(2005/04) Apr/May/June 2005 MTB

1717569.gif

Morning...

Ming,

Yea the Burmese maids all veyr pretty and sweet looking and young. They have formal english education in school but when they just come initially shy dun dare speak but after a week ok liao.

Actually they look like Vietnamese/Thai variety

Zyp,
Yea they are smart
But i am not too worried cos i will be sending both kids to childcare so just to help out the housework without bringing my whole fridge downstairs to pot luck with other maids.

San,
How's everything? Hope you are well.

Zyp,

Your maid needs to set aside some compulsory savings first before she can get her full pay right? My agency set the compulsory savings at $900. In the event she wants to go home before her contract is due, i will use the money to send her back to indonesia.

RE: Joint account with maid
If want to have joint account, make sure it's both to sign and not either one to sign.

Thanks mummies and I am still home now. HCG level still up yesterday but it wasn't going as fast as last week. So the doc give me option to wait till tomorrow to monitor the trend if it is really slowing down or if not i can opt for surgery. So i wait again lor since its only 2 more days. Tomorrow go back check HCG again. If really still up, may have to go for surgery liao. Only scared later ask me to wait again to fridy. already drag damn long but i also scared surgery lah. but if drag too long, also scared will rupture.

Zyp,
Yes, in my right tube.

Ming,
1 of my collic got it last time too but she was damn lucky. The sac self abort and she don't even need jab or surgery. Don't think yr coll did D&C lah. D&C cannot wash out the sac in the tube. Have to do laprascopy for ectopic which is quite ex. I had checked my shield plans and my company insurance plans, both don't cover a single cent for ectopic pregnancy if need warded or surgery. At first I wanted to do at Gleneagles by a gynae who is specialised in laprascopic if i opt surgery but the fees including stay for 1 nite is estimated at least $10k or even more and medisave only can deduct abt $2k the most! Since now can't claim anything, then I will have chose this KK senior consultant which is cheaper. His the senior consultant and head of that MIS dept for this kind of surgery so should be trusthworthy lah. Not going to take those subsidize rates by junior doc and take me as 'guinea pig' for them to 'learn'.

Seek your opionion. If i opt for surgery, there's 2 way of doing. 1 to cut off tube and 1 to retain my tube by cutting a small hole to flush out the sac. I should be able to retain if my sac not rupture yet and not big. Cut off disadvantage is got 1 less tube and chance of conceiving again is lessen since i only left wz 1 tube. If retain, advantage only is i got 2 tubes lor. BUT, retaining the tube got 10-15% risk of recurrence in the same tube as there's a scar there so egg may not flow thru well. Of cos' not 100% but got chances lah. Then if flush out, 5% chance there will be preg cell inside, may need to jab to kill it off again. Just like a plant, you pull off the roots but sometime, the roots still got abit left behind.

So I am so confuse if go surgery, should i retain or not? Hope to retain but scared retain got alot of follow up. Very 'fan' leh.

<font color="0000ff">morning...

hi san,
glad u r at home now... but it is a difficult decision.... i'm not good in advise... dicuss with ur hubby..</font>

Zyp, yar u sld have a joint a/c for administrative freedom and control.

Yar San, i think it's more so of laproscopy since D&amp;C is just down under. Hmm are you sure one tube gone chances of conceiving is down? Did the gynae say that? My sis's clinic says tt chances are the same! Ovaries still produce egg, just tt no longer take turns with the 2 tubes but down 1 tube. Though yes the feeling is 1 tube less like less chance. My sis had EP, removed 1 tube, but also successfully gave birth subsequently shortly after.

Btw wat gynae is that? $10K! Sounds like a rip off. i did laproscopy b4, ard $5K which i tot already damn X.

Speak to ur gynae/anr gynae again for more prof. advice. Dun be fan. Everything will turn out fine. At least your hormone level didn't shoot up.

<font color="ff0000">San,
It's quite a difficult decision leh. Think better discuss with ur hubby.

Anyone ggoing for ACT 3 International presents
The Very Hungry Caterpillar and other Eric Carle Favourites?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">san:
its a tough decision to make..

if i were in your shoes, i guess i would cut. even if chances of pregnancy decreased, i wont face another similar situation where i have to terminate pregnancy prematurely again.

what say your hub?

mummies:
i need some help here. my sis is going to US during the thanksgiving period. but her hub's boss has kindly advised them not to rent and drive around, or be on the plane or bus (crowded).. and my sister is wondering what is she going to do during that time?

can anyone advise, if it is safe to drive around in a rented car in the states during thanksgiving? is traffic really bad? what are the chances of getting lost?

batman:
me going!! are you??

<font color="aa00aa">ding:
thanks!!
i will pass her your email.. she just very quickly ranted to me just now abt the travelling part.

will get her to add you ok?

batman:
we will be there in the morning.. hope to see you there!

San,
perhaps you should seek doc's rec for your case. What are the risks and effects for future pregnancy. then, you can make a decision?

I had a close friend who had an etopic preg when she was on IUD. she had to remove 1 tube. She got pregnant again, also under IUD but it was a normal pregnancy. Her baby is about 4 mths old now.

San,
A really tough decision to make.

I had a dermoid cyst at my right ovary, size of a tennis ball at my right ovary...actually I had it before I was preggie with Paige &amp; carried it while thro-out the pregnancy, had it removed 4mths after I gave birth to Paige. After the open surgery, my right ovary is very much smaller then my left...so also meaning chances are lesser but still ve. In the end, I still got Seth &amp; he's also the bingo 1st try, kanna like Paige. Therefore even chances are lesser, there's always still chances &amp; hope

<font color="0000ff">San</font>
ya.. agreed v tough decision to make..
But my mentality is same like Krazy, ie go cut. I rather have my pregnancy chances decrease &amp; not again face the same kinda situation next time.

How are u today? when u need to make the decision? U talk to the doc yet?

Touch decision to make. Human nature will want to keep everything in tact but if removing one tube is better in the long run, maybe consider removing it? It's definitely tough since u are still so young, losing any part of your re-productive organ is a hard decision to make.

Talk to you gynae again to weigh all the pros &amp; cons lor.

Do take care

san,

for me, I would likely remove the tube as it would prevent similar problem from occurring again. I read so far that with one tube less, it should not significantly impact the chances to conceive.

San,
Oh dear, sounds so serious. It is a very tough decision. For me, I will choose to remove the tube so the the problem will not occur again.

Take care and hope everything will turn out well.

Thanks for all the opinions. Anyway, I am so glad now that I may not need surgery. Yesterday went back for blood test and my HCG finally drop. So meaning the sac is dieing and not progressing. So I may escape the surgery but still need continuously follow up for quite sometime till it return to normal value. However, the sac is still in my tube now. It will take abit of time to disappear but at least, it is not growing. So the gynae still ask me to rest at home as it doesn't mean it will not 'burst' when it doesn't grow.

However before i go for blood test, i sort of decided to cut off my tube rather to retain. Unless if my left tube there's also problem, then i will ask the doc to retain it. That's my decision but hopefully, i really don't need to do any surgery.

MIng,
oh you did a laprascopy before. That gleneagles doc, just his surgery fees is already $6K. GA is $1250. This 2 portion already $7+k. Hospital charges will make up estimated $3+k. Heng that day i went to him i never make hasty decision and immediately agree to op by him.

TSP,
Wow, yr fren experience really put me on hold using IUD as contraception next time.

any tods attending dance claases? Lisa has been expressing interest and we want let her try.... any suggestion where?

ur mood does sound better today. Keep us updated k ?

<font color="ff0000">Blurmom</font>
Ashley &amp; Clarissa went to ballet class at Dancepointe. But u not keen to enroll Lisa in Ballet rite? I think next year u can enroll her to tap dance if u keen. hehe. Ash already told me she wanna learn that when she grows big gal. Cant stand her. (cos she sees the bigger kids learning this in the class before hers)

San,
hope you are feeling better now.. Have a good rest and not worry so much k?

Think etopic preg is the one of the risks for choosing IUD as a form of contraception. I am also contemplating to go for it + monitor dates since my dates are quite accurate.

hi twinklets,
how's dancepointe? I wanted to expose her to other dance other than ballet.. but I can't find others also. So was thinking of letting her try ballet first. Other than dancepointe, are there other dancing schools?

by the way, for dance classes, does one parent need to accompany?

<font color="0000ff">Blurmom</font>
Her lessons now are better cos the kids now are more controlled liao &amp; able to listen to instructions well. First few lessons abit chaotic. haha. Her dance class no need us parent go in 1.

I understand most dance schools only offer ballet for 3 YO. 4 YO will have Tap dance. I think Hip Hop, Jazz will be for older age.. Dance schools like Jitterbugs, Crestars &amp; still got few more, but not sure their names.

hi twinklets,
thanks for the info! I called up the anchorpoint branch one and the person told me that we need to buy the "costume" abt $100.. now I'm worried that if I buy and she is not willing to learn after one semester.. what am I going to do
sigh...

blurmom,
there used to be a factory outlet in the specialist ctr selling kids clothes including ballet costumes. the prices are quite reasonable. not sure if the shop is still there, maybe can chk out?

<font color="0000ff">blurmom</font>
ya lor.. the costume whole thing sum up to nearly $100.. so u'll feel the heart pinch if she is not enjoying the lesson &amp; want to pull out.. Think such thing is like a gamble.. I also dun dare to pin high hopes of my gal enjoying in her ballet class, esp when she failed the trial miserably. But now see her always looking forward to the sat class, I see liao, also v happy. Cos seem like her passion is really dancing... as for NOW lar.. hehee..

Actually I'm quite afraid of bringing her to the trial.. I'm quite sure she will stick to me like a glue.. and refuse to go in.. For Lisa, it will take a while for her to warm towards the teacher then she will be ok. So first few lessons will be painful!

Yes, M&amp;M is really taken off the shelves. I checked the M&amp;M i have at home and these were really produce in china. Then I went to check out Carrefour.. only the made in Australia ones left on the shelf.. the made in china ones were taken off. Snickers too. I threw away all the M&amp;Ms at home

Oh dear...Take one baby bites also affected? I just bought one box recently and fed Kayla some last night.
That's her fave snack.

tigger,
got to find something else to replace already. Me bought the biscuit with Zoo animals and transport instead now. Tat one manufacture from SG, hope its safer but who knows...

oh yeah i heard from one of the store manager, barcodes that start with 6 hor more weary as they indicate its from China. Even chicken in biscuit was made from china leh, but i query store manager, they say its safe, but i avoid

I have one packet of the M&amp;M, in purple packing. It says product of USA so does it alos mean made in USA?

very scray abt the china thing leh

the milk issues is becoming so big.... i'm delaying introducing solid to my gal... haha safer to just drink BM...... anyway she show no interest in food... meaning she is not ready?

<font color="0000ff">tigger</font>
The contamination level is very low for these pdts so the chances of developing any health issues are small. But since it's made in china, just throw away. Don't eat liao.

<font color="119911">poshies</font>
China this time really shoot itself at its foot. Everyone scared of China made stuff now, not just food. Clothes, toys etc.

need to update all my boy down with lung infection... .last nite after milk... cough till vomit everything out.... haiz the new mattress we have .... all wet...... haiz... but after that he sleep very nice..... my gal very funny... was singing on her own lying beside me... when my boy vomit... then i need to bring the wetted bedsheet to the kitchen... then my gal noted that i'm leaving the room start crying.... then she say me ok... then i need to bring my boy to the toilet to wash up.... see me bring kor kor away... start cry again..... i think i'm very cham 2 kids all super close to me... don like my hubby... HOW!!!

hi valmom,
yup lor..... now no more china stuff... which is super difficult... coz almost everything china will have a bit of share... how how...

Batman,

Eric CArle! Wow You mean they have the play on? it is over yet? Eric Car;e is Thyler's fav author. He keep telling me like Eric Carle's stories.

TSP,
Oh no.. I on IUD.. Sometimes a bit worried abt ectopic but the gynae who inserted for me say got no increased risk of ectopic. Just that with IUD the egg have very hard time to implant in the womb so if it implants, it will be in the tubes. SO more genetic he says. But then again, I cannot be sure. I have to admit i also sometimes a bit paranoid. But I'm so irregular so i also cannot do the counting method.

China Milk,
This silly issue really make me see red. How can people be so unscrupulous? Last year thousands of dogs and cats died in US from melamine poisoning in pet food. And there was a huge public outcry to ban China produce. And someone actually asked " Are we going to wait til out children actually licks down the last of the bacon gravy and get poisoned by melamine before we do something?" In retrospect, we could all see what was coming. Just not in infant milk.... And Thyler has been drinking the dutch lady milk during weekends at my parents' place.

But still, to put things into perspective, the kids who got these stones were actually heavily consuming it as a main portion of their diet for periods up to 15 mths to show problems. so i guess small amounts will not harm much especially to a child whose main diet consists of other non-tainted solids.

Poshies,
Yes BM safer.
can wait til she shows interest. no need to rush

Kids' Classes
Think surely a big mess the first few lessons. I enrolled Thyler into swimming classes. He was all over the place. The coach had 2 boys and already very busy. Thyler did not want to listen to the coach at all. Keep doing his own thing. SO just as i was abt to pull him out of the class, I realised one day when he was swimming with hubby and his lil brother, he just hold the board and kick and follow hubby with thavis. And without the board, He can swim the breadth of the adult pool by himself. ok la, the breadth of the pool very small at my mom's condo. But still, in the event that he falls into a pool by himself, he can at least swim to the side to climb up instead of panicking.

hi wenthena,
yup lor now just wait then introduce slowly...

wow so good for thyler... my boy havent gone for any swimming ... mummy lazy... hubby not keen... so have to wait lor...

Wen,
IUD is one of the risks but not an increased risk of ectopic preg. Since the egg can't implant on womb, it implanted along the tube hence resulting in ectopic lor. Aren't your menses more regular after 2 preg?

can read more abt IUD here - http://www.babycenter.com/0_intrauterine-device-iud_3564.bc
Most impt thing to rem when using IUD is to make sure that the IUD has not expired! My fren's 2nd preg was bcos IUD expired liao so she got preg when her kid is already 9yrs old.

re: china prdts
just cleared my kitchen cupboards of all the china made prdts.. to play safe. Perhaps it is safer to buy milk from non-china produced ctys instead.

Tsp
What do you mean IUD expired? Once expired, will get preggie? Same as Wenna, I inserted non-hormones IUD, and my menstruation is very heavy. Normally on second day, I'll run the risk of staining my clothings, which happened once. Gosh.....

Buddy
At least ler ler swims! Joeson, he waddle like a duck. He's my big big girl.... Heeeeee