(2005/12) Dec 05 mums-to-be

Hi Sandy, welcome! Maybe you want to share your info on which gynae and hospital are you going to.

I found another site for swimwear, this is cheaper about US$30 per suit. Wonder which should I get... the pink one looks sweet.

294964.jpg
294965.jpg
294966.jpg

hi Sandy,
you're of course welcomed to join us!

Weoseek,
Didn't keep track how many inches tummy has expanded... but will consider taking photo of my tummy in 3rd trimester as a keepsake

taka,
You seem to have found some v gd buys!
About short cardigans, recently I bought one from Sense for <$30. I find them quite feminine &amp; sweet.

jan,
My hubby became gan-cheong over quite a no of things after I got preggie. Today he actually bought a new thermo pot to replace the existing one (<2 wks old) which is made of teflon. He read that teflon can cause cancer in the long run. So he doesn't want me &amp; bb to drink milk made from the hot water in contact with teflon.

straycats,
your "due in dec" t-shirt sounds cool!

Berlin,
Did you find the swimwear from maternity mall?
I like their tops but don't think it's worthwhile to pay the US$40 delivery charges if I wanna get just a few pieces.

Joyful,
I've started taking some tummy pics using my own camera..although ugly..but think got difference in just 1 week leh.

I'm also planning to take some photos at studio when tummy big big..like those Vivian Lai in motherhood magazine..hopefully I have some nice clothes to wear by then..hehe..

haven't logged in for a while. haven't been feeling well. this morning i got nose bleed. i cannot remember but i thot the gynae says it may occur. worried so tomorrow when i see her, i will ask. i wish i can stay at home to rest. very tired. but no matter what still have to crawl to work. i need the job. just started work, no leave entitelment since on contract and not suppose to take mc. i hope baby behaves so that i can continue to work despite being so tired. if only i can sleep now.

joyful,

my hubby kan cheong but not as your hubby. he seldom read so he won't know all these stuff. lucky for you.

straycats,

after gynae tomorrow, if all things ok, and i not too tired. i will go buy those maternity bra. wonder if triumph got cheap ones. sigh. now every penny counts. gynae going to cost too. i quite worried and stress out.
worry not enough money,.

weoseek, berlin, liewlian, taka, enjoy your weekend.

sandy,
welcome to the thread.
hope to learn from you too.

Those nice pics posted, tempting me to go shopping today! maybe I'll take half day off later heeheee...

The "Got Baby" n "Due in Dec" sounds cute, but I still feel shy to tell everyone that I'm pregnant... Hmmm shy mother, shy baby...

Berlin
You know, after my checkup, I kept wondering why baby is touching the face, maybe baby's saying "woo, I'm so shy" or the face is itchy??? haha....

Joyful
Is "teflon" a kind of plastic? I'm using a thermo pot at home too. Also, using a Sahara Tiger Stainless Steel Vacuum Flask in the office to keep hot water. Can keep hot water for 24hrs, I left it overnight and next day it's still hot.

Swim wear:
Couldn't find one yet. The pink one is sweet, but look a bit like lingerie leh, compared to the other two.

straycats
haha... B bump, no wonder in the past you said something like "3 layer meat". Soon it will become D bump lah... I feel bb grow faster fr 4th month onwards.

Jan
Hope you are feeling better. I got nose bleed when I was in the US, but now ok, though I still get nasal congestion occassionally. Gynae told me its normal for preggies to get nose bleed symptons.

I am not sure if triumph got maternity bras, but worth a try
Happy shopping!

Berlin
U are always highlighting the new stuffs to us! Good! Like moonbell, I prefer the other 2 colors instead of the red, anyway, its individual preferences.

Moonbell
Sooner or later, as our tummy grows ppl will notice our pregnancy, I heard strangers will come up to stroke our tummies too. Yikes!! I have a friend who has this logo posted on her Tshirt when she was preggie : "Touch my tummy and U will Die"..ha ha!!! That deters alot of ppl from stroking her tummy

Weoseek
Me too. I hope to take some photos when tummy gets larger for keepsake

These few days, I felt some pulling sensation, fluttering sensation aka like hunger pangs feeling around my tummy. Then when stroke my tummy &amp; ask my BB is it moving in my tummy, the sensations will stop for awhile, and resume again. It happens during the night while I am watching the programs on TV. Duuno if it is my BB moving????

Joyful, according to 1 of the MTB in Jan'06, it depends on how you order. She ordered thru vpost and ship cost is about $8-$9. I'm asking her to teach me how to order.

Jan, try to relax, and work things slowly. Tomorrow you can see your bb again!!

Moonbell, maybe your babe is telling you "see mama (touching the face), I so cute rite"!! keke..

Sandy,

Welcome and congrats too!!

Berlin,

I think the middle one the design is nice but do they have other colour? The pink colour is sweet but not the design. That is my personal opinion lah.

Weoseek,

Ya, i also intend to take my pregnancy photo in studio. I have one friend who is photographer, he took my weeding album. I have this crazy idea of posting topless with my hands to cover my boobs. But very pai seh leh cos i know him. My hubby will sure against this idea. Every time when i read the pregnancy book which showed pictures of the changes of body every month, i just find them so pretty. Of course they were nude.

Jan,

Don't worry so much. There is a saying "chuan dao qiao tou zhi ran zhi"

Joyful,

Seem like u got some good buys too! But i still haven't figure out how to match these short cardigans.

Moonbell,

That is really sweet to see the baby's movement. Last check up the baby was sleeping, didn't move at all. Going for check up again next Tuesday. Hope to see baby moves. I should be in my week 13 then.

Today started wearing maternity top, cos the old clothings were all tight fitting. Now is a bit uncomfortable to wear them. But no one gave up the seat for me leh! May be my tummy is not big enough??

Tomorrow going to Hong Kong for short trip, to visit my hubby's family, will be back on Monday late night. Any idea what are the good buys there, ladies??

Weoseek,
wanna post here to show us your tummy pics.. *hee* your pic is the side view of tummy rite... I wanna save some $ so won't be taking studio shots.

moonbell,
teflon is the metal-like coating on the inside of the thermal pot that makes it non-stick. If used to store coffee or tea, won't get stains. Some frying pans also contains teflon.

taka,
I think there's a TV show by Kym Ng this wk (over already) in which she teaches the viewers how to wear short cardigans. It's the in-thing now. See if you could catch the repeat if you're interested.

Berlin,
can let me know how to order via vpost? I seldom read the Jan thread. tks!

Joyful, Berlin
Besides Vpost you can do your purchases via ComGateway if you have a DBS Mastercard. Verification is done via your mobile phone upon confirmation of your purchases. They deliver to Oregon (which is your "so-called" US address) which is a tax-free state.

Taka, Berlin, I also plan to go to a studio and take a photo for rememberance sake, but maybe not nude lah, not with the ugly dark line running in the mid of the belly...

Last month when I went for my checkup, our baby also waved to us on the US screen, hee hee!!! it was so cute!!!

Last nite, I had a nitemare, someone came up to me and told me my baby has died inside me, so I woke up feeling so upset today... Dare not tell my hubby abt it cos he will sure scold me...
Now I can only tell myself it is only a dream!

LiewLianSoh
Hey! I got the same dream about 2weeks ago. I felt terrible thereafter
, but I told my hubby and he said what rubbish dream I had. Do you still dream as often as in the 1st tri? I dream everynight.

Liew Lian,

Don't worry, i also have quite a bit of nightmares, dreams like my hubby left me for another woman, then i was so upset and packing my stuff wanted to leave the house with my big tummy. That was really strange. Don't know why feel unsecured now. I told him about the dream and he was very angry with me. hahaha.

Straycats and Taka,

I have dreams every nite, but that dream was so bizarre that it made me kinda restless today!
Now I am trying not to think too much of it, how I wish my baby can give me a hard kick now, so that I dun have to worry so much!!! (^_^)>

I better try to hum some happy songs or read some jokes to lighten up... or else I sure will get headache later... (^n^)

straycats, I already have DBS mastercard. Where can I get Oregon address? since it's tax-free, which means it will be cheaper than using vpost? Have you used it before? The website should be reliable rite since DBS is tied up with them.

Straycats,

Ya, is it cheaper than vpost? Please enlighten me on how to do it steps by steps. Thanks a lot!

Ya, I think I have figure it out liao.
First of all, you need to sign up an account with Vpost Singapore (which I already have it long ago). Under your SG profile you will have to click on vpost usa profile, there will be a USA address assigned to you. I don't know if it's a generic address to all. Mine is at California.

I'm so happy my husband will be back from HK tonight. I felt so alone, when woke up in the middle of night with no one...

Dreams
I also have weird dreams, a few times husband flirting with other gals. Told him then he spoke to my tummy "your mummy is crazy" of course in a jokingly manner lah... and told me try to dream more positive things,keekee...

Taka
HK now sales season, so enjoy your shopping and food...

straycats &amp; Berlin,
I don't have DBS mastercard leh. I'll try out the vpost thingy later.

About weird dreams... me too... dunno why I've this dream that when I hold a fragile baby, the neck breaks! so eerie hor
kao_scared.gif

Jan, I grap 2 maternity bras from thyme maternity @$19each (sale) during lunch, usual is $49. They may run out of sizes, but if you are lucky you can get some.

Berlin, Taka
DBS will send out a mailer with your registration code and no, together with a pin for your mobile pin. (If you do not rec any, you can try callling DBS). All you need to do is:

1) log onto the ComGateway website with the pins and you will have an account created.

2) Everytime you want to do your purchases, just key in the URL address at the ComGateway website and you can start your shopping.

3) Upon confirmation, they will call you on your mobile phone and you just need key in the mobile pin and its all done.

I used to purchase via Vpost but found out that the handling fee quite steep. Imagine, I bought just two Lance Armstrong yellow wrist band (each cost US$1) and the total cost comes up to S$14!!!!! So, make sure you check the fees charged
closely while using Vpost.

Happy shopping!

Straycats,
who will call on mobile upon confirmation? DBS or Comgate? Any charge on these calls?

taka/joyful, how? have you tried to get your vpost account set up? I'm eyeing to buy a swimwear, skirt, and some tees. They have some really good buys - a skirt at US$6.99 but left with XL.

Berlin,
Just got a vpost a/c. Still need to go to bank to get the interbank Giro-on-demand form done, and fax to singpost to activate.

I've been eyeing the tops for a while already...
Have you bought any so far? Wonder how much is vpost's shipping charges?

Even if I get a DBS mastercard now, will have to wait a few wks for processing rite...

hey Berlin &amp; taka, how about combining our orders if you gals are interested?

Found the vpost shipping charges liao...

For apparels:
Below US$20 - S$6.99 + S$4.99 = S$11.98
US$20 to US$150 - S$6.99 + 15%(Z)
Above US$150 to US$300 - S$6.99 + 10%(Z)
Above US$300 - S$6.99 + 8% (Z)

where Z = product value in equivalent Singapore Dollars (SGD).

Made some calculations... if the total bill is US$50, then total shipping is ard S$20. Just to get an idea...

Joyful,
Besides the shipping cost, we need to factor in U.S.A tax charge. I'm not sure how much. And also if total cost is less than S$400, we can escape 5%GST. I don't mind combine our orders and start the spree.

moonbell, my fave is chick mushroom with croutons yummies
!! ya, high sodium, im trying to cut down on instant food but im quite a junkie... u saw ur bb touching its face, that's so sweet
the last time i had a scan, i saw bb touching its little feet too. hubby and me couldnt stop smiling after that

berlin, weoseek, thanks for tips! a friend once told me after childbirth dont take painkillers and the likes, breasts will shrink to smaller than pre-preggy!!

Good morning Ladies! It's a monday again!

I did for my blood test last sat and get to see my bb again. Make appointment for my detailed scan on Jul 30 and gynae say can see bb gender by then.

Don't know why I feel so bloated over the weekend. I feel so fat and clumsy. *sigh*

gd morning Berlin! How's was your weekend?

So lucky you get to see BB. I have to wait for another 2wks before I can see
the wait seems so long.....

Me too. I felt bloated and fat...has your bump pop out yet? I heard that the bump becomes a "D" overnight...I can't wait for mine to become a "D"

good morning everyone,

i had a bad weekend. i took the solution gynae gave me for wind in tummy. ended up affected by side effects. had terrible bout of diarrhea. i was so scared. hubby and i were very sad. we thought we will lose the baby. i cried badly too because i read that diarrhea is bad when pregnant especially during first trimester. we called the emergency number to contact gynae and she said that i had ultra sensitive tummy. the side effect usually only affect a few people and usually people has to take the medicine for a full day even before such side effects occur. i only took 5ml of it instead of the recommended 30ml. lucky i only took 5ml. if not i think i won't be coming to this thread anymore.

berlin - i didn't manage to get any maternity bra from thyme. the sales girl not helpful. there was no size chart to advise on the size i should get. she just passed me two and i tried. cannot. super tight. so i gave up. ended up i bought the same one as fushiastar from triumph. $35 each. very expensive but very comfortable. no underwired and very soft. but really too expensive so i have to look for alternative.

taka - also hope and pray very hard that "chuan dao qiao tou zhi ran zhi". after the weekend episode. i now really hope so even more so.

straycats - i checke with gynae already. nose bleed common. but not too often so have to handle our nose more carefully.

Berlin,
The blood test is two full test tube right? Looks scary..I havent done mine..think will be this friday's visit.

I also feel very fat..Think my tummy is already same level as my breast liao. I compare with pictures in book, should be around this for 4 mth i think. Then after 5 mth..tummy will go beyond breast..heheh

Hi straycats, can't wait to have another weekend.
Good and bad, I felt so moody on sat that I cried. Then sunday I went for KTV and Dinner at thaivillage. My tummy not so 'D' yet leh... then my husband say I getting fat liao, can see the fats around my armpit.
I tried to push them under my bra strap but it's still visible.

Jan, which br you went? I went to OUB centre. Ya, they also didn't have bra chart, they just gave me a few sizes to try, so I try until I get the right size lor. Don't care what attitude they give, cheap must try until satified then I buy. Abit auntie lah, but no choice mah.. Those bras so ex, then have to keep buying when our boobs get bigger leh.

Weoseek, I didn't want to look when they were drewing blood from me. When at the front desk, I saw 3 tubes (not 2 leh) that belongs to me, then I realised how much blood I just gave.

Jan, other places with maternity bras..: 9 mois @ Plaza Sing about $40, Mothercare and Marks and Spencer.. Think almost all maternity bras are about $30-$40+ unless you can get them on sale.. Don't get them too small.. If not you'll outgrow them.. I'm using bra extensions on mine now.. The general trend is that you will go up 2 sizes and 2 cups by the end of your pregnancy..

Jan
Don't worry too much. I read that some preggies experience wind in their tummy thru' out the whole pregnancy. Try to eat small meals if you can and after meals, don't sit down immediately. Better still, go for a 15mins walk, it will be much better. If the medication is causing you discomfort, don't take it. Your BB will be fine

BTW, for bras are you bend on only getting maternity bras? If you like no underwired ones, CK Tangs / Taka carries Jockey or Bonds...quite comfortable, I wear them and bras from Marks &amp; Spencer as well.

Weoseek
Aiya I so envious of you! My tummy not even at my breast level!!! And I will be 18wks next Sat!!! I only have a belly pouch (more like a beer belly) only

Berlin
The phone call from Comgateway if to verify that you had spend x amt of $$ on the US website. They charge US$17 for 1 kg and you can consolidate your packages if you like. US tax charge for California state is 8.5%.

want to recomend confinement lady to you all. she is my aunt and doing the confinement for quite sometime. she is realiable, chinese and hok kien speaking. cooking is her speciality. next week she will do confinement at yishun. this is her number +65 9359 5187.

Berlin
Hehe! You so funnie, tried to push the fats into your bra straps
I puked out my food on Friday night...everything..dunno why, after that I felt so much better but got hungry again, so my hubby went to buy the durian puffs for me from Goodwood Park..yum yum!!

I also felt very "pui pui"...like got alot of fats around my tummy area, yet I cannot fit into any maternity wear and cannot wear my current clothes cos' most are tight fitting..haiz..I really dunno what to do..I simply can't wait for my "D" to appear.

About the maternity bra..as our breast are getting bigger, is it ok to wear those without underwire one? Can it hold?

Straycats,
My wedding was held at goodwood park..but i never try their durian puffs before..Only see long long queue there, or ppl just buy a box and sit at the cafe and savour..Must try if I pass by next time..

Straycats,

Better dun try to squeeze in tight fitting clothes, wear something that you are comfy with, even if yr tummy is not really so obvious...
Maybe after you start wearing, your tummy will turn "D"!!!

I feel so good walking around in maternity wear, cos it is so comfortable and soft and pple can even give up their seats to you!!! Hee hee!!

xiaoling,
I heard MT A is good for privacy, not sure about the service. Anyone can help?

Straycats, I also had durian puffs but I bought from 727 durian chain.

Maternity bras
I find that they are so huge when you wear it and cos most are without padding, I feel so conscious about my nipple sticking out. :p And you know these patch are getting bigger that makes you look like "Africa Mama".

Berlin,

we share the same feelings, once I wore it to the office, my colleague came up to ask me whether I wore anything under my top!!! Then I realized the nippies were sticking out so obviously!! So embarassing!!

Luckily I managed to find some nice bras from the factory outlet at Specialist Centre, soft and comfy, which is slightly padded (Like T-shirt bras, seamless) and only cost less than $20 each, but sizes are limited...