(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

hi mel_lim,

my boy now feed at 4hr interval during the day. I also like some mummies only feed him when he is hungry but hor he very chun 4hr sure cry for milk. So far he is only late for 15mins.

These days he seem to demand it shorter but i just give water.Maybe milk is no longer that full for him liao.

<font color="ff6000">re: mouthing</font>
i think this is completely normal. my girl does this a lot, she puts everything in her mouth!! she's very ambitious, one day hubby caught her rolling on our bed trying to pick up our bolster (yes, OUR bolster!!) and put it in her mouth!!!

<font color="ff6000">waking at night</font>
K started doing this a few wks back so i started feeding her both breasts (was previously only giving one breast at each feeding) before sleeptime and she's resumed sleeping thru the night.

eliza_hairi - I went to KL for the weekend via flight as I think by road will be too challenging for a BB. The flt was relatively smooth as I think the altitude is not that high thus not much ear pressure. He did fuss a little so I nurse him during take off and landing.

In KL we stay at Royale Bingtang Damansara. A good hotel to stay as it is linked to a shopping mall and lotsa restaurants.

chenoa - will start to try these few days to give him some solid.

healthy times cereal - anyone know where can I get it? At NTUC issit?

Hi mel_lim

I got mine from both NTUC and the healthy times sprees.. though NTUC has limited variety.. got mine from bishan... seems to have more variety..

Thanks Evon.

After my gal recover from coughing...nowadays she drink alot le...sometime worried her stomach really can tahan so much of water and milk or not....

Finger into mouth:
my gal also like to put her finger into her mouth and i oso use the pacifier on her, then she will remove it n tries to put it back into her mouth again and keep talking to the pacifier....very funny...

Re: Putting hands into mouth
Really?? Is normal? I am so worried tat my gal seems teething. She seems biting (though no teeth) on her hand hard...

now even trying to lift her butts to catch her foot n place into mouth.. very funny.

Re: Frequent eating
Think mel lim, ur bb is really 2b wean. U can try just one type a bit for a week plus? = )

Xuanting's drinking lesser but more frequently too... she hungry, I noe one..

She will bite her lips n make funny noises to tell me she's hungry.= p

Mrs Ho,
at least ur gal drinks water more's good. I got to keep giving Xuanting bottle to drink more water.. else scared she not enuf water then cannot poo. =p

<font color="ff6000">mel lim</font>
i've seen Healthy Times products at some NTUC outlets (organic food section) and many good health food shops.

<font color="ff6000">flipping during sleep</font>
does anyone else have this problem? ever since K started flipping, she sometimes flips onto her tummy while she sleeps at night in her cot. then because she's still half asleep, she can't flip back which upsets her and she'll fuss and i have to wake up to 'rescue' her. should i just continue doing this until she learns to flip back, or should i actually try to prevent her from flipping (ie. put a small bolster next to her)??

A question for mummies who starts to feed Eu Ren Seng Si-Shen brown rice.

How to add to milk to feed? The instructions said to cook for 5 mins then feed baby... Does it mean to cook and add into milk?

My baby drinking 180ml every 4 hours, so I should start to add one tsp of brown rice cereal into his milk once a day? Then slowly increase?

miu66

Hehe.. thanks for your complements! Yeah.. she looks kinda grown up in that photo.. trying to make her to wear the dress that I got for her in one of the sprees, though it is for 12-18m, maximise the money spent

Ray,
I can answer that.. =p

Tix is what I do.

I scooped 2 spoons (using Similac's) into 150ml of water and boiled it. After tat cool it down. Pour into milk bottle n place in Avert warmer.

N when bb wants to eat, put the usual milk powder into the bottle (she only takes 2n1/3 spoons of Simiac Milk powder).

At night, I cooked ard 300ml n put into the thermal flask. An hour b4 she eats, I will put into the bottle to cool n into warmer to keep temperature constant.

My mom increased from a spoon to the current two spoons after a week+. You do slowly.

Note that the teats, you may need to change to L size (those for thicker feeds one).

Hope tix helps.

Hunniepot,
ur gal loves to stand too... Xuanting too.. she enjoys it very much, but my mom dun recommend us to do so more than 20s. =(

Mui66,
i got similar prob like u too... But not flipping.

My gal will move ard the cot till she's 90degrees from the last position tat I put her. Sometimes, she can rotate till she's at almost other side. All happens during sleeping. I so scared tat her feet got caught in cot that I ve to place the bumpers ard the cot n oso some pillows at the side where her feet will kick to help her turn around.

BTW,

any of ur bbs dun like to sleep on pillow?

My gal will shift herself downwards till she's away from the pillow. Tried different pillows n all same. She seems to prefer without pillow.

Normal?

miu66

Mine does not flip while she is sleeping... but like Evon's girl, she will turn 90, 180, 270 &amp; 360 degrees while shes on the cot.. very cute

My girl also doesnt like the pillow leh..

hunnie,

my gal stil at malaysia...but she will come over to sing on this Friday...can't wait the day to come...she will stay here about 2 weeks..so, i wont rush back to malaysia for coming 2 weeks liao.

My gal oso dont like pillow le...she oso will shift downward..hehehee...

HI Ladies

Cheona
Pls update Ivec's weight..5 mths at 6.1kg..in fact he should b still considered 4.5mths though ^_^

RE: Pillow
I only place e pillow for Ivec during his changing of diapers/clothings. Only once i placed a pillow during his sleep &amp; that was the only time he never rotate..else he will rotate 90degrees during sleep.

RE: Waking up in the middle of the night
Dunno why these days, Ivec will wake up crying in e middle of e night..esp during 2am..any mommies also experienced this b4? Wonder why..

Been reading the thread but didn't join in..shy.. Anyway, wonder if any of your mils don't allow you to take any 'bu' (tonic) because you are breastfeeding? My mil refuse to let me take any bu cos she dun like me to breastfeed.

Hi curtain

Welcome to the thread!

Aiyoo, why issit that your mil refuses to let you take tonics? I asked my midwife friend about breastfeeding, and she mentioned it is good to take tonics when breastfeeding

Mrs Ho

Good that your girl will be here for 2 weeks.. meaning you will be taking leave? Admire you for that as I cant do without seeing my girl even for a few hours in a stretch

Mrs Ho,
Happy for you, finally u get to be with yr daugter throughout. What is your decision putting her in infant care, Singapore?

Hunniepot,

Ya, Isaac now he no longer excited abt the fact he is able to sit nor stand. Now he is super excited the fact he can walk. But i'm so worry abt his leg growth.. Hiazz confuse mama!

hey, all mamas.. i'm planning to bring Isaac to Sentosa this sat to play with sand and have fun under the sun hahahahahah!!!!!!!!!!!!! the thought of it makes me so excited! i'm planning to sit cable car and bring him to underworld. Cannot image what will be his expression :p

HI curtain, then u take your own lor! As long as your bu ping has no alchol then is perfectly ok with it. even if you drink DOM, then 1 hr later just pump out then feed yr little one lor.

Curtain,
nv heard tat breastfeeding cannot take tonics. In fact, both my mil n my mom were pumping me with tonics back during confinement then...

koalarie
my boy has never used pillow cos we scared he develop flat head. he used to sleep on a cloth diaper, but now no more.

he sleeps on his side or tummy now. he will flip on his back or his front, so i need not 'rescue' him like miu66 said. but cos he sleeping on his tummy now, i will always check on him to make sure he's not suffocating or anything

curtain
welcome to the thread. i dunno why your MIL dun like u to BF. Tell her bb will be getting lots of antibodies which will make him stronger agst diseases.

mom yam
remember to put sunblock on your boy b4 gng out in the sun! so fun! i think you mean 'underwater world' and not 'underworld'... hehe.. can't wait to hear all abt your trip

The thing is, she did the confinement for me, regret! Got 40% of my meals then were leftover food from previous days.. My colleague came to visit, give a pack of tonic to cook soup one..so got her to help me cook. Later, she says cook already, gave me the soup to drink, after that, I found the pack of tonic in the dustbin..totally not opened! Somemore she use some rubbish to cover it! I'm so angry!
Even now, whenever she cook any tonic soup or whatever good, she only dish out specifically for individuals.. none for me.

curtain

Huh?! How could you be taking leftover food from previous days during confinement?

Why dont you take your own tonics? You dont have to be at her mercy

She dun like me to BF cos she wants to have "full posession" of bb. Scare that I BF, bb will only stick to me, not her. So when she found out that I BF, she keep insisting I pump so she can feed bb. My mum and frends gave lots of tonic during confinement, she simply refuse to cook..or she pretend to cook 'tonic soup', without the tonic. after confinement, then I found out she had thrown away the tonic stuffs. yah, now thinking of cooking my own stuffs, just hope its not too late.

Evon,

my boy also dun sleep on pillow. he will shift himself out of it like u describe. he is still sleeping w cloth nappy.

curtain,
why not u cook yr own now unless it might be inconvenience if u r staying w her.

Hi Koalarie,

It means I will add one tsp of the "Eu Ren Sen- Si Shen Brown rice" to 180ml of water to cook the brown rice. Put in the the milk bottle. Then add the normal 6 scoops of milk powder to the cereal mixture? (6scoops of milk powder for 180ml)

Enfalac A+ ratio for milk is 1 scoop for 30ml. My son is drinking 180ml.

Then the second week, add 2 tsp?

The thing about the Eu-Ren Sen brown rice.. It did not state how much to feed. Only to say 1-2tsp of brown rice with some water to cook then feed baby. Consistency of the mixture is to preference?

How to cook one bowl? and how much is enough?
Add one tsp for one week for one meal only? Slowly increase to 2 meals of brown rice a week or 2 tsp for one meal a day?

Then 4 weeks later, introduce another solid?

Please advise.

what kind of stuff u place yr bb in now when not in cot. Rocker??? i realise bb now want to sit and stand and not yet there, seem like cannot put them in some items like exersaucer for long. I wonder if he keep staying in cot or rocker, sian right?

Hi curtain,

My MIL also do not like the idea of breastfeeding inititally.

But after knowing from my hubby's auntie (a full time babysitter) that breastfeeding is good for baby as it protects the baby and good for development, she encourages me to breastfeed. Unfortuanly, my supply stops after 1 mth, think I was too tired. I dun rest and sleep at the same time with my baby. I also do housework, too boring to stay in bed.

Do you have any aunts that can communicate with her? Perhaps they can help talk to her?

twinkle-starry and fussiecat,
U can try using the flat pillow. I got that for my gal when my mil warned of giving Xuanting to sleep on cloth diaper.

Babysafe has tix flat type with holes one. So no worries on developing flat head.

Ray,
basically ur method's correct.

The start is to add a bit of brown rice powder to the milk so tat bb slowly accustom to the taste.

Slowly u then make slightly thicken feeds and use the spoon type (Pigeon bottle can attach spoon ones.. some mommies hve posted the photo of it here as well).

I agree /w u the Eu Ren Sheng nv say. BTW, the Eu Ren Sheng powder is very fine... n so if u find it too liquid after doing so, u may nd to add a little bit more.

My PD said four~five days will do n monitor bb's poo. But we KS.. we waited almost two weeks before going to thicker amt.

BTW, bb poo will be not mashy once you start off the cereals. Is normal. That's what my pd said. =)

U oso will find bb won't've tummyaches tat much as compared to last time.

But, bb may start to drink lots of water.... somehow tat's what i noticed on my gal.

Twinkle starry,
My mom n I place my gal on rocker ard 30~45minutes if she didn't complain. N then sit her on bumper seat for 30min+ to play. N lie her down on sofa or mattress most of the time n sometimes put her on our legs n play with her.

So far, my gal too prefer to sit up... n in fact, at times, she wants to b carried more often.. n so put her on sling or carry her like how the koala bear carries the cub. =p

hunnie,
no lar, i wont take leave to take care of my gal...my IL will bring my gal over here...and they will take care of her while im working lor.... Me really envy u....stay at home look after ur gal...... "xian mu si wo le"

mom_yam,
send my gal to infant care!!!!!....impossible for me leh...cos im PR here, and the subsidy are different from local. The cost for PR to send a bb to infant care cost around 1k. Not like Terrier &amp; twinkle starry...they have better rate. For me, may be double of their fees.
I only can wait till my gal turn 18months...then i can afford the cost to send her to childcare.

curtain,
poor thing...never heard got such bad IL huh.... Although sometimes i dun really like my IL, but she cook alot for me to eat during confinement... till i complaint to my hubby said she cook too much... feeding me like a PIG.

flat head:
im sort of regret never traine my gal sleep @ side or tummy...now find her head quite flat leh. Nowadays, i keep notice other bb...their head very round le compare to my gal...sob..sob...
(me, stupid mummy cause bb head flat)....

fussiecat, so pai say.......hahaha ya, is underwater world. later pple thot i gangster :p

curtain, is a little too late coz' yr water retention will "stuck" in yr body. U probably got to wait till 2nd birth alr. But then ang mo also dt eat tonic food and they are also quite healthy.

Hmm.... try yr best to drink DOM now if u can.

Twinkle starry,

U bought up a very good topic. I also dunno where to put my son. He doesnt like to be in the cot when he is awake, nor in the rocker coz' he wants to sit up. but putting him sitting up position he wants to stand. So demanding right.. i always say "u have not learn to crawl,want to learn how to run" sigh!

put him inside the excersaucer / walker.. must play with him, if not.......... he will do his best to come out of it. which is impossible also hahaha! Sigh............ how how?? any1 can advice.

nowadays i realise he wants to walk.. and once he is able to walk, he feels as if he is an adult. Hiaz..

Mrs ho, is okay... dont blame yrself abt the flat head.. u can now keep "smooth" the head. try to make back round round lor.

back to infant care.. have u thot nanny? nanny i thk is abt 500 to 600, if i'm not wrong.

Mrs Ho,
Agree /w Mom yam.

Xuanting oso initially like tat.. as she doesn't sleep in sarong. So ppl all say just stroke her head clockwise n eventually it becomes rounder.

She still quite flat at her sides a bit if got see the foto i posted on my blog.=p

Mrs Ho,
hmmm... if u looking for one, let me noe.. think my buddy's mom is doing at Woodlands. But she will not be available in Jan - March period. Helping my buddy b her confinement auntie.. =p

BTW, good news to share with u mommies.

My buddy who intro me Dr Lisa.... she lost her foetus becoz of constant bad cough frm tonics during her earlier months n plus UTI..... n now..... she is pregnant n into her second term. I'm SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.......... HAPPY for her...

Xuanting going to ve a little sister to play with her over weekends as my buddy stays juz next block to mine.

Anyway, her mom wants to help take care... but her mil book for the unborn bb since the first time when she was pregnant. =p

curtain

Yeah lor..think you shld start taking tonics now.. my mum just bought this bottle of health tonics for me, no alcohol content.. you may wish to try it out

501010.jpg

curtain,
dun worry on water rentation. I too got same prob...

1. Go to marine france n sign up only for CPT.. it helps to remove water rentation really fast n effective.

2. Watch the diet.

3. Try the Eu Ren Sheng's Ginger wine. Ard $45 i think. Bought one n drank a little bit each night to help get rid of water rentation. It doesn't've that Ginger taste tat i scared of... =p

mom_yam,
Cos hubby quite particular, he rather our gal look after by our own ppl rather than ppl that we dont know. So no choice....me got to wait till she turn 18months lor. And me got to prey hard hard that my gal dont be too fussy which she can get used to the new environment @ childcare....

Mrs Ho

My girl also got flat head
regretted not listening to my mum initially to keep turning her head when she sleeps.. well.. guess it might be a little too late.. the PD said it will go back to the round shape but will take a longggg time...

There are pros and cons becoming a SAHM, good thing is I can be there to witness her milestones, breastfeed her exclusively, strengthen the bonding with her but sometimes I really feel that I need a break.. my life just revolves ard changing diapers, pacifying baby, feeding baby, doing housework etc.. miss the times when Im working..

evon,
noted ur contact...will call u if i really need a nanny...thanks in advance.

hunnie/evon,
yeah...understand the feeling that we need a break away from our bb...
sometimes i will feel release when i back to sing to work....but, when working...will miss her very much...
( we really in dilema.....

Sherlene likes to put her fingers in her mouth also, and whatever she grabs. She will also put her feet in...

That day we went NTUC and an auntie saw that, than she say when baby put their feets in their mouths, mean the mommy going to get pregnant again..
Hopefully not true lah, cos I dun want another one so soon.

standing:
she likes to stand also and try to walk.. so active.. make mommy very tired...

rotating around the cot:
she did this around 1 month ago... cannot stand her... she can go one whole round. and now keep flipping also. last night she woke up at 4am, and dun wan to sleep. gosh..

sleep on pillow:
evon, same here. she will shift downward and sleep direct on the matteress

we are bringing the kids to the Zoo this weekend.. must prepare mosqitoes patches...

Irene,
guess mayb our gals born on same day n sama sama. =p

She woke up ard 4am+ too on Sat night.. think mayb becoz she knew her daddy coming home soon frm work n so woke up... after her daddy played /w her a while.. i too tired tat i placed her beside me to sleep n she played till tired n she dozed off too... heehee..

MRs Ho,
no worries.

I was just communicating with Jasminetea on tix too... with so many things going tat needs S-11... dun think can do without job.. unless strike toto 1st prize. =p

curtain
so sorry to hear about your in-law woes... i think i'm very lucky that my MIL and FIL are very easy going pple. My mom is the 'problematic' one. When she did my confinement for me, my hubby can't tahan her sometimes, haha. I clashed with my mom a few times during confinement, but i always win, haha. She kept saying that i will suffer when i'm old, then i replied her that if i do suffer when i'm old, i will hold myself responsible and not her :p

tonic
curtain, my mom bought this tonic called 'bu yao jing' for me. it's for strengthening the waist area. i think it's very good, also didn't affect my BFg routines. for a start, you can also just take essence of chicken every day to strengthen your body. my mom let me drink one every day.

diet
curtain, my mom also cooked alot of 'bai mu er' for me (together with fish or other vegetables). supposed to be help get rid of wind too. don't take veggies like cabbage cos got wind.

flat head
mrs ho, don't worry. my hubby and i are just being kiasu. i read in many bb books that bbs head will be flat cos when they are young, they tend to sleep in one particular position, when they grow older and sleep in other positions, the head will slowly round out.

where to put bb
twinkle starry, yah, i think abt this too. i only put him in the cot when we want him to sleep or when we change his clothes/diaper. when he's awake, it's usually exersaucer (but not more than 15mins cos he gets bored and cries for attn) or rocker (usually less than 5mins! cos he hates to be strapped down), most of the time, he wants to be carried! so my hubby and i will 'tag-team' lor...

fussiecat,

bu yao jing is very good. ntuc is pretty expensive, selling at $39 per bottle. My student recommend me lobang to buy at $35 and 3 bottles will get free delivery to home. Recently kena cheated by sales person to buy the locally made bu yao jing. Dun buy that. It taste so bland and different from the china made one.

Irene,

Haha, if u take precaution, shouldn't be pregnant so fast. I tell my hubby no-no for the time being. i have yet to rid my phobia. I am still catching up with my sleep, rest, etc etc.

fussiecat

Re: flat head

My hubby has flat head too (and there is this saying that hainanese men are prone to flat heads) and cos of his head shape, not many hair styles suit him...

Irene,

Dont scare me.. my girl also tries to put her feet into her mouth... hehe will die if I get preggie again

Evon &amp; Mrs Ho

Yeah lor.. its a dilemma right? When Im home with her, I want to go out on my own... but when I actually out without my baby, I will call home once every hour to check if she is fine..

fussiecat

Re: flat head

My hubby has flat head too (and there is this saying that hainanese men are prone to flat heads) and cos of his head shape, not many hair styles suit him...

Irene,

Dont scare me.. my girl also tries to put her feet into her mouth... hehe will die if I get preggie again

Evon &amp; Mrs Ho

Yeah lor.. its a dilemma right? When Im home with her, I want to go out on my own... but when I actually out without my baby, I will call home once every hour to check if she is fine..