(2005/12) Dec 05 mums-to-be

Being a first time mum, I'm just too worried about being under-nourished.

Absolut, it's better to keep away from cold drinks. I've been enduring ever since I got my prenancy confirmed. I was so tempted to take a sip but for the sake of baby and health, I keep away.

Liewliansoh, I saw something similar to the swimwear I posted at Thyme maternity. It's in black though but not as trendy as the Gap one..cost S$109 before 20% discount.

Showed the picture to my hubby and he said he prefers something more sporty and brighter prints so he won't buy that for me....

I guess I will just stick with my bikini lor! Actually unlike most of you gals here, my tummy is already quite obvious! Maybe becos I have more fats than all of you!!! Ha ha!!!

I have already bought Palmers Cocoa Butter and started applying in case stretch marks appear, it seems like my hubby is more concerned over those marks, that's why he constantly reminds me to apply the cream... I only find him a NAG!!! Hee hee!

hi ladies i am new here. A mother-to-be in early Jan 06 but could be in Dec 05 too. Need your advise and opinion on your preference on year-end baby or beginning of the year baby?

There are two ways of saying, some said beginning of the year babies are brighter but i personnally feel that year-end babies have advantages over the beginning of the year babies cos they are going to school earlier than the same year babies.

What is your opinions? Thanks.

The best is to deliver yr bb on 1st Jan, personal preference... Cos OCBC and many companies actually give a lot of incentives on that day!!! Hee hee!

Taka,
I think no difference for yr end/beginning baby.

But some parents will heart pain when see their yr end baby attend school with those born in Jan ones. Almost like 1 yr smaller than them..and when kid learn things slower than other ppl, will always say cos its yr end baby.

But to me, I'm also born in Dec..and purposely plan my EDD also Dec..cos Dec represents snow, holidays regardless of pri/sec/uni...always happy one...and think I'm always bigger size since kindergarden leh..despite I'm born small.. 5pounds only

I'm really hoping my EDD won't delay to 2006..cos bb will attend school one yr later..then if its a gal..very hard to get bf leh..cos older than old her classmates..Very funny thinking..hehehe

Moonbell and Berlin,
I almost missed your replies, thanks. Hiyah, we're all meeting for the first time too! You all think abt it lah, we're tentatively meeting next wednesday... gonna be nice and cosy, just a handful of us.

Anyone interested, please post in Nov thread... cos I don't usually come in here
Cheers!!

straycats and absolute, Thanks for the info!

straycats,
enjoy your holiday, shopping and take care ;)

straycats & berlin
your meals seem balanced and healthy to me! I can only have home-cooked food twice a week when I goes back my mum's place.
My meals are quite imbalance. I have "dry-kway-tiao with fishballs/bah-chor", fish soup noodles, cha kway tiao (once in 3 wks so far) and lor mee. There's not much healthy selection in hawker centers... so I try to "compensate" with fruits, cereals and milk...I snack on nuts and biscuits everyday too, and sometimes a bit of potato/tapioca chips to improve my appetite as most of the meals quite bland :p I tried to eat more healthy, but it's so difficult, unless I go back mum's place everyday...but it's too tiring.

Think I have to start to boil my own nutritious soup. I know "potatoes-carrot-corn-pork ribs". You all have any other recipes to share?

Weoseek,

I also share the same view as you. So i think i will decided when the bb gender is confirmed first. If a boy, then i think beginning of the year is better, if girl then December. I am hoping for a girl.

If in December it is going to save me 600 on confinement charges. If cross over to CNY (in late Jan), the CL wants to charge me 2300. Really heartache ah.

Moonbell,

Heard of 1 way of cooking soup is very nutricious..Its done by putting chicken on top of one bowl..then let the "essence" flow into bowl..the whole chicken will only give you 1 cup of soup....I think many parents know..cos most of my colleage drink that kind of soup a lot. Accordingly, bb will be smarter..

Been bugging hubby to cook for me... plan to try out this weekend.

I didn't know that we need to pay the confinement lady more if it is near to the CNY!!!

BTW, ladies, have you and yr hubby decided on which method of delivery yet?

LiewLian, ya of course, if near CNY they would have to charge higher cos is festive season and CNY is the most impt festive for Chinese.

LiewLian,

Can we decide on method of delivery? I thought ideally, everyone would like natural birth without epidural?..

weoseek, my elder sis cook that for me to try a month's back. she put 1 part of the chicken (thigh or other parts, no need whole chicken) on a bowl and let it brew with herbs for 2-3 hours. There is only 1 cup of soup but very nutritious and tasty. Remember to remove the skin which can be oily.

weoseek
So cute ... you actually planned your bb to be born in Dec together with you. I didn't plan it so well, just thot we're ready to hv no.2. So chiao... EDD in Dec and only 3 days difference from my birthday and hubby and bro's birthday also in dec. Now worried that my no.1 will feel left out in future when the rest of the family members (hubby, me and new bb) are celebrating birthdays in Dec.

The chicken soup sounds yummy. Should try to do it too. So we steam the chicken instead of boiling it in water?

LiewLian Soh,
As for delivery, I may go for natural with epidural, less painful mah. Actually not sure if I tolerate labour pain without epidural.
Heard that if there're difficulties in natural birth, eg prolonged labour that causes bb to be distress & may need emergency c-section. I'm trying not to go for c-section as far as possible.

I think the gifts only goes to the 1st & 2nd born on 1st Jan midnight babies. Bcos one of my colleague was born on 1st Jan daytime, & received nothing! My friend's sister's son was born on 1st Jan 05 & is the 2nd in that hospital & was featured on TV. So I guess need to be the no 1 & 2 on 1st Jan, else no diff from others lor.

Welcome taka!
I actually dun mind whether Dec or Jan bb. Bcos I believe the advantage only lasts for the child's 1st few yrs til pri sch. After that it's up to the child himself/herself. I've seen children who supposedly has headstart in life but is mediocre when grown up. And vice versa, average when young, but worked hard later in life to earn gd academic qualifications. So I think I'll be the type of parent who doesn't compare my child's sch results with others. Simply bcos I was once a victim!

Btw, the chicken soup you all described sounds delicious :p I'll ask if my mom can prepare for me

Noted your revised EDD & hospitals, will update next wk.

ya, the soup sounds really nice, that's why i had the herb chicken for my lunch. kekeke. Will ask my mum to prepare for me too. Btw, Berlin, what type of herbs to be put together?

Weoseek
Wah...one whole chicken for one bowl of soup only ah... will consider to try heehee...

Well, me knock off now, Bye ladies and have a nice weekend!

just came upon this website. I'm a Dec mummy too.. EDD is on 9th Dec. Am a first time mum so hope to learn more here.. ^_^

moonbell,

That's what I said to my colleage too..a big waste of 1 whole chicken for cup of soup..But she said its not like I couldn't afford..in fact she had it alternate week together with birdnest..ever since during 1st trimester..

Taka,
I only put pao4 shen1

my sis put pao shen and red dates. Don't need to use 1 whole chicken, my sis put chicken parts only (a thigh or ribs, or breast whichever you have)

I bought non-wired bras from marks and spencer yesterday. Was having sale pack of 2 for $30, usual price $45.

Yesterday our 1st try on the chicken soup was successful. I think what need to do is...fill up a bowl of water and some slices of pao shen and overturn it in a pot. Put some slices of ginger on top of the bowl before putting the chicken. After that just double boil it for 2-3hrs..

But its not like what you gals imagine, its yucky leh..U can see a layer of oil on top of the cup of soup..so I just use a straw to drink it.

The pros of drinking pao shen soup is that...baby will be more jing1 ling1 and energetic after born..cons is that they tend to sleep less. So your life is more tiring as mummy loh.

The colleage which i mentioned drink this soup often..can sing the "rat love rice" song @2yr old...not bad hor..so plan to drink alternate week also...although its really yucky hehehe..

It's been quite some time since I came in the last time. Took me quite a while to read through all the postings. Been quite lazy to log in when I'm home. Don't know why leh... Been feeling very lethargic... Do anyone of you feel the same too ??

And welcome to all those new MTBs in Dec 2005.

Just had my 1st visit to the gynae last Wed. He actually told me I was a bit late for my 1st visit.
Find that he is quite friendly and "xi sin" except that he a bit rush lor... Didn't really explain quite a number of things to me like what some of your gynae did. And he also never gave me a print of my bb UT scan.
Probably will ask him next time.

BTW, do you know whether throughout the whole pregnancy, how many times we need to do the blood test ? I'm scheduled to do the blood test on my next visit which is on 25/6. Feel a bit scared.... "sigh" My gynae was telling me that there were 3 types of blood test, 1 is the basic one, and the other 2 are optional one which are HIV test and Down Syndrom test. Me thinking of taking the DS one as well but the gynae said is only 70% accurate.

Straycat,

You going US ah ?? You can tahan the long journey ah ?? Really pei fu you leh... Me thought of going to town already feel very tired liao. Maybe I didn't eat enough or take enough nutritional foods, that's why I feel tired so easily.

Berlin,

My gynae said can take cold drinks leh, even chrysanthemum tea or liang teh... Aiyor, I took quite a bit after hearing him said that. Now, the weather so hot.... Before that, I only took a bit cos my dad told me not to take too much. Think now must abstain liao... Actually, I always crave for ice kachang but I don't dare to eat 1 serving by myself...

1. does anyone suffer from 1st trimester rashes? mine is quite unbearable and I cant sleep well at nite when the itch gets real bad, and I would wake up and scratch myself non-stop!

2. I sometimes experience "tugging and pulling" pain at the sides of my tummy. What is it due to? Im not due for my 2nd visit to the gynae yet..

3. I get tired out easily. No mood to go out, sometimes get depressed. Anyone having mood swings?

4. I still take cold drinks all the time. Didnt know cannot! Really cannot meh??

Hi 2005 (first_mum),

1. No rashes for me.
2. I feel some pulling at times and feeling alot of back strain and backache.
3. I get tired easily, feel like lying down on the bed so often. Feel moody, upset, lethargic, and sick today.
4. I used to take alot of cold drink before pregnant. But now, I worried that my womb will be "cold" so I stop taking.

I also had no rashes, pullying pain..I assume is due to uterus/tummy expanding...

As for tired, ..most tired and giddy during my off days..felt ok during working days..real funny..

Berlin and moonbell,

I saw both of you snack on nuts? What nuts is that? I went to check around for nuts that are more nutricous..(cos saw from books it can provide folate)..but none mentioned that..all like give fats only leh?

ya, it's so hot nowadays. Preggies temp are already higher than usual, plus the hot weather, it's making me feel feverish. So I've started drinking cold water again, but only occasionally.

My sis in-law took lots of pao shen during her preggie days, supposedly gd, the skin of her 1st child turns out fair & nice, but 2nd one not so. Thus can't really tell if pao shen is really gd or not. But I guess no harm trying.

As for the oily chicken soup, maybe can remove the chicken skin before putting in?

Blood test... I thot the DS one was gd, at least it gives me peace of mind to know that bb is low risk from DS. If measurement from blood test is taken together with nuchal (neck) fold & nasal (nose) bone, accuracy of detection is 95%. Read that from a magazine.

2005(first_mum),
1. No rashes.
2. Like what weoseek said, could be due to uterus expansion
3. Same same. Due to hormones.
4. I couldn't stand the hot weather & resumed taking cold drinks again. In my 1st trimester, my stomach will feel upset when I took cold drinks, but not so anymore now.

weoseek, you are quite rite. I feel so sick at home but when I'm at work, at least I'm feeling more active though I still have blocked nose and sore throat (and feverish). I think when I cropped myself at hom, there's nothing much to do except wanting to lie down and rest. It keeps telling me that I'm so tired, I need to rest and hence making me feel so worn out? I guess so.

I didn't snack on nuts. I had biscuits (jacabs hi-cal) or fruits as snack in between.

Maybe at work, there's something to focus on. But at home, nothing much to do... So being too idle is no gd?

I started getting heartburn these few days. Can be quite unpleasant as the taste of the food that I just ate gushes up the throat. But can't control leh. Haiz... just have to bear with it I guess... anyone knows of any way to relieve or reduce?

Joyful, we are in the same boat...
Some pple tell me drink Coke can help, but I dun like the drink so I didn't take it...
I tried to take sugar-free mentol sweets and sour prunes, ginger also helps!

The best so far is applying oilment on the chest and rest!!! My heartburn hits me the worst in the evening, early in the morning, esp when I'm extremely hungry or too full!!!

LiewLian Soh,
thanks for the tips

I don't think I'll drink Coke bcos the gas may just make me feel more bloated. Will try out your other remedies..

Btw where did u buy the Palmers Cocoa Butter stretchmark cream? How much does it costs?

I bought it during the Motherhood Expo... I think less than $18, can't remember liao... My hubby paid for it. Actually I applied it twice daily and almost finished half a tube liao!!

Hopefully your heartburn will subside, my gynae forgot to prescribe some medi for me which he said can prevent me from feeling so nausea...
So if you really feel bad, perhaps ya can ask yr
gynae for advice!!

Hi MTBs,

Thanks for replies! At least now I dont feel so left out.. I got so worried about the "tugging pains", scared that something might have happened to my bb!

absolut & Liewliansoh>
which gynae are u seeing at ES? Any useful info? I saw Dr WK Tan once, but thinking of switching to somewhere nearer to my place..

I need some advice. i just did a home test and result should be positive. can someone advice me what is my next step? do i have to go to a GP to confirm i am pregnant and then get referred to a gynae or can i just go straight to gynae?

i am actually quite ok with male gynae because i also heard that they may be more understanding but my family prefers that i have a female gynae. sigh.

can recommend?

Dear 2005,

I'm seeing Dr Sandy Lek, located at Joo Chiat, he is a Teochew, and he delivered my nephew and niece, that's why I am going to him...
His charges are relatively affordable, but he can be sarcastic at times... I dun think he falls under the catergory of male gynaes ya described!!! :p

Hi 2005
I'm seeing Dr Heng Tung Lan at Eastern Specialist Clinic at Bedok Central. She delivered my 2 nieces and my daughter. Like her coz she's chirpy & cheerful but she does things very fast so if you wanna know things in detail, must ask otherwise she'll just check on her own.

jan,

You can check how many weeks you are from this website based on your last day of period..

http://www.amazingpregnancy.com/timeline/index.phtml

For my case, I checked +ve only after 1 day of missed period, and visited gynae 5 days after that..so the scan result couldn't see anything..not even sac.

So if you are in 4 to 5 weeks pregnant, maybe if you can tahan..then wait another 2 weeks..definitely can see sac + heartbeat..else can always see gynae lah..Gynae will give an1 tai1 medicine and folic acid..So its not that bad after all even though you may get more worried when you didnt see anything through scan.

hi weoseek,

thank you so much for your reply and good advice. i tried to calculator already. i think i either 4 or 5 weeks. will discuss with hubby.maybe taha for another 2 weeks, save some money.

i need to get gynae first. was very worried because i don't know anyone who can recommend then i came across this website. saw so many mums to be, was at least more calm since i can seek advice from all of you. thank you.

LiewLian Soh,
luckily my heartburn not that bad ... can still bear with it.
It's constipation that makes me feel uneasy. Anyone of you has constipation?

Hi jan,
You may consider to go GP to confirm first. Ya, GP is also cheaper than gynae. Weoseek is right, if you go to the gynae too early, you won't see anything from the scan yet.
My 1st visit to gynae was at 6.5 wks, and can see sac & heartbeat flickering on the screen. Made me so happy for a few wks

ladies, just curious, where do you stay? noticed a few are from the east side.

jan,
since u r in 4-5 weeks..high chance u may not see anything..but good to buy some folic acid from guardian or any pharmacy to eat first. Its kind of important. My first visit to gynae which see nothing..cost me $100+, My gynae even asked question like..if your period dun come this week, any chance it will come next week etc? make me super worry..But usually the home urine tester are very accurate..so just tahan and tahan..hehehe

Joyful,
Constipation can cure with prune..those sunsweet prunes..But dunno why before pregnant I quite like to eat..nowadays only eat when constipation is really bad.

weoseek,
I've been drinking prune juice for relieve. Doesn't really taste great, but effective!
Sometimes I think my little bulging tummy is due to too much food inside, rather than bb

Looking forward to gynae visit & see bb next Wed

Berlin,

I think its better to see gynae..their medication is different from GP. But if you can endure..don't take any medication still the best solution..

Joyful,
My gynae visit is this Friday..look forward to see bb..but very scared of weighing scale..heheheh..

This week's gynae visit I'll also be doing the neck measurement..this is already my 13th week..is it too late? Had an impression most of you has done it.

Then previously i had a colleage, who after the neck measurement show bb got high risk of defects..hv to start passing down her job..cos worry need to go for abortion..then till Wk20..realised everything is normal..But really make them very so much.

Weoseek, I am in now in my 15 week liao but my gynae didn't do any neck measurement for me last Sat

They only made me do a blood test...
Hmmm.... I must remind the doc during my next visit, 4 weeks later!!!

Weoseek,
I am visiting my gynae next sat. Hope I can endure and get well soon.

What is the neck measurement? I haven't done blood test or neck measurement yet. Next visit will be my 16th week.

Joyful, my tummy already showing when I was around 12weeks. some of them say I look like 4mths plus liao, think it's becos I eat too much and bloat easily.