(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

okipoki:
hehe ya hor, both our EDD very close plus both our bb gers called "Chloe" too lol

me stil hv another 1/2 an hr to go. sianz. no mood to work. intend to take 5 days mc b4 i deliver if possible.

kite,
I cannot remember from which weeks... I think it's recently only... kekeke... and I am enjoying "catching" and pressing on the bumps.. lol... very fun to "play". My boy's kicks also getting stronger and can get a bit painful.

kite, i think get the small one will do lah. the other time i wanted the small one but the fabric design not so nice. remember it was something like dark blue in color with pics of little lambs... thought it looked quite comical so i bought the big one instead.

lyn,

ya i will try to let my bb girl sleep on her tummy as much as i can help it this time. I din really let my boy do that thus as a result he din really learn to crawl quite as soon... in fact he was pretty slow... though i was relieved at the end he still managed to crawl and creep. now at 13 month plus, he is still happily creeping. I guess from GD point of view, I should be very happy that he is still willing to creep as long as possible... (as this crawl and creep is very important for certain part of brain development and once bb learn to walk, generally they wont wanna creep anymore forever) but from an anxious mummy point of view, i do at times wish he will start cruising and walking like most of his peers at this age.

Frankly we can actually do without brachiation ladder too.. but if i can get one below sgd1k.. maybe i will be keen. Cos my boy really really loves brachiation... he laugh and smile so widely whenever we bring him brachiating at his enrichment class... so i guess it will be a nice toy.

lyn:
mine also, sometimes i nearly say the word "ouch" when her kicks bcome so strong. she wil switch position, fr left to right n vice versa.

tinklebell:
tks for e info. wil pop by tiong bahru or causeway pt tis wkend
hopefully can settle fast on this.

hi, just to share wif u all..

i have given birth on 15/05/06 at 12.03am. My bb weighs 2.91kg. Natural with Epi

14/05
10am - 7pm: start to have pain.. first is menstrual pain .. den + contraction pain .. start to time in the afternoon to confirm isit contraction pain .. from 11min interval to 4min. Kept on went toilet urine n check any show .. but no blood sign just lotsa transparent discharge.

7plus: start to call gynae.. gynae say looks like im going to labour soon. i say ok .. will wait for 1-2hrs then check in hosp.

8pm: cannot tahan the pain liao .. go urine, got pink discharge so confirm liao .. bath n dress

930pm: check in, midwife done VE (PAINFUL) i cried as VE pain + contraction pain.. already 4cm dilated. Clear bowel.

945pm: waiting to inject epi .. as cannot tahan anymore pain. After inject liao, lucky not tat pain as nothing can compare to contraction pain.
Gynae came n said okie .. will give birth in 1-2hrs time .. see u again later.

11.30pm: midwife checked.. 9cm liao .. ask mi to push 1-2 times .. okie stop

11.45pm: gynae came n checked okie .. full liao
can start to push .. push push push .. siao .. tired.. midwife say i got short breath.. so gynae say need my help?? okie .. vacuum cum forcep .. and finally !!!!!! thought can be mother day present to me .. who know.. 12.03am den arrived !!!!

Hee Hee .. so scared that bb wont come out n got to c-sec .. heng ar ..

now no milk .. nipple too short, stress ..
bb cant suck frm my nipple .. how???? During hosp stay.. nurse say bf bb each breast 15min.. but MIL kept on come in n see me bfing .. and kept on say where got milk .. aiyoo nipple too short n bb hard to suckle .. n keep on time for me n say time up liao faster give fm .. but i kept on try n try .. but she kept on say faster give FM. hai ....
so till now have no milk .. so scare dunno will engorgement a not ..

Hazel,

Congrats!! Wow, so fast u are online already!

Dun be stressed out by ur mil ya? MILs can lead to post natal blues hahaha..

Slowly... the milk will come...

hazel,

urs is natural, so u have to check whether can eat pork liver or not.

Mine is c-sec.. i dun eat pork liver for the first 2 weeks. Because it will cause blood clot.

hi oki, tinkle & toto,
tks for advice. in fact my next appt for ctg is this thur so thot of waiting till then unless i hv 'real' signs of labour. :p i'm now into my 37wks..

kk,
u ordered the full-mth gifts for how many pax? how many choco did u give for each pax? how much u pay?

Super sian ... one of my colleagues just tendered resignation! Now I'm thrown into this handover frenzy. My mum & hubby so worried I'll suffered pre/post natal depression becos of this work stress ... haha ...

Congrats, Hazel!!! You back at home liao? So fast? How's bb?

kite,
Yes, me counting down ... Mdm Rohaya 94506374. You planned to take 5 days MC, from Dr YC huh? No need to try
... I tried as I was having very bad water retention, but she said our maternity leave is ample to cover us, one month before & one month after, so she didn't give me MC ...

Peng,
I'm also having rashes, from fingers to toes ... ultra itchy! Hope will recover by Fri, else don't know who to cope during confinement.

congrats Hazel! seems quite a smooth delivery! Don't worry bb will latch on soon!

Which hospital are you at?
why midwife need to do VE upon admission?

since morning you have heavy discharge & contractions @4min interval still can tahan ah... i think weekend give birth better, at least at home can slowly monitor, if working day then surely very gan cheong.

wow congras hazel.... so nice to give birth... photos photos!!!!

kite, juz to let u noe that sea horse takes some time for delivery.. i think i wait for abt 3-4 wks b4 they could deliver the bed to me cos they need to tailor the cushion cover.. there are a no of choices for the cushion cover. U can ask from them a booklet with different cloth design n u choose it n they tailor make the cover for u..

carebear, yeah realy very itchy, cant stand it.. think u better go n c a dr cos dun noe why got all these rashes..

Josephine,

When i got admitted into TMC, my first VE was done by the gynae, subsequently by midwives.

Duffybuff,

I ordered the chocolates for 150 pax. One bar of kit kat with personalized wrapper is $1.20. I didn't want the chocolate to be in individual bags. I got them to place 80 together, in a hamper so that i can deliver to workplace. The rest will be distributed to guests at buffet
Each guest 1 bar of chocolate. Oh, altogether i spent $200, including the basket for hamper. $200 to waive off delivery charges.

KK
wow your office so many pp. Got 80 to distribute? Did you give any cakes to relatives? so Treasure Box does the hamper and sends to your office for you? $200 is reasonable

Hazel, congrats!!! So that day was really labour pain... haha! Thought home come never see u online for a few days already... Ur labor quite fast hor. U'r discharged so fast? Dont be stressed by the no milk thing.... a lot of pp also like that. Think of milk and milk will soon flow

kk, luckily my mil not so intrusive. :p but i think if anyone were to drive me mad, may be my own mum..haha! but anyway, i used to it already lah... one ear in one ear out :p

kite, spicegal,

I drink milk twice everyday.

tinklebell,

2 weeks ago, Adrian ask his nurse to proceed the admission with TMC for me, last nite, i received the letter from TMC, to fill in the particulars and send back. Our gynae needs to give us an admission letter rite, he hasn't give me yet.

Same here, my foots are swollen, ugly and painful! Especially just now when i stand 1 hr at kitchen cooking, the swell got worse! I'm sick of outside food and hubby back late, so i do my own cooking.

Hazel,

Congrats! Looks like yrs a fast one! So good! Hope mine will be a fast and smooth one like yrs! Hey, excuse me, your MIL quite irritating leh! :p Here trying hard to let bb suckle then hear so many comments! That's why i wish during my hospital stay, not many ppl will come n visit me esp my MIL! I warned my hubby, he better dun be so gan cheong go and call his mum to come down immediately or to come down everyday!

tinklebell,

Same like u, i can't take MC now at all lah! My temp gal came on monday, now i had to guide and train her everyday to familiar with my work, that's why also not much time to visit this forum liao! This afternoon, when i walked to my building's canteen for lunch, after came back to office, my 2 legs was so aching and my bb pushed me hard, i felt so heavy and painful walking!

carebear, sian hor... i know what u mean lor. my colleague who is supposed to take over part of my work also just tendered last week. so now, i have to reorganise the dept and reallocate the work and at the same time recruit / train a new staff. i think yours is worse since u r abt to pop this weekend... at least i still got another 1 mth to reorganise things. All these stress plus the pregnancy discomfort is making me very moody.

my edd on the 20th lor .. so earlier by 5 days only lor heehee ..
fast hor .. becoz i had been suffered whole day liao mah frm morning till night then check in leh as i still blur blur dunno that is real contraction pain n not normal menstrual pain .. dunno why midwife check leh .. maybe gynae ask her to check?
as for bfing .. jialat leh i already tried for 2 days liao .. bb know how to suck just that i got real short nipple .. he can't really suck my nipple leh .. now i think my breast going to full liao can feel .. how ar .. pump now ar? but i just now try to squeeze .. only yellowish juice come out .. got milk ar? den i dare not use pump leh .. as im using manual pump .. i tried but dun dare to try pull hard as im using kaneson.. know this brand? feel painful ..
how ar .. die liao ..

just now i cried ar .. as suddenly feel dizzy n very tiring .. think i got not enough zz .. and just now my CL n hubby go marketing .. n left mi alone .. and my bb crying for milk .. and i tried bf again.. but failed again as couldnt suck and bb cried like hell.. and i also dunno how to prepare fm !!!!! first time ... den ka lang ka bo ... finally can liao but dunno isit like tat a not but just dun care n fed bb ..
feel so helpless

<font color="0000ff">tinklebell/celeste,</font>
the letter I got from TMC is to confirm booking of the ward...not the pre-admission letter from gynae...didn't ask Dr Adrian abt the pre-admission letter, will ask him next week when I see him....

<font color="0000ff">moap,</font>
I haven't got the pre-admission letter from Dr Adrian...just got the pre-admission letter from TMC to confirm the ward

<font color="0000ff">kite,</font>
I saw a lot of small tins of anmum at the NTUC branches near my house recently...one at Lot 1 and one at Yew Tee....plenty leh...how come u say u cannot find at NTUC at west areas? somemore, I only saw small tins, din see any big tins...

I also dun drink much milk throughout my pregnancy...I bought 1 small tin but never finish....2nd tri, still got occasionally drink HL milk but drink a few times, then never drink liao...hehe....anyway, my gynae also tell me to drink those low fat fresh milk, coz he say good enough liao, no need to drink anmum as it's more fattening...

<font color="0000ff">hazel,</font>
congrats!! do take care of yourself...dun give yourself too much stress....<font color="aa00aa">*hugz* *hugz*</font>

the yellowish thing u squeeze out from your breast is the colostrum...it's normal...dun be stress over the milk supply coz the first few days, normally no milk one...beside, baby also dun need milk for the first few days..just the colostrum is good enough for them....

dun let your MIL stress you....coz they think baby go hungry without milk, but they din know that for the first few days, baby dun even need milk....

<font color="aa00aa">*hugz* *hugz*</font>

okasan,

Same as you, i only received the pre-admission letter from TMC to confirm the booking of ward. So u took also 4 bedder huh?

hey hazel
relax and maybe ask for hospital lactation consultant to help u wif breastfeeding. i can feel your helplessness, just hope when my time comes, i will know how and where to call for help. hmm... mil better dun interfere... cos breastfeeding needs perservearance and lots and lots of support... u try hospital lactation consultant first, then maybe u wud like to call Breastfeeding Mothers Support Group Counselling hotline when u face difficulty at home:63393558
jia you!!!

congrats hazel....

KK..

Do you still remember your gals weight at 36weeks?? and why that time you induced at 38 weeks.. i forgotten liao...

Am really in a dilema whether should i go for csect.. cos dun wan to try normal and end up cannot and go for csect.. pain both side... sob.. sob.. dun know how now leh...

dun knw can tahan till 2 week lata nt cos now ain till i cant walk... its nt contraction pain.. doctor say my gal pressing on my muscles leh.. aiyo.. sleep oso got problem..

Good morning ladies!

Hazel **hug hug** dont worry abt the milk supply. let bb latch when possible. can supplement with FM first lor if bb is hungry.... breast milk will soon come...dont worry ....dont think too much of your MIL's comments. Call the helpline Gina gave. U'll probably find some useful help there.

okasan, there r 2 separate letters? oic. thanks for the info. i didnt know that u need the pre-admission form and the gynae letter. The clinic didnt mention abt it. Adrian has only asked me wh hospital i want to deliver in. okie, will ask the nurse for the form next week.

Serene, ya lor, i cooked one simple meal on Sat.. and the standing makes my leg swell
sigh. I notice that the swelling gets really bad in the evenings and esp if the weather is hot. There's no wind at my place these few days. Have to turn on the aircon or fan full blast to make myself comfortable. And i've cut down on housework... just do the bare minimum ...all the prespiration makes me feel worse ...moreover no more energy to do. I find the 3M mop useful. I use that everyday instead of the sweeping and mopping.

kk, yesterday i sounded my mum out abt not having a celebration for my dd... hee hee...she agrees with me (haha! didnt expect that!) I think i will just distribute cakes... and if i have the time, arrange for a dinner for our immediate family. I think convincing my PILs will be simpler cos they dont really bother abt what we do.

Anyone has comments on Choz/ Ecreative? I am thinking of using either or both of them. Or any other good cake shop to use for first mth cake sets?

Hazel,
Congrats to you.. wow u had a real short labour. Dont get upset over the milk issues, I believed it will takes awhile for the bf to come thru'. Do take good care
*Hugz*

Good Morning,

jia lut liao...i am down with flug bugs sinces monday ...and can't sleep thru the nite..hope i won't gave birth this week or else hw am i goin to have to strenght to push....

hazel,

congrats! dun worry abt the milk supply... keep latching on or expressing...so that wont kena blocked duct. milk flow will come in soon... i think right now its still colustrum... use a spoon to collect if u r expressing and feed it to bb... its very good. babies can survive on just colustrum alone for the first few days... but if u r worried, dun be too hard on yourself and supplement with FM... the way to make FM is, every levelled scope of FM mix with 1 oz (30ml) of water). For water temperature, use the gauge of 1/3 hot water, 2/3 normal temperature. If too hot, just swirl a bit over the cold running tap water. I agreed your mil is not very sensitive leh... if u r not comfortable with her lurking around when u r bfg, either tell her directly or get your hb to let her know... i think its your right to privacy. Even my mum seeks my permission before coming in to see if i need any help in bfg... my mil never comes into my room at all.. in fact i locked it... even in hospital, they will not come behind the veil.

morning ladies

Hazel,
congrats on the arrival of ur bb
Dont worry too much bout milk supply cos i heard some moms need like 3-4 days for the supply to come in. And frens around me tell me BF is the toughest for the first 2 weeks, as long as u have the determination to get pass this stage u will be able to BF for sometime

okasan,
TMC also never send me any letter to confirm the ward....haha

Poohy,

U remind me of something.. one afternoon in TMC while i was going to BF, the nurse pulled the veil for me, then dunno why my mil kept wanting to come in. Then she stood by the side, and watched me. When i started to BF, she said "Oh, like tat ah?" Wah peng.. so i assume last time she never do BF at all haha..

Tinklebell,

Wow, that would be good for u
Perhaps u already held a celebration before, so ur mum give it a miss this time

Celeste,

My bb's weight at week 36 was 2.9 kg.

Hmm, At week 37, my blood pressure was 140++/80++. Actually all the way throughout pregnancy, my blood pressure had been like tat. I guess due to work stress
Then my gynae suddenly suggested to go for induce rather than wait till EDD. I was put on CTG and he said since the bb is still very active and already full term (week 37 liao mah), and i am having regular contractions, might as well take the bb out so as not to put her at risk. Therefore, i went for induce in week 38.

Can't bear with the pain anymore? What did ur gynae say? If he prefer u to wait, i think gotta wait lor. Try to go for natural. Sometimes i read on caesarian and feel very scared leh. Slower recovery and more complication for #2.

kk,
I am quite worried my MIL would want to see while I BF. Doubt I will feel comfortable at all... sianz ! Probably will tell hubby to send her mum out
Hehe !!

tinklebell,

Agreed with you! Usually the swell got worsed from evening time. I think because we had walked and sit all the time during the day! The best position to reduce swell is probably by lying down and had the foot raised. Me too, sweat alot! Goodness! It's terrible and I have to turn on the aircon in the living room last nite! I reduce in touching the housework too, hubby did the vacuum and mopping once a week.

I will ask Adrian about the gynae's letter on thurs.

okipoki, was just discussing this with my hub last night. we decided that we will let our dd go for this vaccine. There is another vaccine against Rotavirus and that one is administered by mouth. Rotavirus is known to cause causes severe diarrhea and dehydration in infants. We have decided to give her that too.

tinklebell,
but i read that this pneumoccal vaccine thingy is only for babies 6 mths and above lehz?
Me and hb planning to let our ger go for Rotavirus vaccine also cos we read an article in Motherhood mag and decided its better to be safe

Celesteblur,

Did you tell Adrian that you want to deliver in TMC? As i've asked Adrian about admission matter and he asked me which hospital i preferred, i told him TMC and he asked his nurse to arrange the admission with TMC, that's why i had received the letter and personal particulars form from TMC 2 days ago.

okipoki,

I think if you are not comfortable, it's your right to send those ppl out of the room while you breastfeed. Not all ppl are sensitive. My MIL also not a sensitive person at most times, she's that kind will say what she likes.