(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

vone!!!!! whyyyyyyyy.....!!!!
but congrats la.. welcome to your new life. it will NEVER be the same again. kekekekekeke.

sng's mummy,
tks.

wendyg,
tks. ya, tt's wat hb said aso. bt it's okie, we'll jus take things as it comes.

sorry gals, i did say "pm me" right? cos it's harder for me to check the forum than my email. have only ordered for triniti cos she also pm-ed me. but since we have a few new orders, i'll see if i can get some critical mass for a 2nd order ok?

so far, those in potential 2nd order would be:

ixwong
coffeedrinker
dressaholic

any more from SNG's mommy and Ann Qi?? Pl PM hor!

hey vone, congrats! our kids meet almost everyday but we haven't met up for ages! pray that u'll have a wonderful pregnancy experience!

ting,

tks.

ya lor, u noe, nw my son noes hw 2 call ur son by his name liao. when i asked him whr's zephan, he can tell me tt zephan is in school.

i need 2 order some stuff fr lucky vitamin. any1 wans 2 tompang? pls pm me ur orders by 15 feb okie. tks.

vone, zephan also! ask him whom he likes to play with in school, he'll say daryl.. hehe.. the school's really crowded now hor, with so many students. zephan's not really used to sharing his teachers with so many others, n displayed some form of jealousy. it's been difficult to get him to school this week, cos he was away for about 2 weeks to recover from his cough n flu, plus the CNY period. kept crying.. haiz..

hi vone,
Congrats
Enjoy your freedom now... life will never be the same with 2 in hands heheh..

Any recommedation for shampoo for toddler? Saw that my gal got some split-ends!! I think MIL is using J&J shampoo on her now...
Or any good one from LV site since Vone is ordering?

SNG,
Good to hear that Nick's OK
Last time I also suspect my gal to be that but her pattern changed after sometime leh..

Thanks...Nicky05 and cakey. I didnt knw abt that. Hmm...will try and get some documents. My gal only had little milk before school but everytime she cries, she will puke like merlion

Halow...
Any toddlers already wean off milk bottles?
Keyon is still drinking from his Avent Bottle with no.4 teats. Recently, need to replace the teats, but so difficult to find the no.4 ones nowadays.

So either I keep on searching or start him on cups....any advice?

tingting, i think i will give this round a miss.. i have yet to go visit the ON site..
thanks..

Applejuz, Nick still on milk bottle.. i told the maid to let him use the mug, and she only do it when i am home.. other than that, she gives him the bottle. Recently, she even broke that precious train mug of his that i bought from Japan.. Now Nick completely refuse the cup! only milk bottle and water bottle. So sian.

Diaper.. Nick is diaper trained at night.. but recently, i found that the maid has been too lazy to wake up in the middle of the night to bring nick to toliet that she has been giving him meimei's diaper using masking tapes to "extend" the sides! damn pissed..

tingting, its okay. i've a tendency to read "beyond" the lines heheh. These r more like nonsense buys. So if u r unable to organise a second purchase i m fine by it

SNG's mummy,
Aiyo, ur maid so careless to break the mug.
So how much milk is NIck drinking now?
I just gave Keyon 9oz for morning & night only.

mei mei's diaper can tahan meh? Now their 'shi shi' quite a big volume leh...

tingting,
ya lor. thr r 15 kids in d class nw. *faint* thr r some new teachers aso. hopefully they r good.
ya, i aso hv probs when i dropped him off at school. in d end, i resorted 2 asking hb 2 bring him coz it's nt so 'drama'.

cakey,
tks.
4 shampoo, i m using kodomo coz hb likes d fragrance. if u r tinking of buying fr lucky vitamin, u can consider tis 1.
http://www.luckyvitamin.com/792692001099.html

applejuz,
i m trying 2 wean my boy off bottles, bt nt much success. guess i hv 2 try harder. since keyon is oledi gg 2 cc, tink u can try 2 wean him off bottles liao.

vone,
hee hee... only suceed weaning off the 3pm milk feed, because CC give snacks. But morning b4 going to CC, & night before bed, still need to suck.

hey, I like kodomo fragrance too. We r also using the bath foam, shampoo & even detergent!

applejuz,

ic. my boy is oni drinking milk in d morning & night, thus it's a bit difficult 2 wean him off.

so u r another kodomo fan aso.
hb likes d fragrance so much tat we r practically using d whole range, shampoo, bath foam, talc, detergent, etc...

hello.. need help

my baby has recently rejected the bottle in favour of me. For the first 2 wks that he was home, he took ebm & formula via bottle (Pigeon peristaltic teat "S" - slowest flow) several times a day without any fuss, after latching on. Then after my bm supply built up, i only gave him ebm bottle for night feed. But for the past week or so, he only drinks 10ml and then he'll scream in protest. Have tried the following without avail:
- burping
- diffrnt brands of teats
- silicon & latex teats
- increasing to faster flow teats

I'd like to top up his final feed by bottle coz he tends to fall asleep at the breast, which means he's not drinking in ernest and as a result can't last him as long as it should.

any ideas... ?

wendyg
I think your baby prefers your breast to the bottle so maybe you can try to be out of the baby's sight and ask someone else to feed the baby. My gf has the same situation and she has to resort to the above method. However, as long she is around, the daughter will always want the breast and reject the bottle, no matter how hungry she is

Applejuz
Its better to wean the bottle off earlier than later since eventually he has to wean it off anyway. Moreover, bottle feeding is not very good for the teeth development because of the sucking motion. Its more of the attachment that most children have with bottle more than anything else. Its like comfort for them, I think. Anton stopped using the bottle since 15 mths and weaning him off is pretty easy as I start with the straw bottle then gradually 'upgrade' to the mug when I am absolutely sure that he will not spill any milk while he is drinking it.

Applejuz,
best to wean off now then later, as the older he is , more difficult to wean off.
my gal stop using teat when she is around 1 yr old. I change to those training mug, then cup.

Triniti
How you make him not to spill milk when drinking from cup. My gal will tend to spill out.

triniti
my boy is 5wk old only ley... he so clever to know when i'm around huh. i must shut my trap if i'm in the same room

anyways, husband tried bottle feeding him before, also reject after 10ml. Next time i'll exit the room before the battle begins...

hi, have placed order for those in 2nd order. some items are OOS, but mostly are ann qi's items. will update when the order is confirmed delivered. sometimes ON can block the order for no reason.. haiz.

re: weaning bottles

Zephan has been off bottles for about 1 year liao. started off with straws, then cup. of course, now that he's more assertive, he's also inventing ways of drinking his milk, like standing on stools, bringing the cup to other places of the house, etc. and that increases the risk of spilling. we're in the midst of battling of wills at this stage, and my hb and i are constantly asking ourselves whether we're being overly strict with him... :eek:

coffeedrinker
Make sure he sit on his chair and finish his drink before he goes anywhere. It is also his own control of the cup. It takes practice on his own accord so we cannot do much in this, except to let her drink on the mug most of the times.

Wendyg
Apparently, they know when you are around!! I do not have this problem with Anders since he has been switching from bottle to breast and vice versa when he was born. So I think you have to 'disappear' half an hour before your hubby help to feed or else he might know you are trying to pretend to be not around.

tingting
I think its better to be strict now than later. Nowadays, kids are much smarter than we think. Now they are trying to test how much boundaries they can push, so if we just let them be, they know that you can be easily 'bullied'. Maybe you can try to make him sit in his chair while drinking his milk. If he still insist on doing his own way, then maybe you have to do the ' stoop to his level' and talk to him firmly. I think they understand when you mean business.

Din kno so many of ur babes oredi no more bottles... aiyo, me still 'happily' using it. cos usu keyon lie down to drink then goes to sleep.
But recently, after his milk, he still gets up & roam abt. May as well sit & use mug.

ok.. maybe like wat triniti said... slowy upgrade.

hi applejuz,
My gal is just like keyon drink before sleep hence I also happily using bottle... no time to 'jagar' to make sure no spilling with 2nd one around.. Was thinking bottle is very useful cos can drink without spilling no matter in bed or in car hehe...
Maybe i shld start training her on the spilling part then will solve the problem

thanks for the advise on shampoo... will try out the kodoma first

Applejuz, Nick still has 3 feeds of milk a day with occational ones in evening after dinner when he sees meimei drinks them.. Anyways, Nick's a bottomless pit.. He can eat dinner at 5.30pm, drinks mlk at 6.15pm and when we get home at 7ish, he sits and eats dinner with us also... then 8pm, his yogurt, 8.30pm, he's climbing the table, looking for biscuits. 9pm, drink milk and sleep.. Scary right...

BTW, grace is using XL diapers..

Cakey, i also like to give nick the bottle when he is in the car.. haha.. no need to look after otherwise he will drip everywhere.. But these days, i realise that he dozes off while drinking his milk and when i try to take the bottle away, he still gripping it tightly while asleep!

nicky's mom
how heavy is nick liao?! is he v active?

applejuz & cakey
same here for isaac.. lights out after bottle. but means no night time brush teeth session. Tried giving milk in cup many months back.. he took so long to finish! and had hard time making him sit still to finish the milk. Tried several nights & husband scolded me for ruining the bedtime routine coz he was so energetic after taking longer time to finish the milk. So back to the bottle until God knows when. Recently i asked Isaac whether he can drink milk fr cup, he said "No! Drink milk from bottle"

sighzzzz

btw, anyone wants frozen ebm? oldest dated end Jan.

Cakey,
Ya lor... spilling was my concern too.
In fact Keyon so particular tat abit wet on his clothes, he'll say " all wet wet", then ask to change!
So at night, even bring him to wash hands, I'm so scared to wet his sleeves.

Last night, I was trying to swop the bottle with cup & straw.
He dun wan to drink
, rather he pointed to the fridge & ask for ribena!
(maybe i had use tis method wif ribena when he had HFMD)... in the end, pour the milk back to his bottle,
then he gladly bring it to his bed, & drink & sleep after that. Haiz, think i need more effort.

Cakey,
For kodomo shampoo, some pple may find it too dry for the hair.
If u wan to try, I can pour some out & pass to u to try.

As for body foam, recently, i change to its Rice flavour, smoother!

SNG's mummy,
wah, Nick a big eater! errrm... wat's his weight now? :p
Meal times is a challenge, esp u got 3 to feed!

Wendgy,
same same, Keyon oso dun brush teeth.... milk will be his mouth wash! *faintz*

Wendyg, last check, Nick is 17kg.. Almost the same weight when Sam was 6yo. Nick is one who can never stay still even for a min.

Applejuz, Hmm... meal time is not a challenge, cos elder one eats on his own, Nick eat and eat, no need to feed.. and Grace auto opens her mouth to any food that is offered. but buying food always stresses me out. My weekly grocery is about 200 bucks for the 3 kids. 1 whole mid size threadfin, that's about 50+. 1kg of honey baked ham, S$20... Veg, 40+. Sam, Nick and Grace FM is also 100+.. Not to mention all the other stuffs like yogurt, teething biscuits, cheeze etc.. i think this goes on, hb and me got to eat grass liao..

SNG's mummy,
Maybe switch to 'housebrand' as suggested by MPs haha...

Applejuz,
It'll be great if you could pass abit for gal to try ... Thanks

I'll brush her teeth first... if she ask for milk after that, then her morning brush will take care of that hehe...

coffeedrinker, have already placed your order. Ditto for dressaholic and ixwong. Dressaholic, the plait button-cuff shorts is OOS. Fyi.

During weekdays, when i don't bathe zephan, i'll brush his teeth after milk at night. On weekends, i'll brush during his bathtime, which is before milk. but i'll get him to drink some water to wash down his milk every time. I try to feed him more solids during his main meals, and only give him half a glass of milk at night.

SNG's mummy, wow, Nick is really heavy weight! i think zephan is only about 13kg.

Triniti, i've tried a lot of disciplining methods, but perhaps i need to be consistent in 1 and let it sink in. i guess it's not easy to have to repeat the same instruction a zillion times and yet maintain the same level of temperament. If he were a subordinate, would have fired him from the job long time ago! :p

SNG's mummy,
hee hee.. u lucky mummy, no trouble on feeding...
Ya, gotta work harder to earn more $, at the rate Nick's eating.... dunno got grass left to eat or not...hahaha..

cakey,
sure, i'll bring some tomorrow. Today at customer site.

tingitng,
Keyon oso 13+kg... hiaz, everytime when he managed to gain until 14kg, then kenna sick & lost wt again...

Cakey, haha.. most of the kids items no household brands leh.. But i did told my hb to change the rice to NTUC brand instead.. i didn't know household brands were half the price of royal umbrella. But this morning, after he read the papers, he run to NTUC and stock up another 5 packets of 10kg umbrella rice.. so, now i got the existing 3 packets + another 5 packets of 10kg each.. 80kg of rice.. *faint*

vone, i dunno leh.. i never tried b4. but judging at the speed my rice at home finishes, i think i have to change loh.. hoho.. Averagely, 1.5 to 2 packets of 10kg per month.. very siong loh..

sng's mummy, why stock up on royal umbrella? got sale is it? maybe i only 1 kid, so dun feel the pinch as much. i only stock up on grains once a few months.. but his milk intake, plus pref for blueberries does soak up quite a fair bit of my salary.

tingting, the papers wrote i think something bout worldwide shortage of rice or something that's y he when to NTUC at 8am in the morning to stock up the rice..

ya hor how come dun hv House Brand for FM... kekekeke
try dilute condensed milk la. the old fashioned way..
Some poor folks let their babies drink milo coz milo is cheaper than FM. can u beat that.

nicky's mom
what abt diapers... $$$

Hi SNG, Vone,
Which grade of NTUC rice you've tried?
Saw diff grade and the prices vary quite alot... Bot 1 pack for CNY but till now haven't even cooked 1 grain hehe...

hmm, i can't quite tell between the quality of rice brands, but can very well tell the quality of rice sold in singapore vs those i find in restaurants in Malaysia and Australia! Dunno what type of rice they use or how they cook it, tastes not as nice as those i find here leh.

diapers.. either use cloth or toilet train them earlier? zephan's now quite trained.. when he's with me whole day, he uses diaper only during naptime and bedtime. but my mother will still let him wear diapers while at her place. this weekend he declared he will go toilet on his own. He'll announce that he wants to go toilet, then say "Mummy stay, zephan go toilet yourself (grammer still not quite there)." quite cute.. :p

pic of zephan and isaac, taken on sunday:

1253362.jpg

1253363.jpg

1253364.jpg

cakey,

i didn't noe NTUC brand of rice gt dif grades 1. we gt 1 pack as part of a gift pack, bt we didn't like it. it tastes v funny as rice. in d end, i ended up using d rice 2 cook porridge.

Hi tingting
Thanks for the ON order. Sorry, din notice your PM request. Let me know when u want payment.

Vone,
Congrats!!! and....guess what...I'm preggy with my No. 2 too. Now 20 week due in early Jul and today's scan shows that I'm having a princess! Haowen is getting a meimei.

ixwong
congratssss
some kaypoh mum saw u buying preggie clothes on spree and wondered if u were preg. That was in Dec i think. ha ha ha.

Hey, Zephan & Isaac has grown up!
Hee hee, Isaac so cheeky. got mummy genes izzit :p

Ixwong,
Congratulation! Did u wanted a mei mei? Can 'close shop' liao. :p
Its very different taking care of gal... more gentle & delicate.