(2006/02) Feb 2006 MTB

GOSH!! The Pneumococcal jab sounds so scary. If it is so painful, thk it is better to give earlier leh because it would be difficult to get your kid to take the jab when they start to understand.

BTW, how many jabs are there? At what month?

SiewIng,
How come u are working at home? Your job requires u to? So jialat meh?

I know it is good but thk I will skip this jab.

The moment you have been all waiting for is here.Results!!!!!! It was a close fight between 2 babies.

Winner of the Most Cheerful baby is Jades son: Baby Zheng Yu with a total of 8 votes.

Breakdown of the votes:
No.2 Tavis ( 7 votes)
No.3 - Elie (3 votes)
No 4 Elvin/ Chloe Choo ( 2 votes each)
No 5- Xin Ru (A), Xin Ru (C), Ethan, Jia Hui, Shayna, Jarren (1 vote each)

Total voting list send out: 47
Total votes receive: 28
Total unvoted: 19

Jade i will transfer prize money of $38 to your bank account and you will receive a certificate from Feza as well. Congrats!!!

bbcutie
If bb take their 1st prevnar jab at 6mth will be 3 jabs below 6mths will be 4 jabs, taken at 1yr old will be 2 jabs n taken at 2yrs old will be 1 jab only.

Violet
Keagan cry very loud when he take the prevnar jab n touch wood no fever for him.

Congrates Jade!

Irene,
Did u observe any other discomfort that Keagan shows? Was just talking to hb about it earlier, think he is pro letting Feng Kai taking after 6mths. It's me who is indecisive.

Hmmm... I wonder how is Sally? Anyone contacted her? Hope she is coping well.

Violet
Other than crying no other discomfort for him leh. Actually if u going to let Feng Kai go to childcare when he's 18mths u can start the jab at 1yr old lor or u could ask Dr Tan for her advise lor. For me i kiasu so let Keagan take so early.

Jade

Also thinking of giving XR the pneu jab n was thinking of giving later so only 1 jab, but like mashy mentioned, always got the what-if.

Aiyoh, my aunt was out with her hb and bb, hb driving. Dunno what happened, just crashed into a tree until car cannot be repaired. Thank god all 3 ok; she was bf bb in backseat, otherwise usually sitting in front one. Think hb had stress from work then plus lack of sleep coz of bb (6+ mths) so accident. So must be careful, tired cannot 'cheng'.

Congrats Jade...
Wow...Jiahui has 1 vote...heehee...

I also intend to let JH take pneu jab after 1yr old. not due to $$ issue or wat but cos everytime after jab, she will whole body become soft soft like tat and then fever. she is alr so thin liao hor, cant afford to slim down further lah.

mag mag:-
my mag mag also white elephant at home....
still using the small bottle to feed water.

holding bottle:-
gals...i train JH to hold her milk bottle but she v v lazy leh. dun want to hole her bottle

she prefer to play ard wif her hand, grab here n there but just refuse to hold bottle.....haiz...how huh?

Congrats Jade!

My boi fell off my bed last nite! Both hubby & I were doing some things outside when we heard him cried. So I went to make milk while my hubby went to see him. Gave my hubby a big scare when he couldn't see him cause my boi had rolled off the bed. Lucky he fell onto the mattress under his sarong (on the side of our bed) but his leg hit the frame of the sarong stand.

Later when I went to sleep, he kept moving & started to roll again! Good thing we have put bosters & pillows to block him. Asked hubby to see how he roll (we remove blockage to see how he roll off the bed) & this time, my boi nearly fell to the floor.

So, mummies becareful when you leave you babies alone esp since they can flip or roll now.

bam,
yep, thank god bb is ok. We were around when she first rolled around, so now our barriers on the bed are even higher. Last time also dun feel safe, always must block 4 sides when she's on the bed.

bam, ya lor must b careful lei... i place jarren on my platform on sat then he nearly hit his head against the window panel.. luckily i saw and quickly run over put my hand on his head when he was leaping forward while he was on his 4... then end up i fractured my wrist.. so painful.. i also just turn my back only lei

oh my, bulma, hope you recover soon. At least it's your hand and not jarren's head, can't imagine the impact on him if you didnt manage to stop him. Must have been a hard knock if you fractured your wrist.

<font color="ff0000">Bulma</font>
I want the Drypers.
Aiyo. You take care leh. Must be really painful.

<font color="ff0000">Congrats to Jade</font>

<font color="ff0000">Jab</font>
Oh dear.. it seems so painful. And I was still thinking of bring my older son (3.5YO) for the jab. I think I will need 3 persons to pin him down, esp now he is aware of his surroundings, and not gong gong like a baby.

<font color="ff0000">Mag mag cup</font>
My girl also refuse to hold the cup herself. She will put the teat in her mouth but refused to suck any water. How to train baby to drink water?

Claire, Bulma,

Ya lor, I will monitor more closely now. I thought since he can only roll one way, can just put a pillow to block. Who knows he can roll off the bed. It's really lucky he fell onto a mattress (on the platform) instead on the floor.

Yesterday, I am really thinking of not training him to sleep on the bed but gave up the idea cause untimately he will sleep need to sleep on the bed mah.

Bulma...that must be so painful...*ouch*. Take care.

Nowadays, we must really be alert cause our babies are all so fast....bu ke yi fang song yi xia.

Sunshinekid,
Me too leh. Dunno whether to let my girl take the jab. She will be gg for her Hep A jab nxt wk. Hope it goes well smoothly.

Will discuss with hb whether to let both kids take Pneu jab or not. Do u thk it helps if apply anaesthetic on the skin before injecting?

Bochap

Yah, he scared of heat. So if we're not going anywhere air-con, we'll let him wear sleeveless.

Bulma
Fractured? That's very jia lut leh. Then cannot type liao lah, how u still manage to come online? Hahah. Take care and heal fast fast!

Last night dunno what happened, Caeden got fever. fed him panadol and gave him cold towel on his head. Today ok liao. How ah? Should I still see the PD? No other symptoms leh. Just suddenly fever only.

bbcutie
The PD oso apply anaesthetic for Keagan b4 jab but still pain pain for him leh.

mashy
Is Caeden teething? Some bb do get fever when they starts teething leh.

Bbcutie

I don't have a playpen but now that you mention, I prob should bring out his cot &amp; train him to sleep there instead of sleeping on my bed.

ilim

Is it? But read that should not have fever leh. Even my PD told me that. Anyway, his tooth already came out a bit. Hopefully it's just coz the teething lor.

prof

poo different? How to check? What's the difference? Yesterday he poo poo 3x. Quite a lot. But he's been alternating betwenn poo many times 1 day, next day no poo, then poo many times 3rd day.

hehe like so many days din come in liao...

Pneumococcal jab:
Mummies who still thinkin whether to give now or later.... My advice is to give now la.... the more u delay the more dangerous it is leh.... cause after hearin what the PD say to me, i feel much much safe.... although tis jab is painful and expensive, but i find it worth it.... some more now they are still very young so the pain thresome is higher... imagine when ur bb get older and goin for the jab, bb will feel more pain.... tis is how i see la... can see the pain in them after the jab, so i normally will use warm towel to 'rou' the injection part lor.... and give them more cuddle....

Mashy: hehe caeden look so cool... hehe
sometimes teethin cause fever also... but what i heard is can prevent one leh.. hehe *i heard la* hehe by apply jing fen san at their gum more often... tat's what i am doin cause i heard can reduce the chances of gettin fever when teething...
as for the poo, can tell also... my mom told me if the poo is more watery and like like pattern pattern like tat could be a sign of teething...

Jade: congratulations!!!

bbcutie: the anaesthetic dun really help one leh.. hehe cause when Xin Ru took the jab, the first jab tat goes into her butt is the 6 iin 1 one.. she no cry... then second jab tat went in was the Pneumococcal and she cried a while.... then stop le.... so i guess tat dun really help.. hehe

Fever after jab:
hmmm i dunno whether it really work or so qiao he la... tat day before bring Xin ru to jab, i make some 'ling liang' to let her drink and she din no develop any fever but just butt pain...

Smiley: maybe the next time before u bring JH for jab, u try see if it helps her a not...

ilim: u not KS la... me also like tat... it's for precaution.... if not anything happen then find solution then might be too late....

mashy,
Dun thk need to bring Caeden to see PD. U hv the fever med at home. Just need to monitor his temperature every few hours. According to PD, teething won't cause fever, however, maybe due to heatiness, some bb may have fever when they start teething.

Bam,
BBcot is also another alternative. Remember to place thicker bumper around the cot.

Irene,
Oh no.. even apply anaesthetic oso painful ah... Cham liao.... Will see how...

Even we adults, if jab very painful we oso won't want to take right? Unless it is compulsory.

I have a problem here...
Recently, my girl catch a cold, for almost 2 weeks liao. Seen PD. Now taking medicine.
Maybe bcos of the medicine, she sleep early, like Sat slept at 5pm till next morning 4am. But wake up at 10pm for milk. Is that normal?
Yesterday, she slept at 7pm then 12am for milk, wake up 3am plus n play... pengz!
Which feed should I cut then? 10pm or 4am feed?
How come she wake up so early, for wat? How to not let her sleep so early? I thought bb at tis age 6month, should not wake up anymore at nite.

siewlng

Wah, your gal sleeps very early. My boy will sleep only after 10.30pm. Sometimes 11.30pm.
Make him sleep early, he took it like nap. Wake up already wanna play. Your gal woke up to play by herself? Or expect u to play with her? When my boy wakes up early and doesn't wanna drink milk yet, he'll usually entertain himself in his cot with his toys. If u want her to sleep later, maybe u can wake her up earlier at night lor. Like 1hr after she sleeps, wake her up and play with her.

bam,
As a rule of thumb, I nvr leave bb alone on bed or mattress(even on the floor). I will put bb in his cot or sit in the high chair if i'm alone or at most carry him around the house with me.
If not alone, then I ensure anothe adult is with him before I walk away to settle wat i need to do. I more Kia Si.

Thanks for voting baby ZhengYu.

Siewing,
I suggest u cut away 4am feed so that you can sleep thru out the night.
What i normally do is that i will try to let my boy take 5plus nap. When he wake up i will bath him then bring him to the park walk walk. This will help him to relax. Then reach home give him milk and put him to sleep. When i am going bed, i will give him one more feed first and he can sleep thru out till next morning 8 plus.

Hi mashy,

wow ur boy very handsome wif shades on!!

Hi ilim,

Have u received the similac vouchers? when is it convenient for me to get from u? Many thanks...

Mashy
Yujie will make noise if nobody entertain her...
Tat day she slept at 5pm, we tried to wake her up... cannot leh

JH81,
I will try out n see...

the mini gathering we had today
Oscar, Ivory and Me. Photos for viewing pleasure.
Tavis and Zi jie look like brothers??? Hee....coicidentally wearing the same rompers..
470850.jpg

haha.. the 2 of them really alike..

me n oscar hv to restrain them from boxing each other.. cries n screams n pattern everything the same.. gosh!!!

amanda...
if both me n oscar din grab hold of their hands.. they will b the ones bullying ethan lor..

initially wanted to put ethan in the middle... then we think beta dun risk.. haha..