(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

rochelle,
sorry what is NS? yeah my mom really like staying at USA, she stayed couple years ago in LA for about a month and come home only because she misses us heehee..

KC,
thank you
that's very nice of you
.. but in case i need them, i'll pay those 6 from you lah.. i just dont like the way she handle this situation, still confuse what is she so angry about

jen,
yup, even give me cold hand and feet
heehee ... and cellin got viral infection the day when she called me and scolded at me... i try to hold my frustration not to let go at her...

perviously in france, you can waive NS if you get a french company to sponsor you to do a 2yr attachment eg in spore. i personally will like ju to do his NS although we are more keen for him to take up the french citizenship.

what is your take on face slapping vs smacking on hand or bum ?

GONG XI FA CAI! Happy Lunar New Year to all mommies & families!!

Joann: i'm def AGAINST face slapping. apart from the pain, its very damaging to the kids' pride and self-esteem esp if the slapping is done in public.

Joann
I - like Cody - against face slapping!
It's damn humiliating man!

So far i only smack on hand. but my boy not afraid

Rochelle,
Don't think NS will ever be scrapped.
Will you want to live in a S'pore w/o NSman?
curious, why not NS for your boys?

Joann,
concur with cody n mngo.
Face definite NO-NO, be it 1yr old, 10yr old or 100yr old.

NS horrors to watch out for

my borther ended up in Alexandra Hospital for leg operation becos he fell twice on the same spot during Basic Militrary Training.

my schoolmate had fractures on both legs during Officer Cadet Training.

my cousin pick up smoking in NS becos of the cheap cigarettes available

my hubby was in a camp with lots of gays, cant say which camp in the forum in case I get spam by our govt

my classmate was in a NS camp with a NS man that wears skirts and makeup everyday.

NS man does not make our country safer or better. its like going to school when u want to go out and play. these NS guys would rather be in University or working so we are being "served" by unhappy NS man

yuru,
are u refering to size 95 tops for cindy?

shermyn wearing size 100 for the homewear tops u recommended us last time. they are a bit big but has more mileage. heehee. that's why i'm ordering 110 next.

for the panties, she can't fit into the size 95 training pants I bot about 4 months ago i.e. without diapers so i reckon 110 should fit with her diapers on.

yuru,
look on the brighter side - cindy can wear her pretty clothes longer now. =)

is she completely off diaper during daytime now?

in my attempt to pick up some speed on shermyn's potty training, i let her go diaperless last night after we reached home.

this was what happened :

Mummy: shermyn, you are not wearing diapers now. if you want to go shhshh, must tell mummy and we'll go to the potty ok ?

Shermyn: uhm (nod head)

(45 mins later)

Mummy: shermyn, come ... let's go to the potty.

(mummy helped took off panty, S fetched a book to read while sitting on potty. finished "business".)

(15 mins later)

S : urine, urine ....

Mummy: oh, quick .... let's go to the potty.

(same step as earlier but finished business without taking/reading book)

(2 mins later)

S : argh ... urine, urine .....

Mummy : again ??? ok, quick .... let's go potty.

(process repetition)

(less than 30 seconds after S got off from potty)

S : argh .. urine, urine ......

Mummy : HUH ? no need to go so fast. You have just finished sshssh.

S : argh .... urine ....

Mummy : Do you want to go to the potty again?

S : (Nod head) Yes.

Mummy : Ok. I take off your panty, go to the potty yourself.

S : uhm (heads off to potty to do business. fetch another book to read while sitting on potty.)

Mummy : Finished? Did you shhshh ?

S : Yes.

(less than 15 seconds after S got off from potty)

S : argh mummy .... urine, urine ....

Mummy : AGAIN ? ....... OK ! let's make milk for shermyn and we'll go to sleep. shermyn's got to wear diaper in bed. (Distraction technique ... but actually, this is to prevent me from pulling my hair out. HAHA !!)

It was overall a good first attempt after being lackadaisical for so long. There were no accidents on the floor. However, the funny thing is ... only 1 or 2 out of her many times at the potty were false alarms. Dun ask me how come she can go so many times within the short span of 2 hours.

Any of you experience the same with your kiddos???

cellin still pee during shower time only

and diaper all night and day.. daddy still asking is it necesary buying her potty..
dont know what to answer

Rochelle,
IMO,
Take the stories with a pinch of salt.
Guys love to gorify and glorify recounts of their ns days. The more horrible the stories, the more macho it makes them.
NS is not a spa village, accidents will def happen. Just like accidents happen at homes too. (fact: more accidents happen at home than anywhere else)
Though I am also sure saf can improve on their safety guidelines, (which they are constantly reviewing.)
Gays in NS? whats wrong? I have personally seen them when I visited friends in camps. It's their choice and they have a real tough life in there too. They get picked on, alot.

saf has come a long way. what they provide now for the ns man is unbelievable.

NS turns boys to man. (I have seen it happen in all my guy friends).
NS builds a bond/commadarie beyond that 2 years.
It is a common language spoken by Spore man now. be they 20yr old, or 40 yr old....
I disagree. NS man makes the cty a better n safer place. And its not just them. its everyone. hence the concept of total defence in spore: economic, psychological, social, civil and military.

(this idea of total defence is a concept that many countries, both west n east, are learning from us)

Note: I do not work for saf, neither does my hb
just my humble opinion.

i so lor soh.. maybe cos Total Defence day just pass.. FEBRUARY 15.. the day spore fell to the japs.

seagal,
miss ur post on fox.
size 4 on shermyn? you make me happy

cos R fits into their 4 too. and i was so *paiseh*
Jshopper 110 for shermyn?? R 110 cotton pants still loose.

My opinion ...

There are people who ended up in hospital not for BMT too. My brother did not have any injuries during his BMT

Well well, it's only fractures. I fracture my leg all the time.

My brother pick up smoking in school! Before national service. And he was in a good, well known methodist school . who do we blame? Do we blame the school?

Well... Gays Gays- i've seen a lot in Thailand. It's damn common. I've frens, colleagues, ex school lecturers who are gays too? What's wrong with that?

Also, whats wrong with NS man wearing skirt and makeup. it's their own Biz.... also, is so common in Desker Road and Geylang and ... where-ever we name it.

How well do we know SAF before we conclude they do not make our country safer?

carnellin,
There are hundreds more wonderful mummies here than weird ones.

seagal,
oh my, reading S's potty episode is exhausting enough....
R uses toilet as an Excuse to get away from thing. From bedtime, from class(the first few days), from being lectured for wrongdoings. and also asked to go toilet just to irritate me when we are out.
All those above only results in her warming the seat, no pee no poo.

CONGRATS on shermyn's diaperfree days n nights

lach,
i am always envious of my guy friends who had such close bonding with their army kaki, its really difficult to come by. my brother being the only son is very pampered. i still remember the time when he came home from his first book out from camp, he helps my mum to wash the dishes. we nearly fainted.

cheap-po
i was just sharing with my colleague about how cheapskate one can be. a lady invited her friend along for buffet lunch. the bill came, only need to pay for one as the lady has a 1 for 1 voucher. guess what, she ask her friend to pay since her's is free. if i am the friend, i will "disown" this friendship...

i know of someone who will order a milo thick and ask for another cup with ice. he then pours the milo over and since its thick, with the dilute of the ice, he will have 2 glasses of nice milo drink.

joann:
*jaw drop* to all 3 incidents!!!

On the topic of NS:
no offence to anyone, but i think NS turns boys into men and i WANT my son to go through it.

Joann

talking abt buffet, i know of people who will bring fruits home! Fruits from buffet table.
and bringing packet sugar from Macdonalds home!

want to know who? pm me. heee

<font color="ff0000">Gymboree mummies!</font>

Any mummies like to order something from Gymboree? They are having some sales right now!
The plan is this, I'd order within this week with friend's US address, friend will accept delivery, pack in his lugguage and pass to me on 3rd or 4th March when we meet in SG.

Advantage -
1) US shipping charges lower than international
2) We get our stuffs faster

Any mummies interested please sms me tonight and pass me your orders before 3pm tomorrow.

KC,
i've seen the website, wowwwwwww those clothes and dresses are very very pretttyyyy
but can not afford them
heeheee, i'm still hunting for those clothes i've seen in woodland's pasar malam

only 10$ for 4 piece, thick and comfy too...

all pretty clothes and dresses of cellin's are from her popo, auntie and family friends hahahahaaaa.. mommy only buy daily wear..

yuru,
thanks for the encouragement!

lach,
wah ... rae's very clever to come up with all those excuses.

i think some of fox sizes are not consistent. there are a few size 4 tops we bought which are quite narrow so shermyn can fit but the armholes are too big!

mngo,
it's not too late to start. i think it's easier with boys also.

NS,
if I have a boy, i would want him to go through it too! it really makes them more matured.

Gays,

there is nothing wrong with gays just that most mums wont want their sons to be a gay or have gays for room mates *my honest opinion*

I used to stay walking distance to desker rd.

NS

good luck to mums who wish their sons will mature in NS. lots of my classmates has their maids wash and iron their uniforms every book-out. maybe my schoolmates are too honest and rather be downgraded so that they dont do reservist than to act macho. most of them succed in downgrading to clerks so as good as no reservist.

my hubby's campmate met a ghost in camp and died a few days later of unknown causes.

a friend nearly died in NS becos of a ghost. it freaked him out.

Fractures,

its a bone break. so I think Mngo meant sprain becos when u fracture a leg it needs to be in a cast for about 6 mths and chances are high u need to go to A&E. a fracture in a lifetime is more than bad enough. my friend who fractured both legs in OCS walks with a permanent limp now and he is a docter else some employers may be fussy abour hiring.

Guys bonding,

even in the states, guys bond much better becos they do less back stabbing and bad mouthing. they play by the unspoken rule of the "jungle" while womem have not caught on yet. just watch the donald trump show.

Safety

I feel unsafe in Singapore as I feel elsewhere. I still take the same precautions whichever country I am in. Maybe becos where I stayed in Singapore is where there are well known gangsters and drug addicts and I grew up watching gang fights. we get alerts as to whwre the gang fightrs are and we take a big detour home. we saw a gang fight where someone was killed and another was badly injured at the community centre basketball court.

Rochelle,

I see where you are coming from.

There's really no right or wrong where differing views are presented.

Everyone develops their own perspectives from what they have seen and gone through in life in their own unique way (of course, not forgetting the fact that genes do play a part as well).

However, for those guys who have still not matured after NS, I put the blame more on the environment they are in which allows them to develop as such. If I have a son like this, I will encourage him to be more independent instead of spoiling him further by bringing everything to his feet. That said, parents (being parents) will spoil their child one way or another - it's just a matter of the extent).

NS creates an environment to cultivate their maturity, although not all of them will turn out responsible and sensible, as much as the country will like them to. i too know of a few people who still behave very childishly even after marriage and kids.

The above is just my own humble opinion. My views might be different if I have gone through NS myself.

Rochelle
oh yap yap. a sprain. the real fractures u mention ... I've not seen them on my brother, and on my cousins, frens too. The % is small.

Sorry to say, but i laugh my heart out when you wrote "your fren nearly died becos of a ghost"

in fact, no matter how moms wont want their kids to be gays - it may be a matter of choice for the kid or it may be just their bio system. we cant really stop them from turning into such.

i think u maybe purely disgusted with NS just as u are disgusted with ... ?!

oh ya .. i stayed right in desker road where my neighbors were pros, and trans.

Hellooo Mummies,,
been away for sometime so never log in..

Cody,
sorry to sit on yr cd for soooo long.. i got myself a new HD.. so now can start burnin.. Other mummies who want the Xmas 06 pics, pls pm me yr details.. sorry for delay

for those who hv alrdy started N1 (pre nursery)for yr kids, can u share with me the sch cirriculum & price? does yr N1 include mandarin? i m hunting high n low for a afternoon session for josh that has mandarin.. cant seem to find one without paying $700 a mth!! i feel its a but steep.. anyone has recommendations?

ethel,
long time no hear!
was wondering where u went? hee.

u stay Sengkang/Punggol area right? I might have a contact. Will check and let u know.

me finally have a chance to log in today.. now at macdonalds.. hehe.. how's everyone?? me will be on leave till next monday..

aiyo KC,
i want i want.. gymboree!!! but i guess i am a bit too loate.. next time any gymboree lobang, remember to sms me hor...

seagal,
congrats on shermyn's diaperfree days!!

diaperfree troubles,
ger nowadays go out in shopping ctrs, recognises the toilet sign liao.. and the min she saw it, she will says "girl" pointing to the ladies sign and says want pee.. but out of 3 times, only 1 time is real peeing, the other 2 times is just simply flushing and washing hand..

seagal,
yr jshoppers pack sharing all taken? i am keen.. sms me if i can still share with u..
i prefer pinky colours eh.. hehe...

Gymboree-
aiyoh... I've fallen in love with THIS...
701248.jpg

(without the sweater inside lah). SOOO SPIFFY, SOOO DAPPER AH!
My mum said overly matured for 1yr old leh.

Locally anywhere sell such "suit" look, at cheaper price? I'm not familar with what's avail. in stores here leh, rarely shop for ahboy...

Re: NS,
Many terror stories... but hb told me that nowadays the NSmen quite good life... unlike old times, they hv to cook their own food and wash the metal tins... now, everything prepack for them, just throw away the plastic spoons and forks... hahaha...

Re: online shopping
seagal, elmobbger, medusa, I really salute u people leh... can tahan going thru the BP and websites... i tried to follow one BP thread to buy ONE T-shirt and wanted to give up leow...

mngo,

we used to stay near each other than. I used to walk from boon keng road to sim lim square.

we earn enough in USA to pay for our SG home bank loan with no savings. the only difference is that my hubby used to work 8am to 10pm (7am to 11pm not home) and now he works 9-6 (830am to 630pm not home) so my boys see lots more of my hubby. tax is much higher here.

medusa,

robinsons centrepoint carries these kind of suits

Jen,

when my brother did his NS after his poly, the food was catered by NTUC and the bed was dunlopillo and his camp has washing machine.

NS,

I was just explaining why I dont want my boys to do NS. quite a lot of my nephews and nieces has migrated to Australia.

Potty training,

my boy is scared of the potty but likes his Elmo toilet insert. he is still using pull-up pants. I am training both boys at the same time *eat snake mummy*

Chinese New Year,

Happy New Year to everyone. let everyone be as wealthy as the pig

gymboree.

clothes are much cheaper at the factory outlet. I stay near one so I know. so if your friend can go there and grab for u can save maybe 50% and your friend can earn gymbucks

suit
i differ in my opinion from some of the mummies. my fren got similar one and her boy (then 9mth old) looked so cute ! He wore it during the child dedication service.

medusa
there's a shop in United Sq tat sells formal clothing for children. i recall it being near 2 e information counter on level 1 but not sure if it has moved. went 2 united sq lately n there were lotsa changes.

hey.. dec mummies busy since fri?? no posting??

let me post my (IT idiot's) work... hehe.. i can only use "paint" to do it... haha.. i figure the powerpoint here and there also ma chiam cant figure out anything...

705146.jpg

mngo/lach, nice bo? hehehe... ugly pls feel free to say it.. kekeke.... but pls praise me a bit lar...

ger was trying to impress me with some of the chinese flash cards that her chinese teacher gave her.. she asked my mum to paste it on the wall..

705147.jpg

she stand in front of the cards, used a ruler and point to the word one by word, trying to be a teacher, and she read it aloud, really loud
"xiao! da! nan! nu! ren! shou! kou! wo! duo!"
then she look at me "mummy, duo" and pointed to her ear.... hehehe... i find it so funny.. she thought the duo (many) is er-duo (ear)...

rochelle,
thanks I checked but they revamped Robinsons Centrept, no toddler suits. They do have GAP in Centrept new wing though! But they dun carry their suits featured online.

Kelly,
yah I know that shop, will look-see this Wed

brb, A wants her nails cut.

hii mommies how are you all..

been quite busy, cellin now cured 100% from viral infection

already go to school since yesterday.. (and surprisingly 8 kids have the same sickness as cellin) and one mommy decide to withdraw his boy from this school.. she said this school is too much

elmobbger,

nice work, you are 1000 times better than me !!
barbie is amazing, i never attempt to teach ju to recognise but he is pretty good in his mandarin, but only my standard, nothing compared to those going to school..

Chinese,

my boys learning broken chinese, english and hokkien from me :p waiting for my dad to bring over some chinese CDs/DVDs and readers for me so that my boy can have some proper exposure to chinese.

Medusa,

you might want to check the bridal shops. some has very nice suits for the ring boys and flower girls and they periodically sale them. Shipping fr USA to SG is expensive else you can order from GAP and use my US address.

elmo, dun say I din praise you... ur work v sart (good)! paiseh... I sick... not online... else can teach you a bit on ppt... ask lach... she's GOOD!

yuru/joann,
thank u thank u.. hehe..

jen,
hehe... wa.. thanks for yr praise.. hehe.. was abt to come in here and ask what happen to u, didnt see u online... u sick ah? better now??

lach,
eh-hem... u good at ppt?? hehehe...

rochelle, I checked Kiddy Palace... they do have fancy ringbearer suits but it's not quite what I'm looking for. I'm thinking something lighter coloured, not so dark black lor. And I dun want shoulder padding/ drycleaning. Gap and Gymboree have such machine washable suits, abit more casual... but I'm still mulling over it. Thanks for the offer though