(2005/12) Dec 05 mums-to-be

Berlin
Just tell TMC that the timing for July is too tight for you. Then ask for the Aug schedule, she is give it to you. The lady I spoke is very soft spoken.

Jan
Yup sardines is good! I agree that everything must be taken in moderation. I hope after birth I can at least do my normal runs, otherwise I will be very sad

LiewLianSoh
Try not to make BB too big, otherwise will be very tough on you during delivery. Don't worry, during the 2nd trimester, our BB grow very fast

Any of you ladies plan to do prenatal yoga or take up aqua aerobics??

taka,
I saw the long cardigans at Suntec's Spring maternity. Prices, I think $30-40 before discount. Sales end this wk, so be quick...

weoseek,
oh I see... may I ask what's your major? Mine was BSc (Comp Sci).

straycats,
my hubby is v particular about freshness of food, so much so that he'll not eat overnight leftover food. Fussy eater... hopefully my bb not like him.

slings...
me thinking of getting a sling too. Any recommendation for gd buys?

mango...
yummy... I like mango too.

Last nite I lie on my tummy on the bed & was 'scolded' by hubby for pressing against bb
*sob sob* I thot bb is protected by amniotic sac mah...

Joyful
You majored in Comp Sci?? Hee hee! Mine major is MIS but I did my studies in Curtin

Your hubby very health conscious, which is good, mine is like a dinosaur, he eats anything he can lay his hands on..but he still very skinny leh.

I got this sling from the US. It is 100% cotton and they call it the New Native Baby Carrier.

294154.jpg

straycats,
yup. You're in IT line now?

Contrary to what you may guess, my hubby altho' "health conscious" is a fatty bom-bom, hahaa... His tummy is like 5 mths pregnant, whereas mine is only 4 mths. *grin*

Hey, the bb looks so comfy in the carrier, like a kangaroo pouch. How much did you pay for it?

Joyful
Nope. On the contrary, I am a PA to the Director.

I paid US$40 for it. I got it at a store in San Francisco. Maybe some of the store in S'pore has it.

joyful,

i like you. lie on tummy. i trying to push gas out! i tot baby protected. really cannot? i have to ask gynae. oh dear.

do you all think its a good idea to buy clothes now since its sales time? i tot buy in advance but worry cannot wear. give some opinion? also need advice. when the great sale ends?

straycats,

after birth, one month i think you should recuperate. then start on training from 2nd month? check with gynae. should not be a problem esp since you have all along been so active.
i not planning to take up any yoga or aerobics. one because to save cost. so i guess i will walk more. secondly, i think my mil will freak out. she don't believe in all these western methods. in fact she say no need to eat folic acid cos all these are artifical means. how?

Jan
You and Berlin should go shopping together. She up to date on places with good sales

Maybe you can buy before you delivery than use it as an encouragement to get back to your pre-pregnancy size

I hope so. I was so envious of my frens who were taking part in the triathlon race this Sun at East Coast park. One of them saw me during my 1st trimester walking and even stopped to ask why I am not training. But I did not tell cos' still early, pang tang lah.

You MIL abit like mine leh. Upon finding out that I was pregnant, my MIL immediately told me to stop all my activities and tell me even not to sit on the floor in the living rm!!!! The other day, during lunch I refused to take the sharksfin and she said in public that I am so picky about food and that's why my tummy so small
Haiz...are all MIL the same????

Folic acid is a must for the spinal growth of your BB. Tell her, rice also contains folic acid nutrients, if cannot take the tablets by gynae, then rice also cannot take oredi...hee hee! I very bad hor, teach you how to "tell" your MIL off

finally I can access Internet now...

My parents so 'old fashion'. I just told them I chose MA, and they kept telling me to change to KK. To them, KK is best and cheap. I'm very upset, but my husband is overseas for the whole week and no one can understand me...

tummy size:
Mine is a small bump and is more obvious from afternoon onwards. But I'm still wearing my loose tops and a-line skirts, so nobody in MRT offer me any seat yet.

mangoes & durians:
Think now is the seasons, the mangoes are very sweet n juicy. I had both mangoes and durian puffs last weekend.

dumplings;
I went last Friday, had to go round the street twice to find the shop. The dumplings are quite nice! And their "suan la tang", "za jiang mian" taste just right, not too spicy. Worth trying.

I'm anxious about my checkup tomorrow... anxious to see my baby, but my husband is not with me. I have asked my mum to go with me, but I'm sure she's going to persuade me to change to KK again, just think of it makes me very "sianz"... don't know why they still treat me like little girl who don't know how to make decision myself...

Dear all! Can I join in too? My EDD is also 25 Dec same as YL, fairymoss and agnes. May I know which hospital are you all going to deliver your baby? Me going for my NT scan in one week times...any advice? Thanks!

Hi Faith
So u're having a Xmas bb as well. I suspect mine will come out early. I'll be delivering my bb at TMC. Went to my NT scan 2 weeks ago. The gynea will scan ur bb as usual but will take note of the thickness of the neck skin n take measurement. I'll be going for my blood test 2 weeks later.

straycats,

not all mils are like that. just some. don't let them upset us. that is what i try to tell myself. i got told off this morning when she say my top. said its too tight, should put on loose ones. its a knit top so its stretchable and hardly tight! i told her i m trying to save money which is true. my current job on contract. i worry they won't keep me after that so i have to save. on one hand she don't allow me to tell others cos pang tang but on the other hand she wants me to wear loose clothing which is a possible sign for people to guess. most of my clothes fit me, not body hugging and not loose so its tough. today she says mine is body hugging. sigh. i so big size and plump, its impossible that i wear body hugging lah. all the buldges will show! sometimes i find it tough too. differences in opinion.

folic acid. my sister in law when pregnant did not eat at all. so.... i think no matter what i argue also no use. she used it to counter argue. say my sil's gynae famous, from gleaneagles so much better, did not prescribe folic tablets. what can i say?

moonbell,

i wish to go kk too cos its much cheaper for us but my mil insist otherwise. don't let them get to you. you know lah, for our parents, we will always be their little girl, take it that they sayang you lor. don't be upset and sian. you are seeing baby again. maybe can take scan then show hubby when he comes back. i know i will dread to go gynae without hubby too. very sian feeling but no choice, they have to earn milk powder money. heehee
at least for you it will be your own mum going with you. my case my mil insist she wants to go even when my hubby around. i trying to put off her visiting gynae with us. i like my privacy. already got a gynae looking at me half undressed, i don't need my mil doing it! i actually detest the idea.
sigh.

KK Hospital
Nowadays KK don't seem to be cheap either. Did you check out the price and compare?

In-Laws
I'm staying with In-laws and I know how it feels when you can't just tell them off.

Moonbell, glad that you make a worthwhile trip. The shop is really narrow, so it's not easy to locate.

Faith, Welcome to Dec'05 mums! Another X'mas baby. My gynae delivers at MT A & MT E, I have yet to see the package. (After seeing my bb happily, I forgot to shoot questions and ask for the package... Arrgghh..)

my tummy suddenly grew at exponential rate over the weekend! my mum and hubby commented very obvious! im 15 weeks this week. cant wait for next gynae visit, hopefully can see the sex of my bb
so exciting!

anyone having breakouts??? and im like having obvious pigmentation on my face, looks dam ugly, although hubby pretend cannot see! must really change my skin care, any recommendations??

btw, im craving for campbells soup (the sachet powdered kind) everyday but hubby scold me say cannot take. say instant food very harmful for me and BB. really meh? thought soups are healthy??

and is it safe to take all fruits except pineapples and bananas? so far i only know these 2 fruits are definite no-nos...

is it true we cant stretch?? my mum say cannot but i would secretly do it cos my body really aches..

Moonbell
Welcome back. Was wondering where were you

I agree with Jan. Parents will be parents, no matter who old we are they will always treat us like a little girl. I understand how you feel when hubby is not around when you visit your gynae. But you can take the chance to bring your mom along, trust me, when she sees the BB on the screen she will forget everything. That's what I did for my mom. Now she will try to follow during my visit and I will bring her along

Jan
Totally agree with you & Berlin on the MIL thingy. Sometimes I just keep quiet and pretend I never hear anything. But sometimes really cannot tahan, then will complain to hubby lor

Talk about "tight" fitting clothes, its nice to wear them when we are pregnant, its a rare chance for us to stick out our tummies without feeling paiseh (how I wish mine is big big). Only pants, I was told not to wear too tight, this is to allow the tummy to grow and stretch.

Welcome 2005 & faith!
So far I don't have any breakouts probs leh, so I dunno what advice to give you sorry

jan,
Not sure if ok to lie on tummy anot. Thot hubby was a bit too gan-cheong..

faith,

KKH...
Agree with Berlin that KK is not necessary the cheapest. I've also considered going to KKH, but I dun want the inexperienced intern doctors (ie Medical Officers, MO for short) to see me. Heard some bad stories about them. I believe to enjoy subsidized rate, have to go for MOs. On the other hand there's the premium service where you've to pay more & the price is almost comparable to pte hospitals. So I thot why not go for pte hospital then?

Berlin,
I was like you during my last gynae visit, ie after seeing bb scan, brain was still thinking about bb, too happy liao until forgot all my questions! Next time must jot it down.

2005, I'm having this little little breakouts on my forehead since I'm pregnant. I try to drink lots of water and consume more fruits. Try to keep your make up simple, if not it causes more breakouts.

Straycats, ya, I like to wear tight tops to show my tummy. My husband say I purposely want to show off my tummy even when it is not big enough. I feel more sexy to wear tight, especially when the cup size increase keke.. Last weekend, I wore my m)phosis low neckline dress and my husband compliment that my boobs are so big... hahaha.. can see more cleavage..
And of cos, the bottoms must not be tight.

Joyful, next time before you see the gynae, make sure yr hubby also remember the questions ya wanna ask the doc. I have been rather forgetful since I got preggie so I got to get my hubby to remind me stuffs!!! That's also one way to get him involved lor...

Same like you, starting from this week, I started to have outbreaks on my face, first a small acne on my forehaed, now 1 huge acne on my nose so I think I should change my nick to "Rudolf" for this week!!! So sad! Have already made appt to go for facial next week, hope my condition will improve!!! I also notice that I am starting to have a dark line in the middle of my belly!!!
There goes my intention of wearing a bikini to go swimming!!! (T_T)

whahahaha... Liewliansoh, you make me laugh so hard about "Rudolf"...
BTW, some preggie will have swollen and red nose and some will not. So what's the cause of it? Too much water? How to prevent Big Nose ah?

Berlin
Now is the best chance to show off our tummies! Before pregnant, when wearing tight tops we must make sure our tummies are super flat. Now...ha ha!!! Can stick out tummies and nobody says anything

My hubby had never been so happy about my boobs..now if only my tummy pop out overnight...heavenly

LiewLianSoh
You are so funnie! Always coming up with interesting nick. I told my hubby abt this forum and mentioned your nick and he kept laughing and asked me is it b'cos you love durians

I think most important part about KK is that..the gynae there is very strict about MCs. They dun normally give MC if you complain about headache/tired..which is not good right?

Joyful, My MSc is under Electrical Eng.

Liewlian,
I also noticed I hv this dark line in btw belly..Dunno why hair there grow stronger hor?

Do we need to tell gynae that we are enrolling for antenatal course?

Looking on the structures of program on TMC..looks most are lectures?

If want to join those hubby&wife do exercise together..as those seen in drama series..any idea where to find?

Preggie mommies are supposed to be cheerful, glad that I can manage to put a few smiles and some hearty laughs on some of you....

Yeap, I do love durians lots and heaps, that's why even my English name starts with the Letter "D"!! Ho ho!!!

gals,

check with you all, now that our boobs are getting bigger. where do you gals buy the necessary bra? is it must buy maternity bra? not the nursing bra right? i quite confused. any recommendations on brands?

straycats & berlin,

i try not to take what my mil says too heart too much. try to forget because her words can hurt at times and no point i stress over it now because we have a little one to think about. little one more important at this point. since we live with them then i guess we just have to tolerate lor. no choice right?

joyful,

this sat when i go see gynae, i will definitely ask her, update you then. sigh. sometimes i realise that our hubby suddenly kan cheong us now because of baby. last time after married like also not so kan cheong. sigh.

weoseek,

i read that dark line is common. book say the skin below belly will grow dark. don't know why though. cannot recall. its normal so don't worry too much about it. i was checking for mine the other day. sigh.

LiewLian ah... the last time, my hubby was like me too.. after seeing bb, both of us were too elated to remember the questions! Then after we returned home... aiya! why didn't we ask while at the gynae?! heheh. Next time lor.

Berlin & straycats,
Seems that ever since Zoe Tay appear with body-hugging clothes on TV while preggie, it's now trendy to wear tight-fitting tops to show off the round tummy. That's what the salesgirl at the maternity shop told me... So ladies, go ahead! Got it, flaunt it! *grin*

weoseek, I don't see mine with dark lines but hair growth is getting more obvious (I'm already quite hairy, can you imagine how obvious it's going to be ... OMG) This morning I ask my husband to kiss bb before he leaves and he has to find a clearer spot (abit exaggerate) It's quite embarassed when I visit my gynae (male).

berlin, i try to take fruits everyday but i have my doubts about cut fruits sold outside. after being left so long in the fridge, the vitamins would have been destroyed. yet i dont have the time to buy fresh fruits from supermarket..

liewliansoh, my SIL took lotsa durians during both her pregnancies. and her babies are very strong! they dont fall sick and can sleep in air-con room without blankies or extra clothings! ur BB will turn out to be a strong one

zoe tay has beautiful boobs now. wonder how to maintain after birth to stop them from shrinking?

I heard that using chinese cabbage can help maintain the shape of the breasts... not too sure if this is true, my godma told me abt this....

Somehow, the cool cabbage from the fridge can help ease the pain from the full breasts....

Only use this method when you are almost end of yr breastfeeding period with yr baby...
Better dun take jabs from doctors to stop the milk, cos the medicine will also cause them to shrink and sag!!

straycats
I was out-of-office,and staying at my mum's place, have no chance to use Internet at all until last night, with my sis's laptop. And today, back to office and heaps of work waiting for me, sianz ahhhh....

Berlin
I did compare KK before, for experience gynaes, not much diff. But I choose MA mainly for the less crowded envt and travelling distance.

Jan
Suggest you take your folic acid secretly, to avoid further reasoning with your MIL. My iron supplement contains 1mg of FA, and have to take throughout whole pregnancy.

2005(first_mum)
I like the campbell soup too! mushroom and cheese, even got crispy bread bits inside! Though no preservatives, but don't take everyday lah, got sodium leh, quite salty.

Weoseek
No need to get your MC from gynae. Get it from your family doctor. I always can get 1 or 2 days MC easily, heehee...

straycats
Ya, my mum was glad to join me for my checkup today. After that, she told me most important baby's sound and safe, give birth in MA also can. So, next thing is to persuade my dad.

My baby's 11.5cm at 16wks.
Saw baby's hands waving and touching own face. Glad that everthing's fine, including my triple test and blood tests.

Moonbell, it's good to choose a hospital that you are comfortable with. Stick with your option, you are the one giving birth. I also think that MA is less crowded compared with ME. Unless I want ppl to visit me, then ME is easier to stop by. Can see bb touching the face.. so sweet... it will definitely melt my heart...

2005, from my sister's opinion, she suggest to always wear a supportive bra after birth. This is what she regretted and now is trying to "revive" her breast shape.

Moonbell
Glad to hear that your mom had "given up" on you delivering at KK
Don't worry too much abt your dad cos' I believe your mom will be able to change his mind. Meanwhile like what Berlin said, you must be comfortable with the hospital, afterall you are the one that is gonna give birth

Also, happy to hear that your BB and all the test are fine

Jan
I am still wearing wired bra but at a bigger cup size. I do recall some of my preggie frens wearing maternity bra, its up to your own comfort level on which is your preference

Joyful
I noticed that nowadays alot of preggies wear tight fitting clothes, but ang moh more lor. I recently got one from US that says "Due in December"...can't wait to wear it when my tummy pops

Straycat,

That's a cool T-shirt ya got there!!!
You should have bought some more T-shirts and sell to us!!!!!!!!!! Hee hee!

I will sure keep a lookout for you in the T!!
So dun be so surprised if one day one of us may walk up to ya and ask if ya are Straycat!!! Hee hee!

Ya, That's cool. Me would want to wear that too!!

My bras are getting tight now even with bra extenders and hardly can breathe when I wear strapless bras. I need to get some.

Sales.. Zara having sale today...I never managed to find the small size that fits me at zara, so now I'm bigger, I hope there is something to fit me. heehee...

Berlin and Joyful,

Didn't manage to get any cardigans from G2000 or Spring Maternity (the design is a bit too simple), but finally found my long cardigan in OZOC. Having 50% discount and i was so impulse that i grab all the colours available (black, white and yellow) except the pink colour!! hahaha. Then saw FCUK is having relocation sales at citylink. If you got citibank credit card, got additional 10% discount. BTW, they carry Seeds too and they are unbelievable cheap. I bought two skirts at $9 each!

Now they mostly leave with size 6 - 10, so just nice for us. Like what Berlin said, we are bigger size now, easier for us to get something. It is the first time i feel so happy that i can fit into those bigger size like now. Hahaha.

taka, those skirts that you bought, are they rubber waist? I saw someone bought in another forum, it's the norm zip up type. You make me wanna shop again!!

Berlin,

No they are the normal zip up type but i bought much bigger, like hipster to me now. Anyway, they are A line, so a bit bigger is alright. If you want rubber waist, i saw them in byst, also having 50% discount. I bought one pierce the other day. The design comes with pleat and my hubby said i look very fat in it. Well, i just told him that i suppose to be fat when i am pregnant and asked him never to comment that i am fat!

Hm, that is a very nice cardigan. I was hesitating whether to get those short cardigan (very popular now) but thinking that it might look a bit funny with my tummy protruding out.

I am a bit curious, seem like i am the only one wearing cardigan here. Don't you wear cardigan?

Those short cardigans are called bolero in fashion term, they were already a fab in Japan and Korea since last year, I bought 3 in Korea last April, it looks cute like the pic above or it matches well with a little tube-dress/sundress etc...
Depending on how you wear them!!!

taka, I do wear cardigans. And I'm hunting for more to hide my future thunder arms if I wear sleeveless. But can't find one that is good quality and yet cheap. The one on the pic will cost around US$30 (w/o shipping fees).

Berlin,

Looks nice and sexy pic...Hmmm..wondering when will my belly button pop...currently my tummy is "B" shape..pretty ugly.

LiewLianSoh
Ya, next time if my tummy pop and I wear my T u must come up and say hi to me ok
Actually, Motherworks got one T that says : "Got baby"..quite x..but I may want to buy it, cos' now at interim stage, some ppl duuno whether we preg or fat, so have a T that says "Got Baby" also can answer alot of stares hor?

Berlin & Weoseek
I also wish I will looked like this when I get bigger. Now my tummy like you both looks like a "B"....everyday I kept staring at it, hoping they will merge into one, ha ha!!

Any of you planning to BF? The hospital will teach us or we need to learn it from elsewhere???

Sandy,
Welcome..Think I've chat with you before in SGbride there..so fast everybody promoted liao..hehee.. Congrats!

Straycats,
I heard if confinement lady is nice..they will teach breast feed..But I dun intend to get one..My mum/MIL will do for me..although my MIL is a retired nurse, but still very embarassing hor?..heheheh..so dunno how..Think for TMC..heard that there will be short course on breast feeding during our stay there. Should be similar with other hospital I guess.

By the way, how many inch does your tummy expand already? I currently can fit into 1 inch bigger jeans..dunno tummy size on target or not leh..

Next week I'll hv to attend a wedding..Plan to wear maternity clothes..so that frens wont comment I fat..will understand its cos of pregnant..heheheh..

Weoseek
My mum will also be taking care of me during my confinement. I noe TMC will teach BF, but I am not sure about Mt E...hrm must check with them

I cannot fit into my hipster jeans liao but can wear pants that are in M / L size. Maybe I should start taking note of my expanding waist line. Today, at my pilates class, my instructor commented that I am not showing at all....so sad..maybe she meant the round bump, cos' now I got a "B" bump..ha ha!

Don't worry, I bet you will look good!