(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

CL,

Thanks for your help on childcare. Hubby says better to keep Charmaine at the current place since they are open till 8 plus nearer.

RE: Maids
For those who have maids...can i ask what u ask them to do? first time i hired a maid. She came on sat...everytime she seems free...she wanna carry baby at the slightest whimper...then she rock and rock...

Faint...she rock until bb so happy in the morning that yesterday nite after i latch, he eye big big at 2am to 4am dun wan to zzz....

Hi SH,

Maybe you can ask the helper to clean the house (sweeping, mopping the floor, clean cupboards/cabinets), wash clothes (be it by washing machines or by hand for some work clothes), ironing, cooking etc. Plenty to do!

Maybe you can let her know her priority. Eg, she can continue to do housework if all of you are at home and there is no need for her to look after baby at such instances etc.

Re. music lessons
other than Sunny, anyone started your kids on music? I asked Isaac a couple of times whether he wants violin, piano, cello. He says NONE! Just a few months ago, he told me cello. Aiyo...

Sunny,
How's the music lessons coming along for YX?

Very loooong time since I last came in. Been busy and don't have much time to surf so been blogging on and off but not been coming into forum.

Cookie, erm, I'm the one who's having #3 very soon. Rena, Mamachan, jia you with trying for #3 and #2!

Thanks for the congratulatory notes! It's the 3rd accident and I'm all the more determined to make sure it's the last one!

SH, congrats on your #2! I drew up a weekly chart of household chores for my maid to schedule her time. So I don't have to keep thinking about what to ask her to do while my focus is on the children. Speaking of maids, mine won't be renewing her contract after it ends in 3 months cos she's planning to get married. So, need to hunt for a new one.

Queen, Kirsten has been learning violin for the last 9 months cos she said she wanted to learn it. It's quite a difficult instrument to learn but I think it's very good for coordination and brain development as right and left hands are doing very different things while maintaining their posture. She doesn't seem to enjoy it as much as when she first started though, and making her practise at home is such a chore. But she's improving slowly. Now she can play Twinkle twinkle little star fairly in 5 rythms. But I have a dilemma if I should let her continue the next term cos I'll be giving birth in a few weeks time and this class is parent accompanied.

Hi Queen

U asking abt violin music lessons? I think the one that Kirsten goes to is quite reputable ... but for me, I choose the keyboard route, I can't sit thru' intensive music prog which I feel violin is more of that ... K's doing his music prog at the CC (outsourced to yamaha) and as the class has 6-yr-olds, the pace is rather fast but thankfully K's enjoying it.

Val, can u ask if u can suspend the class for a term?

CL, is Aden doing art class now?

.ky.

Queen,
I am sourcing one to start Jamie with.
Thinking of Sempini(Funan) -if I spell correctly or Mandeville (United Sq). Yamaha and Cristofori offer violin class to age 6 and above.

Jamie keep asking me to bring her for violin class. I am looking at Trial class leh.

Anyone interested in Violin Trial Class? I will go check with these two schools and see when we can fit in.

C's having a sch hol 2 weeks from now and i'll be stuck with 2 kids. Any sugg on what i can do to cope with 2 attn-seeking children? C's not too bad, can still follow some instructions. But little mei mei will keep screaming for my attn when i tend to his needs.
Now that she has started to crawl and doing a bit of cruising, my hands are full. She's been 'invading' my kitchen too! Wonder how I'm going to make the 2 nap together...

re: music class

think i'll start only when c's 5. We've been busy shuttling to KKH for all the tests. sigh. Just did a growth hormone simulation test coz his bone age didn't increase at all after the 6mths review altho he grew a bit taller. Hopefully the results are ok.

mashy,
How come sch hol at last so long?
I usually will make J1 sleep first bcos she is a deep sleeper. Even later J2 cry or fuss, J1 cannot hear.

I intend to bring J1 for 4yo growth assessment also. But yet to book with polyclinic. She took her jabs with GP last time and wasn't given thorough assessment. I realised she got abit of short tongue as her pronounceation isn't very clear. Had been busy with work, so want to get her assess asap. If she need a speech therapist, at least can do it fast. Hope the results are ok too.

may

1 day only lah. prob is how am i going to make C sleep with H awake... Coz H will be clamouring for my attn and will cry if she doesn't see me.

C also can't pronounce some words properly leh. Is that a prob at this age?

Mashy,
What I did last time when B was younger, was to make the younger one sleep first, then after tat settle the elder one. I just let E watch TV outside while I make B sleep 1st. Its near impossible for me to make E sleep while B is awake....he will cry the whole hse down. End up E still can't sleep. Now, I make them both sleep at the same time. Once B fall asleep, I will leave the room n let E fall asleep by himself. Our #1 are older now, so it should be much easier.

wenyl

my H simply adores her kor kor. When he's home, she doesn't wanna sleep.
Think coz she only spends time with him at night, so if he's home, she'll keep wanting to play with him. Can tell how much she adores him simply by looking at her face in the car seat when i fetch C from sch. hahaha. She'll look at him so adoringly throughout the trip home and keep smiling nonstop. But her kor kor totally ignores her. hahaha.

Mashy,

If it's just 1 day, then just allow mess to settle. that'll what I'll settle for these days ... but weekends, how do u manage? C doesn't grow at all? K's growing taller very slowly; he's just 96cm.

Perhaps can go to a phonics trial and get a simple assessment done? Off my head, I can think of "I can read" which provides a simple assessment ... mine can't pronounce some words too, like "r" sounds, like "dental floss", he'll say as "santa claus" but sometimes we know he's trying to get attn so ignore that.

.ky.

ky

K is better than C. C is only 93cm now and 12.2kg.

For weekends, my hb is around mah. So C will hang around with hb. Last Friday, C was home as well coz I didn't allow him to go for a school outing. Nearly want to die. When I was bathing him, H was crying outside. Then H didn't wanna sleep coz C is home. So end up the 2 kids didn't nap at all.

Somemore I had to take him to see the dietitian that afternoon. C was running all over, messing up the dietitian's office & fooling with the weighing machine and H was screaming away in my sling while I was discussing with the dietitian. Total nightmare.

Think i won't be doing any assessment for this until i get his growth problem checked out. Coz it could also result in speech problem.
sigh, looks like I will have to delay his sch for 1 yr if there's no good solution for this growth.

mashy
what's doctor's suggestion on C's growth issue??

regarding jaga-ing 2 kids all alone at home- for my case i had trained my boys to fall asleep on their own so i do not need to be there to pat them to sleep or till they knock out then can leave the room. For Devan, i can just place him in his cot and leave the room, leaving the door ajar. For Dylan, i'll ask him to go to bed and he'll do so after giving each other a kiss. But the thing is, for naptime both cannot go to bed together coz didi will end up wanting to play with korkor. so for naps, they nap in separate rooms, only nighttime they sleep together.

normally i'll settle Devan 1st and tuck him in for his nap then will attend to Dylan, as our 4yo can self-entertain and do their own stuff when we're hands full.

rachel

dr said possibly growth hormone jabs but we dun wanna do that coz it increases the chances of cancer. We'll see how the results of the simulation test and hopefully with a better diet, he will grow more.

It's good that your Devan can sleep on his own. My 2 kiddos can't.
My boy insists to sleep with his daddy (when he's around) or me (if i'm the only one. My gal can't sleep without me.
Tried training her to sleep in the cot but failed coz i was too tired to go thru the process. Whatever training that i did with C failed with H. She's a demanding little gal and wants her own way. I'm foreseeing a more difficult path when she grows older.

May,
I realised that damien also have abit of short tongue..eg like dog, he will say it god...so whenever he said anything wrong, we corrected him on the spot.

hi mummies...i have MIA for so long. my colleague just left and i am so busy juggling with his stuffs too. now praying the replacement will come in soon so that i can take a breather. i am proposing hokkaido to hb for aug trip. anyone been there with the kiddos yet? aug is a best time as its autumn with the lavender blooming and it won;t be that cold for my boys.

val - congrats once again. are u going for ligation? what is the gender of your bb #3?

may - c is with SEIMPI for his piano class at white sands. so far he is enjoying the class. i am sitting in with him. it's a good bonding session for us too.

I'm also thinking of bringing Gerald to I can read. Gerald cannot read at all. He can only recognise single alphabets and it's corresponding phonics. So, qt worrying..

Also, can I check with mummies whether any of the kiddos write in a mirror image? For Gerald, he will write W as M, etc. And his D will be facing the left instead of right.. that's v worrying too.. my doc friend says he may be still young and they can only assess him when he is 5 or 6 to see whether he has Dyslexia.

krissie

i think it's normal for kids to write with mirror image for a while. Can he recognise that W is W and M is M? My boy will say flip the W over and say it's M and show me that the number 6 & 9 look similar by inverting them.

Do u read often to Gerald? Maybe u can try reading to him often and encourage him to read out loud? My boy reads by recognising whole words. He still can't form new words by using phonics even though he knows his stuff. But one thing his memory is very good, so after going thru the same word a few times, he can remember already.

Krissie,
my boy can't recognize full words too.
Having a headache now coz maid who came for 1 week says she dun want to work Liao. Reason being she is scared of my bb????

mashy,
my husband is a slow growing kid when he was young. he ate very little and chew very slowly. he was a nightmare to my MIL. He was around 124cm when he was in Secondary one and we still of some of the pictures of him with his secondary classmates and he is so short that you won't believe that they are classmates. He only grew more when he was in JC. He is not a very tall guy (170cm) as an adult and still very skinny. He weighs about 54kg now (how I wish I am that weight) but is strong enough to run with a 70kg man on his back during his army days when bashing through the forest. He is my motivation to make sure I control my weight! His parents brought him to various doctors and they also suggested hormones jabs and the side effects is that he may not have children in the future (that is what I understand from him). His father was very against the idea although I think his mother was willing to try. In the end, they did not do anything and it's a good thing that he finally grew taller.
I think the important thing is to keep feeding C small, nutritious meals and to observe the progress of the other aspects of his development such as mental and emotion development.

Mashy,
actually I have some male friends who are not tall and are still doing well in their work. My colleague sitting very near to me is a few cm shorter than my 163cm, is a scholar with my company, owns 2 private properties, has a beautiful wife who is a EDB scholar and 2 active sons. I have another colleague who is also very small built, my guess is that he is not even 160cm and is working in abu dhabi and learning a lot. I guess it's their attitude and the exposure that they have that matters. Of course, taller guys tend to be more "outstanding" naturally but the shorter guys can also hold the fort with a bit of work. Don't worry too much.

mongs

I know they can be successful lah. My ex bf also very short and a scholar. It's just that it's going to be tougher and i'm afraid of bullying in sch coz of his size. That's why i intend to send him for akido class.

mashy
I won't go for jab either. i do agree about the bullying issue.. there might be abit of roller coaster ride but with strong support and love from you and your hubby, I'm sure C can handle this growth issue emotionally well as he gets older. =)

Just back from a short Genting Trip with the gals. Drove up again. Not bad this time compared to the trip when Jaz is only 2mths old.

My #1 pronounce "school" as "stool". There is family history of short tongue at my dad's side. My cousin did not bring my 3 nephews for assessment early, so till now, they are in upper primary, their short tongue is very obvious. I dun want Jamie to be the same so I wanted to bring her to get assessed asap. Will update u all again once I ask the specialist. I wonder if it is still normal for them to speak like that at age 4.

Now am trying to cut the language to english and mandarin cos Jamie is learning Hokkien from my mum too.

may

in that case, u'll need a speech therapist. Heard it's a very long queue. U may wanna start going to the polyclinic and get a date first coz can wait for a few months. Even if pte patient also need to wait for very long. How's she in Mandarin? Can she say the words properly?

haven come in here for some time!! busy with farmville...haha. my whole family playing...my hb, bro, sis.....all having a competition!

mashy
jh also not very tall. how come u decided to bring C for a growth assessment? a lot of pple keep telling me boys will grow later. dunno how true. icertainly hope so!

H sounds like JX...hee more demanding, loves the bro to bits!!does C loves her the same way? JH doesn't. very sad lor

we shd have a gathering for our kiddos! think they are all very different now....

Sy

hi hi!
C is 1 head shorter than his classmates lor. So decide to bring him in to check. how tall is jh?

C will only sayang H if there's competition fr another boy. if not, he bochap her. that day in church, 1 boy his age came to sayang H. next thing c came n hugged her & said bye bye before we left his classroom without my prompting. usually he doesn't bother.

mashy
Ger can recognise the letters. Like he knows tt W is W and not M. But, when he writes, it'll come out as M? Hmm.. hopefully, he'll outgrow of it when he's older.

We read together every night. I've just started to teach him to recognise certain short works. I used to just read to him for him to enjoy hearing stories or learning more through the science books. So now, started to revise the story books which he has in school.

Any one knows which "I can Read" branch is better?

mashy
i m not sure how tall he is but still in the 90+ range. and pple do comment that he is not very tall

same as jh! he only loves meimei when there is competition or when he did someting wrong, he will use her as a shield...

krissie
they will outgrow that. jh was like that before and still does that for some letters and numbers. i asked the teachers and they said it is normal.

ky, can't suspend for a term cos is Baby Suzuki group lessons. I've decided to continue her lessons but hb will go in my place when I can't.

May, Kirsten is in Mandeville. They don't do trial class for the group lessons that she's in but they encourage you to sign up for a term first before you decide to continue or not. I thought it was strange why they don't have trial but now I understand. Its hard to tell if Jamie can enjoy the violin after only 1 lesson cos the first few lessons are all about basics like posture and holding the bow correctly but those lessons can be quite fun. I recall we didn't even get to pull the strings until at least the 5th or 6th lesson. But I must warn you the teachers may be a bit stern as they are trying to instill some discipline.

SFF, I've thought of ligation but may opt for other contraceptives eventually. Its a girl this time.

Krissie, somehow the writing skills take quite a while to catch up. K also writes some letters with mirror image, like E or N or 3 but not all the time.

IP camera
Have a quick question. as my maid will be at home taking care of my LO by herself...my mum says want to install camera...does anyone know of any that is good?

long time never come to the forum... converted to PT for about half a month already. every working day is so busy 'cos boss sets tighter deadline but workload didn't seem to decrease yet...

queen
my gal is doing ok with her violin lesson. but she doesn't seem to be keen on practising. She told me that she wanted to learn piano instead. *faint* I am looking for another teacher now 'cos the current one is going to Shanghai for good. sigh...

valerie
any particular violin teacher at mandeville you can recommend? do they do 1-1 lesson?

krissie
my gal is at I Can Read choa chu kang branch. she likes the teacher a lot. they haven't done blending of words yet.

hi mummies...i am bringing my boys to universal studio tis sat. C is sooo excited when i showed him the website. too bad transformer not ready as he keeps saying he wants to see that. praying for good weather mann! gonna spend the entire day. be lots of queueing and sweating mann! haha...

valerie - congrats to another princess! C is also very lazy in practising his piano. have to bribe him to start playing. haa...depending on his interest, i may stop if he stops showing interest. moreover not cheap lo...$110 per mth for 1 hr lesson.

krissie - there is a branch I Can Read in white sands. saw many kids going in there. i am thinking of sending J there when C goes there for his piano classes. maybe i pop by next weekend to check it out. which outlet are you looking at?

may - wow salute u for surviving with 2 kiddos for the long journey. just gg to malacca with 2 which is 3hrs ride, i can almost faint. haha..

Hi SSF,

I have read that ur child had a chipped tooth b4 and was extracted by a dentist at Mt. E. I wonder whether u can share ur dentist info with me.

My 3 yrs old son had chipped his front teeth, and had exposed nerve, and one of the tooth is fractured. I brought him to see a dentist, the dentist suggested extraction with GA. I read ur archive and u mentioned ur son was under sedation, i would like to find out more abt the procedure which ur son had gone through, so that i can make a decision whether to let my son go thru GA. U can email me at [email protected].

Thanks very much.

CL, Mashy - hi! i went on sat and unfortunately it was raining. we were all surprised that it was not crowded. we managed to sat through the rides again and again without having to re-queue. i felt sorry for those who bought the express pass which was like an additional 30 bucks. u can check out my blog for the pics.

the boys had lots of fun and i think zoo is now their second best. haha...quite proud to see a universal studio in singapore actually. i must said the service by the staffs are very good and the dining and retail outlets prices are reasonable. bought a dinosaur book with dino figurines, a t-shirt by Alex the lion and got a free lunch box for a kids meal.

not bad as for soft launch, there is a $10 voucher for dining and $5 for retail puchases and it can be combined. so actually the T-shirt that we bought was FOC. All our lunch and dinner were paid by the vouchers. it's actually quite worth it to visit during the soft launch. kids under 4 y/o is FOC.

for kiddies, there is the dinosaur flyer, shrek 4d show, madagsacar carousel, donkey live show, mummy treasure ride. i think those are the rides taken by my boys. they love the carousel which they sat 4 times. haha...if zoo, it will be $4 per round. haha..for me, i sat the jurassic rapid ride twice. not as high as the one in LA but ok la.

as it was raining, there is no mascot from madagascar..C was abit disappointed as he wanted to hug King Julien. LOL.

teddy_bear - no prob. so what's ur decision?

SSF
sounds like fun! i wanted to go during sch hols but hb not keen.....can PM me your blog?

yeah i feel very proud abt universal studios being in Sg. i love the jurassic park ride in LA....

so who takes care of the kids while u go for your rides?

any one giving their babies (abpve 6 months) Gain IQ? my fren has 2 tins to let go cos her sis ordered wrongly for her.