(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

tingting, wendyg
If you guys wanna have dinner together tonight, I can ask my helper to cook more and I ta pao over. You just need to cook rice. Let me know.

ting2
sorry to hear abt your grandpa. take care.

Eileenp
sometimes bb goes thru a phase. Mine also refuse milk at one time and drinks 100ml only before pushing out the teat. But he's now back to his milk monster phase, every 3-4 hrs 180ml, even at night.

hi tingting

so sorry to hear about your grandpa. Be strong ok.

Hi I'm a mummy
May i ask when will we be getting the food cubes? I need it pretty urgent and it's been a while. thanks

Hello mommies

Megan is in Dec 05 cutest kid contest.

360011.jpg

Appreciate your votes for Megan if you find her cute
kao_kiss.gif
http://www.tangerined.com/KZ_talent/WhatsOn/CutestKID_Dec_2005.htm

If you wish to vote for Megan, click on Megan's picture and an outlook express will pop out and just click send..

Thanks thanks

hi i need milk,

wah! i'm so impressed by your determination to pump! i'm so lazy these days + work, it's good if i pump every 6 hours! *sigh*

hahaha! i'm gonna tell my hb about the suckling part to increase ss! see what he say!!

hey seabreeze,

paiseh, i've sold all the valves already, didn't know you want, otherwise would've kept for you!

re: meet up at triniti's

i'll try to come cos i wanna meet you gals and the bbs! but i can't confirm until the day itself... sorry bout that!

in terms of what to bring, i was thinking of grass jelly cos everything on the menu so far sounds on the 'heaty' side... how's that?

update:
1. skippy
2. triniti - drinks
3. tingting - cookies
4. seabreeze - durian puffs
5. adel & hb - egg tarts
6. cookies - titbits
7. vone & hb - cheesecake
8. aidanee - pineapple tarts
9. passing_guest - Old Chang Kee / Selegie curry puffs
10. smallbell - chocolates
11. nicky's mom
12. temple (to be confirmed)
13. cat_tail - goreng pisang
14. Anissa - Jelly
15. Christina - mrs fields brownies
16. snoopy - lana chocolate fudge cake
17. moulinmum - otah
18. Clarisse's mum - pls advice me wat is good or missing
19. musicgal

ting, i m sorry 2 hear abt ur grandpa. pls take care.

adel, d cab driver will def wan 2 settle privately coz he'll b penalized by his co. however, if he's taking 2 long, then give him a dateline. if nt, u claim fr his insurance liao.

nicky's mom, serious huh?? me wanted 2 eat yday bt when we went down in d evening 2 buy, d uncle said tt it's all sold out liao. mmm... dun tink i wanna wait tt long 2 njoy durians. will persuade hb 2 go down again tonite.

angel, will b voting 4 megan!!

musicgal, no worries, give me a call if u can make it 4 d gathering & i'll sms u d address.

Hello mommies

We started on solid food with Megan and after she tried solid food, she learnt how to 'blow' out the food and been doing this ALL the time, with milk, with water, with her rice cereal. It's a nightmare trying to feed her now.

Any mommies face the same problem?

The gathering looks more & more happening!! Can I join in as well? But I won't be able to reach at 2pm sharp coz only finish work at 2pm, hopefully there won't be last minute meeting. Will confirm later in the week and will bring sushi if I come.

Hi angel,
Me also facing the same prob, my bb not only 'blows' her food out, she will try to snatch the spoon, grab the bowl when we are feeding her. It's really a big hassle coz most of the food end up on the floor, on the high chair, on her face but not in her mouth. Haha.. can be quite a sight when the food is splattered on her face. Sometimes, I dunno whether to laugh or be angry.

I have a whole day seminar to attend next month. How should I express out my milk when I am not in the office.

Any advices??

Thanks..........

thanks gals, i'm getting on fine..

angel, my boy also same as theresa's... want to put his hands into the bowl also! i only mix 1 teaspoon of cereal, but he doesn't finish them, even when i mix it with BM. haiz.. hope he doesn't turn out to be a picky eater next time. i use the bumbo chair when feeding him.. he's also v distracted.

wendy, will deric be home? if so, will try to get ben to come along too... then we gals can eat in peace..

each time the spoon approaches, my boy will grab it & force it into his mouth so that he can chew on it. it's tough to use the spoon to "catch" the food that dribbles out..
i gotto put a bib on him, plus layer another face towel on top of the bib. Then his neck is so fat i gotto tuck under his chin to make sure he's properly covered. Sometimes he flings the towel away, with all the food scraps on it.. aiyoooo messy affair. BF is so much easier eh!

tingting
Deric will be home.. ask Ben to bring his "treasure trove" ley, is it still with the other neighbour? U know what i mean hor??
so fixed har? You guys coming over? but paiseh i dun think i hv rice at home... i'll ta-pao rice from Kopitiam =))

musicgal:
u ask yr hb to try try... if yr ss increase, tell me hor! :p

wendyg:
this deric and his smart alec reply...

angel:
megan so cute! voted for her liao.

wendyg
Got your sms, lazy to reply using phone.

Much better now. The big D has stopped, must be last night's Hao Jian (fried oyster). But I did not take the oyster.. duh.. TMC lactation consultant is busy, so I checked with my gynae. He said ok to nurse if I'm having diarrhea, provided I am not under medication.

musicalgal
Yeah my baby too does that but I make sure that I put the whole spoon in his mouth so he cannot blow his food. Plus, he loves to snatch the bowl and spoon and I have to ask my maid/hubby to pin his hands down when I feed him. The good thing is he is eating 2 teaspoon of cereals with 2 dessertspoon of BM and he finishes them. He likes brown rice cereal so far...gonna try carrot puree tmr.

Told my hubby about the thread where the daddy suckled to yield more breast milk. He gave me a very terrified look and was like, "please don't tell me you want me to follow also". Not all daddies are as open minded. Lucky for you, aidanee.

I notice that you guys are feeding cereal by the teaspoons. Makes me wonder if I am overfeeding my baby. She is taking 3 tablespoonfuls of cereal mixed with 90ml water + 1 cube of veg at one sitting. Gosh, maybe I read the instructions wrongly.

wendy, i can cook the rice. only, may not be so nice cos i use microwave, and sometimes standard a bit off.. :p let me know if there're big rice eaters amongst us. Passing guest, ur hb coming along?

passing guest, yah, tablespoons v big leh! annette can finish?!

Hi TingTing,
Sorry to hear abt ur grandpa...do take care..

Hi all....told my hubby too abt the suckling too and he was pretty horrified. Think the furthest he will go is to taste the breastmilk just to see wat its like. The gathering on the 25th sounds like a lot of fun. Wish i could join in too....

Have a good week ahead!!

Re:feeding,
I find the spoon is impt. Tried various type and the best is the one from tollyjoy. Its lean (i.e. bb's mouth open just a little can quickly stuff it in). And it's edge thin (but not sharp) which is very good for scoping up mess around her face. It's also deep enough so that the food won't spill easily. The spoon comes with the Tollyjoy food-preparation set.
I use the bowl with a hole for thumb griping. Then i can grip the bowl and hold 1 of her arm using left hand. Use my the other arm to block her other hand while aiming the spoon at her mouth.
Will also get ready a wet hanky (dry one not so efficient) to wipe off any big mess.

Re:carseat,
Any bb refuse to sit in carseat huh? My gal had been using her infant carseat since 1st month and yesterday she starts to reject it! Will cry non-stop when put her in. Wants to be held and must be high enuff to see out the window..

Hi Passing guest,
Wow! Your baby can finish all that? Mine won't have the patience to even finish wat's in her bowl... Or maybe mummy don't have the patience to feed her, hehe.. I think the instructions say tsp which means teaspoon. But do you feed only cereals or do you give her milk prior to feeding her cereals?

Hi Triniti,
Can I ask which brand of brown rice are you feeding your baby? Wanna start mine on brown rice but dunno which is gd & delicious. Thanks

Scary thing is she usually can finish all. Die lah, I don't want her to become xiaopangzi when she grows up.

Was just telling WendyG my helper has already cooked a big kwali of fried rice. So if that sounds palatable with you guys, I will just ask her to fry some eggs.

Think will leave my hubby out coz he is busy with appraisals this week.

hi tingting, passing guest,
My gal is also eating 3 tablespoon each time leh.. MIL even wanna give her 2times (6 tablespoon) when she reaches 5mth cos she eats it well! Dunno how to tell MIL it's too much.. *abit stress*

hi theresa
I am using Earthbest Organic brown rice cereal for my boy...I am actually intending to feed him organic food till he is 2 years of age as it will help to increase his immune system in his body. Since now I am not on TBF since he is a milk monster, I was thinking that feeding him organic food can help to increase his immune system as well.

Actually, the box says tablespoon as well but anton is only 4 mths and 11 days...therefore I think tablespoon is abit too much for him. Maybe that is applicable for 6 mth old babies

Passing guest,
Don't be too worried. I think so long as she still takes minimum 600ml of milk each day, she should be ok. How long after does she take her milk after eating her cereal feed? For my bb, I give her cereal feed twice a day, once at abt 11am, the other at abt 7pm.
I think if she eats well, it shouldn't be a prob, rite? Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
Won't be xiaopangzi lah... PD says when they start crawling & walking, they will start to shed off some 'fats'. Haha... dunno if it's true.

Hi Angel,

The trays are expected to arrive end of this week. Was waiting for the payment from the mummies to be in before i placed the order. But it was too slow..so no choice, i ordered the trays before receiving all the payments..i think up till now, some payments still pending. I must go and check again. Should be able to pass you guys the trays early next week, and at triniti's house (gathering). You not going to the 25th gathering righ? can PM me where you stay? i see which is the most convenient way.

Hi triniti,
Thanks. I've heard about Earthbest and Healthy Times, dunno which is better. I'm also trying to feed her organic food but some veggies & fruits have to get in town coz NTUCs and neighbourhood Cold Storages don't really have such stuff. Can share share with me where you go shopping for those organic food/fruits? Thanks.

Ya, I think 4 mths, only need to let him try the taste, no need to give too much, milk is still the staple food.

Hi theresa
U can go to eat organic at Bukit Timah or Brown Rice Paradise at tanglin mall...but I am abit extreme, I use everything organic for my baby from baby shampoo to laundry
For brown rice paradise if you buy more than 150SGD worth of products, u can ask them to send them to ur home but organic food are not cheap...one whole chicken is like 36-40SGD.

ting ting

sorry to hear abt your grandpa ... my grandma is now a vegetable and the dr are chasing us to fetch her out of the hosp ... my mum is now abit stressed cos she has to take care of the bb and now my grandma is like tat ... sigh thats life ...

angel ...

met ur MIL at the lift yest evening ... will vote for megan ... v pretty ar she ...

musicgal ...

no prob ... anyone who got lobang for the valve let me know k ...

YC just went for his jab just now ... as usual wanted to zzz and v cranky at the jab ... once aft the jab zzz all the way ... now making noise for us to play with him ... hopefully he doesnt deve a fever ...

hi seabreeze,tingting,
sorry to hear about your grandparent. seabreeze, ya usually the dr will 'chase' the family to do so, making the family more stressful.. It's good to talk to the hosp counsellor to see any suggestion/help or any nursing home nearby.

cakey ...

v hard lor ... cos nursing homes are v exp ... and its financially v draining for us ... but the hosp said that they will train the maid for us ... so my mum say tat now just let my maid do the house work and take care of my grandma ... will prob just tar bao food home everyday ...

Angel,

Voted liao
Hey, my ds also featured in the Dec 05 cutest bb contest, hehehee, mayb u would like to vote my son too, his name is Lucas. Thanks

Mayb u all also like to vote for my son Lucas if u find him cute

Re solids
Agree with cakey spoon type is important. I'm using the pigeon one, very small, can shove the whole spoon into the mouth, no time for him to 'blow' the food off. Have tried sweet potation puree for my boy and he loves it. Think will let him try carrot/pumpkin next...

Cakey
sounds like it's time for you to upgrade her carseat to the more upright one. Yesterday put haowen in his car seat and he dozes off with his head lean forward but against one side of the car seat..nod back and fro all the way home....

hi ixwong

i am also using the pigeon spoon.. very small but still my megan can mess up the entire highchair. She will try to grab the spoon, the bowl, my hands etc. aiyo... need 2 person to feed her (1 to feed, 1 to hold her hands)

Triniti,
Thanks for the info. You're really disciplined, me the most can give her organic food which I already find it alot of hassle. Yupz, agree that organic food/stuff is not cheap. I bought an organic brocolli from Carrefour, small floret costs $3.50, abt 5 times more ex than what we eat.
Well, for the sake the bb... we have to sacrifice lor...

vone: dunno wor.. am so sianz.. now.. going to IDAC.. to make report le.. so irritatin.. told him tt its about 1k! he said its too ex n couldn't afford. . somemore i brought my car to this uncle at sin ming.. he really charges very cheap lor..
met a lunatic workshop owner who saw my car.. says he will do everything for me! claim his insurance.. and i said.. maybe i would want to settle it privately with him.. saves trouble.. n somemore.. ppl's rice bowl! u know how much he quoted me?! 'wah.. so serious ah.. at least 2k plus to repair everything!' i walked away instantly!.. crazy.. they are really blood suckers..