(2005/12) Dec 05 mums-to-be

Hey, guess what! I told my hubby abt the drooling baby theory and got scolded by him!!! Said I was being so naive!!!
But of cos I said the same to him when he tried to forbid me from using a knife to cut fruits last nite... So it was kinda fun battle between the 2 sexes for us!! Hee hee!

Moonbell,
Ikea chicken wing is from their restaurant..I also quite like it..Another i like is their swedish meatball..yummy..hehehe..

About the stretch mark cream..I just got 1 from Mothercare..I think is the cheapest around from what you all mentioned...$12 per tube only. Plus they also give me a free magazine and motherhood's catalog..quite worthwhile leh.

Side track a bit..

Any idea for group lunch at nice restaurant with ambience? Preferably somewhere which will gives everyone a new experience, and can hv some interactions..

Been assigned task to organise for group lunch..Budget around $40-50 pp

LKG, moonbell, absolut, YL

My hubby commented that my boobs got bigger and he is very happy about it since I was a miserable A cup before
Do you guys get alot of bluish veins around the boobs? I have tons!

BTW, anyone suffering from nasal congestion? I do! I cannot sleep on my right side cos' my nose get very congested. I need to sleep on my left to get them unblocked

Weoseek
I thought everything is expensive in Mothercare, think I'll get a tube to try also heehee...

Straycats
The veins are very normal, I have a lot too.

I read from a book that sleeping on left side is good, allow more blood supply to the baby. Lying flat on back should be avoided in later stage, cuz the placenta pressure on the bladder and kidneys is not good for us.

I pray I won't get any nose block. Already can't sleep well nowadays, don't know why, always wake up at least twice in the night.

Weoseek

Wow, $40-50 budget is good! Some suggestions: buffet dinner at Marina Mandarin cafe, food not bad and not noisy. Cheaper option ($20) is Indonesian buffet at The Rice Table, long table arrangement with bowls of food placed on the heater

I just bought my first maternity pants from Spring today. hee...hee... a bit ks to buy now. They're having 15% discount now.

Remember I mentioned about Modern Maternity? Their clothes are quite trendy and they having sale now. I like their pants. Happy shopping! (must above $50 for credit cards payment) I also went to Mama Chic at Specialist centre and was rather disappointed with their range (not suitable for petite ladies.)

SALE 27 Apr to 7 May 2005
Blouse from $20
Pant/Skirt from $39.90
Dress from $39.90

10% discount on regular items
With a purchase of $200 and above, you will receive a free gift bra.
WHILE STOCKS LAST!

Address: 165 Tanjong Pagar Rd, The AMARA #02-30, Tel & Fax: 6221 1009
www.modern-maternity.com

Oops! so mah-loo :p
I just realised the sale was over already, But I think can just call them to check if there's any sales during the GSS.

Do u drink milk everyday? Wat kind of milk do u drink?

I'm taking Meiji lowfat milk, not have those specially for preggies. Is it necessary to have those milk powder kind?

Moonbell,

I wake up about twice during the night too, but to pee. Other then that, I sleep quite well, with the nose blocked

YL,

I drink Brownes HI-LO. I heard power milk tend to make the preggies put on alot of weight.

Milk powder or not, think should be similar.

I alternate between Daisy Hi-Lo fresh milk (cold), and Anlene, both high calcium with D3 and protein which is important for growth, plus also contains a lot of other minerals/vit Bs. Sometimes I take Milo as well. I think if no gastric problem, some cold drinks should be ok. I tried Anmum, too rich milk taste for me.

I drink 1 cup of Anmum every morning...Think it helps bb grow healthyly..Some of my colleage say cannot be too weight contious..cause later bb not healthy or small..we are still the one suffers..and heart ache.

Sometimes I wake up in the middle of the night to pee, and couldn't get back to sleep.... Anybody experiencing tat?

Preggie can take cold fresh milk??? Was advise by gynae not to take cold drinks? I am now taking 1/2 cup of Annum every morning, already feel like vomitting. But before preg, I use to love to drink cold Hi-Lo Chocolate milk. Dun know if I can replace with cold milk instead?

Is it a must to go for blood test? I really fear of needles. Upon hearing that we need to withdraw 5 tubes of blood.... Gosh, I will faint off instantly....

Anybody went to the Motherhood exhibition already? Any great sales on??? I might be going tomorrow....will update all of you again

I am currently taking cold fresh milk and my gynae said ok, but he did warn me not to take too much cold drinks, esp when my preg is not so stable... They did let me try some milk formula which they said it is good for the mommy, but after 1 cup, it made me nausea so I am not drinking liao!

Yeap, I am going to the exhibition tomorrow with my hubby, but we are just trying to source around what's there and which good buys they got...
One of my friends said that not all are really great offers, so most prob I will call her before I make any hasty purchase. Both hubby and I are the kind of pple who never give second thots when comes to shopping!!! :p

moonbell & absolut,
Yes! The chicken wings is @ the Ikea restaurant on the 2nd floor. Makes me drool already... want to sms hubby to see if we could go Ikea tonite. hee...

moonbell
I think Maybank credit card holders also have discount @ Modern Maternity.

poppi,
Same here. Nowadays I wake up every night without fail just to wee wee. When I can't fall back into sleep, next morning will feel moody liao (bcoz lack of sleep).

straycats,
My nose is also often blocked at night. Think it's another common preggie symptom.

YL,
I alternate between Anmum & HL fresh milk. Gynae says both ok.
Found that Anmum has higher calcium than most fresh milk. But if taking calcium pills, then should be sufficient...

joyful
I am so glad to find another preggie with blocked nose!
I thot I was odd. cos' so far none of my friends had it when they were preggies.

Have any of you started getting maternity pants or bigger size pants? Has your tummy come out yet?

Straycats,
No not yet get any maternity clothes/pants..I just look like I've put on weight, hv bigger tummy and fats around..But not any sign of pregnancy at all leh. My sis who touch on my tummy also say how come doesnt look like preggie at all..Just like during fat times..got "3 thick layer" heheheh..

So now still pai seh to go maternity clothing shops..

But 1 nite, I had a funny dream..had to sms my boss in the morning cos no clothes to go to work..as tummy suddenly got much bigger over nite..sooo funny..hehe..

Nowadays almost every nite have dreams, and also like joyful and poppi..will wake up for wee wee...

straycats,
Not to worry too much over blocked nose, hope it'll go away eventually...

I just bought maternity pants yesterday, those with V shape cutting at the tummy area. Will need to wear a longer blouse to cover, else can tell that it's maternity pants. The salesgirl says can last thru'out pregnancy & even a few wks after birth.

I can still wear some of my office pants but can't fit into my jeans anymore. I think now is the 'transition stage' where I look fat but not preggie

My tummy has a little bulge already, esp obvious if I lie down sideways. What about u ladies?

Weoseek,
I dream quite frequently too! This morning just before I wake up, I was dreaming about a nursery rhyme - the Elmo song. It goes like this... la la, la la, Elmo's song. la la, la la, la la, la la, Elmo's song...

Me too, always can't get back to sleep after weewee, and have funny long dreams which I can't remember when I wake up. Sometimes wet dreams which I wake up with minor cramps at lower abs :p

I've gained 3.5 inches to my waist and I can't fit into my pants now, can't button up! But luckily still can fit into my low-waist skirts and dresses.

I intend to get some maternity pants during the GSS. Topshop sells maternity clothes too! In today's papers, new outlet at Wisma, range fr $30-90, they have the v-waist pants as well.

joyfulhands
I can feel my bulge too and use a small pillow to support my tummy when I sleep sideways, more comfortable

My colleagues can see my small bulge when I'm in my dresses, heehee...

straycats,
You may find bigger size pants too baggy at the legs, unlike maternity pants, it's only expandable at waist level and you can still look slim at the legs.

I'm already wearing maternity 3/4 pants during the weekends, cuz can't fit into my burmudas anymore. I also bought 1 plastic container to pack away the many unfitting clothes, to make space for new maternity clothes in my wardrobe heehee :p

Re: Milk
Those who take Anmum, it contains AA & DHA, the same nutrients in Neurogain (fish oil), for baby's brain & eyes development.

LiewLian & Poppi
Did you go to the exhibition? Bought anything?

Weoseek, moonbell, joyful

I can't wear any maternity pants yet cos' my tummy is not out yet. Like Weoseek, my friends don't believe that I will be at 2nd tri from next Sat onwards. I really can't wait for my tummy to show...I guessed I have to "tahan" the "fat" period now, cos' I am running out of pants to wear and yet still cannot wear maternity pants
BTW, do any of you gals know where I find a good pair of nice looking maternity jeans?

joyful
I cannot feel my tummy roll to the side but can feel all three layers of fats roll to the side..ha ha!!

Also, I checked with my gynae, the blocked nose will stay until I deliver..Yikees!!! Nowadays, I sleep on my left side until my ears so painful. And once I switched sides, my nose will start to block and I will sneeze the whole day!
My gynae told me, if it gets worse, they can help to clear the nose for me...at least there is hope for me.

I also dream everynight....I dreamt of everything...from wet dreams, animals dreams, school days dream to even dreaming that my gynae shifted office! The funny thing is, I can remember them clearly than before I was preggie...must be the hormones playing tricks on us.

I did not go to the Motherhood fair, cos' I heard it is not very good. Did any of you bought any stuff?

straycats
hey same here, I also have painful ears (sometimes numb) from sleeping on my left side most of the times, tot my pillow was a bit hard haha...

God bless you, hope your nose block gets better!

Most probably I'll wait till the next sales season in Aug/Sep to get baby's things fr Isetan or Robinson or Taka sales. My room is a bit cramp and messy to stock up things now... Heard it's better to bring along baby to try out car seat or stroller to ensure the fitting is good.

Looks like we all are in the same "fat" stage..hehehe..Most of my pants and jeans still ok..but I tend to wear looser tops cos of my big boobs leh..so embarassing.

These few days...I began to get dizzy/headache easily..dunno why, in the end I didnt get to go shopping..so angry! Hubby already complete changing and me suddenly complain dizzy..in the end, we went back to sleep..

straycats,
hahaa, ya me too, I can't differentiate whether my tummy is mostly fats or the bb

My nose block is not as serious. Perhaps you wanna seek help from your gynae to get a relieve.

Btw, the maternity pants that I just bought can be worn starting from now. The difference from normal pants is that it has adjustable elastic band that can be tighten or loosen depending on tummy size. It is v-shape at the waist to allow tummy to grow. Like what moonbell says, these designs are slim at the legs & don't look baggy, hence is quite nice.

I'm not sure if I wanna invest in maternity jeans, bcos read that someone from another thread bought a pair for $129! Sounds ex to me... I think she bought it from Paragon.

moonbell,
I will also buy most of the bb stuffs later, bcos dun really know which brands are gd & affordable. And recently I'm starting to clear some space at home so as to put bb's stuffs later on.

ladies, will you have a bb room at home?

I went to the Motherhood exhibition... Mmm... nothing much to buy for our stage now...

Saw some mummies bought alot of pampers and heard if you sign up the MotherHood magazine, you can purchase milk powder @ S$1.

There are also maternity wear and nursing clothing on sales @ 70% discount. Kids toys etc...and lots and lots of ppl....

Weoseek, joyful, moonbell

Ha ha..i think all of us are into the "fat" stage. Sometimes I wished I have a sign infront of me at says "I am not fat but pregnant"

I hoped my nose problem will go away....but I doubt it. Nvm, for BB sake will have to tahan.

I am also getting dizzy spells and having headaches, I asked my gynae if it is normal he said yes cos' we have extra blood circulating around our body now.

My MIL is abit "patang" about us buying BB stuff so soon. So I guessed I will be like you gals, getting the stuff at a later stage.

Joyful
My BB room will be converted from my study rm. Haiz, I just renovated that rm, now have to readjust everything again.

Moonbell
I also am getting extra boxes to store my pre-preg clothes away otherwise, not enough space for the maternity clothes.

Have all your symptons disappeared already since I presume most of us are going on to the 2nd tri? All my symptons are gone except for the weeing and dreaming portion....they are still lurking around.

joyful, straycats
Really envy straycats has a bb room...I don't have a spare room, and my room is actually a bit crampy, so bb's future cot will be just beside my bed. Maybe need to get extra boxes to keep bb's things as well, a pity, really don't have much spare drawers. No choice, I'll only get my own house in end 2007, hopefully earlier...

As for symptons, I still feel bloated and burp a lot especially in the evenings. And I still turn green from oily smell, e.g. fried onions...

Harlow Ladies,

Everyone is very quiet today..no posting so far..

Today just realised one of my jeans get so tight need to unbutton when sit down..*sigh*..

Yesterday dizzy and headache till boey tahan then asked my hubby to call gynae...He also said its normal..say if gets worst can eat panadol..But I dun dare leh..

About the bb room..I dun intend to hv one so soon, till we've decided who will take care of the bb. If bb always at parents place, and only come back to our house at night..actually no such need for a room right? In fact, i don't think we can leave the baby in another room so soon..My colleage's kid in fact is sleeping with them on same bed when they are few mths old. So their advice is to get a king size bed..heheheh..cos kids like to sleep horizontal, with head and toe touching each parents..hehehe..So cute!

Hi Hi!

My BB room will be study rm. Not the whole rm. My other 2 rms are converted from 2 to 1, so space also very restricted...most probably will put BB at my mom's place cos' I lived only 5mins away from her.

Weoseek
My GP said panadol is safe for preggies but try not to take it if you can tahan lor...maybe u can try to rest more..it helps sometimes.

Hee hee! I now left 2 miserable pair of pants that will probably last me till end of June...thereafter .....its maternity wear! Have you bought any stuff from Mothers En Vogue @ Delphi? Their stuff looked quite nice...but quite ex also.

so mah loo again, erase my previous msg, so I have to re-type again....here it goes...

Alamak, headache is another symptom? Old symptoms gone but new symptoms come ah? Hope all of us can go thru these easier with the moral support we get from this thread.

weoseek
haha... tell you what, I even need to unzip half-way, so I make sure my blouse long enuf to cover the zips. Think it's better for me to fully switch to maternity pants to be more comfortable.

During this embarrassing period where we can't fit into our clothes properly, can't wait for our growing bulge to be more obvious, so that we can proudly wear our new maternity clothes, right mums-to-be?

straycats
how ex is it at Mothers En Vogue? Think most shops range from $30 onwards for tops. So far, I've only been to Spring, Modern Maternity, Mama Chic (at The Specialist) and Kiddy Palace (got a halter neck top there). Personally, I found the tops at M.M. more trendy with good soft material, but it's a small shop.

I just bought a jeans pants at Modern Maternity. Find their pricing ok n they have free alteration for the length.

Like the material is thin n soft, nice to wear when i tried it.

Hi moonbell,
I just bought 2 pants from modern maternity today. I'm currently 12 weeks plus. I agreed that we are seen as fat instead of preggie now. No one gave up their seat to me when I was on public transport the other day. So sad.

There's nothing much at motherhood except I was eyeing for a halter pink top from mothers envogue but run out of size le.

Besides, maternity wear, where did you hunt for suitable undies & bras for preggies? I'm now using bra extenders and will buy new bras if cup size increases. For undies, I'm buying extra-large but don't think will fit for long. I'm desperately looking for undies that don't look so granny-type. Any idea?

Straycats,
So nice your mum stay just 5 mins awayMy mother stays half an hour away..so havent really decide what to do with bb yet. My in laws stays in msia..so if they come to take care of bbour burden would be much higher.. somehow still prefer to let my own mother do the job..although life will be much tedious. Was thinking of asking her to take MRT come to my house to take care of the bb every morning, then when we reach homeshe can also go back..But maybe too mean for her..hehe..Then imagine every morning need to send and evening pick up bb..really siong lehsigh. Hopefully I can be SAHM soonhehehe.

Moonbell,

Totally agreeReally cant wait for tummy to growsI was looking at KK website about seminar of parenting..Hubby not keen cos he pai seh.everytime other mummys tummy so big(eg. the hospital tour we went, gynae visit) So he wanted to wait till tummy more obvious then go.

straycats,
I still burp alot, dream alot, wee at odd hrs of the night, sometimes bloated, but no ms (none to begin with & hopefully thru'out!)

moonbell,
Dunno whether to get plastic boxes or drawers to keep bb stuffs... very lack of space too.

king size bed... too bad my room is too small to accomodate a king size bed, else I would love to have one! I'll have to move out some furniture to give way to bb's bed. Is it pantang to move furniture around huh?

Weoseek,
Like wat straycats says, I heard panadol is ok, but try to take the round one which is milder, hence safer for preggies.

SAHM... ideal situation leh. Sadly, I don't think my financial situation allows.
Hee... I stay with my mum, so she'll help to take care of bb. But hor, she has no experience with babies.. makes me worried also... haiz

hi Berlin,
I havn't bought preggie underwear yet, bcos quite ex, I just buy bigger cup sized normal bra. Undies can still fit.

joyful,
I think get a drawer is a better choice..can put the drawer/cupboard in other room. I plan to get a new one just for bb..becos the rest of my cabinets filled up with other stuff..new baby new cupboard, more exciting hehehehe...Went to Ikea last week to see see look look..hubby already starts to imagine bb stick stickers on those cupboards hehehe..The cupboard i wanted is those 3/4 compartment..pull out one..

Not a good idea to shift furniture in room. Previously wanted to get a small tv rack for my room, but before we act, already found out I preggie..so now even tv have to put on a miserable round chair, we dare not shift it leh.
Maybe you wait a bit later then consider want to shift or not.

Hi YL & Berlin
Looks like you two went shopping during lunch time, are you working? If yes, so good,can go shopping...

joyful
My room really cannot contain another piece of furniture, so I will clear away two rows from my chest of drawers for bb's stuff, plus one or two plastic boxes. But when I move to my new house (2 yrs later), I'll definity get a proper storage.

Berlin
I didn't get any maternity undies,like joyful,only bought bigger cups bras. I did get bigger size undies (colorful Hush Puppies contton panties with cute design heehee). The maternity bras at Mothercare v ex. I saw Kiddy Palace selling the nursing bras (with detachable cups) at $28. Might get it when near EDD.

Weoseek
huh? cannot move furniture ah? Tot 2nd tri should be quite safe, should do whatever before entering 3rd tri.
I'm in the same dilemma as you, might need to send and pick up baby to and fro my mum's place. Haiz...

SAHM ar...hmm maybe possible if have at least 2 children...

Yup I shop during my lunch time... Working is good to go shopping?? No no no.. How I wish I'm a SAHM like you and can go shopping at any time to avoid the crowds. Nowadays I can't really shop long, I get tired easily and with the crowd during weekends, I also get frustrated. Did you mention about the maternity at top shop? I'm eyeing for the maternity jeans I saw at the webby. wonder if they stock in singapore. I may drop by wisma today and check it out. Only wisma store has maternity range?

Just to add my EDD is 14 Dec.

Moonbell,
My grandma just told me that my aunty lost her baby when its due time, cos they change the carpet in their roomThey forgot to consult her how to let the baby escape from shifting things in room. These things happen when I was in kindergarden time..remembered aunty went to hospital supposely to deliver her bb..but come home w/o one..But neverthelesslater she pop another 4 all grown up liao..hehehe..So I believe things in room still cannot be move anyhow leh.

Berlin, if your undies are those low waist one actually won't feel tight yet? Maybe u can try those type?

weoseek,
I try to buy those low waist ones but it kind of rolls up when I sit down. I get uncomfortable and keep adjusting it. I bought 2 undies from thyme maternity and it cost $29 for 2. Quite ex.

Hi girls how many months are you girls into liaoz. Should be around 2 months right? How come buying undies and bras liaoz? Is it necessary to buy now. Pls help me. 1st time mum don't know what to do. My current bra and undies seem alright though.

Berlin,

Actually those I wore is those backside have V-shape suitable for wearing pants when sit down..Pierre cardin one, the material is soft(i think half cotton/lynon?"..Very cheap..I got it during Robinsons warehouse sale 3 for $10 i think..Its really more comfortable than triumph one is cotton.

Harlow ladies,

So many postings since this morning..hrmm I missed out all the fun.

Moonbell
Hee hee! I same same like you and Weoseek. My pants also cannot zip up full anymore, so I asked my mom to add some buttons to widen them, that at least can last me till I can officially fit into a pair of maternity pairs.

Mothers En Vogue pricing for a top cost around S$75, but I must say their designs are quite nice, don't make the preggies look frumpy at all.
U gals can check out this website: www.mothersenvogue.com

Weoseek,
I also wanted to attend some of the parenting forum, my hubby too felt abit paiseh...cos' my tummy not big enough, he also hinted that it's better to attend when I get bigger

Talking about my mum, she will be doing the confinement for me. I heard current price for a confinement nanny is around S$1800..I rather give her the money and she does it for me since she lived so near me.

Joyful
According my MIL and my mum, preggies should stay away from shifting furnitures, folding clothes on the bed, sewing, nailing stuff on the wall and painting. I understand its abit old fashion but it is better to play safe then be sorry later, I belly kia-see one so I never do all these stuff, I ask my hubby to do except for the sewing, I passed to my mom for now.

Berlin
Like joyful & moonbell, I had bought a new bra. Other then that I never got any new undies yet. I still wear G string..dunno preggies can wear anot??

Any of you ladies plan to go for massages during your pregnancy? What about facials? U gals still going or stopped totally?

Straycats,

I went for facials.....Actually wanted to wait till 1st trimester over, but really cannot tahan..after 2 mths.At the end of facial, I didnt let the facial lady do shoulder massage..then she knew I'm pregnant liao..But when u go..maybe its better to tell in beginning of facial that you r pregnant..I pai seh..so didn't tell..

Weoseek
Same here.When I was just 6wks, I patang about telling too early so I kept quiet about it. During the session, the therapist used a machine to do cleansing, I asked her if it is safe for preggies, she asked me if I am pregnant, I said yes. Imagine the shocked she gave me when she suddenly switched off the machine and asked me why I did not tell her, I told her cos I am at early stage, she then said its not safe for preggies to do facials with machines as it will affect the BB. Wah lau..can you imagine the scare she gave me....throughout the whole day i kept checking and praying that my BB is ok...lucky now coming to 14 wks, my BB is ok

Weoseek ,
Did you buy any drawer from Ikea? Any suitable ones? I thot of going there to see what's available. Maybe can find out from you 1st...

Btw your aunty's story quite scary leh... and sad too, imagine the heart pain when bb is lost when about to be born.
So better to shift furniture after bb is born? I thot of moving a shelf out of my bedroom to make space for bb's bed. Maybe we'll move the shelf after I delivered & returned from hospital lor. Can right?

straycats,
Even no folding of clothes on the bed ah? Why huh? Aiya, I folded so many times already without knowing!! If folding is done on the chair, ie not bed, then ok right? ;-)

I think I'll go for massage at a later stage, when all the backaches & leg cramps start visiting me. Any recommendations for gd massages for preggies?

Anyone of you started exercising already?
I tried to cho-cho my hubby to go brisk walking with me in the evenings, but he said too tired. haiz...
Maybe go swimming, but will need to buy maternity swimwear liao.