(2004/09) Year End (Sep - Dec) 2004 Mothers-to-be

lilprince,
even for adults cant eat too much salmon too often, so moderation for bbs too. Thx for the Tanglin info- really must force myself to go, and thx for the soap foam warning, hehe.

pcs,
I think the oil comes from the codskin? Dun put skin in, the oil still seems ok to me leh.

Thanks Mummies for infor on cod.

I am trying to buy from a wholesale shop that delivers. the only catch is that there is a min. purchase. The only advantage is that its packed in steaks and frozen so it means that as compared to those in the fish mongers, its fresh as they do not need to thaw it then freeze etc.

little prince

great pics of rhyan! yes, salmon should eat sparingly because what we usually get is farmed salmon which supposedly contain PCBs (cancer causing agents). tuna also can eat, just in limited amounts because it is high in mercury but certain types apparently are better than others, like canned light tuna is better than albacore tuna.

gabby's mum

i feed cod too for the essential fatty acids. eh, isn't the wet market cod fish fresh? when i asked my fishmonger whether can freeze, she said can leh. i know cold storage only sells frozen or thawed cod.

fruitcake

cod i thought is only available in cold waters not found in the region so i had an impression that most are frozen then imported to Singapore. Even my fishmonger said that its imported. Now I am not so sure and confused now...anyone knows more?

little prince,
Great pics of Rhyan
U at TM on Sun? Heard AC said u going there in the afternoon so thot would meet u there but bo leh...

Hehehe..u making me look forward to the barney concert this thursday

RE: Xmas trees
When u set up the xmas trees, ur little ones won't go n play wif it? as in 'pluck' out all the decorative stuff? When i bring kieran near a xmas tree, he can't resist pulling n tugging at the balls etc :p

kelly,
Gab doesn't wake to nurse anymore??
u mentioned u throw away your EBM ah? dun lah. very waste leh. i feel heartpain for u :p can mix it into his food or FM maybe? or even use for milk bath :))

Codfish,
mummies, go slow on the cod. dun offer it often just like salmon. can't remember the actual reason. just not good for kids to consume as often as other fish. perhaps offer once fortnightly like salmon? besides cod is a very ex fish to feed regularly.

yuru...J on wkends eat brown rice, calrose rice and red rice(hong zhao mi, duno isit called red rice in ang mo :p), at nanny's he ate normal rice and red rice
he used to constipate, but after ex nanny added red rice, he poo better

lil prince and kelly(saw yr IM)...chopper is BRAUN, costs $79, can chop, blend and whisk(wont use tis lar), really saves a lot of time!

pcs
no lah, quinn didnt get c.pox.

yah, tat bb looks really really bah hor??!!!

PIGEON PORRIDGE
i also very tempted to buy tat, tat was when quinn not started on solid yet :p somehow it jus attracts me. BUT after quinn starts solid for real, i didnt really feel like buying liao. at first was thinking maybe i can use it when we are out but later on i was tiking i rather feed him bread, cheeze, fruits and some other healthier choice of food vs the INSTANT porridge. i might consider tat if we go for holiday, not on everyday basis of cos, so to REMIND him porridge is still 1 of his food jus in case after tat holiday trip, he REJECTS porridge totally. $10 a box??? but if im not wrong, it has more than 1 serving in a box??

CODFISH
i rem i use to cook CODFISH stock for quinns porridge, he HATE it big time. but i guess if cook it INTO porridge like wat we did to other fish, it should taste much better?? as i prepare it into stock, it SMELLS nice but when i taste it, i almos faint!!! no wonder quinn hates it! but i myself really love codfish, rem during preggy days i CRAVE it alot!! almos eating it everyday, sometimes eat it for 2 meals a day.... til my mum and dad look at me and say "ai yo, u buay sian ah, every meal also eat"? now i dun fancy as much liao.

kelly
so happy for u!!!! finally gabby willing to take his bottle. i heard its better not to take those pills for stopping milk flow. i tik it will stop producing after sometime rite?

SALMON
quinn took salmon too but very very little lah and during las weekend, my mum says its better to stop giving him salmon for now but i tot should be quite safe if we pick the rite one?? but its not a mus to give salmon lah, me jus try to let quinn have diff type of fish, cook in porridge taste okie only, but if pan-grilled it, it taste soooo yummy, quinn loves it!

littleprince
i LOVE ur xmas tree!!!!! so nice!!!! next year i MUST have 1!

R soooo happy at the SNOW thingy! i love tat pix tat he has SNOW on his head! wahahahaha!!!!!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+2"><font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma">HappY BirthdaY</font></font></font> to <font color="0000ff"><font size="+2"><font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma">LUKE,</font></font></font> <font color="aa00aa"><font size="+2"><font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma">DEAN</font></font></font> and <font color="ff0000"><font size="+2"><font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma">NATALIE !!!!!</font></font></font>

tanglin mall
i recommend that mummies bring their bbs there for the 7pm show instead of the 8pm one coz the sky is not very dark yet at that timing and lesser crowd.
and hor, many mummies bring raincoats for their bbs to wear. hehe .. just in case if anyone is interested. :p

yuru
when are you going to beijing?

fruitcake
thks! you mean canned light tuna like the ayam brand ones are ok to give bbs (moderate qty)?

skyblue
yalor! i wanted to tell you tt we got a kindermusik trial slot at kieran's timing but never see you in MSN. then i thought go there then meet you but who knows, rhyan was so tired after we went out in the AM that he napped from 1pm - 4pm! i tried waking him at 3pm for milk but he still looked so tired so decided not to go. i then took a nap with him also and after we woke up, we went Marina Sq for a walk before going to TM. aiya, i had even thought of chio-ing you to go walk walk after class then see snow together!

Xmas tree - hmm, so far so good. rhyan will only sit near the tree to see lights and at times, touch the balls. he didn't really take down any balls (so far!) but i keep a close eye on him just in case lor.

AC
so yours is a hand held blender?

lil devil
why next year then buy a tree and not this year huh? hehe .. rhyan's whole head was wet and soapy after that!

PIGEON foodstuff
hmm, i personally feel tt pigeon's foodstuff are too tasty leh. i tried before their biscuits and it was quite saltish even for myself so i hv not bought any of their foodstuff before.

lil devil,
i also dun 1 2 take any pills 2 stop my milk, tat's y tot of using other methods. i tik i no more milk liao. i didnt even pump yesterday since i last pumped on sun nite n my breasts dun even feel heavy at all. i'll pump 2day then c how.

skyblue,
gabe is very fascinated wif e xmas tree n we bring him 2 touch e balls. we also tell him tat he cant touch e balls. i learned from lil devil's husband tat we juz let e bb touch until they sian so they not keen on it. i tik since we set up last fri, gabe touched so many times until sian liao.

ziztine,
i too lazy 2 transfer 2 another bottle/breastmilk bag 2 store it then 2 warm it 2 feed gabe in his meals. i dun wanna take e risk of mixing into his FM juz in case he can tell e difference n wonder how come he can still taste "mummy's milk" when i keep telling him tat i got no more milk.

anyway, when i pumped out my milk, i dun get much (abt 4-5oz every 12hrs) so heck lah.

AC,
thks for e info. will check it out later.

lil devil,
i also dun 1 2 take any pills 2 stop my milk, tat's y tot of using other methods. i tik i no more milk liao. i didnt even pump yesterday since i last pumped on sun nite n my breasts dun even feel heavy at all. i'll pump 2day then c how.

skyblue,
gabe is very fascinated wif e xmas tree n we bring him 2 touch e balls. we also tell him tat he cant touch e balls. i learned from lil devil's husband tat we juz let e bb touch until they sian so they not keen on it. i tik since we set up last fri, gabe touched so many times until sian liao.

ziztine,
i too lazy 2 transfer 2 another bottle/breastmilk bag 2 store it then 2 warm it 2 feed gabe in his meals. i dun wanna take e risk of mixing into his FM juz in case he can tell e difference n wonder how come he can still taste "mummy's milk" when i keep telling him tat i got no more milk.

anyway, when i pumped out my milk, i dun get much (abt 4-5oz every 12hrs) so heck lah.

AC,
thks for e info. will check it out later.

kelly
if you don't feel engorged or uncomfortable with your breasts, you don't have to pump at all. that will sent the signal to your breasts that there is no demand for BM anymore.

littleprince
yah, pigeon food taste TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE if its not for its favouring and so on. even those XIAO MAN TOU, its quite sweet. quinn dun really like it and i still have alot as my sil bought alot the other time.

becos due to my space limit at home *of cos tat will not change next year*:p but hubby was saying quinn will TEAR it down for us, wahahahaha!!! but if i would to put buy and put it up now, its like only for 20 days, me BU GAN YUAN!!!! heee.....

kelly
if u dun feel engorgement and all tat, u should jus let it be.

lil prince...blender is handheld, chopper has a container

Yuru...yar but we dump everything in slow cooker lor

i know some babies already did this ages ago, but yesterday we juz let J tried heheee :p
holding the milk bottle on his own!! we always feared dat he will juz fling the bottle and play instead of drink, but last nite he finished 240ml on his own, surprisingly! i guess we ought to have more confidence in him LOL!! :p

ANGRY BABY
quinn starts to act VIOLENT :p lately he will show his anger by pouting lips and hitting things ard him and even LIVING things ard him, good example will be ME! i jus firmly tell him NO and tats not rite...but sort of worry wat sort of kid he will be in future.

little prince

yes, you can buy the canned light tuna in water, not so salty lor. then give to rhyan with bread/pasta/porridge. i haven't given to luke yet because of the sodium and personally, i try to avoid canned food but now that he is older, i might! v convenient mah. you can also try giving fresh tuna, can buy fr supermarkets.

kelly

yay, you have successfully weaned gabe! i stopped pumping when i was yielding like 10-20 ml each time because i was prone to mastitis, so was extra cautious. if you don't feel engorged, can try not pumping at all!

lil devil,
ya, my breastpump can take a holiday til next yr. LOL!

fruitcake,
i'm extremely happy tat i managed 2 wean gabe off in such a short period, abt 3days. husband n i tot it would b a difficult task but gabe was an angel, he adapted well. in fact, he loves FM so much now tat he not so keen on solids. oh well, as long as he's eating/drinking well, i've learned 2 let him b.

lil prince,
tat was we planning 2 do wif our xmas tree too. 2yrs ago when we set it up, after xmas, we change all e ornaments 2 ang pows n cheena stuff. turned out to b very nice.

<font color="aa00aa">medusa</font>
i tried the gerber little entree once before giving it to yingxin (think was chicken pasta)...eh...it was lousy

athena looked so cute with her tongue out...she's not afraid of the water over her head?

<font color="aa00aa">little prince</font>
your xmas tress is lovely! i have one too, white in color but lazy to put it up and also worried that the whole tree will topple cos yingxin likes to tug at it

<font color="aa00aa">ziztine</font>
your suggestion is good - milk bath! very good and nourishing for the skin, zoe tay had it also

<font color="aa00aa">little devil</font>
i understand your concern about baby's temperament now cos yingxin also showed us her temper whenever we try to make her sleep when she simply refuses or when we try to take away her toys; guess this is a passin phase?

Puff,
not passing phase on bb temperament.. as they get bigger get worst till they are at least 2.5yr old.
Ryan nowadays a big headache also. can scream very loudly and very stubbon also.

<font color="aa00aa">ruffyhappy</font>
huh? it will get worse ah? die lah....yingxin is already very hot tempered now, cannot imagine what's gonna happen next

any suggestion/recommendation on what we can do to help tame them? thanks

<font color="aa00aa">jen</font>
<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">thought it was u who owe us a BIG treat?????? kekke, cos jean got <font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">1st</font></font> mah and she got 1 big hamper and $100 cash leh</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">fruitcake</font>
thanks for the book! very cute
did u get it in NY? i have yet to give her any cheerios

think i have the same thermos flask as you, wah, difference of $20!

<font color="0000ff"><font face="Comic Sans MS"><font size="+2">Yingxin is thankful to all mummies and daddies and her little flens who has voted for her leading her to get into TOP 10</font></font></font>

Heres a kiss from Yingxin
kao_kiss.gif

Puff , u must be cool and consistent in ur disciplining them..or else they will start to climb over ur head. U can borrow some books from the library about tantrums and get some idea/tips from there.

LOL about all the big fonts! I am happy for our pretty cupcakes YX and Jean, even tho I'm not happy with the organising studio.

Discipline- HB asked to start looking for relevant books too. A is starting up too...

itsun

luke says thank you for the birthday wish! he had a great day today

puff

glad you like it! i got it fr borders singapore, first heard about it fr sharon. i'll get one for luke when he stops throwing his cheerios on the floor :p congrats on yx being in the top ten!

littleprince,

wow those are really great pictures! ur house looks nice!

i have put my tree up since 25 Nov, here's a pic..
343820.jpg

please excuse my belly sticking out.

my tree doesn't look as grand as yours tho :p

Anyway, Rhyan looks like he had alot of fun at Tanglin Mall. I have a similar pix where Ethan was at Cadbury World..

343823.jpg

ANGRY BABY

little_devil, last week Ethan kept throwing tantrums! actually it coincided with his falling ill so I wasn't sure whether he was just feeling moody 'cuz not feeling well, or he's getting into his "terrible twos" even though he's only just turned one! But this week he is much better, he is not throwing so many tantrums, and not as fierce either.

medusa,
Such nice pics of Athena
She looks so cheeky in the 1st pic.

jen n puff,
Congrats

kypf,
Ur pic wif Ethan looks gd too

little prince,
Oic... Aiyah, missed the chance to meet up...nvm, u see when u can arrange the trial again. Anyway, the last lesson was a bore :p

little prince, kelly,
Surprisingly when Kieran went to my aunt's house today, he didn't touch the decorations on the xmas tree. he jus sat beside it, staring at it in fascination. Now hubby &amp; I r tempted to get one too... hehehhe... any recommendations?

RE: throwing tantrums
IMO, the kids r not doing it on purpose. It's jus their way of expressing their frustration since they can't tell u wat they want. One of the books dat i'm reading now says dat our tods' stubborn streak &amp; their desire to challenge our authority r proof positive dat our tods r developing a strong sense of who they r &amp; where they fit into the world. They don't mean to be tyrants. They jus happen to be embroiled in a developmental stage dat requires them to repeatedly demostrate their independence from u. Ur tod is busy proving to themselves that they're separate from &amp; distinct from u. They're not trying to push ur buttons by being deliberately defiant. It is simply their less than subtle way of telling u they're the ones calling the shots. They oso nid proof dat they're loved no matter wat. Tods may test the limits bcos they nid to reassure themselves dat ur love is unconditional - dat u'll love them every bit as much when they're getting into mischief as when they're in total anger mode. They're simply experimenting wif u. Temper tantrums tend to peak at ard age 2, gradually tapering off as a child's verbal skills &amp; physical ctrl improve &amp; they learn more effective techniques for managing their frustration.

littleprince
i really tik tis year no xmas tree liao. actually i wanted to change the arrangement of furnitures in my living room so tat quinn has more space to roam abt. so by the time i settle everything too late liao.... hubby says maybe 5 years down the road can consider shifting to another area but i was like "HUH"?

medusa
its soooo UNFAIR!!! u always manage to capture such nice nice pix!!! pix tat tells a story, very very lifestyle. whenever looking at those pix, i almost can hear T laughter!

puff
yah, really big headache. maybe im worrying too much, maybe i should jus descipline * in a rite way lah* and leave quinn alone.

kypf
nice pix u got there
hey, u call tat a tummy ah??!! u are slim enough!

oh!! quinn behaves the same way, tis week he can be very very DARLING then following week turns into someone very very difficult to handle.... i always wonder do they actually experience MOOD SWING too??!! :p

skyblue
hmmm.... seems like most of the books write the same theory..... and i agreed too but jus st times its really becoming out of hand and now "SOMETIMES* becomes "MOST OF THE TIME".....

since tods at tis age is so call developing their personality, and i really cant imagine wat sort of personality quinn is going to have?? i always have tis INVISIBLE chart with me:

WHEN HE DOES TIS : HES ACTUALLY

screaming : testing it ever since he discover tat he can.

throwing tantrums : he cant express himself thus lead to frustration.

cling on to me and cry : he need more love from me.

throw things at me : he didnt know tat actually hurts and maybe hes practising his skill. :p

giving me a difficult time during meal time : teething? not feeling well? not hungry? too tired?

MAYBE i jus got to keep these in my mind all the time

LATELY quinn will turn off the fan whenever he wakes up from his sleep / nap. if its the aircon tats on, he will turn off the aircon too *but mummy still sleeping leh*. BUT he will goes ard the house and turn on all switches he can find, he will jus CLICK then walk away :p and today i got to know NEW FREN, we were all eating at bedok and quinn as usual, walking ard and starts SOCIALIZING with pp ard him. he starts talking to a couple and tat lady strikes up conversation with him
she actually got a 2 boys, the youngest is also 15 months and another 6 years old and shes only 28 years old herself *so envy* upon leaving, shegave me her hp no. saying tat should meet 1 day and have fun

kypf,
Ethan gets to experience a "real" cold Christmas, how exciting! Not soap foam like ours, LOL!

lildevil, skyblue,
hehe, HB eager to bring A to zoo after seeing the pics :D . Actually A didn't fancy the zoo animals much- it's the "pool" and swing she enjoyed, duh.

fruitcake
thks! paiseh, one more qns. fresh tuna is cooked or uncooked at the supermarket huh? if uncooked, how do we cook it? i don't recall seeing it before ..

medusa
can imagine your anger at the studio, maybe can tell mothercare to take up the whole matter proper instead of having to speak to the studio ppl again?

puff
congrats to yingxin! hope she wins the big prize too!

kypf
eh, yr tree looks good, at least got pressies! i hv yet to wrap any .. hehe .. ethan so cute in tt outfit! i don't think our bbs can wear such outfits under the singapore weather though its so cute!

Throwing Tantrums
skyblue, what book is that ah? rhyan is also more determined in what he wants nowadays. like refusing his car seat - i used to allow him to sit in the front passenger seat with us once in a while last time but now, he will actually refuse to get into his car seat by grabbing tight to anything he can get hold of, eg. car door if we try to put him in. if we insist, he will cry and kick his legs. if we ignore his insistence and still put him in the car seat, he will wail for a while then refuse to "talk" to us or respond to us for the rest of the car journey! fortunately, i realised he is agreeable to sit in his car seat when *I* sit behind with him. so nowadays, i will try to sit at the back with him, sort of a compromise so that he will remain in his car seat.

what worries me more is, granduncle simply dotes on him so he tends to get his way more at nanny's place. i do try to educate them that they should not give in to everything but knowing old folks, they tend to feel bad if the kid doesn't get what he wants. rhyan can actually take the vcds (without cover) to play at nanny's place but back at home, he will not insist to play with the vcds inside, he just settle for the covers to play.

lilprince,
I'm afraid it's inevitable that toddler will realise some people are easier to persuade than others. No hope of asking my mum to be strict with A, heh. I will end up "scolding" my mum, in order to "scold" A.

Still abit hopeful on my ILs' side, I spend quite abit of time with A at their place, and I show what limits I put. So far they haven't come rescuing a teary A- I tell ILs that A was doing something I will not budge on, and they accept it. So far!

The studio is a hopeless case- the attitude is right from their top-down. I'm quite glad she was silly enough to send me such a rude email, cos the rude phonecall from her can't be recorded. Today's papers has a pregnant lady losing child because of loanshark harassment, yikes! I'm going to not bother with some lousy service- let my hubby handle henceforth. ;)

little prince,
can look at these books from library

1) Toddlers' tantrums and other bad behaviour / Alison Mackonochie English 649.64 MAC -[FAM]
2)Title Tantrums : understanding and coping with your child's emotions / Eileen Hayes English 649.122 HAY -[FAM]

little prince

the fresh tuna is raw, can steam/bake/pan fry. can find it in the chilled/frozen fish section of the supermarket!

puff, err... acherly I hvn't called them up to ask abt the prize...
after medusa's experience, I quite scared to call up to chase...

ruffy, for the two books that you recommend above, wats the author's discipline approach like? (eg, time outs? light smacks? attachment parenting? gentle discipline?)

lil prince, for Faye, she still aint too fond of the car seat LOL! Last time I used to carry her in my arms once in a while still, during days when she is not in a good mood, or when traffic flow is not as heavy etc. But then I realised that this undo the effort I put in to make sure she knows she MUST be in the car seat. These days she seemed to start detesting it with a passion all over again, so I make it easier for her to sit in by giving her a small snack at times (like a small piece of biscuit or wat). If Ryan will feel better with you sitting in the back, then its great! No point making them suffer for things that can be helped. But hor, wat u drive alone at tmes then he cant get used to being behind all alone?

lil devil, there are plenty of good books ard that will give u more insights on quinn's behaviour and equip u with the tools u need to handle it.

MT, u let Tena play at the water area nekkid ah? Did u go into the water area yourself to play w her? Then didnt u get all wet?

kypf, you look GOOD! waliao, wat tummy? yr belly is FLAT leh

skyblue, thats the yr bb n child book ah? I agree with wat u posted!

INDULGING GRANDIES- For a while I used to wish I have more village support from both sides of the family. These days I'm actually v glad that because I'm pretty much the only one who looks after Faye(apart from hb on weekends), I dont have to worry that someone else might do/not do what I think they should with regard to discipline.

ASSERTIVE TODDLERS- hehe looks like quite a no of the tods here are entering a new phase! Faye's def going thru some of these developmental stages too- she is increasingly assertive these days, knows what she wants, alot less distractible and better memory (even if can distract she STILL remembers the thing I distracted her from AFTER she got sick of the distraction LOL!). For now we are working on helping her to assert her wants/desires in a softer tone( are not trying to get rid of her assertiveness tho, we think its a great thing, she just need to be able to express it in other ways), as well as to help her gain more control over her emotions when she is upset. It seems like a rather slow process for now (hehe mummies who have tods going thru the same stage WILL know wat I mean cause it can SEEM forever huh :p) but I'm confident she'll get thru this stage fine. For us, I realise that being very loving helps alot. When I'm in a calm and controlled state, it also helps tremendously. I realised that if I lose control and become ruffled/upset/impatient, it seems to worsen the situation. Somehow I feel that she picks up my negative vibes and feel the need to test limits even more, which drives us both nuts. Well, there's always a learning curve lar, so we're both learning something new here.

Actually last n this week's been a lil rough for me cause Faye is having an ear infection and hb is away, there are days when the going gets so rough that I wanna strangle a bird or something! But I realise that Faye is picking up SO MUCH from me, u know ah, sometimes when I am upset and I cant scream (cannot scream at her mah LOL!) I will go 'SIGHHHHHHH' quite loudly. Then hor, u know wat? since yesterday, I realised that when Faye got mad at something, she went 'SSHHHHHHSSSS!!!!' and it sounds something like my loud sigh when I am upset! I was quite shocked LOL! I know that children learn by modelling but I didnt know its with such precision! Man, am I glad that I only sighed and not said or do some other thing! This taught me a good lesson- dont behave in ways I dont want her to behave like.

Berry,
I was trying to travel "light", knew abt the waterplay area from other mummies here tho. So just stripped her, changed diaper after she was done, and wiped her with wet wipes. Weather was ok, no chill
. Yeah I got wet... the other kids were running and splashing. But ok, cos my clothes dried while we walked about after- more cooling for me :p .

I even bumped into Cody &amp; family at the zoo, hehe.
Oh... and I can buy 4D... bird pooped onto A's head. Her head bigger, more surface catchment area ahaha!

BTW the zoo rents Maclaren stroller for use within, $8. My gf tested it on her tod, still not receptive to it- ended up using to carry their bags. :p

Agree our tod's memories are improving, LOL. Difficult to distract and to let her forget. Feel u want to strangle a bird? Alot of birds crash into your windows anyway :p . Faye still having ear infection &amp; hb away? Oh dear, *Athena gives u a "mmm-ak" kiss!*.

Berry,
actually haven't read those books yet.. Just read another one on tantrums.. returned to the library already.. that one spoke more about counselling and time out/ deprive of treats etc.