(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Thanks Sweetie and Yipee... we've actually informed both doctors of our decision and they said it's ok and understandable. I think it's also better coz it wouldn't have been nice if they found out from somewhere else....

I've managed to convince my boss I am needed in Singapore tonight (Global quality director of one of our major customers is here) so I've come back from my trip 1 day early!!! Was so happy to see Xaby... she's grown in the last 4 days i've been away!

ps Sweetie... it's XABY not XBABY

Oops! is xaby her real name? very unique!

any mummies know what brand or where to get smaller and lighter training cup with spout?

i got the mag mag one but think abit too big and brennan is biting the spout instead of drinking the water. he will push away when i try to introduce again.

wonder if there's a lighter training cup available. saw tollyjoy one but dont think the spout is soft one like Mag Mag.

Any mummies got recommendation?

I used to use the Avent Magic Cup... Now using the Pigeon one with Straw. She's drinking happily from the straw.
Other brands, sometimes you have have the problem of leakage.

Hi SSL & ruff
I used to have Avent magic cups too (2 diff sizes) but Kaiser doesnt like them. Like many mommies said too difficult to suck. So I bot Pigeon Mag Mag (after reading many gd reveiws of it in the forum) - at first he also doesnt want it & he too keep biting the rubber sprout, but we continue to let him have it he is now drinkly very well with it. MAybe give Brennan a little more time to adapt to it lor.

<font color="ff0000">i see u all talking abt the mag mag cups.. i wanna shake my head when my Ash uses it.. she using the straw one now and she always after enough of her drinking, she wil suck the water out and den spit it all out like waterfall.. *faint* den all clothes wet den change.. sianz.. first few times see her do it, so farnie den laughed den now see her do it.. i feel like strangling myself.. wahhahaha</font>

Yippee

ya probably give him more time and of course more training. do u girls sterilise the mag mag cup and accessory? if u use a couple of times daily, do u sterilise them after each use?

Fun,

dont tink Brennan knows how to suck from straw. maybe will let him try the sprout first then introduce the straw. i didnt managed to get the set so have to buy the straw part separately. probably wait for the JL sale

Teething

Brennan lower teeth is coming out very slowly. seem to have stop and only tiny bit came out. wonder if this is normal

SSL
yupz, we sterilise the mag mag at night ie not after every use. What you can do is to use hot water to rinse the sprout to get rid of saliva.

Re teeth, Kaiser's 2 upper front teeth got gaps in between
Now the 2 teeth are not out in full, but dont think the the gap will close up evetually

Yippee

Brennan's upper teeth also got gap. i think i remembered one of the mummy told me it will close up eventually when the other front teeth comes out
His upper teeth are pretty out in full liao.

Today i tried to cook brennan potato. Chop potato into small squares and add to the slow cooker with threadfin, vegetables and carrot to cook for 2hrs (1hr high heat and 1hr auto heat), but the potatoes are not very soft. For adults ok but i have to mash it up or give tiny bits to brennan so that he can bite before swallowing. think next time i try shredding it. Any mummies got better suggestion?

fun, i have a similar one. the bad thing about this cup is that water leaks from the straw when overturned. do you have this problem?

Allergy
yesterday, Samuel developed a serious allergy. it could be his FM. for the past 1 week, he had been on lactose-free Enfapro and his last feed was fri night. on saturday morning, i made the normal Enfapro for him (2 feeds) and 2 pcs of biscuit. after 1 hr, he started developing rashes from thighs onwards to his stomach, neck, armpits &amp; face. so scary. even his lips were so red &amp; swollen! i almost couldn't recognise him. rushed him to the doc &amp; he was given oral steriod to stop the allergy. he's now on Isomil - soy formula (400g). should i try enfapro again? if so, when? i'm so afraid of the reaction...this allergy had caused him wheezing again. he's got to be on nebuliser for another 2 days

sneaky: to be safe dun give him the enfapro or the biscuits anymore, in fact avoid the entire Enfa series of milk/products. If he's fine on isomil then continue with it. Dun take a young child's allergies lightly as it could be life threatening in serious cases.

Sneaky: sounds like Samuel may be allergic to whey protein (predominant in Enfapro series), I would stay off the Enfapro for a while and continue giving him soy based milks (if he has been doing well with the soy based Enfapro you could switch back to that coz from what I heard, Isomil tastes awful).

Stay off any whey based milk formula for at least a few months, you can slowly gauge if he is ok with it by adding a scoop into his soy based milk to see if there is a reactin.

which biscuit did you give him? It could also be a wheat allergy if the biscuit is made with regular flour. Does he have the same reaction with white bread?

PM me if you have any specific questions on milk, I work in the formula industry so may be able to help.

clarisse high fever till 38.4 @3.30am... aiyo.. i got no sleep.
this morning, her fever subsides.. runny nose n slight cough.

must be the weather everyone is falling sick! xaby was super grouchy after coming back from the Kindermusik trial also. Hope she's not falling sick.

Patsy:
hope that Xaby won't fall sick... how u find the trial? Sherisse missed out the 1st 20min.. Xaby seems to enjoy herself.. hee.. sorry din managed to stay and chit chat..

San: yeah, but i think she was just a bit tired an sleepy coz her morning nap got cut short!

Think she enjoyed herself, but realize I probably won't enrol her in Kindermusik till she's about 18 months because i already do a lot of the things we did with her here at home! down to the drums coz my aunt sent me a list of things to do (she's a developmental therapist and a kindermusik teacher also).

Sherrise really has nice eyebrows! so pretty also!

Patsy:
Pretty ah.. but she so boy look.. so bo bian had to let her wear dress.. if not people will ask.. boy ah?? ya loh her brows so pretty.. keke.. next time no need to maintain her brows.. keke..

Sherisse also tired cos whole morning only nap 30min.. thats why almost to the end of the class she cranky.. sigh.. then hor she stayed awake till we got home at 4plus.. buay tahan her.. tired dun wan to sleep.. but now she sleeping.. slept half an hr wake up cry then make her sleep again.. happened 3 times.. if later still cry then going to keep her awake and feed her dinner liao..

Sneaky

I tried cooking the ABC pasta without soaking today. Great! after 2hrs in the slow cooker, the softness is just right and can even see the alphabets
I also let him try 1/2 tomato (seed and skin remove). He enjoyed it.

Dinner i tried organic millet instead of rice and Brennan also didnt reject it. SO happy cos at least i have more options than rice for him to eat.

Btw, any idea how often can I feed Brennan the Petite Miam yogurt. Told mil not to feed everyday. is alternate day ok?

I bought 1 Earthbest bottled pasta dinner (suitable for 9mths and above) . does it mean that i can feed brennan directly from the bottle?? or it has be added into rice or noodles??

carole, did Clarisse get the viruses from her cousins? must isolate them at all costs, k?

kris &amp; patsy, Samuel had been on Enfapro all these while and because of his stomach flu, he was given Enfapro Lactose-Free. Doc mentioned that it shouldn't be because of the milk because most of the contents in these 2 FMs are the same except for Lactose. could this reaction be because he's still taking antibiotics? shd i try enfa again when he's totally off antibiotics? i'm quite reluctant to give him soy milk because of the nutrition &amp; price...how? i'm in a dilemma!

ssl, that's great. i'll follow your way...haven't given him pasta for the longest time ever since he got sick! i'll try that again this week.

<font color="ff0000">Yippee Ya Ya

better quick take out the straw n use liaoz!! heh..

carole

wahhaha so u oso pulling ur hair together with me arh!! *faint* and my little ash oso lor.. her temp was slightly higher den usual so i decided to give the kindermusik trial a miss on sun

SSL

glad tat Brenna enjoyed his ABC pasta

the pasta dinner u can jus feed direct lor den as usual if u dunno he likes or not or can finish one jar or not den u scoop some out first lor den if he cannot finish den u can kip first in the fridge but den not for long hor.. den if u wan to be adventruous den add to anything u deem fit lor </font>

sneaky

my slow cooker is 1hr on high heat and 1hr on auto heat

morraine

if we go outside, cant really fit hor... cos cold cold one. issit ok to bring it outside without using any ice pack??

i think i probably add into the cereal. usually when we go outside, i will feed brennan cereal. cos duno what other alternative can i fit him. anyway usually only sat dinner so its ok.

alamak, my original caterer cant do it for me for brennan's birthday celebration this weekend. so ended up ordering from neo garden again. but no discount cos me ordering the mini buffet one. (min 10pax)

sneaky: i doubt it's the milk then, could he have been allergic to the antibiotics? I had that once when I was a kid, then we found out I was allergic to Kelfexine, maybe you shuld check with your PD.

SSL: what I do with Xaby's food is I heat it up first before we go out, transfer to a small container and then when we get out, just ask for a bowl of boiling water to re-heat the food. Seems ok, otherwise you can buy a Tiger food jar that is supposed to be able to keep food hot fo a few hours...

morraine: missed you yesterday!

Hi mummies with bb boi, i wana sell these two BN items which couldnt reach me on time for Alden's party last week. If u are interested, do PM me

item name: The Big One Boy Jointed Banner
Item# 47150
URL:http://www.birthdaydirect.com/jointed-banner-p-7663.html?osCsid=81f2a610758f5b87be6d1bd54ce59a50
QTY:1
Price: USD$4.25
Calculation formula: $7.01

item name: The Big One Boy High Chair Kit
Item# 47146
URL: http://www.birthdaydirect.com/high-chair-p-7659.html?osCsid=81f2a610758f5b87be6d1bd54ce59a50
QTY:1
Price:USD $4
Calculation formula: $5.65

Price here havent include shipping fee..

SSL, mine doesn't have heat control one...maybe 1.5 hrs shd be okay liao...i think it's always on high heat cos i do see the porridge bubble at times...

patsy, he's been taking the antibiotics for 7 days and nothing happened. i thought it could be because this antibiotics made him LACTOSE intolerant. cos the only difference was the presence of lactose in both milk. when he started on antibiotics, he also started on lactose-free FM. could it be this reason?

<font color="aa00aa">patsy

ya lor.. sob sob

SSL

sorry dun understand wat u meant by cold pack n etc leh??

haiz... my ash's birthday i dun have location leh.. anyone can help</font>

Sneaky: reading through the thread again I think Samuel could have been allergic to the biscuit instead of the milk. Just read through my text books and it said that milk allergies will manifest itself immediately from infancy, and since Samuel has been ok with normal Enfa in the past, it can't be milk allergy. Lactose intollerance on the other hand leads to bloating, nausea, etc but rarely via the skin. hope this helps!

patsy, thank you for the information. i will slowly introduce the normal FM again once he's totally off the antibiotics. i'm also puzzled why he's allergic to the biscuit he usually eats...

Sneaky: it could be a combination of the antibiotics/other meds(?)/new milk/biscuit etc... btw, is the biscuit new or old? sometimes if wheat is exposed to air for prolonged periods it may cause some of the protein to denature and that may cause the allergic reation.

Patsy

I bought those thermos flask for food. if in time, will cook porridge and bring out. so far can tahan about 2hrs+ (maybe more but usually will finish the porridge in 2+hrs time after i go out) Maybe I try your method
Btw, if i use the heating method, do i need to keep the bottled jar food cooled using ice pack??

Sneaky

Yap u can try that
if too mashy, then reduce to 1hr.

morraine,

u know those ice pack where u can use to keep certain items cooled while u are out?? i think its more mah fun than patsy method so i probably try her method to heat up and put in thermos flask. I always bring my own hot water flask out. but duno if enough hot water to warm and make milk or not

sharon

so fast 1 yr old already, still rem the video of sabrina pushing the walker. looks like a nice party.

where did u get the elmo cake. thinking of getting one too.

mummies still bf,

how do u manage to maintain your supply? I have reduced to 2 X pumping a day since a mth ago. Initially can still get 500ml a day, then 400ml, then 300ml, now 200ml...sad..supply keep falling. don't know if I can continue till 1 year old. Really would like to sustain.

patsy, spot on! those biscuits are old. they're transfered from the main container to a small one (for mobility sake) and left inside for 1 week...furthermore, i don't know what was contained inside it before the biscuits...these could be the causes of his allergic reaction...i told my maid earlier on not to give him biscuits from that container anymore!

sharon, yah...i agree with whiteflora...the party looks fun...sorry, wasn't able to attend due to Samuel's health condition lately. hope you all had fun at the party!

Whitefloral/Sneaky
The cake is from polar cake shop, recommended by jenifur lo.
You still can remember de video ha.. i have lost my hp K750i on that day, all Sabrina's photo and video i take had lost... my heart so pain, i did not upload to my computer liao.
Ya, the party very succerful, thinks they are all enjoyed..

Snow,
can give me your email.. need to send some photo to u..

SSL: I don't bring ice pack. I just let the food cool a bit till all the moisture has evaporated and close the container tight. When it is time to eat, I either ask for a bowl of hot water, or if eating in a restaurant, ask to borrow their microwave and zap it for 10 secs at high. food will get very very hot! Been feeding Xaby like this since she started on solids and so far so good.

Sneaky: good that now you've pretty now isolated where the allergies come from. hehe, at least my masters degree in food science didn't go to waste hor?

Sharon: where did you get Sabrina's shoes? Am looking for a pair of pure white shoes for Xaby's birthday but can't find one that fits her --- she has tiny tiny tiny feet! Some of the shoes i got her when she was 0-3 months can still fit her! am beginning to get worried that something may be wrong!

whitefloral: am also having the same dilema, now each expressing session i can only get about 60 - 80 ml. Am taking milk tea and Moringa Oleifera tablets (got in the US, said to help increase milk supply), so far no help! Should try expressing more but difficult to do with work/travelling!

sharon!!! Nice pics! u made the effort to bring the mats!! so lovely... poor girl lost ur phone... pat pat...

bet u spend a bomb at HRC to have Sabrina's birthday.

Hi Patsy
Thx. I'll be calling for the balloons &amp; caterer tmr. So u all set for Xaby's party? Got her birthday dress aldy? I have Kaiser's ready months back.

Morraine
You can either do Ash's party at home or at a chalet. If not, can also do it at Globetrotters (they organise kids paries).

pasty,
i brought it from (kinddy palace)yishun , size 21 , they got a lot desgin liao , very nice.

Carole,
I only spended about $950+ liao, but they give whole upper floor(hehee everybody thinks i book the whole place),add they have free flow Coffee/Tea/Coke and Sprite, they also refill the food liao and goodie bag for everyone, they service is Hmmm... very good , you can leave you kids with them, they will play with the kids,you also can enjoy the food, all my guest got good command liao
Ended they help me to bring down all my barang2 to taxi stand. even thot i celebrate @ home, i will hit tis amount.
Aiya, i misplace @ taxi liao. ya so sad

sharon.. 950.. mine i already blew it before i even realise.... haiz...
mine goes....

450 - catering for 45 pax subjected to increase
200 - for coco fountain
150 - for photographer (we missed to take pics for clarisse.. so this time nt gng to forget abt it!)
40 - bday cake
150 ???? - balloon/clown

nt sure if i can afford! gng to faint... bb bday is nt cheap manz

<font color="ff0000">Yipee Ya Ya

heh.. i called globetrotters yesterday liaoz lor.. hee.. they wil get bac to me today for the avability on the premises
thanks for the idea!

chan ka

very cleber hor.. blow kisses to other ppl hor!!! wahahha

carole

dun kill me but den i misplace tat time u gave us the choco fountain tat contact liaoz.. can give me again pls.. pretty pls... </font>