(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

Jen,
understand there is a 2yrold toddle at nanny's pl rite? could it be Jean play too much during the day so cant really settle down in the nite?

yu, dun scare me leh... what is colic exactly? even the doctor also can't explain to us...

tbl, i really dunno leh...

mngo, no longer... colic is not exactly gas in stomach... it's more complicated than that... we asked PD and doc before but they say that's the misconception... that's why they usually do not diagnose colic...

Jen,
i heard my mum said if bb over-stimulated during day time they may becomes cranky in the nite. err.. wat is the logic I not too sure thoguh.
btw how do u apply ruyi oil? PD told me better to put some on our palm, rub till a bit warm then apply on bb's tummy in downwards direction. this way will helps to get rid of the gas in tummy. since she keeps crying, may be can try some colic drops, no harm giving some.

tok abt bb getting cranky. haiz these 2days Natalie oso lei. last nite too woke up in 3am wanted to play. funny thing is she kept yawning but just refused to go sleep!!! this is the 2nd day liao, hope she dun continue. really 'pek chek'. so can understand how Jen feels.
aiyo, why our ger gang up to bully us these days? duffy's chloe, Jen's Jean & my natalie!!

dirdar,
so good ah, 2days MC!! u take a good rest then.

Yu, Jen,

colic is during the evening time not night time and mostly affect baby boys. its something like too much wind. if its really colic than can try infacol.

TBL,

my boy also wakes up in the night wanting to flip, than put him back into sleeping on the back, he fell asleep again *phew*

my boy has the fisher price keys but its a different model. he likes alot
262829.jpg

Jen,
do u drive? got 2x when nat is really cranky we drive her go ard punggol & SK. she fall to sleep after the trip! can try....

rochelle,
my HB last nite just told me nat seems like want to learn flip when nat woke up at 3am! I scolded him said where got so "wu liao"!!! aiyo, then may be like yr boy, nat just want to do flipping exercise!
tat FP keys is much smaller than the one i bought. mine too bulky for nat for the time being. btw is it teether?

tbl, wah... petrol v siong leh... but then hor, jean dun like to sit car one... dunno why... sometimes drive too long, instead of falling asleep, she will cry cos confined in car seat mah...

Jen,
kekeke... i'm ok with petrol coz HB's company will pay for it! kekeke... :p but nat likes to sit in car seat, dunno why?
btw u dun worry too much lah, may be after jab jean a bit uncomfy. if u really worry can bring her to PD. Last time we brought nat to PD for detail check and found out the 'stubborn-ear-wax' thing!

tbl, who is ur PD huh? i also suspect the ear wax thingy... cos she keep scratching her ear and almost pull out a lot of hair...

my PD at rivervale mall, level 1. if not wrong it's called "the kid's clinic", 2 docs there, Dr Allyson & Dr Lilian, both are very nice lady. really take their time to listen & explain lor.
btw tok abt PD, I went to the compassvale one b4, found her not good. Very rushing in explaining and dun really listen lor.

Jen,

colic got timing one. 10pm is cosidered night. colic is around dinner time.

TBL,

it can be used as a teether. it is part of the link-a-doo series by fisher-price.

<font color="ff0000">dirdar</font>
haha, the way u describe yr girl bully u, very funny... I also gana many times ahhh...
but my MIL also gana a few times too, so fair and square liao... hee
The toy technique we also tried, sometimes can sometimes cannot, haha, I think the baby simply moody lor ahyoh, just wanna bully us...

<font color="ff0000">Jean</font>
Hopefully yr gal is feeling better now, think need more monitoring lor, sometimes there's really so much possibilities. Like my gal till now I also donno exactly why she don drink milk....

<font color="ff0000">TBL</font>
maybe she's ready for solids? hmm, just a guess, mine didn't wake up last night, so I'll cross my fingers to see how's tonight's luck :p

tbl, how's nat? last nite same thing happen to jean again... cry until v jialat... we asked the bbsitter to come over and she was quite shock cos whole day jean at her place also never cry until like that... simply scream and scream when the teat touch her mouth... but when i offer breast, she sucking happily... bbsitter quite amused and say jean wants me cos oredi "smell" me...

hubby and i suspect it's the place acherly... cos lighting different and not as cooling... *sigh*... tonite we are going to try letting her stay at bbsitter at 10pm see if she also got stunt... luckily my bbsitter willing to experiment wif us to see what is her problem... not to scare u but she also told us it's difficult if bb needs to change nanny ard 3~4 months... so u better be prepared...

btw, we got the same pd... hehe... but i haven't bring jean there yet... cos we have kinda "confirm" it's not colic...

thanx rochelle and duffy for ur concern... hope chloe is better...

Hi all, just wana share a book I read and borrowed from Library. It's call "The Wonder Weeks". It talks abt 8 great fussy phases of our baby, and apparently, week 15-17 is one of those fussy week...
According to the book, by week 19, the baby suddenly understand there's a worlds of events happening around them. He needs time to come to term with all these new impressions, therefor they will be very clinghy and will always seek for secure and safe feeling...

Signs between wk14-wk17:
- cries more often; is often bad tempered, cranky and fretful
- wants u to keep him busy
- needs more support for his head (because they starts to jerk and shake when in yr arms)
- wans physical contact
- sleeps poorly
- loses appetite
- is shier with strangers than he was b4
- is quieter, less vocal
- is less lively
- has pronounced mood swings
- wans more physical contact during nursing
- sucks thumb, and sucks more often than b4

hmmm.... I'm not sure how accurate this book of findings are, but it sure happens and describe my girl's behaviour very well, haha....

By the way, does yr babies like to play the gym?
I try to put her on the gym, but she just look and don't play, she hardly bring her little hand to touch it leh... can only stay awhile, than starts to cry to us liao...
I thought baby should be able to hit the toy and shake it already?

She can finally turn 90degrees to her side liao hohohoho *sieow mummie* sometimes she'll try to roll to her tummy, whenever not succeed, she'll be angry hahahaha *sieow mummie laugh*

hi all mummies...

I miss so much thread!! It has been so busy at work...

hey TBl..your gal is very cute with big eyes..so is she turing 4 mths soon...i really can't wait to see my girl can be like ur gal when her head has strength to sit on e bumbo seat....now i have try to carry her staright instead of lying cos think she dun like to lay staright anymore..but is it okie cos heard pple say thier bone not strengthen yet..

Hi, Rochelle..wow so long hours shopping..i really admire u leh...then how u feed him....>?

frankly speaking..i have not bring my girl out yet only between MIL and my mum and my won house...neber go shopping yet...do u think i shd start now? cos she only 2mths plus coming 3 mths...but if bring out..we gona bring all the bottles and powder, then after feed gona burp her rite....

Girl,

I bring two bottles, one milk powder dispenser, and one small thermos flask. also bring along a changing mat and some diapers and wet wipes. I bring my boy out to the coffeeshop and supermarket before he is one month old since my MIL and FIL are okay with it.

I feed him where I can find a seat. e.g. MacDonalds, coffee beans, starbucks, delifrance, starhub service centre(Tampines), nursing room (Raffles City, Takashimaya, Paragon)

its not that hard. if u are worried, next time u want to bring your girl out on a weekday to Orchard Road you let me know, can go with u so u not so worried.

its okay to carry your girl straight. you need to carry her so that her chin is resting on your shoulder and her chest is touching your chest, so that wont hurt her spine because her weight is on you.

duffy,
chloe didnt wake up last nite huh? good girl!! but not for Natalie lah!! she woke up again @ 3am, but luckily after few pat pat on her buttock she sleep again. **phew**
thks for sharing the signs betw wk14~17! hey, like quite true lei! Nat has 9 signs from the lsiting!!
as for gym, Nat dun really like to use hand (or dunno how to yet) to play. but when we let her rest on the FP chair we will place the gym near her feet. she will kick the gym instead!btw nowadays she likes to play 'hide-&amp;-seek' with her fav doll. She laughs out loud when HB use the doll to play wif her.

jen,
so today jean stay @ nanny's place till 10pm! do update us how is she.
ya, these days Nat like starting to have stranger anxiety lei. even the nanny said so! aiyo, next wk change to new nanny dunno she can adapt or not... worry lei! thinking to on leave nxt monday but my new lady boss dont allow!!!
said got important meeting i must attend wor!!!!

girl,
HB &amp; me started to bring Nat out since her 1st mth. Initial me too tot very 'mah fan' to bring so many things out but now used ato it. will put everything in a backpack so we have free hand to carry her if necessary. of top of wat Rochelle mentioned, i oso bring 1 more set of clothing &amp; few handkerchief.
as for feeding really easy lah, anywhere oso can though i prefer nursery room

<font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
I think u should bring her out more lor, cause my girl now will be VERY cranky after a shopping trip or even to downstairs...
I'm starting to train Chloe to go out more by bringing her downstairs for awhile amost everyday, so if u can do bring yr gal out more so it won't be so scary for her.....

Hopefully nat will be ok soon, don't worry if first few days she cranky, babies should be able to get use very fast de

<font color="0000ff">Tickle tummy</font>
Found a new tecnique to make my baby laugh, I realise she have developed more senses in her tummy or skin liao.
Try tickle her tummy with yr chin, haha, my girl laugh until like a child....
Tried doing tht a month ago, but she no feeling at tht time haha

I bought a music mobile from Taka baby fair weeks ago,after discount it's $39.90 (up.$119). There are micky mouse, mini, dornald, prudo and gooffy, and i realised that my girl like to play and see micky mouse only. Maybe micky mouse more colorful. If she is in good mood, she will use her legs to kick the toy, if couldn't hit the toy several times,she would become very frustrated and scream liao...really impatient like mummy loh..:p
later i tried to upload the photo for your to see hoh..

Update on the cranky Jean...
last night at bbsitter's place I carry her for a while so she can "smell" me... then when it's time for milk, ard 10+, hubby tried to feed... CRIED and REFUSED again!! No matter what, dun want means dun want... bbsitter tried to feed, also cannot... bbsitter quite surprised and said if this is the case, should not be the house problem... should be Jean wants to latch on me...

But then bbsitter tried to feed abt 15mins later, Jean fuss for a while before drinking... but at least she drink... so is it the feeder problem? Can't be dun like hubby to feed cos he's been feeding her almost everyday wor... after feed, bbsitter told us bring her home can sleep leow...

When we reach home, step in only, walk to living room, she start to cry leow!! piang... after that bring her to the master bedroom, she still cry but subside after a while... then put her down on my bed, she was ok when I entertain her... then i put her in her cot, she awake and alert, refuse to sleep wor!! My hubby and I have think she dun like our living room... dunno why also cos she lived there since birth... ***please dun think those 3rd dimension thing hor, unless someone wif 3rd eye can help me***

Anyway, we reach home at 10.45pm... at 11.30pm, I cradled her until she look drowsy want to fall asleep leow... then put her in the cot, eyes big big leow!! usually she is able to sleep by herselt... she stayed awake, lying and kicking in her cot until 12MN!! buay tahan leh... in the end, I still got to latch her to sleep... ARGH... I was so tired, I fell asleep before she did at 12.30am... hubby had to carry her to the cot... =P

SOMEONE TELL ME WHY!??!

Jen,

Heard my mum said sometimes baby will fuss when they are tired. My girl sometimes will get very cranky before sleep, i know she is very tired and sleepy, but she just not willing to close her eyes loh, hence the cranky....

When i was still breastfeeding last time, the only way to let her sleep is to latch her on, else no matter how i soothe her, she would still eye big big loh...

<font color="ff0000">Jen</font>
If like tht, seems to be the time issue hor.
One good thing is tht at least she feels comfort and secure with u.

My girl use to hate to go into her cot too, main reason is of course she wans to see us and not being confined into her bed.

Maybe yr girl reach the living room already knew u gonna bring her to her bed, tht's why she cry first hahaaa, imagine she just wait so long for u to hold her, than u gonna put her to bed liao, maybe she wants u??

Just a guess, ahyoh, if only babies can talk...

Oh NO! haha, Chloe wakes up last night at 3am again! she didn't cry, just keeps playing and smiling and laughing to herself. Unussually playful and happy leh! WHY huh?
Than I let her jump jump smile smile on my lap till 4am, put her back to cot also cannot sleep, finally feed her at 4plus, than she sleeps.....
Could it be she's ready for solids? hmmm.... but she haven't even 4th months, don know her kidneys ready for solids anot....
Yr Natalie must have telepathic Chloe to wake up together is it??!! heehee

<font color="ff0000">Thanks</font>
Did u give BB rice cereals liao? How's it so far? DOes yr BB still wakes up at night?

duffy
declan likes bb gym a lot. when we put him down, he will start to smile. and to kick the toy. if we play with him while he is placed at gym, he will laugh aloud

hi all mummy...
Dunno if u all hv this problem anot. Me everytime go to my MIL house, always very angry, dun like to talk to them coz they always say my gal need to go on diet, must control eat coz very fat not nice.
I nv hear anything like this frm others! All the other ppl praise me can take care my gal alone so well but only my MIL side always say no gd.
Sometime I really hate them, their hands so ditiy and touch my gal. They nv think that they are doing stall, touch so much $$ and still touch my gal mouth! So BAD!

Yu
mmm i know how you feel. for me, my mil stays with me. so i have different sets of problems. how come your in laws not so hygenic one. haizz.. could you try to avoid going to their house?

duffy,
aiyo, chloe woke up @3am last nite? sama sama, nat &amp; her really friend friend, oso woke up @3am... it has been few days liao, really hope tonite she wont be like tis! so do u intend to introduce solid to chloe? I oso dun think nat is ready coz only 3mth+, will observe few more wks then decide.

dirdar,
yr ger ger very cute &amp; girlish looks lei. unlike my nat, looks more like a boy. :p

Jen,
aiyo, seems like Jean really wan to 'smell' u lei. think u need to give jean sometime oso, may be she will be better after few days.

Yu,
aiyo, ignore their comments lah! my MIL oso like to comment Natalie no hair, boyish looks blah blah blah... i alr so used to it liao! But i got talk back sometime if i really buay tahan!! :p now MIL know i not happy so she oso dare not say too much. If she comments again then u just answer "ger ger where got fat? I think it's just nice lor! u want her to be thin thin meh?" or let yr HB tok to yr MIL? As for them touching yr ger's mouth I think u can tell them off, coz it's really not hygiene!

mngo, TBL

I cant avoid going there... I have to go there almost everyday coz my HB got to help them bank in $$ at night. If I dun accompany my HB go home, he will angry and quarrel.
I cant talk back to them, my HB will angry me. And the best, my HB also cahoot with them say gal fat! Nw I feeding my gal cereal, he say i feed too much but my BM supply nw not enough for gal. They cant understand me! Lucky I got my side always listening to me...

MIL

my MIL rub the "dirt" off my boy's neck until his neck has broken skin. baby a little bit dirty is okay no need to rub so hard until skin broken
see already really heartache

Rochelle,
baby so young got dirt meh? must be very painful

Yu
actually when baby is fat, is not neccessary the cereal factor. somehow after a while , bb will slim down automatically. At least your own side listening to you. if not, you can always come in to share share

rochelle,
aiyo, poor boy boy...

did u ard when yr MIL RUB the 'dirt'?? may be u ask yr HB to tok to MIL not to do it next time. tell her to use cloth + warm water will do.

Yu,
eh... yr HB very 'da4 nan2 ren2' lei.
mngo is rite! bb will slim down later. then they will miss yr bb's 'bah bah' time! nvm lah, we all oso listening to u. at least u have support group here mah! cheer up!!

TBL,mngo,yu

becos our babies are still "fat" so the sweat dirt gets stuck in the folds of the skin. my MIL use warm water and cloth but rub with the cloth until the dirt all gone. so of cos skin becomes sore and broken.

our babies will slim down later when they can crawl and walk so no need to cut down on their food/milk

hi, Rochelle, TBL and Duffy..

thanks for ur advise....wow..i really envy ur leh..i dun even dare to bring my girl down to coffe shop leh..cos i afradit he air is dusty..hee...but think after reading ur thread...i think i very super kaisu...okie..shall heed ur advice..bring her out more ogten...

Rochelle..okie..i will ask u out if i going Orchard in weekday so i will not be worried that i cannot handle my girl..

Hi, mngo...

my pram is maclaren...but not sure if it is XT pram...is cost $300+, is that which u are referring to? why leh?

hey all mummy...
thank for all ur ear! Acutally I also dun wan to care much of wat they say coz I alone take care of the bb, I dun think they should give all those bad comment.
Do u all know I'm just 20, can take care of the bb alone since she was born till nw is not an easy task! I really think I have try and give my best to my gal.

Yu,
hey, u are really young!!

ya, give yrself a pat on the shoulder for the good work!! actually all of us are trying to give 'our' best to our bbs, so dun care wat others say lah! just do wat we can lor.

Girl,
if the haze is too thick then better dun bring bb out. but if normal days shld be fine lah, dun worry.

Girl
oh.. i was thinking of getting the maclaren pram, but then not sure if it is heavy or how good the pram is.

Wow Yu
u are so young. a young mummy. how i envy you leh... next time when yr child grows up, you will be so young still.

mngo,

I got a grandma working in the kopitiam who uses the mclaren volo for her granddaughter who is already 5 yrs old. I saw alot of people using that model also at the expo. another common model I see people using is the mclaren triumph. both are lightweight models

talk about MIL, i also got things to say...haiee...
Due to long holiday last friday, we brought our girl to my MIL's house to stay. Then my PIL want my girl to sleep with them at night, thinking of they hardly got the chance to be with her, so I agreed loh...then, next day my MIL told me she never feed baby at night, just feed her water will do. And she instructed me to do so every night...walau, how can not feed her at night for so many hours leh? my baby needs nutrition to grow one leh....

I think i will never allow my girl to sleep with them liao...no doubt they also dote on her very much lah, just that i couldn't accept their method loh...

dirdar,
my MIL oso told me this theory. feed water at nite so bb next time will not wake up for milk in the nite!! aiyo! I oso cant accept lah! how can we feed them water since bb actually wants and NEED milk!
btw I never 'fang xin' to let PIL taking care of my bb. coz i know they have lots of their own tehory which i think is not logical nor acceptable.

hey! natalie knows how to flip alr!!! on Good Friday morning, we found her scream for help in bb cot, facing down! then we put her on the bed ask her to show us how to flip. She then flip many times to show off until she became very tired &amp; exhausted and ask for milk milk 1 hr b4 her supposed feeding time!!! I'm sooo happy, recorded the whole thing in the video-cam! that was hubby's birthday, so think Nat is trying to present birthday present to daddy.

TBL,
So exciting... Natalie flipping to show daddy on his bday... Gald u caught in on videocamera! Can replay again and again and again.

Xavier did a double flip today! Front to back, thn back to front. I was so excited I quickly shouted for my hubby who was lvg for work. Too bad he didnt hv the chance to see..

duffy,
Yes, I've been feeding Xavier rice cereal. Duno whtr it's a coincidence bt he really doesnt wake up in the middle of the night anymore.

Yu,
U r really young! Salute you for taking care of ur gal. PILs can b unbearable. Bt mayb u shd tok to ur hubby to let him understand ur frustrations? There's no reason y he shd always side with his parents.

<font color="ff0000">Yu</font>
Sometimes I feel the ILs just wanna put in their opinions here and there, just to show they have experience before.... the thing is it doesn't always apply to every baby. And only the mother or caretaker knows best wht's right for the baby mah!
Sometimes I feel, they just wanna challenge u lor, like when u say baby is sleepy already, they will immediately play with baby make her hyper and say "see, where got sleepy" ... grrrr... and later baby cranky only we know....

Don't care abt wht they say lor, u knows best. Although I understand it's very pei ceh one

Wah, you are so young leh, I envy haha! Don't care abt wht those ppl say lor, u are the one taking care everyday, who would have known better than u, right?

<font color="ff0000">Rochelle</font>
waah, ahyoh, poor boi, don need to rub until so jiat let one mah... grrrr...
I will always find dirt too, but I rub it clean when I bath her, with water and cloth ... and it's all clean!

<font color="ff0000">dirdar</font>
I heard abt feeding water to baby at night before. I wouldn’t say I won't agree to do it, if my baby has had enough milk in the day, and I would wanna train her to sleep thru the night. It's one of the ways to train lor, although while saying that I haven't done so before, and I'm not sure...

<font color="0000ff">flip</font>
My girl girl still don know how to flip... how huh? How to encourage her to flip?
I'm gonna start work this Friday, gonna have less time to play with her liao

My MIL wouldn't play much with her one, most of the times she will hug her and talk to her....
Think I'm missing my girl already...