(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Wow this thread running very fast ah.

i just came back lunch, very hot outside. Just ate wanton mee and soyabean milk. Eh ask u all, can we drink soyabean milk? cos i m not so sure so i drank 1/2 cup then i placed it away.

Hi lyn,

hey I m a soup lover, i cant live w/o soup one. me love to boil soup too (learn from my mum), esp lotus root soup w nuts, si shen, liu wei, abc soup (but i stop now cos not so good take carrots), n other boiled soups. but now since pregnant, i m quite conscious which soup cant drink, so basically i stil boil lotus root soup, love the taste and si shen (not sure can anot?). maybe we can share?

Usually wat food u eat daily? sometimes esp wkend, i cook simple dish like minced meat w egg, steamed egg, spinach w minced meat, steamed fish and etc.

hi lyn, thanks for the info.. i love to eat caixin and bai cai.. kind of feel sad that i'm unable to eat much of these now..

what abt bean sprouts and salted vegs.. can eat or consider Liang food as well.. heard ppl telling me that its Liang, but too confused now..

Hi kite,
I am not sure if can drink soyabean milk. That's my only source of calcium cos I dun drink cow's milk. But nowadays, soyabean milk makes me puke, so I dun drink already.

What types of nuts do you put in the lotus root soup? I gotta eat more nuts for protein, since I dun take a lot of meat. I love to boil herbal soup. I got big big packets of herbs and each time I will just "agar agar" throw in whatever herbs I like...

I dunno how to boil si shen and liu wei soup leh... What are the ingredients?

Nowadays, I will eat lots of fruits. When I feel moody or nausea, I will feel better after eating fruits. I usually take Fuji apples, Ya pears, Honsui pears, a bit of grapes, honeydew, rockmelon.

I just cook whatever I have in the fridge and feel like eating at that time when I prepare...
Usually I will boil vegetables. Recently, I hate kailan and broccoli which I have been eating... Now I fancy "nai bai", "cai xin", celery. Yesterday I boiled potato soup with "nai bai", carrots, celery and lots of black pepper, with a bit of onions and garlic too. I quite fancy spinach too, but I haven't buy and stock up.

I just topped up my fruits drawer and vege drawer... Now they are full

hama...
I dun eat a lot of bean sprouts now. I think it's not very good. I dun take preserved or salted vegetables cos got preservatives and other additives. I am very conscious of what I take now
. I try to take natural food. I will eat a little if I got cravings. My gynae adviced me not to take too salty and sweet stuffs cos I am at higher risk of pre-eclampsia and gestational diabetes.
Bai cai is super liang... I took "dou miao" last week and realised the taste does not suit me now
. kekeke.. very picky hor... like got season for food one...

Just saw my babies last night. One of the babies has moved to a lower position in the womb. Both seem to be growing well. Saw the babies shape and the head last night. So cute. Dr Fong said I must be very lucky cause my MS disappeared. It's rare for someone having twins to not experience MS so he said I am very blessed. Feeling very lucky.

Doc also said that the hospital will charge more since I am having twins and his charges will also increase. Got to start saving every penny now I guess.

Lyn -I told my in-laws and parents once We had confirmation I was preggie at 12 days. We happen to found out very early. They were happy. Then we found out we had twins last week and my mom is sooo excited, she went calling everyone. Beginning to wonder if i should say it so early but my tummy is showing a little already. I mean I don'tlook pregnant but I look a bit "fat" now. Colleagues beginning to notice as well which is surprising cause I'm only at 7 weeks or so.

I also have problems sleeping well. Brain seems to be working overtime so i can't sleep well even though i am tired. Read at the forum that pregnant women seem to have difficulties getting to sleep sometimes and that is normal. So tiring.

Get tired easily too. Even just slow walking for awhile tires me. I just wonder how we are going to manage when our tummies gets bigger.

Icy - I have back injuries too back when i was going sports in school days. You need to be extra careful now that you are having a child. Do toning exercises to tighten your back muscles. I am thinking to taking up aqua aerobics soon to help strengthen my back or go back to swimming.

Coookie - What is NT Scan?

Hi Lilfeets,
Congrats on seeing your babies growing well inside...
You are so lucky you dun have MS already... So envy... Do enjoy the moments of being able to eat

I also feeling very fat now. Now when I sit down, my fats ooze out in the middle already
You know? That type of 3 layers of tyres... lol... And no more flat tummy... My slimming efforts down the drain already... lol...

thanks my dear Lyn for the info and advises..

i have cravings for both sweet and salty things.. Like salted veg... (sob sob)

i am at rish of getting GD.. cham now.. will try to cut down on sweet things.. if i can..

lyn, during preggie time, the taste bubs will change.. u might like this food and in a second, u will hate it.. Funny lor... hahahaha

will try to be online tonight.. see what time will reach home later after dinner at mil's plc.. (sob sob)

hama,
I have cravings for grapes and cakes... But gotta control. My gynae told me not to take grapes, but I still got "tou chi"... I still love grapes... hahaha...

grapes are Liang and sweet fruits izzit so that's why cant take much of it..

yup, must have self-control at times.. can eat, but moderate amounts will be fine..

hi all, sorry to intrude on this thread, jus came in and read read a bit. i am from the may mtb thread.

lilfeets,

NT scan is normally done on the 12th week. jus a normal scan to measure thickness on bb's neck to test for down syndrome. sometime may accompany with blood test but my gynae didnt ask me to.

hope this helps!

lyn,

i think its optional. u can chose not to go for it. mostly done at ard 12 week. how many weeks are u at now? my next appt is end of the mth but i cant help but wish can see bb more often :p

hmmm... the good thing about Dr Fong is he wil not ask yu to get alot of vitamins, pills, supplements or take alot of test etc. he feels it's a waste of money. yet, sometimes I get worried cause i am not sure if I am getting all the test i need to know that my babies are normal and fine. I guess first time mom so a bit of a worry wart.

I had eated a whole bag of black grapes for a week now. Oppssss.....

I don't have MS but I do feel quesy and some food smell turns me off so finding food that I fancy can be tough. Still can't manage fish yet.

Lyn - yeap! I know what you mean about the middle layer of the tummy. These days, when I bend over to tie my shoes, I can feel my tummy intruding. Kinda weird feeling. I guess I won'r be able to "bounce" off the bed like I used to inthe mornings now. Ah well.. I guess we need to watch our diet and not eat too much or out babies will be too fat!

Milo - what other test is necessary to determine if baby is normal and fine? Are they expensive or painful? I heard of the triple test and group B test (something like that). Something called teh Nucha test ??? Beginning to feel like a lab rat - so many test =P For the peace of mind and good of our babies, i guess we will have to endure.

lilfeets,

week 12 is the NT scan.
week 16, i be going for the triple test where gotta take blood *shudders*
week 20 is the detailed scan

think only the blood test will see needle, the rest quite painless...keke

do you worry constantly how is bb doing?

Hi Milo

Babies are doing fine at the moment. I'm having twins and only at 7 weeks or so. My HCG levels have been fine and they are of the right size for my term. Just wanted to know how much poking I am going to have to endure cause I have really thin nerves that my Dr tells me he has a huge headache trying to draw blood. We had some problems drawing blood every 2 days when I first found out I was pregnant. Was only 12 days then so much too early to see anythign via scan so had to depend on HCG test to elimate eutopic and see if babies are developing well.

lilfeets,

congrats on having twins!!!! much be double the joy!! wish to have twins too so can jus suffer once...keke

u must take care and rest more since u are 3 person now.

oh i ask u whether u worrying abt bb cause sometime in between the next gynae visit, i will wonder is bb ok in my tummy cause cant feel the movement yet so dunno if everything is ok. now the interval for my visit is 4 weeks, seem like a long wait

hi lilfeets,

congrats on your twins
NT scan = Nuchal Translucency scan like what milo described. my gynae booked the scan for me a mth in advance coz hard to get appt but he said i can choose not to do it coz still young. i'm going for the scan coz i'm quite near 35 actually, wan to be more assured and also it's another opportunity to see bb again! hahaha.. crazy right.. :p

hey, i also ate LOTS of the black grapes this week, they are so crunchy and sweet. vegetables dun appeal to me these days, so i substituted them with grapes, oranges, apples, persimmons, banana and papaya. in fact i got craving for fruits.

have you tried fish in other forms? like panfried, baked or fish& chip kind? steam fish is a turn off for me, but i love fish & chips and chili sardines.. haha

hi milo,

can you feel your bb already? my gynae appts are 3 weeks apart, but somehow i always manage to see him in between scheduled visits coz of spotting problems. cannot imagine having to wait 1 whole month to see bb again next time. will worry myself silly :p

hi lyn,

how does your gynae know that you are at higher risk of pre-eclampsia and GD? my blood pressure is like roller coaster and sometimes border on the high side, my gynae also never say anything. the nurse did ask me before whether i got high blood pressure coz my bp shot up to 140 when i was in the OT. i am abit worried that it may lead to complications in pregnancy.

hi pebbles,

so far not much MS, only some nausea once in a while, usually after eating some food that didn't go down too well. i also get carsick very easily these days, that's my main discomfort. u still eat your spicy thai food?

hi milo

I do worry about it cause With the lack of MS, it's harder to know if baby is ok. I'm not fond of the idea of MS but it can be reassuring at time like these. i will be seeing Gyne two weeks now. Yes, It does feel like an extremely long wait cause we're anxious to see out babies and know they are doing well.

Double blessings indeed. Also double expenses now. Headache trying to save up for everything cause now need double.

Hi Cookiemz

Tried fish in other ways. sometimes I can manage them in teriyaki sauce and lightly fried like Fish & Chips but most fo the time, can't stomach them in any form. Fruits seems easy on my tummy though.

I don't think you are crazy to want to do the test. I will want to do so too as long as I can afford it and there's no danger to my babies. It's peace of mind and better not to have surprises right? that's why i'm worried ause my gyne seem very relax and I very "Kan Cheong". In fact, he told me normal infant care can already, no need to waste $$ on expensive care cause babies don't know anything and sleep and eat only! I didn't agree cause I took a year course from my Psychology degree on child development and it makes a difference. i guess different views. Overall, he's a good gyne. he did my laproscophy and it was great stiching.

I take lots of food includes Papaya, Mango and Honey dew. I have to take a lot cuz i suffer serious constipation. I was admitted to hospital last weeks cuz of this as i have gastric attack suddenly.

I heard there are total of five 3D scan machines in S'pore and Dr Chan HK is one of them, but he has not use any 3D scan machine on me so far, so i donno how much is the cost like. There is also one 4D scan machine in Gleneages, which can watch realtime video. Anyway, really not too sure the cost, so donno if really worth it.

I am working....so my daytime has to endure a lot.....nite time has to go toilet very often, keep feeling very full on my bladder.

hi cookiemz,

i am currently in my 13 weeks, still cant feel bb movement yet so have to depend on gynae visit to feel assured. that y lor, 4 weeks apart is a long wait!

hi lilfeets,

agree tat ms is a terrible feeling but its also a way to tell us that bb growing well.. now hoping ms will go away soon *pray hard*

bb stuff are so ex!!!! since i am the first among my friends and cousins to get preg, i have no one to pass me stuff. everything gotta buy thus i can imagine the cost to buy double! bb bonus wont get to enjoy double which i think not very fair lor.

hmm.. thought if there are 2 babies, can qualify for bb bonus for #1 and #2.. anyways, the bonus payment is staggered over a period of time, can only help so much.

Wa wa, thread moving very fast!

I slept my way through the day again... cos I didnt sleep at night again!!! ARGH!!...

Nowadays, I'm feeling worse.. I thought I'm blessed when I didnt hv my MS at week 6, but my gynae said it may come during wk 8 - 12 and it will be worse.. Think that's what I'm experiencing now... giddy one moment, nausea one moment, want to vomit cannot vomit, like stuck in the throat...
kao_angry.gif

hello gals

i'm jan mtb. Can i join in the chat?

lyn n hama - Are both of u pregnant? If yes, Congratulation to both of u. l'm so happy for both of u

Cookie is right. twins means I get both baby bonus as they are considered as two birthday but the amount is not enoough to even manage the basic necessity. in any case, it's better than nothing. Diapers can be soooo expensive.

Hi Milo

I know how that feels. Me too. I am trying to get stuff from my colleague if they don't mind. try that.

dear cookiemz
hihi.. im also going for the NT scan. At first i didnt know it means checking for Down Syndrome abnormalities. I will have my scan done at Week 12. I am very anxious and nervous. Another major milestone.

blood pressure of 140 is really quite high. maybe you shld avoid oily and fried foods. not sure it'd help though.

dear evamtb
im impressed by those 3D scans. maybe i shall suggest to my gynae to upgrade his machine.. heehee...

dear hidora
i also have on and off MS. today mine is particularly bad. i feel tired after walking for just 20 minutes. and i feel nauseated every other minute. but i dont literally throw up.

aiyo.. you very pooor thing leh. not being able to sleep at nite is the most torturous thing. why not tommorrow (day), u just try not to sleep in the day and im sure you'd get all tired at night and have a good night sleep.

dear confusedgal
hi. welcome to the thread. so i assume you 20+ weeks pregnant already.

dear lilfeets
i also feel waiting for the nxt bb scan quite "painful". i cant imagine having to wait for 4 weeks for every scan after the 22nd week. i think i'd request for bi-weekly scans just so that i can sleep better at night.

dear milo
i dont think we can feel the fetal movements so early. i think we can only feel the fetal movement from the 5th month onwards.

i read about the NT tests and the triple tests. sigh.. so many tests.. very stressful. dont worry, you not the only one worrying abt baby constantly.

hey, has anyone of you thought of giving birth naturally or via c-sect? it might be too early to discuss this, but the thoughts of being in labour and in pain scares me big time. but i think most gynaes would recommend natural delivery.

Hello gals...
I just woke up... yawn... still feel like sleeping :p The thread move so fast ah.

Cookiemz, from my family history that my gynae determine if I got higher risk of GD and pre-eclampsia. So now I just avoid eating too sweet and too salty food. I still love the sweet and crunchy black grapes. I used to take red globes daily... Now I will try to resist the temptation of buying grapes...

Hi confused...
Welcome

Hi Lilfeets,
Wah.. gotta prepare more financially... but still cheaper than giving birth two times, I think... lol...

Hi hidora,
Could it be that you had slept during the day, then at night cannot sleep? But as long as you manage to get rest, it should be good

Hi ryue...
I am afraid that I will need c-section. I am prepared for natural delivery, but comparing my history with others, I think I run a high chance of being cut up.

Hi Lyn

Yeah. I rather go through the night feeds and all ONCE!

Hi Ryue

I plan to try for natural with epidural. I had my laproscophy done and it was only two tiny cuts and I was in so much pain I had to have morphine jabs in my drip. Can't imagine how much pain I can take in child birth and first child is usually a longer process though not always.

Lyn, Have faith my dear. You may not need c-sec. I feel as long as you watch your diet, you will be fine. Our genetics only determine so much but the environment we create and make a great difference. Otherwise, we'll all be dumb right cause no amount of enrichment will help if so.hahahaha.... Take it one step at a time. Even people who are not at risk may require c-sec as long as they can't dilute or if their baby is in distress. We pray for the best but go in prepared for tough decisions. Always good to think through our options. Most important is to have our babies safely and enjoy them.

After all these talk, I have better go "clean up" my diet! Been eating curry and tom yum soup and all. hehehehe....

My gyne does not have those scan you are talking about. I only had v-scan so far.... makes me wonder......

Hi Ladies!

i am back from my gynae appt

My bb is now in week 15.4. The gynae said we were able to check for bb gender already. But then too bad, during the scan, the bb was lying on its side and nothing can be seen
So can only check for the gender next appt which is a mth later
So the question as to when we can know the gender of the bb - it's around week 16, provided the bb cooperates

I was having low placenta problem during my last visit. The gynae said it will migrate up. I am so happy that the gynae said today that my placenta has migrated up
I was so worried over this for the past 1-2 weeks.

Took my blood test today. It includes triple test and it also test for Hep B, HIV, DS risk, etc. 3 tubes of blood were drawn. The lab personnel was pretty skilled, no pain at all
I will get my blood test results on my next visit.

Now i am still on multivitamins, neurogain fish oil and folic acid. No additional pills required for the time being

Btw, my blood pressure on my past visits has always been 140. I dunno whether it's because whenever i sit there to take my blood pressure, i get excited so the pressure shoots up. Anyway i always feel my heart beating very fast whenever i go for my appts. Too worried liao. But my gynae did not comment on the blood pressure.

Oh, today also see more of the bb. The legs, the head, the body, all pretty clear liao
And the hands are even covering the ears. The gynae say the bb doesn't want to listen to what we are talking

Hi Hidora,

Yah, for me, i didn't have any MS at all, that's why i was a bit doubtful that i was pregnant. But then my first gynae visit confirmed i am pregnant 7.l week already

I thought i heroine leh, no MS like other preggies. But who knows, i suffer MS from week9 onwards and quite bad as time goes by. Luckily MS dies down liao.

Hi Milo,

dun worry. BB will be fine

I also didn't feel any bb movement despite approaching 16th week. And in 2nd trimester, we will feel even more paranoid if we dun feel bb movement, dun feel nauseous and no cramp. It's really like no feeling at all. So start to wonder whether bb is doing well. Not to worry, everything will be fine

Hi Lyn,

I am looking forward to natural delivery too. Previously i am having low placenta problem, so gynae commented if it doesn't migrate up, have to go for c-sec liao. But since now migrated up, shouldn't be a problem for natural delivery.

My friend who gave birth 2-3 yrs back told me before must take epidural. She say the pain really cannot tahan. She regret not taking epidural.

Me and my hubby so blur. Thought we heard from gynae that EDD is 1 May. Turn out today then we know it is 25 April. The staff nurse was asking for my age when bb is borned. She say it would affect the blood test results. My birthday is 30 April. So i told her i should be 29 by then. But she say no, should be 28. She even take out calculator to calculate
In the end then we find out we "bai wu long"

Hi kk,
Glad that your placenta has migrated up already.
hahahaha.. your baby is so cute... cover the ears...
I read somewhere on who are not suitable for epidural. I am in the list, I think...

Hi Lyn,

Not everyone can take epidural?? I didn't know that! So far all my friends who had given birth were on epidural and advised me to take it.

i told my hubby he has been watching too much soccer on tv. The bb complained very noisy, so cover the ears

Hi kk,
Not a lot of people not suitable for epidural. I am in the list cos I had lower back injuries and surgeries before...
haha.. you are so cute...

Hi Lyn,

Hai.. i was so excited able to know gender of bb today. If boy, then i go and buy all the nice clothes liao because boy clothings difficult to find nice ones. If girl, worse, i think i will spend much more

But i do pamper myself today. Went to kiddy palace after that to buy 4 maternity tops. Cost me $160. So now have spent around $320 for my maternity wear liao.

Hi kk,
Wow... So far, I haven't pamper myself. Maybe tomolo after seeing my gynae, I will go shopping in Orchard... Dunno if I will have the stamina to shop long.. haha...

Hi Lyn,

Oh, tomorrow ur gynae visit? Can see ur bb again

Now i dun have much stamina to stand and walk long. Feel that tummy getting heavier and quite a bit of burden.

Hi kk,
Yap... second time seeing baby. Suppose to see last week, but I postponed it

I dun feel heavier now... but I feel fatter and my legs are very tired...

Lyn,

Feeling really hungry today. Ate dinner at 5pm and feeling hungry at 6pm. Ate something at 8pm and feeling hungry now
So got to eat something again.

Hi kk...
Haha.. good good... it's a luxury to eat now. I am also very hungry today. I ate double for lunch cos I thought I might not be able to eat for dinner... But I just had noodles and soup for dinner again... Before that, I had a plate of fruits already. Guess maybe it's cos I boiled my favourite soup today with "mee sua"...
something light