(2005/06) Due in June 2005, Any 1

Von, u may wish to get yr hubby to hint to yr MIL that both of u want to eat hot food. Is yr FIL or MIL working in the daytime? Huh... MIL cannot do housework n with two more pple in the house, how to cope with housework? R u getting a maid? Your MIL not helping u take care of bb? No wonder u r so upset. *pAt-pAt* think of it in a positive light, at least there r pple in the house, u can chuck yr bb with them while u n hubby enjoy couple time outside.

For me, I dun like to stay with MIL n SIL becoz both can b v messy pple. MIL loves to keep things n SIL is v v untidy n loves to yak about nonsense things which will cause my postnatal depression.

shane,
agree with u tt goin bk 2 wk may not be worth it as big portion wld be to pay for childcare. hopefully my mum can look aft for me, then may save some.

i came across somebody here bought maternity bra veri cheap, cant remember who? can share where n how much u bought? in need now leh. tks

<font color="aa00aa">dreamydove</font>
u only weight 45kg ??!!! wow ...... envious ..
i wasn't even 45kg before preggie .... sigh ...

ha ha, so cute the nickname "chilli padi" must hv a very strong character for her small size. glad to hear hannah is doing well. has she put on more weight ? Did they say when hannah can come home ?

dreamydove,
aiyo u so slim?

shane,
hahaha...my hb said wait till they really come n stay then he will say...just wait n see if he really will say his precious father :p

not near lah but still in the west i will bring her hm fm fri onwards. ohh...ur fil also smoke? gosh...very jialat hor...

u going to bring ur gal hm everynite? aiyo...very tiring for u n bb one...imagine early in the mrg wakes her up to bring her over then at nite by the time u reach hm u are so tired nxt day can work meh?

cookie,
my mum went to tell my grandma abt the cold food i got to eat so my grandma end up buying a mircowave oven for me :p so in fact i can heat up the food but cos my mil cook in the mrg so those meat or veggi will hv a kind of smell i duno how to describe

ya mil is working somewhere near their place, my hb suggest her to cont to work if she wants he will send her to work everyday...aiyo so troublesome...he very filial lah no point saying too much, make me like bad dil

nah...i dun tink i can afford a maid cos the amt we give to our parents quite alot liao. no more room for additonal person as well

i tink i will prefer to be with my bb then my hb liao...hahaha...scary hor?
ohh..ya my fil also like to keep things can u imagine their hse full of those old old antique...hahaha...no $$ maybe i go sell them away :p

shane, i did the test about $30.

very useful when we lift our legs up so that no water retention. for hands also, don't let them fall downwards by the side of bed as you will feel numb and uncomfortable the next morning.

dreamydove,
i agreed with shane i also not even 45kg before preggie...no matter wat slimming prdts i take also didnt reach tat weight at all...gosh...u can save on massage liao..

hey...chilli padi means strong man...hahaha...good to know ur gal is doing alrite

<font color="aa00aa">von</font>
we are not even prepared for this baby even with the govn benefits. I find the benefits too little to help out. When the benefits was annouced, my mum ask me can go hv bb already. I told her unless govn give me $10k, if not no money to have :p ha ha ....

ha ha .. maybe cos wedding already so long ago liow. now got our 1st bb, so it's like a new chapter in our married life...

like that ah, ur mil should clean the hse every day instead of the corridor... ha ha ..
don't get too depressed ley, esp after birth, wait got post natal depression. everything look on bright side. anything not happy, talk to hubby and try to get hubby to resolve. try to focus ur attention on ur bb instead.

<font color="aa00aa">cookie</font>
are u staying with in laws now ? or managed to 'escape' ?

So far the cheapest i read from here is from OG. OG have nursing bras for 9.90. then 2nd cheapest is from MIM(momsinmind.com) and PK (pumkin.com), cost btn 13.8-18 bucks.

Dreamydove, u v good hor! Can regain weight n figure in such a short time. Can the hospital help to sterilise breast pump? I intend to bring my breast pump but didn't prepare any form of sterilising stuff.

Thanks for your encouragement, Shane! I hope mine will be like yours. Wish u luck for tommorrow's visit. Tell yr bb must be guai guai.

Oh, such a big box. I took out 12 pads from the box of disposable breast pads then put them in a ziplog. Otherwise, u can bring your washables. If dirty, just place them in another ziplog to bring home for washing. If not, can wash in hospital, q ez to dry i think.

shane,
it's better than nothing lor...although i agreed tat the amt is too lil'

mine too near to each other...hv yet get over my honeymoon period...hahaha..now a mummy liao

tat's wat im afraid most lor post-natal blues, i even hv pre liao...abt parents in law i dun want to talk too much to strain our relationship...very unhealthy unless i cant tahan then i will tell him

hahaha...wow...u used the word 'escape' good good...

shane/von
aiya dont envy me la... its so diff to put on wt when preg.. so stressed! Really one big disadvantage when preg. So when gynae ask me wan try 3rd one, i said tolong man, wif both deliveries oso preterm bb born, i dare not think! But hor, oni advantage is i hv no problem losing wt. don know to laugh or cry....sigh

nvm lor, just wait and see. maybe ur hb really will ley. but also don't be too hard on him, sometime very xin ku to be caught btn wife and mother.

ya my fil also smoke, so can see ash on the sofa in my mil hse. sigh.

at least urs still in the west, not too bad. me got to travel. Ya i also feel it's tiring, but we got no choice ley. I don't want to be weekend parents. Since it's my own kid, i must have the responsibility to care and bond with her. we still wkg out arrangements lor. maybe will try to move near to mil or get mil to come our plc and stay. c how ....

u got microwave then gd mah, can heat up the food before u eat. it's better.

<font color="aa00aa">janetan</font>
oh $30 bucks, great, not too ex. thks.

Von, quite yucky to reheat veg when it's cooked in the morning. Meat still can keep. Why dun u ask yr hubby to suggest to yr MIL that u will cook veg for the family? R u going to bring back yr bb from mom's place every day? Your hubby has to pick up MIL, pick u up n bb from mom's place every day? Isn't a tiring arrangement?

Shane, so far the plans of MIL n SIL coming over have been shelved, maybe til a later date. Future precariously uncertain. So I not thinking abt it. Too many things to worry liao. I will go mad. My mom will be taking care of bb, but she's not too cooperative lor, keep hinting that we cannot leave him in her place at night else disturb my dad's sleep. My parents r also giving me headache man.

RE cheap nursing bras:
Uh-oh! I think I got the worst deals. I bought 3 Wacoal nursing bras. Not cheap. Moreover look mumsy, not sexy.

dreamydove,
ohh...ur 1st child also preterm? dun worry as long as bb n urself are healthy. u shld try for the 3rd one

shane,
ya tat's y i dun dare to say too much abt in-laws' things to my hb lor...just te-gong

yucks....so dirty..gosh...

ohh...it's not easy lor..hougang to sembawang is really very far even driving also very tiring

hahaha...but the food got smell n moreover unfinished food will leave for days

thks ! hope she'll be guai guai lor hee hee ..

ok, tonite i shall go and stare at the 2 boxes of breast pads and decide which to bring. hee hee ....

ur honeymoon too 'hot' liow... tt y so productive hee hee

honestly, i quite thankful to God that we got abt 3 yrs of couplehoon before bb came. gave us a chance to enjoy and travel abit. so no complaints lor tho' wish can play abit longer :p ha ha ....

hee hee, it's an 'escape' mah ....

i supposed it's not too bad a thing lah, esp when both your babies are healhty. U have a ez time than us losing weight ley ! so gd.....

shane,
hahahaha...no lah in fact we got our bb before my wedding :p after my PS...hahaha...it's the safest period still kenna :p so tis bb is our anniversary gift...hahaha...tis bb accompany us to our wedding, honeymoon, my bday...hahaha...

wow...tat's long break for u couple so good...

hahaha...ya true lor 'escape' is a nice word :p

Von, me too! My wedding n preggy chapter also v near each other. I got married last June, then this june gonna b a mummy. I still haven't got a proper honeymoon, coz after wedding went with frens for scuba diving then dec hols went with parents on a trip. Q scared i'll be incompetent.

shane,
tks for the info, do u know which OG? i hv not come across nursing bra at 9.90 when i shop OG leh..

cookie,
if i din remember wrongly, hosp prepared the first sterilising solution for me when i had my 1st bb. for the subsequent ones, they asked us to prepare ourselve. So for this 2nd bb, i had it all prepared when i was at hosp.

oic. ok so for now, u still can enjoy. so enjoy first. don't think too much.

sigh,sometimes childcare really a headache hor. so u need to bring bb home everyday also ?

ya it WILL be tiring lor. hvn't start i think liow also feel tired :p but no choice. hopefully can move back nearer to them or wat lor. anyway will worry abt that later. I got abt 3mths+ with bb before she goes to mil plc for bb sitting.

quite yucky ley, the way u describe, the food got smell....
come to think of it, if u gg to bring bb home, then can u eat at ur mum's place first ?

cookie,
hahaha...me now still honeymoon period :p same here very scare cannot be a good mum...sigh...scary scary building up...

shane,
one of the reason i take just 2mths bcos i want to take a wkday off to see my gal :p scare she cant recongise me...hahaha...

nah..me not bringing bb hm, but i will be going to my mum's plc to feed my bb :p so i no need to go hm n eat her food lor...kekeke...i told my hb beforehand liao he can only shake his head but it's true mah those food i eat liao how to produce milk leh?

Von, good to te-gong. Dun sandwich yr hubby in between u n his parents. Will only make things difficult for him.

Dreamydove, no worries la. Can always fatten up bbs when they pop out. But not everyone can lose weight easily.

so u c, it's fated one ! safest period but still kenna, so this bb is really ur special gift hee hee ....

ya quite long, but me n hb like still playful, want to play. but my friends and family all say abt time for us...

i think most OG outlet have. i saw it in Orchard's one, in the maternity section together with the bb section. very limited design and don't have high expectations hor, it's not those sexy kind. hee hee ...

i think dunno also bot from OG before, but not sure which outlet she got it from.

von
ya lor, my 1st child oso preterm 36wks. now 2nd child 35wks. what if 3rd child 34wks? aiyo, i dare not think. better stop at TWO.

<font color="aa00aa">being a mum</font>
ya i also scared can't be a gd one. i feel like a child myself still. i just hope i can maintain tt kind of friend friend rs with my kid. but i feel that is very hard to achieve.

don't worry, as long u got spend time with her, she'll recognise you as mummy one. but of cos nothing can beat being with bb 24/7 lah, then the bond will be much closer. but too bad lah, most of us all got to go back and wk. sigh...

tt's gd mah, then u no need to eat at home liow. i think it's better also.

Shane, I agree making childcare arrangement is a big headache. I have to bring home bb even if bb is gonna give hubby n i a hard time the first year. Crying n feeding at night n wee hours of the morning. V scared that I dun hv the energy to work the next morning. Hv to travel from punggol to changi, not that near though connected by expressway.

Von, we may 'grow up' after bbs come.

cookie,
i read a book quote 'open ur 2 eyes before marriage n close both after' so i guess te-gong best solution liao...even my PIL talk to me i dun really understand their dialect i got to give them a gong gong look...hahaha...

shane,
yalor...hahaha..but u know i really hate the period when i cant wear my tea-dress...it's 2pcs, ppl dreaming to wear yet i can only wear for PS...sigh...

hahaha...anyway u already going to give birth so it's abt time liao lor..u had enuf fun of 3yrs

dreamydove,
actually it's the weight rite? my gynae said as long as after 32-34wks can liao...so no worry lah ur 1st child is very healthy mah..
hahaha...u tink too much liao lah...aiyo...i tink u r stressing urself n pls lah u really tink 36, 35 then surely 34 meh? maybe this time it's 40?

Now u have 1 boy 1 gal, just nice. my ideal case. if i can afford i'll like to have more kids but the 9 mths of pregnancy can be quite incovenient.

shane,
initial plan is to stop work to look after bb maybe in between 3 yrs can hv another one :p but too bad my savings doesnt allow me to hv this kinda of benefits

anyway will try to spend wkends with bb as much as possible...but tat's to say got lesser hrs to sleep like a pig liao...hahaha...

hahaha...u tink so too? i duno wat will my MIL says lor but dun care lah :p

cookie,
wow...u travel fm punggol to changi also? ya i agree not near actually it's a big round u got to take using highway

'grow up' n educating kids are so different...sigh...

As a working mom:
Yeah.. same sentiments as u, Shane. Most of us hv to go back n work, so the lil time we spent with our children is v precious n gotta make a lot of sacrifices (like sleep, travelling to n fro) too. It's not easy to get yr child to open up to u as well as hv him respect u too so that a certain level of discipline can be exercised at home.

i'll be in the same situation as you. since we choose to bring bb home then we'll have to put up with the sleepless nite. my only consolation is by then my bb will be abt 4 mths old, *hopefully* by then she'll be more settled and able to sleep thru' the nite.

at least u got wear during ur PS mah, if u miss it can look at the photos hee hee ...

ya time to 'grow up' like wat cookie says ....

same lah, don't have enuf $ to stop working. if not i'll like to quit and just work p/t if possible. at least still got income and still can look after bb. anyway this is out of the qn.

tt's true lor. tt y life will change 360degrees once bb is out. must enjoy watever time we hv now and brace ourselves for the new life ahead !

wow, sound like big battle like that ... ha ha .....

by the way, are you girls giving your ILs the $ to buy confinement food? i was told we must give a red packet after confinement and was thinking of giving $1k. May change my mind later.. hee.. see how.. will give my MIL only $200 more per mth to help look after baby and me. No $ to get maid also.

dreamydove, thanks for the info. think i better bring more adhesive pads.

Dreamydove &amp; Shane, my ideal is also to have 1 boy n 1 gal. But must see which grandparent willing to look after n $$$.

Von, u've made a good arrangement. U will have proper dinner at yr mom's place, can see, feed n play with bb too. And an uninterrupted sleep at night.

Shane, 3 years of fun couple time should be enuff la! Good time to progress to the next chapter of life.

<font color="aa00aa">janetan</font>
I'm giving my mum $ for food and also for helping me out in my confinement. Budget abt $1.2k, $200 for food. My mum don't know how much i'm giving her. But i told her to save on food and she feels $200 not enuf for food cos she intend to buy fresh food everyday. *stressed*

Shane &amp; Von, i wish to work part-time and look after bb myself so dun hv to get big headache dunno whether my mom willing to look after my bb every day or not. Like u, $$$ drying up so can't afford to.

Yes, our lives will be so changed. Cannot call frens go out n party as n when we like. If go out, also must bring along bb. Moreover, my frens do not hv children yet or r not married yet.

Jane Tan, good point u raised! I'm clueless as to how much to give my mom for taking care for bb. Moreover, she requested for a maid. How huh.... already i giving her $500 a month. Then during my whole pregnancy, she bought bird nest n thread fin fish for me every week, i haven't paid her for that too.

Really dunno how much to give my mom.... she hinted on looking after me n bb for 3-4 days in a week n suggested MIL look after the next 3 days. Sigh......

ya my friends all telling me they can't ask me out next time already cos my hands will be tied. but i keep telling them it's possible just need to let me get use to my new life first. even if got bb also need our own life rite ? just need to make arrangements in advance.

for childcare,
i intend to give my MIL $500 monthly. I think tt should be mkt rate rite ?

since u already giving ur mum $500 mthly then maybe can just increase abit for the childcare, maybe $200 ? for us, we give MIL $ on the adhoc basis :p so we'll really nd to give her more for the monthly childcare.

No, the $1.2k does not include her monthly allowance for that mth. tt's purely for my confinement ! *stressed*
But i did tell my mum that i can't managed with the increased cost, so i'll be reducing her monthly allowance and she's ok with that *phew*

Ya, my mum also say, everyday must eat fresh food, not gg to be cheap. sienzzz.. i tell her no need to eat so gd lah, no $ wat to do .... just eat simply.... :p

i think tt's not ideal to be shifting bb ard ley, poor bb will have hard time getting used to a familiar environment and a consistent handling pattern since both sides will have different ways of looking after a bb. best to avoid that if possible.

If not both sides not committed to look after bb, maybe u 1 2 consider infantcare or look for a reliable babysitter ?

yah, $$ not enough... imagine having to give more for mum and MIL and then there is pampers and milk powder to buy each mth which is not cheap. Then there is insurance or endowment or education plan to purchase.... how to have 2nd one? i wonder how people can cope with 3 or 4 children when their income is lower... i salute them.

shane,
ya lucky got chance to wear during PS...hahaha...actually my mum said a 'no' to wear as tea dress also, bao shu...boring rite?

same lor want to work p/t extra $$ to buy things for bb...kekeke...but it seems like in our dreams

yap 'growing up' time...but as a women can be a big kid at times still rite?

u giving so much? $1.2k? require so much meh? tell her as n when take fm u better lah...

ohh..u told u mum u will reduce her allowance? something very cham hor always kenna own mother

jane tan,
hahaha...initially few mths me arent going to increase my mum's allowance cos i already no more $$ left for myself liao...:p as for the food i might give her a couple of hundreds but better dun say 1st if not ltr change mind very paiseh...hahaha...

cookie,
yalor so i guess i tired it's ok as long as not bb got to wake up so early n nite time both my hb n myself got difficulties sleeping as well. u know how impt work is to us now tat we've another mouth to feed. but cannot tell boss if not they will surely tht u cant live w/out them...

like u i will prefer to bring my bb along where ever i go...my grp of frds very excited abt my delivery so dun tink they will mind another lil' gal coming along :p

huh? ur mum hint u? my mum doesnt she dun even want my $$ but we find tat not nice if dun give her lor...

jane tan,
u r giving to both mothers? i only responsible for my parents n my hb his :p
tat's y i want to bf as long as possible to save a bit of $$

btw...regards to insurance they said it's not necessary to get fm bb but get for ourselves. maybe just take those saving plans, endowment i already got 2 tat's y no $$ left liao...sigh...

cookie,
i agreed with shane, u hv to start thinking who to look after for u liao...where u staying? maybe see can help u to find a nanny for ur child

von, i only give my mum and my hb give his mum but now that my mil is looking after, we have to increase $200 per mth which will be from both of us, joint acc.

jane tan,
oic...i intend to give additional $100 to my mum at my own expenses...if cant afford maybe can consolidate n bring her to somewhere near every once a yr...sigh...this got to start thinking during 2nd mth of ML liao
everything is $$ sigh...when is co. giving me an increment

Shane &amp; Von, my mom will be coming over to my place to do confinement for me. But she has to take care of my dad's meals so suggest that she stays for 3-4 days, then my MIL takes over for the next few days. I think I'll be the one who have to adapt to two mothers' different pattern for my confinement. As for leaving bb with mom in the daytime when i return to work, she doesn't mind help out but again hint if my MIL wanna take over Friday for her. Sigh.... I wouldn't want my child to be looked after by strangers or maid tho.

Shane, i think around $1k is a good figure for angpow present for our caregivers for confinement. Good suggestion of topping up another $200-300 each month for parents' pocket money.

Jane Tan, I think we expect a certain standard of care n education for our children that's y we can't fathom the idea of having too many kids. Some pp can get by with a low salary becoz providing the best for their children is not their priority.

von, at least your mum is understanding. My mum also doesn't want me to give her more but there won't be change since it's my MIL looking after my bb. however, when i want to return my MIL $$ for buying bird nest and some confinement staff, my mum said don't need to give since she is doing all these for her grandchild but i said confinement food is for me leh.. not bb... but she said because of bb, that's why got confinement mah... anyway, my MIL expects my hb and i to give, so better give loh... not all mothers think alike.

cookie,
same here my mum has to take care of my dad's meal so i told my dad on n off come over my plc to eat rather than eating outside food everynite. initially bcos of this we cant decide the venue of my confinement, big headache man...my dad scare at my mum's plc my hb wont stay then i will hv blues, etc...
maybe ur dad can be like my dad go ur plc to hv meals? it's really tough to hv different ppl to do confinement esp when cooking is concern. how come fri ur mum doesnt want to look after? aiyo...urs even more problem then mine.

ya am thinking of giving $1k also but tink abt the massage also sian...$50/- per trip wor...gosh...

yah, we only have $2k set aside for everything from delivery to confinement to massage lady. If everything goes smoothly, should be just nice.

Von, Ya lor this confinement thing a headache. your mom doing confinement for u? At your place isit? Then yr dad comes over for dinner? I dun mind staying at mom's place with bb w/o hubby. But dad can't take bb's crying at night, so tt's ruled out. So my mom has to come to my place. My dad can't travel to my place for dinner as my place is in inconvenient punggol n he works quite late. My parents side very problematic.... Sigh! Ya lor, the massage so costly as well! Sigh again...