(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi hidora,
eh i stil abit confuse leh. eh actually we did it a few times before and after 2nd october hehe.
But suspect its after 2nd Oct leh. So consider sep (chinese). So 09 + my age gg to deliver (age in chinese) then plus 49?

Eh how about the gender predictor chart? accurate to determine gender? cos i m curious leh. but confuse.

Hi kk,
me too today i didnt feel hungry at all and no appetite to eat as compared to yest so hungry. hehe so funny ah. Same as u, i also worried for nothing, like worried bb how ah, n etc. i think its normal reaction.

i think its better to avoid all the Liang things like cold gasy drinks, watermelon, papaya, green tea or watever herbal tea, barley, bean sprouts, n etc. I also read that avoid carrots too. i mean at least avoid all these during the 1st tri. Just be careful will do. hv to really take care.

Best is to eat apple. Oh avoid bananas too. hmm just eat as normal and sufficent n healthy. Avoid oily n spicy food. Also avoid shark fish, sushi, sashimi.

If u want to cook ur own, make sure every single meat/egg/fish or watever have to be cooked well. Dun eat any raw stuffs n etc.

Its normal to feel gasy inside the stomach like wanna vomit, me too feel the same way.

also heard papaya, carrots wil make the bb skin orangish or yellowish so temporary avoid these.

Hi mashy brainz,
Where u bought tis jeans from? online or local?

Hi Lyn!

Oh, luckily i dun take pork liver now heee... because normally i prefer to take pork liver half cooked, especially during steamboat. If pork liver is fully cooked, it becomes very hard. Agree? Then not nice liao hee... since now cannot eat raw or half-cooked stuff, i dun take pork liver for the time being. Will miss it

By the way, i read that half-boiled eggs are no-no. But how come my mil say can eat? She say she ate a lot last time when she was carrying my hubby. And my hubby was borned with very nice complexion haha! Then i teased my hubby say he has lost his baby smooth complexion as he grows older.

Actually i dun like fish. Yucks! Now is like forcing myself to take fish. I do take meat. As usual, chicken and pork, but no lamb. I will miss lamb
Sob!

Hi Kite!

Looks like u are confused over ur conceive date? Haha.. actually me too! So when i check those website-based chinese calendar, i am not even sure which is the date i should key in.

It's very difficult to avoid oily and spicy food in the 1st trimester! I dunno how u ladies manage to do it, for those who avoid. In my 1st trimester, I had cravings for fast food (especially macdonalds fries), laksa, mee siam, etc. Basically anything that is unhealthy. Sometimes i just go ahead and eat because i dun seem to be able to take in any decent meals except these foods. But now in my 2nd trimester, things definitely get better. And funny thing is, no more craving for spicy food at all. I tell my hubby no more laksa or mee siam for me. I dun feel like eating them anymore. Now i go for soup-based stuff. Even simple teochew porridge can make me really happy

Oh yah, do u find urself burp very often?

And i burp really loud! Haha!

Hi KK & Kite,
very hard to control diet especially of the MS. My appettite drop for few days already and i still cant eat much, can feel my stomach growling liaos.. but i take one bite and the neusea feeling come.. worse of all i am confuse by what can be eaten and what cannot be.

now i also burp a lot, else stuck inside my body and i will feel sick.

Hi apple,

Hi kk,
I dun burp very loud... I just feel very bloated since a few days ago. I have been eating those really unhealthy food, maybe that's why I get bloatedness now
. Gotta try to stop all the tit-bits that I have been taking already. And no more curry for me. Cos my bloatedness started right after I took some curry.

I am also very confused of the dates to calculate boy or gal... So did not bother... :p

Y cannot eat lamb? Half boiled egg is a no-no cos scared of bacteria. Nowadays, there are so many diseases around. I will not risk taking half boiled egg during this bird flu season... Last time is different cos our immunity and the types of diseases are different already.

Hi Icy,

Yup, sometimes feel so shiok after burping!

Not to worry about the appetite. I remembered during my first visit to the gynae, i gained 1 kg. Then second visit i gained another 1 kg or so. The gynae asked me whether my parents are on the plump side haha. But third visit, i dropped 1 kg. All these fluctuations due to appetite problems. Sometimes can eat, sometimes can't. But it becomes better in the 2nd trimester
So just hang on

Hi Lyn,

Oh, same as u. I do have urge for tidbits at times. I exert self control. But sometimes can't help it but pamper myself with potato chips :p But i told my hubby i buy one packet this week and that's it. I am not going to buy again next week. Moreover i dun want myself to get heaty.

I did have cravings for curry too!! And chicken curry goes so well with delifrance baguette heee...

Oh, actually my gynae say lamb can eat lah. He say if cannot eat lamb (follow old wives' tales that eating lamb will get fits), then all australians will get fits liao haha!

My mum told me not to eat lor, based on old wives' tales. Lamb is something i can control myself not to eat, so i give it a miss

Yah rite. Although my mil say can eat half boiled eggs, i still insist on not eating them. Surprisingly, i do have love for half boiled eggs before pregnancy. But dunno why after pregnancy, no urge for it.

today the thread is moving real fast. keke. well now i like sweet sour taste, so m i hv a boy or gal lei. hiak hiak

well for soyabean drinks, think it will produce some sort of gas. so especially during our 1st tri, we r always bloated n so drinking soya will make us even worse. so try to avoid
. i m always hungry like every 2-3 hrs, must find food n eat. my workplace now like a mini-mart.. hahaha... stockin up all the biscuits n milk packet drinks

hey apple
thks. i remember u.. we r from the ttc thread
congrats to u too

KK,
I read some books and it said 1-3mths.. good enough to put on 1 kg.. whole preggy put on 10 kg enough. I have a ex-colleague who strictly follow this and she was back to her own figure after 4 mths of delivery.. tummy also flat flat.

Hi Icy,

Yah, my hubby do have many friends who went back to their original figure soon after they delivered. Envy! There is even one with 3 children and now carrying her 4th one! Tall and slim

Hi Dor,

Me also craving for sweet and sour, depends on the food. My colleague likes sweet, so she is having a bb girl
Her sister used to love sour and craving for pineapple, so she had a bb boy
But i dun think this is very accurate though.

I only started taking soya milk in my 2nd trimester because i heard bad things about drinking soya milk (which i dun really buy in but nonetheless i give benefit of doubt) so i avoided it in 1st trimester.

U can really eat well! Keep it up

Afternoon Ladies,

Erm, I'm a bit KS, so whatever the mag say dun eat, I will just keep away from it. Like they say no carrots, so I seldom eat carrots. Anyway, everything in moderation should be ok.

And ya, I believe that mutton is old wives' tale, but I wun die from not eatting it for 9 mths, hehe, so avoid also.

As for half boiled eggs, I think really cannot leh... Cos they contains salmonella. Thou I'm not sure does salmonella exist in all eggs or only ang moh countries eggs.

Hehe, there are gender prediction charts, but every charts give me different prediction leh... I see liao also blur...

Actually they say the best way to know is from your gamble luck.. eg 4D, mahjong. My fren whose wife is carrying a ger has been very heng in mahjong. And my mom also say very zhun cos when she had me, she striked lottery, but when she had my bro, she kena summons. Hehe, it's all for the fun of it... Since it's still a long way before we can know the gender, so wun hurt to do some self prediction.

Ya, I agreed that the sour preferences is not accurate.. Cos my mom loves sour things when she had me, and she stayed away from sour things when she had my bro..

Hi kk,
Me too how ah hehe i also dunno e exact conceive date (sep or oct)? probably i can check w my gynac since tml i wil be meeting her up for my 1st appointment. Then she wil tell me how many weeks my bb wil be n from there i can determine?

Ask u. do u trust those gender predictor chart? have u tried it? accurate anot? i cant confirm my conceive mth so abit confuse.

Wow u stil eat Mac, mee siam and laska ah! For me actually all along i seldom take oily food so for now, also the same, i love to eat rice w soup.

btw do u all drink herbal or tonic soups? cos last nite MIL boiled tang gui soup, good for bb?

Hi Lyn,
Eh i m not so sure whether to eat more pork liver cos i read that liver not to be taken too much cos contains high vit A and too much vit A not so gd for bb. Correct me if i m wrong.

Ya better dun take those half boiled egg, better cook all food thoroughly then eat.

Hi icy,
me too. like yest i was so hungry craved for everything. but today i dun feel hungry at all, instead after eating a small bite, i feel bloated n full liao, something like indigestion feeling. Just dun overeat. Eat small quantity, once full then stop.

btw where got sell nice maternity clothes locally? hv u thought of buying through online from other country's website?

btw since i discovered my pregnancy, i stopped putting lipstick cos heard not so good. But i stil put light makeup like powder n blusher, except lips. But i did apply abit of lipbalm esp when inside air-con office.

Also last mth, i did highlight my hair w streaks that was b4 i discover my pregnancy. Think hard to maintain now, wil highlight or dye again after bb delivery.

Hmm i m stil wearing the same office clothings and heels to work. hmm guess hv to slowly change heels to flats n slowly change to maternity clothes.

Hi Hidora,

My hubby did strike 4D twice when i am pregnant haha! But it is those small amount from I-bet leh :p

If money luck then bb boy or girl?

By the way, are quail eggs ok, if we put bird flu aside? Of course fully cooked quail eggs.

Hi Kite,

Actually i tried once for gender predictor chart. What are the ones u tried before? My colleague passed me one. She downloaded from dunno which website. And mine supposed to be bb girl. Then i tried on another website mentioned by one of the mtms in the forum. It told me bb boy for whatever possible conceive dates i keyed in. That makes me wonder whether i should believe it or not heee..

For my conceive dates, they are just exactly one week apart, because me and my hubby only have the mood on weekends haha! So it must be those two sundays. And one is the last sunday of July and the other is the first sunday of August. So because they belong to different months, when it comes to predictor charts, there may be a difference in results lor.

Good for your healthy diet! I have no appetite for plain stuff during my 1st trimester. Mainly i find them tasteless. But now i go for healthy meals
I boil my own soup today. Then will be steaming egg with minced meat, and also maybe steam bean curd with silverfish for dinner too

My mum did not boil any tonic soup for me in my 1st trimester as they believe it is still early. Recently then my mum started boiling black chicken soup. And she has bought bird nest for me but told me to only start eating it from 4 mths onwards. She say dun waste because they are expensive haha! I think only when the bb develops, then can absorb the nutrients from tonic.

Hi Kite,

i dun put on makeup at all. Plain lazy :p

ignorance is bliss. Before u know u are pregnant, everything u do shouldn't matter. Before i know i was pregnant, the school gave us a treat at sakura restaurat for teachers' day dinner. U know what? I have my whole tummy filled with salmon sashimi! haha! And i ate ice cream, white cabbage, etc etc whatever is no-no for bb.

I changed to flats immediately after i confirmed pregnant. Dun like it because i am not tall so i prefer to face my students and stand in front of the classroom in my heels. Just too bad
U have no leg problems like cramps or backaches so far in ur heels?

For first three months, i heard from colleague to dress as per normal. Just pretend nothing's happening and let nature takes its course. Of course, if u can't fit into ur normal clothes anymore, then have to change to maternity wear liao :p

So far i only bought my maternity wear from kiddy palace. I haven't worn them yet as they still look big on me. My tummy's showing but can still fit into normal wear with no colleagues knowing i am pregnant haha!

i dun think i will try online shopping for maternity clothes
Still prefer to try them on or take a better look before i decide to purchase or not

Dor, don't munch too much just had 1 or 2 pcs to ease the hunger will do. Else u will blow up very fast on your weight.

About soya bean milk, take it moderately is alright. Try to avoid green beans soup and barley during 1st tri. I vomitted badly due to green beans soup and barlet drinks.

lyn, how come u vegetarian now ah?? purposely changed your diet?
avoid watermelon, banana, pineapple and papaya for 1st tri. Thereafter can take a lil of papaya and banana. I totally avoid watermelon till to-date

kk, got money luck = ger... hehe, should go buy more then...

As for my case, my hb say confirm boy, cos he keeps getting summons despite the fact he placed coupons... lol. Now he dun dare to play mahjong, cos he's scared that he will lose.

Anyway, do you know your ovulation date? Ovulation cannot be one week apart one mah, so just take the date closest to your ovulation lor.

I have tried the charts before also... results very blur, one say boy, one say ger...

Actually all eggs are okay lah, as long as fully cooked. Unless you have been hving cough, then must avoid else will cough even more jia lat.

kite, suntec got nice maternity wear. The floor above Tower Records, where Toys R Us is, got quite many shops for bb and mothers.. can go there to check it out. I do not know the price, but my fren who just given birth said it's not expensive.

allo gals

juz to add for those who hv outbreak or sentitive skin. Last couple wks, I experience dry skin only at the nose and lip area & abit of outbreak after my facial. So i think i will stop goin facial for the time being.

I use vasaline for the dry area and change my facial wash. think it's too strong for me now. bought cetaphil (think it spelled like that) with PH of 6.5. $13.80 for 500ml. A very mild wash and can b used for body wash too. though more expensive than the norm wash, my skin have went back to normal now.
Well i m too vain..hahaha

I still put on light make-up to work. cant go out w/o them... kekeke.

hi kite
i just went to get a pair of pants at motherwork. keke. if not i dun hv any more clothes to wear. wahahaha. And I hv stopped wearing normal heels to work, jus those 1-inch covered slip-on heel. it's more comfy

hi apple,
i lost weight after gainin 1kg cos i got no appetite initally. no worries, my biscuits are all in small pack. i cant eat much too. 1 or 2 pieces, i m full already. cant imagine i m hungry now.. i juz ate at 12.15pm but i didnt finish cos the food is no good...hahaha

Oh yaya, one more myth...

They say if the mother becomes very vain during pergnancy, then it's a bb ger.

Hi Apple,

Best to avoid green beans soup and barley too as they are very cooling. My hubby didn't even allow me to eat tau suan and carrot cake.

Hi Hidora,

No summons when my hubby never place coupons when he drive company car back haha! But well, maybe this sengkang area nobody check, so very seldom get summon actually.

Hmmm, must ask my hubby go play mahjong this sat, see whether he win or not :p

Ohhh, so for me, should be the sunday in july lor since it is closer to my ovulation date :p

Yah, the area at suntec city there is now something like kids mall. Lots of kids stuff and maternity wear. Spring maternity is there and some other shops. Very nice tops there

I gotta go cook porridge now. Feeling hungry since just now before i went out to do some marketing.

dear all

hihi..wow.. this thread is moving so fast. i didnt know preggies cant take bean sprouts. i have been eating them. i better stop.
i also dont dare to take biscuits. when i had some biscuits last week, they gave me sore throat, followed by flu.

i havent started wearing any maternity clothes. i have been wearing my hubby's clothes during weekends and on weekdays, i still put on my work clothes. i try to unzip my skirt when im sitting cause they are getting too tight.

where did you guys get the gender prediction chart? i cant wait to see whether i having a boy or girl.

Hi Ryue,

I took some bean sprouts too. Didn't know cannot eat them.

Probably the biscuits cause heatiness. Drink more water the next time u munch on ur biscuits

Me too. Feel very uncomfortable now in skirts. Dun think i can fit in my skirts anymore.

hidora,
gambling luck refer to mummy only or daddy as well?

ryne,
just search"chinese pregnancy chart" or something like that. there will be one there. :D
i can fit in A-line skirt.. just lift them higher.. hahaha

hi ryue,

raw bean sprouts cannot be taken. but cooked one should be okay.. if you go outside and eat, sometimes they just throw the bean sprouts into the soup without cooking it, those dun eat. Also, same goes with sprouts that you add to salads raw.. cannot eat. aiya, avoid them is the best unless they are cooked.

okok, for ladies interested to perdict gender, my mom got this from her fren who tested it on lots of pregnant women and claimed it was 100% accruate.

1) Take 49 + the mth you conceived (lunar cal)
* conceived date is near ovulation date
2) Minus the age you conceived (lunar cal)
* if you are 28 this yr, you are 29 in lunar cal
3) Add 19.

Check the total number, even = girl, odd = boy

Have fun... hehe

hi icy, refers to both parent.

for me I can't tell, cos I dun gamble nor play mahjong... but my hubby has been rather sway lately.. lol..

anyway, if I used the method I've just posted, it should be a bb ger... so until the detailed scan, I cant tell you which of my method is the most zhun... but just have fun lah.. heheh

Hi Icy,

Must ask hidora about the gambling luck liao. If only for mummy, then no hope cos i dun gamble at all haha! I dun even buy the simplest 4D, let alone mahjong :p

Hi Hidora,

I am still confused leh.. wait wait.. let's say i give u two conceived dates i.e. 31 July and 7 Aug and my ovulation date is 18th. So what is my conceived date?

If i take 31 July, then it will be odd. But if i take 7 Aug, it will be even. Boy and girl situation again

hidora & KK,
my hb gamble lah, recently also lost in his MJ hahhaa.. the calculations is odd number too.. i shall see.. heehee actually i prefer bb girl.

Hi kk,

erm erm... ok, why dun you take the first day your last menses start, then add 14 days to it (assuming that yours is a 28 day cycle). That would be your ovulation date. And conception will occur right on ovulation itself (if a sperm is already waiting there), or at most 1 day after. Do all these in the western cal, then convert to lunar after you got the exact date.

Use this website to convert
http://umunhum.stanford.edu/~lee/chicomp/lunar.html

Hi icy,

so calculation says it's a boy, and gamble luck also says it a boy... hehehe.... if it's accruate, then you will be having a prince soon!

So now you can see whether you got become more vain (vain = bb ger), or you think you actually look more radiant as compared to you were pregnant (radiant = bb boy).

Hi Hidora,

Heeee.. i think i have given u the wrong date. 18th July should be my last menses date, and not ovulation date.

Hi lyn,

need u to help me update my EDD liao...its been delay to 16th jun..haiz..thot 1st child will cum earli..

cookiemz,....

how r u all...long time nv c u in here liao..hows ur spotting?mine got better liao.not much..onli nheed to eat the duphston for 1 more week then no need...yehhh...but now i starting to vomit liao..yesterday at gynae,coz need to drink water for the scanning,i drank a btl of ribena...end up aft the chkup soon i vomitted all of it..

Hi hidora,
wow u really like expert leh hehe. Before we discovery my pregnancy, my hubby got 3 to 4 car park summons last mth leh, does it count?

My first day of my last menses was 13 Sep. So shld be 27 Sep after add 14 days. Does this mean it the bb conceiving month? Which means it shld be Aug (lunar)....and finally the calculations is a bb boy leh. hmm me stil confuse leh. not very sure.

Hi kk,
i dunno when to change to flats cos too used wear heels though my heels not very high one (short one).

Hi ryue,
me too same as u. now stil wearing my office skirts n pants n shirts. I unzip half of my office skirts downwards n lock it so that wont unzip all the way down hehe as for pants, i wil zip up all the way but i didnt button it hehe. cos my shirt is enough to cover the front.

i got my predictor gender chart from motherhood.com.sg. try it.
just for fun lah, hmm not sure zhun bo.

Hi Hidora,

ya ya, my EDD is 1st may. I came in to kaypo after seeing kite here.. haha.. because i get to know her in another thread before this

I am talking in all three threads.. april, may and June :p

My mum told me first delivery is most likely to be earlier. So i predict i may deliver in April.

Hi Lyn, Dor, Poohmum,
WOW... big big big congratulation to u... Feel so happy for u esp Dor & Lyn, jus din chat thru msn abt 1-2wk, know the good news over there...
pls take good care esp during wk7-wk12...

The less of MTB, congratulation too...

muwahahah, kite, I'm the expect of myth.... everything also hear, everything also try...

think still counted leh... I heard that the luck change since the starting of the pregnancy. psst psst, ask you hubby go play mahjong and try luck.. ;p

Yup, you got the conceiving mth rite, it's Aug in the lunar cal. So just take 49+8-(your lunar age)+19, then if based on the claim that it's 100% zhun, means you will have a prince too.. hehe..

Hi kk, so so, calculate it's a prince or a princess liao mah? ;p But but I heard from a lot that first delivery is later leh.. my fren pop at week 41. Wait till my another fren gives birth in Dec, then I tell you earlier or later.

kpo here again...:p

dor/kk/gals,
change the eating habit n pattern think its normal for preggie woman like us.. when i m having my 1st boy 8yrs ago, i can eat anything w/o MS esp curry & spicy, in the end turn up my boy very good eat spicy food sinse 2yrs...

but for tis time, dunno why i eat very less of chilli & the less the food i love, but appetite still ok jus tat headache wat to eat when meal time..
overall still ok..

i also din know cannt take bean sprout.. but i din take watermelon, papaya, pineapple.. anyway think everything in moderation, shld be ok lor...

was really ill this morning with MS. Went to puke 4 times in the morning

There was no food, only liquid. I feel really crappy now. And no appetite to eat lunch either.
Have to try to remain at work cuz there is so much work to do.

Anyone experiencing bad MS too ? What do you guys eat ?

I tried fruits this morning, but it came out 30 mins after eating

*miserable*

Hi Loving,

Thanks for your wishes!!

Hi Kite,

U sound so excited.. are u hoping for a boy? Haha...

Actually after we got married, i was hoping for a girl because i always believe girls are more lovable and closer to the mother's heart, just like the relationship i have with my mum

But i know if i am having a bb boy, everybody will be extremely happy. My hubby plays better with boys compared to girls. He is the only son (have an elder sis who is unmarried yet) and my in laws will defintely be very happy. Well, needless to say, the grandparents too. And as far as we know, the grandparents have no great-grandson yet.

And in my teaching job, i have seen girls who are very much notorious than boys. When girls dun listen and turn rebellious, it really causes a lot of headaches.

So well, there are plus and minus lah. Me and my hubby will be happy as long as bb healthy and happy

I also not sure when is the appropriate time to change to flats. I guess its up to individuals. For me, i am a bit clumsy type, so to be on the safe side, i changed to flats immediately :p

Hi K Ong,

Oh dear, just bear with ur MS and get going with ur work. Sometimes i find that work helps me to forget about my MS. But of course, when MS gets too bad, nothing can help.

I also saw my colleague throw up very often in her earlier months. She is very sensitive to all tastes and smells too. Taste or smell something not to her liking and she will puke immediately.

Hi Hidora,

Think based on the calculation, should be a bb boy haha.. anyway if turn out to bb girl, i think should be my own calculation or my memory fails me :p because u say the calculation prety accurate

hidora,
actually i thought i look more and more aunty after my wedding.. hahaha.

yah my friends also first child all delay delivery one.

kite & kk,
the chart also show male bb.. *peng* Me also like KK prefer ger ger.

hi angeline,

been working on and off so not much time to come in here. my spotting came back 2 times in the past week, so now on mc till my gynae appt next week.. now back on jabs too
yeeoowch..

saw my gynae this morn and was very happy to see my bb moving its hands and legs during the scan!!! but my bb measurement abit small i think... coz my # of weeks got pushed back a few days. wat's your bb size now??

Hi Icy,

Another reason why i like ger ger is i can't resist the bb clothes for girls! haha! u know they look soooo cute
I like especially those in pink heee...

If have ger ger, i can doll her up

Hi Lyn.

My last visit I visited Dr SL GOH, cos I kanna referred by polyclinic to A&E. Then subsequent visit was in Clinic A which is private. However, from next week, I will be in Clinic C. So I not sure will it be a gynae or MO...

Poohmum

Hi kk,
hehe in fact i also like bb ger can doll her up pretty pretty hehe actually we hv no preference on boy or girl. But bcos of my curiousity i m very interested to know. hehe.

Hi Hidora,
eh my hubby never play mahjong one leh. how abt 4D? if no strike, means? hehe

Hi k ong,
u must take care ah. few days ago, i also not feeling good, vomit 2 to 3 times after dinner. And i felt better after vomitting. Try to avoid oily food which wil make u feel bloated n cause indigestion. My MIL also ask me not to worry and dun think abt it. Just do things as normal but rest more n slp earlier at nite.

tmr wil be my 1st appointment w gynac. Though i m quite worried now, dunno y, worried for nothing again.