(2005/12) Dec 05 mums-to-be

the past wkend for me was unlike the usual... bcos my hubby was down with dengue fever. His temp was high most of the time & that make all of us worried sick. Took leave to be with him today & still monitoring how things are. He said luckily I'm not the one who got it, else worse!
Anyway hope u ladies have a gd day.

Sandy!!
I chanced upon your entry in this thread and just found out that you have conceived!! Congratulations!! Very happy for you!! Take great care!!

Berlin & LiewLianSoh
Ha ha
Totally agree. Although the boobs grew, the nipples really looked gross and huge..yucks! I buy bras with padding, if not I insert paddings....and yup! the nipples stick out like crazy.

LiewLianSoh
I cannot wear my old clothes liao except for some tank tops. I cannot wear maternity cos' my tummy not big enuff...so paiseh when I wear and ppl see nothing

Weoseek
The durian puffs at Goodwood Park are so yummy. If you use Citibank, got 20% discount.

Joyful
You must take care and not get the bug from your hubby. During my 1st tri, I got the flu bug from my hubby...it was a torture for me, cannot self medicate, cannot take any medication...took quite awhile to recover.

I went to Topshop to take a look at their maternity wear. All the sizes on the big side leh and variety very limited...what a disappointment

Aiya! I just found out that my hubby may not be around when I am due
Better bring my mom along when I go for my ante-natal class.

Straycats, it seems that you and yr hubby are always on the move (active). My husband maybe on reservist when I'm due, but I think he can be excused from camp. I really want him to witness how much effort it is to deliver a baby.

Joyful, you must take care of yourself also.

My hubby said he dun want to missed the delivery of his firstborn, but I doubt he can be excused. Nvm, I can handle, just be prepared, do my job and give him a beautiful BB

straycats,

oh dear. see if hubby can reschedule? very important moment for you and him too lor. somehow i feel that hubby should be around. i also pray that my hubby will be around too.

berlin,

i went to the thyme outlet in takashimaya. i also looking for alternative but worried if we buy other bras that is not meant for maternity then will it affect development of breast? i also find that no padding very pai sei. can see nipple. i not used to it.

fushiastar,

2 cup up? before pregnant i quite flat so i guess time for me to grow.

straycats,

i will look out for jockey and the other brand you mentioned then. i not bent on maternity. just concern if it will affect development if we anyhow buy.

weoseek,

i also got the same question as you. maternity bra from triumph got no wire. i am wearing the one i bought on friday. very comfortable because no wire and very soft. just that it does not have padding so... can see.... then also concern if no wire, got support meh? esp now they are growing?

joyful,

have to take care of yourself. don't over tire yourself when looking after hubby yeah.

Jan

For most of his assignment, he will not be able to re-schedule. Its ok, I am used to it liao. This time round, at least he tells me earlier, other times, he only tell me 2 wks before he has to depart. I will be ok.

My preggie frens, told me that maternity bra is for comfort only. Other bras will not restrict the growth of your boobs, so don't worry. I also quite flat chested before preggie, now became a C cup oredi, and my mom still say its too small!!!!!

How is your tummy? Don't eat too fast & too much at one go. Try to stay away from cabbage and spicy food, they tend to cause alot of wind in your tummy.

I'm quite worried about my breast getting flat after giving birth... Any suggestions to prevent it??

xiao ling
i delivered in mt a last year july..
the nurses over there are all very good & friendly....
im gg back there to deliver for my 2nd baby in dec this year...

any mothers going to mt a too?

moonbell...so do u know the gender of your baby?
i went for my 4mths checkup on mondae 27/6/05.

my hubby went with me because my actual appt was 29/6/05 also but my hubby wil be going out of town so i change the appt to 27/6/05.
if not i can mit u @ the hosp there...
by the way u know your baby's gender already?
ur gynea is located @ ?

Can I join you gals in this thread? I'm actually from Jan 06 thread, but my EDD has shifted to end Dec. So, I thought it would be good to join this thread too.

Maternity bras come with and without underwire.. Really up to you which one you prefer to get..
It's true that you can get normal bras too.. I bought some normal larger bras which I can't wear anymore and some maternity ones.. After awhile I outgrew my normal larger bras and I bought them 2 sizes and 2 cups up plus wear with extension until cannot wear..
Although I bought maternity ones also 2 cups and 2 sizes up, I find that they can stretch more and are so much more comfy..plus I can still wear them.. About being able to see nipple, you can get those detached bracups and just insert them into your maternity bra..

straycats, I haven't seen any nice bermudas with lots of pockets suitable for us preggie. But becos I'm short, I don't want to add weight to my bottom and looks bulky to make me even shorter & (Fat). I will keep a look out for you if I happen to see any.

fushiastar, so you buy bigger cups to keep ah? I was wonder at thyme maternity that day if I should get 1 size up. But when I try on, the cups are very crumpy, current cup size not enough to fill up, so I give it a miss. Since it's $19, material quite good and comfy, think I should get some to keep hor.

Hi Krissie, welcome! I hop around Nov and Jan thread as well, to get some info from other MTBs.

Berlin.. I wore my normal original bras with extensions until I couldn't fit into them, that's about 3-4 months.. So by then, breast had expanded..
A friend of mine, well-meaning.. suggested getting normal bras that are larger instead of maternity bras cos they are cheaper.. So I went to try normal bras and could fit into the ones that are 2 sizes and 2 cups up from my normal ones.. But I also bought maternity bras too.. Now I'm 6 months and I can no longer wear the normal bras that are 2 sizes and 2 cups bigger even when I put bra extensions on them..but I can still fit into the maternity bras I bought..
Didn't buy the normal bras that are 2 sizes and 2 cups bigger to keep, bought them cos I thought it would work as a cheaper alternative to maternity bras.. But didn't work for me lor..

hi JeslynLuvRenee

Thanks for yr info. Ya i be delivering in Mt. A too. when is yr bb due? scan olredi? your 1st baby is a boy or gal?

Fushiastar, Those $19 are maternity bras from Thyme. The price is quite comparative to normal bras we buy. I bought 2 normal bras with 1 size up but now also cannot wear. Sometimes I just feel so frustrated about wearing the right bras that I go braless. It just don't fit...

Berlin.. Think maternity bras are still better than normal bras.. The $19 Thyme ones sound like a great buy..When I was shopping 2 months ago, the maternity ones I saw were all about $30-40+.. But if need to buy, stil have to buy lor.. Must wear bra...
If not no support and they may sag later on...

Fushiastar, I usually sleep without bra. Maybe that's why they are being "wide-spread" to my arm areas. I must start the habit now.

xiao ling
my baby is due on 7/12/05...wat about u?
i had my scanning every time i visit my gynae..
have already know my baby's gender....
'girl'

fushiastar (fushiastar)
i agree with u....during my 1st pregnancy, i was braless throughout the whole maternity leave..when im @ home, i will be bralesss....
now i realised that my breasts was abit sag plus smaller after i breastfed my baby for 8mths...
kinda disapoint with my whole body leh...

Jeslyn, Congrats!!
You already knew the gender, that's fast.
My gynae wasn't that keen to find out for us, he says wait until 5th month, he only check on baby's development.
My sis was also braless throughout her confinement period and now her boobs are totally flat and sagged. She is kinda of sad.

Hello ladies, i am back!

Was in Hong Kong for the past three days, bought some clothes for the baby despite i don't know the gender yet. Mothercare was having 30% sales, so bought some clothes for 3 - 6 months old. Now a bit regret cos i don't have any new born clothes for the baby. Then i went crazy when i saw all the girls clothing, so cute and adorable. I couldn't resist and ended up bought some girl's clothing by taking the chance that mine will be a girl! But never mind, it it turns out to be a boy, i will post the pictures here and see if anyone here interested. Ah crazy me!

Berlin, Joyful and Straycats,

Sorry didn't check on this thread for the past few days, so have you tried out which one is cheaper? Vpostusa or DBS? Have you bought anything yet?

Yesterday went for my check up. Finally decided on Mt E, cos the gynae is the most important. So, just have to bear with the inconveniences with the hospital.

Baby is 13 weeks now, 6.2 cm (measure from head to hip cos the legs curl up) can't see the gender yet, but Dr. Kowa is very accomodating, he was trying very hard to see since i asked him. He said should be able to see during next visit which is three weeks later.

Saw the baby moving quite a lot, so cute. Dr. Kowa did a NT scan for me, is normal, no extra charges for that. Triple test will be done next visit. He kept on saying that the baby should be due anything after Christmas. Shall see.

Taka,

Wah, after hearing yr fruitful trip to HK makes me wanna shop again!!!

Last weekend, I went for the Zara sales, hoping to find something for my baby, but their clothes were either very girly or boyish, so I didn't buy anything in the end... Hubby said dun waste money yet since we still dunno the sex. Hopefully I will know by this Saturday after my gynae visit, so excited now, counting down everyday!!!

Hi Taka
Welcome back! Congrats on having a girl

I will be delivering at Mt E as well.

Have not bought anything via DBS yet, will keep u posted if I do

Moonbell, Jan & Joyful, how are you all?

Hi Taka,
So envy you gals can still go for short trip. I was so tempted to buy the baby clothes when I saw them online. Though I'm getting some hands down baby clothes, I don't think I can resist to buy, especially for CNY. I haven't tried vpost but going to do so this week. Already KIV what I want, hope the sizes don't go OOS.

so far how's your weight gain? I've already gained 3.5kgs at week 17. Asked gynae about bb's weight, he says only few hundred grams, less than 500g.

Straycats,

Haven't confirmed is a girl yet. Just impulse purchase. hahaha. My hubby can't stand me. I just told him that if not this time will wait for next time. I must have a girl in conclusion. hehehe.

Berlin,

I have already gained 3.5 kgs at week 13!!! Gosh! But Gynae said its alright, that means my appetite is good and absorb all the food! I was like eating non stop while i was in Hong Kong, typical activities there. The food are simply delicious, yum yum.

Last night went for a walk for 40 minutes. Must do it everyday now. Think i have really put on quite a lot. How to get rid of these fat after birth??

BTW, ladies, have you done any financial budget for the confinement food? Heard is quite expensive. Especially if we want to breastfeed, then have to drink a lot of fish soup with green papaya. Wonder is S$1000 enough?

$1000 is for confinement or to pay for catering?

Actually really didnt think about it, I heard if want to have a lot of milk, must eat xue3 yu2..which 1 piece already cost almost $10..Other than that, we also need to give ang pow to mum/mum in law we take care of us if didnt hire confinement lady...aiyo..

Weoseek,

$1000 budget is the confinement food for the mummy not catering. Because we got to 'bu' after giving birth and all those bu3 pin3 is not cheap. Anyway, my confinement lady said as long as our budget allows, she will feed me with lots of 'bu'.

Xue Yu, you mean cod fish?

JeslynLuvRenee
I'm also seeing Dr Ho now.. am deciding whether to take the package or not. Did Dr Ho deliver your 1st bb? Which week was it that you know the gender. I'm week 14 now, so wondering when can see the gender.

Wah, didn't know must wear bra during confinement.. must make sure that I wear it then, my breasts already v small. If sag, will be so ugly.

Taka
Your visit to gynae sounds v good. Am so glad that you've decided on the gynae. Takes a load off our minds.

straycats,

my tummy not good. still as bloated like a big watermelon. its terribly painful too. after bad experience, i stop all medication. bear with it and hope it will go away. small meals didn't help. morning not as bad but by noon time, it will inflate lor. very upset about it.
i cannot fit into my clothes not because of baby but because of air. its sounds so silly and it upsets me very much

Berlin, fushiastar,

my doc told me its ok to go braless at night when we sleep. in fact in the States, there have been study to encourage it because it promotes blood circulation better if we go braless when we sleep and also reduce risk of cancer. i also go braless at night. its more comfortable.

taka,

welcome back. envy you. can go shopping and overseas. yeah. i also agree. those baby girls clothes very cute and so pretty. nevermind. the guys will never understand. agree. if yours boy then you can post and we can buy.

i am worst than you in terms of weight gain. my gynae say has to monitor. i only 8 weeks but already put on 4kg. alot is water and air she find but still need to monitor. too much weight gain is not good for me because before i am pregnant i am already over weight.

Liewlian,

bet you must be very excited, counting down. i will be if i am in your shoes too. can't wait. only a few more days!!!!

Liewlian,

How many weeks are you in now? My gynae said usually can see the gender in week 14. Do let us know whether it is a girl or boy. Btw do you prefer a girl or boy?

Krissie and Sunny,

Welcome Sunny, we chat in Jan06 thread before. Krissie, ya, finally had made up my mind. Gynae is the most important, we really feel comfortable with him and he is really accommodating to my request every time.

Jan,

You should see your gynae and take medication. But better be sure what medicines that u r allergy to. My tummy also flatter in the morning and it get bloated in the evening. In terms of weight gain, try to take a walk, may be you can start with 20 min a day and increase progressively. I think walking is a really good exercise for us, it helps with backache problem also.

thanks taka. how many weeks are you?

have you got your confinement lady already? what's the market rate har?
i heard that diff rate for bb's gender.... don't know how true.

taka,

sigh. you were out of town so maybe miss my entry. i had a bad one last weekend. medicine from gynae i cannot take. my tummy too sensitive. i had severe diarrhae. hubby and i tot we going to loose baby. its was terrible. so i stop the medication already. gynae also say to stop cos it seems like my tummy is too sensitive. people take 30ml then see such side effects. i only took 5ml. sigh

sunny & krissie,

welcome to the thread.

sunny,

don't think it depends on gender. i know of people we paid $900 for confinement lady. if lady stay in ie stay at your house for 1 month, its about $1200 to $1500. as i will be giving birth at tmc, i shd be taking their confinement lady service.

Taka,

Me now in my 17-18th week liao, that's why so excited!!!

Both me and hubby want a boy and a gal so no preference actually. But my parents wants a grandson and I also dun have to face the pressure from hubby's side of relatives... If the first child is a gal, I scare I will get jealous cos my hubby sure will dote daughter more than me!!!

Sigh! Dilemma!!!

Jan
I got the same symptons as you. Mornings my tummy is very flat but during the evenings, it will bloat. But it goes away quite fast cos' I walk everyday in the mornings & evenings. Like Taka said, maybe you should incorporate some walking, it will definitely make you feel better. Otherwise, swimming / cycling is very good too.
Yoga can also help to alleviate some pregnancy symptons too

Taka
I am not getting a confinement lady. My mom will take care of me and I will do most of the stuff on my own. I rather give the money to my mom

So far I put on about 3kg @ wk 17..but will know more when I see my gynae in 2 wks time.

Welcome Sunny!

thanks ladies
I'm fine. Luckily hubby's temp has returned to normal today *phew* So relieved...

I oso prefer my hubby to be around to provide support when I deliver. But he said he scared of seeing too much blood. Then I suggest he look at me in the face all the time & not there...

taka,
Haven't bought anything online yet. Was too occupied with hubby's illness over the past few days. My mum commented that I bought too many clothes, actually just 6 tops & 6 bottoms only (working & casual inclusive), not too that many, rite. I think l'll pause the shopping mode for the time being.
Hey, why not sell your cute bb girl clothes to me lah, if your bb is boy. But not too ex hor. My SIL will also pass me some hand-me-downs as well.

Guess what... I've start to imagine how my ger-ger will look like... hopefully with eyes & nose like her daddy, mouth like me & with long eyelashes that in future will make all the guys go ga-ga. kekeke
*day dreaming*

Budget for confinement food..
I'm thinking of confinement food delivery, so will be around $1000, excluding the extra tonics. Ya lor, cod fish v ex, but I like it! yum yum.

welcome krissie & sunny!

Sunny,

I am week 13 now. The confinement lady that i have booked wants to charge me $1700, if cross over to CNY will be $2300. Don't think there would be diff charges for diff gender.

Jan,

Sorry din see your posting previously, may be you should ask doctor how to get rid of the wind naturally. But please stay positive all the time, if you are upset or worried, the baby can feel it and it will affect the baby. So, just remember to stay happy!!

Liewlian,

Ya, a lot of people will find it pressurise to have a boy first. but i simply don't care what his parents prefer. After all it is ME who takes care of the child, i think it is really none of their business! Ops, i think i am really rebellious towards them. hahah. but come to think about it, nowadays, i think the society has changed already, especially boys nowadays will be closer to his wife than to his own parents and the daughter-in-laws are more difficult to please (like me!!) so in future they will take care of the wife instead of us. Better to have girls who will be closer to her own parents.