(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

patsy, wah...very wasteful hor? i remembered throwing 1 full bottle of milk because of bleeding. my heart bled!!! cannot imagine throwing 3 bags!!!! i'll faint...

3rascals, Nan HA series is good for babies who are allergy prone. you can consider this...

3rascals, Tammi also refuses to take the ABC pasta - i've tried giving her twice but both times she rejected, tried to vomit the pasta out once i feed to her and i thought perhaps it's the ingredients I had cooked it with - tomato, tohfu, cauliflower, peas, mince pork.. but turns out when i put the same ingredients into porridge she takes them all v well..

Imagined that day when i took her out, all i brought was her pasta dinner n she didn't want! I was all the way in the east and had to rush back home cos' i was afraid she would be crying for food! stressful!

Sneaky - hope u are recovering well.. Stomach Flu is a pain, i get it quite often.. did u take the lacteol sachets? suppose to contain the good bacteria to counter the bad ones.. it's easy to spread.. just sleep away , you'll get better soon. DO you give Samuel any infant drops? i give Tammi every day 1ml.. vitamins. Also i do think there's some truth abt not using aircon.. my hse has NO aircon and we use only fan...

Sneaky,

do take care and get well soon!

Dunno if its the bad weather lately, suddenly so hot then rain... but everyone around me, colleagues, sil, Kenshin, neice, mil, and me all like coming down with flu. its terrible.

so mummies, do take care!

pammie
maybe some babies just dont like the taste of the ABC pasta.

patsy
I called twinkleballoons just now, the mobile sounds like in overseas, so I just hang up. Will try again end of week, will let you know.

kris: hello!
how are your 2 babies?
where can i buy crayola?

sneaky: oh no! does samuel take the electrolyte? we tried to feed zoe that and she refused! i agree with patsy.. let samuel stay overnight with your mum.. at least until he gets well..

yipee ya ya:eek:h.. k

re: breastfeeding.. sigh.. i also don't know when to stop.. planned to stop when zoe turns 1 year but whenever she falls sick and will only drink breastmilk, i think i should just continue for as long as i have milk..
and now hubby also told me he prefers me to work only just 1 day a week.. if i don't work then can also breastfeed longer..
was also reading the attachment parenting book which is pro-breastfeeding..
last night was talking to hubby about this.. he says i use my head to think too much.. but to follow what my heart says.. and i'm a head over heart person.. heart of course says to breastfeed for as long as possible until zoe self weans lor..

re: FM: nan HA is good for allergy prone babies and can be fed up to 3 years..
i've tried nan, similac and friso.. personally, nan tastes the most similar to my BM..

pammie & mrstan, thank you. i've recovered. it's really a painful experience. no appetite nor energy...so scary!!

and yes, all mummies, please take care...mummies cannot afford to fall sick hor...

fushiastar, yes, he's taking eletrolyte...no worries...at first he didn't want but after that, he gobbled down like he's been deprived of water...i think he's getting better now. i can't bear to let him stay overnight at my mum's plc. i think i'll just go back home with him when the 2 kids have gone back to their room (after 9pm)...

i have a question.. zoe's been super clingy and throws tantrums (will yell and if she doesn't get what she wants will burst into tears and if still ignored will pull her hair and ears)..

clingy as in at home as long as she can see me, she can play by herself, but when i need to cook, i put her in the play yard and go to the kitchen to cook.. she can see me from the play yard but will still cry..
when we go out, there is no way i can put her in her pram, , she will cry and if i don't take her out, pull her hair and ears.. i have to carry her in a sling.. baby carrier also cannot.. also cannot put her down anywhere when we are out or she will yell, cry and pull hair/ears..
when i drive there's no choice, she sits in the carseat by herself and will cry the whole car ride so i also try not to go out unless i absolutely have to.. at the end, i see scratches on her scalp, whole face is red, tear stained..sigh..

i don't really know what to do.. it only started to happen a few days ago.. when there is no choice like i have to cook, she just cries in the play yard.. or when i drive, then she cries in the car seat.. but i wonder what i should do when there is a choice, for eg, should i force her to sit in the pram? i really cannot bear to have her cry and when she starts to hurt herself by pulling her hair/ears i will go pick her up..

should i always just be carrying and picking her up if i can? will i be spoiling her? or should i try to get her to get used to like sitting in the pram and to be put down to play when we are out? i really don't want to spoil her but i also don't want her to be insecure or physically injure herself..any comments?

fushiastar
Zoe could be going through the stage of separation anxiety whereby the worst time will be before the 1st birthday., this is according to my Supernannny "textbook"
It also says to accept it as it's a stage & it will pass. One way is to keep chatting to the baby to let her know u r still ard if you need to leave the room quickly for a short while.

Kaiser also will wanna cry/follow when I want to leave the room but as long as he has company he's quite OK. Maybe Zoe has grown very attached to you since she spends most of her time with you alone. So since this stage will pass eventually, I think if possible try to accede to her whims, dun think you are spoiling her, you are most likely teaching her that she can trust & depend on you. Just my 2 cents worth.

fushiastar,

grace is also very clingy when she sees me. at night, she will only want me to carry and will only want me to pat her to sleep. in the middle of the night, she will stand in her cot and make noise for me to carry her. as she is also not in the confined area, she will crawl everywhere to look for me....

what you go through is normal and i am sure most mums here are experiencing it. just endure...

corole, you got mail.

fushiastar,
yongshan is also like that. But i quite lucky that im the only caregiver. if she did see me she will look for his grandma.
Dun worry,give her some time to adjust.

Fushiastar: according to this book i've read.. can't remember which one, you should try playing peek a boo with her often, so she will realize that even if you disappear, you will come back. I've done this with Xaby, leave her in her play yard, hide behind the wall, and play peek a boo with her for a while.. then i go and do what i have to do. She'll be content playing alone for a while until she realizes i've not come back and will yell for attention. When I go back to her, I always make sure i say "boo" so she thinks we're still playing. kids this age don't have concept of time anyway so she won't know how long you've actually been away.

Sneaky, really wasteful! put mask instead last night.

I feel so naughty!! Saw this really cute purse in Saigon just before checking out, bought it and then here in bangkok bought 2 more!! HB says I've just spent away Xaby's milk money ;)

patsy, you either put mask or add into your bath...shiok manz...haha...just buy what you want lah...doesn't mean you don't buy these purses, you'll have extra milk powder money, right?

yipee ya ya, sweetie, snow and patsy : thx
i have the "ask supernanny"qa book too.. she still cries even if she can see me and hear my voice.. sigh.. the peek-a-boo game think is in super nanny.. also tried playing that but doesn't work also.. guess you are all right.. it's a stage and i'll just have to go through it with zoe.. just cannot bear to see her cry like that..

by the way.. do check out the BP thread, there's one for personalised name cds.. i think it's a really great idea, incorporates the chld's name into the songs.. getting 2 for zoe..

fuschiastar: You can buy crayola at most major departmental stores! I know for sure Toys R Us and Tangs top level has it.

I've already weaned Ember off bm though I still need to pump every 3-4 days. I let her sleep with my maid for about 2 weeks and now she doesn't crave for my boobs anymore.
I do feel a little sad, but for my case it is one of no choice.
Until now Ember still sleeps with my maid and hopefully by next week she can return to my room. But then again, I'm enjoying good sleep without Ember at nite! haha..

Fushiastar: saw that but they didn't have Xaby, so can't get it.

BTW, Xaby now is starting to pull her hair when she's sleepy, like pull until hair comes out, then the silly girl will stare at her hand with the hair. If she can't pull her hair, she'll start pulling mine! Is this normal?

patsy
I tried printing the invites last night. Still got lotsa of alignment problems to improve on. How's your invites getting on, do you DIY printing?

My hb's family coming into town for the birthday party too. Dunno where to let them stay - I have only one spare room
Where is cheap & good?

Yippee: hehehe.. will be emailing the invites, coz i created a powerpoint presentation as invites

what area are you looking at? have booked a few rooms at the hyatt at scott rd for the folks coming into town but may have spares if you're interested. Otherwise you could consider service apts if they're not really fussy about location (dad has a weak knee so he prefers orchard rd area so he can go back easily if his knees start to hurt). The service apt. in Killeny Rd is quite good, the rooms are very spacious and it's clean.

Patsy, my baby likes to touch my shirt when she's almost sleeping. If I run away, she will open her eyes. Sometimes I give her another shirt to touch... or she will be touching her own shirt (using index finger and thumb).....

me registered for the Shichida preview.
it's 4pm this sunday. for those interested, must call them to register.

patsy,
not sure if u had chance to chk with GUG on the trial class b4 travelling?

I started toothbrush.. but no toothpaste. Bought Pigeon toothbrush.
Baby likes to brush teeth... she has 6-7 teeth already.

<font face="calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">flo</font>,

I've started Janelle on toothpaste... she super luv e toothpaste. Will automatically grab my finger to her mouth. Will b buying her a toothbrush soon</font>

thanks to those who responded

mine only got 2 lower teeth.. tat's y haven't started brushing yet. think she will enjoy tasting the toothpaste or chewing the toothbrush.. hahaha...

but must clean their tongue or not huh?
esp since they started on solids...

flo, i started Samuel on toothbrush &amp; toothpaste since he was 6 mths old...he brushes his teeth every time he showers...

Yippee: not sure but i think it's about $135 per night.

Ruff: they have funny habits lah... when Xaby was younger she would count her fingers before she slept...

Flo: i called them but they said they have to wait till the session ends in October to be able to decide when to give us a slot.. will follow up again.

Need advice girls.... HB today took Xaby to KKH to see a cardiologist because he thinks we should avail of the subsidies given to Singaporeans instead of paying through the nose for private doctors. Am basically ok with that except that this new cardiologist (younger than her current one in Gleneagles) suddenly prescribed Xaby to take aspirin to thin out her blood, which the older doctor never did. Am really not sure if I should agree for her to ingest something coz the older doctor has cared for her so well (knock on wood) the past almost 1 year. This younger doctors says tho that the practise of giving babies with congenital heart problems has only started in the last 5 years and the older doctor may not have kept up with the trends. Should I or shouldn't I? Also, he wants to do an angiogram (also scheduled by the older doctor) on the 25th... which is her birthday!!!! I'm very stressed and mad at HB now coz he went ahead and brought her to KKH without waiting for me....

re: baby toothbrushing..
i'm in this line and this is what i was taught..
baby without teeth: just use washcloth wrap around finger w cool boiled water and clean gum and tongue
baby with some baby teeth but not all: can still use same method as above or finger toothbrush. no need toothpaste.
baby w full set of baby teeth 20 in total: use children's toothbrush. no need tooth paste. toothpaste intro only when child has learned to spit. (but personally i would intro toothpaste at this stage but without fluoride)
at age 3: parents to floss teeth for child

that being said i think it's never too early to intro the idea of toothbrushing.. although i clean zoe's teeth for her, i also give her a toothbrush and we have family brushing time where hubby andi brush our teeth w zoe watching and holding her own toothbrush that she stuffs in her mouth when she sees us do so..

Patsy,

If I were you, I would bring xbaby down to see the older one for second opinion and will not give aspirin at this point of time.

Hi Patsy
actually I dont know a lot about heart problems but my dad does see a cardiologist (Dr Low Lip Pin) for as long as 20 years todate to keep his BP in control. He's has always been feeling thankful that he has found a good cargiologist to watch over his medical condition all these years. Frankly I dont think I can give much advice re whether or not to follow the KKH cardiologist's prescription for child aspiin in Xaby's case. Generally I think it's better to carry on with the same doctor as he has been with Xaby since she's a newborn &amp; most importantly you said that he has been doing a great job.

Of course, I fully agree with you that we should make use of govt subsidies. Why not? It's our entitlement as Singapore citizens &amp; we pay taxes too. Maybe, when you are more comfortable with Xaby's medical condition, then transfer to KKH. Then you may feel more confident that a new cardiologist can manage her condition.

Hi Patsy

I am new to this thread and I just read that your Xaby has congenital heart disease and is seeing Dr William Yip? My baby has several heart problems and is an Oct05 baby, just 13 days older than Xaby. I'm not sure if I'm being conservative but I don't think it's a good idea to take aspirin since Xaby is doing alright. Dr William Yip is from Singapore Baby and Child right? I thought I remember seeing his name before as my son is seeing Dr Chan Kit Yee from the same group (@ Mt A). By the grace of God, my kid, Joshua, has been doing fine and doesn't need medication and I wish he would never need to take any (altho doctors have mentioned his heart problems are serious).

I can fully understand what you're going through with Xaby and even tho Joshua didn't need any surgery (my heart aches for both you and Xaby), I cried my eyes out for 3 weeks after Joshua was diagnosed with his heart problems when he was 3 days old. In fact I havent read this thread in a long long time and just chanced upon it again as Im on leave. I never participated in this thread because I feel I cannot keep it up but just wanted to let you know how I feel after I read about Xaby. Just want to let you know I understand how heart wrenching it is to see your kid suffering because the kid is so innocent and I constantly pray that my kid will never need to suffer for his hear condition, if so God wills.

Sorry to digress but even thought I think there may be no issue with taking medication (whatever newer trend the KKH doctor is saying), I personally would try not to give aspirin because thinning out the blood doesn't seem a good idea. Would this have any repercussion on Xaby's appetite? Since she's coping fine now, is there really a need to rock the boat? Sure if its good to make use of the govt subsidies since the hospital expenses are very expensive, and even more important that Xaby receives the right attention. If Dr Yip has been giving good care to Xaby I'm just wondering if it's good idea to go to KKH and as you say this KKH doctor is someone younger (so could be more inexperienced??).

Simply my 1 cent worth. :)

Hi sweetie, yippee and lilian, thanks for the reply, and thanks for having the same opinion as I do. But it seems I cannot change HB's mind about this now.... specially because his GP friend told him he would recommend Dr. Tan rather than Dr. Yip coz Dr. Tan is more up to date with all the newer trends. It's apparently not even open for discussion! Our compromise would be for us to go see Dr. Tan at KKH for cardio issues and then Dr. Yip for regular check ups, so at least Dr.Yip will still be able to check on Xaby. I hope this works.

Re the aspirin, we were told before she may need the aspirin to prevent blood clotting coz a clot may go to the brain and cuse a stroke. But of course there are possible side effects like Reye's Syndrome. I really don't know if I should go ahead and give her the aspirin....

What I really hate is that her planned angiogram is scheduled on the 25th --- her birthday!!! We've decided to go ahead with her party so please pray that she will be ok on the 29th!

Hi Patsy,

Dont worry too much, xbaby will be alright...

xbaby has the same birthday as grace. we are celebrating hers on 23rd.

grace was down with virus fever since monday. recovered yesterday... now has some rash on her body which PD says its the side effect but the rash will soon go away... it has been a tiring week for me...

i am already so worried when grace has fever... definitely can understand you and lilian feeling abt your baby's heart condition...

just do wat we can and pray for their well being... nothing matters more than they being healthy and playful...

Patsy,
yupz seeing 2 cardiologists concurrently sounds OK, just gotta be careful if medication is prescribed from both sides. Guess better not let them know that you guys are seeing another doctor/comparing notes.

We for sure will pray for Xaby, for good health &amp; be a happy baby always.