(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Pawprint-haha ur kids love to eat huh. So ctue.

But it's true.. Cc shd allow more than one serving right? Zav cc's bowl also not v big but I noe they wld ask the kids if they still wan. I ever saw a boy eating 5bowls! Haha

MT,
I asked Boy, "how many bowls u ate?". He replied, "ONE bowl!". "How many TIMES teacher gave u?". He thought abit harder, "Two times.". :p

pawprint,

hahaha... Ir so cute!!!
yup, had to agree he is not wrong le heehee...!

hi rodeo,

Think teachers will normally ask and give more servings during meals. However, if kid is not one to ask for more or to say yes to more servings, think better to inform teacher to note his food intake and give him more servings?!

Rodeo,
Which cc is ER in now? Yea, you are right about that. They are not receptive towards feedbacks at all but really, I felt very deceived by the principal. I stated in the withdrawal form that there is a lack of transparency in communication with parents. We were promised of alternate arrangements but no such arrangements were executed at all. I hope MCYS would looks into such deceived acts.

K is starting school with Odyssey tomorrow. Hope everything turns out well. I brought her to the new school for the second time today and luckily, she seems to understand and assist with the packing of her bag. But so far, everything seems perfect with Odyssey. They have three teachers taking care of a class of 12 N1 kiddos and have sciences and culinary art integrated into their curricula. Now, I can only pray that with the amount that I am paying, I am buying an insurance in that the teachers over there would be out of the world. If not, I really dunno what I am paying for liao.

paula,

good that you found a school for K.
Hope she'll adapt fast in her new school.
Heard good stuff regarding Odyssey, feedback next round okay?

pp: I have asked teacher to give larger portion but they are concerned the kid can't finish & hence wastage. I told her he's usually hungry when pick up at 6pm but she said he usually finishes 1 bowl for lunch, then have milk (180ml) b4 nap, then after nap they have tea-break at 3pm. So should be having enough food. She said sometimes ER will have 2nd helping for lunch, so conclude that he does know how to ask for more.

Irvin's reply so cute, eat 1 bowl, 2x...hehe....

sunflower: Yes, they say will ask if the kids want more when they are finishing the existing portion. So now I keep remind ER to eat 2 bowls if still not full after 1 bowl. Yesterday, he finished a whole ikea hotdog + bread after hub pick him up.

paula: ER is with cherie hearts. CH has this communication booklet for school & parents to communicate. Usually it's more of admin matters though there may be 1 or 2 liner comments on what's taught in school. Apart from that, really duno what's taught.

Things should go well for Kelly with Odyssey. They will adjust, just how fast. 3 teachers to 12 students is a v good ratio. I think ER's class of 13 is 2 teachers. Also not sure if it's the same 2 permanently, cos I know the chinese teacher teaches for only the am, will leave when they nap at 1pm.

paula,

heard about odyssey... its near my office and I had them under my consideration for alternative though I never been there.

can provide some feedback when you are there. did you manage to visit mindchamps too? how was it? Reason I asked is because I am starting to shortlist good schools again and to prepare to put Joshua on their waiting list. Normally good schools are very popular and if I check too late, Joshua wont be able to enrol by 18months.

Have you consider LW again? they are good in their mandarin curriculum so far... I had taken S out of berries enrichment class at his request as his school is covering much more already.

paula
good to hear that u have found a nice sch for kelly.. given her intelligence, she can adjust very well.

Rodeo
I face quite similar problem as u.. Ethan is usually hungry in the evening, but he has no patience to eat though the sch gives him lots of food.. sigh.. dun noe what to do with him?? If he dun eat, he is cranky..

Poohy
How r u?? Can share with me how do u mgr 3 kids?? sometimes i wonder how it is like to mgr 3 kids?? How do u n ur hb play and teach them with 3 in the tow?? My 2 kids want 1-to-1 attention most of the time.. Tks!

poohy,

doesn't LW take in from 18mths? just wondering why you don't plan all 3 of them in same school, it'll be less tiring for you.

peng,

from your question, hmmmm are you planning #3??

peng,

still surviving here haha
Its hard to teach and give each one as much attention as I would like. It made me stressed up at times thinking about that. But I am trying to relax a little... just gotta accept the constraint that I have 3 kids and its impossible to be able to focus and give that much attention as if I have a single child. I identify important things in their life which I want to focus on at each point. Like now, I focused a lot on building up S's violin practise and reading. Joelle is still on reading and I hope LW will build her mandarin up next year just like they did for S. Josh is mainly on a good diet now that he is on semi solid, exercises (eg. vestibular), flashcards (not 3 times a day though... 1-2 times a day only). Wish I can do more but I am in a mad rush every night from trying to feed them (ya I resorted to feed them now as I realise if I let them self feed, they eat very little), changing them, brushing their teeth, practising violin, preparing Josh food for next day, giving flashcards, manipulative activities like lego, playdoh, drawing to singing nursery rhymes for Josh. Hectic. And if I want them to do handwriting practise...hmm even more rush
so I dun do everything everyday. Only violin practise almost everyday.

sunflower,

I am just exploring the possibilities. I feel that I tend to be very kancheong and with Josh being 3rd child, I am worried I dun have time to coach him in his academic work as much as I want in future. Thus I was thinking of backing up by finding a school that is more academic. LW is good but they really are learning through PLAY and their curriculum in N1 below is less agressive than many other CC. eg. They only start writing in N2 whereas many other cc started that in N1. Though I know the rationale is to do it only when the kids are really ready but I still feel a lot of anxiety. But I dun discount that I may put Josh in LW too .... just wanna look around to make a better informed choice. Besides, I had been in my current job for 8 years... felt maybe it will be good to consider moving on... but I am staying here mainly becos the kids are studying close to me.

kissbb,

u put cheryl in the list already ah? Think I better put Josh in their list in case the PG get filled. Most likely I will put Josh there... convenience. Btw, how come you only starting in july?

Tks Poohy for the tip.. I really find u so amazing.. u can do so much with ur hectic schedule.. i fare badly vs u.. there r times i couldn't do much if they r cranky..

sunflower
haha.. i believe in NATO (No action talk only).. Still haven't had the guts yet.. haha..after u lah..

Sunflower,
Thanks! The next round of feedbacks would probably come after she graduated after learning a lesson from LV@RP. I miss their teachers and Kelly was still asking about her teachers and friends today. So am arranging for her to meet up with them on this Saturday. Hope that will appease her. I tell you ar, the good teachers in her old school are so good that the warmth expressed in their e-mails are good enough to warm up my heart!

Rodeo,
Thanks, heard about good things on CH too. The teacher-student ratio is very good as K’s ex-teachers also gushed about the ratio and standards of children that they produced. Frankly, now all I want is a good childcare that is well managed by a honest principal and that she will be in the good hands of good teachers. The rest on teaching, I can manage it myself at home…

Poohy,
She is with the Alexandra branch. So far, everything seems impressive; principal’s knowledge on childhood education and her sincerity, the teachers’ professionalism… very onz as they seems to know what they have to do… today, they planted two teachers to friend up Kelly and they chat her up and things like that… small group teaching, individualized learning path, science lesson, computer lesson, cooking lesson, and an outdoor glass paneled art museum. And I received emails from them at night and early in the morning and calls to assure that she is in good hands. Seems like a very happening school! They even have raised platform in all their classroom for show and tell sessions… botanical gardens next week, making drums next week… I don’t know. I do felt overwhelmed. Hubby said that for the amount of fees that they are charging, they probably have to maintain such a standard or raising the standards to ensure that their reputation soars. Seems like a higher class of LV, a version of Pats Schoolhouse but it is a modern version.

Peng,
Thanks. Yea, really relieved when I heard that she participates in lessons and even remarked to the teachers that ‘the muffin here don’t taste nice. It tastes yucky.’ and how she pretended to be a ‘quarrelsome queen’ (Letterland’s). The good sign is that she refused to go home when I reached and pretended to be a teacher to her teacher and friends, teaching them about her jack in a box and she was all happy and cheery when she hits home. She cried when I said goodbye but only cried for less than two seconds. Asked her why did she cried? She said, ‘because I am a little scared and I want you to know that I miss you too’. Kelly at her cheekiest, it is a good sign. Hope this continues.

peng: What do you mean Ethan no patience to eat? What about at home? ER's mealtime at cc is 30min slot. So I guess if he dun eat fast enough, there won't be time for 2nd helping too. Asked him what he had for lunch yesterday, if took 2 bowls? He said porridge, but not nice, din finish 1 bowl, just ate the broccoli (1pc) & corn (4pc).

poohy: Salute you. Think that's a lot you accomplish with your kids on a daily basis. I've been wanting to start doing some of these activities with ER but it's just so difficult. I'm just so exhuasted after doing the mandatory stuff like feeding & bathing esp when he will come up with diff stuff to test my patience. Just last night I was screaming at him so much. Sigh.... ER's cc also don't start writing for their level while his previous PG had.

Paula: Good to hear that school turns out well the 1st day.

paula,

its such a waste when schools has good teachers but bad management

good to hear that K is settling pretty well in her new environment.

wow.. her curriculum sounds exciting. Even for N1, they have computer lesson!? wow..
just wondering, are there alot of angmohs in the school?
you mean Odyssey curriculum like Pats Schoolhouse? hmmm what's your opinion on Pats Schoolhouse?

poohy,

yap. added Cheryl in the waiting list.. It will be easier for us for logistic issue.

Anyway, I think LW is strong in their curriculum and the teacher is nice too.

Paula,

didn't follow the thread.. where is K now?? Odessey in alexandra? I heard the price is not cheap... almost like LW and Pat.. or more expensive?

<font color="0000ff">Paula,
It's great that Kell is adapting to the new school and seems happy there.

<u>Evening routine</u>
What's a typical routine after you've fetched your kids from school? I find that I don't really spend enough quality time with DS.
After work, I'll rush to fetch him from school, dine, bathe him and do the laundry and quickly bathe while he played by himself. By the time I'm done, it's 9+ or 10pm and I have to get ready to put him to bed. There's hardly any "us" time at all!</font>

mtdt

after the kids koon, the mummy also koon lei. haha.. i remembered my days. when mandy &amp; shannon slept, i slept too.. then suddenly woke up at 12plus or later n have to drag myself up to hang the laundry ...

kissbb,

do u still coach A&amp;B on reading, writing and other stuff in the evening? I had been wondering what should I do with J other than reading.

I like the nursery teachers a lot frankly... Especially J's teacher Ms Jasline and Ms Faizah (playgroup previously). The mandarin teachers for PG and nursery are good too. Maybe its becos I am too anxious... guess eventually they will all even out in their development and learning.

Rodeo,

dun worry about screaming. I had become a screaming mummy too haha... There was a time I cant get S to practise his violin at all... he will give me lots of excuse and not even practise once a week. Now I count to three and if he dun, I either carry him into the room and close the door OR take the cane up. But so far he has become much more disciplined though I am still struggling to establish a study routine for him after the violin practise.

bbloh,

same here.. evening is a mad rush. Rush to feed them, rush to brush their teeth, change them... hope to have enough time still to sing and play with Josh.... rush to practise violin, and still hope I can squeeze in some academic exercises and IQ games. At times if they dun sleep by 10:30pm... I will tell them I read story book for them and ask them to choose. Sometimes I feel its really very tough to be a parent today with such a competitive world around us and I am pretty perfectionist... so no matter how much I do, I just dun feel I have done everything I would have wanted to do everyday. So little usable time even the time spend on traveling on the car to school or home is very precious.

At times, I will think back and try to recall how relaxed we used to be when there was only one child. When S was below 1 year, its 2 adults to one bb.... we really spend all his waking hours after work talking and singing to him. Nowadays Josh gotta spend a consider bit of time exploring the house himself .... But I try my best to keep track of his development too... and what is lacking.

poohy,

after bathing, eating.. only left abt 1hr b4 sleeping... btw, they sleep around 8.30-9pm..

we will try to read to them, sometime do some art and craft or some outdoor play... sometime daddy and mummy too tired, they will play with themselves. Is fun to see them play.

frankly speaking, very little time with cheryl as AnB can take up most of the time.. now I'm back to JG again every tue and thur for cheryl playnest class.. how time's fly... teacher also diff now..

bbloh,
i agree that there is not much time for the kids!
6.40: reach home
7-7.30: feed X, talk to Z.
7.30-8.15: me eat and pump, shower
8.15-8.30: talk to him abt his day
8.30: lights out!

poohy is really good, can do so much with 3 kids.

Ivy,

I wish I can do more... really need to learn to relax...

kissbb,

Josh is 8months now. I am thinking of putting him in playnest too ... prob my mum will have to bring him. Which branch are you at? do u take leave to bring C?

bbloh: Totally agree with your comments on evening routine. By the time done, it's 9+ liao! And I'm only handling 1 kid.
7-730pm: reach home
730-830pm: Feed ER (he's a slow eater) + throw clothes into washing machine
830-850pm: Feed myself
850-9+pm: Bathe ER
9+pm: Bathe myself or spend time with ER
930pm+: Prepare ER's milk, change him into pyjamas, prepare to sleep
After ER sleep, pack his bag, hang clothes, wash bottles, etc

Sometimes, I think it's more siong than my working hr 8(

Dor: Same like u, I will suddenly wake up after mn suddenly cos rem haven't hang the laundry. Find it very disruptive to sleep loh, but then difficult cos ER will want me to accompany him to sleep then I will just koon. So now, I will remind myself not to fall asleep.

Poohy: Hehe, I will count to 5. Now my cane also come out more often :p

kissbb: Your kids sleep so early! If only ER can sleep by 10pm, cos worried he not enough sleep. Sometimes, can see his panda bear eyes appearing, but maybe he wants to spend time with me, so though I can see he's v tired, he refuses to sleep. Sigh...then I have difficulty waking him up the next morning.

<font color="0000ff">MTDT,
I gotta handwash some of the items mah. Anyway, like what Dor mentioned, DS koon, I also koon, else hard to drag myself outta bed the next morning. hehe

poohy,
Handling several kids is not easy and you can still coach Josh in violin and some activities. You're a super mum!

Ivy,
Wah! You can get X to sleep so early ah?

rodeo,
I have the same sentiments - handling one kid is already "two handfuls" for me!

DS always tell me that he doesn't nap during the day as he was "crying because he missed daddy and mummy". Sometimes, I can really tell that he's very tired when I fetched him. But sometimes, he can still refuse to sleep early and I'll be so tired after a day's work and handling all the chores.</font>

bbloh: Sigh, that's y I can't imagine having 1 more. Don't even dare to imagine + now luckily work-wise has not been too stressful &amp; I can leave on time. Duno what to do if too stressed up at work &amp; have to do OT. Your hub is the handsoff type?

Think u have to convince DS to nap in cc. Get teacher to help talk to him? How long has he been going to cc liao? Till now still crying during naptime? Even though ER sleeps during naptime, I still sense he's tired by 9pm.

Sunflower,
Yea, I went back to the school to settle her withdrawal. Her teachers cried when they talked about K. Asked if she is eating and sleeping well? Is she coping well? Did she asked about them? When can they meet up for coffee? And also readily offer to help her in her Chinese so that she will continue to shine brightly. You know lah, these kinda of emotions and questions can only stemmed from teachers with really good and loving hearts. I never expect that but the conversations and emotions does make me think twice of sending K back to them.

Expatriate at 45% but got a good mixture of Japanese and other races… Not curricula lah, but its branding. Yea loh, got computer too! So impressed… somemore they are teaching the kiddos to use stylus pen and mouse …

Kissbb,
Yea, with Odyssey at Alexandra. The fee is 1605 for full day before subsidiary. Heart pains but somehow, they make it up with extra efforts; teacher sent emails late at night and another updates at 7am… they don’t stand around during free time but will participate in play with the kiddos…

Bbloh,
Struggling with that actually. But we will usually hit home at 6pm, dinner completed by 6.30pm and let her have 30 mins of free play time before we marched to our study room cum arts studio for her to pretend to be a teacher and teach us things. Usually, we introduce new words, arouse her interests to write or draw and paint. These days, she will pretend to hold a concert. By 8.30pm, on the bed, one hour of books reading. 9.30pm, dreamland liao…

paula,

wow... showed they have a good bonding with K. the separation must have been felt by both sides.

heehee oic branding. but pretty impressed that they intro computer at N1 level.

re: PTC

what's usually covered in PTC? what do you usually ask huh? :p

bbloh,
actually is lights out at 8.30pm BUT spend another next 45mins to pee, brush teeth, drink another bottle of milk, roll on bed, talk rubbish before he knock out.
And i can do this routine cos helper do cooking, cleaning up, laundry, pack X bags, wash my pump, put Z to sleep etc!
I think i will be a stressed mummy with 2 kids without my helper, altho i know i can do it if need be. But my helper is really a gem! haha...

sunflower,

PTC: i just attended one last week..teacher go thru his work with us, what he do in sch, his development, his behavior and wait for us for any questions. Very fast one la, only 15mins.
Actually what they tell me affirm my observation of X but i wonder is it the sch who have not done enuff to stimulate him or he is really a over active kid who cannot sit still in class.

Hi mummies, long time never come into this thread...busy at work...

Just roughly glanced through the postings...

MT &amp; Serene, congratulations!!

Paula, I am very impressed with Kelly's new school.

sunflower,
ER's PTC session was planned for 15min but I took about half hour. English teacher went through her observations of ER in terms of his achievements (ie meet the std for his age) and what area to improve on. They have a folder for each child with pictures taken during school to support the findings. I can only rem the following:-
1) motor skills - can trace/colour, able to put on mattress cover himself, active in playground, can self-feed, etc
2) language - can understand instructions/communicate, etc
3) social skills - get along with friends, share toys, etc

She asked if I have any specific goals I want him to achieve by end of the yr so that the school can help to re-enforce.

Chinese teacher feedback on chinese part, eg he remembers the 儿歌 taught, will 'perform' in front of class when asked to, willingness to converse in mandarin.

Ivy: I also feel the cc is not simulating enough for ER. They dun do tracing/puzzles/maze, etc Don't get the feel that they are imparting general knowlege/maths/science too.

hi rodeo
when Ethan is at home, he is too busy to eat.. he will keep playing his toys or dance with the music from those dvd.. so he doesn't have the patience to eat alone.. so he will eat very slowly till i have to feed him.. any1 got tips on how to make him move and eat abit faster??

bbloh
me too... always in a rush.. luckily with helper, so i don't need to focus on hsewk.. with kids going to bed at abt 8+, i really have little time to teach/ read.. wkends are also burnt out with activities, so little time to read/ teach too..

yes haha.. my cane also often comes out these days..

Bbloh - ur hubby leh?

730 = all finished dinner
then i wld clear his sch bag dump into washing machine.

730-9 = hubby n I wld play with him. we do various stuff like playing game, maze, writing, colouring, playing the piano. sometimes we too tired then it's tv time for him :p

9-10 = I would bathe Zav (we bathe together at times! haha) then change PJs, Hubby wld go make milk. Then zav drink milk, read books, chit chat on bed.

10pm - lights off.

I also sleep with DS. hubby will settle the rest.. like hang laundry, pack his sch bag for next morn etc.

Guess unless hv helper like Ivy, if not, hubby needs to help out loh.

PTC - mine cc PTC also schedule 15min. but i took 45mins with eng, another 45mins with laoshi! wahahaha. Zav trs also v dedicated i feel. besides telling me his academic portion, we spend alot of time talking abt social/behaviour issues etc. they wld share tips with me, work with me to improve on any issues etc. tat's why can chat nonstop! hahaha

peng: Actually ER is similar to Ethan. He won't sit still at the dining table to eat, always running about/doing other stuff. As such, it always takes me an hour to feed him. I also duno how 8(

MTDT: Yes, if no helper, hub needs to help out. But not every hub think in that way &amp; will help out. End up worse-off if he passes unnecessary remarks instead of providing the much needed help.

Wow, your PTC took 1.5hrs ah. The slot after u no parent? :p

mtdt,

ya hb and any extra help is important hehee... my hb takes care of the younger ones when I practise violin with S.

rodeo,

I also try to feed my 2 elder ones now... else they dun really eat much and I can't make sure they have a balanced diet. Now that I feed, I feed 2 at one go.... and I make sure every mouthful contains vege and fish and some meat. And I put wheatgerm into their rice and soup to ensure extra nutrients. After meals, I give them omega3 fish oil softgel and fruits high in vit C like blueberries, strawberries. They also take acidophilus, multivit and sambucol daily now as I am worried about all these flu bug flying around. J is forever having running nose... so I really hope somehow I can build up her health.

wah,
everybody very busy with the kids
!

my routine alot more relaxed... morning quickly get rid of the kids so I can do housework.
afternoon lunch usually very little cos they eat so much in school. Then showers, naps. Or run around for Girl's classes (Boy will nap or play on his own).
evening eat, storybooks, and koon!

Sometimes I do abit of flashcard words with Boy- car, bus... er, never moved off from that :p . Girl has more stuff lah- piano practice, spelling list and chinese writing.
Never touched the rightbrain materials which is why I was trying to sell off the other time, aiyoh now still cluttering my home!
The rest of the time I surf my own interests, do my own hobby, and regular bouts to declutter my home.

last time more kancheong abt Girl... then now that Girl can read (average, not jawdropping standard), can write (average), can swim (below average considering how much it cost us already, haha), can play piano (above average but not prodigy), I ease off alot. She's happy prancing around in her ballet and gymnastics and drawing dunno-wats in her art classes- happy child most of the time.

As for Boy- I have 2nd child mentality, I figure he will pick up eventually lor. Sooner or later. Anyway he's happier playing with his cars ALLLLL day. Line up the cars here and there, ramp up his multi-storey carparks and so on. Ask him wan to join jie-jie for classes (gym, swim, chinese speech &amp; drama)- he dun wan. Starting piano this month which he says he's willing cos parent-accompanied throughout. He seems fairly happy with his cars so let him be lor. Speech-wise he's quieter/ shyer than his jie-jie but can argue well with me, so will do lah.