(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Ivy,
*Faint* I meant not to worry to much our little kiddos over crying, as teachers sure have ways to comfort them. Of cos, I understand your worrying, just trying to lighten your worry a bit.You know I am lousy poor way expression with words.

No!! I am not a beliver in the teachers will discripine our kiddos. Few fourm mummies &amp; even my colleague shared, so long their kiddos have bad behavious, parents are called in and demanded to see changes in them. <font color="ff0000">It's we parent duty and responsibility</font>.

littletot,

K will be starting on Mon so if things goes well, i may jus stop Term 4. Shld be continuing with Edudrama in Jan but looking at the school curriculum, they like got provide Speech and Drama also

i read all the comments about your sending our tots to cc / playgroup. not to frighten anyone but just to share what my boy experiences. he attends 2 hour playgroup on weekdays since March.

after he adjusted to the class, there is a whole new set of problems. he got pinched, pushed and slapped. we had to teach him to defend himself cos he never had to fight for things at home (only grandchild in my family). teacher told us he did not even cry or shout for help. after that, he told us about being put on naughty chair, his hand painful cos teacher held his hand too tight,classmate eating his snack, etc.

i believe my boy is more active than an average toddler at his age so we told the teacher not to restrain him too much. now, he looks forward to class everyday. even cried for my mum to bring him although it was pouring in the morning one day.

most days, without us asking, he will recount what he has done in class and we will ask probing questions to see if he was bullied. he has learnt a lot and teacher commented she sees him 'growing up'.

Wow so many post on lil ones gg to sch! refreshes my memories of my no1 1st day in cc. I was crying buckets when i heard my gal crying and screaming for me!! I was hiding in a room near her classroom then. after a while, i tot its so 'malu' coz the P is wif me and even comfort me.

think my 'tap' will start when my no2 starts sch next yr.haha

Cheri, the catapillar-turns-butterfly is AWESOME !!! Where can find lots of lime plants??hahhaa
but its really a gd exposure and experience learning to see the life cycle! Think my gals will be amazed by it

annie,
I think when your K starts sch, u will get to know , feel and understand. hehehe
Is K gg to sch next yr also?

anastasia,
you are right about the bullying part. Already in the last 2 days i can see X being bullied. We always taught him to be gentleman esp when at home he kena snatch toys by his niece.
So at sch, he kena snatch toys by others and he will just quietly let them be and put on a sad face.
I see other kids being snatch, will start to cry and roll on the floor to create attention but my son dun. Till the extend i went home and start telling him to say NO to ppl when they try to snatch their things. I was even thinking to teach him to fight back but abit too extreme liao hor? I think cc is a place for them to learn self defence and be independent bah.
So is your son gog for cc or will continue with the 2hr classes for next year?

Pooh,
i also want to go find caterpillar, where huh? I only rem last time need to find cockroach for science class to disect.

Pooh,
Haha.. I knew that long ago lar. Called me heartless mummy.
Like what Anastasia posted. K already experienced countless times. Until K starts to "revenge". Thats why i alway said, K only scared mummy canning and not others.. so light.

Ivy,
currently K and V is attending Sat Bilingual at JG.Am still in a dilimma between 3 days 4hrly Montesori or, 5 days 3hrly church kindy for V.

pooh,
V is still with Shichida.But her teacher is leaving most prob next march. So if i do a 3 day monte, i dun have to change her shichida class on thu morning :p.

pooh &amp; ivy
after u find the lime plant, must look v hard for the small caterpillars...they r so teeny weeny.

ivy
guess this is one of the reasons why it's impt to hv small teacher-child ratio at their young age. They may not be able to express or respond when bullied so it's impt for the teachers to spot these instances when they happen &amp; nip them in the bud. U r rite, teaching him to fight back is probably opening up another can of worms. Just hv to help him find the right words to express. Maybe u can oso read books related to such topics to him.

ivy,

i tried telling K abt school everyday... how fun the bus ride will be etc.. he jus listen, no response leh

no uniform to wear yet, only compulsory for pre-N, now is wear hm clothes.

got pics of X in sch uni? kids look so cute in them.

milo
dun worry too much abt his response now...think no matter how much we try to prep them, they'll still cry. I oso tried prepping her, read books etc but think not much use heheh. I've learnt this trick too from my experience sending her to cc...try not to initiate a prolonged conversation wif them abt sch...i would try to ask her several questions like how was sch etc...after a few questions, she would start putting on a sad face &amp; looked like she wanna cry. Then a fren tipped me &amp; i started to steal questions in at the most unexpected moments. Like when i was helping her to wash her hands at basin, i will nonchalantly sneak in a question like "does ms xxx help u to wash hands like this?' after she answers yes or no, i'll quickly change topic back to home or rush her off to eat etc. Think it helped &amp; din put her in a gloomy mood! Slowly she started to cheer up when i ask her more abt sch.

N oso has no sch uni...a bit ma fan as i hv to choose wat to let her wear everyday but kinda fun too lah. Her cc says dun wanna suppress their individual identity from such a young age hahhaha...i dun buy the mambo jumbo but no choice, cannot be dropping my preferred cc for her just cos no uni rite?

cheri,

thks for your advise
feel so excited yet worried at the same time abt sending him to school soon!

will N need to start wearing uni next year? abit headache on wat to wear everyday right? haha better to wear all dark colours else later all come back with stain!

milo,
of cos got pict of my darling boy in uni lah..dun you know i love my men in uni?

No uni also good lah, can dress nice nice everyday and dun have to ask him to change every morning. Every morning i have to bribe and coax him to change cos he know wear uni means go sch. And cos i only got 2 sets, must wash everyday...maybe will get another set when he is more settled down.
Sure have stains one, they play, self feed etc...poor mummy have to bleech for his t-shirt everyday. Next time primary sch have to white chalk his shoes too!

actually i do think he is adjusting to sch already. He can point to sch happily to me when i ask him where it is. Its the morning separation part that will take time bah...cos even when i leave him at mum house previously he will still cry badly for me for 5mins.
I think he knows mummy dun wan to leave him too and act drama for me to see! haha...we are a couple of drama mummy-son!

Kudos to all the brave mummy!

Don't talk about J, there's once, I visited a CC and there's this little girl crying "Ah MA!! Ah MA!!" VERY badly...**The Ah NA is hiding at a corner** And me, who's chatting with the teacher, starts to TEAR!!! Gosh.....i can't take it lah.. will delay this transition next year when he's bigger.

<u>Caterpillar</u>

Poor caterpillars.....there's going to be a group of mummies going after them from now on...

milo
her cc doesn't hv uni at all, not even for the older kids. Ya, i try to let her wear clothes that r of darker colours, not too expensive, no sleeveless (cos air con), pants that cover her knees cos she's v clumsy; she can get really bad gashes on her knees! Any locker in the cc? rem to put some extra clothes/diapers/underwear inside so they dun need to carry such a heavy bag each day.

ivy
oh, the good old chalky days! wonder if mummies now still do that hahaha

fates
it will be more interesting reading The Hungry Caterpillar then? hhahaha

cheri, milo,
i think X "ren ming" liao. Today aunt went to pick him at 3pm. Peeped before she went in. And saw him napping. Also teacher say he got shower and eat. But aunt forget to ask if he got pee! haha...
Anyway, today is Friday liao, Monday have to start all over again..So i think Monday again 2pm bring home, Tue, 4pm and slowly adjust him back. So milo, if X can ren ming by 4th day, K can also lah. Somemore his is only 3hrs!

Cheri
I asked Isabel if N brought butterfly to sch or not, she said yes.
U all set with the trip? Have a safe and fun and "fruitful" trip ya! ;)

Ivy,
Which sch is X attending? Near your home or work place? Actually no uni also cannot dress nice nice to sch, can get lots of stains. :p But I find it ok without uni coz with the rate they're changing clothes in sch, i'll have to buy maybe 6 - 10 sets!

Milo,
I'm going for lunch @ SP next week. Any recommendation there?

Pooh,
Is your girl with Shichida already? How's it?

hi Ivy,

i taught my boy to shout for teacher when he is being bullied but my mum feels he might not be attended to immediately. she taught him to push the bully lightly away and then go to teacher. honestly, we dun know if he applies this self defence tactic.

i did consider putting him in cc but his ah ma kept telling me kids in cc are not well fed. personally, i think it is not necessary to let him attend whole day cc since actual lesson time is only like 3 hours. my mum is ok with taking care of him as i got a domestic helper to help her full time on weekdays.

anatasia,
ya, there is no need for ur son to go cc since you have your mum and helper. Daily classes will suffice.
But not true that cc dun feed them. Just that at home, you will scoop a big bowl and slowly feed. For cc, they encourage self feed and then ask for 2nd helpings.
So far, i see X is doing well with his self feeding and will say MORE loudly when he want more. haha... But of cos we cannot expect the expensive fish or good cut of meat as we give at home. But still, its a balanced diet.
ss1,
surprisingly, not much stains on xavier leh. just some beverage marks, food wise he is quite capable of eating by himself.

cheri,
where to find books relating to topics of being bullied? Can recommend some? My V super timid.Sure kana bully big time

The good old chalky days... Dunno whether is it the norm practise nowadays..Visited my uncle hse and he has 2 school going kids.They both each have 3 pairs of school shoes! Am sure they dun do the chalk thingy.

Those days we only have 1 pair and remembered at 1 time, stepping on each other shoes beginning of the wk became a popular game.By tue or wed, everybody needs to do the chalk thingy liao

pooh,
you starting her full day also? Not half day arh? Is faith gog Pri 1 next yr already?

Ss1,
your meiji loot! next week lunch ? boss not ard, hb travelling so i have car and can lunch longer also...

Ivy
Ya. full day..half day too short and moreover the sch enrichment is after nap time. F gg P1 in yr 2010 . So next yr need to spend more time wif her lo

Hi Milo,

You continuing with the JG? Do u know when is the term duration? me scared i give birth then no one to bring R to class.
he likes the lessons so was hoping he can continue w it

joyce,
maybe can arrange your mil or sister to bring R to class after you gave birth?

today X skipped classes. He wet himself yesterday and was reluctant to go to sch due to the wetting incident. Dun want to force him too much and tot gave him a day off plus try to teach him to pull down his shorts by himself so that he wun wet himself again....

Ivy,

Too far from my place, sis sure will not also diff for her to bring R la. as for inlaws, weekend is their off so i dun disturb them...

How managed to teach X to take off his shorts? my mil tot my son to pull up his pants instead..

joyce,
i think next yr classes wll be non accompanied...So you can bring out the whole gang and wait for him while shopping with the twins? Need to get a twin stroller lo...Your maid here liao?

Hi ivy,

is it? they never say anything lei

sob sob not here yet..anyway still can cope w the housework, not much actually coz i just do the washing n cooking for R. managed to scrub my toilet despite the big ballon...keke

Hub sweeps n mops the floor when he feels like it...

littletot,

so far K looks ok in school. cried alittle when boarding the sch bus but once i am out of sight, he stop crying liao... back at work today :p

Joyce,

I most prob be stopping K from JG for the coming term. Will continue with Edudrama in Jan. The term duration will be another 10 weeks. Shld end before the dec sch holi.

edudrama shld be non-accompanied. I shld be going for that too...see how bah..Very tiring for daily classes plus weekend classes too.

Milo,
good to hear that K is doing well

lh_jyc,
next term 15 nov will be last lesson.

Ivy,
for edudrama there is companied n un-accompanied.Can chose which 1 you prefer.

Hi littletots,

Thanks! Think i will continue and hope tat i dun give birth b4 then...kekeke actually not supposed to give birth b4 10 Nov so should be quite safe ba..

Hi milo,
Congrats! K is brave to take bus on his own..wish my boy is also like tat, he veri timid w strangers and terror w family members

<font color="0000ff">lh_jyc,
Seems that you're handling well with R &amp; the unborn twins. They're girls right?

milo,
You must be very proud of K. When I'm home with E, he refused to go to change into his uniform and go to school (he's attending 2-hourly playgroup). He'd still has severe stranger anxiety.

MTDT from June 2006 thread is selling four <font color="aa00aa">PLAYTIME! "The Leaf Who Dreamed'' plus other stories</font> tix (4th OCT Sat 10am show). I've reserved two of them. Anyone keen to take the other two tix?
http://www.sistic.com.sg/portal/dt?dt.isPortletRequest=true&amp;dt.action=process&amp;dt.provider=PortletWindowProcessChannel&amp;dt.windowProvider.targetPortletChannel=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar/Event&amp;dt.containerName=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar&amp;dt.windowProvider.currentChannelMode=VIEW&amp;dt.window.portletAction=RENDER&amp;contentCode=leaf1008 </font>

Sorry to disturb.
Anyone uses Bliss confinement agency before? Any feedback? Appreciate with sharing ur experience with me. Pls PM me. Thanks!

hello all..

My gosh.. Ivy u say too early abt Ariel being a good girl.. cos she is starting to show separation anxiety now! Haiyo... the teacher had to tear her away from me this morning... at that moment when i see my dear girl crying away, my heart really breaks.. but no choice gotta harden my heart and walk away.. now i still want to tear when i recall that moment.. :'(

Really dunno if A enjoys sch ornot.. because she will tell me that she wants to play toys in sch..play with Lao Shi.. but when its time to put on her uni.. she kicks up a huge fuss! Gotta coax and coax then wear.. haiz~

Ivy &amp; Karen..
Seems like your boys are really guai &amp; brave.. Xav can self-feed (if A can do this i will be most happy liao).. and Kaeden can take the bus by himself.. clap clap for both of them!

Lets all pray that our kiddos can go to sch happily one day.. minus all the tears..

sponge,
now you know why i cried buckets in car liao last week..that face very very sad when you recall...

i tink need at least 2mths before they can happily go sch.

Hi Bbloh,

Yup twins are girls..nah...still trying to cope but figured it will be easier if i look at the bright side instead of worrying...

u should have seen me crying last week @ the hospital to see R in drips..

Btw, R coughing again w lots of phelgm...sigh..western med dun seem to cure him. brought him for chinese phy this time...hopefully better if not scared w have to make another trip down to hosptial if deteriorate

<font color="0000ff">lh_jyc,
I'm sorry to hear of R's case. Chinese medicine may takes a bit longer to see results. I think Annie is a firm believer of TCM as it works for K.

Please take care.</font>

Thanks thanks

Ah K still whimp when i sent him off the school bus for the past few days.. make me feel so sad and guilty.

This morning its my mum that sent him instead. According to her, K just happily board the bus and say bye bye to her wor... Haha he drama in front of me!

<font color="0000ff">milo,
My ah-boy is also like that. Refused to wear his uniform (he's attending 2-hourly playgroup) and cried when I told him that I'm bringing him to school. He's alright when my mum handles him w/o my presence! Kids really know who to 撒娇!</font>