(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

Hi, Maple Leaf,

thanks for all the informations..phew, lucky not neccessary to double the weight by 3 months, cos I really worrie my girl will not hit double of her weight by this 28th opf March
I heard that there a shop in forum having the first hair cut free and also there a cert along, but i can't remember where i saw this thread...anyone has any ideas?

Hi, Duffy,

great that ur girl din cry, maybe i aso bring along a toy to distract her..btw just check shall we give our baby any "liang" before the jab? What shall we give? btw is Chloe's head strong enough now to sit the bumbo seat?

OH I saw the bumbo seat in another thread too..not sure if wana get.

<font color="ff0000">Maple</font>
haha, abit hor, the hair starts dropping already is it? stylo milo ahhh heehee... me too, think if got time will go shave liao lor

<font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
wht is "liang" huh :p
I don think her head is strong enough to sit in bumbo leh, will swing here swing there haha

I might not consider getting one liao, cause I'm thinking to get a high chair instead lor... cause later stage still can use mah, although not as mobile as bumbo.

Just finish feeding my girl her morning feed, put her back to sleep liao... these few nights very cham, she simply wouldn't go to sleep until 1am! and she's really cranky....
I am thinking of starting the "checking method" tonight, ahyoh, don know successful anot...

You're Welcome, GIRL! Glad to know that it help to ease your worries.

Duffy,
The past 2 nites Aaron's behaviour also very funny, keep waking up for his nite feeds @ about 3-4 hrs interval. Perhaps he's trying to increase his intake again. Heard that bbs do get their growth spurt @ 3 months, perhaps he's in one of those phase. He also get more cranky now when he's sleepy and sometimes dun even cry for milk after 6 hrs in the day. Aiyo dunno what's wrong and the nite before he 'poo poo' @ 3 a.m. in the morning.

What's the 'checking method'?

Hey, I've read one of the sign tht baby is ready for solids is to wake up in the night for milk. Aaron is in he's fourth month right? Could it be he's ready?

Checking Method is like wht they are doing lor.
Put Baby into bed at night, and let them learn how to fall asleep herself, only come back to check and pat them when they cry. And each time u increase the timeframe before u go to check on them everytime. eventually in a few days they will learn to sleep on their own.

I'll improvise though, will still hug my BB up if she cry until red red... haha

hi, Maple and duffy..

my baby girl also get cranky nowadays....she will cry if she wana sleep..and also start to rub her eyes and face...she start to stare at her own hands now when she lift them up..

hmm..."liang" means to drink something to prevent getting fever*touchwood* after the injection like jinsheng lah..etc..so i wana knw do any of the mummies here give their babies drink any??

Duffy
No lah, Aaron still 3+ month, juz 1 day younger than Chloe. Dunno leh, I dun wish to start him on solid so early leh. Thinking to introduce around 5th mth, would like him to have more breastmilk.

Tks for explaining on the checking method.

BTW, I find Aaron &amp; Chloe's routine quite close leh.
Sumtime also quite messy cause if he sleeps till quite late in the morning then got to bath him around 2~3 o'clock. In order to set a routine do we kinda 'force' them to wake up in the morning?

GIRL,
Its very cute to see them staring at their own hands rite ... heehee ....

I did hear my mum mention b4 to give 'liang' but I didn't &amp; thank god so far Aaron is alrite without the 'liang'(keep my finger cross).

May I ask when you all said that your bb sleeps for 10+ hrs, do you all mean that they do not wake up at all for any feeds?Or they're being fed while they're sleeping?

yalor, quite messy. But what I alwasy do is to wake Chloe up at 7 - 8 am to feed her. After which Chloe will go back to sleep till 10 or 11pm. tht's all I can enforce lor, after tht is really up to Chloe and MIL, haha, I cannot do much leh.

Hey I forgot, wht time does Aaron fall asleep at night, he will sleep till morning right?

Duffy,
Aaron's rough schedule is as follows :

- 9.30 or 10 p.m. - clean-up then he'll nap
- will be wide awake after 30min to an hr, then play with us till his next feed @ 11p.m. or 12a.m.
- sleep after feed
- 5~6 a.m. wake up for feed and fall asleep again
- 9~10 a.m. wake up for feed (sumtimes just wake up and won't cry for milk till 11+ a.m.)
- will usually try to keep him awake and bath him 1 hr after feed but if he fall asleep during this time, then no choice but to feed him @ about 2-3p.m. lor.
- after bathe, he usually nap for 1-2 hrs then wake up for his feed.
- from 2- 9.30p.m, he'll take nap(around 30 minsto an hr) in btw

I think his schedule is more messy than Chloe's ya cause sometimes he can go 5~6 hrs without milk also in the day. I'm actually wondering whether shd I continue to feed on dd or just feed him @ most with 4 hrs interval.

The nite before he slept @ around 10+ then start to wake up @ 3 a.m. and that continue for yesterday nite also. Think I should try to feed him again @ around 12+ to 1+ and hope that it can last him till 6 a.m. man.

Actually I think huh.. sleeping early at 10plus is good leh, so that he can be fully awake for bath earlier. In my opinion lah, I think Baby's timing should eventually be ˯ lor....
*easier said than done haha*

What I think u need to acheive instead is to let him goes off the 3am feed and sleep thru till 6am feed, u think?

<font color="0000ff">Feed</font>
I didn't wait too long nowadays, I waited abt 3.5 hrs to 4 hrs the most to feed her. Reason because I realise Chloe not taking enough milk for a day leh. She needs abt 900ml for her weight, but she's only taking 600ml in average... ahyoh, so I think for me must force her to eat lor...

<font color="0000ff">sleep</font>
Tonight I have successfully put Chloe to bed at 10.30pm, haha, she is actually very tired but simply don know how to go to sleep by herself.
I let her have her last feed at 9pm, than try to show her some books, than put her into the cot...
Ahyoh, but start crying ahh, I pick her up only when I see tears, than put her back when she's calm.
repeated a few times, in the end when she is half asleep on my shoulder, I quickly put her down, than sleep liao.... whole ordeal abt 30mins...
Not very successful actually haha, cause still sleep in my arms, tomorrow try again....

Girl
Regarding the injection and to hope for no fever, my friends told me that after injection, give the bb panadol. For the panadol, have to ask doctor to prescribe. In fact when i brought declan to the doctor for his 2nd month jab, the doctor say tat he had not come across fever after jab for all his patients.

Fortunately, after the jab, there was no fever for Declan. Only thing is that he was cranky at that night due to the discomfort

<font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
I didn't let BB eat anything liang. Instead like my mum said, I let her have one dose of the fever medicine from the PD on the same night, before there's any sign of fever.

duffy,

my boy is also taking 600-800ml per day when he should theoretically be taking 1050ml for his weight. since he is growing well and active, so I dont worry so much.

TBL,

my boy always salivating when he sees us eating so probably will start with the brown rice next month.

natalie is having viral attack-- false measles! now rashes all over her body, doc warns it may becomes more serious in coming days but will fade in abt 5days. aiyo, now cant do anything but only monitor to ensure no fever. worry worry....

mngo
Sorry my mil only sell friso soy...

Hey all mummy
my rough schedule for Elicia

0700 - 0900 Feed
1000 - 1030 Bath
1100 - 1130 TV / Play time
1200 - 1430 Sleep / Feed
1300 - 1800 Play / Feed
1830 - 2030 Outside MIL house / Feed
2030 - 2100 Dry clean
2115 - 0700 Sleep / Feed

As for our baby, she sleep the same time as my hubby, normally before 9.30pm she will sleep already. But most of the time my Hubby and baby will sleep abt 8.30pm. so her last feed of BM will be at the time she sleep. Coz she already get used to latch on everytime she sleep.

<font color="ff0000">TBL</font>
hey, sorry to hear tht, I'm sure everything will be alright soon. Did the doc says why BB will get such attack? Ahyoh, must have made u soo worried..

<font color="ff0000">Yu</font>
very healthy lifestyle BB wooor, haha

For me, I need to delay my BB sleeping time to 10.30pm, cause next time I can only be back by 8pm when work, and hubby will sometimes be able to come home at 9plus, at least we can have time to do bonding

JinJin's daily routine is roughly as follows:-

0730: Wake up
0800 - 0830: Milk time
0830 - 0900: Morning walk
0900 - 1100: Flashcards, music and play time
1100 - 1130: Milk time
1130 - 1230: Play time
1230 - 1300: Bath
1300 - 1400: Nap
1400 - 1430: Milk time
1430 - 1700: Nap
1700 - 1730: Evening walk
1730 - 1900: Swim then take a bath
1900 - 2000: Sits in the dining area with the family when we take our dinner
2000 - 2030: Milk time
2030 - 0200: Sleep
0200 - 0230: Milk time
0230 - 0730: Sleep

She takes 140 ml of EBM at each feeding. I've to express milk regularly to keep up with her demands.

She hasn't doubled her birth weight yet. She was 3.455 kg at birth, and when we took her to her PD last Tuesday, she was 5.58 kg.

After her 5-1 jab last Tuesday, she had a slight fever. As the fever was slight, we didn't give her the medication (Panadol) which the PD had prescribed. The fever didn't seem to bother her much. Her appetite shrunk that night, but everything returned to normal the next day.

Recently, she began crying and pushing away the bottle at the beginning of each feed. Tonight, we changed the teat to the next size and she drank happily and finished her milk much more quickly.

Does anyone know where I can get Pigeon's Y-cut peristaltic teats? They're out of stock at Isetan and Taka, so we ended up buying a bottle which came along with that teat.

My baby will be having her 4th mths injection cuming on this thu morning. Actually is last fri but becoze she having some cough which I pass to her... It was say be doctor.

Doctor tell me if mother is BF her baby, her baby will most likely to get all those illness from mum coz of the close bonding.

I was so relived that when my breast got infection and was having high fever ( 39.6 degree), my baby wasn't infected. NOw all those infection have recover, no more yellowish discharge or lump on the breast. So happy.

Rochelle,
so nice of u to sms me rgding the johnson softwash,thks!

duffy,
doc said it's common for some bbs wor... said nothing to worry abt. anyway i just hope the rash will gone asap lor.
btw how u 'delay' yr bb sleep time? I tried to but end up she super cranky lei. :p

YYP,
can get the Pigeon's Y-cut peristaltic teats from ntuc.

hi, duffy, mngo, maple leaf..

thanks for your informations...hmm.i will give my girl the panadol for her to drink that nite..*touchwood*...

btw do your knw where is the boutique "GAP" for bb clothes? It seems the clothing there looks good...is it ex?

Yu, can u explain to me how come will kanna breast infection? if dun pump and engorge too long will kanna?

<font color="ff0000">TBL</font>
I try to see if I can let her take her nap in her late afternoon, meaning abt 6pm....
So tht she can sometimes tahan to 9 or 10pm...
But so far it's really not very fix, cause first I need MIL to agree, than I need Chloe to corporate haha.... am still trying to monitor Chloe and see how to match her biology timing

Hey ladies,
new update, Chloe is dropping hair liao haha
Realise there's a lot of hair on her bed and on my hand! It's time to go shave her botak hehee, before she become even uglier with the patchy head

duffy,

my boy also dropping hair but head not steady yet so dont dare to shave botak yet.

TBL,

its okie. I also heartache when my boy got very bad milk rash on his neck and heat rash on his face. after changing to the softwash he is more comfortable so happy and went to buy 2 big bottles for $10.95

haiz......my bb sitter sick AGAIN!!! last mth she was not feeling well and mentioned may be wan to quit, then i oso look ard for another bb sitter. But later she told me she was fine and wan to continue. As she is really quite ok so i let her continue lor. who knows today she tell me she confirm want to quit coz recently she got difficulties in breathing. Jialat ah!! last mth all the nannies are taken by others alr!! i called agency and the lady told me no more nanny available in punggol!!!! current nanny only can take care till next wk, 24Mar. aiyo, really dunno wat to do now.
ladies, any recommendation? nanny in sengkang or punggol. if yes pls let me know, thks!

jen
Actually i was having sore at my left breast at abt 4am den having fever, cold, pain ( breast), giddy, no mood, aches all over the body. Even I eat the pain killer, it does not help much, I cant get sleep at home.

Den till morning 10am, my hubby drive me to see a doctor. She say, breast infection can due to nipple crack ( if the baby bit too hard), thrush ( from the baby mouth). My fever will go away if only those germs inside the sore breast have lighter.

During shower, massage gently towards to the nipple for the sore one ( there is a lump). There is some yellowish and sticking discharge at first den becum normal yellowish watery discharge and resume really normal BM. After abt 1 week den my lump disappear.

At first the doctor did ask me to stop BF for the infection breast, but my gal wasn't having enough BM den after 2 days, the doctor say since my fever have gone, can BF her.

Lucky, all my illness didn't pass to her.

just bought a swimsuit for my boy and brought him swimming for awhile. he is not scared of water, just scared I drop him :p

Hi all...

can anyone babies here can lift thier head already?? My girl these few days when i try to make her sleep on one side, she tend to move her head towards the pillow, is she trying to turn? But i quite worrie cos she seem to move her face to the pillow..so i need to jagar her..anyone has the same experience..?

TBL,

have you found a nanny...think better get recommendations from pple, if not u are also not sure whether the nanny is good anot...will help u look out...

girl,

my boy would turn his head from left to right to left while sleeping. but he cannot hold his head steady yet
so have to jaga when he is sleeping during the day. we use the babysafe mattress for his cot.

<font color="ff0000">yu</font>,

the ntucs i go to don't carry s size nepia diapers. what size did u get for elicia?

<font color="0000ff">yyp</font>,

jinjin and shermyn are about the same size. brought shermyn for her jab last thu and she was 5.67kg. i checked against the health booklet and shermyn is at least in the 50th percentile. the pd also said she is putting on good weight so i guessed she's ok even if her weight didn't double.

what's jinjin's length. shermyn is 57cm.

white or slight reddish bumps on forearms and kneecaps
shermyn has develop these tiny pimply bumps over her forearms and kneecaps. they don't seem to itch and she seems ok with them but i'm concerned what causes them. the pd says just apply lotion. any of your babies have this same condition?

Girl,
my ger oso like trying to turn lei. she now can flip 90 degree when she is on her back, but will stop at the angle then screams for help! LOL...
have not found a nanny yet, still interviewing some. really tire to start the nanny hunting again.

seagal,
u are still using S size diapers for shermyn? where u stay? i have some MP s size to give away, if u stay SK or Punggol can collect from me. 1 have abt 15pcs at home and think nanny's place left another 10pcs there.

seagal
My gal have been wear M size for nepia.

Hey all...
Elicia know how to turn her head since she 2 mths, nothing to worry much. Nowsaday, my gal sleep position from top roll to bottom. Her whole body sometime move to the side of the bed and call for help!

Yu,
hehe... natalie oso like tat! dunno how she do it! we place her at the ctr of bb cot but her head can be at the top corner of the bb cot and the blanket is at the bottom corner.

TBL, Yu

my boy sometimes rotate clockwise on the baby cot and know how to grap his bolster from the cot edge. we dont let him sleep with blanket becos he would put the blanket to his mouth and end up covering his nose.

rochelle,
is yr boy sleep in aircon room? not cold meh if u dun cover him with blanket? or u use cloth to wrap his body?

got my 1st menses since delivery! today is 2nd day, the flow is really HEAVY!!!! aiyo, it even stained my skirt! aiyo, nvr been so 'malu' lei!!!!

Hi, TBL, Rochelle and the rest of the mummies..

so meaning they are learning how to turn loh..that good...i just worie she might have no strength to turn back *touchwood*..

TBL..u gotta ur menses..how long u have after u give birth? I went for pap smear and my gynae said i shall expecting mine in 2 weeks time...so keep my fingers cross..

Hi Rochelle..

how many mths is ur bb now? ya loh, my girl's head aso no strength yet...

girl,
my ger really bo strength to turn back when she flip to 90 degree, will scream for help.
menses came after 3.5mth. HEAVY HEAVY flow... tired!

Hi all, have been MIA for weeks liao.
Chloe went for a sencond test tht day, they had to poke a needle thru her leg to drip water inside....
Waaah, so heartpain, hearing her scream inside the room, while they are poking

than they sedate her and put her on the scan to see her urine flow. It appears tht when her urine is empty on the bladder, there are some left on the left ureters (tube from kidney to bladder). So chances are there are blockage in that tube which makes the left kidney swollen abit

going to see the doc today, to discuss. I really don wanna see Chloe go thru operation *cry*, it's really heartpain....

I m bk after all these weeks...

duffy,
Very heartpain to hear u describe wat happened... I rbr last time Xavier was in ICU jus a few days after he was born. He was having high fever and doctor said might hv brain damage.. My gosh, I cried and cried and prayed and prayed... Thank God he is healthy now..

So duffy, pls be strong. For you, for Chloe and for your hubby. It's nt easy bt u hv to try. Just imagine if Chloe is healthy bt instead u fell sick? Dun worry, will pray for Little Chloe...

Anyway, Xavier finally learnt how to fully flip himself over. He had tried many times bt always failed. He was so angry. Whn i finally succeeded, I kept clapping and cheering him. He was so delighted. So nw, he's always flipping... aiyooh...

duffy,
check wif doc any medicine to take b4 deciding on operation. dun worry too much, may be no need op. will pray for our little brave Chloe. do keep us posted. Be strong! Remember? Chloe says 'jia you' in tat photo!
so mummy must JIA YOU ok!

TBL,

my boy sleep with us, we dont on the aircon and no fan. at night our room temperature is about 25-26deg so quite cool.

put my boy into the bumbo chair in takashimaya. he laugh so much and held his head steady for a long time becos got distracted by all the toys at the baby fair.

Girl,

my boy is 3mths 2wks

seagal, my gal has "rough" skin on some parts of her body, like small bumps/pimples but cannot really see... only can feel... i think she has really sensitive skin...

duffy, be strong... we are here for u to confide in...

tbl, congrats on finding a nanny, update us if she's ok...

my gal's belly button still seems to be inflame... red and swollen... i heard that there's a powder we can get to apply? anyone knows? thx...

Jen,

my SIL got the powder for the belly button from Thomson Medical Centre. my BIL said they ask them to buy so they bought for their two children, both delivered there. the chinese medical hall also sell but safer to buy from your paed or from pharmacy.

Jen,

just remembered that my paed said to use antiseptic powder if the belly button gets inflamed. my boy's umbilical cord drop too early so his belly button was red but no infection so only need to clean with cord spirit. but if infection than need to apply antiseptic powder.

Duffy
Be Strong. All of us will be here for you. Do take care of yourself so you can be there for Chloe.

TBL when u mention mense comes after 3.5 mths, wat does it really mean? Does it mean tat
if you give birth in Jan, then you start to count from Jan, Feb, March...? or you start to count from Feb, March, Apr, and then May the Period comes?