(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

ky
I know a mummy in 2002 thread and she was telling me you will be surprised at the art n craft her 2 kids do during the class. So I thot if time permits for weekday early pm or evening I will sign aden up.

Selling 1 unopen GNC Childlife Essential Fatty Acids Natural Butterscotch flavor.

Expire date: 23 Oct 2010

For pregnant or nursing mum and infants 6 month up to 12yrs old kids.

Product detail: http://www.childlife.net/node/53/

Original price: $ 43.50
Selling cheap now: $ 38

Pls PM me if u interested. Collect at my blk (hougang). Thanks!

<font color="0077aa">Hi queen
I agree with your point on the experience and
child's reaction on music appreciation...
it's same for my younger bro except his love for piano grew later in pri sch, he has to stop when mum has no money, after a yr or so he ask to start again, I guess we just cant press the child to love music it has to develop it..
But my younger bro did say.. the cane threat from my mum works to discipline him to practice his piano..hehe..

Demny
were u at MP or White sands? I was looking at white sand...I dun think I can do weekday afternoon. Working mum ma...
Long time never catch up!

SSF
Nice meeting you just now...hehe saw u from far.. was thinking if it' was you.
Tr Jasmin is pretty nice.. kaelyn told me she likes her. but she is also very fast... I wonder if that is the pace of the class. For Kae who hasnt join any music class before I thought it was super blur in the class lo...but the rest of the kids was like shouting out the answer..faint...I wonder they have been learning already or what...

Mashy
dun worry.. Kaelyn is also very blur type..frankly I was kan cheong when I see her so blur in class when the rest of the kids so eager to answer...
But then I think again it was her first lesson, I really shouldnt expect too much her...just let her take her time for now...</font>

<font color="0077aa">CL,
where did you get the 2nd hand digital piano? Tr ask us to get a keyboard for Kae to prac which can cost also few hundred buck..I might as well gte a digital piano for 500?
if the kids do gets better, I will consider get a proper one for them... which could be later..
can email/ Facebook me the contact?

Hi CL
Ok thanks ya...

Oh just wanna check... anyone here bought Aibi exercise equipment before or any adv to share ?
I used to do the cross trainer in gym and "enjoy" doing it over any other machine plus it suppose to work out the whole body...
Saw one cross trainer in AIBI and tried seems ok.
I hasnt been to any gym for 3 yrs now since the last one closed down at my office.
Tho Jogging is cheap and good but it really just demotivate me more than motivate to do on regular basis...
But feel should really start a exercise regiment or just something to keep fit and healthy and loose weight, Am considering if I should the cross trainer... plus it's not as ex as I thought it should be tho it's a small scale one.

cookie - hee...just facebook'ed u asking abt K1's updates to the music class. glad that she enjoyed it. yeah C adores Tr Jasmin too. i started C on the first lesson. i think their intake is in Aug. Hence, for his case, every kid started on the same pace. all pretty new unless they had been to the junior class when younger. so she already asking you to buy a keyboard. in my case, i got it from my sister when she was planning to learn when she was younger and kept bugging my parents to get one. surprisingly after more than 10 yrs, it's still in good condition and it's from yamaha. so just stick to it although its not one with the full 200+ keys.

honestly, i was quite stressed in the beginning when the other kids can play so well. C is good in theory but not good in playing the keyboard. haha...i have learnt to take it as he is. not giving him too much stress. just enjoy the bonding session with him. i also get to learn how to read the notes and play the piano now! LOL. never too old to learn i guess. haha...

HI SSF
Thanks I replied.. hehe I so slow hor..
The class kae went was 1st lesson too and for Encore Prep.. only 4 of them and she is only gal. For nwo I will just relax abit and let her have fun...

Demny
yes please.. if not too troublesome.. I would like to have the contact...not in a hurry.. u take your time ya..

I paid $110 for 45 mins, 4 lessons a month... we go to teacher's. typically $110 - $160 for 4 lessons a month. But must ask if the teacher do teach theory, some charge $10 more to teach theory. Mine goes through all the materials every time telling me my son's strength and weakness

There's 1 teacher I know that charges $85 ... she has very high expectations of the kids but she's not taking in anymore students when I asked a year ago.

.ky.

Mashy
My charmaine has attitude problem I feel. So in a class, she does not like to be compared and do exactly what the teacher ask them to do. Peer pressure and group appreciation does not work well on her. If she feels someone is better, she will just switch off. So she likes to have full attention to herself.

So it really depends on individual kid. I use to think peer pressure or group more fun and make learning better. Somehow it does not work on Charmaine. So even this year, partly due to time constraint as I am working, she gets piano 1-1 and even maths is 1-1.

Hi ky
Thanks for sharing your point of view...
I was kind of in between now.. I talk to my bro and his feel was the play play kind of class is so commercialise so to speak so I suppose he will go for the latter.
For kae's age.. I suppose I just let her have some fun for the time being...

CL

sama sama. My boy wants the full attn on him or else he won't do. His teachers were complaining that lately he's been wanting them to stand over him before he does his work.
I asked them if it's because he couldn't do, they said no. He could when they sat there with him. Peer pressure doesn't work on him either. He doesn't care.

Have not logged in for a long time cuz was too busy with my new little princess. Was funny how everyone says 2nd child labour will be much shorter than the 1st. Well, big A's labour was only 5 hours for me but little A ended up an emergency C-Sect after a 12 hour labour so I guess that is not true for everyone

Anyway, I'm looking for an old preloved Medela PIS or Ameda Lactaline Dual pump for use in office. Anyone want to sell their pump? I don't mind if your PIS is bought in 06. I only need the basic pump unit, AC adaptor and the tubings as I have my own PIS advanced at home so the two units can share accessories.

PM or SMS me if you wish to sell your pump. Tks.

so many talking abt music classes. actually i m very keen to let jh try but my hb not keen. reason: cos i m not working...i tot it is good exposure for him but then....well....got to see how it goes.

i have sold my place. will be moving to my mum's prob in may or june. but now got headache for sch. anyone got good monte sch to recommend for bukit timah area? i prefer those that allow them to extend their hours.

any idea whether faith monte is good? i went to take a look but my hb din like.

CL
where u staying now? kind of lost track.

u visited creative thinkers before? i saw the CS monte before but i haven't visit them. they just moved to bukit timah shopping centre. may drop by for a visit.

i visited faith monte and little oaks so far. little oaks looks good but really really ex.

i went to ask Gems monte at pandan valley but no sch bus..also headache.

SY
did you visit litter wonders at jln remaja before? it's pretty near faith monte. they have trial class foc.

SY
Creative thinkers - I did not go there but I talked over the phone with the principal and I actually like their programme. If it is not because I need childcare arrangement, I would go for that.

It was a recommendation by Mamachan's friend. She herself started teaching in that place and later branched out to hold her own enrichment centre.

Am staying at hillview now. Ha ha I still have not met up with sleepingdeer. You are probably closer to Aileen and Babylon.

Then go further up we can have mamapanda, ky, sunny and Rachel.

Maybe I should kick start a gathering.

Hi SY, are you looking for a authetic Montessori school? I used to look at Montessori schools only too, but realize all the schools are too far from me or it's too expensive. Many told me that as a sahm I can do many of these things myself and as budget is a constraint, I dropped that idea eventually. Keeping that in mind, I went for a good kindergarten and then spend the money on the extra enrichments instead. After going thru' rounds of 'experiments', I realize that I tend to go for enrichments that I cannot help with at home. btw, I still have Montessori materials but that's not my focus now with #2.

Faith is quite authetic and affordable. Little Wonders is more expensive.

btw, I'm free on Thursdays coz that's my only no-cook-and-can-run free days ... if meetup on weekday, we can arrange for that? Or it'll have to be Sundays coz Sats now packed with 2-3 enrichments for the kids.

.ky.

Next 2 weeks I am on half day pm leave for Mon - Wed woh cannot meet your thur.

Will see if we can do Sundays. Otherwise May Day Gathering ?

CL, u taking for SA1 is it? I'm ok for Mon and Wed pms too, just don't cook lor.... hee, got excuse now.

btw, i've never explored towards jalan jurong kechil area the thinking/logic based enrichment classes. anything to recommend? I used to send #1 to E&amp;P but now got option to think of other nearer options... Logic Mills is opening a centre at Alexandra area, opp PSA but too bad the class are on Sat only, but I'm prob going to go for trial coz I've heard so much but never see for myself

.ky.

Hi ladies! Haven't been in here for donkey years! And just as I was reading, I see my name as mentioned by CL.

SY,
my boys are in creative thinkers and I personally find them quite good. my niece graduated from there and she's now in MGS. Her mum said she has no problems at all when she went to P1. The standard of the school is quite high. But it's a small outfit lah. No outdoor play, waterplay etc. But my boys love it nonetheless. Edgar transferred there from St. James, supposedly so big and fun right. Even he said Creative Thinkers is fun. So I suppose, space and all doesn't really matters to the kids as long as the program is fun.

Ky
no lah Charmaine no SA1. My parents taking "grand childcare leave" 2 weeks to be in Perth with my sis. So I am in charge of mon - wed and my hb take thur - fri for the next 2 weeks lor.

Aileen
wow , very long life, talked about you and you pop by.

Agree with you. Most important thing the kids enjoy school and they learn in many ways. Now they should have fun while looking at Charmaine I see no fun at all

Ooo meetup on weekday sounds nice but muz be at someplace accessible via MRT ot LRT cuz I got no car now. Gotta lug diaper bag and big stroller around cuz little A still very small. Hubby driving my car to work now since I"m on maternity leave cuz more fuel efficient than his car.

Waa u ladies give so much enrichment for your kids? I only put big A in cherie hearts thats all. No enrichment. She used to have ballet classes but she opted to drop out after 6 months. Sigh wasted all the costume n ballet stuff I bought for her. Now wait for little A group up take over. Hee Hee

wow... talk about the gathering. I am off on Tuesday and Thursday.

re: class for 2 yr old toddler
I am looking for classes for my boy. my hb actually commented that how come till now, my boy doesn't need to go for any class unlike my gal last time. haha... i think i am just lazy to lookout for class for him and travel far. last time, i was still very 'onz' in bringing my gal to JG.
is creative thinker good? They have class for my boy and just nice that it's on my off day. probably will visit their place.

CL
i haven't move yet. will only be able to join when i move unless it's in town.

hillview - that's really near now....

ky
i also tot abt putting him in a normal kindergarten and then go for enrichment but that dun work for me for a few reasons.

1. hb not keen on enrichment
2. logistics - i will have to be the one bringing him for all the enrichment classes cos hb not keen
3. cost - he will ask me to pay for it himself.

think i won't even get past getting his approval so my next best option is to go for a kindergarten or sch with everything under one roof! that is what i m doing now cos jh's art classes are in sch as well.

what enrichment classes are u sending your kids to?

aileen
hee we will be really near next time. can have playdates already

how long is the session at creative thinkers? i m fine with small sch. jh's current sch also really small

i prefer something that can last him till 3pm or so...too much time at home will be wasted cos they keep asking for tv!

Re. siblings in the same bedroom
Matthew has been sleeping in his cot (or rather playpen) since birth and in the boys' room. A few months back, we managed to persuade Isaac to sleep in his own bed and room with Matthew. But Isaac would wake up in the middle of the night and climb onto our bed on his own and if not, will be wokened by Matthew (when M cries for milk) and then would climb onto my bed. So every night I have to carry him back to his own room and bed once or twice a night. Now, with the boys coming down with cough, they take turns waking up and the whole ritual of me/Hb bring Isaac back to his own bed is even more siong.
I'm wondering whether I should just leave things be i.e. I &amp; M sleeping separately, with Isaac co-sleeping with us and Matthew in the boys' room. The thing is, Isaac is getting older and bigger and I really don't enjoy co-sleeping with him anymore. Sometimes, I even sleep on Isaac's bed instead and leave Isaac to sleep with my hubby! Anyone of you have the same problem?

Re. waking up
I think SY and sleeping deer has this problem too... Matthew is already 1 year old and is still waking up a few times a night. He very rarely sleeps through from 9pm to say 4am or 5am. In fact, I think he was much better when younger. I can sleep soundly from 8+pm to about 3am and will wake up to latch. Nowadays, he wakes at 1-2am and want to latch and then about 4 or 5am to want to latch again! For the past few nights, I simply refused to latch him at 2am and let him cry till he falls asleep. Last night, he woke up at 1+am and start rooting for my breast, I stuffed him his pacifier and he protested a while and then fell back to sleep. Maybe the 'cry-it-out' method is working. Sigh.. .so so tired. I have never had uninterrupted sleep for more than 3 or 4 hours since Matthew was borned.

Re. piano
Made a heavy investment yesterday... bought a new Yamaha acoustic piano. Cost me $8.5K and paying in 24 months installments. So still manageable though my HB made a lot of noise and he's not even the one paying for the piano!

re : Night Toilet Training
Can those who have succeeded share on their formula? Mine said ok to it but only dry on first night. Subsequently it's been wet, and he refuses to wake up at night to pee. Even putting the money over to buy toys is not motivating him to keep dry

.ky.

It has really been a long time since I posted in this thread. Kinda lost track. But once in a while I do come in as a silent reader.

re: Enrichment classes
I have so far signed up for 3 enrichment classes for Clarisse, i.e. ballet (which she requested to learn and so far I feel that she is still very much looking forward to every lesson), music appreciation class and phonics. For music appreciation class, I hope that she can gain interest in music as a foundation and hope to switch to piano as the main focus. I have just changed her to Yamaha Junior Course, yesterday was the 3rd lesson so far. However, I started to have second thought on letting her to pick up piano.

I have chosen piano mainly because all my siblings learnt piano when we were young, and I really do hope that my children can learn piano too. However, when I was together with her in the class, I feel that she is not that keen when compare to ballet. And I also do not want to stress her.

But yesterday after the class, the daddy asked her whether she enjoy this music class and keen to continue, she said yes firmly. So our plan is to continue to let her carry on with the class and see how it goes.

Am currently looking for a keyboard, 'cos I am really not sure she is keen to learn piano later. Any mummy has recommendation in what model of keyboard we should get. I don't have a fat budget on it, probably just below $300.

Sunny
I have not started my boy who is now 27month on any enrichment classes too.

ky
Maybe you can bring forward the timing of night milk feed, and make sure your boy goes to toilet before sleep.

My friend ever told me, in the middle of the night, they will wake their kid up and bring the kid to the toilet one more time. Like for e.g, the kid sleeps at 10pm, around 3am, either daddy or mummy will wake up and bring the kid to toilet to clear the bladder again.

I have done this during the initial stage for Clarisse. But after a while, she will wakes up by herself and wake either hb or myself to bring her to the toilet if she needs to.

Queen
Wow, $8.5k for the piano, it must be of good quality. My sis ever bought those made in china a few couple years ago, when my niece pressed on the keys, some of the keys just simply refused to rise up again

SY
For Clarisse's enrichment classes, I am choosing those which I feel that she is not able to pick up in school, i.e. really enriching in the nature. Hope courses like ballet and music can nurture her in a different way which is not so academically focused.

Whereas for phonics, I would like her to enjoy reading as reading is the best source for knowledge. But her phonics lessons will only start in May, we will try out for a module and review after that, to see if we should continue. Just my point of view.

Hi Zhimin

re : night toilet training
Mine is a breastfeed baby ... still is. Yes. So, milktime is just before he sleeps at 8plus, and yes, toilet a must before he sleeps... but perhaps, will have to wake him up at the times u said. tx.

The good thing with JMC is parents get to sit-in and observe and you will get to see for yourself whether your kid can cope / does enjoy / weakness / strength

SY,

my kids are doing gym, berries and yamaha. The older one is doing art, piano and just stopped Abacus. He used to go to E&amp;P for total brain training. It started with me searching and bringing #1 to the enrichment classes. And then hubby asked me why I'm doing it when I said no need to go ... I ate my words lah but each item came up for a reason ... but it depends if the kid is up to it. btw, wanna share more on the music appreciation, mine was the lead in his graduation concert ... we were like huh, he can sing meh? man, I was a little shock coz he could sing and dance really well ... n he was in last year's yamaha electone competition for the group event ... I think a lot of it was the exposure he got and a really devoted music teacher when he was doing his first 2 years in music, and his music class was in the CC, not Yamaha ... a fren keeps searching for speech and drama and dancing exposure for her girl cos she likes to perform ... after a while, u'll know what your kid would want to learn/do and source for those actively.

.ky.

anyone has recommendations on chewable multivits? Been giving C liquid Animal Parade multivits but it's so heavy to ship. Looking for alternatives. thx

Queen
Dylan and Devan sleep in their own room since Devan hits 3 months. It all depends on their sleeping habit really. For Dylan is a heavy sleeper, he will only stir a little if didi even cry in the middle of the night due to bad dream or discomfort. Dylan sleep like a log too, so he seldom disturb didi once he knock out.

You might want to send Isaac straight back to his bed when he climb up your bed, giving him no chance to co-sleep with you. He might just get the idea one day that he just have to stay in his bed to sleep.

re : Night Toilet Training
so far so good for Dylan. Now, he only gets to have a glass of milk in the morning after he wake up, the rest of the day is either water or juices. so I limit his water in-take in the evening. he goes to bed by 9.30pm, so by 8.30pm he will have a cup of water. before he goes to bed, he got to pee to clear his bladder.

re: PlayDate
Let me know when you gals having one during the weekdays ya =)

queen
wow... new piano! it's my wish.
my gal and boy share the same room since the boy turned 6 month old. i didn't know that my gal is a deep sleeper until one day the boy cried for more than 10 min, she just made a turn and continued sleeping. the room is not that big...

i agree with Rachel's method. it would be tiring for you initially, but i think isaac will soon get the idea that he needs to sleep on his own bed. but again, if after a period of time of trying, it still doesn't work, probably he's not ready yet.

re: toilet train
last time, my gal slept at 8pm+. we would wake her up at 11pm+ before we went to bed. sometimes she refused to wake up and would wet her bed. after few weeks of trying, she will wake up by her own middle of the night and use the potty which we put in her room.

re: work
i have been with the current co for 7 yrs... kind of in my comfort zone already. that day, my boss sort of like warned me about that. she hinted that in our area of work, once we are in the comfort zone and no interest in giving more ideas to improve the processes, we would soon be out of job. haiz.... need to revive my passion to my work. anyone with your company for more than 5 years? how do you maintain the passion to the area of work? i wonder if i should move on to another co in order to 'revive'. any advice?

summer mama,
how to get him to sleep later. i tried but he just fall asleep. then even if i wake him up to feed in between (ie i break the 6 hr stretch), he will still revert to the 3hrly schedule.

queen
yeah we have a lot of sleep issues too! JH climbs to my bed EVERY night to sleep and 4 of us have been sleeping together in one room after 12 each night. on rare nights, he will sleep thru and forget to come to my room

as for JX, she has been getting worse! the past few nights, she will wake almost every half hourly. partly cos she's not feeling well but she has made it a habit i think...arrggh...dunno what to do abt her.

ky
i dun think i can send him for any class except for swimming. hb thinks it's a waste of money. how did u convince your hb abt it??

re toilet train
i din do anything for jh but he drinks very little milk before he sleeps. on most days, his pampers is dry but cos he will come to my bed to sleep, i dun dare to let him do without pampers. cos if accidents happen on my bed, hb will sure scream!

sunny
is it the job or is the co that u feel no passion for?? if u feel ok with the co, why not do a different area of work?

SY,
RE creative thinkers: the timing for N1 is 3hrs, N2 is 4hrs. For N2 and above students, they can opt for enrichment classes which are held everyday after school. For Ed, he's in the morning session so his normal class starts at 8.30am and ends at 12.30am after which he carries on with his enrichment from 12.30pm - 1.30pm. If I don't remember wrongly they have 2 more sessions. You can call the school to enquire.

hi mummies! seems like our thread is back on track.

sy - wow so you are one of the many mummies who are on a move this yr. are you planning to buy another place or staying put at ur mum hse for good?
mashy - my boys are eating multi vits from lil critters. can get from watson or robinson. it's 50 bucks per bottle about 180 gummy bears.
queen - wow! must be a grand piano. nice! i 'shen bu de' pay so much. hee..
sunny - how about internal transfer within the co? or find another job since the market is pretty good now.

Queen, did u make that investment because Yamaha's having piano sale now?

SY, I did not have to convince hubby :-> ... he was just worried about us running abt to the classes and skipping naps etc. i've to convince him on workable schedules and show him results. i think both hubby and I have the same mindset - do enough (but not too many) and go for those that we can't help our kids with, and that's why stuff like tennis, roller-blading, swimming are never on our list ... but soon, i'll send #1 to swimming coz no matter how i correct him, his strokes are not correct, n also #2 coz he'll tell me "mummy, u don't come in ok? please don't drown me" ...

.ky.

SY
i am fine with the job scope and co policies. but very demoralised when i knew that my colleagues are at higher job grade than me, yet i am doing the same thing as them and not having the same recognition from the boss.

ssf
ya, i am now looking at other available positions within the same co and also outside. hopefully can find one suitable one so that i can still reach home on time to pick up my kids.

ky
your #2 is so funny.

have not login for so long..was damm busy with work recently.
CL,
I would like to join for the gathering but i am only available in the early May. I will be of singapore for 2 weeks.

Re: Enrichment class
I am thinking to send Damien to Kumon but I am not sure if I am able to cope with it as there are alot of coaching / homework. I see great progress in my #1 after he attended Kumon.

sunny
which industry are u in now? I'm gonna offer you an alternate view from the other mummies for you to digest and think through. Here goes..

I wouldn't advise changing jobs, unless you're changing to a more stable job or unless you feel yourself losing your sanity at work. Economy MAY seem to be improving but the reality is recession is yet to be over. In fact, the economy is not really better than it already was. US still has a huge budget defecit; Japan &amp; Europe are still doing badly. Back home, many people are still jobless. Everyday, new immigrants are pouring in for jobs at lower wages than the locals; Spending is low down, so.. you do the math. Think positively. At least you still have a stable job.

As for gaining recognition from your boss, be more proactive, get your bosses's attentions, grab more opportunities to do board presentatios, etc.

So, unless you're offered an iron rice bowl job, imo, not a good time to do a switch yet. Even civil service don't offer permenant postings anymore. We're all on 2-year contracts. Don't be cheated when HR tells you they'll convert you to permenant estab after 2 years. They have every right not to re-new your contract when 2 years is up. The offer of permenant estab is not written in black &amp; white so you have no grounds for argument when the time comes.

Looking for transfers within the same company may be good, or may be worse if the new department head sucks. It depends on too many factors that you have no control over.

All I want to say is, think hard and think thrice before making a big move unless you really hate your job, your boss, your colleagues and your company. Afterall, things may be worse off after you go elsewhere. You'll never know.