(2005/04) Apr/May/June 2005 MTB

Tane,
i'm not sure whether to start buying the stuffs or not. Very tempted leh, all so cute and nice. But we still dunno the sex of bb yet.
I saw the JL sales selling the cot at $200 for members, very tempted cos even kiddy place sells above $200, then again, i'm considering whether to use a mattress instead of a cot, very big leh.

Poohy,
I was even thinking of whether can carry some weight to trim my arms, its becoming chicken drum liao.

My friend told me can start buying the stretch mark cream liao. She say once reach 3mth can start applying. Anyone started using it? One tube cost about $21 for 100ml and was told can last throughout pregnancy, unless she means 200ml kind.

Icemilo,
My skin is very dry now, can even peel my skin. I'm using Nivea whitening moisturizer and toner. Didn't put any makeup thou.

What about try taking milk instead of solid food? Nuts can also help a little feel nausea as what i read in books.

As for the cot, here's what my friend sent to me:
There are a lot of good cot in the market. Shop at your preference. (Robinson have good selection) Recommend that you buy one that can allow the baby to sleep till he/she is quite old. Convert to toddler bed. Get a relative big one, don't stinge on a small cot. Make sure you can operate the barrier with one hand. Remember, there may be times when you have to carry the baby in one hand and adjust the barrier with the other.

Else can also spent on the braun ear thermoscan, its necessary to get one too. You got a sterillizer yet? Can start to look out for one too. I'm waiting for 20% off then start to buy all these stuffs.

Hazel,
Since you've already have experience among the rest of us, why not you share with us what brand is good for certain items? Maybe even what is really necessary to buy? Thanks

Hazel
what a coincidence! Do you think Dr Chen is very fast in his checking? usually less than 5 min I'm out liao..sometimes i wish he'll tell me more info. or he expects me to ask him questions?

Elle
I think moisturiser is fine, unless it has got retin-A or vitamin A as its ingredients?

hi all ...

i'm new here ... i'm 4 weeks pregnant .. b going for my first gynae visit next week ... can anyone advise as to what to expect during the first appointment?

WY

Hey gals,
Have not been here for quite a while...
seems like we have a couple of newcomers to this thread. Welcome!!!

Btw, i have updated the EDD list to include the May babes too.
Those who like to be on the list, let me know, ok?

<font color="0000ff">as @ wk 20-Sep-04</font>
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>April Babes</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Deliver at </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel79</TD><TD>06/04/05</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Icemilo</TD><TD>12/04/05</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>MEH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tigger</TD><TD>12/04/05</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little</TD><TD>14/04/05</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meow</TD><TD>15/04/05</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Funny</TD><TD>??/04/05</TD><TD>??</TD><TD>?? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poohy</TD><TD>21/04/05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stephanie</TD><TD>22/04/05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>GEH </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>May Babes</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Deliver at </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>oreo</TD><TD>14/05/05</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>bluesea</TD><TD>22/05/05</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>?? </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>
legend
<font color="0000ff">MEH - Mt E, MAH - Mt. A, GEH - Gleneagles, ESH - Eastshore</font>

<font color="ff0000">Do let me know if any of the data is incorrect or not up-to-date.</font>
<font color="ff0000">Anyone wants to join the list, let me know, thanks!!!</font>

Hi WY,

You gotta prepare the information: When is the first day of your last menses? Then estimate your due date.
Maybe another urine test to confirm your pregnancy.
Take your blood pressure.
Record your weight.
Ultrasound scan.

Generally, if you have missed your period for a week, you will be 5 weeks pregnant.

Hi Oreo,
My EDD is 23/4/05. I should be week 10 now. Maybe deliver at Gleneagles.

welcome WY!

First visit to gynae.. he will do a scan to see if can find the gestational sac.

U,

u going for checkup tomorrow ? hope u can see the heartbeat tomorrow!

oreo,

how u doing ? so when is your next checkup ?

hi poohy,

have not decided to go for amniocentesis yet. my EDD is 14/04/2005. my next appointment will be 4 weeks time.

you going for your checkup today ? do update us.

hi oreo,

my EDD is 14/04/2005. most probably deliver at TMC. about 10 weeks.
how are you feeling so far ? any MS ?

hi meow,

you know what kind of stretch mark cream we can use ?

<font color="0000ff">poohy,funny</font>
I'm going for my checkup this Friday which should be around 7 weeks.
i'm really hoping i can see the heartbeat.
Appetite's been real good, gets hungry easily and no ms ... at this rate i'm going, think i'm gonna put on a lot of weight.
Now, i can't even button up my pants, got to use rubber bands to secure it.
i've even resorted to wearing my hubby's old boxer shorts. Scary, huh?
I can't imagine how i will look like months down the road.

is drawing of blood painful? anyone knows? I so scared.. cos I've never been drawn blood before.

icemilo,
really? we can see baby's movement in wk10? That's really interesting

Abt facial products, I'm still using toner, moisturizer, eye gel every day.. is that ok?

Hi, for those interestd in the tollyjoy sales, here's the info I received fm my frd:
Date : 23 Sept (Thursday) to 26 Sept (Sunday)

Time : 11 am to 7pm

Venue: 29 Changi South Street 1, Changi South Industrial Estate, S (486771)

Free Transport Service at Pick up point :

Outside BEDOK Giant Hypermart/7-11 (Along New Upper Changi Road)

Thur &amp; Fri : Every Hour (11am to 6pm)
Sat &amp; Sun : Every 30mins (11am to 5.30pm)

Highlights (While Stock Last):
Enjoy up to 80% on selected products
Enjoy up to 30% on regular products and 20% on new products
(to be launched)
Special buys at only $0.20!!

Exclusive Buys
Wet wipes (100sX2 +100s refill pack) U.P. $8.90 NOW $7.90
Unscented Wet Wipes (120sX2) U.P. $8.50 NOW $7.50
Travel Pack Wet Wipes (30s X 8) U.P. $9.70 NOW $8.70
Mediwipes (30s x 2) U.P. $3.90 NOW $2.00
Mediwipes (160s) U.P. $7.50 NOW $6.50
Baby Napkins (10pcs) U.P. $17.50 NOW $16.90
Disposable Nursing Pads (48s X 2) U.P. $15.80 NOW $14.90

Offer Items
Baby Clothings @ 3 for $2.00 (selected prints)
Feeding bottles @ $1.00 each
Baby caps @ $1.00 each
Baby shoes @ $2.50 each

Hi Poohy,
Yes, I will be going for scan and see doc tomolo afternoon. I have been getting anxiety I think. I cannot sleep well at night. I have never been so thirsty before. Have to wake up at night to drink water or go toilet. Sometimes so lazy to get up. I had nightmares too and keep wondering if my baby is growing... Last nite, I imagined I felt my baby's heartbeat... crazy me...

little_ones,
Drawing blood need not be painful if the nurse is very skilled. Last time when I went for an operation at NUH, the nurse at the admission was so skilled and I was surprised. I dun feel a thing and she actually got 5 test tubes of blood from me! But I had my blood drawn at other clinics by not so skilled nurses... quite painful though... Everytime, I dun look at the oozing blood...

Do you gals feel the whole body aching at night? I will wake up at night also feeling my whole body aching... My breasts also feel very swollen at night...

wow, so many of us have the same EDD. I remember Tane is also 12Apr right? Altogether we have 4 gals here with the EDD as 12Apr.

About stretch mark cream, my gynae told me that the trick is to moisturise the skin regulary to prevent stretch mark.

The safest is to use Johnson baby oil as it is also safe for the baby. It is cheap and economical. As for other stretch mark cream, you will not know whether the chemicals are safe.

So I am applying Johnson baby oil now.

Will drinking lots of water help to prevent the stretch mark?

I rem my mum said she used olive oil when she was pregnant and it was effective. Maybe olive oil or baby oil will be a cheaper version of stretch mark cream.

When to start moisturising the tummy?

tigger88,

Is Johnson baby oil oily ?

oreo,

you should be able to see the heartbeat by then.
if you feel hungry, take something liquid like cereal, milk or fruits. i feel hungry easily too and if i don't fill the stomach, i dun feel good, sometimes feel like throwing.

U,

i also feel body aching and breast swollen esp at night. the aching mostly come from my lower back. i'm sure you can see your BB heartbeat soon.

Little ones,

Like what U mentioned, draw blood is not painful if the nurse is skilful. dun look at the needle when they poke loh.

Hi Tigger88,

yalor, so many on 12th Apr one...keke...for me it was 16th Apr on my first visit, then "upgrade" to 12th Apr during the last visit to Gynae, she said it's just estimation, will change as time goes by...

For me, me bot the Vichy stretch cream, the packaging said tested by Gynaes one le...but v ex...Olive oil ok huh, maybe i go get that after i finished Vichy one..

I have started applying the cream, cos having some itchess on my stomach and my breasts starting to have those "green veins"! scared scared...

Hi U,

I dun tink by drinking water helps that much. It really depends on whether ur skin is "stretchable" enough to take the "expansion"

If you are someone who takes a lot of green vegetables &amp; fruits all along, shld be ok one...

For me, i used to be in diet all along (expand and contract), and i m not a vege person, skin cant take it! That's why i have stretch marks since teenage years... *sob* *sob* so now, scared got more stretch marks, kiasu a bit, so start applying...hehe...

gals,

just an update.. went for me checkup just now. Its week 10. The bb is 3.25cm and the EDD is 21 April 05.. no change

my bb was so active during the u/s .. my gynae was saying he somersaulted so many times.... its so amazing. I actually managed to lose some weight 0.7kg.. so happy..

was given obimin multivitamin and calcium pills to take. Do u gals take these ? I am worried it may cause constipation.. can we dun take it ?

my next appt supposed be 3 weeks time... but my gynae is tied up in conferences that week.. so become 4 weeks ... sian ...

U..

hope to hear your updates tomorrow ;)

I eat a lot of vegetables and fruits usually, especially so when I am pregnant. I just cannot stand deep fried food and too much meat now. The smell of siew mai makes me puke... Last weekend, I bought a deep fried fish cake and I only had half, and I feel nausea after that...

Hi Poohy,
Really excited for you le... I imagined it must be so amazing to see a life inside you jumping here and there... How come you lost weight? Multivitamin and calcium wun cause constipation. Iron will cause constipation. Calcium is needed for bone growth of the baby. If there's not enough calcium for the baby, the baby will take yours, and you will be prone to osteoporosis later on in life. So better take. Vitamins D is needed for calcium absorption. Vitamin C is needed to aid iron absorption. So you will be better off with multi vitamins...

I hope it will be good news tomolo... fingers crossed... toes oso crossed... hehe...

hihi, i am new to this thread too!
i will be in my 12th week this sun and according to the last scan, edd is 11 april.
i was experiencing lots of neausa initially then it subsided and came back again these few days.. so am feeling not too good. bad headaches are also coming back. does any one of you know why? i thought they are supposed to get better and eventually go away?

a2002,

ya it was so exciting to watch the bb. I guess I better take the calcium and multivit in that case. The pills are SO BIG... gotta break them in 2 else I cant swallow them. update us of your checkup ok ?

krazbi,

welcome
not sure why your nauseas come back.. but maybe its due to the weather that you are having headaches... me too have bad headaches and aches here and there. Now I even got a cold ... more severe at nite though.. keep sneezing and running nose.

i was very ill for the first part of the pregnancy. it started with a cold and then it developed into a cough which lasted for 2.5 months... and i am still coughing occasionally, though it is better now. then it was the nausea. eeeiii...
my gynea comforted me by saying that its good cuz its a sign that baby is growing.
the last time i saw him, he just prescribed folic acid and vits and i continued to take a medicine which he gave; to protect the pregnancy as i have irregular menses.
so i guess he will give me more vits the next time i see him.

oh... u better take care. take lots of hot water. take mc if necessary.
i hate cold!!! especially the dripping nose!!!

hi poohy,

must be great to see the baby so active. do you actually see the BB somersault ? I was only given Iron tablets, folic acid i took my own.

hi a2002,

Will iron tablets cause our 'poo poo' to be black in colour har ?

funny,

ya I saw bb somersaulting myself... amazing that he can be so active and we dun feel anything lol
when's your next appt ? will u be doing any blood test or nuchal scan ? I am opting to go for an optional nuchal scan in 2 weeks time.. then will do a triple blood test in week 15.

poohy,

my gynae did not mentioned blood test or nuchal scan only ask me to consider amniocentesis at week 16. i am seeing another gynae at TMC, if he is ok, i will switch to him. my next appt is in about 3 weeks time.
you mean optional nuchal scan is your decision to choose whether to scan or not ?

funny,

ya in kkh, the nuchal scan is optional. I choose to do it cos its supposed to be more accurate than triple test for screening down syndrome.

Hello gals...
I just realised I have used A2002 to post my last message. It's me... Bad news for me today... My baby no more liao.. Going for operation tomolo

Hi Oreo,
Dun bother add me in the list liao...

Funny,
I am not sure whether iron will cause your "poo poo" to be black. I think there's a possibility there...

All the best to all of you... be proud of your sexy tummy...

u,

*hugz I am sorry to hear that... do take care ok ? Even after d/c must rest well ! If you need help coping, you can join us at the miscarriage support group...

U,
Sorry to hear that. Take care k?

I jus went to the tollyjoy warehouse sale yesterday. Nothing much to buy but i spent $30+. Got a few baby wipes and was told it can be kept for 2yrs, some cheap clothing at $2. Cheap but pretty old design and slight yellowish. Bought 2 milk bottles at $1 and $3.90, a bib at $1 and a rattle at 50cents.

<font color="0000ff">U</font>
I'm so sorry to hear abt. your loss.
164593.gif

Take care, ya?
Take this time to 'bu' your body ok?

Halo girls,

Can I join all of you ? Just tested positive and doc said it's 4.5 weeks only based on menses calculation. Feel so good, see so many familiar names from TTC thread.

Hi U,
Please take care and be strong. God will take care of the unborn child. Trust and believe

LV,

welcome! so did your gynae said when is your edd ? when is your next checkup ? 2 weeks' time ? So far u got any symptoms other than feeling bloated etc ? do u have morning sickness ?

Hi poohy,

My gynae did not tell me my EDD . only tell me to visit him 2 weeks later. Today I'm feeling very aching at my lower back, yesterday was backside. hehe.. I dont really have morning sickness but I took very little food this morning. Any idea when MS typically sets in?

LV,

not sure abt the morning sickness leh.. cos I dun experience ms so far. Hmm but taking some breakfast shd be good for u.

guess its normal to have aching here and there... same with me.. pain everywhere.. I also dun really bother to tell my gynae anymore .. cos he will keep telling me its normal lol

btw gals, do u all know whether sleeping pills can be taken during pregnancy ? I went to see company GP just now cos I got very bad neck strain that cause headaches and sleepless nights.. so he prescribed me with sleeping pills...

<font color="0000ff">LV</font>
MS can kick in anytime from week5 onwards. some only last till 1st trimester wheareas there are others that last thru'out. It really depends on individual.
I also don't have MS so far. Thank God.
Will be going for my 7 weeks u/s and checkup later in the afternoon.
I
164683.gif
and hope that my bb will be fine and that i'll be able to see the heartbeat.
164684.gif

<font color="0000ff">poohy</font>
Did you tell your GP that u are pregnant before he presribed u with sleeping pills?

oreo,

Do u feel any white/clear discharge these days? I read somewhere some girls have it and it somehow it's protecting the sac. I'm not experiencing it. In fact , it's still quite dry. Dunno normal or not..

Hello everybody!

U, I'm so sorry to hear about your loss. Pls take care, my thots are with you.

Oreo, hope you can see heartbeat this afternoon. keep us updated ok? I'm going to see gynae on 4th and I certainly hope to see heartbeat too. I can feel pangs of m/s liao ... mouth bland bland, tired and a bit of nausea.

Hi LV,

i experience morning sickness somewhere in week 5 but different pple will experience at different weeks or not at all.

i have those white/clear discharge. Probably is too early to detect.

hi poohy,

not sure if sleeping pills is fine. you know what my company GP said no medicine is safe for pregnant. i dun like this GP cos she always give me negative and stern feedback.
may be can try drinking milk before you go to bed it helps you to sleep soundly, it works for me.
you take care ok.

<font color="0000ff">LV</font>
Ya, i do have discharge like EWCM but mostly watery.
You're probably still in the early stages of pregnancy. Don't worry too much.
Remember to take your folic acid daily. It's very very important for the bb development esp. in the 1st trimester.

I'll be going off pretty soon.. will update u all after my checkup.

hi all, sorry promise to update you all for last visit to gynae (last friday)..very unfortunately i had a miscarriaged on monday.
feel so sad for my bb.
i will join back to the ttc thread. i duno whether i still got the courage to ttc again. i feel so sad even now it is still very hard for me to accept the fact that i miscarriaged.

u and akzo
so sorry to hear abt your losses. Meanwhile do take more rest and don't think so much.

tane
Indeed Dr Chen is very fast in his scanning. He is the one who will not talk much unless you ask. However if you ask him question, he will give you a clear answer. Overall he is not bad

Meow
As most of my bb products are passed down, i don't do much shopping for my bb items. Paiseh can't really help. But heard that for stroller, combi is quite good and economic.Stretch Mark Cream - Previously i tried mothercare, olive oil, Biotherm and i still feel that olive oil is still the best. It doesn't matter which brand as long as you moisture the tummy cos after using so many types i still get lots of stretch marks...sob sob.

java
Yes, i still rem you..Congrats to ya. Do you know the gender yet?
Hee..ya, i also think this pregnancy is too fast cos i think my body is still very weak from my previous miscarriage. I got pregnant again (3th time) 6 mths after my miscarriage. I hope this time will be smooth and safe. *Cross my fingers*

akzo,

very sorry hear abt your loss.... pls rest well before u ttc again ... the gals at miscarriage support group can give u encouragement and assistance...

U and akzo
Take care and rest well.

LV
I think it's fine to feel a bit crampy, this indicates the baby is growing. That's what my doc told me.

Hazel
I also think olive oil is the best. Last time i bought the cheap olive and it worked great. Then on my 8th month I changed to a more expensive cream, end up all the stretchmarks come out!!

<font color="0000ff">akzo</font>
Sorry to hear abt. your loss. Take care!
Don't TTC so fast, ok?
Give your body sometime (1-2mths) to get back into system before you start TTC again.