(2005/02) Feb/Mar 2005 Babies

why is my wen more like a boy? she is more into ben 10 and power rangers, other than the good old barney. totally not into princesses and barbie *heng ah*

folic, on changing school - at least u had 2 good options previously. i have no idea which other schools are good which are within walking distance from my place. location is impt in case both me and my hubby are not able to pick the children up..at least the maid can go.

jan, N is into ben10, fantastic 4, transformers AND princesses and barbies hahaha.
She has this HUGE transformer toy and at the same time she has the entire series of barbies dvd. Every day barbie - EVERY DAY!!!!!
My mind has been poisoned!
Slow torture EVERYDAY.
And i hate barbie ... barney ... just like i hate pink ...

jannie, the princess comes without warning too... it just comes! hahaha

as for school, i had to go through the decision twice. Once from her PG at my house downstairs to her current school. For that, I just had to rely on my own gut feel after visiting the school. I also no idea whether her current school was good or not at that time.

For the 2nd time, the new school is supposedly good.. based on other pp's feedback. However, I think one can never really say for sure whether the school is good or not till physically inside.

Whatever the case, just make sure that logistics is settled.. i think that is very very impt.

folic

fries, that was supposed to be MY revenge!!
you should be planning revenge on someone else too u know :p
So is IT in a nice display cabinet?? or did u actually hug it to sleep?

fries, i was supposed to ask u on marsden last week.. forgot abt it.

is iggy still going for lessons? at 4 yrs old, do u know if it is independent lessons or still need parents? i am wondering if i should go back to marsden (got heated pool!!!) or look for another. any suggestions?

qdee... mr fries delighted himself all night swinging the damn thing in front of Little Bell. and laffing away (him not the bell).
so revenge is definitely in the air! =P
dun worry the other party i got the revenge wrapped up in some nice TRU wrapper already hahahaha

jannie, heated pool is nice for the body, but bad for the immune system. germs breed better i swear. no ignatius is no longer attending and for 4 yr old is not accompanied anymore. but depending on the skill level of the child, i dunno where they will start you at.
at 4 yrs old, we are gonna send ignatius to another swim school. mr fries' fav swim school.

jannie,

Would taking school bus be an option? Not those 1 hr journey type but those 10-15 mins sort, so that at least you can cast your net wider to more schools.

If En is really happy in his current school, then just leave him there but u can supplment with your own outings or other enrichment programmes.

hmm... seems like most of us r not barbie, princess mommies... i'm not too. i hate pink!

jannie
who lost 1 kg? u or the kids?
do u hv any concerns abt taking school bus? M is on school bus for the return trip to my mom's place. if there's no concern, u hv quite a few options. Pandan Calvary, 7th Day Adventist. ard JW area, there's another church one which my collig's dotter is attending.
as for swimming, i think our kids shld be ok with the normal swimming pool liao. no need heated pool. M can last 1-2hrs in normal pool.

folic
giving TTT a miss this time. we r still trying to plan a sentosa stay..

re: Mommies' Tea Session
i'm on for 30 dec pm!

school bus is ok for en, but not for wen yet. pandan calvary is definately out cos it is more than 15 min bus ride for sure. so i guess i will stay put for a little while more.

30 Dec tea session
1)Qdee
2)Folic
3)Pax
4)Jannie

poohy, seems that that kindy has got some problems.. quite a few parents pull their kids out at the same time to join en's school.

actually, how to assess a good school huh? not alot of pple stay long term with en's school. i see quite alot of children come and go. but personally, i think the teachers are ok. all very caring and patient. only the K1s and K2s stay put. The Ns' children come and go. i was wondering if it's the high school fees, or some other reasons. how to assess?

jan, different ppl differnt standard and criteria la, one man's poison another's meat.
also if u are happy now doesnt mean u are happy with them later. Teachers come and go too and a school is only as good as its teachers.

gals, btw, you are talking to a future SAHM!!! hahahahahahah

qdee.. how far in future???? sigh... here i m thinking of going out to work... then there you all are... quitting jobs and staying at home with the kids.

sick at home n w/o hubby. sian..

jannie
why dun u put En in a kindergarten? Wen can wait. in the meanwhile, she can go to the enrichment centre. when she's old enuf, then go to En's kindergarten lor. my collig's dotter goes to ST Francis of Asissi (sp) near JW market. so far no complaints. school bus (return) is $75. eerrr.. why more than 15min bus ride cannot? M takes abt 20-25min to go my mom's place.

pax.. u see... clementi to clementi already 25 mins. to my place will take forever i think.

hubby's niece and nephew take school bus to school everyday. car ride is only abt 5-7 mins, but take school bus, take 1 hr. i find very very poor thing loh. en would probably hv peed in his pants by then.. hahaha

jannie
u hor. Pandan Gardens is not clementi. M is the 2nd last kid on the bus. tell u wat, when school reopens, i help u ask the bus uncles / aunties. there r 4-5 buses.

jan, i am out of work, role is here till at the most first quart of next yr. Anyway will know my fate in jan. THis entire year we have been training our counterpart in another part of the region to take over our role, in Nov they replaced us for a week and did it successfully so we kind of know la, our time here is limited. Everyone here waiting to silver/golden/diamond handshakes.

pax, tell me more abt pandan calvary. although i did read that jurong calvary is not bad, i have my reservations cos of the shift in some children some mths back. only thing is that it is a church kindergarten. i am perfectly fine with it, just that i scared A may be against it - he doesn't want to influence them with any religion stuff now. he says to let them choose their own religion when they are older, but i think also cos ILs are buddhists.

anyway, tell me more of their curriculum and stuff. now i pay SGD1200 for 3 mths (per term). i think this amt can pay for 2 persons in the same kindy? can use CDA account as well, right? i am not against PCF... just that i m not extremely comfortable with the teacher - student ratio. wen will be 3 in 2009 - they got nursery classes for 3 yr olds, right? or must hit 3 then can enroll?

jannie
we r paying 500+ for 1 term. for Pre-Nursery class (3yo), they have diff themes for ea term. numbers, alphabets. a lot of play learning. not sure abt Nursery classes onwards.

for us, it also up to the kids to choose their own religion when they r older. my mom was the one who encouraged us to sign him up at Pandan Calvary. my sisters n i all went to church kindergarten. my youngest sis couldn't get into Pandan Calvary (we weren't fr there), she went to Pasir Panjang Hill Church kindergarten. bus ride is almost 45min!

regardless of where the kids go, i think the most impt is that the kids r happy. only thing mr pax n i dun like abt Pandan Calvary is the principal. she machiam discipline mistress. half way thru the school graduation concert, she "scolded" the parents for not disciplining the kids who were running ard n insisted that the kids sat down before she allow the concert to cont!!!

best thing to do is to pay the school a visit.

Hi I am from the Jan 09 mtb forum, however my first child is born in Feb 05 =)

Only became active in this site since July =)

Has anyone enrolled their 3, almost 4 yr olds into a PCF ?

Also, got a question. Do yr pre-schoolers speak or at least understand english plus chinese?

I have never really taught my son any chinese because I am a panassian, and dont speak chinese at home. Hubby can speak, but has gotten used to english at home, so till now by boy really only can converse in english ><! Wondering weather he will be able to catch up to his peers once he hits K1 K2 etc!

Autumn Leaf

The only way to allow the child the opportunity to pick up a new language is to expose the child in the specific language speaking environment. i.e. since your hubby can speak mandarin, he has to speak to your boy in mandarin while you continue to speak to your boy in English. Children pick up very fast.

From what I know, none of the children who's mummies participated actively in this thread are from PCF. I might be wrong.

My girl can speak/understand simple English and Mandarin now. She picks up Mandarin from April 08 when I put her in my IL's house.

Guess wat boo boo i made today? I forgot that the school is not opened today.. i think teacher's retreat or something.. and brought yx to sch....now, she is sitting in my office doodling with highlighters.... :p

folic

folic hehehe .. it happened to some of us.
i din bring laptop today too :D

hi autumn leave welcome :D

Gals, i went to N's PTM and guess what? the teacher said N only speaks mandarin in class to the chinese teacher and she always lead the class in singing in chinese!! hahaha. i never knew that :p - there u go .. the secret life of my kid.

oh.. guess wat i forgot to bring out today? MY HOUSE KEYS! went to see doctor after sending kids out and mr pax to work. now at my mom's place..
my mom got my house keys, but i'm too lazy to make the trip back, so jus bum ard here.

is this the day of forgetfulness? :p

qdee,
i wish J's chinese teacher can say the same of him speaking mandarin. Each PTM, i hear the same thing about him not wanting to speak mandarin. haha!

bbgrace, en too. teacher told me that en refused to go for chinese classes. at first, they just let him be, but it became so often that they had to drag him into the chinese lessons.

aiyo, N was like that initially too. Everytime chnese class cried buckets and only wanted to follow the indian/malay teachers coz they speak english! Sometimes she'd give excuses, like sleepy, tired, want to lie down, etc just so she could lie down and not go to class. The teachers always called to ask why she's phobia of chinese. But i guess now is ok coz the chinese class quite fun, no writing no reading, basically just sing and dance and activity.

pax, jurong calvary is just 2 bus stops away from my place. maybe i should just go visit it next term. maybe their problem have been resolved since it was a few mths back, whatever problem they had.

pax, i don think she can last the whole day at the office... :D So made back up plans... mr folic took half day and i work from home. came home after lunch at ghim moh mkt. working is tiring.. she fell alseep within 2 mins after lunch... :D

chinese- i still think there must be a survival need b4 they start to speak. hahaha! yx will not talk to u in chinese if she knows u can speak english.

jannie,

jurong calvary is always full house. Their registration was sometimes in Nov and give priority to those with older siblings. So do enquire early if you are interested.

folic,

the school is renovating

poohy. thanks for the info. i will take a look next year lah.... anyway, will only shift them in 2010, when wen can go to the same school... i think they do not have classes for 2 yr olds.

chinese - i just started to sent phoebe to berries, she enjoy and i think she show a little bit bit improvement.
but the best part is, she speaks to her ah ma in mandarian, so guess this give her a start in this language.

autumn leave,
my ger will be at Zhenghua PCF next yr.

hmm, basically becos it is the only PCF with good reviews.
Will c how it goes. If not up to std, then will change.

poohy,
how r u n little one doing?

poohy.. ah! yes... i only recall seeing the dates in the letter we got on concert day and forgot about it totally. I still was discussing with mr folic then, that we could perhaps do a long weekend thingy since school is closed.. really bad memory!