(2005/12) Dec 05 mums-to-be

Hi Anges

I m seeing Dr Lawrence Ang from TMC, he is having his own clinic at Sun Plaza, i stayed at Sengkang but still went to see Dr Ang at Sun Plaza cos he is strongly recommended by alot of my friends...

Hi everybody... I am now at my 8 weeks++ i guess....my first baby... hee hee

I have lots and lots of questions, hoping all of you can assist me....

I feel paisei with male gynae leh...Sunplaza is near my house... just to check, how much is he charging for consultation onli???

Hi Agnes,

I am seeing Dr Teoh @ Mt E. He charges $60 for check up (including multi vits and folic acid). However, if blood work is required than it can be quite costly.

Hi Dec mum-to-be

I'm new in this thread.

Thanks Joyfulhands for the reply in Nov thread. I've decided on Mt A, cuz nearer. Visited RH last wk it is a v nice place.

Hi Yvonne & Jeslyn
I'm also seeing Dr Ho. First appt with him next wk. I'll be ard 11-12wks by then. My EDD is 8 Dec, first baby.

hi moonbell,
I chose RH because of its proximity to my working place & house too. Just in case I need to see gynae or near labour, RH is within reach. Visited Mt A before & find that it's a nice, peaceful environment.

I'm a first time mum-to-be too

Dear All
I consolidated our EDD. Some of the dates are really close, so we might get to see each other if same place. =)
joyfulhands- 3Dec RH
jeslyn- 7Dec MA
moonbell- 8Dec MA
Chris- 10Dec
Joanna- 11Dec
straycats- 11Dec
Yvonne- 14Dec MA
absolute- 18Dec
YL- 25Dec TMC
Agnes- 25Dec
Poohnie- 29Dec TMC

Just wondering if u all have such prob. I find my usual bras seems to be tighter nowadays. Any of u bought new bras?

hi YL
Me too! Mine became so tight and have to buy 1 cup size bigger and use bra extension ($2.90 for 2 fr Seiyu). The maternity bras fr Metro are really ugly with v broad shoulder straps, but good for support. A tip - buy bras with deep V at the centre front, these are not so tight and give more space.

my pants still ok. cos elastic n just bought before i know i'm pregnant.

some shorts are tight. wonder when i shld buy maternity wear. afraid buy too early will outgrow fast.

YL

you can buy the maternity wear that are underbelly so you won't outgrow so fast coz your belly will be the one that's growing the most. The other way is to buy a size looser in case your bum also puts on a bit of weight. If you buy bottoms that are over the belly, you can make sure you put the elastic strap to the tightest and make sure you can wear it comfortably now. Then you'll def have space for expansion. My maternity clothes lasted me thruout my pregnancy but I didn't gain that much weight at the end. Put on a total of 9kg.

how did u manage to grow nt much weight? I afraid i'll gain too much at the end of my pregnancy which i find is nt healthy.

YL,

like what absolut suggested, u can buy those maternity pants with elastic strap that can extend very big kind... that's what i wore... and the pants looks like just any other pants but lasted me throughout my pregnancy... I gained abt 10kg throughout...

there are some things we can do to not gain too much weight... that is to eat healthy food... not too much oily food...
Though I myself guilty of eating daily doses of ice creams and coke (I tell my hubby its my baby who wants haha). Hmm.. dun have to take double portion of food... just probably 1 slice of bread more is probably enough for u and your bb. Of course I feel genetics plays a part too.. some people just gain weight more easily... some not so easily but some people will find it more difficult to lose weight (me!).. etc

whatever it is a pregnant woman cant go on diet.. so maintain a balanced diet and dun eat excessively is probably the key. If you are gaining too much weight, your gynae will probably warn u abt it during your checkup...

if u planning to take milk.. I heard annum (dunno whether spell correctly) is fattening. For me, I dun like milk and find it fattening.. so I took daily calcium pills (my gynae prescribed) to make sure I have 1500mg calcium a day.

btw, I think I know your hubby... as in colleagues. cos I remember I was invited to your wedding previously...
Congrats to your pregnancy and do take care...

YL,

nope dun think you know me... I wasnt able to make it on your wedding day .. but saw your wedding album before... I think you look great...
I am on maternity leave now so probably your hubby should know who I am...

Hi YL, Weoseek & moonbell,

Mine has got bigger as well. But still can fit into my current bra...maybe another 2 weeks cannot liao.
How long can the bra extensions last?
Also, I heard Robinsons has quite nice maternity wear as well, incase you guys plan to do some shoppping.
Anyone planning to attend the Motherhood fair @ S'pore Expo? Its from 1 june till 5junne if I am correct.
BTW, did any of you find you bloat after meals? My tummy gets so bloated that I am so afraid to eat cos' it gets very uncomfortable.

Hi Straycats
I dun feel as bloated for this pregnancy but remember feeling that way for my 1st pregnancy. Very hungry but feel very bloated after eating a few mouthfuls. Also felt very tired... went to bed by 830 - 9pm. Now dun have this luxury coz still need to care for my daughter.

Didn't know Rbs has maternity wear. Will check it out.

May be interested to check out the motherhood fair. Not sure what to buy but think they sold nepia diapers at an offer price during the fair.

Moms-to-be
None of you seem to be complaining abt sore breasts. I got it really bad during my 1st preg and it got quite itchy too.

Hi Sunny
Just curious ... You haven't test on the pregnancy kit? Then how do you know you're preggie? Or you haven't gone to the gynae after testing +ve? I made an appt to see the gynae during the week when I discovered I was preggie. Just prefer to scan and make sure everything is fine and we can see the sac etc.

Hi, I am new here, my EDD is last week of Dec. Going to see my gynae next week and is now having problem fitting into my current clothes already. Need to buy some clothes by next week.

Bra-extension has 4 rows of hooks to adjust, about 1.5inches long, should last throughout pregnancy (unless chest bone also enlarged :p).

absolut, I have itchy nipples every time after bath, scratch till red red and always regret it later when it becomes sore and painful. Will ask gynea for some cream in next visit.

Must we have 1500mg of calcium at first tri? I take fresh milk enuf for about 1000mg. My gynea didn't give me calcium, only iron supplements leh

hi absolut
no lah. i haven't tested myself, though AF hasn't come. just wanna wait for a while. 'cos this month i was really stressed in my work. so, AF might be late.

hi straycats
It's a blessing if you feel bloated and can still eat! My tummy will get more bloated later in the day and the bloatedness makes me want to puke and burp, can't eat much at dinner...

Funny thing is, my tummy is significantly bigger at night then in the morning... anyone same as me??

actually just wondering like we all are around 8-10 weeks pregnant, are we really supposed to feel tummy getting bigger?
Some how i always hv the feeling I'm much bigger than before get pregnant leh.

Sore breast I had it too..but not till itchy..

I think a good guide line after testing +ve is 2 weeks after that..cos I went to gynae 5 days after testing +ve..cannot see anything, its somehow a waste of $. Some experience mums go even later, they just got folic acid from company doctor and waited till later times. But for first time mummy like us..really hard to control..in fact now, i feel like to see gynae every week to "see my baby" hehehe..

any of you got drink bu3 tang1 already?
Some ppl say if we didn't have enough bu3 while pregnant, later BB will be weak and tend to fall sick after born. A bit worry about this too.

Hi Weoseek
I am only about 7 weeks pregnant and my waist have already increased 2 inches, cann't fit into any of my pants already.

I am going to see my gynae only next week as any earlier you won't be able to hear any heartbeat. In the meantime, I just take folic acid and milk.

Hi Absolut,

I don't feel tired or have any m/s but I feel very bloated and it caused my appeptite to dip quite abit. When will the it go away? I will be at 12 weeks next week, I hope it goes away by then.

Moonbell, I am in the same boat at you. My tummy seems bigger at night then in the morning. Hee hee, I don't puke but I burp and fart alot

Sometimes so paiseh.

I have sore breast too but the pain is bearable. My gynae also never give me calcium pills leh, only folic & multi vits, he said these are more than enough.

moonbell,
Nice of u to compile our EDD dates, thanks!

absolut,
wow, u only put on 9kg during your previous pregnancy? Amazing, can share with us how u did it?
I've sore breasts & nipples too. Sometimes the skin around the breasts are also itchy. Read from somewhere that it's because the skin is being stretched & expanding. In fact, sore breasts is my first sign of pregnancy, even before I missed my period.

poohy,
I like ice cream too *yum yum*, but has since stopped eating it, as I heard preggies are not advised to take cold stuffs.
Also heard Anmum is fattening. My gynae says it's sufficient to drink HL milk in place of milk powder. So I follow her advice lor.

straycats,
Yes yes, I'm going to the Motherhood fair. Me too, I also felt bloated after meals. Later I realised it's due to the air inside my tummy. Usually will feel better if I burp or fart. Maybe due to slowed down digestion...

Weoseek,
I heard that after 1st trimester then start to bu3 & drink tonic soup. I'm a 1st time mum, so I listen to other people's advice lor, better to be on the safe side mah.

Hi Mummies to be....

I have sore breast too, but not itchy la...
My tummy bloats too everytime I finished my meals. But I hardly put on any weights since 4 weeks of pregnancy. Now I coming close to 9 weeks and only puts on 1kg....

Actually, my gynae advised me not to start bu3 till the 4 months. Like most of you, me oso 1st time mummy, so gotta listen to her la....But so far, my gynae only prescribe folic acid to me, and nothing esle... hence every morning, i will sure drink 1 glass of Annum.

Saw in other thread that Chinatown sells very cheap and nice maternity wear. Probably, can go check it out and make some comparison too.

Just to share... I had my 1st scan (7 wks) at the vagina last month, it is v clear, can see the tiny baby at one corner and even the blinking heart beat, soooo cute! (Why? I had brown spotting so need to check for any internal bleeding with the v.s. fortunately it turned out fine.) I think v.s. is for extra checks only.

I went to Modern Maternity at Amara Shopping Centre level 2. It's a small shop with quite nice maternity pants and tops for work. Tops starts fr $29, and skirts/pants fr $49/59. With v wide adjustable waist bands which can last now till full term. The materials are very soft n comfortable so I think I'm begining to like maternity clothes! I bought a 3/4 casual pants($29.90, clear stock item) with v shape waist band at the front. Most of them comes in v shape, space for growing tummy =>.

Oh ya, new stocks come in every 2 wks, and they usually only have a few pieces each design/size, according to the sales girl la.

I'll go to Chinatown too, see if any good bargains heehee...

Weoseek:
I was also told to start drinking the bu3 after the 1st trimester, its better for the baby.

Poppi:
I also did not put on much weight so far only 1kg.
Today I went for my scan and saw my baby, at 11wks measured 5cm. I am so happy that everything is going well. I cannot wait for the 1st trimester to end.

Moonbell:
Glad to hear that you and your baby are doing well. I still can fit into my current clothes, but am dying to see my tummy pop out, anyway, I shall go to Amara to take a look at the clothings.

Poppi:
Where at Chinatown sells maternity wear? Can tell me?

Joyfullhands:
I shall see you at the Motherhood Fair then! I will going as well

To all MTBs, have a good long weekend!

Most ppl said to drink tonic soup after 3 mths maybe cos that's when the bb is formed. If before that afraid the soup will be too much for the bb to take it.

My gynea said tummy wouldn't show till around 5th mth. Before that it's only air & fat in us.

Anyone knows what kind of tonic soup we can have? I going to have red dates & dang shen drink regularly. It'll help to 'bu qi' n bb will have rosy cheek in future.

So fast buy maternity clothing already? Does the maternity clothing also come in size? like S, M, L?

Btw, there is a pantang saying that we cannot get baby stuff too early..so bear that in mind when shop shop during motherhood fair ok.

I plan to do hospital tour on my own soon, I scared if hospital room condition not good, i dun dare to stay during delivery leh..Any of you have gone see see look look?

Hi all Dec MTBs,

I'm also a Dec MTB and this is my 1st pregnancy. EDD is same as Poohnie.
I haven't seen a gynae yet, still doing research on it to see which gynae is the best. So far, only Dr Ang is mentioned twice here. BTW, can anybody tell me what the gynae will do during your 1st visit ?

BTW, sore breasts is also my 1st symptom of pregnancy, thought it was because my menses were coming soon.

Same as some of you, I noticed I tend to burp alot now, felt more comfortable after that. I eat as per normal but will feel very bloated and uncomfortable after that. That's why my hubby don't "allow" me to eat too much. But sometimes I very "tam chiag"

BTW, is drinking chicken essence every morning consider taking tonics ??

Weoseek
Yes, maternity clothes have S,M,L sizes, only difference fr normal clothes is with wider waist area, so buy your usual size.

Weoseek & YL
I've visited RH (10.30am & 12pm on Sat) & MA (10am & 230pm on Sat). You can call the hospital for weekdays timing. RH is very new and nice! (a bit like hotel-like, I'd choose there if I live near it), and their 2-bedded rooms are bigger than MA. MA is not bad too, I feel at peace during the visit.

Hi Violetgem
1st visit usu involves scan, prescribe supplements and Q&A, and maybe plans to take blood test. Prepare your questions first to make your consultation worthwhile.

Moonbell,
RH is my dream place to give birth. I also prefer hospital bedroom to look like hotel. Anyone been to TMC? Is the bedroom also like hotel?? (Me pray hard, it looks like..hehehe)

I think BB stuff is better to buy around 6-8mth when pregnancy is very stable and confirmed.

btw, wat do you all do during weekends nowadays? Before preggie, I used to go shopping every week, but ever since preggie..I tend to stay at home and sleep..I felt very unhealthy but cannot help it leh..Really tired, and too bloated to shop comfortably.

What kind of exercise can we do now?

Weoseek
Have you chosen a gynae yet and your gynae delivers at RH? Some gynae don't. Btw, when is your EDD?

My normal pants n skirts get a bit tight in the evenings, so wear maternity pants is more comfortable for me. Heard wear too tight will cause varicose veins...

Read that walking and swimming, yoga is good, but most will feel too tired/weak to exercise in first tri, can wait till 2nd tri loh...