(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

TBL,

my hubby also will say got enough toy already but still "nag" abit will let me buy. he probably thinks I get bored playing the same toys with my boy since I am a sahm and my boy is sleeping less during the day.

This morning just hv the 3rd jec... so far my gal no fever! I ask the doctor abt my gal teeth, she say is ok but she nv hear anything like this. The most funny is when the doctor wanted to see her teeth, she show her her saliva!

Just nw, I realise she nt only growing her back teeth but also the front too. But the front 2 up and low one didn't seem to be growing. So I guess my gal now having 10 teeth growing nw! Must be very painful...

Now she growing teeth and just hv a ject, very worry her... dunno will hv fever or any illness..

yu,
10 teeth??? huh? a lot lei. so PD didnt manage to see to comfirm huh? dun worry abt the fever, u may feed her panadol if u are worry. did PD give teething gel? if really 10 teeth then very 'siong' lei.

dir dar you are so cute.
i was wondering.... where abt is zion national park or san jose in singapore.

tbl,
i din get to see lil devil froggy thingy leh.
you have the link?

cheap clothes can get at export overstocks at blk 80 redhill too.

I am back, yalor very busy ah... actually hor, even kei kei also very stress one u know :p

<font color="ff0000">yu</font>
waaah 10 teeth, my god, yr girl girl is very strong
don't worry , I'm sure she would be ok, soon u will see all her pearlies smiling to u

I really feel like buying more toys and pretty cloths too leh... where where?
I saw some cloths on babycentre.com ... so nice but they don't send to countries outside US

i am back..my girl turn 4mths ( for lunar calender ) today...: )

yesterday I brought her to the Fanstatic Sam for haircut..very satisfy over their services..

wow...all ur babies have teeth liao...so fast...hmm..must monitor my girl cos recently she keep blowing bubble and like sucking her lips...any symptons to show??

btw did anyone start the cereal in milk for babies?

I think i will only start solid food when she is 5mths plus...

next week she is having her 2nd jab..pray hard she is okay after that.

hey i just went to clementi next to the splashing pool..and they are selling carters brand rompers....look nice...not ex is at 20 for 3..ur can go there take a look...

mngo,
yaloh, when TBL and Rochelle told me about the Zion national park and San Jose, i was still wondering "wahh...singapore still got such road name like ang moh country." hehe, then I tot the Zion national park is somewhere around Zion Road near the Tiong Bahru there...:p

duffy,

if my hubby comfirm going US at end of the year than you can buy online and ship to our US address. than we sent to u by shipping. actually if known earlier, you could have ordered and ship to where my hubby was staying in US and he bring back for u (with service charge)

TBL
The PD didn't manage to see her teeth... The PD also say since I got let her use the teething gel and she is ok with it den she no need to give me.

Dyffy
Thank... I really hope all this will be soon over! Seeing her so pain yet I cant help her.. so heartaches... But at least when bringing her out, she will 4get abt the pain coz very busy looking at things.

GIRL
I give me girl eat cereal when she is 3.5mths. Now she is 5.5mths liao... Giving her at 4mths is ok, but u can also check with ur PD to see if ur baby can start now or wait till 6mths. I let my gal start becoz she eat alot.

Hey all
already day 2 after her 3rd jec, seem to be ok.. so far so gd...
Any mumy letting ur bb to take to chicken pox jec? I heard frm my sis saying if taking this jec, next time the bb will nt have chicken pox but "snake ( Hokkien)"? She also say coz the chicken pox and snake is same kind of virus. So chicken pox can get once but the snake can get numbers of time.

Any mumy dropping hair? I hv been dropping numbers of hair everyday! Now i very scare to comb my hair. one day once, after shower! For the whole day i will tie my hair...

<font color="ff0000">girl</font>
good ah, cut botak ah? show photo leh

my girl also sucking her lips leh, could it be teething? got to really take note too....

<font color="ff0000">rochelle</font>
Thanks alot!! I'll tell u when I see really nice ones...

<font color="ff0000">TBL</font>
I saw the croc too, very very cute hor... but too big for my rooms... no space left liao grrr....

<font color="ff0000">Dropping hair</font>
Yu, I'm dropping hair too!! lucky I just cut it short and permed soft wave, so with a little blow drying, it doesn't look so bare.... but scare leh, maybe later stage will drop even more.... *cry*

Duffy
My gal last few week also have been sucking her lip! I think maybe is teething or too hungry. Coz If we feed her cereal, she also do the same thing but soon after she stop sucking her lip, i discover she is growing her teeth liao. Got to check lo...

As for my hair still nt so bad. Coz my hubby still say i got lots of hair...

Hi, Yu,

can I knw what cereal u give ur bb? Okie maybe i check witht he PD next thursday when i bring my bb for 2nd jab...really pray hard she will be alrite..

HI, duffy...i long wanted to post the pic here but i use those conventional camera cos the digital is with my sis in law...once i have the chance i will do so...

hmmm..i shall monitor her teeth, my mil aso say she might be teething liao..

btw check with all mummies here....do any of ur bb now start to ahhh and yelll now? my bb does leh...is it normal??

rochelle,
yr hubby came back alr rite? did boy show him his new stunt?
so u will go US too if yr HB being posted there?

dirdar,
zion national park at zion rd near tiong bahru? kekeke... u veri cute lei.

duffy,
ya, veri cute! i must buy for nat!! someone bought another design, crab. but i think not as nice as the croc.

yu,
i'm dropping hair too!! A LOT!!!! though my hair is quite thick but still very worry everytime see sooooo many hair on the floor... wonder when it will stop dropping...

GIRL
My gal hv been taking alomost all Gerber product coz all the cereal start from 4mths above. It hv lots of diff taste!

My gal hv been start talking very loud since 2mths plus till nw. Nowsaday, sometime she will also laugh very loud if we play with her.

TBL
I hear from my mother say if our bb didn't drop hair den the mother will drop hair. It will last for somtime.. But I hv been dropping hair for moths! Luckily I'm those whose thick hair like u if nt also got to cut botak! Ha ha ha..

<font color="ff0000">Yu</font>
Yr baby also teething ah? Ahyoh, I keep checking every day leh, not yet for mine, haha...
Is yr girl girl more fussy while she's teething?

<font color="0000ff">Drop hair</font>
I am those don have much hair one, grrrr.... still drop hair really no eyes see...

Duffy
Yup my girl teething..10teeth! Last time I also always check her front teeth only but who knws, she grow from her back teeth 1st! NOw on the go of 10 teeth start growing together!

My gal will be ok if I bring her out to shopping, see things or play with her. If I leave her alone, den she will suddenly think of the pain and start to want to cry and call for help. Now I do apply teething gel to her very often as the one I'm using is more safe than other teething gel. My one can reapply every 20mins and others only can apply 4-6 times a day.

If ur bb start to pulling her ear den I think she is abt to teething liao coz when is teething, the pain on the gum connect the nerves to the ear so the bb will pull their ear. If my gal pull her ear, I will quickly apply the gel den she will stop pulling and more calm.

Teething...
If wanna to try some nature way to ease the pain, can try feeding bb cold drink. AS for me, I do give her cold fruit juice and fruit. I did try give her the fruit gel which is actually for 6mths above, she like it very much... I also dunno why, maybe is cold and is ok to chew. But if u r giving the fruit gel, be sure to mash the gel into small pcs!

hi, Yu,

thanks for your infor...where can i get the Gerber product???

btw where do your normally shop for bb food?

hmmm...i still mornitoring my girl teething....u mean bb so young can take cold stuff??

oh really..if bb dun drop hair, mum will drop hair...oopss..i gona monitor mine liao...is it very terrible>?

GIRL
Gerber product can get at cold storage, NTUC, gaint, kiddy palacce...

BB actuaclly got no prefer of cold or hot stuff.. forget where i read from!

I think my hair drop very terrible, dun even dare to comb, only once a day after shower

Yu,
aiyo, for my case hor, both nat &amp; myself drop a lot of hair... yr bb dun look like boy lah, still very girlish look. did u shave her?

TBL
yes i did shave my bb 1 time.. still keeping her hair wif me now.. haha.. i juz feel like keeping her first hair when she was still inside me...

Ya, my girl did try to poke her ear once in while... still haven't see any teeth yet, will still monitor lor

Baby will change their look slowly one, next time might be B&amp;W.... Beautiful &amp; Wise one... hee, don't play play

<font color="ff0000">solid</font>
I might be starting solid soon, can advise on how to start har, will be trying on ice cereal first lor, but which timing to start huh? Do I feed her in between her meals or feed half a bottle first, than half after solid? how much to feed for the first time har? So if no allergy, I'll continue to feed for one week every day is it??

I haven't buy the bumbo chair, so normally is it hold bb on the lap and feed her with one hand har?? Cause my BB still cannot sit well on highchair mah...

heee, thank you first hooor

STARTING SOLIDS

Hi Duffy

I didn't want to start JinJin on solids so early, but was forced to do so 1 1/2 weeks back when my ss dropped drastically very suddenly. Pumped and pumped but nothing came out, so I panicked and rushed to the nearest supermarket and bought a tin of formula and a box of Heinz rice cereal for babies from 4 mths. I chose the kind without any added sugar, preservatives, etc. Gerber has more variety, but many of them contain sugar.

These days, JinJin drinks between 170 to 200 ml of EBM. If I remember correctly, the first time I gave her the rice cereal, I fed her 150 ml of EBM first, then mixed 1 tsp of rice cereal with the remaining 20 ml of EBM in a small bowl and fed her with an infant spoon. As she was no longer that hungry after drinking the EBM, it was very easy to feed her the rice cereal. If she was crying from hunger, and I tried to feed her the rice cereal, she might not have taken it that well. I read somewhere that it is important that the baby's first experience with solids be a pleasant one, so they're encouraged to progress to solids.

There're instructions on the box on how much rice cereal to feed the baby. Since the first time, I've been feeding JinJin 2 tsp mixed with EBM once a day. Based on the instructions on the box, she should be able to take more than 2 tsp a day by now, but I've not increased the amt because my mom is the super kiasi type and she's the one stopping me from increasing the amt. Once the box of rice cereal is opened, you'll have to use it up within 28 days.

I don't have a bumbo chair or highchair (will probably get a second hand one from Yahoo Auctions). I usually put JinJin on her swing so she's in a semi-upright position before feeding her. Maybe you can get your hubby to hold Chloe upright and you use the spoon to feed her? If not, how about putting her in her stroller?

DROPPING HAIR

Hi Yu,

My hair is falling out too! My mom said that, at 4 mths, it is very common for babies and moms to drop hair.

COOING, BABBLING &amp; YELLING

Hi Girl,

I posted a while ago to say how worried I was that JinJin suddenly stopped cooing. She started cooing, stopped for a few weeks, the cooing returned (phew!), stopped again for a few days, then started again (phew!). Anyway, it's perfectly normal for babies to coo, babble and yell. It's when they don't that there's cause for concern.

SITTING UP &amp; CRAWLING

These days when JinJin is put in a semi-upright position, she tries to sit up, and when she flips over, she seems to try to crawl. She can't do either yet, but she's trying. Anyone notice something similar?

duffy,
hmm... yr questions on solid are exactly wat i wanted to ask. thks for asking, hehehe...

YYP,
yr info on solid is very helpful, thks! quite true hor, shld feed some milk first else bb too hungry then how to learn to take solid.
Natalie oso keep trying to sit up &amp; crawl.
but i'm quite worry when she tries to sit up coz worry she will injure her spine lei. as for cooing, depends on her mood. most of the days she will do it. but she laugh really loud nowadays! she likes to see daddy's funny faces, will laugh out loud when daddy play wif her.

TBL,

yesterday went to gynae so got the EDD as 4 dec.
my boy is lazy to sit but will sit for awhile on our sofa for practise. he is trying to crawl. my boy has two white spots where the molars are on the lower jaw. his two front teeth is now getting out slowly.

yesterday my hubby carried my boy at the gynae clinic and he wailed. my gynae was like trying hard not to laugh and just commented that I must be the one taking care of my boy most of the time.

yyp, how do u mix the cereal with EBM? do u have to warm up the EBM first (like cook it)? the cereal will dissolve?

Hi TBL

JinJin laughs aloud occassionally too. Not very often, maybe because we're not funny enough. When she does it, we'll run for the video cam. Her laugh sounds very funny. She goes "hick hick". Quite high pitched.

Hi Rochelle

Just learnt about the joyful news! Congrats!

Hi Jen

Just warm up the EBM the same way you usually do. Don't cook the EBM. I think the high temp will destroy some of its goodness (e.g. vitamins). After warming up the EBM, pour it into a small bowl, add the rice cereal and stir. It'll dissolve.

By the way, how much EBM is Jean taking these days? I don't know if I'm underfeeding JinJin because she doesn't seem to be gaining much weight. The PD didn't comment on her weight the last time she was weighed, but I think she's about 50th percentile or less.

Catch you guys later. Very late for work...

yyp, she is taking 140~160ml per feed, if i'm lucky... sometimes she just take 60~90ml and the rest i gotta discard... usually 4~5 bottle feeds per day, excluding night feeds which will be latch if she wakes up... last i weigh her she was 6.5kg and 64cm... PD said her weight was 90th percentile... hmm... re: laugh... jean's luff goes "hick snort hick snort" like a little piggy... hehe...

rochelle,
wow, may be yr 2nd bb will have same birthday as 'go go' on 1Dec!!
btw i told my HB u now preg with 2nd one. he very excited and ask me to start production now. :p

haiz... nowadays i oso dunno wat happen to Nat. She MUST see me if we are at home. If HB carry her out of the room where she cant see me, she will cry until i show my face!! tat day i went for mani/pedi (ok, I confess... i went for 2nd one in 2wks time...), she cried for 2hours until i went back home and see her swollen eyes!! she stopped crying immediately after i carry her, but still sobbing, very poor girl. see oso I very heart pain!

Duffy
The 1st time i feed my gal one ts and 1oz of water, as the day goes by i will increase it and also will add some milk powder in.

Now my gal hv already tired of eating cereal so I will add some fruit or veggie in with the cereal.

Sometime I will carry my gal and feed her, or place her on the stroller with pillow support to feed her ( so she can sit upright). Another way of feeding her is I put her on the rocker or bouncer. Our baby still cannot sit on their own so I dun let her sit on high chair or bumbo chair.

As for the timing, best to hv a fix time (ex: every noon 12.00pm and evening 6.00pm). Before give her cereal, feed her with FM or BM. If ur baby feed every 4hr, den after u feed her the FM or BM for 2 to 3 hr den u give her the cereal. If the cereal bb cannot finish, dun force her, they will reject it the next time.

YYP
My gal also got the same thing as ur girl! I think maybe their muscle are more fit now so will hv those look like crawling...

Rochelle
Wow... wat a fast one! My HB also ask me to be like u... but I guess due to BF, I will not so soon to hv the 2nd one so soon!

Hi Jen

Thanks for the info. Hmmm...JinJin is drinking more, yet not putting on much weight. I'll ask the PD about her weight at the next consultation. Maybe she's just one of those girls with high metabolic rates, who can pig out at buffets and yet remain slim!

PLACES TO TAKE A BABY

We've taken JinJin to Tanglin Mall a few times, and she likes it there. The foodcourt is relatively quiet, so it's easy to find a place to park the stroller and not worry about people spilling their food on the baby, etc. The food's quite good too. The supermarket there is not too busy and the items on display are colourful. There's a bookstore on the top floor which sells quite a lot of children's books.

Do you guys have any suggestions on places to take a baby? Preferably, not too crowded and air-conditioned.

YYP,
i normaly bring bb out in Saturday early morning to pargo, PS, paragon or taka.. now bb is still very young so i dun intend to bring her to non-aircon places too. sat is our family day to enjoy good food. so will bring her to makan places.

<font color="ff0000">YYP</font>
Thanks for yr info, I'm gonna need to do more research too...
May I ask wht time of the day do u feed jinjin?

<font color="ff0000">TBL</font>
Chloe also love to laugh at her daddy's face... I was just thinking may be all girls really prefer to see daddy's funny face and their lower voice.... ha
Waaah, Nat so fast will miss u liao, I was thinking it's a nice feeling leh
although heartpain to see her cry :p
Chloe doesn't really stick to anyone, so far she wouldn't even notice when I'm not around *dished*

<font color="ff0000">Rochelle</font>
4th Dec, wah, near to xmas

How r u feeling nowadays?

Thks for yr info too, which brand do u feed her huh?

<font color="0000ff">Places to go</font>
Hey, Tanglin Mall is a good idea, will try to bring Chloe there too.
The weekend b4 last, we brought Chloe to Ikea on Sat, Ahyoh, come back at night cry again.... this the second time liao, the last time was Suntec, where there's so many people moving around her think it frighten her abit. She actuall don't show it on the spot one, she just see see observe,but once go back home huh, she'll sleep and than cry like hell.....

<font color="0000ff">FM amount</font>
May I ask the amount yr babies are drinking now?
Chloe doesn't seems to increase in her intake and are still feeding 5 times a day from 10am to 10pm. The most she can drink nowaday is abt 110ml leh, worrying wooor....
Is it advisable to start solid even when she's not taking sufficient milk?

duffy,

my boy also taking 120ml about 5-6 times a day. as long as active its okay. starting solid would depend on whether you and your hubby have any food allergy. if have food allergy than recommended to postpone until after 6mths old.

now feeling easily tired but still okay.

baby clothes in US,

more or less comfirm we are relocating to US for a few years. so if u want to order clothes from babycenter or sale items from Leapfrog, can use our US address when we move there. I dont know how much would be the shipping charges to ship back to Singapore though

Duffy
I feed my gal Gerber product... NOwsaday I will feed her some fish or rice. Only little coz they need to really chew hard b4 swallon it.

Hi TBL

Thanks. It's not so hot today, so I may take her to the Botanic Gdn later.

Hi Duffy

We usually feed JinJin the rice cereal in the late afternoon / early evening, close to her second bath-time. If she makes a mess of herself, we can clean her up properly during her bath.

We took her to IKEA before. She cried so loudly that the whole store turned to look at us. When she's older, we'll take her to the "ball room" there. I used to have so much fun in there when I was kid!

LIQUID CLEANSER

I'm using either the Pigeon or Tollyjoy liquid cleanser for washing the milk bottles, etc., but those cleansers are so expensive. Are there cheaper alternatives? Is it ok to use regular dishwashing liquid instead?

duffy,
ya, sometimes i do very proud of myself and happy but hor, i have very little time to do my own things like go meeting with my friends. so these days I always invite them to my house instead.
guess u need to bring chloe out more often so she will get used to it. but she good lei, give u face hor didnt cry on the spot. :p
nat osos drinks 120ml abt 5~6times. only sometime at nite she will drink more ~140. tried to increase to 150ml b4 but she cant finish lei, always stop at 120ml.

rochelle,
so est when will u be there? will give birth in US or spore?

YYP, i think it should be ok to use normal cleaner . imagine during our young time there was no such pigeon or watever special cleanser. i guess the important thing is to make sure we rinse it thoroughly.

mngo,
it's good tat yr boy can drink 170ml per feed. but nat is always very happy after her 120ml and refuse to drink more, no choice.

YYP,
i think normal cleaner shld be ok, but still prefer to use special cleaner for bb's bottles. :p dunno lei, think the normal cleaner a bit difficult to rinse thoroughly and i dun like to smell too.

YYP
Is ok to used the normal cleaner just u hv to very sure is free of those soap but as for the baby cleaner, is specially made for if the bottle we didn't clean off properly, at least the baby happen to drink it, will nt hv any problem but if is a normal cleaner, dun no what will happen! Now I also stick to baby cleaner as it is much more safer!

Thank you all for the info on Solids and on FM amount.

<font color="ff0000">Rochelle</font>
Waah, not easy to be giving birth in US hor, less relative to help u around....
But anyway, should be ok lah, at least u are with yr hubby

You excited abt it?

<font color="ff0000">YYP</font>
Haha, I didn't know Ikea have the ball room back then, ahyoh I can't wait to let her explore too. I would still use pigeon for now lor, may be will stop using when she's nearer to 1 yr old...

<font color="ff0000">Shichida Method</font>
Will be starting Chloe on Shichida Method this July, hopefully she'll like it.

Thanks for responding to my queries.

<font color="ff0000">Mngo</font>,

Good point! After reading your post, I had a look at what the Pigeon and Tollyjoy cleansers were made of. I'm no scientist, but their contents appear to be like any other soap. Both also carried the warning that if swallowed, to drink lots of water and consult a doctor. It's likely to be the same for dishwashing liquid. I may be wrong, but it just looks like clever packaging and marketing to me.

I'm going to take a chance and use dishwashing liquid from now on.

<font color="ff0000">Duffy</font>,

Chloe and JinJin may end up as classmates! The Shichida school rang me today and I went to make payment.

My dad will be accompanying JinJin for her classes, as he's been the one teaching JinJin all this while anyway. He read Prof Shichida's books, watched his videos, and has been exchanging notes with others in Yahoo's Shichida Method Discussion Group. He buys and makes his own flashcards, and has been religiously flashing them at JinJin. He says that he has been practising ESP with her as well. It's too early to tell if JinJin has learnt anything, but when JinJin cries, my dad can calm her down more quickly than the rest of us in the family. ESP or something else? I don't know...

rochelle, do take good care of urself kae??

hey gals, how come this thread dun organise outing one huh? keke...

TBL, duffy,

the estimate is that we will be leaving in 2 months time. my parents can come up to visit becos they are both not working. so we are planning for them to come up in november and stay as long as they can. my mum is english educated and my dad is comfortable in english. I would be having my baby in US.

YYP, mngo

I rinse the milk bottles with hot water and then rinse again with tap water. comes out very clean. my mum said that good to soak the teats now and then in water with a little salt to get rid of residue milk.