(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

thanks. btw i heard that bird nest considered Liang so at the moment i dun take bird nest. this is wat my MIL told me. maybe after 1st tri, then wil take.

Hi lyn,
Thank you so much for putting our EDDs into a table.^__^

Hi ryue,
I am on 4 days MC also due to gastric pain. Feel a bit guilty but really no choice. I try not to worry so much about work. To me now, baby comes first ^__^

Hi Kite,
I bought some maternity clothes also, it is a bit fast though. I realise that i can't wear most of my clothes now without feeling so tight.

Hi K Ong,
Are you asking me about Dr Chan. If yes, he is from Gleneages, not MtE leh. He is very skillful cos he removed my fibroid one yr ago. However, his fees is at the high side. In fact, Many advise me try to get a good gynea which is most important if is affordable.

hi ryue,
i m seeing dr. yvonne chan at TMC. hmm probably suggest u buy office pants and skirts first cos most of the time we will be wearing office wears to work. so i just buy first as i already cant fit into my officewear. too tight.

Hmm got any mi xue how to slim down after delivery?

Hi lyn,
hehe no waving but can heard e heartbeat really touched til cried. me look so stupid crying in front of gynac n her assistant.

Aiyo, my constipation was really bad... I was battling in the toliet for more than half an hour... Somemore now I also cant stand veges... I think it's only going to get worse....
Anyone MTBs suffering from constipation too?

Hi ryue, I think it's like that. While those MTBs working envy those not working, I wish I had something to do. I'm so bored at home doing nothing... And time really crawls..

Hi K Ong, I think your child can apply for duel citizenship first. Then drop one when s/he is 21.

hi hidora,

can try drinking a little prune juice everyday.. it is very effective for relieving constipation. if you dun like veges, try to eat more fruits, it helps too

hi ryue,

are you feeling better now? read abt your condition in another thread..

hi kite,

glad you heard your bb's heartbeat today
i think u will tear again when you see your bb waving the next time, heehee
i was so overwhelmed when i saw my bb wriggling during the scan and so relieved that things are progressing

Good morning gals!

Hi Evamtb,
Dr Chan though expensive, but he's good rite? How much do you pay at each visit? Does he charge consultation and scanning? How much?

Hi kite,
I dunno if I will be like you when I see my gynae this Saturday :p. I have never seen baby's heartbeat in my last two pregnancies. I am suppose to see gynae to see the heartbeat last week, so I suppose this week, maybe can see baby swimming inside me.

Hi Hidora,
I am taking a fibre supplement, so going to the toilet is not a problem
If you cannot stomach vege, try to eat more fruits

I wish I do not have to work in future too
. I have lots to do at home, so not really bored. My hubby said I am an expensive maid :p I seem to have some housework to do daily...

Hi Kite,
I might have missed your previous posting to update the table. Who is your gynae? When is your EDD? And which hospital are you considering to deliver in?

Wah.. some of you gals have already outgrown your pants or skirts... I haven't... But now I got more fats when I squeezed my waist...
333501.gif
Maybe I got lots of fats in my tummy for my baby to squeeze on... lol...
333502.gif
I am not growing so fast this pregnancy. HOpe it's good news.
Fingers crossed.
333503.gif

Hi Kite!

Wow, ur first shopping trip for maternity wear cost u that much liao heee...

My first visit ah.. i didn't cry lah.. i was just very relieved because i had spotting mah. I only cried at home during the evening i got spotting. Other visits i will smile, not cry :p

Yah, it's really amazing. When it comes to week 12, u can see the bb very active and playing around, that's even more satisfying and cute

Btw, urs isn't a V-probe? Ultrascan on first visit liao ah?

My gynae say all chinese herbs are fine. So dang gui should be ok. He say some pple commented on some chinese herbs as no no, but then we and our parents are not born stupid hahaa...

Do u find the maternity pants u bought still very large and sag down?? I tried on maternity pants at kiddy palace and find them so weird!! So i didn't buy any last weekend.

Ur appetite is normal lah. I also gained around 1-1.5 kg on my 1st visit. Third visit i lost 1 kg liao haha. And u find ur appetite will fluctuate lor. Hmm, until now when i weigh myself, i dun think i gain much also. Because i have only started really eating well this week. Imagine i bear with my MS till 15th week.

This week seems to be very peaceful for me. Appetite good and minimal MS (only feel slight nauseous at times). I hope i am not getting paranoid again. Hopefully the bb is growing well inside me.

I dunno any mi jue to slim down after delivery. Sometimes i do worry lah, but then think of the bb will forget about the problem of slimming down liao cos bb more important haha.

My sis in law asked pple to come and massage before, but never slimmed down. She went exercise regularly with my brother, then slimmed down soon after that
Perhaps exercise is still the key to slimming down
But then i am a lazy person, dunno how :p

Hi Hidora,

For me, it also came to a point i dun like veg at all. My intake of veg and fruits became low. U eat fruits? For me, i dun have passion for fruits too! But i still manage to clear my bowels every morning. except for 2-3 occasions when i only cleared my bowels once every 2 days. I tend to remove bowels more regularly in my 1st trimester. I dunno why also haha.. sometimes get woken up in the morning just to run for the toilet, especially weekends when i intended to sleep late.

I think there is medicine for constipation. Can check it out with the gynae

Hi Rest of the ladies,

Hope everybody feeling fine today!
Wow, u all fortunate, can sleep as late as before during 1st trimester. For me, 1st trimester, i knocked out at 830pm on the sofa haha.. i never finished my SCV show during that period. It's only this week or so that i sleep after ten.

Hi Evamtb, yes yes sorry i meant GlenE
Yup, heard he's good and expensive ! haahaaa
Depending on wte my gynae will be ard during my delivery in June, Dr Chan will be my back up, so wanna just ask how he is from your first hand experience!

Just a question... Been feeling that my sickness has toned down. i mean, I am happy it has toned down bu Dr. Fong told me that if I have sickness etc, it means my babies are developing. So.... if it's toned down, are my babies fine? Just a bit worried now.

Constipated as well. usually go everyday but now, once every few days. So terrible.

People are telling me to eat more fish but I just can't stand the smell. Can't seem to tolerate alot of smell. I was walking past a lady eating macdonalds chicken wrap and I felt sick already. Are you all like that as well?

Also, does your gyne gives you multi-vits? I only had folic acid.

Yeah.. when we first saw the blinking heart beat of my babies last week, I was so in awe as well. Such a miracle. Am seeing Dr Fong tonight. Looking forward to "seeing" my babies again. ;)

KK,
My mil keep telling me to drink chicken essence but i havent cos i thought first tri better dun take any tonic one. but anyway i still kanna cos mil will boil soup now a days.

kite,
me too conceieve ard the 1st week of oct. :D Me also like that hear bb heartbeat.. so touch.. keep smiling after that.

i havent buy maternality clothes, too werid for me, just buy soem drawstring pants from Gio. get 2" bigger and can last me few more mths. :p

lyn,
add me in?
EDD: 29-06-06 Gynae: Dr Yeoh Swee Choo
hospital: Mount E.

Girls,
must all take care of ur health, yesterday I worked too stress and nearly faint in office and had cramps.. today i had to work from home.

Hi MTBs

Is snakehead ("sang-yu") safe for us preggies? Craving for fish soup but worried about the fish they use... I heard mackeral, shark, tuna, and cod are complete no-no for us...

Hi Lilfeets,

I was not as sensitive to smells as u heee... i can still tahan what pple eat, but then i no appetite myself :p

I dun get MS until week 9. Then it goes all the way (quite bad sometimes, with headaches!) till last week (week 14). This week die down liao. So like u, worried!! PPle say it's natural for MS to die down once 2nd trimester is here and mine actually only die down in week 15. But then i still paranoid, dunno bb doing well or not.

My gynae has been supplementing me with folic acid, neurogain fish oil and also obimin multivitamins. In 1st trimester, i took specifically vitamin E too.

Oh ya, like u, i can't stand fish too!! My mil cook fish and i smell i feel sick.

Hi Icy,

It should be ok to drink some tonics lor. Elders mean well when they boil soup. And they are really delicious leh heeee... for me, i can't boil such nice soups like my mum. I can only enjoy the soups every saturday only.

Aiyoh, do take care ya!! Luckily i dun have signs of fainting in my 1st trimester. I did have signs of fainting 2-3 times when i had my menses before. Basically my body system not very strong type lor.

Hi Ryue,

No tuna??? I took a lot of tuna sandwich liao. Cod is no-no? Aren't fish oil made from cod fish oil?

Hi ryue

Thanks for the concern. i am here sitting at home, wondering whether to go for a 2nd opinion. I would also want my hubby to be there with me this time if i go cos the last pregnancy when i was told no heartbeat (and subseq a mc), i was there alone. Unfortunately he has no more leave to take, somemore got to work on Sat. I'm so scared to think about it. Only pray hard now lor.

Hi ryue,

Are sardines ok??

Actually i dunno which fishes are deep sea and which are not haha.. and i guess my mum and mil dunno also. Cos older generations dun really bother about mercury content. They just think that eating fish is good.

Hi icy,
Congratulations on seeing your baby heartbeat

Hi Lilfeets,
I cannot stand deep fry. I wanna puke when I walk pass deep frying stall, or the fast-food. I am very sensitive to oily stuffs now... Even butter smells awful now...

I am taking multi-vitamins, folic acid and calcium pills. My case could be different

kk,
I read somewhere canned food are not so good too.

Alyy,
Do have a good rest

It's definitely better to have your hubby with you
Can he take time off?

Alyy, am also worried like you. Am seeing Dr Tseng this saturday and hubby is working so cannot take day off. btw, where is your doc located? I am at TMC. What time is your appointment?

KK,
this is what I found on some brouchures that some mummies passed to me.

Fish that you should avoid during pregnancy.
- big, deep sea fishes such as shark, swordfish and king mackerel may have elevated levels of methyl mercury and could harm the developing foetus

- shellfish (for exampkle oyster), shshi and sashimi are not good choice during opregnancy becos they may be contaminated with bacteria.

anyway my gynae says everything also can eat as long as eat moderately.

Lyn

Difficult for my hubby to take time off again as he had done so a few times for the sake of our new house. I'm not sure if there are any gynaes that see patients at night. Pls let me know if there are.

Emily
My current gynae is in JB. He operates on Sun so my hubby can accompany me then. It's just the wait till Sun makes me going crazy.

this morning I was reading abt Blighted Ovum i.e. no embryo developing despite normal pregnancy. This is usually due to chromosomal abnormalities. I hope mine is not the case (as i have done PDG which supposed has tested for chromosomal abnormalities), but seems similar to my situation now.

Anybody heard of this or have gone through this?

Alyy,
There are gynaes that see patients at night one. I came across a few, but forgotten their names off hand. I know there's one at Bishan, one at Bukit Panjang. Where do you stay?

hmm... blighted ovum better than molar pregnancy leh... Try not to scare yourself by reading all these ;) Go have some rest

emily,
I am also seeing my gynae this Saturday
But mine is at Gleneagles.

hi hidora,
do drink more plain water n eat more fruits apples or pears, wil help constipation.

Hi cookiemz,
i hope i wont tear on the 2nd appointment, dare not liao, so paiseh hehe. Hope i can control.

Hi lyn,
dun think too much, just pray n definitely u will get to sure ur bb's heartbeat. Btw my bb is now so small only a few mm leh. 1st time see it inside me so i cried. i find its really a miracle.
My gynac is Dr. Yvonne Chan at TMC. EDD shall be 1 July 05.

Hi kk,
since bb is stil small, 1st time using scope? through the vagina to do ultrasound scan so that resolution is clearer.
I bought my maternity clothings at a shop called "perfect mum" at suntec. The office wear really comfortable, doesnt look like maternity wear and today i m wearing my maternity black office skirt, very comfortable as if wearing nothing cos cant feel it. The material very soft. there is tis side elastic band can be adjustable n best thing can be wear til 9th mth.
y dun u go n take a look there. Its better to wear now as it allows you to let your stomach grows bigger freely.
My appetite not very good recently though easily hungry. Like my taste bud is tasteless one.

Hi icy,
hehe same here. This morning, i felt nauseous n nearly vomit. These few morning, dun feel that good. Gynac said coming 8 to 12wks hv to take care n more MS wil come. btw bb is now 6wks plus. urs?

dun eat tuna as contains high mecury. Sardines shld be okie eat moderate wil do. recently, i feel quite tired and appetite not very good leh.

Btw i m taking folic acid and vitamin C as well. heard that vit c is good. anyway i hv been taking vit c all along since when i was younger to prevent flu.

Hi Kite,

First time i see my bb i think it is only about 0.6 cm. Then second appt which is a week later, it is around 1.3 cm. Third visit it is 5.3 cm. Hopefully tomorrow i am able to see the bb grow healthily and bigger. Hope to see the body shape. That time only see one hand waving and also the head with two eyes. Dunno the gynae got bluff me those are eyes or not haha... he say some things he say for entertainment value only :p

Yah, think u went for the V probe, through the vagina. I went through that twice. Dun like the feeling
Prefer the ultrascan on the tummy
More comfortable

Oh, i just read from other thread that perfect mum having sales. 10% discount rite? Some items 30% discount?

If tomorrow check up shows that everything is ok, then i will pamper myself with more maternity wear :p Meanwhile i am very worried!!

Yah, got to be prepared for more MS. And try not to get heaty. Else headaches also come!! I was experiencing that for 3-4 times during the past 2-3 weeks and it was really horrible

Hi kk,
hehe ur bb measured at 0.6cm was at which week?
hehe really wave ah? lol

Eh actually using V probe is fine, i feel nothing. but after everything done n we left TMC, then i felt my stomach cramped, i guess bcos of the v probe.

Yes some of the items got 10 to 30% discount and i bcame the VIP member liao (above $200). hehe cos bought $300+.

Dun worry, everything wil be fine.

me too got abit of sore throat these days n i tried eat apples and drink more water n feel much better. Hmm but whenever these few morning i wake up, i dun feel my usual self, like very different feeling leh. dunno how to describe. guess MS coming find me soon liao.

Hi Kite,

Hmmm, 0.6 cm was at 7.1 week.

Yah lor, can see the hand straight up and then the bb swimming here and there haha... very cute

I am only the member of kiddy palace now. I think spend $100 plus can become member liao. Seems like i am the only who spent the least hahaha... was tempted to buy avent milk bottles and other things when we dropped by mothercare last week. But didn't get anything in the end :p Maybe wait for metro offer (i saw wide range at metro too) or some other offers. I read some mtbs are aiming for christmas sales

I already kena sore throat and flu right after my first visit to gynae. I wanted an MC, dun wanna go to work so got to visit the GP haha... the GP knew i was pregnant as i went to her for urine test so she said she could only prescribe very light medicine. Luckily my flu not serious. I just took the flu tablets twice that's it. I didn't even take the headache medicine and logenzes :p

Surprisingly, i always feel nauseous in the evening when the clock striked exactly 4! I dun feel anything in the morning. So i tell my hubby mine is not "morning" sickness.. should be "evening" sickness haha... Luckily my school was in revision and exam period, so i can come home early in the past 2 months. When i reached home then i started feeling nauseous :p If i had morning sickness, dunno how i can tahan the rest of the day.

Hi kk,
ic hehe mine is now 0.2cm at 6wks+. Coming 8 weeks will be my 2nd appointment, so look forward to see my bb again
dunno y i feel like very protective since i got pregnant, like talk to my bb before i slp, saying i wil protect her/him. silly me.

Hi Kite,

You will find 8 weeks very long haha... sometimes just feel like going to the gynae every week to make sure bb is ok.

Aiyoh, i more siao. Whenever i reach home from outside, i will tell bb "bb, we come home liao" hahahahaa... then if i cook, i will tell bb "bb, mummy cook nice nice for u to eat tonite"

hi kite

congrats on seeing ur bb's heartbeat. very amazing hor. wait till u say their arms n legs moving
. my last visit was in wk 8, nxt one is wk12.. now wait till my neck long long liao. wan to see how much bb has progress...

u bought so much clothes liao.. wahahah. if u are petite in size, u can try m)phosis, they got alot of babydoll top n dress. keke. i bought 1 maternity pant at motherwork (the one at great world) very nice slim cut n comfortable.

Hi Kite,

U mentioned before that u wanna an online diary or something similar to keep record of ur pregnancy?

There is this journal sold at spring maternity. It is priced at $25.90. But if u got buy this chinese magazine on pregnancy, u can find one booklet of coupons inside. The journal can then be purchased at $19.90

Hi kk,
yup have to wait 2 weeks to go for my 2nd appointment meaning bb in 8th week. I took leave for the appt in the morning and after appt, wil go shopping then go home n rest. Thanks for the info on the diary. Hmm probably i wil do my own hardcopy diary album and wil paste the scan photos and bills inside album n next time can show my bb.

Hi Dor,
thanks. hmmm eh actually i m (quite small size) petite in size and the shop assistant at Perfect mum told me they got smaller size maternity clothes for my size cos i went Mothercare n etc, all the clothes seems too big for me. Hmm actually yest i also bought a halter top (something like bb doll dress) and i think i wil wear a cardigarn over it cos i very scare of cold one. but that wil be near 5th mth when bb is bigger.

hi cookiemz,

Me every day sleeps till about ten, have lunch, then sleep again till 5pm, have dinner then lie down on sofa and watch tv to kill time till eveln plus. hee hee

dear alyy
My sis has given birth and her gynae is at Sun plaza. Pretty good as you get 2 bedded room at tmc but pay 4 bedded room price. He has night clinic too. I used to go jb every week before I am pregnant, now my hubby refused to bring me there. Must be very tiring to travel there on sunday huh.

hi lilfeets
How many weeks are you now? I am 11 weeks 2 days and I am oso under dr fong yang. I had bad ms too since week 5 but it starts to get better these few days too, though my cramps are pretty bad and I have to walk like an old woman. hee. I used to feel hungry every half an hour but now it is so much better
cheers and hope we will be well!

Hi Kite,

Ohhh, i mistaken.. thought ur second appt is 8 weeks later haha sorry leh, me blur
Ok, two weeks is not a long way to go
I think after that, ur subsequent visits should be a mth apart until 3rd trimester

Haha, yah, actually just now while telling u the journal, i sudenly thought of the scan photos. Should stick them nicely in the album
When i went to spring maternity that day, i forgot to ask them for a look at the journal. So dunno nice or not
kao_confused.gif

Some mtbs will feel very cold in air con rooms. Having cardigan is a good idea
For me, so far, ok. I can't stand hot as it will give me headaches when it gets too unbearable. I am so glad it's raining now

Hi Pebbles,

What is actually inside the journal? I read from the magazine that it is like a diary where we can write and it also has information and past experiences contributed by preggies.

Glad to know that ur MS is going off
Mine only goes off this week (Wk 15+). But feeling nauseous on and off, but really, considered nothing as compared to what i was having in 1st trimester.

U are now having a more controlled appetite as compared to eating lots. For me, transiting to eating lots from no appetite

Btw, i have opted for TMC 2-bedded room. And it was so funny. We were shown the choices at my gynae clinic and there was this "bed with balcony" and "bed without balcony" option. We thought there is really going to be a balcony!
Then the senior nurse explained to us that balcony refers to window only (further from toilet). So i chose bed without balcony as i want to be near the toilet. I guess we would need the toilet for convenience after giving birth. And also cheaper by $20

hi pebbles

do u have the contact for the gynae at sun plaza? That's pretty near my place. i can go there for 2nd opinion may be?

Dear All

Thanks for the comments. I need to go catch my nose cause it's been running the whole day. have slight fever for a few days due to nose infection. *Sigh*

I am wondering... I had my first v-scan last week and was told I'm 6-7 weeks along but I did not get to see the shape of my baby - only see the tiny blinking heart in each of the sac. I am going tonight again and wondering if I can really see the full shape of the baby? Read in a book that we shoul dbe able to see our baby's shape by 1 month and by two months, we can see the fingers and all. Just wanted to see if anyone managed to see their full baby at 6-7 weeks.

With regards to hospital, am wondering which bedder I should choose since I am planning to use Mt Alvernia. Don't want to spend too much in cash. rather save it for Babies' expenditure. yet, I worry about privacy. I am also thinking of having the babies room in with me and be breastfed but they will only allow that if I take a one-bedder. Any advise on hospital bill for normal delivery? Do you think there is extra charges for twin delivery? Guess need to call hospital to ask.

Been hearing alot of stuff about what food not to eat and cannot take any cold drinks. Have to admit I can't live without cold drinks though i did cut on the quantity I take. Is it true I can't eat shellfish?

Been eating like crazy this week. Extremely hungry in the mornings. Need to eat tea break as well now. Hope I don't get too fat after this! =P

hi kk
There is a weekly page when you can write how you feel, etc. Then some pages where you can put ya scan pictures. The book is in spiral form, quite thick, hardcover.

hi alyy
Thomson Women's Clinic (Sun Plaza)
30 Sembawang Dr #03-06 Sun Plaza
Singapore 757713
General Enquiries: 67535228

it is good to go for second opinion esp if u r having twins.

hi lilfeets

You have to avoid shellfish if you can. If you really cannot resisit the temptation, then make sure it is very well cooked. You will not see the full shape at 6-7 weeks thru the scan
I only saw the blinking too at week 6-7.

Hi Lilfeets,

I dun think can see full bb shape leh. When i am in my 7th week, what i see is a small longgish shape hanging. Can't really make out that it is a bb actually. Then near to 8th week, what i see is a longer one, but not really the shape yet. I only see something that resembles bb in my 12th week, but no fingers and other details.

When i go through the websire hidora provided yesterday, there is this scan that shows the full shape of the bb. That is taken in week 16. So i was thinking whether i can see that tomorrow
kao_confused.gif

At first i was thinking of 4 bedder room as i think just staying for a short while no need to be so extravagant. But then my hubby, even my mum, commented that 4 bedder can be very noisy and we dunno who are we staying with. And there is no privacy. Single bedder of course is out, as it is a waste of money (to me lah!) so i go for 2 bedder which is middle of both

Oh, i am also taking cold drinks. I must take fresh milk and soya bean milk when they are cold leh, dun u agree? Nobody drink them warm i think
But sometimes i wait for a while after taking out from fridge before i drink them
i guess should be ok lah, as long as not soft drinks

I also heard, like rest of the girls, no shellfish. Anything with shells are no-no. U love shellfish?

Dun forget u are providing nutrients for two in ur tummy!
Dun worry lah, just eat, as long as it is healthy diet

I wonder if you gals have let your parents and parents in laws know about your pregnancy??
I dunno when I should tell my family.

wah Kite... 6+ weeks can see heartbeat already... I saw my gynae last at 5++ weeks, still cannot see. Only can see a big big sac.

Oh yes, Alyy, I remember there's a gynae called Lawrence Ang at Sembawang with opening hours at nite. I think the clinic is in Sun Plaza. AMK central also have a number of clinics for women that open till 9pm.

Hi Lyn,

Haha, when i was confirmed pregnant, i immediately called my mum to tell her. And i informed my hubby and he called his mum straight away. My mil went on to call my hubby's grandparents at malaysia. So end up two families all knew about it.

Actually i didn't know cannot tell families as well. I thought only cannot tell friends in the 1st trimester. When i went for my first gynae visit, one nurse told me this and i said, i have already told our families hee... she said for her, she and her hubby kept the secret till 1st trimester over.

So if wanna keep the secret, must not tell till 1st trimester over leh. U can tahan ah? For me, sure cannot :p And if ur tummy shows early, ur families sure know about it :p

Hi kk,
wow u told everyone in ur familiy liao ah. Hmm actually i just told my family and my hubby told his family. Other than that we asked them not to announce to relatives yet til later.

Hi lyn,
probably u can tell ur mum first and the rest u can keep it mum. For me, i oni tell 1 fren and 1 close colleague and e rest i wont tell until my tummy is obvious.

Hi Kite,

Yah lor, same like u. I told my family and my hubby told his family. BUT i dunno whether my in laws got go around spread the news or not
kao_confused.gif
For my mum, we are seldom in contact with relatives, so i guess they dun know yet.

Slowly when i entered 2nd trimester, some of my very close friends know about it. As for colleagues, i let them discover themselves

Hi Pebbles and Lyn

Thanks for the doc's info. I have made appt to see my doc in jb tomorrow night, and if need be i may see Dr Ang on sat. Keeping my fingers crossed and hope to deliver good news. Thanks for the support. Really need that and appreciate that.