(2004/09) Year End (Sep - Dec) 2004 Mothers-to-be

Hi kelly,
Esther's intake:
3 solid feed (1 cereal + 2 porridge)
3 milk of 180-210ml (can go up to 240ml) + 1 optional morning milk feed of 180-210ml (if she asks for it)

Hi evelyn,
Rem to post nat's party photo for us to see. =)

Hi Littledevil,
LOL... Q looked so serious when he was brushing his toes.

Ruffy
U r really a patient mummy. It's great that Ryan can understand what u say. Everytime I start to explain, Keira will start looking elsewhere. Makes me wonder whether she is listening and whether explaining method is effective for her age.

Yuru
Both. Poke my eyes 1st then follow by taking away my specs. I know how u feel. I be travelling to Australia for a week in Jan. I'm already imagining the heartbreaking airport scene.

Berry
REALLY eye poking is a milestone??? I must congrat myself that Keira has reached another milestone. Wahaha

Fruitcake
I try to compromise / distract her. It works for a while then she remembers and start making noise.
eg I will feed her some of my food BUT she comes back for more. this can go on for many times. so I try to distract her with 6-7 gerber puffs. She will finish them off and come to me demanding to eat my food again. *faint*

Kelly
I always explain before I stopped her. She pratice SBC (simply bo chap). I'm ok if she plays with my wallet or rummage the drawers But she refused to put the items back. She bites and licks the keys/combs/pen if she found them. I try to give her her teether, she will bite for a while and throw them away.
*Headache*

AC
So happy to hear that Justin adapt very well at nanny place & (whisper) sleeping well.

Little Devil
Quinn brush his teeth during bath time??
LOLL when I see him brushing his toes.

Tks to all mummies for yr suggestions and advice. I guess its trial and error when it comes to discipling our bbs and we constantly need to upgrade our "skills" by reading the info from this thread. Hahaha

pcs
my contributions if it helps.

1) Touch the fans
rhyan's favourite! i hv been very consistent in telling him he cannot touch it else will hurt his fingers so now, when he attempts to touch it and hears me saying no, he will just sit there to watch. maybe can childproof the fans with nets, i do tt at home.

2) prevent her from taking off her shoe and licking it.
i guide him in removing his shoes (just pull up the velcro part) then praise him for removing his shoes on his own. sort of like distract him instead and as he is so happy tt he did something on his own, he ends up clapping hands and forget about licking his shoes.

3) Eat our food
i always make sure i order some food tt he can eat with us so i will just serve him his as we eat ours.

4) Rummage the drawers
i have 2 dedicated drawers for him to rummage through his own things too! for those in the kitchen, so far he only see but did not take the things out.

5) Play wif our keys (and hiding it)
i allow rhyan to play with the hse keys as hb and i each hv a set. he sometimes attempt to eat the keys too, i will tell him he cannot do it. so far so good, he is not upset i stopped him.

6) poke her fingers into my eye
erm, rhyan poke his fingers into my ... nose! i take them out and tell him "you are right, this is mummy's nose! where is your nose, rhyan?" he will point back at his!

7) Take away mummy specs
i don't wear specs for long hours, usually he don't see me wearing them coz i am mostly on contact lens.

8) Jumping around ON the bed
rhyan climbs all over the bed, takes stuff from the headboard and plays with the curtain near the bed. i just make sure the stuff on the headboard are safe for him to play and let him be since he will be tired and go to bed after he has finished playing.

* i think the main thing is when they are playing with something, we should not try to take away from them or stop them immediately, if possible. need to pretend pretend abit, introduce something new or a fave toy for them to play then quickly distract them off. so far, i can still manage to distract him. my hb can't lah so he faces rhyan's tantrums more than me, which is why i don't feel good leaving the two of them at home alone since my hb surely SOS me in a short while wan. hehe ..

also, i personally don't encourage timeout or treat deprivations. i just handle each bad behaviour at that time itself and dismiss it off. i believe they just need constant reminders. i don't know how long i can handle or if rhyan's behavour worsens, whether i can still do these only but so far, i do see rhyan respects what i say more than nanny who usually tell him "beat beat!" or show him rubberbands (he knows it hurts!) to chase him off when he touches the fan.

skyblue
sorry ah, tdy u IM me again when u are online hor.

fruitcake
eh, if u hv a nanny come in to help you during the day, surely will also hv differences and difficult to tell them on somethings you don't feel good about? Won't yr mum or MIL be better?

for me, i am most likely to just hv a part time cleaner to do hsework if i hv a 2nd bb, leave both kids with nanny when i am working, fetch both kids home after work, daily.

pcs
wah! you say want to go holiday and immediately go on holiday in Jan ah?

actually, i think kiera wants your food bcoz she thinks its surely alot tastier than what she is eating. so, maybe you can prepare a portion for her (without any seasonings which you may hv added in yours) or hv some food on the table specially for her (not gerber puffs)?

Sorry for MIA so long.

Glad seeing all the solution to bb behaviour. Lately MIL had been telling me Nicole naughty and mischie behaviour. I start wonder why Nicole do these all these thing. After seeing what all you all post let me have a piece of mind, this is afterall the growing pharse of our baby.

Nicole will see who she can bully and who cannot. She only bully me and FIL, she very scarce of Mil and HB.

Berry, littleprince, and other mummy & daddy
thanks for all the great advise the other time on Nicole. Now she slightly better with daddy. I try to let go and let them spend more time together. Still have not gone to tumble tot to see, quite busy lately. I realise Nicole react to pic and surounding thing better.
Last weekend we bot her to downtown east, she so engross n those pic with the barney and disney poster.

AC
Congrats on Justin sleeping pattern. Any secret to share? Nicole still wake up to fidget at night. She dun really sleep at nite only till abt 5am, she start to collaspe.

Yuru
enjoy your trip and hope to see u back in action soon. dun worry too much, cindy will be in good care under your SIL & hb. btw, u leave her wif SIL at nite or hb take care?
Spend the 10 day wif your parent and let them shower the parent love to you and tranfer the love back to Cindy when u back heeeee....

Littleprince
tks for your advice. LOL on the nose thing.
Keira doesn't climb around the bed. She "RUNS AROUND" & "JUMPS AROUND" ON the bed. I have a heart attack whenever she does that.
If I eat at home its normally ta bao stuff. I usually don't give to her if its outside stuff. I will only give her some when I eat homemake food at my parents or MIL place.

No I'm not on holiday. I'm going there to study for a week.

lil prince, hehe I'm also not an advocator of treat deprivation. For timeouts, I wouldnt be against the use of it only if it can help the child cool down effectively and applied at the right age(not at 14mth LOL!).

pcs, I think lil prince has v good ideas, u can prepare a portion w/o seasonings added and give her some, as well as dedicate a few drawers for her to empty/fill? This way, she wont feel that she is not allowed to 'participate' in stuff like other family members?
Eh, abt eyeball poking 'milestone', I was kidding lar

344555.jpg

344556.jpg

Athena loves sand! And sea water! :D
She was fine walking in sand, running fingers through the sand, and even when I "exfoliated" her whole leg with some sand :p . Learnt how to scoop up sand into her hand, and she was "pinching up" sand to transfer into a container (will take forever to fill container haha).

Loves the waves crashing in, not scared! Squealed when the waves came in and washed right up to her mid-chest, hehe.

She didnt try to eat any sand or drink the water, though.

This week zoo and beach, very siong ah, LOL. *collapse and switch on tv for A*

little prince

my mum is working, my mil can't come everyday wan, and i foresee i would need full-time help for my own sanity/well-being. also, i think that employing someone might be easier because if i disagree with my mum or mil esp, not so easy for me to tell lor. your nanny is a relative right, is it easier or more difficult for you?

medusa, just wondering when u go to the beach and A gets all dirty with sand, do u bathe her there or bring her home to bathe?

Berry,
poor faye suffering fm ear infection again
had no idea since u were still feeding her the yummy choc cake :p since she is still unwell (& even if she seems to have just recovered fm it), perhaps u might want to put her on a bland diet for now? that would mean staying clear of all sweet stuff, dairy stuff like cheese, chilled stuff like yoghurt & ice cream. since her ear infection is recurrent, u might even hv to control her intake of yeast wheat products like bread. btw, how many times was she given antibotics for the ear infection? hope she is better today.

<font color="ff0000">Pcs, Kelly, Puff,</font>

Thank you for ur wishing...

<font color="ff0000">Pcs, Kelly, Puff, Itsun,</font>

Photos, ve to wait till next wk leh. This wk my hb is outstation so after work i ve to look after nat, no time to dwnload.

<font color="ff0000">Skyblue,</font>

Nat to kieran : Kieran, close ur eyes pls, *muack muack*

<font color="aa00aa">medusa</font>
just read your posting and the email kz talent wrote to mothercare....didn't expect things to get out of hand and they are indeed very rude leh, to say u are lying....if u did not select the picture in the first place, how on earth did they choose the picture to be used for the contest leh? furthermore, u told them about the spelling error and they did not correct it, it's not pardonable too!!

jen,
i brush sand off her as best as i can with hand towel, change her and that's it.

puff,
i let hb handle. :p With zoo n beach, am dead-tired, lol.

ziztine, yar lor, she's off dairy products for now. That time she didnt really had that much cake, just a few bites. You mention controlling her intake of wheat n yeast products cause of allergy possibilities? Anymore info on this for me? Usually she is not given antibiotics for her EI, only ear drops. But this time round she refuse to have the ear drops administered, so no choice, had to give her antibiotics.

MT, Tena can watch TV for how long? I mean, on her own, if you dont switch it off, she can last how long?

fruitcake
rhyan's nanny is hb's aunt. she is quite acceptable to my parenting style, will not insist on her way when i tell her what i want for rhyan. at times, she do give her suggestions and i do consider. i believe a caregiver should be respectful to what the mother wants, this is something she has achieved but not my MIL, which is why i trust her more.

Berry,
I put her in play-yard, TV Blues Clues switch on as long as half hr. During the half-hr, she will cruise along the barrier, fall down, tumble around, pull out her toys to play with... :p. Barrier prevents her from getting closer to TV, or from switching off TV haha!

I *try* not to have longer than half-hr. Will have break, haha.

OMG, A can "read", or at least, memorise written word.
Was rummaging thru her shelves for some materials- dropped her Kindermusik Zoom Buggy wordbook at her feet.
Then I heard her go, "bump bump bumpa". I turned, she had flipped to page with those words and was "reading" out loud. Maybe coincidence lah, hehe.

oops, i think fluke :p . Maybe I read that often, she can remember like song lyric, so when sees the book, happen to flip correct page and say correct words.

little_devil,

quinn so cute to brush his toes! ha ha! i just upgraded Ethan to that toothbrush as well. or actually.. he upgraded it himself. he found the step 2 and step 3 toothbrushes and walked around with it until step 2 toothbrush fell out of the packet and now he's using it! ha ha..

by the way, i was thinking of what you said about 1 week our babies are angels and then next week they become rascals.. i think it's to help us to appreciate them more and be more thankful when they are angels..

medusa, u r one FANTASTIC mummy to brave the sun and heat to bring Athena to the zoo and the beach! she is one lucky baby.

i felt so guilty this morning 'cuz road closed and i had to take a detour to get home, poor Ethan had to sit in the car one hour, so just now brought him to the swings, *first* time, he loved it! then brought him to feed the ducks, but i think the birds have been driven crazy by the cold and by hunger..

TIME OUTS

read something interesting in the "baby whisperer" book. her definition of time out is NOT to leave the child alone as punishment. basically, when the child throws a tantrum, the parent does time-out WITH the child and removes the child away from the original setting/"scene of crime" for 10-15 mins, to allow him/her to calm down and regain control of his/her emotions. i think a different environment does help to calm the child. she says it is a method of avoiding a full scale battle, a time away fr the heat of the moment for BOTH the parent and child. then the parent can tell the child what is expected of him/her, eg "no, we may not go back until you are quiet".

fruitcake, I think there are diff variations. Some parents use timeouts as a form of punishment, to remove them from others so as to deprive them of company/fun and to isolate them. There are also parents who believe that during the timeout, the child is not allowed to be hugged or comforted in any way(deprivation of affection) until the time is up.

wendypooh...no secrets lar, we *suffer* for 1 whole year...:p
nothing changes in our practice
J last nap ends ard 5+pm at nanny, then till 12am+ he KO and sleep till morning, wkends he usually dun get to nap more than 2hrs during the day, at nite also wont KO early, still 12+am

berry

yeah, i like her definition of time-out the most so far. more appropriate for younger tods. i might consider time-out alone when luke is older, see how it goes. another book, supernanny, advocates having time-out on a designated "naughty step", hee hee, luke won't stay there for long at THIS point in time :p

Berry,
avoidance of yeast n wheat is not allergy related. it is cos it might cause indigestion. basically stagnant food will aggravate the earache. good to know that faye has never been on antib b4 this. cos fm what i know, antib does not cure the prob. it merely clear the earache for now &amp; it will very likely surface again. actually hor, since her PD prescribed drops instead of antib, i assume that faye's condition is not that serious? maybe next time round, try to persist with the drops lor. if not, maybe try TCM for some oral medication?

was at my mum's place yesterday and got her to prepare dinner for yingxin; spotted her adding salt into blanched veg and i refused to feed thereafter; then she scolded me "CRAZY"....oh well

then she nagged at me again - last time she said i deprived yingxin seasoning thus she's so fragile and small sized; the next moment she said yingxin is still not walking cos i refused salt and soy sauce in her diet

then yesterday, she lamented that yingxin is still toothless due to lack of additives in her diet!!

sigh, when will she ever stop and when will she ever understand?

oh, my FIL cleared his annual leave from thursday to sunday and hubby wants me to bring yingxin to stay over at their place to promote bonding so last nite brought her down and let her stay over for 2 nites....will be bringin her back on saturday

cannot let my hair down even though my toothless babe is not at home; got tons of cleaning and mopping to do

puff, I just dropped A by PIL's while I went to buy some stuff for her. She'd be staying overnite, fetching her tomorrow lunch, and for yoga lah. HB quite tired too (so am I, I buy halfway, cannot take it, come home rest), will be gd break for us, and gd time for A at ILs. She cant be watching Blues Clues all the time while I crash out on the mattress. :p

Eh, but YX will be ok with suddenly spending 48hrs stretch at ur ILs'?

Am HOPING conserve energy, bring her to BEACH again on Sun. Hoping lah. :p

AC,
haha, ur CPU on the floor! FIL's comp CPU also low, near floor, so when he's playing computer MAHJONG, A will sidle up and switch it off. LOL! J done that to ur HB yet while he's gaming? :p

345073.jpg

*happy with daddy*

345074.jpg

*do i look like a boy?*

345075.jpg

*do i have the potential of being a ballet dancer*

345076.jpg

*my mummy throw me into the 'cage'*

345077.jpg

*play my mummy hp*

345078.jpg

*sthg to keep my company while mummy and daddy eat*

Littleprince
Tks for your suggestion

Berry
I also feel that littleprince suggestion is Good. Will try it out one day :p
I beri serious one ok, I really thought eyepoking is a milestone leh.

Medusa
Athena have a great time at the beach.
She's still beri chubby hor *envy*

AC
Cute pics of cheeky Justin.
He seems to gain some weight leh.

Puff
I also have lots of cleaning up to do and CNY is coming soon!!!!

Peipei
Lovely pics of your pretty gal. She is Sooooo sweet. *Kelly is going to scream again*

<font color="aa00aa">medusa</font>
she seemed very happy playing wif my FIl last nite and totally forgot about us! dun even wan to hug me goodbye
should be no problem staying over i guess

thought it's a good break for me too but when i see how dirty the floor is and the pile of clothes to be ironed, i'd get very upset

anyway, chore has to be done sooner or later, might as well.... i'm betta la, cos not preggie mah, so not as tired as you

beach again? u very on leh, why not stay home instead cos weather has been unpredictable

<font color="aa00aa">pcs</font>
so early do spring cleaning for CNY ah? me wanna wait till the last week before than start to panic...ahahah

<font color="aa00aa">ziztine</font>
i gave yingxin the rusk on sunday and she loves it; chewed for almost 2 hours and half gone but the next time i offered to her, she threw it on the floor

<font color="aa00aa">kelly</font>
thanks to you! got the pigeon straw brush after seeing the pic posted by you

<font color="ff0000">medusa n puff,</font>

So envy u 2 can leave ur gal at ur IL hse. Nat will cry whenever my IL carry her so there is no way i can leave her with them. And my sil/bil had been hinting us to let nat stay over at their pl but we find that she is still nt ready. So far, nat only stay over at my mum's pl when we got something on.

puff,
glad she loved it the 1st time round. wah, 2hrs! u must be thinking, next time i need hrs to do stuff, u will just hand her a rusk right? :p offer her another time &amp; see how lor. it is very tough, help their teeth to break through. &amp; very healthy ingredients.

<font color="ff0000">Salt/Soy sauce</font>

I ask my PD on this and she told me is ok to add some salt/soy sauce to nat porridge after she is 1 yr old. But we ve not do so as nat is still ok with her porridge w/o seasoning.

SALT

hahaha, today when luke refused his porridge, i added a teeny pinch of sea salt, tasted GREAT to ME but he still didn't fancy it :p suspect it's because he's not used to the taste of the shitake mushrooms which i was introducing for the first time. my PD also supports adding a little seasoning after 1 year if bbs are not eating well.

ziztine/puff

what rusk is that? so "addictive" wan :p

MT...J hvn't find the on/off button yet! but he did pull our portable hard disk off the CPU(place on top of it) a few times, hub BERI BERI heartpain :p

pcs...tks! yup J gain a bit of weight liao, after his sudden increase in intake of FM, now is 9.8kg

pcs
yah, quinn brushes his teeth during bath time, meaning 2 times aday. he will also insist on brushing MINE too..... kekekekeke....

TOOTHPASTE
wat toothpaste ur bb use ah?? i saw 1, its a tube of T.P and sometimes like a finger type toothbrush, i tik its more for younger kids but tat toothpaste seems safer for bb to use?? it cost almos $20, tats y didnt buy :p

medusa
really love tena beach pix!!! shes sooooo adventurous hor, not scared of sand and sea water!!! next time sure a BEACH BABE!!

soemtimes really no choice and i also resort to TV.... feel soooo very SINFUL! but me too, try to set time limit. and quinns fav is HIGH FIVE now, whenever 5 pm, i will ask him "baby, u wanna watch HIGH FIVE? its 5 pm already, he will think with a very SERIOUS expression then drop watever hes doing and run towards me, wanting me to bring him out so he can watch :p

hey!!!! the SNOW pix sooooo nice, i love the tena SOLO pix!!! soooo dreamy looking!

kypf
wahahahaha!!!!! drop out of the packet!!!! for me, i feel tat quinn is too old for step 1, though he HARDLY use the step 1, i straight away start him on step 2. he uses the step 1 too, not for brushing, more for BITING so to sooth his itching gums..

evelyn
i guess its okie if we include some salt etc into out tods. meal BUT if they are okie without it, y need to intro. them :p heee.... so i guess u can jus do without salt which is a good thing.IMO lah.

for quinn, he dun fancy TASTY food too, very weird, tat day i tot he might like tis organic cheese biscuit *looks good to me and i tried, really taste sooo nice* but he SWEEP all of them onto the floor and now, mummy is eating them instead!

remember some mummies are talking about giving tuna to babies. i give tis to quinn, it taste good. it has the in sunflower oil 1 too but mine is with spring water, so its not oily.

345594.jpg

hubby and me brought quinn to raffles city today, got tis VERY big xmas tree and quinn sooooo excited!!! both mummy and quinn stare at tis HUGE xmas tree!

345606.jpg
345607.jpg

345608.jpg
345609.jpg

345610.jpg
345611.jpg

345612.jpg
345613.jpg

Thanks ladies(pcs, ziztine and yuru).

My gal is on the taller side cos my hubby is 1.9m. :> and she veri active can't sit/lie properly when changing pampers...

Sun brought her to see barney show... she also veri happy...

barney show:
esp the part when they sing..."if u happy and know it clap your hand..."

the whole audience was so co-operative, when clap hands all will clap, when stomp feet all will also stomp... including the parents...

Seems that my gal enjoyed the show, intially scared that she too small to appreciate this type of performance but once we enter the place, she clapped her hands and smile!... hubby and I were so glad that we took her to watch. will up load the photos later, cos file size too huge need to resize. :>

and after seeing little devil and medusa photos on tanglin maill foam show, we will bring her there also.

peipei,
Kieran oso enjoyed the barney concert a great deal when we brought him there last wed. We were very surprised that he could sit quietly on his daddy's lap, enjoying every single moment. Like ur gal, he esp liked the singing of 'If u're happy...'. He oso participated enthusiastically

little devil,
U n Quinn still look great as usual

sharon,
Sharwyn looks so pretty n sweet. *auntie skyblue drooling all over* She looks good in both casual n dress hor.

medusa,
Athena looks like she enjoyed herself lots