(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

Dora,
cheers. my fren is gonna grab some for me on her trip to the states end of the mth.
so happy

Tan SL,
i used to take Meg to the Tampines branch but now there's a branch in Pasir Ris Whitesand.
juz took Meg there yesterday coz she seem to wanna start coughing.

the meds are the same. so, i believe you need not hafta go to any specific branch.
no special doc.
the TCM doc see both kiddo n adults.

pat pat. no harm trying TCM coz prolong period of antibiotic is not good.

hope Nat will get well soon.
no choice la. it's a cycle we need to go thru with the kids when they start sch.
either now or later.

<font color="119911">doggiebb</font>,
those mummies fr march thread who reply are 2nd time mummy.

<font color="119911">LiL\Fizz</font>,
thks for the wishes. now, bb 's weight is hitting 1.8kg soon and surgeon is coming today (hubby did not meet him as he has not come yet when hubby left hospital at 3pm) to review my bb's hernia issue. think more or less, he needed surgery. today, my bb jaundice level shot to 260 man. y'day,was only 188. sian....

everyone view confinement differently....one might in gd health and dun bother much. for me, since preggie with the second one, my preggie is NEVER smooth. maybe one dunno how much 'suffering' i have during this preggie. with the additional of 'suffering' for this not smooth preggie, how can my mood be good.my health also not gd either. if I dun take care now esp during CL, what if I fall sick for long time or even long time illness (touch woods), who is gg to take care of my 2 kids in future. hence, I STRONGLY BELIEVE THAT I NEEDED TO NURSE BCK MY HEALTH FIRST BEFORE I CAN MANAGE 2 kids as the kids still needed mummy most. I dunno how other mummies think cos they only think that I only think of myself, put everything on top of the kids first etc.....really disheartening to hear that....

somemore, seeing so much needles poking into my bb in NICU dun really make my mood gd either. everyone also not in gd mood too. who to voice out huh....even I voice out to hubby, he either go blank, become woodstock or just remain quiet. hence, I really appreciate the forum mummies for sharing comment and support here. hence i really need SUPPORT before I sink into despression. hence, by I think the purpose of coming in here and voice out thru my blog is to give support to each &amp; everyone of us....to console each other &amp; to vent out our unhappiness here....at least it minimize the chances of sinking into depression and not to say if I'm a good mum or not. think what if one is in my situation???

re:tx issue.
yup, usually, will felt guilty after that. that's why the past few days before she is sent bck to my mum'plc. I spent most time with her (did not rest after my pump).

fizz- u steady wor during yr CL period.....still do normally stuff wor....thks for the advice.

<font color="aa00aa">elaineong5</font>,
not sure how u are related to bakingmama. yr posting and her posting are the same wor...

thks for the reply. did not see u appear in dec 06 thread b4.

yup, u dunno old folk is so stubbon (got 1001 cases to list down man...) and dunno the situation when u are in my shoes. my boy is in nicu only for a day and the rest of that is at scn. I already very sad and envy those mummies who delivered can bring their bb hm but not me.....

everyone view confinement differently....one might in gd health and dun bother much. for me, since preggie with the second one, my preggie is NEVER smooth. maybe u dunno how much 'suffering' i have during this preggie. with the additional of 'suffering' for this not smooth preggie, how can my mood be good.my health also not gd either. if I dun take care now esp during CL, what if I fall sick for long time or even long time illness (touch woods), who is gg to take care of my 2 kids in future. hence, I STRONGLY BELIEVE THAT I NEEDED TO NURSE BCK MY HEALTH FIRST BEFORE I CAN MANAGE 2 kids as the kids still needed mummy most. I dunno how other mummies think only think that I only think of myself, put everything on top of the kids first etc.....really disheartening to hear that....

somemore, seeing so much needles poking into my bb in NICU dun really make my mood gd either. everyone also not in gd mood too. who to voice out huh....even I voice out to hubby, he either go blank, become woodstock or just remain quiet. hence, I really appreciate the forum mummies for sharing the comment and support here. hence i really need SUPPORT before I sink into despression.

that's why I felt moody all the time. anytime can trigger me frustrated easily. hence, if I dun find a plc to voice out, I might ended up in MPH or .....thta's why I voice out in my blog or forum now....now in turn kana being 'scolded' by some forum mummies for telling me I only use lip services. really very disheartening.....I'm not good in words too and dun write so much details of the situations in my blog (maybe I shd do that esp the appreciation part and also make my blog more scary by adding more details (but I dun cos I dun want my family member who read this to be alarmed)). for MIL issue, I did not write in blog....also felt frusrated and disheartening too. that's why I dun voice out.

<font color="aa00aa">kermit</font>,
dun ask me if I am REALLY a mum or not....

everyone view confinement differently....one might in gd health and dun bother much. for me, since preggie with the second one, my preggie is NEVER smooth. maybe u dunno how much 'suffering' i have during this preggie (bleed and bleed and go stay hosptial twice and A&amp;E thrice). with the additional of 'suffering' for this not smooth preggie, how can my mood be good.my health also not gd either. if I dun take care now esp during CL, what if I fall sick for long time or even long time illness (touch woods), who is gg to take care of my 2 kids in future. hence, I STRONGLY BELIEVE THAT I NEEDED TO NURSE BCK MY HEALTH FIRST BEFORE I CAN MANAGE 2 kids as the kids still needed mummy most. I dunno how other mummies think only think that I only think of mysel put everything on top of the kids first etc.....really disheartening to hear that....

blog and forum are for sharing of view and comments. for me, I voice out thru these 2 channels if not think will go sane. u are NOT in my shoes, how do u understand how piss, frustrated etc the situation is...all one need is to scold me not gg to visit my bb, blame me for pissing my mum etc.....

<font color="119911">Dora</font>,
thks for sharing yr view. really appreciated. Have also shared with my hubby. he also said the most impt thing for me is to nurse bck my health now. bb issue wise, he will take care of it (he shuttle to and fro daily to deliver ebm and these 2 days, he spent longer time in hospital to feed him, talk to him. when I went to visit my bb, I also spent longer time this time round (feed him), even delay my pump for 1.5 hrs till engorge).

thks also for sharing the experience on kiddos getting sick at cc. cos will be placing tx in cc soon once after my CL ended.

re:cod liver
did u give the orange or white one to JT?

tan SL,
i totally share your anxiety regarding nat's situation. poor her and you!! i came across this stall promoting wild honey and it is said to boost the immune system. just mix with lukewarm water and drink. they only started about 2 weeks back so i'm not sure when i can see the results of this taking effect. i think it's called yummi house.

i don't use the pigeon nose sucker anymore. just brought my bb to her PD today and he gave this saltwater nasal spray that was like super effective. it worked almost instantly. i think you can get from pharmacy. it's called Sterimar baby nasal hygiene. it's basicalled physiological sea water that gets absorbed into the body so it's really very harmless coz it's not medication. it helps to clear mucus from the nose to help with breathing and stimulates the natural defences of the nasal lining (all these i re-typed from the box). my bb can now breathe properly and it's no longer stuck. what you need to do is to get nat to cooperate and you quickly spray into her nose. (stick the nozzle into her nose and spray). after a while, she'll sneeze and the mucus will come out. or if she doesn't sneeze, it'll become watery and mucus will also come out. i got it at the clinic for $15. hope it's cheaper at the pharmacy.

Tan SL
TCM med customized according to individual condition base on Physician prescription. You might want to try out the one nearest to your hse first. If it works for Nat, stay with it. If doesn't, you might want to change. Hope Nat recover soon.

MBB

Which part of US is your friend going to? Cos my hubby went houston and can't find. And vitacost actually sells cheaper than the shops. So we calculated, its probably about the same price if we get through the vitacost sprees even if we include shipping

Afcai
I am really glad to know that you are spending more time with your boy. Do continue to spend time with him w/o guilt. don't stress yourself unnecessarily ok??

I dun give JT the scotts cod liver oil because I feel there are too many preservatives. I buy the childlife cod liver oil from the vitacost sprees (there is an ongoing spree, I gave the link to MBB in an earlier post). Its more ex than scotts, but only need to give very small amt (2.5ml) so it works out to be abt the same as scotts. But if you really do buy scotts, buy the white one. The orange one has lots of sugar, will cause phlegm.

Tan SL
JT refuse the pigeon nose sucker a long time ago. She has also used the saltwater nasal spray before when she was an infant, quite effective. Can get from the big guardian pharmacies. If Nat has been coughing for a long time, I suggest you see a TCM doctor. The powders so far work for JT when the symptoms haven't fully developed.

Re coughs and colds
Although JT has been sick every month, but she never had problems with phlegms for more than 3 days. I have heard from a TCM doc many many years ago (when I was a kid actually) that milk can trigger mucus production, and if the kid is prone to coughs and colds with lots of phlegm, it could be they are sensitive to milk (not a true allergy like JT's case). I was thinking is it because JT can't take milk that's why she never had any cough that is more than 3 days, blocked nose yes, but normally clear within 4-5 days. And I always hear that the tods here can have cough with phlegm for weeks. If you all ever see a TCM doc, maybe this is something you can ask.

Hannah also gets the occasional cold and yes, it is really tiring for us when they can't sleep becos of blocked nose.

Colostrum:
Anyone already tried it? Does this supplement really help? I mean does it really work like the "real" stuff? If it does, I'd buy a few bottles too! :p

Alabone,
Is the Sterimar good? Mat manage to sleep thru the night?

Did you all read today's Mind Your Body? It says that blowing the nose can worsen the condition by pushing the bacteria further in! Best to use decongestant and blow one nostril at a time...a little strange to be, but I'm desperate and will try anything at least once. A kid with a cold is really no fun...

Dora,
counting down to your last day....tick tock tick tock!

mbb

yes yes! finally can meet! haven't seen each other for sooooooooo long already!

Lil

will be meeting you for the first time! you shld be bringing E?

afcai

really? second time mummies? i am really surprised! anyway, you take care and like dora, i am really glad you heeded some of our advice to spend more time with your baby. hope he can go home soon!

dora

thanks for the link. I saw that the colostrum is in powder form. how do you feed that? would our kiddos guai guai swallow the powder?

diana

long time no see. you mentioned you go to TCM? at EYS? Do you know of any sinseh there who is good for dermatology. my girl has very sensitive skin and even after consulting a PD dermatologist, the conclusion is that its sensitive skin but not eczema. am looking for a good TCM to see if can do something for her skin.

Dora,
my fren is going to SFO.
actually it is not the cost but more the collection n waiting part for the BP.

thank you for the info

Dear Afcai,
i read TX's blog once in awhile.
i am not sure if it's the way you expresses yourself or my understanding level is bad.

you painted tis picture for me:
1. your mum is a money faced person.
2. your hubby is lazy n bochap.
3. you are quite selfish.

i do not intend to add oil to fire.

our first confinement was days apart. both of us did not employ CL.
our mum help us out and i remembered both of us "bitching" abt our mum.

tat was 2 years ago!
i have come to realised tat i NEED my mum's help n i cannot carry on digging for her flaws.

so pls stop being pissed, frustrated etc with your mum.
if your mum does pisses you sooooooo much, pls consider a nanny or full day CC.

do you intend to let TX n your boy read the blog you created for them?
what memories do you want them to recall?
how mummy is pissed with wai po n dad day in, day out?

don't you want your children to grow up respecting their elders?
if you continue trashing your mum n hubby in your blogs, i doubt they will respect wai po n dad much in the future.

family support is very important and it is a two way thingy.

it is true that the forum is a place for us to vent out but it's also very disheartening for the rest, that for 2 yrs odd, all our sharing of veiws n opinion been throw out the drain!

you are not the first mummy to have a difficult prenanncy or a premmie.
so please do not over think abt it and get yourself into depression.

i have depression before.
should you feel that there's a need for help.
it's better you talk to a profressional then to seek out advice here.

only YOU can help yourself.

i am happy to know that you have been visiting your boy more n spent alot of one on one time with TX
keep it up!!!

may your boy have a smooth surgery n speedy recovery! i wil be praying for him.

Dora
Eh...I give E the orange flavoured Scotts cod liver oil
He likes it so I just continue lor. Does the childlife one taste good? It's always a struggle to feed E meds so if it doesn't taste good, it's a no go. I have also been giving E medlife's vitamin C with echinacea which is thought to boost the immune system. Dunno if it really works or not lah and it's kinda ex.

Afcai
Dun get depressed. Dun take what ppl say abt u too seriously. Everyone has their own hardships. Outsiders like us cannot see what pain n suffering u are going thru so as long as u know u are doing your best and you are content then ok lor. Take care k.

Doggiebb
Hahaha...this bad mummy actually wishes that she can leave him at home but parents r leaving today so no choice. Think it's going to be a nightmare tmr cos he is v noti. Tonite must pyscho him to be on his best behaviour for tmr.

BTW mummies...E has a runny nose which is getting better liao...wld u mind if he came?

AFCAI

fyi i am not related to bakingmama at all. ans to why our post is the same is simple. cos every mum here feel the same as wat a mummy view. everyone just cant stand the way u treat yur mum and kid resulting all giving the same ans.
btw, my girl is dec 06 and I knew a mum from here.

Glad that you have visit yur son often now. Like wat MBB say, u want yur kids to read yr blog in future and let yur kids disrespect yur mum? Olden ppl are all the same they feel they are right but it their generation we have to close 1 eye.
Yes it true to nurse back to health but at the same time u should care for yur kids giving them the same amt of love and time.
wat u alway wrote give me an impression that you are a selfish person and care only yurself.
There is nothing wrong for a mum to demand a proper meal from a daughter, after all she ahd proivde u the best care and now a great grandma to yur girl.

hope yur boy will gain weight and discharges asap

Bobianah

Yah lor... just clearing my own rubbish and some filing niah.... kekekeke... that's why can keep posting hehehe...

JT used the Sterimar some months ago. It was good because it dilutes the mucus and the spraying action actually triggers her to sneeze and the diluted mucus will flow out. Depending on how serious is the blocked nose, but it definitely helped JT a lot. But I only use it if its really very blocked because she really hates it. I think spraying into the nose is quite traumatic for her.

Doggiebb
I only tried the cod liver oil, never tried the colostrum, cos its derived from milk and JT is allergic to milk. Think SH and I think Bloom also tried before.
JT also has sensitive skin on top of eczema. What soap is TA using now? Although its not eczema, can try using those for sensitive skin ones. JT cannot even use Mustela. Can try bathing oil e.g. QV or cetaphil. Use only fragrance free moisturiser. Wear only cotton material clothings.

Lil
If E doesn't get phlegm from the orange flavoured scotts cod liver oil, then its ok lah. The childlife one has natural strawberry flavour. Think tast ok bah, cos can feed JT using a spoon for this one, all other stuff got to use syringe. I remembered SH said that PH loves the childlife cod liver oil.

Tan SL,
Poor Nat! Hope she is better today!

I started giving Annette multivits when she turned 2. Bought from Robinson’s. It’s this brand called Lil Critters, and I feed her 1-2 gummy bears a day. She loves it! I think some multivits will help in their immunity system. However, she hasn’t started going to school yet, so maybe that’s why she was not so exposed to the many viruses in school. But like Dora, whenever Annette has a cough, I switch immediately to Soy Milk formula, and only let her eat pork (no fish nor chicken). Seems to help thus far.

My elder girl used to fall sick more often than Annette. So, when she turned 4, I started giving her a weekly dose of ginseng powder from Fu Hua Pharmacies (used to be cordyceps, but they are SOOOO ex now!) on top of the multivits and/or Vit C. Makes a world of difference. When Annette develops a slight cough or cold, I will feed her EYS’ Bao Ying Dan. Helps a fair bit.

MBB,
I feed Annette like Diana’s Shanessa…mix it into a paste and just use one teaspoon. Quickly let her eat then dump a little multivit gummy bear into her mouth! Heeee…

Bobianah,
Did not read Mind Your Body, but the news is disturbing! Nicole has a very sensitive nose and till now, she is always sneezing every night, every day, due to allergies and we are always letting her blow her nose! Hmm, maybe it is time I go and buy that saltwater nasal decongestant that Alabone recommended.

Kimi,
Yay, join us join us. Jialat, later lunch I better pop down to NYNY to see if they have enough bb chairs for all our kiddos!

alabone..oh yes i understand that..evne now when kate sit on my tummy sometimes i wonder if the wound will split open! but what is jared doing treating u like a wrestling partner? :p

tansl, ask ur fren to look out for metro sale..ergo i tink got 20% disct too during those sales..else the last time i think bp at bay*s* (u know where) ..cos that one is distributor (that was 2 yrs ago) they allow BP for ergo w/o bp cost (cos SMH bP need to pay money mah)..else bring in from US via fren?

kimi..ahahha..alabone will come with u tomorrow? then she can help jagar abit..

mbb/diana, sorry stupid Q, u bring her to EYS only when she is sick or to TIAO too? does EYS/TCM help with 'infection' (running with sticky yellow muscs) too? Must go to only those branches with physician or the counter staff will know what to do?

Dora, EYS powder? generic one or they specifically pack for u everytime.

bobianah, blow nose is blow out, how does the bacteria go further in? agree that a sick kid is no fun...

doggiebb, re colestrum, i put it in kate's FM and let her drink...

Lil, bring cheerios for tomorrow..somehow it just bring out the better behavior in the kids.... :p i am fine with E coming along on friday...

thanks mummies for your wise words and advice.
will give tcm a try once she completes her antibiotics. The saltwater nasal spray sounds effective. Ok, will check that out at the pharmacy. thanks again for replying.

bloom

thanks! you still rem me? I and my 2 girls are ok. quitted my job to stay home to take care of them. but no maid that's y really busy. sneak in to read now that they are sleeping.

afcai

in the beginning you are saying cos hubby and mum don't let you so that's why you didn't go. now you say becos you want to nurse back your health so that take care of them better next time. i hope you are really saying the truth and not because YOU JUST LOVE YOURSELF TOO MUCH and only think about yourslef.

those mommies who "supported" you don't "know" you as well as us. They don't know you can let your girl go with nappy rash for one month also don't bring her to see doc or buy desitin, can let her go with diarrhea for one week until your mum nag you to bring her see doctor. We know all these, that's why we voice out!

until now you still think you are right! not ONE mummy, not TWO mummy but MANY MANY mummy voiced out. Pls stop for a while and read again what the mummys have written.

Mbb, kermit
well said! you both are so right! took words right outta my mouth!

actually, I dun think Afcai will get into drepression. Those who blame others won't get depressed. It's those who blame themselves that get depressed. And those who get depressed would not have mood to talk or complain or post during the period of depression... depression is a serious condition like wat you said. It's not to be mistaken with just plain feeling "pissed" all the time...which is the case for afcai! think what is needed is anger management and a healthy respect for elders, plus taking responsibility for self. If dun take responsibility, how to be depressed?

Dora
So happy for u!!
I just asked my hb to buy Sterimar! My MIL is using another brand of nasal spray, but I think sterimar is "safer". Actually, hannah now understands the need for nasal spray. She actually asks for it!
The funny girl actually likes the normal white scotts emulsion cod liver oil too. But I am buying the childlife one to try since u mentioned scotts got additives! I didn't know.

Linette
The article is interesting. It's a small column, like those "fact or fiction" thingy. And apparently, it's tested and found that it can cause excess pressure which can propel mucous into the sinus. It's not saying that blowing nose is definitely harmful, but that it may cause further infection and worsen it. So, I'm not taking any chances!

bloom,
it's the pressure caused by blowing that causes the pushing back of mucous. Anyway, I not scientist. Dun ask me. I rather play safe.

bobianah
I only started Sha with the Colostrum last month. Can't comment if it works as it claim. It was recommended to me by another mummy. It is a PD that told her colostrum is a good supplement.

Doggiebb
Been reading yr blog. Both Talia and Thaddeus growing very well. I agreed with your recent post on Animals and Nature
. I fed Sha Colostrum by adding it into her last milk feed (taught by another mummy). Not sure if she taste the diff but didn't reject her milk.
I'm not sure if the EYS physician that I see is good for dermatology. But she is good in prescribing the right med combination for Sha's cold/cough I can usually see improvement after 3 days. Recently, my bro recommend me another TCM physician in Tampines (not EYS) and he brought my mum there. Just by taking the pulse he diagnose her condition and quite accurate.
Maybe you can call EYS and ask if they can recommend you a physician good at treating sensitive skin? Sorry can't help much

I'm not very familiar with sensitive skin, could it be cause by some particle, dust or allergy etc. For Sha her face is sensitive to our dog saliva. Rashes will breaks out when my dog lick her face. I think face more sensitive, other parts of the body no problem just the face. We have to quickly wash her face once she got licked on the face. Her daddy can't come in contact with cement, his hand will itch and rash will break out.

Diana

Ahh! add into the milk! ok ok! I am getting the colostrum from the spree that Dora has posted and will try this method. Thanks for sharing!

you are another lover of pets and nature? hehe!

I am still searching around for a good TCM sinseh. Perhaps I will just try your method and call them to recommend me one who specialises in dermatology. Thanks.

bloom,
not jaundice cant drink water. is baby less than 6mths cant drink water. cos it will cause water retentation in brain wor. scary.
OOOhh sad.. i again wont be able to go for gathering.. sian.. dunno when then i can hor? haha. But will def get 1 gathering to GOOOOOOO. hehe. hopefully with 2 darlings along.

MBB,
will update all of u if Hazel's pic is realli selected to be published in magazine. haha. from nxt mth onwards, i must siao on go bookstore see all baby magazine got my hazel face anot. hahaha. i also want to buy many &amp; give to frds &amp; frame it up. hahaha. (very howlian hor) hahaha.
BTW, can Meg speak long sentence? till nw Selinna still mumbling leh. i dunno what is she singing &amp; talking.

Fizz/roo,
my gal also throw tantrums until I cant believe her temper is sooo bad. beat pple leh.

Bloom,
Meg only go to EYS when she is sick or showing signs of falling sick.
praise God, her health is pretty ok so far.

Lil,
Meg is also taking the orange flavour scotts cod liver oil.
no phelgm issue for her, i decided to stick with it.
she is a fussy eater, i dun dare to change food tat she is ok n dun fuss.

enuff headache!

Doggie,
not using Eubos anymore?

Jen,
Meg can speak in long sentences.
she loves to talk

lately with my folks ard, she is picking up cantonese.
i am so happy coz i dun wanna her to be kantang.

hello mummies!
miss me?

bobianah,
thanks for that info. gotta stop teaching sophia to blow nose, coz she keep getting blocked nose and whining about it.

Linette,
Sophia oso got very sensitive nose, just like her daddy. now with the haze even worse.
last nite, pd prescribe zrytec for 1 mth! haiz.

And yes, sick kid is really no fun. Sophia gets super grouchy and wants to be carried all the time. Then carry liao oso cannot do this, cannot do that. for eg cannot sit down, cannot smell her head (aiya, i cant resist mah), cannot kiss her (again, i cant resist) etc *hehe*

colustrum
I tried a few months back. But sophia refused to take them when made into paste and she refuse her milk/poridge when added. so haf to somehow mix with a bit of water then mixed inside her vitagen (she lurve her vitagen). but there was a period of time when she already taken her vitagen before i come home, and i dunno where else to 'hide' the colustrum. from then on... slowly slowly then stop giving liao.

but this strange gal love chinese medicine, so i just bought those bottle stroma cordyceps. supposedly to help strengthen immune system. havent start giving yet. hopefully taste like those bitter chinese med, then giving them to her will be a breeze.

by the way.. any opinion if nose allergy = poor immune? wondering whether whatever i am tryin will help or not.

diana,
which TCM physician in Tampines? wanna keep that info in case need to go. thanks.

afcai,
yea, i agree w mbb. i oso had (very bad) conflict with my mum during those times. but two years have passed liao... and you are still pissed with your mum?? and are u planning for your mum to take care of your boy? do think of alternate childcare arrangement if thats the case. coz do u really wanna go thru that again? better spare yourself and spare your mum. honestly, i really really pity your mum lor. imagine down the road, our kids having a blog like that...
kao_sad2.gif

btw, i am not saying all is rosy btw me and my mum... occasionally still mild grouses, but try to find solutions lor. and of coz, all solutions got its pro n cons. weigh them and decide for the best one. just going on and on feeling pissed and angry and yet doing nothing will not change anything. ok, u take care. hope its good news from the surgeon today.

*ok... retreating back to my cave to hibernate

hi...
any mommies giving their baby Enfagrow?? I have milk samples &amp; vouchers to get discount for the milk powder u gg to purchase.

mbb,
that fast of Meg to speak leh. I see improvement of my gal singing &amp; mumbling all the way after her playgrp ... is good. but then still not speak something that i can understand. simple one that i knw are neh-neh, ri-na(Ribena) .. eat also dunno hw to say. oni point her fingers to her mouth.. ok lar. she use fully her body language... i am still adjusting to her growth..

Bobianah

The pressure from the sterimar spray is a lot stronger than the usual nasal sprays/drops. Maybe Hannah won't mind lah, but you just take note lor. the pressure is very strong. Press facing the side of the nostril and not towards the nasal cavity as the pressure might be too great for her.
I think its occupational hazard lah... whatever food/supplements I buy I will scrutinise the ingredients list, even soya sauce and oyster sauce. Hubby says I "zou huo ru mo". And maybe because I have access to all those info health hazards associated with all the additives, I am super paranoid, even though there are studies that show that they are safe in small amts.

Doggiebb
Sometimes having using some of the sensitive skin products can also cause allergies. Initially we had like 10 types of moisturiser/ bath oil to find the right one for JT. You may want to evaluate that. If you find a TCM that is good for sensitive skin, let me know ok!!!

Bloom
I buy the ready made powders from EYS. But you have to be familiar with all those hot and cold symptoms and seek advice fr the staff there. But having said tat, JT never had really very bad cough/colds (like for weeks). If its really for very long I think better see the TCM doc.

Starluster
*wave* How are you and sophia?? Has her eating improved?
Allergy doesn't mean poor immune, it means over-reactive immune system.

<font color="119911">Dora</font>,
yup, every visit, I stayed till his next feeding. so next visit, I think I will try to latch him on. hope, my bm will increase by letting him latch on (dunno he know how to latch on cos he just trained to suck on bottle).

re:cod liver coil
oic....tot, it is those which can get fr supermarket type. the white one, I tried b4, yucks...not very nice.

<font color="119911">doggiebb</font>,
yup, fr the chart that one of the mummies did, I see those who posted are second time mummies.

yup, we are counting the days when he can go hm.so everytime, we will tell him, he must drink his milk and grow up faster as everyone is waiting for him to go hm. at least, now, he gained 0.1kg per week. but bb 's weight needed to be 2kg then can go hm cos where BCG and the Hep B can then be given only.

<font color="119911">mbb2\LiL</font>.
thks for the wishes.

the social worker fr KKH called me up thrice and came and look for me that morning after I had delivered few hrs later. she wanted to make sure I'm ok cos a lot of mummies gg to NIUC (esp there...) and SCN will sure break down and cried. she said it is normal. nurse fr NICU asked my hubby if I'm ok or not if not, dun let me go over to NICU if not will create 'drama' loh. the first time when I visited my boy at NICU with my mil and hubby, I did not cry but got a sad feeling cos so many tubing ard his body. but before that the social worker already so called 'consel' me liao that it is normal for preemies to be on so many tubing and also it is for their own good. KKH has the best equipment (which I agreed cos specialise in woman and children mah...) and re-assuse me that my bb is in the gd hands of professional and nurses. that's why I did not break down.

even with so many tubing, one also can't stay at nicu for long. U can't possible stand and sit there stare at the bb with so many tubing right...we also can't do anything...hai..dunno what 's wrong with those new nickname mummies (dun think they go NICU before) to know the situation man....

at least, nurse will sure update the status when my hubby sent the ebm early in the morning. for sat, if we happened to meet the doc, the doc will sure update the status. so everyday, there are status updates by either doc or nurse. so that's why hubby told me not to worry....they are proffesional, and know more than us. if any alarmed (serious one), the nurse told us that they will call. if not, they also dun wan any how to call too.

<font color="aa00aa">elainong5</font>,
ok, just curious maybe bakingmama copy yr posting, that's why I tot why u and her posting are the same.

I admitted that I am not gd in expressing myself and might cause some misunderstanding. but hope ppls dun use those disheartening words to 'shout' at me.

so far, at least, nurse from SCN will sure update the status daily when my hubby sent the ebm early in the morning. for sat, if we happened to meet the doc, the doc will sure update the status. so everyday, there are status updates by either doc or nurse. so that's why hubby told me not to worry....they are proffesional, and know more than us. if any alarmed (serious one), the nurse told us that they will call. if not, they also dun wan any how to call too.

even the social worker also ensure me that dun worry, yr bb is in gd hand with the proffesional. hubby also said that bb issue there, he settle and all he wanted me to rest as much as I can during CL period so that I can replenish my energy and health. there are long way to go to 'battle' via bonding with my bb once he discharged fr hospital. that's why ppls kept on 'blaming' me for being selfish dun care bb etc....now I knew my own body system cos I got to nurse bck my health before bb come back (hope he will be back early march).

<font color="aa00aa">kermit</font>,
yes, my mum and hubby esp mum dun let me go out during CL. as what I mentioned to elainong (pls see the posting) that even hubby told me not to worry bb cos our bb is in the GOOD CARE OF PROFFESSION and they will update the status of bb.

for the recall of nappy rash issue, we did apply nappy cream but can't really help. my mum said she got their own method so let her cure my gar. for diarrhea case, maybe u miss out the part on what doc said. even A&amp;E doc told us that diarrhea less than 5 times for a day is not serious so we just let my gar consume isomil and the lactfort (something like that). but diarrhea thing where got so fast cure one?

everyone has its own view, they are not supporting me or siding. they are just stating how they felt. maybe, u NEVER BEEN TO NIUC and see so mant bb with tubing before and how drained we are be esp everything are unexpectedly. imagine yrself, gg down daily, did not slp and eat properly, won't one easily fall sick? maybe u dun cos yr immune system is stronger. u dunno how my situation is...hence, dun ask me if I am a mother or not. what do u define as a mother huh? a simple term of a mother is a woman who give birth only and her status will be update to mother. if everything, a mother do then WHAT ARE FATHER FOR?? now, my hubby act as double role - father and mother during my CL while I NURSE BCK MY HEALTH.

I knew that many many mummies voiced out just to share their views. everyone has its own view. tell me, what do u do if u were in my shoes, no car, distance between hospital hse very far etc.....if everything worried, then why place bb in SCN, might as well, we take hm and look after. that's mean one is not trusting those profession care to look after is it???

<font color="119911">starluster</font>,
this time round, my mum has been helpful. better than last time liao. think last time bec everything is first time and so lot of misunderstanding. so far, with her 2.5wk helpout in the CL before my CL came, she did a great job. tough, she nagged but this time round, she really did a supper great job. She did all the household to relieve hubby tiredness as he needed to wake up at 5am and then set off the house at 6am during weekdays. then when he came back home from work already 9-10pm. by then, he ate, washed up and sterlise bottles etc, it was already 1-2am. hence, he only got 2-4hrs of sleep.

even we did praise her for cleaning up our hse last week.

so where's got pissed off this time? the only piss off is the toilet training for my gar. I told her many times (she just give me black face) to bring my gar to toilet or pottery, she only told me that she will be naturally know how to toilet trained (got such thing one meh).

Aiyo mummies. Suan le lah. It's not like we haven't been through the same issues again n again right. U cannot help a person who does not want to help him/herself. With such people just say, ok I hear u, do what u feel is best and take care lor. Think we have better things to do bah!

Bloom
Thanks...I will definitely try to make it.

Mbb
So far E also no phlegm issue with the cod liver oil. I love it myself, so everytime it's 1 small spoon for u, 1 big spoon for mummy :p

Ahahaha...saw my earlier post n just realised I typed the wrong brand of Vit C. It's MedPlus, the LiL Critter's range that Linette is giving her girls.

RE: Coughs/Colds
Err...I know this sounds strange and I also dunno the logic but since not too long ago, whenever I think E is developing a cough or cold I will rub vicks vaporub on the bottom of his feet (and put socks on) at night b4 sleep. Seems to really help with the symptom, esp with coughs, and also helps him recover faster. I even tried it on myself when I started developing this ticklish cough which attacks at night and it worked miracles on me. Some China sinseh told my hb that wearing socks to bed at night helps prevent us from catching colds. He has been wearing socks to bed everynight and said it really works for him. I also let E wear socks to bed everynight and I think it really does helps. Try it...doesn't cost u money

Lets not spoil this wonderful sunny Thursday afternoon. Our time is better spent with our babies rather than on .....

Weekends coming.. Wat are ur plans??

And mummies who are meeting tmr.. anyone made reservations? Think we better do since we need so many hi chairs..

dora,
*wave back*
her eating didnt really improve, but at least she can finish 120ml of milk each time, sometimes can ask for more. havent been pouring much milk away liao *yay* her height abt 50 percentile, weight is only 10%. boo hoo hoo.
she is the first to start eating (notice the teachers always serve her first) and last to finish (mostly never finish). unfortunately she didnt caved in to peer pressure. read JT's eating improved tremendously, so happy you dont need to go thru that food strike stage liao.

"Allergy doesn't mean poor immune, it means over-reactive immune system."

ermm... wat does it mean? so does taking supplements etc help to reduce the 'over-reactiveness'?

afcai,
my mum oso dont actively toilet train my gal either. so what? doesnt mean that when my gal is 10, 15 or 20 years old, she will still be wearing diapers mah. i think what your mum meant is that when the child is older, they automatically will tell, and hence no need to 'train'. so to answer your question: yes, got such thing one. aiyah its only toilet training, not life threatening mah... small matter only. the most is you gotta spend $ on diaper. diaper $ vs getting pissed/upsetting your mum, i rather choose diaper $ lor.

ps : i dont think "praise" is the right word lei. your mum is helping you clean up your hse. should be "thank" her mah.

Ladies joining the gathering tomorrow, there are only 3 baby chairs in NYNY!! I was shocked...most restaurants in SG are really not baby-friendly. Hmph.

BUT, I spotted a small room within the restaurant, and booked that room...still not enough baby chairs, but there are some comfortable lounge chairs with tables, plus a couple of booth tables...so...I hope it should be cosy enough. Can contain all our toddlers within one room!

See you all tomorrow - the reservation's under my name at 12.30pm. I might be slightly late as I have something to attend to in the morning. SEE YA!

<font color="119911">LiL</font>,
vicks vaporub can rub on bottom of feet one meh...my mum rub onto the throat or nose of tx (she still having a bit of of cough) wor...she likes it and fall slp better.

<font color="119911">starluster</font>,
my gar know how to tell liao. it has been successfully few times when we toilet train tx when she is bck over weekend last few mth. but of cos, bck to my mum 'plc, square 1 again. for the toilet trianing issue, anyway, we already gave up liao since she dun listen.

ok, will take note of it....thks her instead of praise. when we did praise her for cleaning up so clean , we can see her happy face. then she will go yeah loh etc.....

afcai

"our bb is in the GOOD CARE OF PROFFESSION and they will update the status of bb"

then what for we visit our relatives in the hospital? since they are in the hands of the GOOD professionals? next time when YOU are sick, pls rememeber to tell your children DON'T come to visit you!!!

"my mum said she got their own method so let her cure my gar"

"but diarrhea thing where got so fast cure one?"

I read this I really very angry!! you are the mother not your mum! how can any mother read this and not be angry?

"u NEVER BEEN TO NIUC and see so mant bb with tubing before and how drained we are be esp everything are unexpectedly"

WHO TOLD YOU I HAVE NEVER BEEN THERE? my second girl was born prematured at 34 weeks!!! I WENT DOWN EVERYDAY. husband have to work so I took cab down. Actually let me be very frank about what i think.

During CL, we also have to go back to gynae to check, bring bb for injections so CL can go out one. just make sure wear long pants and long sleeves, don't get blown by the wind. You are really HEARTPAIN about the $$$ for the taxi fare!!! THAT'S why so many of the mummies VOICE out cos they also SAW THROUGH you!

"what do u define as a mother huh? a simple term of a mother is a woman who give birth only and her status will be update to mother."

To me, a mother is someone who WILL give up her life for her child, that is a mother!

i don't think i want to reply you anymore. I always come here to read and alrady tell myself not to bother. but i really buay tahan. pls fan xin yourself!!!

kermit.. wow..SAHM....must be great seeing them growing up everyday...

bobianah..ahahah..thank goodness i never quite like the idea of blowing my nose! :p

Jen, bb < 6 months canot drink water? never heard of that before! heheh.. there is always anotehr gathering

starluster, miss u!
which cc is sophia in now? how is ur arrangements like with her nowadays and how is she taking it?

dora, thanks for the advice..i know nuts (almost nuts) abt those symptoms :p

Lil, yes i rem some mommy talk abou the vicks on soles thingy..but nowadays my gal can remove her socks even in her sleep :p

linette..ahha..'contain'...now the kids sound like some contagious virus :p i will be wear orange m&amp;m's t today and will be very late :p

Hey mummies

So quiet, must be everyone at the gathering....
My last day today liao!!! Packed and now just waiting for the time to send the farewell message out kekeke.....

Star
Over-reactive immune system means e.g if there are anything that irritate the nose e.g. dust, normal people just sneeze, but those who are allergic to dust will over-react and produce mucus to fight it, as if its bacteria. Like JT, whenever she gets a cold and fever, her fever always go to 39+ deg, quite scary one... she must be the allergy queen here lah... So its not week immune system in the sense that allergy kids don't take longer than others to recover when they fall sick, it just means that they tend to have more serious symptoms than others. There are research that shows that taking fish oils will help in reducing allergies... JT taking cod liver oil now but still allergy leh *_* but she just started not too long ago lah...
Sophia is in CC liao? How is she adapting?

Ciao!

starluster

Here's the contact for the Tampines TCM.
Fai Yin Tong Traditional Medicine
Blk 820 Tampines St 81 #01-524 (520820)
T: 67854741 (need to call for appt)

Linette,
thank you for organizing the gathering today

it was great catching up with doggie, alabone, sylk n kimi. it's been soooooo long ya?

my gynea gave me a stern warning abt my weight

sob sob sob....hafta start a salad diet liao.

Bloom,
was told tat Guardian in Parkway Parade hv the bug spray. i will buy tmr. tkz!!

Dora,
enjoy your SAHM status again ya

happy weekend to all!

i think i will try out the "bao yin dan" from eys when Jav start having cough symptoms next time. Do I need to let the chinese physician check on Jav 1st before I buy the "bao yin dan"? Jav always start coughing every 3 to 4mthly. He also has the tendency to vomit out the phlegm together wif the milk he just drank. Tat time i switched to soy milk when he had coughing, he also vomit out the milk. End up i stop giving him any form of milk for 3 days till his coughing get better. Normally he will take 2 weeks to recover from his coughing.
Recently, he also learnt to blow his nose to clear away the mucus. I was quite impress wif him. coz i never learnt to blow my nose till i was 8-9 years old. Never did i realise it will cause further infection to the nose. I will use the saltwater nasal spray next time if Jav experience nose blockage.
Thanks for the tips : )

Anyone been to Berjaya hill (Malaysia)? How do you find the place? Hub n I will b bringing Jav to Berjaya hill n genting highland for a short trip. Berjaya hill is more for nature walk while genting more for indoor theme park.

Dora..ahhaa..so how is ur first day (since u will read this on monday) as SAHM? :p hehehe.. fyi someone already offer her home for next outing liao :p

mbb, whats wrong with ur wgt.. u din look as if u put on any significant wgt...

serene..wah..no milk for 3 days? then what did u give him?

hwee/linette/any mommies with > 1 kid with huge gap... does ur no 1 ever feel lonely when they are younger (before no 2 comes along)?

Bloom,
by right those ard 5 mths dun gain as much as 5kg (which i did).
now i am very sian/stress. hungry also dun dare to eat.

overall, it's not too healthy to gain too much weight unless bb is huge. Alysia is juz average in size, she was 331 gm last visit.
another reason is my back problem.
if my weight continue to shoot up, my backpain will be worst.

so, i hafta b guai guai n cut my fav carbo liao

Dora,
i tink you should enjoy ur SAHM status again la.
JT is at CC, you have time to R&amp;R at home.

Dora
Hooray! Today you no need go to work! :p

bloom ah, speaking from the point of view of being an only child myself, you really won't feel lonely if you have no idea what it is like to have a sibling right? Pple used to ask me if I was lonely, I wld say No. I was very close to my parents. Only when I'm older then I feel "lonely" as an only child, but in a different sort of way. Even when i look at hannah, I dun think she was lonely as everyone showered her with attention since she was an only child. She goes to sch, she plays with other kids. Now, she has to "compete" for attention! :p
anyway, just my 2 cents.

Mbb,
you also cannot cut down too much, cos bb needs nutrients. just eat small meals and dun go hungry ok? Can't wait to see your alysia...another pretty ger!!!

mbb, brown rice/brown sphagetti then? and join aqua aerobics or whatever for back :p

bobianah..ehehe.. know that u will most prob reply :p but wont u be lonely if, u see other kids (or other cousins) playing with their siblings then u have to go home alone? Don't think Hannah has reach that stage yet since she got a meimei when she is about 2+.... what do u mean by feel lonely when u r older?

Fizz, re the ergo.. since u dont need to buy now...u might as well wait till u kinda really wan to get it and see if any mommy wan to sell 2nd hand? by then alot of tods might be too heavy for us to carry even with ergo! :p

Thanks for the advices given in regard to the Ergo
. A kind mummy has loaned me one for a trial

Last night my lil boy slept at 1+am...now I nlook like a walkin panda :p

Bloom...

Tat is a gd suggestion

Hello Mummies!!

Yeah, today no work! But met my ex-colleagues for my farewell lunch today cos last 2 weeks a lot of people flying.

But strange lor, this morning dunno do what hor... so fast afternoon liao....hmmm.. I think I'm a very inefficient SAHM :S

MBB
If you're hungry you still have to eat, just eat healthily lor. Eat more fruits, cereals, wholemeal type of things, lean meat, fish etc. Cannot eat much lesser lah. I think preggie hungry really cannot control one... Last time I kept eating pastries, pies etc, aiyo so fattening lor...I failed to control also end up putting on 19kg for my pregnancy,but JT was big also lah....You 5mth liao can do preggie yoga... quite good for the back I find....

Bobianah
Re: only child
I think I also have the same concern lor.. cos hubby keep flying, even if I dun work, I also dunno if I can cope with 1 big 1 small alone, and not to mention I am at extremely high risk if I preggie due to my illness. Can you share your thoughts as an only child?

Mbb,
Pleasure organising the gathering. Annette and I had a great time with the toddlers! She came back and kept talking about "mei mei's fwens". I asked her "Does mei mei miss your friends?" and she nodded. Will post photos on my Facebook soon, and will let all of you know.

Dora,
OK OK, let's all plan another gathering soon! I dun mind weekdays cos I find it so nice and quiet outside...esp knowing that people have to work then we are out chilling, super nice feeling

Bloom,
Like what Bobianah said, Nicole doesn't know the meaning of "lonely" becase she doesn't know what it is like to be lonely. She didn't really look at other kids with siblings and wished she had any siblings. In fact, Annette was a decision we made for her. Till now, she still enjoys playing with me more than with her mei-mei, probably cos Annette's still a bit young.

<font color="119911">Kermit,
just to let u know, y'day, I'm been discharged fr kkh only after 3D 2N stay due to massive bleeding (passed out lot of blood cod) and had also did a E-wash up of womb. I knew that MY HEALTH STATUS IS NOT GD that's why I'm being highlighting it and can't go visit my bb regularly. now, see, finally, collapse liao.

We are all mummies here. Who doesn't love her own flesh &amp; blood ? u shouldn't JUDGE me cos one is not in my shoes. It is not u to instruct me what to do. Given the situation and circumstances I will surely decide the best for myself and my bb. As the cantonese says "If got hair, who wants to be botak ?"
If we are strong, we should give constructive opinions/advices to pull others up and not to condemn those who are weaker.

As for my mum case, how can u judge I does not appreciate my mum? Even as close as husband &amp; wife, we will have conflicts but we still love each other. So, in the blogs I just wants to express my frustrations and gets some supports and encouragements. Isn't blogs is the place for us to chat, support and laugh openly? I don't see why some mummies condems others who just post their feelings openly ? It's definately okay to feedback or give opinions if there is something we do not agree with but not to the extend to judge the other party. This is so hurting and will cause one self-blame.

re: good care of proffession.
dun mix the bb issue with those sick relative ok....sick relative dun stay in intensive care for long....

re: mum own method.
u go and ask my mum loh....u never been in my shoes, u dunno how STUBBON is old folks.

re:been to NIiC.
yr health gd mah, my health not gd....see now finally now, see, finally, collapse liao.

u happy??

re:mother
then what are father for?? </font>

Dora, Bloom
Re: Only Child
Growing up, i had lots of pple ask me, lonely or not? For me, the answer is no. I don't know what it is like to have siblings, so I don't feel it. Besides, I was close to my parents, going out with them often, had friends in school. Seeing friends with siblings do not make me wish I have them, cos I've seen siblings fight too! And I hv no problem going home alone...who says siblings do everything together anyway? I happen to be the independant sort (and I still am!)

But, I only feel "lonely" now that I'm older cos I have no one to share my concern over my parents with. It's not about the money, but the emotional support that I wish I have. I see my frens who can share with &amp; support their siblings when their parents are ill, but I have no one to share it with. It's just different sharing with hb... and I'm already very fortunate to hv such a supportive hb.
So, that's my personal experience &amp; view.
That is why we decided to have #2. Its not something to be decided by others (like what Linette said, definitely not decided by our #1!), but something we decide. Of cos, no one can guarantee that siblings will be best friends, but I cldn't bear the thought that Hannah will be alone. I'm an only child, she'll hv no cousins from my side. My hb has a sister, but I doubt she's gonna get married...so, hannah will be so lonely. Everytime I look at her, she looks so small and I suddenly feel so overwhlemingly protective over her.

Dora,
In your case, your health is important. Make sure it is safe for you. Taking care of 1 big n 1 small is challenging esp when they hv allergies too. I'm often amazed at how Kimi handles her two!
But I guess if you wait till JT is older, it'll be easier. My fren is expecting her #2 and her #1 is already 5, so, i'm guessing it's a little more manageable as #1 more or less can do a lot of stuff independantly. If it's ok for u to hv 2, u might want your mum/mil to help or get a maid.

Hope Im making sense...:p