next week will be a better week for us.

Lil,
hee...juz finito half an hour of "power struggle" with Meg.

Meg is coping very well in sch.

day one, i tag along in the sch bus. hand her over to the form teacher n left (i was hanging ard sch peeping from time to time but i make sure she dun see me).

day two, told her tat mama cannot go to sch with her coz sch are for little children only. i juz hand her over to the bus aunty.
she was ok but did looked a little "lost".
i was worried. so i jio my gf out for lunch to keep me occupied.

went to sch to peep before the end of class. she seem ok, was able to click with her classmates.

third day, got my mum to hand her over to the bus aunty instead. i had to go for a scan and at the same time, i wanna her not to rely on me being ard everyday.
she did question grandma and asked grandma to join her in sch.
but did not fuss and was willing to get on the sch bus on her own.

today is day four. no drama.
she is very happy and each day will tell me tat she wanna go to sch.
will tell me tat teacher Susan did tis n tat for her etc.

till now, it's been a good 4 days

as long as E is willing to go to sch the following day, i tink it's a good sign.
grab a drink with a fren while E is in sch.
time flies and it's less draining to hafta wait at home and wonder how he is coping.

re: removing the bone for chicken essence.
coa i am using a special pot thus dun need e bones.

tkz for sharing the book titles.
some of them are Meg n my fav too!

Lil,
try reading tis to E.
Will I Have A Friend by Miriam Cohen.

it's a great book to prepare a child for preschool.
i started reading to Meg 6 mths ago and for the past few days, before i send her off to sch, we read together.

eeeerrr.....how come the thread is soooooo dead huh?

mbb... good taht meg can read on her own..my gal's lang ability..u know lah...(she is :p u display ur books face up (cover page showing) or standing up (can only see the spine).? heheh.. thanks for the list.. pls email..bt dont think i will buy so many... tryihng to increase my visit to the library... good that meg is adapting to school so well!

Lil, thanks for the instructions..ahah.. i still got the big pot which i use to sterilise glass bottles (before i got fedup and bought a steriliser) hahaha.. maybe can use that..but lemme clear my stock of bottled chix essence too... can undersatnd ur longiness cos u used to be with E 24x7... hehe.how to know if its female chix since the top and bottom all chopped off liao...

mbb,
meg can read liao.. wow!
sophia will just grab the book and go "once upon a time..." and then anyhow tell her own story.

lil,
thanks for the instructions. so far i always drank bottled ones. must try the real thing one weekend.

bloom,
check if they got breast or not. (ok.. lame joke

Bloom
No lah...NTUC kampong chicken comes as a whole chicken...can see the top n the bottom too if u wanna look there
Every morning u will see lots of aunty standing there digging thru for the female ones. If u dunno how to choose just ask them.

Mbb
Eh...I meant to say there are some nutrients that can only be found in the bone marrow n not the meat. So dun throw the bones away. Some studies have shown that bone marrow is highly nutritious (much more so than the meat) n contains many important elements essential for brain growth n development. Good for the growing baby.

Thanks for the book recommendation. I have actually been verbally discussing going to school with E for a long time liao to mentally prepare him and help him cope with the separation anxiety. He actually fully understands that I cannot be there with him and in my place he will hv lots of friends and teachers and they will hv lots of fun together. But when actual separation time comes he, of course, feels it and is still trying to figure out how to cope with the feeling of loss. What to do, he has never been separated from me b4 mah. Even I as an adult feel the separation blues so I can imagine that for a child, the feeling must be 1000 times worse. The teachers told me he is v matured and 'hen dong shi' so they r confident he will get used to it soon. It's me who has to find something to occupy my time so I don't miss him too much. Will prob start looking for some morning pilates classes.

BTW, what other good books have u been reading with Meg...email me if u've got time yah. I've got an Amazon gift voucher so I am looking for more books for E.

Starluster/Bloom
Ya lah. Nowadays I hv no time so I also drink bottled essence nia. One chinese sinseh once told my mother that the efficacy of 1 kampung chicken homemade essence is equivalent to 12 bottles of commercial chicken essence. But it's easier to pop the lid of 12 bottles of chicken essence than to home make 1 bowl of chicken essence

Star...at least sophia can start with once upon a time...E picks up the book n just mumble god knows what with the occasional mention of papa, mama, ah mah, ah kong and his favourite letters I and O in his 'sentences'

Bloom
Oh wanted to add...yah...just borrow frm NLB 1st. I hv been doing that too cos I get tired of reading the same books to E all the time. I just borrow lots n if I find something that is really worth keeping then I buy.

Hi...

R there any mummies wif 2 kids n a saloon car???...can I noe if u hv 2 convertible car seats for the 2 kids???...I tink if I put 2 convertible car seats at the bac...oni a very skinny person can sit in between liao...can 2yo take booster seats???...appreciate yr advice...thx...

Bloom...

I tried the chicken essence tat Mbb recommended for the past 2 wks...I love it!!!...yummy!!!...I shared it wif Cae...n he loves it too!!!...hmmmm...sometimes it is so yummy tat haf a bowl seems too little...hee hee...my dad prepares it for me usin a wok n those aluminium dish wif "holes for drainin stock"...

Mbb...

Hee hee...I m "busy" scannin thru BPs n sprees lah...kekekebut I haven really bot anytink except some bks for Cae...

Lil...

I m oso tryin to read more to Cae...but he prefers "factual" bks...like bks on diff fruits, planes, etc...to "storybks"...arrrrrrrrrgh...I nid to start introducin Chinese NOW...he is like a "banana"...

No worries lah...u tink Cae can "once upon a time" meh...hee hee...I comfort myself tat boys conversational skills r slower than gers at tis age...they wil catch up later...but Cae's gross motor skills is gettin so gd tat he is climbin up grills, climbin down ladders n knowin how to turn ard hafway on the ladder, comin down sofas hands n head down 1st...aka handstand position like tat!!!...so u hear a lot of "dun do tat", "come down", "itz dangerous" everyday...:p...n he doesnt listen to his parents' instructions!!!