(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

may,
my company doesn't hospital benefits for maternity

GT,
i've been feeling tired too! but on some nights, i can't seem to get a goodnight rest. i'm trying to sleep earlier nowadays. wouldn't want to be caught napping at work.

i have to agree that while the govt is trying to give pregnant mums more benefits, the companies are not too keen when their female employees get pregnant.
i've told my boss abt the pregnancy, and he just said "congrats".u see, i'm working a small local firm and i'm the only lady employee. can u imagine if i go on maternity leave? *headache*

Hi Irene,

kao_welcome.gif

congrats!!

just called my gynea regards to blood in stools..now i'm relieved but to shared with all of you..gotta takes lots of fruits and vegs to prevents such thing from happening cos the nurse told me it's very common among preg ladies..therefore increase your intake of fruits and vegs!! me going supermarket ltr to grab fruits to store in fridge!!

GT, me too..not the napping sort but since preg me been sleeping alot too..especially after taking the hormone pill,me tend to feel giddy and then comatose!! been taking lots of afternoon naps!!but i can't sleep well during the night, wake up in the middle of the night to wee wee then have prob sleeping liao cos me light sleeper, wake up liao then have to "re sleep" again..very tirring...

not sure if can use "ru yi you" or not...

think we just have to take things easy...I also dun know how life will be if I were to go on maternity leaves....

anyone start looking for maternity clothes?

I think our bosses were just thinking that we go on maternity leave will affect them. What is more ironic to me is actually my boss got 2 lovely children whom he dotes on very much. I thought he will be happy for me. But turned out......

Choo, welcome
I have start searching online and visited some maternity stores in town. But haven't got around buying any 'cos I still can wear my current clothes. When should we start buying huh? When tummy shows?

May, my company also don't have hospitalisation benefits. I also have not been sleeping well! Woke up at 4am every morning, dunno why!

choo

haven't start looking yet... but seems kinda expensive... when i look at those online stores..
somemore i'm very skinny, dunno have my size or not...

Hi Rach,
My GP asked me to stop taking vegetables and fruits because my stomach was very bloated. I have not taken any for four days and my stomach is feeling much better now. I think I will continue to take some now.

I found out that I was pregnant while going for interviews. In fact, one of the company accepted me and I have to reject them because I heard from my friend that this company actually requested one of the staff to go to a construction site when she is about to give birth anytime. Lucky, her baby choose to come out one day before she needs to go.

Hi GT,
I dunno if we can use that oil a not but I have been rubbing myself with "Gun Lang You". I think I have been surviving with that oil ever since I felt uncomfortable.

choo,
the maternity clothes are all so expensive! i got a shock when i went to mothercare last week. and some of them are not really nice.
i think i'll probably just wear bigger sizes clothes instead..heh!

Hi Maraquan,
u mean your employer accepted you though they know you are pregnant? me was thinking of getting a job now but my hb says it's difficult as now i'm preg,chances are employers wun wan to accept me due to maternity leave..

Congratulations on becoming a mummmy next year. I'm in my 6 weeks and EDD is on 12 April. Already experiencing morning sickness when I was 5 weeks. Felt naseous every morning. Only start to feel better after taking some milk and biscuits after I woke up. As for dinner, must eat before 6 and can only take porridge. Anything that goes into my mouth after 6 will all be flushed into the toilet bowl! Hope u gals out there won't suffer the same fate as me....

I was pregnant after I quit my job..so currently looking for job like Rach. Actually got a job offer from UOB, went for interviews and pre-employment checkups already. But upon hearing that I'm pregnant, they changed their mind abt employing me...was very angry and almost went to complain to MOM. Guess government should also come up with policies to protect pregnant ladies from employers since they are the ones who encourage us to give birth. Anyway, I can only look for temp jobs now in order to help ease my hubby's financial load.

Alright, u gals take care yah....

jasmine,irene,little fish,

Yup!those maternity clothes really ex hor?!is it cos they need extra material hence so ex?

I think I shd be shopping for pants first next week bah...working pants are kinda tight..liao..opps!

preciousbabe,

how I wish I can have ms like you leh!that's early for ms to set in!
cos I have heard that ms meant the pregnancy hormones is high so good to have ms....me now only have nausea feeling then feel like vomit but nothing come out yet...i am still waiting....

Hi Rach,

Good to hear that you are ok. Tks for sharing too. Never knew abt that blood is stool is normal for preg woman.

Im really tired nowadays too. Nap at work! So terrible. But im taking Vit B complex and it helps. Gives me a little more energy. With that, i dont nap at work.

Anyone suffering from memory problems? I realize i forget stuff easily now.

Hi Choo,
Dune at Great World City has nice clothes. They have an outlet at paragon too. Spring at Suntac and causeway pt has nice casuals too. U can give them a try.

May,

thanks for your recommendation!will try to shop next week!hope dun have to spend so much on maternity clothes as would rather spend more on bb's things...

Hi Choo,

No worries. I do agree with u. Dont spend too much on clothes now coz we surely grow more in the next few mths.

Hi Preciousbabe,

Congratulations to u too! Lots of docs recommend taking cream crackers in the morning after u wake up and take many small meals instead of 3 full meals. It helps.

If it gets really bad, must tell gynea. Think there is medication to reduce the puking. But what Choo said is true, MS tells u that the baby is growing. So look on the bright side.

Take care yah!

Do you still do housework? I am thinking to vacumn the floor but my mermaid is very heavy. My hubby also has stopped me from hanging out the clothes as my GP advise me not to.

I'm still doing some housework.. but hubby is helping me a lot now.. cos i'm easily tired and will nap during weekend...

Maraquan,

Please dun do any more housework until 2nd trimester ok!
my gynae told me to pass all housework to my hubby or else close one eyes to all the dust in the house...for the past one week I was at home was so tempted to put out my laundry to dry cos got nice sun but sigh...hubby forbid me to do it...now he sweep/mop floor,wash toilets,hang up laundry for me...though not as good as what I do...but can lah...close one eye...

until 2nd trimester?? I will be cover with dust and spider ah. My hubby never do any housework before. Now he offer to help me to hang out those clothes after my washing machine has wash them, I already feel so happy. Dunno how to tell him he also need to vacumn the floor, mopped the floor, clean the toilet, blah blah blah.

Maraquan / Irene,

I dont think its advisable to do any heavy duty chores. Better leave it to your hubby. Its time for them to do some work! hehe..(joking)

I actually in the middle of renovating my house but also laid off and leave everything to my hubby. Safer for baby.

Maraquan,

yup cos for me i had some brown spotting and gynae ask me never to do housework to exert myself..better be safe than sorry...must talk to hubby nicely..said now you are in early stage of pregnancy and not stable yet so can't do much manual work....think for the sake of bb he would do it!
my hubby also only child leh..NEVER did housework when at his mum's house ok..even when married I was the one doing 99% of housework...but after I am pregnant..he is so 'nice'to me haha

Updated list!

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>Des</TD><TD>11/04/06</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousbabe</TD><TD>12/04/06</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Choo</TD><TD>13/04/06</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>GT</TD><TD>13/04/06</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasminetea</TD><TD>15/04/06</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Ho</TD><TD>18/04/06</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>May</TD><TD>18/04/06</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Terrier </TD><TD>20/04/06</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Fish</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>Dr Goh Shen Li</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gebbera</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rach</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maraquan</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

Choo,

Ya ya, maternity clothes are indeed very expensive. A few nice shops at Plaza Singapura too.
But I haven't went in to really take a look.

You want to try some online store? I can email you a few if you want

Maraquan,

yup cos for me i had some brown spotting and gynae ask me never to do housework to exert myself..better be safe than sorry...must talk to hubby nicely..said now you are in early stage of pregnancy and not stable yet so can't do much manual work....think for the sake of bb he would do it!
my hubby also only child leh..NEVER did housework when at his mum's house ok..even when married I was the one doing 99% of housework...but after I am pregnant..he is so 'nice'to me haha

jasmine,

you want pm me the on line shop or want post here for the rest of the MTBs? thanks again!

paisey...post twice same thing...

I have checked with my gynae and he told me ok to use "ru yi you" but that is only superficial relief. Have advise me to get medicine for stomach wind.

Rach : I am also like you.. Very light sleeper.. sometimes i wish i could do better at sleeping.. hahaha...

Wow, some of you started sourcing for maternity clothes liao ah? That's fast man.. Yes, I do agree that it is very expensive.. anyway, we are definitely captive customers as we will need them anyway...

Btw, any of your clothes getting tighter? Some of my clothes are getting slightly tighter at the waist and I haven't put on weight.. sigh.. maybe itz the expansion of womb...

Thanks, I will try not to do any. Baby more important than housework. I think I got to consider getting a part time maid then. My hubby sometime work up to 12 or 16 hours per day, cannot let him do all the work also.

Hi Maraquan and all,

Yeah, think we should consider part time cleaners during this period. Currently, I am using a part time cleaner fortnightly to do general home cleaning.

Must treat yourself like a queen during this period.

since most of you are seeing dr eunice chua, care to give some comments on her? and how is her package like? Cost, and what is included in the package?
and 1st visit costing.. thanks

talking about part time cleaner, you gals got any to recommend? I'm thinking of getting one also... really can't stand my dusty flooring... mop one day, the next day dusty again... haiz...

Hi Choo,

Actually, I'm not sure if I can share all the website on this forum. That is why I tot of emailing you instead

Anyway here are a few to share with all of you

http://www.maternitymall.com/
http://www.bellysima.com/

Got a few more at home. Will share it next time.

GT : A few of my tops get tighter. My breast are very sore and tender now so very difficult to wear those tight fitting tops already. For me, pants and skirts are still okay.

I bought maternity bras last week 'cos I find it very painful to wear my current one already.

I also have to stop doing housework as per warning from my gynae like Choo. The only thing I do is to wash plates after dinner.

Cheers~

I got somemore questions.
Can I
1) eat watermellow?
2) drink hot tea without milk?
3) iron clothes?
4) laugh really hard?
5) carry my laptop?

jasminetea
thanks for sharing!!!
my bottoms are getting tighter. after a meal, wah lau, i feel like my pants going to burst liao! i think i have to shop for drawstrings now.
i'm still doing housework like ironing and folding but i get my hubby to bring out the poles for hanging. i just put the clothes on the poles.hee hee..
and he does the vacuuming and sweeping nowadays. like jasminetea, i just wash the plates lah...

anyone of you experience rashes outbreak? I have sensitive skin and often have mild rashes on my arms in air-con places (think it's too dry) but they do not feel itchy. But recently, I'm itching all over - the neck, body, thights, legs, arms, etc. The rashes are pronounced, red and spotty, and my skin feels hot. I'm not sure what's the cause, was speculating if I'm allergic to milk but dismissed it as last time I used to drink the same brand, also alright. And, today, I haven't drink any milk yet I get these irritaing rashes.

I used to drink honey and it helps to stablise my sensitiveness. Heard that pregnant cannot drink honey, but i dunno why. If can drink honey, I'll resume taking it. Anyone has comments?

Hi Maraquan,

According to chinese believe, watermelon is a no no. Something abt it being too "cooling". "Cooling" stuff can cause miscarriage but, im sure if u ask your gynea, he/she will say its ok. Western med n eastern med has diff believes.

As for tea, i think a cup or 2 a day is fine.

I think laughing is fine rite? Esp in later stages of preg, laughing will be good for baby. Baby can sense your emotions.

Laptops can be rather heavy. Better not carry to heavy stuff.

GT/Jasminetea,

Same here. Getting bit "bigger". Waist line getting bigger. Breasts getting heavier n painful too. Must wear good support bras to lessen the pain. Must buy some bigger clothes soon.

Hi Chenoa,

Better see the doc for your rash. Allergies are very hard to pin point. U have to monitor what u eat and the reactions you get.

As for honey, i didnt know preg ladies r not suppose to drink it. I have been drinking it everyday, before i conceived till now. Still drinking it.

My friend drank honey too thru her preg. Seems fine so far. She just gave birth n baby is very cute. Im seeing gynea on wed. Will check with the doc n let u know.

Hi Irene
Ya, if you are experiencing painful stomach cramps, better see a gynae soon...

Hi May
Are you shifting new house? Me too...Did your elders warn you not to move stuff around? Me headache now leh...b'coz I intend to move my current bedroom set to new house, but now... Are you in similar situation?

I'm also having odd symptoms, getting forgetful, just now I even unknowingly hold on a rice scoop in my hand while I eat my dinner :p

Do you all know if we can drink Vitagen/Yakult and yogurt?

Jasminetea
Hehe, jus KP pop in to this thread. I from Feb06 thread.

BTW, in Singapore some trendy n ok price maternity wear shops can go cc. Like Spring Maternity (at Suntec, Arcade, Tampines Century Mall), Perfect Mum (at International Plaza, Arcade, Kovan)...

Or try this USA website,I think it is also known as maternitymall.com
http://www.motherhood.com/home.asp?Media=Motherhood
Cheaper, for shipment maybe u can share the cost.

I just came back from "Sing Song". I realise that whenever I was near the wet food area, I felt terrible. When I was near the kimchi and preserve vegetable, I felt so good, I could hug those vegetables. When I saw the sour prune, I realise that all my nerve are working suddenly and I was drooling. I brought two packets home.

When I came back, I was feeling terrible again. Then I remember the sour prune that I just brought. Wow, sour prune can work like "ru yi you" or even better. But dunno eat too much good a not.

Hi Chenoa,
Can drink honey. Saw my gynae last wed and was told that if I find the taste of plain water too bland, can add honey to it...so no worries to take honey daily

Hi Terrier,

Im in the middle for my reno. May move in only next mth but i wont be there to witness it. Appearently, its not good for the baby's spirit. I will only walk in as though everything is normal after my hubby settles everything. I wont be moving my current bedroom set so i guess it's not as troublesome. Your hubby may need to transfer your bedroom set within the same day than u move over to sleep. U can move into your new house rite?

I was only told not to move things ard or hammer stuff or witness the official moving in.

Im becoming so forgetful, like old woman. Afraid my boss is going to be cross with me.

Hi Irene,

I get cramps too. Little ones that comes and goes. I read somewhere that cramps happen when there is implantation in the womb. Can also be muscle stretch. Not too sure. Will ask the doc on Wed.

Hi May
I should be able to move into new house, same as you, can't chap too much into renov now, esp when they are doing renov work, I can't be there.
And some elders said we can't even move our furniture in our current bedroom, especially the bed. That's the big problem I'm facing now, b'coz we just bought all these furniture not too long ago.

me too experiencing my bottoms are getting tighter..but on second thought abit too soon to wear maternity clothes now,rite? i can feel my butt and thigh getting bigger!! so scared...these area very difficult to shed off..

regards to housework,i have a part time maid that comes to clean once a week but i still clean the house every now and then...

me getting forgetful too...yet to experience MS, anything wrong?? me 6 weeks liao.

Went for my 2nd review today. Gynae said I'm doing well as no more bleeding. But my blood pressure on the lower end, got to be careful if I do feel faint etc.

Chenoa, I also got rashes on my legs and arms. I just asked my gynae today and she gave me a cream to apply. She also mentioned that I should use a mild moisturier for dry skin. Hope it can helps. Maybe you can check with your gynae regarding your rashes? Accordingly to my gynae, mine is not food allgeries leh, just some rashes due to pregnancy which will be heal after birth.

By the way, honey is no problem

SiewIng, thank you so much for sharing! Congrats on your pregnancy too.
Have you bought a lot of maternity clothes already? You are Feb06 Mum, should be in your 4th mth already?

Terrier, I'm not sure about Vitagen/Yakult but yogurt is definitely good for you.
I made fruit salads with it.

Maraquan, I agreed with you that sour prune worked wonder! I also like orange peel very much now. Even though I dun hv morning sickness yet, my tongue kept having this bitter taste. I need orange peel and sour purne to get rid of it.

Hi Terrier,

Your suitation is abit sticky. How? U can buy a spare bed for your new house for the time being, than after delivery, shift the bed into the spare room or sell it off? Yours is a tough nut to crack.

Hi Rach,

My butt is getting bigger n fuller. My hubby says that its diff from before. Its actually abit too soon for us to grow like that rite? The baby is tiny. Few mm only rite? Im so afraid that i will put on so much weight n look like a monster soon.

Slimming courses not cheap too. I heard that the indonesian wrap is good to get our figure back. Will def do that after giving birth.

Some ladies dont get ms at all - the lucky ones. Some get it really bad. Im not looking fwd to it actually. I think it will come soon. Im also at 6 weeks.

Jasmine,

good for you!!!no more spotting liao!
yr spotting was just brown in color right?

me no more brown/red spotting after last monday...so far so good...just eager to see my gynae this sat...me in 7th weeks now....

Wat is the hormone pills that your gynae gave you?

May,

My hubby also said my tummy look a bit 'bigger'!I think he is so crazy to be a dad bah...but anyway i got a tummy before preggie
just hope i can control my weight well and won't ballon that much!

Hi Choo!

Yup, my spotting was brown in colour. Actually not a lot either but I guess better be safe than sorry. Glad that you are doing fine too! The pill my gynae gave me was Gestrenol, take twice a day. What about yours?

May, yes! Slimming courses are definitely expensive. Will go for massages instead after birth
Keep our fingers cross we won't get MS!