(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

LL,
Wow! Very NICE !!!

Tell us more about ur trip when you have the time.

Steffi's very clever. Can drink from mineral water bottle.

709118.jpg

Joann,

haha. i posted this pic of Shermyn during our Desaru trip last year. She loved this playhouse.

where was Ju ?

709206.jpg

Joann:
LOL ju looks so goody goody with his hair all combed down neatly! VERY CUTE!!

LL:
Welcome home! wow, hokkaido looks cold! was that snow i saw on the floor next to steffi's pram?
There was a write-up on Hokkaido in the straits times a few days ago, now i'm yearning to go!

PAP Kindy:
Got to share this horror story.
My MIL has a neighbour in block who has been working as a factory worker all her life. (NO offence to them or to her.)
ie she has little education.

Recently she got retrenched and went to work in NTUC Supermarket as a packer.
She didn't like her job there, and quit.

This week, my MIL bumped into her and commented that she was nicely dressed.
My MIL thought she was going CNY visiting, but this neighbour replied

"No, not CNY visiting. I found a job as a PAP Kindergarten teacher and i now have to dress better everyday!"

Oh my god! i almost fainted!
This neighbour can hardly speak any english and she's now teaching our kids?!?!?!?!????

*FAINT*

seagal,
so funny, they are having the same pose !!!
he is at the church during the first day of the CNY.

cody,
Thanks. he sure look like those gungfu fighting kid. so china looking right, no sign of franco-singa element.

pap kindy: so frightening !!! maybe she is in charge of the 3rd language, hokkien ???

btw, i have just registered ju for the church kindy, will only know the result in sept. so you registered dean already ??

joann:
LOL hokkien!
nay, the registration for dean's kindy starts Apr 24.
am all ready - taken leave and made plans to start queueing at daybreak!
talk abt kiasu ....oh dear, i'm so so so guilty!

Carnellin....nope, I did not get to the Hot Spring!!!! I was sooooo tired....my HB did and enjoyed it.

Joann...itz ok and thanks for your help.

Cody....MUST MUST GO....will furnish u with info if u need. Eh...wat registration for Dean?

Account of my trip...

1. kind of regret 'cos Steffi is still too young and timing got to suit my princess so we did not go much places (guessed I was too ambitious...kekekekek...). Will definitely go again when Steffi is at least 5 yr old.

2. I actually slim down from the trip!!!!!

3. Weather was cold and it did not snow in Tokyo. It snowed pretty heavy during one of the days in Hokkaido so we get to experience a heavy downpour - not so nice actually, 'cos we've got to battle the snow & wind.

4. It was a struggle to put on mittens / caps / overcoat for Steffi...even when her hands were cold, she jus refused and wail all the way...

5. Travelling by train & bus in Hokkaido is ok, surprisingly....not as crowded as Tokyo. We travel quite a lot in cab for short distances, cost about $7 to $10+.

6. Food was yummy but I don't fancy the crabs. Guessed itz the way they prepare....only steam.

PAP kindergarten,

also got some funny stories to tell.

my friend's sister went to PAP to learn chinese and another kindergarten to learn english. her mum say PAP chinese is better but they are bad in english.

my cousin has "O" levels and she also teach kindergarten in chinese.

my hubby said he didnt learn much english in PAP. so he had to catch up in primary 1 becos his classmates who didnt go PAP, english were better. they didnt teach him how to write his name.

LL,
but you sure have a splendid time there

about travelling with small kids, yeah me too, cant sign any travelling agent for they tight schedulle..
maybe someday we can visit japan...

rochelle,
what is PAP actually?
and since preschool is not compulsury in singapore (yet) what is the purpose?
because all i can think of is enrichment classes..

carnellin,

PAP = Peoples Action Party

preschool is for the kids to learn their english, chinese and tell time. something that parents can teach but some kids need peer pressure to study. also they do a little arts and craft, music and other stuff depending on the preschool. They learn writing in preschool.

if you are enrolling your child into a good primary school, some teachers can be bias against kids who didnt go to preschool.

for me, preschool is also for me to have time to do my own hobbies since I get a few hours off from looking after my boys

Jen...chabo....me oredi has got the "DRUM SHAPE"...after the trip, I can fit in my usual pants WITHOUT FORCING TO BUTTON UP. But don't think it will last pretty long....a matter of time, will be back to my DRUM!!!
Didn't u notice that I'm always in baggy tops!!!

talking about singapore education,
when i fisrt arrived here i thought will be like ten times better than indo, but after experiencing myself, felt the same..

good school need more money heehee

LL,
me the same, usually after going on a trip will slim down a bit then after couple of days back on the scale

rochelle,
i dont know whether you have time or interested in this or not, but OPRAH just opened a form, anyone who stay in US can get to her show for OPRAH big surprise, you can open oprah website for further info..
if i'm in US i'll definitely signing in heehee

carnellin,

not crazy over Oprah or the TV. we only watch kids shows on TV so our TV underutilised.

its hard to get good free education in any country.

elmobbger,
NICE dsb. admire your painstaking effort at doing it.
wah..Ger can recognise chinese characters (i go dig hole and hide)

LL,
the trip looks fun. your photos looks great.
really envy steffi and admire you and the rest who can handle a bb/tod overseas.
got more pics or not??
and dun SHOW off your shape here ok.. you are alreay slim enuf. whats there to lose??

joann,
did you 'gel' ju's hair?
so stylo

cody!!!!!!
lear-li har? wats that lady qualification? cos she needs the correct cert to be a kindy teacher rite? or maybe just a teacher assistant?
maybe now pap kindy new syllabus includes "authentic spore engrish" :p

Jen,
they ask you if you are pregnant at least the 'doubt' is there.
People THINK / ASSUME I am pregnant.. arghhhhhhhh

cody,
when you q,
want us to go be cheermummies?
give you massage?
bring you tonic?
go entertain you?
set up tentage for you?

rochelle,
in indo, they many public school said to be free, but in reality SO NOT TRUE, they said need to make donation to school and stuff that... (can i say makin up)

about lego,
yeahh really pricy, i bought cheaps one

now cellin more interested in kitchen set,

any mommy here bought kitchen set that gals really like.. i'm thinking of toy r us one, but forgot the brand

carnellin,
In spore, education is not free but it is kept affordable for Singaporeans.
singapore do not believe in being a welfare state and do not intend to be one.

Kitchen set,
I think alot of mummies here got kitchen set for their kiddos.(regardless of gender)
toysrus and kiddy palace has many models to offer.
but i find that their stability and durabilty abit wobbly.
my kid loves her kitchen set, will play wif it everyday. I also got extra 'food and utensils' (toysrus n KP has alot!) for her, so much so that she now has a 4tier trolley filled with all her cooking stuff. Just got her a microwave too. very fun and cute.

lachesiz:
harlow? factory worker got what certification?!??
dunno if she's the teacher's assistant, but her exact words were "i'm a teacher". *faint*

thank you thank you for the ra-ra!
yes pls, pls come to west coast park to bring me roti prata plaster * 2 with more curry! :p

you 100% recovered from the flu yet?

LL:
you didn't like the hokkaido crabs?
oh man, i LOVE those crabs.
hubby and i ate so much of those steamed crabs in tokyo, we even ta pau S$500 worth to bring home for our families!

cody,
But I am now imagining my san gu teaching R engrish. :p

ME recovered liao.. thank you.

you tabao !!! so much!!! wahhhhhhhh
can i be your family?

lach:
LOL! wouldn't you much prefer to hide in my suitcase for a free trip instead? :p
my family loved the crabs, it was the BEST souvenir they had!

come to think of it, my entire tokyo trip evolved ard Dean and food only! :p
we lugged home the crabs, apple chips, wasabi-coated snacks etc. tsk tsk!

Cody....wow, u d can lei. I find the crabs very bland or probably I was pretty exhausted dat I lost my appetide but I did enjoyed their local authentic food...very yummy and the sashimi...O MY....so delicious & fresh and not forgetting Jpn curry.

Hei...do u know that GAP is Jpn is cheaper than SIN, well, datz wat my frenz said & she shopped pratically everyday in GAP.

Lac/Jen.....chabos, dont like dat lei. Let me b happy for a while lah....yes, I LOOK SLIM on the outside but no waist!!!! Imagine dat I had upgraded my waistline 3 times since d birth of Steffi. Now got phobia buying pants....only look out for the rubberised type...OMG...

Lac....am still compiling the pixs....patience ok....

carnellin,

I was in a Catholic kindergarten and primary school so my parents donated quite a bit of money. but they feel that the school teach good values and good english. my teachers mainly the nuns and lots of eurasian teachers.

Rochelle,
i have no prob with donation, but they can say out loud NO donation No signing in
, and quality? highly doubted!!,
in singapore: my friend also put her gal in catholic preschool, she said it is good, but too far from bt batok

kitchen set,
in dec 2006 at her bday i actually want to bought her one, but when we are at toy r us, she show no interest at all in the kitchen set, so we bought pooh car, but last thursday at school she kept playing with it, even ignore me when its time to go home heehee, so now i want to 'hunt' a good one for her..

any recommendation? brand and type?

yup...yup....I felt it here @my office. Itz my first experience - felt myself swaying left to right.... ran out of my office & left for hawker centre to calm my nerve...kekekek....

i didnt felt anything heeehee, that time i was playing with kids on school we were all running, no one felt it..

speaking about e'quake i felt one when still living in jakarta, staying at 19 stories high apartment, it was really big, some walls even cracked, and mirrors broken, we rushed go down stair by emergency stairs, 19 stories high and less than 5 minutes we already down (the adrenaline really rushed there), my dad only were boxer heeeheee many dad are only wear boxer, and women wear PJ, cause it night time..
everybody panicked and theres a mom carrying her new born baby down using stairs

nobody prepared, thank God everyone is fine, but when everyone already back up in their home, we still down at the lobby (yup nobody remember bring the key, the door was auto locked).. thankfully my bro not in the house, so we waited him like two hours to bring the keys (and my dad waiting in his boxer hiding behind receptionist desk
LOL)

carnellin,
I like little tykes. durable.
Though I have never experience one before and hope never to, my heart pains for those affected in the quake.

tremors.
was it very bad?

717496.jpg

this thread very quiet leh...
let me share my amateur attempt at a 'busy' dsb layout and a lousy take on a 12-month 'chronicle' of R.

i am back from Hanoi. its cold about 16 degree. my in laws are very happy to see ju. but this boy so accident prone, fall twice in the bedroom and is now disfigured with 2 big bruises on the right cheek. luckily with zambuk, its better.

ju has difficulty sleeping at the same nap time due to travelling and slight time diff, end up have to sleep in the stroller with the loud horning on the street, sleep hugging me when i can eating. but he is a fussy eater, refuse to bite, expect for sausage which i think its not so healthy. his fav is egg and tofu.

lach,
no la, no gel, his father is always combing him very neatly. i hardly comb him.
your potato dairy is always so comical.... enjoy them.

lach, love the DSB!
only one small complaint ....
can make it bigger for old women with poor eyesight like me prease?

aiyah, now i am itchy....
i love the monthly photo-chronicle!!

cody,
my in law are french, they are on 21days trip to exotic places take vietnam, cambodia... i always tell my hubby i am so envious of his parents, so self sufficient, endless travel, carribean cruise etc.. how many of us dare to say we can enjoy our golden yrs like that ??

yeah man ... my #1 retirement plan is to cruise the Alaska!

How's ju now?
I'm also a big fan of zambuk, on myself and on dean.

cody,
my hubby says alaska is too cold. we are hoping to go to venice before its completely flooded. so many dreams but so little money.
ju forgets about it till you kiss him on the wound and he will say dont touch, very pain.

my hubby being french, always use the word "catastrophy". the other nite, ju woke up in the morning, with the bed wet, as he had slept facing down and the completely full diaper had leaked. he called out to me and says "Catastrophy". we cannot stop laughing !!

tremors-
I felt both too, at the 15th storey. Was wondering whether to grab Athena and Irvin, and run downstairs- but hor, even in such circumstances, I didn't want to wake the sleeping baby. Hahaha. But was quite freaked out cos never experienced building swaying so evidently.

medusa! you changed nicks ah, almost didn't "recognise" u!

can't agree with you more, the tremors really freaked me out, tho i'm not as exaggerated as some to be seen crying on the street.... hmm, maybe that's how they got the rest of the day off while i had to return to work??!?!??

Dean has been having some gastro-intestinal upset. Consistently high fever for the past 2 days, hovering betw 38-39 degrees. It even hit 39.8 last night!
i'm so worried for him, but he doesn't seem to be affected by the fever at all! still playing as per normal, sigh...
nothing that the paed can do too, other than to constantly monitor, feed panadol and sponge him.