(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

MOAP,

$150 for 7 items. So still quite ok lah. The belly butter is expensive thou. $44.50 And the firming lotion for $29.90. The rest are abt $10 plus.

Yup, I bought one packet of fruity nursing tea. Bought it cos it said that there's herb to shrink hemorriod. My piles are getting bad! Think it will get worse after delivery.

Amy, yr bb is not v v big wat... hmmm ... maybe bec she is going on leave that's why she wants to induce u.
But i think if u r not comfortable with induction, then tell your gynae your birth plan. I am sure she can accommodate that by providing u a relief gynae. But if u have bleeding, is it the show? ie meaning you r likely to give birth soon.

Going to see gynae tmr, hopefully bb had put on more weight. Was 1.8kg during week 32.

I was looking at the calender, the only dates where I can hold the full mth celebration in July are 1, 8, 15, 22 (saturdays). Wondering when will bb pop out. It will be first day of hungry ghost festival from 25 July onwards, so dun intend to hold the celebration any later than 22 July.

Do you all know that this yr got 2 mths of hungry ghost? From 25 July all the way to 21 Sep.

amy,

by induction, i dun mean putting those pitocin medication... i meant breaking of waterbag for my case. That's how my elder boy was in a way induced the other time leh... but i may already be in labour liao. This time round, I rather have the control of the timing because I am worried about the arrangement for my elder boy. I am v scared of last min frenzy and having to comfort a crying little boy etc. Plus, though I know I will prob be able to deliver a bigger bb too... but i really hope the postpartum damage and recovery will be minimal... cos i am very determined not only to take care of my newborn myself... but also to take care of my elder boy as per normal as much as possible. to me, this will be a hard to achieve goal at least for the 1st week or so if the damage is much...

dunno leh but i think my gynae may not wanna induce also lah.. so see how hehee
God will have a way for me..

In case you are planning for another baby, just saw this on CNA website:-

When intervals between pregnancies, that is the time lapse between the delivery of the last child and the conception of the subsequent child, are shorter than 18 months and longer than 59 months, there are increased risks of low birth weight, small size for gestation age - measurement of time inside the uterus - and pre-term birth, according to an article in the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA).

So bottomline is, not too fast or too slow

amy:
are u petite size? wat is ur pre-pregnancy weight? mine was 43kg n gynac very scare me to hv a big bb, tats y ask me control my diet. everytime when i visit my gynac, she wil say, "i m small size", must control. actually best is not to compare ur bb's weight w the mummies here. cos some of them here are big size or average size. if u belong to small size, then its fine. gynac meant gd for us too, listen to ur gynac.

MOAP/Serene/kk:
where u usually buy ur Anmum? how come i couldnt find since last mth so drinking fresh milk. i thinking of drinking anmum again.

Hidora:
me too. waiting for the MIM raspberry leaf tea to send to my home but since i ordered last mon, stil yet to receive. when did u order?

kk:
wat is ur bb's length when borned? cm? at 34wks, what is ur bb's weight? hehe yaloh e shaving make e hair grows so uncomfortable n tickle, dun like e feeling. hope they wont shave for me.

kite,

I ordered last Wed leh. Then on thurs I received a call from them to say that they are mixing the nursing tea. Hmm... Maybe should call them later to check.

i also heard putting wat tablet into V for inducing. my colleague's wife told me very painful during this process.

kite,
Yes, the fortune brand, and it's the cheapest in the supermarket... kekeke... I prefer something without additives
To me, those sold in the hawker center will be the best, but not those very diluted ones... I usually drink them without sugar

Fondue,
Yes, full term baby is 40 weeks. After 37 weeks, baby will have a very high chance of survival with less complications.

kite,

Guess wat, my teas just arrived! I think you shld be receiving today too. I'm staying in Woodlands. So if you are near the north area, should be receiving it pretty soon.

usually for milk, what kind of flavour do u all drink? vanilla or chocolate? then i heard that if drink chocolate flavour wil make bb's skin dark?

hidora:
hmm i m staying in the west. hopefully wil receive it soon
anyway i just email to them, they just send my tea out today.

Hi Kite,

I dun think i have tablet for induce.. mine was thru drip.

Anmum.. i bought it at rivervale mall ntuc.. no problem getting it during pregnancy, just that i lazy to drink heee.. I still find anmum the best. I tried enfamama sample before.. yucks! To me, the vanilla flavour was pretty terrible.

At 34 weeks.. heee i dunno my bb weight.. because there were only two times i get to know my bb weight.. one was 19th week during detailed scan.. another one was 36th week. At 36th week, it was 2.9 kg.

When borned, bb's length was 50 cm.

fondue, thanks for your advice. actually, my gynae din give me a good reason for inducing early, except that my bb is big, but the truth is, my bb is not really big... which is why i dun understand. also, i am not petite size, i am 166 cm tall, and pre preg weight is 51 kg.

Also, gynae mentioned, even if induce, cannot guarantee natural... aiyo... nearly faint...

I think the bleeding i experienced is from the VE, cos the blood came st after the VE, and is fresh and not cloggy, kept dripping... so scary. but today, better... turning brownish.

Now i am experiencing some stomach pain... hope it's not becos of the VE. was quite upset with the early VE performed. anyway, will monitor, maybe will go home and rest.

will see how my appt goes on Friday... but i think i am quite keen to go natural. dun mind having a relief gynae... what's most impt is for bb to come out at his own timing....

kk:
hmm seems like rivervale mall most easy to get, maybe i wil get tis wk when i visit my parents.

cos other outlets, either out of stock or left e big tin which i find it impossible to finish within 2 mths once open.

50cm consider tall?

amy:
hmm seems like u are not petite/small size.
so during bleeding, did u prepare any pad? so meaning after VE performed, must prepare, scare wil bleed?

Amy,

haha, of course induce cannot guarantee natural.. nobody can guarantee anything ya? Like my case
SOB! Induce end up caesarian. Might as well go for caesarian early morning :p No need to wait for 10 hours in vain.

I heard some ladies also got bleeding after VE so i guess that's normal. Just keep ur gynae informed.

Kite,

ya, i remember getting my anmum small tin at rivervale ntuc. I hope they are still in stock now heeee.. hey, i really pei fu u, so disciplined in taking ur milk

Yup, 50 cm is considered tall. But there are some babies who are 51 cm or even 52 cm. But well, they may not grow up tall. So have to see... on the same day i delivered, there was another bb who was only 34 cm, delivered in the ward beside mine.

My BB's hands and legs are pretty long. The feet are not small. My mum say dunno next time the bb need to wear what size shoes heee..

As for VE check, I have no bleeding after that. Only soreness for 15 min. I already felt that that was pretty bad.

kk:
no wor, not very disciplined wor, just oni drink 1 glass every morning daily. so during ur last gynac visit, b4 delivery, did u get to know ur bb's length? me curious to find out. or ultrasound scan not accurate one? so ur bb is belongs to medium size?

anyway i just called up several ntuc outlets, they now hv stock for anmum but oni the big tin. urghhh. how to finish? sure cant finish one. so difficult to find small tin meh.

amy:
ok tks.

On mc today cos got rashes.. itchy all over.. dr said i am allegic to something, but i dun noe what it is.. so uncomfortable..

Yest saw my gynae.. so happy to c bb.. 2.7kg for 35wk 2 days..

hmm.. amy, based on what u said, dun think bb is big? but of coz dun think we r in a position to judge.. gynae shd noe better but of coz we r not sure they r doing it for their own self-interest or what.. but i dun think they will ever do it at patient's risk.. so u might want to talk to ur gynae n see how it goes..

i oso bought a sofa bed juz for my MIl to sleep.. like tinklebell, i bought a sofa bed at seahorse, only $62 plus another $18 for delivery..

huh? do VE will bleed?? sharks, i am going to do VE next wk... scared..

peng, wow quite cheap hor and best thing is that the sponge is quite comfortable. The one I got previously still looks as good as new. I went to their shop at west mall over the weekend ... but not many designs there.

stephanie,
>>have induction when the doc advises...
well if the doc 'din realize baby was too big' how to trust his advice ...?

Amy,
great to hear that you're keen on going natural.
I agree with your gynae's warning that induction might lead to c-sect.

If you lie on your back, your tail bone which is curved to the front will not be able to open backwards and provide more room for your baby. You can squat or stand alternatively.

Here's a link to more info on induction

http://www.mothering.com/articles/pregnancy_birth/birth_preparation/inducing.html

and an extract from the internet about small pelvis, big baby:
Q: My doctor told me my pelvis is too small to vaginally deliver a baby over eight pounds and I have to have a cesarean.. Is this true?

A: No, the pelvis and the baby's head are not fixed bone structures. During labor the pelvis opens, allowing room for the baby, whose head molds to fit. The pelvis will actually open up 33% larger than it's pre-pregnant size with a squatting position. There are several factors that contribute to this. First a hormone called relaxin is released during the latter part of pregnancy, which soften the ligaments and cartilage surrounding the pelvis. Also different positions assumed during labor will change the dimensions of the pelvis such as walking, climbing stairs and squatting. This combined with the flexibility of the baby's head gives ample room for babies to move through the pelvis. The baby's head is made up of five plates that are connected with soft tissues that allow it to mold during the birth process as the baby travels through the pelvis. These bones return to their pre-birth state within hours of birth.

okipoki/tinklebell:
tis wkend me intend to go n settle e bed, been searching for past 1 to 2wks, sianz.

which outlet got more designs for sofa bed? the price sounds not bad, less than $100, can buy as it wil be temp use for my mum.

Kite,

Hmm, i think i was not told the bb length before delivery. Yah, i would say my bb belong to the medium range. There are those smaller and bigger than her.

kite,
think i only saw 2 designs at tiong bahru plaza but i paid abt $180 inclusive of delivery. i bought mine sometime in march. hmmmm peng paid a very good price for the sofa bed

okipoki/peng:
ya must ask peng where she bought n wat size? cos u mentioned the size u bot is slightly bigger than single bed?

i thought in SG we cant choose how we going to deliver right. thought should be standard i.e lying down isnt it ?

MOAP,

Right, big baby easier to handle and chubby baby is very cute...

Celesteblur,

Ya, dunno why, i'm no milk fan but since i'm preg, i fall in love with milk and became big milk drinker. In fact b4 i bought my 1st tin of anmum, i've already drank 1 small tin of Dumex (for preg) given to me free!

Kite,

I have bought my anmum in NTUC, Giant and Shop N Save. True, there was a time, i couldn't find Anmum in all 3 places, i mean only the chocolate flavour avail. but i only want the original flavour...so ended up only got the small tin in one of the NTUC near my place! No choice, need it, so just bought first.

How to tell that our cervic is open? i mean b4 our gynae tells us? How can we tell ourselves? Only if there's contraction pain, then the cervic will open yah? If no pain, means not yet?

peng, what color is your sofa bed? after your MIL sleeps in it, can use as a sofa as well hor? do you think can BF on that sofa? maybe i will get this for my CL then. seahorse... Tiong Bahru ah... is that the seahorse showroom? where else can i buy this?

kite,

Yes still drinking my 6th big tin of anmum now, bought it last sat. I hardly find small tin selling elsewhere but that time, i happens to see it at the NTUC, Senja Road.

kite, serene, i got my small tin anmum from Giant IMM. still on my 1st tin... maybe tn shld drink some...

amy,
tiong bahru is the showroom for seahorse brand... there are 2 others outlets which i know of is compasspoint & westmall lor. btw, my sofa bed is a purple coloured but i bought a mattress cover over it for easy wash.

need to find out.. i've been hvg contractions almost every day. moreover my gynae even told me that i may be due within this 1 wk.. so i really dunno when it's time to go hospital?! my contractions are quite mild like menses cramps but can get quite painful as well.. ahh!! really dunno leh

duffybuff, wah.. seems like you popping soon lo... if you can 'ren', should stay at home in the first stage of labor, cos when you arrive at the hosp, things might slow down a bit...

maybe also good to check with your gynae...

BTW - what week are you in now?