(2005/12) Dec 05 mums-to-be

hihi all Dec MTBs,

Wow, didn't come in for a few days and there are so many postings liao. This thread is getting more active.
Too bad, I don't have internet access at office.

Moonbell,

Thanks for the info. BTW, good luck to your driving test tomorrow. Don't be too gan cheong.

huh? 3 months cannot have sex ah ?? Don't know can tahan or not. hee....

To all who has done the NT scan,
Izzit the doc insert a needle-like in your belly button to test one ?? I heard those mothers above 35 yrs old must do this test and it's very painful and dangerous.

Weoseek,

Sometimes, I also have a feverish feeling. My hubby even asked me why my body feel so hot. But I very scared of cold now as compared to before pregnancy. My office aircon is 24 deg C but I also cannot tahan liao, I've to wear 2 cardi on top of my blouse. Thought pregnant lady very scared of hot temp??

BTW, I still haven't told my boss about my pregnancy yet. Thought of telling her after my visit to the gynae. Don't know what's her reactions. BTW, I only 3 months old in the co, that's why I feeling very scared to tell her cos she has already told me not to have bb so soon but accident happened....

Thanks for all the well wishes
Very touch :__) Will update you all tomorrow!

Straycats
I compared RH, MA & GH packages, and found that if it's normal birth, really not much diff... But heard Mt E is quite ex.

Violetgem
NT scan is similar to the normal tummy scan. The invasive "needle" test is called amniocentesis and is usu recommended for those above 35yrs or have calculated high risk. The test carries 1% risk of miscarriage.

As for supplements
I'm going into 2nd tri and now taking calcium, NeurogainBP Plus (for bb's brain & eyes developement), Sangobion (iron for blood). Gynae also stop the 5mg Folic Acid. (I noted Sangobion contains 1mg of FA as well.)

joyfulhands
I'm also trying to find out where can get cheaper Neurogain, cuz my package doesn't include supplements costs. My gynae charge Neurogain $29 and Sangobion $10. I found out NTUC Unity sells Sangobion at $8 only.

Violetgem,

I also havent tell boss..but somehow he knew it from colleage.

Not all bosses mind about new staff get preggie..maybe u can try tell at later times when the pregnancy is more obvious or after confirmation.

Your situation reminds me of my previous experience..Becos of wanting BB I gave up an job offer which gives better pay and more easy job..but stay with my current one. *sigh*...

moonbell,
my gynae didn't prescribe Sangobion leh. My package includes calcium etc supplements except Neurogain. I'm paying $29.90 for Neurogain now. Can let me know if you manage to find it at cheaper prices? Vice versa, I'll oso let you know if I find it first.

Btw, I just read from a magazine about Down Syndrome tests. From NT scan alone, there's 80% accuracy in detection. NT scan + blood test will increase the detection rates to 90%. And adding nasal bone (nose bone) measurement to NT scan & blood test will give 97% accuracy. I think the above tests are pretty gd & more imptly they are non-invasive. Amniocentesis' detection rate is 99.9% but is invasive & hence runs a risk of miscarriage.

I also think MT E is the most ex. 2-bedded in MT E can get you a single bed elsewhere.

Violetgem,
as for sexual intercourse, you may want to check with you gynae, he/she may advise according to your condition.

Hi Moonbell.

How did your driving test go? U passed with flying colors

I know Mt E is rather ex, but my gynae is there so no choice lor.

Aye, how come you got so many supplements? I also going to 2nd tri, my gynae only gave me calcium & multi vits, folic acid also stopped oredi.

YL
I am thinking of getting a fetal doopler to listen to my bb heartbeat too. But very ex leh. I know in the US the doopler can be rented during pregnancy...haiz tis is S'pore, everything also must pay

Hmm... that's weird, so far I have visited my gynae thrice and he has never performed any tests like what ya have mentioned above on me yet. Now I am already into 11-12 weeks liao... So far he only gives me Turinal, FA and Dayalets. Never even gave me any ultra sounds pics of my baby too... Why like that??
I'm going to this gynae cos my SIL was using him for her 2 kids, so the whole family thinks he is good. BTW, I will be delivering in East Shore! (^_^)

Oh, when I was doing my US scan during my 9th week, my foetus only measured 26mm, is that considered small? My gynae keeps telling me it is under-developed!

LKG
My gynea gave me the ultra scan pics everytime i visit her. Maybe u have to request from ur gynea. Maybe ur gynea will tell u what test to go for the next time. I saw from the brochure that the blood tests are to be done after 14 weeks. My gnea only told me to take folic acid, no other supplement. Maybe the gyneas will prescribe as needed.

Dear All
Thanks to God's blessings and all your well wishes, I passed my D test today! Yeepee!

Straycats
Must be bcuz I'm small in size, only 40.5kg, and looked rather pale, so gynae give me iron supplement and many other supplements haha... But I don't have multivit, so I eat fruits and drink milk to get the minerals/vit.

joyfulhands
You're right about the D.S screening tests. Nasal bone measurement and blood tests can also be done during 14th to 16th wks (the parameters for the blood test is different fr the 11th wk test).
Sure, will update you once I found cheaper Neurogain.

LKG
My bb is 2.2cm during 9th wk and 6cm at 11.5wk. My gynae said the size is normal leh. Think bb will start grow faster fr 2nd tri, just rem to eat healthy food. (But I still eat a bit titbits like potato chips, french fries :p)

LKG,

The standard size for each week is as follow from pregnancy center website:

8 weeks: 1.6cm
9 weeks: 2.3cm
10 weeks: 3.1cm
11 weeks: 4.1cm
12 weeks: 5.4cm

So your bb is doing quite ok..don't worry.

Moonbell,
Congrats on passing your driving test!

moonbell,
Just went to NTUC Unity pharmacy @Raffles City during lunch time. They sell Neurogain @$29. So not really cheaper. The hunt continues...

Congrats on passing the test! Your 1st time?

LKG,
@9 wks, my bb measures 2.26cm (same as moonbell).

But at 12 wks, it's 5.5cm, smaller than moonbell's, but is normal. Maybe I need to drink more milk & eat more nutritious food. Me too, I still eat junk food eg tibits etc. Sometimes feel a little bit guilty. hee..

side track a bit... for those of you who likes chee cheong fun, try the dim sum stall @Food Junction in Raffles City. It's yummy! :p Soft, smooth, delicious, hmm...

They've a few types eg prawn, char siew, mushroom etc & even durian.

Phew! I am so relieved now after all your comments, cos I really thought mine was under-developed... Yeah!!

Another problem for me during this pregnancy is that I experience very bad pain on my tailbone near my butt...
Having difficulty getting up my chair etc, maybe that's becos I have back injuries in the past so my spine is kinda crooked.
Even though I have placed cushion on my office chair, it doesn't seem to help...
Does anyone have such problems as well?

Same same. I've pain in the hip bone, first appeared on the right side, and later my left side. Talked to my gynae about it & she says it's not very common. It's due to the softening of the bones during pregnancy. The pain has slowly eased.

joyfulhands
I crave for chee cheongfun since a few weeks ago! I buy fr a market near my mum's place every Sun, but it's the traditional type one, ooh..I love the sauce and eat it steamy hot! haha...

LKG
You must take care of your back and spine, don't carry heavy things and don't stand for too long, try massage the pain away, but avoid medicated ointment, heard not good for bb. (Try rest in bed for a day and see if the next day gets better. Sufficient rest is important.)

Sometimes I wake up in the middle of night, feeling muscle cramp near my tail bone, then I'd have to sleep on my side, but after a while, cramp near the hip/hand and have to change side. I didn't have very good sleep for quite sometime already (dark rings appearing), always wake up a few times in the night, either muscle cramp or need to pee...

Re: Yakult/Vitagen
Anyone knows if we can take these? I forgot to ask my gynae...

Joyfulhands
I also never heard of NT scan leh. Is it something that has to be checked by 11-12 weeks coz my bb is in her 9th week and my next appt to see gynae is in her 13th week. Only heard of tripe T test which I've opted out of. Is the NT scan using the same scanning machine?

LKG
Who's your gynae? I'm seeing Dr Heng and also delivering at Eastshore. Is your foetus small? Mine is also abt 9 weeks and 2.5cm (abt same) and gynae said bb is healthy leh.

Fairymoss
My EDD just got adjusted again and currently the EDD is around Christmas eve and Christmas day. :p May give birth around the same time.

absolut and Fairymoss,

Me too..just visited gynae yesterday..he said I'm in Week 10 already...EDD also adjusted to 24 Dec. Previous visit 3 weeks ago, when I'm supposedly to be W7 but becos bb too small..being "demoted" to W6..Then I heard from my colleage if want bb to be bigger just eat more..finally this week i it grows back normal size liao..hehe..

Anyone know TMC 's hospital tour time? Last night dreamt the hospital condition very very scary..must make sure I visit them soon.

joyfulhands
Almost forgot... It's my 2nd attempt, as private candidate. 1st test was 2 months ago, was too nervous and drove too fast (Tester commented dangerous driving, haha...)

moonbell,
yes, I like the traditional type one, not those sold at coffee shops, not so nice. In fact I'm still thinking about the chee cheong fun that I ate yesterday leh :p I think I'm going back for more, hahaa...

Passed your driving test on 2nd try... wah, you're gd huh. Is your pte instructor gd?

absolut,
I think 13th wk can still do NT scan if you opt in. It's just to get peace of mind that bb is unlikely to have DS. Btw moonbell's link to KK website is v informative.
Oh yes, my test also detects for trisomy, another chromosome disorder, and my risk is 1:13,000. Felt so good after the results are out

Moonbell,

Congrats on passing yr driving test.

I have tried Vitagen and so far okay leh.... I ask my mum and she says should be okay.

BTW, anyone experiences minor but frequent cramps at the lower abdomen. I am experiencing it quite frequently leh....any advise?

Moonbell,

Congrats to you!
So, how did you celebrate yesterday ?? Yours is a manual driving right ?

BTW, read from the Gordon Lim website that pregnant mothers should not eat chips and french fries leh cos it said they contain cancer causing chemical. But I still ate a bit yesterday.

Weoseek,

It's a pity though that you have to give up a better offer. But never mind lah, wait till you delivered, then look again lor...

BTW, if bb really too small, can just simply demote the weeks ah ??

nice that u passed, moon.
i passed only on 3rd attempt. 1st two as CDC student. 3rd one as private. my driving still not v good. today my bf sat in my car.he said like sitting in boat-always jerk from left to right,left to right

Moonbell
Congrats on passing your D test

BTW, any of the moms still experience boob soreness? I thought most of the symtpons will disappear when we hit the 2nd tri??? My boobs still very sore leh

Violetgem,

Sometimes if have long cycle days..then can demote the weeks gua..that's only in the very beginning of scan ..when we don't know when the baby is conceive. Now onwards if bb undersize, I think we will be in big headache liao..hehehe..

Oh yeah, I went to TMC hospital visit finally..Like their deluxe room very much, really like a hotel...but its approx $120 more ex than single bedded room..Not too bad a visit, at least now understand the environment I'll be going thru during delivery..

A bit pai seh, cos other couples who join the tour all are can see tummy already.Mine can't see yet.Me always the most kiasu one..hehehe...

Moonbell,

I dun think we will be so lucky to have Xmas baby..cos heard that usually will deliver at least 2 weeks earlier especially for 1st child.

I'm hoping mine will fall on my wedding anniversary which is also my birthday actually..that will be around 3 weeks earlier..hehehe..Then my hubby can save lots of $ on gift and celebrates all at 1 time.hehe..

Violetgem
Ya I took manual car test, my husband v happy we went for pizza and pasta at pastamania (a bit unhealthy lah, but once in a while mah.)

It's right, pregnant mums shouldn't eat fried food, the oil is not healthy for us n baby. Aiya, we should be more discipline in our diet hahaha...

Weoseek
My relative one is 5 days earlier, I heard it could be later also. If give birth earlier than EDD, then mine might even be a Nov baby...

Straycats
I read that breast continues to grow in 2nd tri, although usu experience less soreness, but some will still feel sore. Is your bra too tight? too tight not good leh... I have upgraded from B to C cup since my 7wk heehee...

HydrogenRainbow
Me too. I don't think I'm a safe driver though I've passed haha...

poppi
Sometimes I can feel some muscle pull in lower abdomen. I read that occassional pain is normal cuz our ligaments are stretching to accomodate the growing placenta. If it's persistant severe pain, then should see gynae immediately.

joyfulhands
my pte instructor is a middle age auntie :p She has a reputation for 'so far all students will pass at most 2nd attempt'. But she don't speak English, only Chinese. She my first and only instructor, couldn't compare, but I think she's not bad. Do you intend to take driving lessons now?

my dad super scared of me at the beginning when i first started driving the family car. up till now he still dun lemme drive alone, although i passed almost 9mth ago, and started drivign 6 mths ago sicne we collected the car in dec..
but u preggie, so must be careeful..i still xiao mei mei..not even married, so can luan lai a bit..hehe

if ur hubby drives, i think it is better for him to sit beside u every night while u practice driving.actual driving is a bit diff fr being a learner. i guess this helps to boost confidence, and he can correct ur mistakes. for me from what i heard fr my dad and bf my way of holdin the steering wheel is wrong. so..yea.i dunno la..i have been holding it lidat since i was learning...old habits are hard to change

Weoseek,

OIC. So, have you sign up with TMC already ? Heard from my friend that TMC has recently increased it's price after Zoe Tay delivered there...

Moonbell,

All along I thought that pregnant ladies can eat whatever they want, it's only after deliver, then this cannot eat, that cannot eat. But my dad told me not to eat too "liang" food and don't take cold drinks. But he also told me that if pregnant ladies got cravings, must go and eat that food, if not, the bb come out will always drool... ha ha... don't know true or not. But I've told my hubby this and so whenever I told him I want to eat this or that, he will bring me to eat. hee....

hi moonbell...
congratz to u for passing ur driving test...
i also passed mine during my 2nd attempt...

by the way

moonbell: Yvonne, Jeslyn & anyone under Dr Ho at MA

Have you done the blood tests and NT scan? I'm scheduled to do blood tests on my 14th wk. The nurse mentioned that after the blood tests results, Dr Ho will determine whether need further screening. I wonder if the Nuchal?? Fold scan is part of NT scan. Anyone have any idea?

this is my 2nd pregnancy...1st pregnancy was delivered by dr ho also...last year july..
i went back to him because i find that he's quite nice doctor...
every visit to him will require one NT scan...
cost about $50 if im not wrong...
i just went to checkup on 26/5/05, wic was one day after u went...
so moonbell, when is ur next appt?
mine will be on the 20th june...
by the way, last time i remember going for the blood test on the 1st level, they need 5 tubes of blood leh....
need to test on sooooo many things...
my hubby also require to take for the blood test..
but this time, only i need to take for the blood test, he don need to...coz nurse said last year he just took the blood test, no need to take again..
the package start only on the 4th month of the pregnancy...
so u do take care ok...

moonbell...i will scan my scanning pics n post it online for u to see ok?

absolut, so how are u feeling now?

Absolut, My gynae is someone else, and last week I went to him and so sad, gana "swan" by him, said I less than 3 months, but wore clothes till I look like 5-6 months, then complained to my hubby that I am overweight and ask him to starve me during confinement!!! So horrible, right?
When I told him of my back problem, he didn't feel it was anything serious, no check-up, nothing, he simply brushed it off by saying, "It is your bad posture!!!" What's worse, my hubby also believes in him instead of me!!! How maddening!
But since my SIL used this doc for her 2 kids, all of them think he is good, so I dun think I can change my gynae, sigh! Imagine I have to pay and suffer all his criticism...

moonbell,

U may be right, maybe my current bra is too tight.I am a A cup
..I think I may have to increase my cup size to B liao.. BTW, I heard pasta and pizza are not considered as junk food. So, a little bit of indulgence for a celebration is good

LKG
This gynae you mentioned is very mean! He should not say things like that..it will upset the mom and in return affect the baby

Just abit of information regarding moms experiencing bad problems. My SIL suffers from Scoliosis (curvature of the spine/ S spine), during her 1st & 2nd tri, she did not experience any pain and was happily doing her stuff. However, at her 3rd tri. she suffers from very bad back problems and walks with an uneven hips! Now, she cannot walk for long and she needs to get her spine realign back after pregnancy, otherwise she will have uneven hips permanently
So, if any of you moms have back pain please do tell your gynae or visit a chiropractic to ease the pain, cos' if the problem prolongs, it can be a permanent fixture even after your delivery.

moonbell,
Haven't decided whether to take driving lessons during 2nd trimester or during maternity leave. Was thinking it maybe not convenient to take the driving test during 3rd trimester when tummy is bulging out. Still thinking... may go for pte instructor.

Hmm... I like the reason that if preggie mummy don't satisfy their cravings, bb will drool when born... I will tell that to my hubby, and I've a craving for Ikea chicken wings. kekeke

Straycats
I had boobs soreness and itch thruout my 1st pregnancy but it wasn't as sore as in my 1st trimester.

Weoseek
Not true that first pregnancy always deliver 2 weeks earlier. Depends on you and bb. My first bb was born exactly on 1st EDD date given. So there's still hope that your little one may be a xmas bb. :p

Violetgem
Your daddy so funny. Is that why my first bb is a drooler?? hee hee. Maybe I should succumb to all my cravings then.

Jeslyn
I'm ok. Just down with flu bug again and feeling a bit pukey for the past week. Haven't taken all the folic acid, taurine and thyroid medication for the past week coz feeling so pukey. Think if I take them, I'll really throw up.

LKG
I'll change gynae if I were you. So what if you sis-in-law thinks he's good. As long as you're not comfortable with him, dun think you should pay for his services. Anyway, it's most impt that you're comfortable with your gynae since he's gonna be 'looking after' your whole pregnancy including the delivery. Won't trust someone like that to deliver my bb and plus he doesn't even give me peace of mind.

My gynae also scolded me for putting on weight during one visit in my earlier pregnancy coz put on 2 kg in 1 month. Only allowed me to eat fish soup and yong tau foo but I know she was concerned and she said it in a joking manner so I wasn't offended.

Moonbell
Thanks for the info. Looks like it's a normal scan but just inspecting on the nuchal transluency and nasal bone. Will ask gynae during the next visit. Thanks!

Violetgem,
Havent book TMC yet..gynae actually also haven't take up the package. Becos my gynae always the pregnancy is only 80% confirmed after the NT scan, 85% confirmed after the blood test..etc...So think he won't let me book the hospital till very late..

I've also heard about the baby drool thingee..My colleage who is around 9 mths pregnant now asked me how come I don't need to take tea break. She said as long as feel hungry must eat, and cannot try to control ourselves..if not next time baby drools a lot. The 2nd time I heard about it was mentioned by my grandma..what ever we craft..must try to fulfil..

Hmmm....think i forgot to double remind my hubby..He always ignore my request leh..hehe..

absolut,

Can you describe gynae's role during delivery since you have some experience from your 1st bb? Will he only be around when final stages of push baby and hop the bb?

My gynae's biz like very good plus his clinic is not in the hospital..so I've concerned how he can cope with so many delivery and emergency case. So wanna know more about delivery day.

I was really upset over him lor... But sigh! My hubby refused to lisiten to me leh! Actually my SIL did warn me abt this doc's attitude, and I thought I won't take it to heart but then, he seems to treat me like that each time lor!
2 weeks ago, I had sudden bleeding and some huge blood clots, so we went to see him and he said that the baby was ok and he gave a jab and 1 week MC. So when I went back for a review last Saturday, I told him I still see brown blood clot in my urine, he just gave me a puzzled look and did a US scan. Then from the scan, he said there was blood lining in the womb together with my foetus but he said it is ok, there's nothing to worry, but it is unusual for such things to happen. And he never tell me what I should do, so how not to worry.... Sigh!
I didn't wanna upset my relationship with my MIL and SIL and cause my hubby to be sandwiched in between. So all I can do is not to think too hard and pray that my 1st trimester will pass by smoothly w/o any hitches!!!
Btw, my gynae said no need to apply stretch mark cream till you are 5 month preggie, is it true? Cos I already feel some itch on my tummy liao. Any recommendations on which brand to use??

You poor thing... He's not the only 'good' gynae in Sg right? Why pay him & ended up feeling upset over his hurting remarks? Besides him, there will be other gd gynaes who can make you feel comfortable & assuring. Maybe can get some recommendations from trusted friends.

Let your SIL know that his attitude is bad & that's the reason why you wanna change. You still have 6 months ahead to bear with him leh! If I were you, I would have 'fired' him liao.

Weoseek

I went to the hospital abt 4am and gynae turned up at abt 830am to check on my progress and I think she asked the nurses to put inducement drug in my drip to speed up process coz I had no pain til 9am (half hour after gynae came by). Gynae usu doesn't appear again til you're fully dilated and it's time to push. Hope your gynae is nice and appears on time. Know of some gynaes who dun turn up even when some pple are ready to rush and the nurses have to ask them to avoid pushing. So sick!

After delivery, she came by the next 2 days to check on my stitches and went back to her 2 weeks after delivery for checkup.

LKG
Abt the stretch mark cream, I'm using 2 kinds. One is Galenic stretch mark cream & the other is Clarins body treatment tonic oil for stretch mark. Bought Galenic cos recommended by my hubby's colleague, bought Clarins cos heard it's very good. But find the price ex, shopping centre is selling it at $78, if u manage to get it from airport, it's $57.

Galenic is cheaper, it's $46.35 from John little.

Anyone knows if our bust will grow bigger during 2nd trimester? I'm thinking of buying a bra, but don't know if I shld buy now or few weeks later.

For those who has bought new bras, do u buy bigger cup than u now need in case u grow bigger later?

absolut

I hope you are feeling better now. Do take care cos' I heard preggies tend to fall sick easily.

LKG
I totally agree with Joyfulhands & absolut. You should make a firm stand on your gynae. You can explain to your MIL, SIL & hubby that u don't feel comfortable with him then to put up with his attitude and remarks. Otherwise you will be miserable for the next 6mths!

I also am keen to know if anyone had brought new bras since becoming pregnant? Does the boobs stop growing at 2nd tri or it will continue to ballon till delivery???

I have already increased by 1 cup size so got no choice but to buy new undies... Now I feel cotton bras and panties are the most comforting for me, & I think I need to buy bra extensions soon cos I am growing out in terms of width soon!!!
Since I am rather busty before preggie, now it is like (@_@;) huge melons!!! Yikes!

Jeslyn
My NT scan during 11.5wk cost $70. I'm taking blood tests on my 14th wk as well, on 14/6/05, no need to see gynae, so save consultation fees heehee... Then, my next gynae visit is 5wks later on 29/6/05 which is my 16wk. The nurse calculated for me one, said I can choose to come back 4wks later also, but need to pay per visit consultation cuz package only starts on 16wk.

Violetgem
First time heard of the drooling baby thingy... if mummy always drool, baby might"inherit" it hor... but I'm very paranoid leh, wanted to eat, but always scared high cholestrol, fat, sodium, preservatives etc.

absolut
Take care & get well soon!

YL, LKG
I'm using "Percutalfa" stretch mark cream, $34/200ml tube, recommended by my gynae. Don't know good or not. Anyway, I have existing stretch marks on my butts even before pregnancy...

YL straycats LKG
I think breasts will continue to grow leh. I only bought 3 new bras for now, and got the cheaper ones fr Metro, in case after a few months need to get bigger ones again.

Wow, LKG, I think you might make some ppl envy and drool... :p I like my bigger boobs, look more sexy in spagetti straps tops hehee...But I found myself hunch a bit, maybe body haven't get used to the new "weights" haha...

joyfulhands
Ikea chicken wings?? I only know Ikea hotdogs leh, is it from the hotdog counter as well?

Heard that 3rd trimester could be tiring, and with bigger tummy, it won't be comfortable with the seat belt on, and for safety reasons, maybe you should wait after birth.

LKG
Ya, cotton panties are better than the nylon or synthetic ones, allow more air flow and helps prevent vaginal infection.

LKG
I know what you mean abt big boobs. Was so happy when my boobs recently reduced in size coz slowed down on bf. Just started wearing all my old bras before preggie and now must prepare to wear my big bras again. Hate the big boobs also coz it looks really obscene and I can't fit into normal clothes esp the first few months after delivery just coz of the boobs. Had to wear nursing clothes or big tees.

moonbell
Think joyfulhands may be referring to the cafe on the 2nd floor. Haven't tried it but noticed many pple ordered the wings.